• 129 Customer Reviews
  • 75% Recommend This Service
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 68% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 24%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Never got my balance returned to me

    • By Ben K.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My account was closed the very same day my $200 deposit came through and couldn't be told any reason why and that my balance would be mailed to my address on file via check-in within 2 weeks, but that was a month ago and I've called and called and can't even be informed whether or not my money has been mailed to me and that was all I had to live on. Very inconsiderate and if I had kept someone's money from them for as long as they have mine, I would've been arrested for theft.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • By Sky L.,
    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Oct 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with Varo for a couple of months. They were always good to me until money got stolen from my account. They claimed to find no error and $630 was taken from my savings account and transferred to my checking account. They also lie between their teeth. My friend found an error but, they said they didn’t. So, I concluded that they don’t care about their customers. They really don’t.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wow!

    • By Shawn P.,
    • Butler, PA,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was using Chime Bank for a few months and had numerous issues with them. I saw an advertisement for VARO banking so I decided to fill out the application for them. I receive my card just today and I called in and activated the card and set up my pin. After doing so once my card was activated I downloaded the app and had a few problems with answering my information. The app said to contact VARO if there were any issues so I did so. I was on hold for exactly 43 minutes and got frustrated so I decided to hang up. After that, I looked up reviews on this company and there was not one good review about this company. I am glad that I read all the reviews before I decided to set up my direct deposit. After re-reading these reviews, I would not recommend this company to my worst nightmare. Thank you all for giving honest feedback and reviews about this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refusing to give me my money

    • By Yousaf T.,
    • Ellicott City, MD,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a Varo account for a while and a few friends sent me money through Zelle to help me cover emergency expenses. Varo froze my account and demanded proof of their ID’s, transaction history, and bank statements from the people who sent me money. I provided all the information they had asked for and they proceeded to close my account. After speaking to a representative, I was assured I would be sent my account balance which was around $5500 in a check-in 14 days from the date my account was closed. It has been 20 days so I called Varo, to be told they aren’t sending me my account balance. I called today and they are refusing to send me the money from my account. If this isn’t resolved, I am filing a police report.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank!

    Overall Experience:

    • No fees.

    • No ATM fees and over 55k locations nationwide.

    • You can turn the no-fee overdraft on or off at will. It stays off if you don’t meet the prerequisites.

    • P2P transfers.

    • Great customer care.

    • Can link other external accounts to your bank in order to initiate transfers and check on their balances. Balance doesn’t update as often but they’ll let you know if there's a problem linking to your bank and help you fix it.

    The only things I don’t like about the app/bank are: 1) lack of personalization. I’d like to personalize the background with a personal photo sometimes; 2) the deposits are reflected in my balance but oftentimes the transaction itself takes a while to be listed in the list. More of an annoyance than anything else; and 3) dark mode - hopefully they’ll add this option in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Mobile deposit

    • By Natalie H.,
    • California,
    • Mar 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I can't simply figure out the mobile deposit in the Varo app...

    And also I don't know how I feel about Varo bonuses because they are hard to get. I don't get direct deposit. So it is impossible for me to get any bonuses from Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great no-fee option for banking online!

    • By Carrie M.,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a fairly new customer, but I've had a great experience so far. No fees, checking and savings accts, and direct deposit 2 days early when I get paid. The only option I really would like is the instant transfer between customers, similar to other online banking services. If that was offered my husband would switch too! The only complaint I have is that I used my friend's referral link but neither of us have received the $75 offer (I've had several payroll deposits over $1000 every 2 weeks). If there's any way to get that ASAP I'd rate it 5 stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it, but could be better

    • By Johnny B.,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I like Varo and all it stands for. It's super easy to get an account with them and get a card, but alot of places don't recognize this company as a real credit account. They say they can't use it because it's a prepay account, but it's really not, and I wish you would fix that. Also, you need to make the overdraft a bit easier to get. I would make it more like Chime, to be honest. I love this company, but Chime is still my first account with direct deposits. If Varo would fix some of their issues I wouldn't care at all to make Varo my main account. Start with the overdraft amount. Especially with the COVID-19 going on right now people are not doing well and making it easier to get your overdraft amount would be a big help to a lot of people. I think that's how you'll get more customers if you base it similar to Chimes. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So far so good

