About Varo Money

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Apr 12, 2018

Varo Money is an iOS-based banking app that provides full-service banking products and tools to help you cultivate a healthy financial life.

The company was founded in Nov. 2015 by four entrepreneurs: Assaf Guery, Colin Walsh, Mykola Klymenko and Roger Van Duinen. Walsh is the company’s CEO. He is a Cornell grad with an extensive background in fintech and payment processing.

According to their website, Varo’s purpose is to, "This combination of integrated financial solutions and proprietary technology makes us the first entrant to truly challenge the existing banking model. We’re bringing relationships back to banking for everyone."

Our question is: Does Varo accomplish what it’s setting out to do? Is it really challenging the existing traditional banks with customer-friendly accounts? What does it offer and what does it do?

To answer that question, we researched what the company offers through their app, how it works and any rates and fees you should know about.

What Does the Varo Banking App Offer?

Varo’s services can be divided up into five different features: checking, savings, early direct deposit, lines of credit, personal loans and various money-management tools.

Varo Checking

The checking account you get with Varo is pretty much the core account of all your banking with them.

While you aren’t going to use a physical checkbook, you get the typical running ledger of transactions, you can make deposits to and withdrawals from the account and it serves as your money workhorse.

Checks are deposited through the app; there’s no need for a branch and you can use your Varo banking account to pay bills.

You also get a Varo Visa debit card to use when you shop. What makes this card unique compared to traditional banks is that you get zero-liability. What that means is that you aren’t responsible for any fraudulent purchases made to your Varo account.

Normally, you’re liable for $50 of fraudulent purchases if you report those purchases in two days or less. However, if you report the shady charges more than two days after they happen, you’re liable for up to $500 of the charges.

Varo says in their fine print that you get zero liability if you report the fraud "immediately", which, in our opinion, means within two days, based on the regulations laid out in the Electronic Funds Transfer Act. We contacted Varo to clarify this but did not hear from them before publishing.

Things You Should Know About the Varo Checking Account

We did a quick read through of some of the fine print on Varo’s site and found some information about ACH transfers (one bank to another) that you should know.

First, if your account is less than 30 days old, you’re only allowed to transfer in up to $100 at a time and up to $100 per day. You can’t transfer more than $200 in any seven-day period.

The max you can transfer in a month is $500.

Once your account is open for at least 30 days, those daily limits go up to $200, the seven-day limit is $400 and the monthly limit is $700.

You’ll only be allowed to withdraw $300 cash per day from an ATM or point-of-sale and the most you can spend with your card in a day is $2,500.

Varo Savings

Your Varo savings account works the same way a traditional bank’s savings account works. You can send money from your checking account into the savings account.

The difference between your Varo account and brick-and-mortar accounts is that you’ll earn interest on your balance. The bank pays you an annual interest rate of 1.25%. It may not sound like a lot, but it’s more than what you’ll get from a traditional bank like Chase or Bank of America.

While Varo likes to say that their savings account earns 25 times more than a traditional bank’s rate of 0.02%, it’s important to know that there are online banks and savings accounts that offer higher interest rates. Here’s a table that includes traditional banks and online-based savings accounts we’ve reviewed:

Bank Interest Rate
Varo Money 1.25%
Ally 1.25%
SmartyPig 1.15%
Varo Money 0.05%
Bank of America 0.03%
Chase 0.01%
HSBC 0.01%
Wells Fargo 0.01%

As you can see, Varo’s rates are as good or better than all the savings accounts we listed.

Varo Early Direct Deposit

Direct deposit is a popular way to get your paychecks from work. In fact, a little over a year ago the National Automated Clearing House Association said that 82% of American workers get their paychecks via direct deposit.

With Varo, you can get your paycheck up to two days early, they claim, because of their process. Your employer notifies the Federal Reserve that you’re getting paid and the total that you’ll receive. The Fed tells Varo you’ve got money coming and the money is sent to your account.

Varo says this process means that you can get your money two days earlier than normal. In other words, if everyone is getting paid on Friday, you might be able to get your money on Wednesday.

Varo Lines of Credit and Personal Loans

One of the things that makes Varo Money very similar to a bank is that they can offer you lines of credit and loans in addition to checking and savings accounts.

Their lines of credit work like credit cards. They approve you for a certain amount of money and you can withdraw from that approved amount whenever you want. If you leave the money and don’t touch it, it won’t cost you anything.

