Read 39 Varo Money Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this scam like the plague!

    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a member of Varo for a few months now. Who wouldn't turn down no overdrafts, no fee banking, I mean, come on, right? The promise of Varo is pretty decent. Sadly, it is just a promise, and the concept, the "bank" itself is an utter failure.

    Firstly, Varo is NOT a bank, and shouldn't ever be trusted with your money. Not now, not EVER. These scam artists WILL deliver on the no-fee "banking", but oh my, the cost is just crazy.

    To start with, this company doesn't allow you to print checks, but calls your account a "checking account". That's right, you are NOT allowed to order checks (even from third-party services). They will be IMMEDIATELY rejected by the "bank."

    Secondly, you'd think that a "bank" would have, you know, functioning logins for those of us not wanting to use mobile devices. Makes sense, riiiight? Nope!

    Thirdly, this "bank" will delay your bank -> bank transfers. They don't give you a reason "why", they just delay them. My own case:

    I had 3 transfers submitted over a weekend.

    Friday - arrived WEDNESDAY.

    Saturday - arrived Monday.

    Sunday (via card transfer).

    After inquiring on Tuesday, I was told that the money was delayed until Wednesday evening. Seriously...

    As far as "transfers", this company will indefinitely disable your ability to receive these, at their discretion, for, well, for no legitimate reason that I can establish. Of course, this puts your own money on hold until it gets back to the sender (can take a few days). Talk about a huge, huge mess.

    Support (say, in the case of that last paragraph)? Yeah, forget about it. Email, they claim takes 48 hours. Seriously, 48 hours. Phones, you're on hold for an hour, only to be told that they have to "escalate" the issue, and God only knows how long THAT can take.

    MOST banks prioritize deposits before withdrawals. Not Varo. They make sure your withdrawals come first, and make sure that they reject things, appropriately. Even IF you're supposed to have a deposit coming in, that's going to be rejected.

    If you plan on doing any sort of "serious" banking (and by serious, I mean day to day transactions), Varo is not to be trusted. Not even close. Not even a little.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service, unprofessional requests

    • California,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a freelance web developer, and two weeks ago I finished up a site and decided to have my client pay me for the job via ACH transfer into my new Varo account. The client somehow made an error and the transfer showed up in my account with his name as the receiver and my name as the sender. So Varo decided to put my account into suspended status and freeze my funds pending verification of my identity, no big deal, I provided them with the requested scan of my driver's license and copy of my current AT&T bill. As well as an explanation as to the transposition of the names. I received an email back the next day stating that my AT&T bill could not be accepted because of a water stain and that I need to provide another form of address verification, so I provided them with the AT&T bill prior to the one I already provided as well as a copy of my gas and electric bill and a copy of my California Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Registration.

    This is now 5 items all acceptable forms of identification at any other financial institution I have provided them per there request, yet my funds are still frozen and I am being told that I now need to provide them with a COPY OF MY CLIENT'S IDENTIFICATION! The client lives in a different state does not bank with Varo and other than the website that was made and the payment I received I have virtual zero relationship with this person and these people at Varo are really telling me that in order to get paid money that is rightfully deposited into my account, even though I provided them with 3 extra pieces of identity verification documents confirming my identity, I need to now get in touch with this other person and ask them to provide me with their ID so I can go and give it to these cons at Varo, and if I am unable to provide this third party's ID, I do not get paid. My former client has no obligation to agree, it is not his bank, he has not signed any contract with Varo, where does Varo think they can hold back what is contractually mine per the deposit agreement in lieu of a third-party not contractually bound doing something.

    I do not recommend them at all, despite repeated attempts I can not get anyone on the phone that can help with this matter, all the operators tell me that the person handling this will email me, repeated request per email for a phone call but nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Awful bank and staff

    • Michigan,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son passed away 2/21/2019. This bank is giving me a hard hard time with getting the very small amount of money he has in his account. They don't return phone calls or emails! I am already grieving of my son's passing and they're just making it really hard on me. I sent everything in they needed; his death certificate, his driver's license, his bank card, and my driver's license, and still they're giving me a hard time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Please beware

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t open an account with Varo bank. I opened an account with Varo bank over two weeks ago. I received my card a few days ago and omg, Varo bank is crazy. This is the most crazy and weird online bank is the USA. If you guys want them to lock your account without asking you guys, and if you guys want them to control you guys' money, or you guys want them to ask you guys hundreds of questions about your income, who deposits to you guys' account, how you guys have that money, why they deposit to you guys' account, blah blah blah...

    They locked my account without asking me, they didn’t even give me an account. I still have money in my account but I couldn’t use it because they locked my card and they didn’t want to unlock. I emailed them and called them many times. I asked them to please unlock my card because my money is still in my account and I need to use it to buy food. This bank is a scam. I have been waiting for over 24 hours, they have not even unlocked my card yet, but my money is still in my account. Now I can’t use my card, and I can’t get my money back from my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Don't bank with them

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some transactions I did not authorize. I had called to dispute it and they did not send me an email saying I will not get my money bac. This bank isn't 100% trustworthy. If you want a trustworthy bank, you are better off staying where you bank as they do not take care of their customers at all. I lost $600 that was supposed to go on my car note thanks to them. I have to come up with it. I repeat, do not go to them, stay with who you are banking with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Glad I was denied

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading all these negative reviews, I was glad that my application was denied. I was really pissed when I was not approved for the checking account because I have never been denied a bank account my whole life. I was never given a reason for denial, but now I am so glad that I don't have to go through all the hassles people are having.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Worst bank ever

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst bank I’ve ever been with. Their app is supposed to link with other accounts, but when I linked my main account, it made me log in every single time I logged into the app as if I never linked it before, so I had to delink and relink every login.

