Read 34 Varo Money Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Please beware

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t open an account with Varo bank. I opened an account with Varo bank over two weeks ago. I received my card a few days ago and omg, Varo bank is crazy. This is the most crazy and weird online bank is the USA. If you guys want them to lock your account without asking you guys, and if you guys want them to control you guys' money, or you guys want them to ask you guys hundreds of questions about your income, who deposits to you guys' account, how you guys have that money, why they deposit to you guys' account, blah blah blah...

    They locked my account without asking me, they didn’t even give me an account. I still have money in my account but I couldn’t use it because they locked my card and they didn’t want to unlock. I emailed them and called them many times. I asked them to please unlock my card because my money is still in my account and I need to use it to buy food. This bank is a scam. I have been waiting for over 24 hours, they have not even unlocked my card yet, but my money is still in my account. Now I can’t use my card, and I can’t get my money back from my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Awful bank and staff

    • Michigan,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son passed away 2/21/2019. This bank is giving me a hard hard time with getting the very small amount of money he has in his account. They don't return phone calls or emails! I am already grieving of my son's passing and they're just making it really hard on me. I sent everything in they needed; his death certificate, his driver's license, his bank card, and my driver's license, and still they're giving me a hard time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service, unprofessional requests

    • California,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a freelance web developer, and two weeks ago I finished up a site and decided to have my client pay me for the job via ACH transfer into my new Varo account. The client somehow made an error and the transfer showed up in my account with his name as the receiver and my name as the sender. So Varo decided to put my account into suspended status and freeze my funds pending verification of my identity, no big deal, I provided them with the requested scan of my driver's license and copy of my current AT&T bill. As well as an explanation as to the transposition of the names. I received an email back the next day stating that my AT&T bill could not be accepted because of a water stain and that I need to provide another form of address verification, so I provided them with the AT&T bill prior to the one I already provided as well as a copy of my gas and electric bill and a copy of my California Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Registration.

    This is now 5 items all acceptable forms of identification at any other financial institution I have provided them per there request, yet my funds are still frozen and I am being told that I now need to provide them with a COPY OF MY CLIENT'S IDENTIFICATION! The client lives in a different state does not bank with Varo and other than the website that was made and the payment I received I have virtual zero relationship with this person and these people at Varo are really telling me that in order to get paid money that is rightfully deposited into my account, even though I provided them with 3 extra pieces of identity verification documents confirming my identity, I need to now get in touch with this other person and ask them to provide me with their ID so I can go and give it to these cons at Varo, and if I am unable to provide this third party's ID, I do not get paid. My former client has no obligation to agree, it is not his bank, he has not signed any contract with Varo, where does Varo think they can hold back what is contractually mine per the deposit agreement in lieu of a third-party not contractually bound doing something.

    I do not recommend them at all, despite repeated attempts I can not get anyone on the phone that can help with this matter, all the operators tell me that the person handling this will email me, repeated request per email for a phone call but nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this scam like the plague!

    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a member of Varo for a few months now. Who wouldn't turn down no overdrafts, no fee banking, I mean, come on, right? The promise of Varo is pretty decent. Sadly, it is just a promise, and the concept, the "bank" itself is an utter failure.

    Firstly, Varo is NOT a bank, and shouldn't ever be trusted with your money. Not now, not EVER. These scam artists WILL deliver on the no-fee "banking", but oh my, the cost is just crazy.

    To start with, this company doesn't allow you to print checks, but calls your account a "checking account". That's right, you are NOT allowed to order checks (even from third-party services). They will be IMMEDIATELY rejected by the "bank."

    Secondly, you'd think that a "bank" would have, you know, functioning logins for those of us not wanting to use mobile devices. Makes sense, riiiight? Nope!

    Thirdly, this "bank" will delay your bank -> bank transfers. They don't give you a reason "why", they just delay them. My own case:

    I had 3 transfers submitted over a weekend.

    Friday - arrived WEDNESDAY.

    Saturday - arrived Monday.

    Sunday (via card transfer).

    After inquiring on Tuesday, I was told that the money was delayed until Wednesday evening. Seriously...

    As far as "transfers", this company will indefinitely disable your ability to receive these, at their discretion, for, well, for no legitimate reason that I can establish. Of course, this puts your own money on hold until it gets back to the sender (can take a few days). Talk about a huge, huge mess.

    Support (say, in the case of that last paragraph)? Yeah, forget about it. Email, they claim takes 48 hours. Seriously, 48 hours. Phones, you're on hold for an hour, only to be told that they have to "escalate" the issue, and God only knows how long THAT can take.