However, the moment you withdraw some of it, interest kicks in. Their basic terms are lines of credit from $1,000 to $5,000 at interest rates of 13.75%-23.75%. If you want to withdraw that money as cash, then you won’t be charged any extra like you would if you took a cash advance on a credit card.

Based on our research of dozens of credit cards, we think Varo’s APR range is competitive compared to credit cards.

However, it doesn’t quite match up with the Discover it’s low-end APR of 12.24%. Another advantage to using a credit card as a line of credit is that, like in the case of the Discover it, you can earn 1% cash back on the purchases you make.

That rewards rate – with some cards it can get as high as 2% and beyond – is better than the 0.50% interest you get through a VARO savings account.

Varo’s personal loans have repayment periods of three to five years but their site doesn’t reveal the APR of those loans or the average amount they disburse.

At the time of publishing, Varo was able to lend in 17 states.

Varo Money Management

Varo’s money management tools pair up with your accounts to provide some basic analysis of your financial situation.

For example, in your checking account they show you your anticipated spending and bills for the month, then show you how much you can spend each day in order to come in under budget.

In your savings account, you have the ability to set savings goals and spending goals to help you manage your money wisely.

Varo Money’s Rates and Fees

The bank works off the popular no-fee philosophy, in which you won’t pay any fees for ATM withdrawals form Allpoint ATM’s, overdraft fees, foreign transaction fees or fees for not having a minimum balance.

You will pay fees for their lending products. Exactly how much you’ll pay depends on which state you’re in. The company’s Policies page provides links to documents that tell you how much those fees are.

Public Opinion About Varo Money

The app has more than 2,000 reviews in the iTunes store; its average rating is 4.7 stars. Recent reviews of the app indicate that you’ll most likely enjoy your user experience.

Earlier reviews of the app included complaints about ATM fees and some issues with limits on how much you can direct deposit.

As for the ATM fees, Varo says you won’t be charged if you use Allpoint ATM’s, of which there are more than 50,000 across the U.S. There will be fees if you go out of network to a place like Chase or Bank of America.

Regarding the direct deposit complaint, we found nothing in Varo’s fine print that says there are dollar limits on direct deposit. We also didn’t find anything indicating that a direct deposit could be split up into two separate withdrawals.

Our Final Thoughts About Varo Money

Over the past couple of years, dozens of online banks and lending services have popped up claiming to offer a better experience than what you’d get from your traditional bank.

Based on public opinion about the app, it seems like users are happy with Varo.

We’d say the app’s strength is that you can pretty much use it to do anything you’d do at a traditional bank, including getting lines of credit and loans. Also, the interest rate for a savings account has a generous interest rate that puts Varo above traditional banks like Bank of America and Chase.

As for drawbacks, the daily deposit and withdrawal limits are cumbersome. Also, if there aren’t a lot of Allpoint ATM’s in your area, that could be a point of annoyance over time.

We believe this app is best suited for someone who makes regular direct deposits via their job and doesn’t mind that their bank has no physical location.

If you aren’t fully convinced Varo is the right fit for you, don’t worry; you have multiple app-based banking options. A few of the ones we’ve reviewed using the format you read here are Chime and Simple.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 28 Varo Money Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Please beware

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t open an account with Varo bank. I opened an account with Varo bank over two weeks ago. I received my card a few days ago and omg, Varo bank is crazy. This is the most crazy and weird online bank is the USA. If you guys want them to lock your account without asking you guys, and if you guys want them to control you guys' money, or you guys want them to ask you guys hundreds of questions about your income, who deposits to you guys' account, how you guys have that money, why they deposit to you guys' account, blah blah blah...

    They locked my account without asking me, they didn’t even give me an account. I still have money in my account but I couldn’t use it because they locked my card and they didn’t want to unlock. I emailed them and called them many times. I asked them to please unlock my card because my money is still in my account and I need to use it to buy food. This bank is a scam. I have been waiting for over 24 hours, they have not even unlocked my card yet, but my money is still in my account. Now I can’t use my card, and I can’t get my money back from my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Closed account

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Tee and I opened an account with Varo around December of 2017. I started to get direct deposit from my job and Social Security in January 2018. So from January until April, my job checks and SS was being deposited in my account. Even my IRS tax return was deposited. So, like a week ago, SS deposited a lump sum in my account, from four years of retroactive payments.