    • By Donald R.,
    • Oakdale, MN,
    • Apr 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Except for the check cashing service everything is quick and easy. The card works nice. It's one of the better accounts I've had. I have recommended it to everyone looking for an online banking account. Varo customer service has been great. They use ingo services for mobile check cashing which can be a pain, but I suppose the overall good outweighs the bad.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it for the most part

    • By Rebecca T.,
    • Georgia,
    • Apr 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love that it's a real bank rather than a prepaid debit card. You earn interest if you have money in savings and you can only withdraw from your savings account a certain amount of times each month, which I love because if you're like me you have to be cut off or you'll spend it all. If you need support, their phones are open late, you get very fast professional help, anything I've needed has been solved the first time I reached out. My only complaint is I wish there was an instant bank transfer option rather than a 1-2 day transfer. However, when I've made transfers to another card it has always become available 24 hours later. Which is fast. So all in all, Varo is perfect!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I choose Varo. It's a good credit card.

    • By Charles G.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Apr 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a good credit card. I would use my card for groceries, clothes, and sneakers. This card can be purchased at an ATM machine. It can reload money, transfer money, and pay bills. Money can be accounted for you in your account terms and policies may be varied. It can apply you with your grant. This card values your direct deposit. Account number and route number.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank, horrible wait times

    • By Sammy K.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Accepted everywhere...try calling though, omg, takes forever, but they do take care of whatever issue you bring to their attention.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Accepted everywhere
    • Mobile app
    • Notifications
    • Wait times when you call

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very bad experience

    • By John P.,
    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Ok, lets start with I have had Varo for over a year and all was fine until:

    a) I changed my email address that started it all.

    b) Told a friend about Varo, she used it got the 75 bucks for using my ref code, I got nothing, they claimed the email she used was not mine.

    c) On June 10th my account got put on hold for some darn reason, they claimed they needed me to verify myself with selfies holding my driver's license card, got told my account was re-instated, all good, WRONGGGGGGGGGGGGG.

    d) Called them on Wednesday, got no good answers. Called on Thursday, got told no good answers. Finally called on Saturday, GOT PUT ON HOLD, the lady she needed to turn my card back on and wah-lah.

    All is good so far BUT I AM WORKING ON CLOSING my account. AFTER I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The phone call on Saturday, June 13th at 11am got my account turned back on
    • Put my account on hold for some darn identity fraud crap

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No complaints!

    • By Lenet,
    • Arkansas,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for an account last month and received my card on time, as promised! I've used my card before receiving my direct deposit today from the VA. I transferred funds to my Varo account from an external account to test it out and experienced no fees, and the transfer was quick.

    I don't call my bank for regular things. If I ever need to call a bank it will be for something major, but using the contact option in the app I have received very fast responses, and the customer service seems to be very quick.

    Varo rate has gone up this month to 1.25% if I'm not mistaken, but either way, I am happy with the account and will continue to use it as I need to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 16, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Lenet, thanks for your review! We've worked hard to create the best banking experience possible, without the fees you find at the big banks. We also just increased the APY on our savings accounts to 1.25%. We want our customers to save more money instead of paying fees to the big banks. We appreciate your review! Let us know if you need anything by reaching out to us at help@varomoney.com.


  • A bank with heart

    Overall Experience:

    I made the leap to Varo Money after Bank of America charged me $140 in overdraft fees in a single day. I had been a BofA customer for decades and didn't even realize that I had so-called overdraft "protection" on my account, so I didn't know how it worked. When I called to ask if I could have the charges reversed (the totals bills covered totaled less than $30) and take it off of my account, I was basically told "no" on both counts.