    MOST banks prioritize deposits before withdrawals. Not Varo. They make sure your withdrawals come first, and make sure that they reject things, appropriately. Even IF you're supposed to have a deposit coming in, that's going to be rejected.

    If you plan on doing any sort of "serious" banking (and by serious, I mean day to day transactions), Varo is not to be trusted. Not even close. Not even a little.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, never again

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was introduced to Varo by my coworker. The bank claims they can give you your paycheck two days early. Obviously I was intrigued. I had Varo for a while and never have any "major" issues with them. I was upset that their whole two days early is really a day earlier unless you want to wake up at 2 AM. I get paid on Fridays so two days before should be Wednesday but I always receive them on Thursday. I had a fraud on my account for $150. Varo doesn’t offer any temp cards or anything, so if you lose your card or your account gets hacked, good luck waiting 3 weeks! Yes, they take forever to send over the card as well to have access to your money again. On top of that, they said that my fraud wasn’t fraud after an "investigation" and proceeded to take another $150 out my account after I’ve been hacked and already lost $150 from whoever was hacking my bank account. Customer service girl Mickey, whatever her name was, was very rude and unprofessional and no help what so ever. They can’t even tell you why they came to the conclusion it wasn’t fraud they just tell like "oh well."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Never got my balance returned to me

    • Texas,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account was closed the very same day my $200 deposit came through and couldn't be told any reason why and that my balance would be mailed to my address on file via check-in within 2 weeks, but that was a month ago and I've called and called and can't even be informed whether or not my money has been mailed to me and that was all I had to live on. Very inconsiderate and if I had kept someone's money from them for as long as they have mine, I would've been arrested for theft.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Oct 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with Varo for a couple of months. They were always good to me until money got stolen from my account. They claimed to find no error and $630 was taken from my savings account and transferred to my checking account. They also lie between their teeth. My friend found an error but, they said they didn’t. So, I concluded that they don’t care about their customers. They really don’t.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wow!

    • Butler, PA,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was using Chime Bank for a few months and had numerous issues with them. I saw an advertisement for VARO banking so I decided to fill out the application for them. I receive my card just today and I called in and activated the card and set up my pin. After doing so once my card was activated I downloaded the app and had a few problems with answering my information. The app said to contact VARO if there were any issues so I did so. I was on hold for exactly 43 minutes and got frustrated so I decided to hang up. After that, I looked up reviews on this company and there was not one good review about this company. I am glad that I read all the reviews before I decided to set up my direct deposit. After re-reading these reviews, I would not recommend this company to my worst nightmare. Thank you all for giving honest feedback and reviews about this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Refusing to give me my money

    • Ellicott City, MD,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a Varo account for a while and a few friends sent me money through Zelle to help me cover emergency expenses. Varo froze my account and demanded proof of their ID’s, transaction history, and bank statements from the people who sent me money. I provided all the information they had asked for and they proceeded to close my account. After speaking to a representative, I was assured I would be sent my account balance which was around $5500 in a check-in 14 days from the date my account was closed. It has been 20 days so I called Varo, to be told they aren’t sending me my account balance. I called today and they are refusing to send me the money from my account. If this isn’t resolved, I am filing a police report.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    No complaints!

    • Arkansas,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for an account last month and received my card on time, as promised! I've used my card before receiving my direct deposit today from the VA. I transferred funds to my Varo account from an external account to test it out and experienced no fees, and the transfer was quick.

    I don't call my bank for regular things. If I ever need to call a bank it will be for something major, but using the contact option in the app I have received very fast responses, and the customer service seems to be very quick.

    Varo rate has gone up this month to 1.25% if I'm not mistaken, but either way, I am happy with the account and will continue to use it as I need to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 16, 2018

      Company Response from Varo Money, Inc.

      Hi Lenet, thanks for your review! We've worked hard to create the best banking experience possible, without the fees you find at the big banks. We also just increased the APY on our savings accounts to 1.25%. We want our customers to save more money instead of paying fees to the big banks. We appreciate your review! Let us know if you need anything by reaching out to us at help@varomoney.com.


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    A bank with heart

    I made the leap to Varo Money after Bank of America charged me $140 in overdraft fees in a single day. I had been a BofA customer for decades and didn't even realize that I had so-called overdraft "protection" on my account, so I didn't know how it worked. When I called to ask if I could have the charges reversed (the totals bills covered totaled less than $30) and take it off of my account, I was basically told "no" on both counts.

    Moving to Varo took a bit of to-doing, but I there are few businesses I can think of who say "no fees" and mean it. I've been banking with Varo for several months now and love them. Each time I run into a snag, I call their customer service who are awesome. And while they seem to be working out a few kinks with their app (they are a startup after all), I would definitely recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 34

Write a Review for Varo Money!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review