About Vessyl

Co-founded by Justin Lee and developed over the course of seven years, Vessyl is a specialized cup that uses built-in sensors to automatically analyze liquids at the molecular level, and to provide real time information about the calories, fat, caffeine, protein, and sugar levels they contain, and more.

According to the Vessyl, this information can then be used to track your hydration levels and help you make healthier and more informed decisions. And little by little, these decisions can translate into big change over time.

Sounds interesting, right? Before you buy one though, let’s take a look at how Vessyl is claimed to work.

How Does Vessyl Work?

Although the company doesn’t tell us much about the technology behind it, Vessyl is a 13oz cup made of a non-stick, scratch resistant, glass-like material that features “sophisticated sensors that can analyze the content at the molecular level,” and that’s within “the same realm of technology as quality control in the food industry.” Because of this, Vessyl is claimed to not only work with traditional beverages, but also with alcohol, smoothies, and yogurt, and can even differentiate between your drink and the water from melting ice.

After this data has been analyzed, Vessyl contains a built-in display (known as Pryme, which is indicated by small facets on the cup’s exterior) that will active once it’s picked up and tilted, and will provide actionable data that you can use to make healthier beverage choices. In fact, the manufacturer claims that because Vessyl “knows and aggregates the makeup of everything you drink,” it can even help you sleep better by learning how to choose and time your beverage intake.

Nutrition Tracking with Vessyl

Using its Pryme display, your Vessyl will be able to track and display your real-time hydration needs, which will rise and decline based on a variety of factors, including your level of activity.

According to the company, you’ll also be able to choose the specific “lenses” you want to track with your Vessyl. And although no additional information is provided about this, it appears the manufacturer is referencing factors such as fat intake, caffeine consumption, and more.

Then, you’ll be able to sync this data with popular activity trackers (although exactly which ones isn’t made clear), as well as Vessyl’s iOS and Android apps. And if you consume a beverage not using your Vessyl, you’ll be able to manually enter this information into the app.

Finally, each Vessyl features a spill-proof lid that opens with a simple touch of your thumb, in addition to wire-free charging.

How Many Calories Do You Get from Beverages?

According to the Vessyl website, “beverages are the #1 single source of calories,” which is based on data from the National Health and Nutrition Education Survey. While we couldn’t confirm that this is the case, we did find several references to the fact that “sugary soft drinks are the No. 1 source of calories in our diets.” In fact, “We get more calories from sodas and sugary drinks than any other individual food — cake, cookies, pizza, anything.”

In other words, we get more calories from soda than any of the other foods we eat. As such, if we’re looking to cut our calorie intake, the logical thing to do would be to cut out sugar drinks and sodas, which is something doctors have been telling us to do for years.

With this in mind, just how useful can you expect Vessyl to be? Let’s see what others are saying about this technological cup.

Consumer Feedback for Vessyl

Although Vessyl isn’t yet available to the public (and actually just had its ship date pushed back to Q4 2015), there have been dozens of online reviews posted about the idea behind the product, versus hands-on reviews. And if we’re being perfectly honest, most have been fairly brutal.

For example, Drunk Tech Review filmed a funny (although some might say, vulgar and definitely NSFW) video review of the Vessyl, asking some really good, fundamental questions about its overall usefulness.

TechHive seemed to mirror Drunk Tech Review (and to pull no punches as well) when they wrote, “The Vessyl calorie-counting cup is probably the most ridiculous, unnecessary gadget I’ve seen demoed in all my years as a tech journalist.” In summary, according to the author, this is due to 3 primary reasons:

  1. You’ll need to carry your Vessyl with you at all times, and pour all your drinks into it, which means you’ll be constantly washing your cup throughout the day (it’s not dishwasher safe).
  2. In most instances, calorie and sugar content beverage information is already available on nutrition labels.
  3. Once your Vessyl calculates the nutrition information in a beverage (let’s use Diet Coke as an example), you won’t need to know it again, unless you’re pairing your Vessyl with the smartphone app to track calories.

In fact, Vessyl’s perceived ridiculousness was outline in a scathing Colbert Report segment in 2014, where he likened it to getting real-time updates on your bowel movements. On top of this, TIME even noted that, while the technology is “mind-blowing,” they questioned whether or not it’s even necessary.

Despite these concerns, Vessyl has garnered well over $1 million in pretail sales, based on an original goal of just $50K.

From a company perspective, Vessyl is manufactured by Mark One Lifestyle Inc., although they’re not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Vessyl Pricing & Refund Policy

Vessyl is currently in preorder mode and is available for $119 (including charger), which will increase to $199 thereafter. Vessyl is currently planning to ship during the Fall of 2015 for all preorders, and about one month later for all standard order.

When ordering, you’ll be able to choose your base and lid accent color between 8 different options, including Steam, Shadow, Snow, Cotton Rose, Cabernet, Island, Deep Sea, Glacier.

All Vessyl orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. There wasn’t any warranty information listed on the Vessyl website, although the company claims they’ll provide this after “extensive drop and other reliability tests” have been conducted.

In order to cancel your preorder or request a refund after shipping, you’ll need to send an email to support@myvessyl.com.

Should You Spend Your Money on Vessyl?

Chopping to the point: When it comes to Vessyl, we have 3 primary concerns:

Concern #1: Vessyl’s Usefulness

First, as we outlined in the Customer Reviews section, it seems that the information provided by Vessyl would only be useful to a very narrow portion of the population, such as fitness trainers, athletes, or someone that’s willing to drink all their beverages from the cup in order to closely monitor their liquid calorie intake. And even then, much of this information can typically be gathered from the nutrition label on the container with only minimal effort.

