• 129 Customer Reviews
  • 75% Recommend This Service
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 68% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 24%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Outstanding

    • By Joseph R.,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Feb 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Really easy app to use. Better than having to deal with real banks. Love there's no overdraft fees. Would recommend this to everyone. I put my money in and it's ready to spend in no time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phenomenal customer care

    • By David L.,
    • Michigan,
    • Feb 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've yet to experience an issue except I was charged 3 times at the same date and time. On documents in-app it explains more but the retailer and Varo haven't done anything to resolve this issue other than that great service for your banking needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No fees

    • By Carl P.,
    • Cordele, GA,
    • Feb 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is really wonderful, we were tired of all the excess fees from the banks, it really is truly no fees and we love that. And we have been telling everyone who will listen. We intend to continue using Varo, this is a great way to bank.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very pleased with Varo banking

    • By Oscar S.,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is all that its advertised, and so many other ways to save money, build credit, and also there when pockets fall thin before payday. To not try Varo would not hurt them in any way but you would be doing yourself a huge disservice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo Money

    • By Jefferey Y.,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo Money is one of the best online banking sites I have ever used. It's easy to understand and move around on their site. I recommend Varo Money to anyone that needs a great bank. Thanks Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fast deposits

    • By Kenneth H.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Feb 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is fast and easy. Useful, and the fast deposits make it highly recommended. I usually don't use banks but Varo is good. The fast deposits is the main reason why I'm sold on this card. Being paid 2 days earlier is very useful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Customer Service

    • By Marsha T.,
    • Covington, GA,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had to call several times for questions about my account and was really pleased. The customer rep was very helpful and treated me with the utmost respect, not treating me like I was bothering them as some other companies do. They work in a timely matter to make sure the problem is resolved and you have all the answers you need. Would highly recommend them to anyone for their banking needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The way it should be...

    • By Travis G.,
    • Idaho,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    $100 referral bonus to start things off, then no waiting in line or paying fees to use your own money, higher interest savings account, it's just the way things always should have been. I don't think at all that Varo is just trying to butter me up so they can get a cut of my cheddar.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome!

    Overall Experience:

    Easy, secure, and reliable way of managing all of my savings, spending my money as well as tracking my expenses!

    One thing that really matters to me is the delivery time it usually takes for bank cards to be shipped to new customers. I was so pleased with Varo, because my new card quickly came in the mail and was so simple to set up, and activate. Which I did as soon as I received it!

    Thank you Varo Money!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Actually get the referral bonus

    • By Melinda B.,
    • Saint Charles, MO,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Has been very reliable and haven't had any issues with the card since I first ordered it! It did take a while to obtain the card after the first initial order. But my check did clear in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo

    • By Richard B.,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm writing this short review to show my appreciation and thanks to all of the staff at Varo, to those I came into contact with, those that I don't come into contact with. I had a few problems I created myself and the service was exceptional. I was frustrated and I probably deserved to be hung up on in my book. Yet the lady looked right past my rudeness and fixed my account issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo Money is great.

    • By Nikole W.,
    • Oregon,
    • Feb 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Setting up the Checking and Savings accounts didn't take any time at all. I received my card within 10 business days and activating it was quick and simple. Even the setup for direct deposit as well as the transfer from checking to savings was easy. I love the app. It is one of the easiest user-friendly apps I have. I already referred 2 friends and encouraged them to get started. The bonus referral is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love them, they're professional and friendly, willing to help you any way possible

    • By James M.,
    • London, KY,
    • Mar 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Been here just over 2 months and they've been great rather by an email or on the phone. Kind, friendly, and professional, willing to go the extra mile to help if you're having an issue of some type.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hassle/fee-free

    • By Daryl S.,
    • California,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First I had Chime - and still an account holder, now I have Varo.

    Bancorp, the parent company, is a cut above the brick-and-mortars of the banking world.

    Not only do I NOT miss walking into a bank and dealing with long lines, I don't see me ever returning to any of the "big banks" ever again.