    Moving to Varo took a bit of to-doing, but I there are few businesses I can think of who say "no fees" and mean it. I've been banking with Varo for several months now and love them. Each time I run into a snag, I call their customer service who are awesome. And while they seem to be working out a few kinks with their app (they are a startup after all), I would definitely recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love them

    • By Wendy S.,
    • Kent, WA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got my Varo card 6 months ago and then lost my job. Because of some unavoidable credit issues, no traditional bank would allow me to open an account.

    Unlike a typical bank, they didn't close my account because I hadn't made a deposit, and unlike my previous account with a BANK, I didn't have to pay $0.50 to $4.00 per transaction.

    They truly have no-fee ATMs and the reload fees are minimal, and if you get cash back when you are shopping, there are no fees.

    I love these guys.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing

    • By Eric N.,
    • Ledyard, CT,
    • Dec 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Amazing app and bank, they are very responsive if I have an issue and they have amazing benefits. I will recommend this to all my friends, co-workers, and random people on the street. I have used other banks and nothing but issues, this one is great, I never had an issue and will keep using this bank until I die.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo Bank is awesome!

    • By James C.,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great and east app and awesome overdraft up to $50 with no penalties. Awesome bank and would definitely recommend to friends and anyone who never used online banking before. Can link other accounts to it and transfer money easily from one to the other.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Help when needed

    • By Freddie F.,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Made it easy to open a bank account to save money. I'm trying to rebuild my credit score so that I can buy a house and a car...will be making my first deposit into my account this week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very good

    • By Jose N.,
    • Canby, OR,
    • Dec 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is good for people that need a little help with money, good savings account, easy to use. They have good programs to get and good savings going.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best banking app out there!

    • By Sean H.,
    • Georgia,
    • Dec 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Best banking app out there! Most of my coworkers use major banks. I use Varo, and receive my direct deposit a day before them. On top of a fifty dollars overdraft protection. Plus no ATM fees at certain ATM's.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love it

    • By Hilary W.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Feb 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has full easy access 24 hours a day at my fingertips. I can add checks from the mailbox sitting on my couch and never have to leave the house. I can have checks sent out without me having to write them I just say how much and where and they will put them in the mail. And I get notifications of every transaction.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • What Varo does to keep me happy

    • By Gilberto E.,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Easy way to get notified. No fees, 2 days earlier, best part locking your card when you misplace it, 100 in my book. Waiting to save $450 that I'm not waisting with my other institutions stating they are managing my account, but only to line their pockets, especially I signed up for overdraw protection but at the end of it all they say it's at their discretion to fulfill it. That's why I came to Varo, it covers overdraws but if it's not there it's not yet safe...my original bank hit my account 8 times within their system from payment to my credit card account but not realizing 8 times is excessive, and of course, I'm on the hook for it. Thank you Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phenomenal

    • By Matthew B.,
    • Maryland,
    • Feb 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The features and options available are like or better than any of the big corporate banks out there. They are not biased and the customer service department is phenomenal. Thank you Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank and app!

    • By Morris P.,
    • Shannon, NC,
    • Feb 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been a true delight switching over to Varo from a competitor's banking system. Everything went smoothly and had absolutely NO issues with the switch. My money was deposited timely into my account, as I usually get deposits a few days early with this bank. The Varo app is so totally user-friendly and is a breeze to work with on my iPhone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love love love

    • By Emileigh S.,
    • Lubbock, TX,
    • Feb 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I LOVE VARO SO SO MUCH.

    They actually care about us, always there to help, and you never get screwed over. They have ways to help you make more money, and send you some financial advice to help with your credit and budget and much more, you’ll literally love Varo. And no, I’m literally 100% not being paid for this crappily typed review. Lol.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best banking app ever

    • By Deejay S.,
    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Feb 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This was a very convenient app for me to use in order to accomplish banking. I like the functions of the application as well. I was able to directly deposit my money into this account and also transfer money, which was very convenient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 129

Write a Review for Varo Bank!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Varo Bank Reviews