In fact, it seems like it would require more time and effort to pour the beverage into your Vessyl, activate the display, and then tabulate the information in the smartphone app, than it would be to simply read the label in the first place.

Concern #2: Other Crowdfunded Products

Second, crowdfunded products have notorious reputations for not being released on time; or in some instances, not at all (a prime example of this is Coin Credit Card). In fact, Vessyl’s release date has already been moved from early 2015 to the Fall.

On top of this, even once they are released, many crowdfunding projects fail to meet consumer’s expectations (think TrackR). And while this may not necessarily be the case with Vessyl, we’ll just have to wait and see.

Learn more: The Risks of Backing a Crowdfunded Campaign

Concern #3: Vessyl’s Longevity

Finally, there’s no information available about the type of battery contained in Vessyl. And while we are told that a charge will last 5-7 days and will take about 60 minutes to recharge, we’d have to wonder how long the battery itself is projected to last, and what would happen if it needed to be replaced. Would you be required to purchase a whole new Vessyl?

With all of this in mind, if you’re an early adopter for new technologies or if you fit into one of the categories noted above, Vessyl might be your cup of tea (pun totally intended) and you should consider becoming one of the $1M+ who have already placed their order. Otherwise, you might want to wait until Vessyl has been released and customer feedback comes in before making your purchase.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Vessyl

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A scam, pure and simple

    • Vienna, Austria,
    • Sep 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I backed the original Vessyl in 2014. It seemed like a fun idea which was worthy of support. I started worrying when it was delayed, but then in October 2015, they offered a Vessyl Prime for free. That never came, either, even though they were apparently selling them in retail. I wallowed up with them and got more empty promises, so in January of 2017, I requested a refund. After lots of back and forth, they stopped answering my emails.

    Vessyl and their parent company, Mark One, seem to be nothing but a scam. Avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • Singapore,
    • Aug 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had ordered two Vessyls in 2014 and till date, nothing received. I had initiated a refund request which is pending till date. Is there any legal action we can take against this fraud company?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Crooks

    • Amsterdam, Netherlads,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The same situation as two other commenters. No product since 2014, promised a refund, no developments in the past several months, and stopped responding to emails. A bunch of crooks is what these people at Vessyl are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No refund

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Looks like I am not the only one. Also got messages from Eric Brown saying a refund would come back to me. Five months later still nothing. I commented on Vessyl's Facebook page. I've now been blocked.

    Avoid like the plague; thieving monkeys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No product - no refund!

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was an original backer of the product in 2014. I have not received a Vessyl Prime opt-in, and despite being told I would get a refund from Eric Brown at MarkOne in 30 business days, I am still waiting over two months later.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 29, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      There is another review website that they seem to respond to. I'll let you know if I have any success with getting a refund via that website.

    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent criminals

    • Perth, Western Australia ,
    • Apr 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lies from "go to woah." I echo every other comment here. The last thing they did nine months ago was excitedly announce that they hired a new CEO.

    Why doesn't someone who knows about this launch a class action lawsuit in the USA?

    I have a question for you if you're living in the USA: are they still selling the Pryme in Apple stores in the USA (that they were allegedly giving us original backers of Vessyl for waiting patiently)?

    They were selling these for months collecting more money while constantly lying to the people that paid for their company. In effect, we were all the original shareholders, yet because the big end of town wasn't involved we get no justice?

    I should've known they were a pyramid/Ponzi scheme when they were immediately pushing to refer ten friends to buy in to get another free one.

    I hate these guys for their disingenuous thievery. I give them -10 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 9, 2017

      Max

      Hi Will,

      I am looking for backers of a class action suit. Not because of the money only but the fact that they endanger fundraisers of businesses with their toxic or fraudulent attitude.

      I just got started, so it will take me a while to set everything up. It's important that backers are from within the U.S. to instigate the lawsuit.

      Cheers

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    They are cheaters, never buy

    • Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was one of the original backers that purchased, like many others here, in late 2014 and was promised a delivery early 2015. This date moved and moved, and at one point it was said that there was only a problem with the design of the lid.

    Then there came more and more delays, and finally, in June of 2016, they said that they would redo all of it from scratch and that it would be ready in late 2017. Why redo from scratch two years before you said that all was nearly finished and final testing in progress?

    We were then offered the Pryme for free. Once again, silence. I was then told that they had started shipping eight months ago. Up until now, I received zero! They used the money from the original backers to make a new product and sell that and gave the middle finger (well, probably an entire hand) to all of the original backers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Definite scam

    • Miami,
    • Feb 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like all the other reviews, I wrote them several times and always received letters promising a refund, but nothing comes. I get emails from an Eric Brown. I am looking for answers on how to recover my monies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Refund is fake

    • Belgrade, Serbia,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am also waiting for my refund! Can somebody help me on how to force this company to pay?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service!

    Horrible customer service! I have one of these, and within a couple of weeks of getting it, the lid broke. You can't buy them separately. They answered my email saying that they would send me a new one, but they never did! They also have not answered any emails after that initial one.

    I will NOT be purchasing the newer model when it comes out, and I've gone to all the people that I told about this cup and told them not to waste their money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam and liars

    • BC,
    • Oct 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got in early and was stoked. Lots of delays and promises later, yeah I'm ok still. Two years later? Sorry, I'm out, please refund. Delays, delays, delays, then suddenly they stopped responding. Attached a different email to my account, and they responded ONCE with a copy/paste of the exact same email as the previous one, and then silence again.

    I'm never getting my money, I realize that now, but I want an answer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robert Leigh

      Raise a complaint on this website, Better Business Bureau: Start With Trust. I got my refund back in ten days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Vessyl!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review