    The amount of money I've saved with Varo (and Chime) over the past two years is mind-blowing. Service fees, NSF fees, and overdraft fees are things you never have to worry about with a bank like Varo.

    My hat's off to Bancorp for bringing hassle-free banking into my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent bank

    • By Matthew M.,
    • Spartanburg, SC,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I enjoy the perks that come with Varo. I can use this card to pay my bills early with two-day direct deposit. I appreciate the fact I can overdraft with no fees and using the app to check my account balance and transactions.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Yes!

    • By Dana C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Since banking with Varo, I've experienced their customer service which was fast and friendly. This bank is a great bank. For starters, I like the savings aspect. For example, it saves your change automatically. I really really enjoy that part.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great card for accounts of checking debit card

    • By Marie B.,
    • California,
    • Mar 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    All accounts are able to be fixed, all deposits and withdrawals are seen on the statement on the account for each card or debit account for checking. Can also send money or transfer money to other accounts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo makes life easier

    • By Ken N.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo makes my life easier. No lines at the bank, no charges, and I can see what and where I'm spending with just a click. It also helps to save a little money every payday. I truly enjoy banking with Varo because it's just easier, period.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love. Love. LOVE!

    • By Starr B.,
    • Ohio,
    • Mar 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the best card I've used EVER! It has a wonderful option to save your change and before you know it, it adds up pretty fast! Keep up the great work Varo! You get no hassles, you can't overdraft your account. It tells you any time there is a deposit or withdrawal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great, no fees

    • By Teresa G.,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    No fees, no hassle, everything just as described. You get checking along with savings accounts, direct deposits, best so far out of every one I've ever used. They are very true to their word, so yea, I'd recommend with highly reviewed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Simple and straightforward.

    • By Brian W.,
    • Washington,
    • Mar 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As the title says, very simple and straightforward. What else can I say? Easy application, straightforward interface both online and with the app. I haven't had any problems yet so I'm not sure about the customer service experience, but so far, so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By Sarah W.,
    • Poplarville, MS,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo transactions are fast and easy. The phone app is easy to use. The debit card works perfectly. Immediate transfers within seconds. Customer service is friendly and courteous. Transfer/payment fees are extremely low and reasonable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Responsive and easy to use

    • By Gwendolyn H.,
    • Fergus Falls, MN,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first when I got Varo I did not like it because it was taking transfers from my established bank account from the savings instead of the checking. So I emailed them and they said they could not fix the problem because it was a problem with another company that does that. And I appreciated their response. Also, as soon as I buy something, in the store or online, the app pops up to tell me that there was a transaction which is good if someone is stealing my card all of a sudden I would know immediately. I am also thrilled that they are going to have overdraft protection. But I am not sure how that will work in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best free online actual account you will find

    • By Larry M.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Because it's a convenient, effective mobile banking, it's above the other "mobile" wannabes! The no-fees are awesome, however, the ATM fees are a little steep. Also, if like to have better promos and referral options...you will not find another option out there. It's way better than Chime, places and financial services are able to verify the account just like an actual bank, but without the strings or credit checks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo

    • By Joseph L.,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Easy to load money onto it, can transfer money to anybody with a Varo account. Has a savings account along with a checking account. I like how easy it is to check the balance from the app.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love Varo

    • By Ashlee J.,
    • Creston, CA,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo lets me enjoy the freedom of no fees, I am able to load cash at 7/11, and transfer money without having any issues. The app is great and works really well. I recommend this bank over any other bank. You have support and freedom without having to have stress of overdrawing your account.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Online banking

    • By Michael D.,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Apr 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It’s a good and safe and easy app to use. Helpful app has everything you need for everyday life. I’m happy to have this card around. Love the app - I can cash checks, get paid earlier than others, and I connect the app to my cash apps, and can use it to transfer money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 129

Write a Review for Varo Bank!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Varo Bank Reviews