    Then I set up direct deposit and I kept getting pop ups saying I haven’t set up direct deposit yet and need to do so. So I quit have any deposits go to that account.

    Then I tried to cash a $3 check that took 5 days to clear. And eventually I became overdrawn, so I transferred money to that account from another one of my accounts, and it took 5 days to clear, and when it finally did, it said it was reversing the transaction.

    I called customer service and got an agent who put me on hold for 20 minutes and hung up. Then I called back multiple times and someone would pick up and hang up again. So I emailed and three days later got a response that it happened because of our user agreement. I read the attachment which doesn’t explain ANY reason why this happened.

    I would never recommend this bank to anyone. I have no idea where my money went. They will not tell me. It never went back to my other bank. It’s just gone. Chime is a million times better. In every way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, time wasted!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently had my card stolen while I was going through personal things, and when I returned, my account was drained. I called Varo and they told me wait ten days until I hear something back for a provisional credit. On the 11th day, they didn’t tell me anything, I had to call, only for them to say they aren’t going to refund my money because the transactions look too familiar. That’s BS and not my problem. Visa's policy is to issue the credit because I am not liable. This bank is horrible, and I have to come back up with $700.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Very confused

    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some months ago, I signed up for Varo after hearing it was better. Time goes by, and I realize I never received my card. I then emailed them and asked them to send me a new card. The reply asked me to verify my current email, which I did.

    This morning I got an email saying that my new card has been ordered, so I decided to finally switch my direct deposit info to them. About 30 minutes ago, I got an email that said they were closing my account all of a sudden. The email begins with "Based on a review of your account activity, we have decided to close your Varo Bank Account and, if applicable, your Varo Savings Account." But the crazy thing is, I haven’t even had any transactions yet, so I am very confused. After 4-5 months of me having this account in my name, why are they just now saying they have reviewed my account. Plus how can I have any transactions when I hadn’t even received my card yet.

    I’m not sure what game they are playing, but I don’t appreciate it, especially since I just changed over my direct deposit and now I have to change it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Lauren. it's always a difficult decision to close a Varo Bank Account. An objective and detailed analysis of account and transaction history, along with leveraging intelligence from sophisticated technology helps support conclusions and ultimate decisions. Based on this analysis, we strongly believe the appropriate action was taken. We wish you the best in finding a service that works for your needs.


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Noise

    • Capitol Heights, MD,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very upset. They closed my account at the last minute, when I just reloaded my card with money. They emailed me at the last minute about my account with no reason at all. I’m very pissed off, and I have to wait 14 days until they send my refund check.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Brittany. While we wish we never had to close a Varo Bank Account, an objective and detailed analysis of account and transaction history, along with leveraging intelligence from sophisticated technology help support conclusions and ultimate decisions. Based on this analysis, we strongly believe the appropriate action was taken. We wish you the best in finding a service that works for your needs.


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Possible Regulation E violation

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my phone stolen while I was in London on 8/15/2018. It has been insanely frustrating not being able to review ANY transactions with my own eyes, as they only provide the statements IN-APP.

    I honestly think Varo is in violation of this:

    Reglation E, section 205.4: § 205.4 General disclosure requirements; jointly offered services. (a)(1) Form of disclosures. Disclosures required under this part shall be clear and readily understandable, in writing, and in a form the consumer may keep. The disclosures required by this part may be provided to the consumer in electronic form, subject to compliance with the consumer consent and other applicable provisions of the Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act (E-Sign Act)(15 U.S.C. 7001 et seq.). A financial institution may use commonly accepted or readily understandable abbreviations in complying with the disclosure requirements of this part.

    Yes, I did agree to enroll into their online banking service; however, I now have zero access to my transactions and statements. I have no clue if their are unauthorized charges on my account, which if there are could be blamed on me for not disputing timely. Which is where their second violation of Reg is comes in:

    Section 205.6: (a) Conditions for liability. A consumer may be held liable, within the limitations described in paragraph (b) of this section, for an unauthorized electronic fund transfer involving the consumer’s account only if the financial institution has provided the disclosures required by §205.7(b)(1), (2), and (3). If the unauthorized transfer involved an access device, it must be an accepted access device and the financial institution must have provided a means to identify the consumer to whom it was issued.

    I've reported this to the CFPB and encourage more people to do so, as they really need to change this ASAP. The more complaints the CFPB gets for this will def put them on the spot (https://www.consumerfinance.gov/). As for the time being, I finally was able to save up enough money and will be getting a phone this Friday, will attempt to download my statements from the app? I am not even sure if that's possible. If it isn't, please take the time to screenshot and include them in your CFPB complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Wilfred, we're sorry to hear your phone was lost! We understand that can be scary and frustrating. Our service team can help with reviewing transactions, locking your card, or getting access to a bank statement. Simply give us a call at 1-800-827-6526 or send an email to help@varomoney.com. Please, rest assured that Varo closely follows all federal regulations regarding disputes. When you purchase your new device, simply download the Varo Mobile App and log in. You will have full access to your transaction history and statements on the new device. If you have any other questions or concerns, please reach out to us. We're here to help!


Showing 12-22 of 39

Write a Review for Varo Money!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review