    Varo immediately froze my account (on a Thursday evening). It has been a week and a day, and I haven’t had any access to any of my money. My work check, tax return and my daughter SSI check are on hold. I called repeatedly and emailed, and they told me to send over my ID, social security card and proof of residency. I did just that. They closed my account. How is SS money fraudulent when all you had to do is call and verify funds?

    So, they sent my lump sum back to Social Security, closed my account and still haven’t sent my remaining money to me, which they claimed in a check. They have no direct phone number to call them, just by email. They ignored all my emails. They have over $3600 of my money and won't return it. I have kids and bills and had to borrow money (which I never do) to get by. I had to switch banks, change all my direct deposits. So aggravated. I still haven’t received my lump sum money because it’s a process when you change accounts.

    Please DON'T use this bank! They will close your account and they don’t have to give you a good reason why. I guess black people can't have money. Well, I work hard, and I should be treated as such.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Tee - Hi Diane, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We work hard to protect against fraud and identity theft. We try very hard to stop all the bad guys while accepting all the well-intentioned customers, but sometimes our analysis misses the mark. We work to refine the analysis to get better over time. We appreciate your interest in Varo and wish you the best of luck going forward.


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Don't bank with them

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some transactions I did not authorize. I had called to dispute it and they did not send me an email saying I will not get my money bac. This bank isn't 100% trustworthy. If you want a trustworthy bank, you are better off staying where you bank as they do not take care of their customers at all. I lost $600 that was supposed to go on my car note thanks to them. I have to come up with it. I repeat, do not go to them, stay with who you are banking with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely terrible company. Do not put your money in here.

    My first check was deposited. I needed this check. You are promised immediate funds as well as early direct deposit. This is not the case. I deposited my check and the hold time is 13 days. 13 days! I was told my funds would be available on the 23rd. It still isn’t there.

    When I call customer support (which is also terrible, very rude, and uncaring people), they are unhelpful and told me it will not be ready until the 31st. So for 13 days not only can I not pay my bills, but I’ve been starving for a couple of days and now have to continue starving for a total of 13 days. There is no resolution. They promise loans and lending, and can’t even do that so I do not have to starve. This company is absolutely terrible. Do not get Varo. Find a different bank or just cash your checks cash. This is asinine. And beyond low. This is the lowest company I ever had to deal with.

    I repeat, stay away from this company unless you like waiting upwards to two weeks to get your hard earned money.

    I have tried emailing them the proof in an email and have not received a response about that either. The only thing I can do is call this terrible customer support. Absolutely the worst company ever, that I had to deal with.

    Repeat. Do not get a Varo Bank account. I would give zero stars if that was an option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Christopher - Normally, the first $200.00 from a deposit of checks will be available on the next business day after the deposit is applied to the Varo Bank Account. The remaining funds in excess of $200.00 will be available on the second business day after the day the funds from the Mobile Deposit are applied to the Varo Bank Account. However, under rare circumstances, a longer hold may be placed on the funds with new accounts. We want to build a relationship with our customers, which can be hard to do at the very beginning. When you have a good history of check deposits, your account will be updated - giving you access to the funds much faster than what you have experienced. I've emailed you directly with the actions we have taken to make this right for you. Thanks for being a Varo Customer.


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Worst bank ever

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst bank I’ve ever been with. Their app is supposed to link with other accounts, but when I linked my main account, it made me log in every single time I logged into the app as if I never linked it before, so I had to delink and relink every login.

    Then I set up direct deposit and I kept getting pop ups saying I haven’t set up direct deposit yet and need to do so. So I quit have any deposits go to that account.

    Then I tried to cash a $3 check that took 5 days to clear. And eventually I became overdrawn, so I transferred money to that account from another one of my accounts, and it took 5 days to clear, and when it finally did, it said it was reversing the transaction.

    I called customer service and got an agent who put me on hold for 20 minutes and hung up. Then I called back multiple times and someone would pick up and hang up again. So I emailed and three days later got a response that it happened because of our user agreement. I read the attachment which doesn’t explain ANY reason why this happened.

    I would never recommend this bank to anyone. I have no idea where my money went. They will not tell me. It never went back to my other bank. It’s just gone. Chime is a million times better. In every way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    This bank is a scam! Never use them!

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently have an account with Varo, and I really regret opening it. I filed a dispute on fraudulent charges because someone used my information to make purchases at Walmart and another location. They took over a week to investigate and then came back to me and said they are closing the dispute and no error was made because I’ve shopped at Walmart in the past. They also closed the dispute of the other charge without reason.

