Veggetti Review: Is It Legit or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 28, 2014

Billing itself as a healthier alternative to carb-heavy spaghetti, comes Veggetti. This handheld device claims you can cut vegetables such as zucchini or carrots into long, thin strips that resemble traditional pasta, but have less calories.

Veggetti is sold by Ontel Products, Inc., based in Fairfield, NJ. They are not BBB Accredited and they currently have a C rating, due to hundreds of complaints within the last 3 years. The website itself is “powered by” Liquid Focus, which is also not BBB Accredited and has an F rating.

How Veggetti Works

Veggetti is an hourglass-shaped device with 12 stainless-steel blades on both ends. You stick in your favorite long-and-thin veggie like a carrot and twist. Essentially, you are “peeling” the vegetable: one end offers thinner strips, and the other thicker. Once cut, it says you can boil like pasta and serve with your favorite sauce as well as make things like salads, garnishes, and hash browns.

Veggetti comes with:

  • Veggetti Slicer
  • Gourmet Recipe Guide
  • Super Slicer (+ S & H)
  • 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Veggetti Pricing, Return, and Shipping

You can order Veggetti for $14.99 plus $6.99 S & H plus $1 “Web Service Fee” for a total of $22.98. If you want the “free” Super Slicer, add $6.99 for S & H for a total of $29.97. If you don’t like the product, return within 30 days (you pay for shipping) and get your money back, minus original S & H and WSF.

Privacy Policy

Ontel Products may use your information to contact you “for marketing purposes, shared with other organizations to help them contact consumers by email and/or telephone for marketing purposes.” You may also opt-in for other third-party services, and may cancel those by sending an email.

Bottom Line

First of all - you are not making “spaghetti” with this device. You are merely slicing vegetables to RESEMBLE pasta - you will not be fooled when you take a bite. That said, there is always a case for eating healthier, and this may increase you and your family’s vegetable intake. But because of Veggetti’s high cost and the lousy BBB ratings, it’s not worth it.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 62 Veggetti Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 11 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 69% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Great Little Tool

    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    We got our Veggetti maker at Walgreen's Pharmacy. No shipping. No waiting. (Daughter's a veghead.) This is a great little tool! Of course Veggetti-sliced squash doesn't taste like pasta: it's squash! However, Zucchini and yellow squash sliced Veggetti style and combined with some spinach and basil spaghetti, a little butter, wine and garlic, plus fresh spinach and chicken for those of us who are meat eaters was an excellent meal. The cutter is sharp but comes with a pusher to save fingers. Works like a champ and although I thought the Veggetti squash would fall apart when cooked, it had amazing texture: more like spaghetti than I had expected. We stir fried it a bit (like 1-2 minutes didn't boil it and it was awesome.

    Next we are doing Veggetti style potatoes and carrots made into potato pancakes. We also had vegetables in a salad. And I found myself telling a stranger about this little gadget the next time I was at Walgreen's...mainly because it WORKS. Weird, eh?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Veggetti is Awesome

    • Florida,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I'm a natural health consultant and a raw food lover, this little handheld device is pretty awesome.it's easy to use it simple to clean.and most people know you're not making pasta, yes it's a vegetable sliced up to simulate look of pasta. However, anyone on a raw food diet is going to love it. The people that love pasta but don't love the carbs will still experience the concept of pasta. it's slightly warming the zucchini pasta, and topping it with your favorite sauce or gravy will satisfy the pasta lover in anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Looked for such a product for years.

    • Florida,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    20 years ago a posh club served us a dinner with "cucumber spaghetti" and it was outstanding. For years I tried many slicers to duplicate those long spaghetti-like strands of cucumbers (or other soft vegetables: keyword is soft).

    The julienne slicers are not designed to do this. Nothing worked, until I found this little device. I am so pleased with it. The "Vegetti" is well worth the price. I even bought a second one as a back-up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    not spaghetti, but still good

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Apr 6, 2014

    I am diabetic and need to avoid pasta, so I picked this up at Bed Bath & Beyond for $14.99 (minus my 20% off coupon) and immediately put a zucchini through it and put some sauce on it I had in the freezer. No, it's not spaghetti. But I can twirl it on my fork and have my sauce, which is the reason to have pasta in the first place, and not worry about my blood sugar spiking. Healthy eating means learning to adjust. I bought one for a friend too.

    If you are expecting to have zucchini taste just like pasta, prepare to be disappointed. But if you don't want pasta and are looking for an alternative, this is it. and you won't lose your fingertips or knuckles on a mandolin!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    It works and it is easy to use.

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Apr 14, 2014

    Purchase mine at a local Walgreens. The product does exactly what it is suppose to do. If you don't know going in that it isn't traditional spaghetti but a low carb version that has been used for several years, then sorry. All it does is make it easier, and it IS easier to use than other methods of trying to make string out of veggies.

    The only drawback is clean up. Not easy to clean.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Vegetti

    • Magna, UT,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do not understand the negative reviews, because it does exactly what it's supposed to do. I have used it for over a year, with no issues. I don't know what you people could be doing wrong, because it works great, and the squash that I'm not able to use just gets diced for the next day.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Awesome Experience

    • Kentwood Michigan ,
    • Jun 15, 2015

    I used my Veggetti on 4/13/13. It was excellent, in 2 minutes it spiraled a zucchini to look like pasta for this evening's main course. Appearance and presentation keep the dieter, clean eater, healthy lifestyle transition fun. My zucchini "Pasta," sauteed ground turkey, spinach and Prego light smart sauce dish came out awesome. Presentation and Taste.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Too expensive

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    A friend got this, said it worked fine, but wondered how long the blades would last before they go dull. I think it's too expensive for such a cheap device. If I decide to get one, I will use coupons and get it for 9.99 at bed, bath and beyond.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I love this product

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I just purchased my Veggetti​ yesterday. Just finished the most amazing zucchini pasta. I tossed the zucchini pasta into a fry pan with olive oil, fresh garlic, diced mushrooms, chopped bell peppers and topped with a little pepper and fresh grated parmesan cheese. Yummy, so healthy and delicious. We definitely will be using this a lot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Works as advertised, very pleased

    • Mission Viejo, CA,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    My mom bought this product a few months ago because she wanted to participate in her own food prep but arthritis in her hands prevented her from cutting veggies with a knife. This product really delivered.

    It does leave behind about an inch of vegetable, but this is not a drawback. These are saved to cut up later to steam for omelets, rice, or add to soups.

    Not easy to clean blades, so I bought a cheap toothbrush for this purpose. Now clean up is a breeze.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Love the Vegetti

    • Woodbury Heights NJ,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    I don't know what the negative comments are about. I bought the regular version of Vegetti and made Zucchini tonight with no issues. NONE. EASY to use and fast to cook with my favorite sauce. Yes, I had nice strands of 'pasta' and the ends I simply cut, sliced and threw them in with the rest.

    I think some people are just over the top. If you can't eat pasta this is a wonderful substitute and no carb overload feeling after dinner.

    I WILL recommend to friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a Review for Veggetti!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review