    I’ve tried calling emailing and even escalating complaints to get the disputed department to call me back, and I get nothing. Whenever I call, the representatives are short and nasty. They keep telling me they’re sending me information in the mail, which I never received, and they refuse to open my disputes. I am now out of almost $500.00 because Varo is too lazy to do anything about people fraudulently using other people’s debit cards.

    Don’t use this bank. They are a huge scam. I am definitely closing my account after my next direct deposit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hello! We understand that fraud can be a difficult and scary experience for our customers, which is why we take all concerns about potential fraud very seriously. We follow industry best practices for investigating fraud to protect our customers. We take pride in our efforts to go above and beyond to help customers and are always looking for ways to improve. We’re sorry that your experience missed the mark. We'd love to speak to you directly about your experience, but I can't find an account under the name on this review. Please reach out to our Customer Service experts at help@varomoney.com as we’d be happy to get this resolved for you.


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Do not use it!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a first minor bad experience with Uber instant payments, I decided to continue using it. First time I called they said there was nothing wrong with the account and Uber said it was a problem with the card. Almost two weeks later they responded to my email with an explanation. So I continued using it.

    The second bad experience was with a refund from a body shop, services were paid by the insurance company, and the body shop offered me two refund options, one by check and another one as a refund to my debit card. I accepted the latter. It took almost ten days to release the funds and not a single email to explain what was going on, so I decided to call. They explained what the issue was, we sorted everything out and funds were released shortly thereafter.

    A few days later, without any notices, they suspend my account for the same transaction that had been settled and approved. They requested documents, and they were sent. The money in my account was for child support and operating costs for my work. I desperately explained the situation, but nothing helped. I explained why I desperately needed the funds and the response I received from a supervisor was that "child support payments can wait," and she hung up on me.

    Do NOT use this app! There are better alternatives such as Simple or Chime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Tiago - We take security and safety very seriously, and there are rare instances when transactions need additional review. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We perform these to maintain the security and quality of our service. Thank your for sending the requested documentation. I'm happy we were able to get this issue resolved for you. Thanks for being a Varo Customer.


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Very confused

    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some months ago, I signed up for Varo after hearing it was better. Time goes by, and I realize I never received my card. I then emailed them and asked them to send me a new card. The reply asked me to verify my current email, which I did.

    This morning I got an email saying that my new card has been ordered, so I decided to finally switch my direct deposit info to them. About 30 minutes ago, I got an email that said they were closing my account all of a sudden. The email begins with "Based on a review of your account activity, we have decided to close your Varo Bank Account and, if applicable, your Varo Savings Account." But the crazy thing is, I haven’t even had any transactions yet, so I am very confused. After 4-5 months of me having this account in my name, why are they just now saying they have reviewed my account. Plus how can I have any transactions when I hadn’t even received my card yet.

    I’m not sure what game they are playing, but I don’t appreciate it, especially since I just changed over my direct deposit and now I have to change it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Lauren. it's always a difficult decision to close a Varo Bank Account. An objective and detailed analysis of account and transaction history, along with leveraging intelligence from sophisticated technology helps support conclusions and ultimate decisions. Based on this analysis, we strongly believe the appropriate action was taken. We wish you the best in finding a service that works for your needs.


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, time wasted!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently had my card stolen while I was going through personal things, and when I returned, my account was drained. I called Varo and they told me wait ten days until I hear something back for a provisional credit. On the 11th day, they didn’t tell me anything, I had to call, only for them to say they aren’t going to refund my money because the transactions look too familiar. That’s BS and not my problem. Visa's policy is to issue the credit because I am not liable. This bank is horrible, and I have to come back up with $700.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Glad I was denied

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading all these negative reviews, I was glad that my application was denied. I was really pissed when I was not approved for the checking account because I have never been denied a bank account my whole life. I was never given a reason for denial, but now I am so glad that I don't have to go through all the hassles people are having.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Noise

    • Capitol Heights, MD,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very upset. They closed my account at the last minute, when I just reloaded my card with money. They emailed me at the last minute about my account with no reason at all. I’m very pissed off, and I have to wait 14 days until they send my refund check.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Brittany. While we wish we never had to close a Varo Bank Account, an objective and detailed analysis of account and transaction history, along with leveraging intelligence from sophisticated technology help support conclusions and ultimate decisions. Based on this analysis, we strongly believe the appropriate action was taken. We wish you the best in finding a service that works for your needs.


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a Review for Varo Money!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review