About Vitacost

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 13, 2014

Vitacost is an online retailer that specializes in healthy living merchandise at up to 50% off retail prices. The company claims to have an award-winning customer service department, and that “shopping at Vitacost.com is the smart thing to do.”

Based out of Boca Raton, FL and founded in 1994, Vitacost currently holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 300 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews about the company appear to be mixed, with the overwhelming number of complaints citing processing problems with online orders, and poor customer service.

How Vitacost Works

With a business model that “offers savings up to 50% off retail on healthy products,” Vitacost offers more than 40,000 products across 2,500 different brands, including self-branded items. Product categories include:

  • Vitamins & Supplements – Vitamins A-K, essential minerals, cases, dailies, pre-natals, and more.
  • Sports & Fitness – Protein, recovery, fat burners, goal-oriented (e.g. getting started, building muscle, etc.), pre-workout, and more.
  • Beauty & Personal Care – Cosmetics, anti-aging products, personal care, hair care, fragrances, and more.
  • Babies & Kids – Formula, diapering, toys, food, bath & skin care, and more.
  • Diet Products – What’s hot, top programs, top products, and more.
  • Foods & Beverages – Baby food & formula, beverages, condiments, fruit, oils, spices, and more.
  • Natural Home – Housewares, yard & outdoors, and more.
  • Pet Health – Grooming, healthcare, supplements, toys, and more.
  • Herbs & Botanicals – Acai berry, fenugreek, ginkgo biloba, saw palmetto, and more.
  • Medicine Cabinet – Allergy & sinus, cold & flu, pain relievers, skincare, and more.
  • Deals – Here, you can find up-to-date coupons for Buy One, Get One Half Off, up to 25% off your next purchase, and coupons based on category.

A refreshing feature about the Vitacost site is the presence of sub-categories, such as Doctor Recommended under Vitamins, Endurance & Training under Sports, and Problems Solved under Beauty. In addition, everything Vitacost sells is backed by their Five-Star Guarantee:

  1. Low prices on everything they sell.
  2. Friendly, knowledgeable customer service, and an unconditional money back guarantee.
  3. The highest-quality products.
  4. Large selection.
  5. The utmost in security and privacy.

It’s important to note that even though Vitacost claims to have “award-winning” customer service, and that their representatives are knowledgeable and friendly, the number one customer complaint we found (by a wide margin) referenced poor customer service.

Vitacost Pricing & Refund Policy

Because Vitacost offers many different products, prices can vary greatly.

Orders for Vitacost products totaling more than $25, and orders over $50 for all other brands, come with free shipping within the U.S. Otherwise, there is a flat shipping fee of $4.99 (Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands are $9.99). If you place your order prior to 1pm, the company claims it will be shipped the same day, and you’ll receive it within 1-4 days.

If you’re looking for items at no cost, be sure to check out their Free Samples page.

All Vitacost orders come with 30-day money back guarantee. Click here for full details. If you need assistance, you can visit their extensive Service Central section, or you can call (800) 381-0759.

Pros

  • Low prices on more than 40,000 products across 2,000 brands.
  • Backed by a Five-Star Guarantee.
  • 30-day money back guarantee.

Cons

  • Common complaints include problems processing online orders, and poor customer service.

Bottom Line

If you’re looking to save some (or a lot of) money on healthy living products, Vitacost may be a great solution for you. However, keep in mind that you may soon experience problems ordering online, and/or poor customer service.


Read 24 Vitacost Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Vitacost over performed for me

    • Illinois,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found their coupon that is received through an email sign up. 25% off...then you also get $25 to spend if you order over $100 and free shipping.

    So I ordered enough prenatal and fish pills to last my wife and her now pregnant sister through their delivery dates. Everything was in stock, easy process from cart to checkout.

    I ordered Thursday at 9:30ish pm and the box arrived at 2:00 pm Saturday. I also received an email receipt of delivery. Great experience for me. I’ll use them again most definitely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Changed their shipping protocol, out dated products

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a loyal customer for a few years now. ALL the problems started November 2018, they stated I had to change warehouses and no longer will receive my packages from North Carolina, 2-3 days they are now coming Kentucky, since I live in Ohio, it was now taking 1 week to get my packages. Cust service constantly lied and made excuses, then after a few months I started receiving my order with 1-2 days. Then come this month, June, all 4 orders I placed where transferred to either Las Vegas or North Carolina, and now the orders that come from Las Vegas take 7 days, even though I paid the additional charge to receive in 2-3 because I wanted to guarantee I received my order since when you take the free delivery they send at their leisure. I even paid $20 for FedEx overnight and had to wait 2 days for my product. If I took their free delivery I would have received the next day, since FedEx home delivers on Saturday but FedEx overnight doesn't. Then when I received my package it was expiring in 5 days. When I requested a replacement they canceled my replacement saying quality control for inventory, even though customer service listed multiple warehouses with longer best by dates. ALL MY ORDERS FOR JUNE I had to duplicate my order from another company or physically go to the store, since my orders were taking so long to receive. Then customer service lied and said no way to get orders from Las Vegas to Ohio with 2-3 days, takes 7. I placed an order on 6/30 and I won't receive until 7/8. If you try and cancel an order before it ships they lie and say it already shipped, I receive online orders from California all the time in 2-3 days.

    Whoever took over Vitacost last year RUINED THE COMPANY! LOST MY BUSINESS. I had to order all my supplements from a different company on 7/12 and I'm receiving this order from Amazon tomorrow, 7/3.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My #1 place to shop

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Been shopping with Vitacost for over 20 years. You absolutely cannot beat their prices on most things anywhere, not even on Amazon. Shipping is superb; free 2-day shipping, and they don't even charge you a membership like Amazon does. They have the top items, not just some off brand but the top selling supplements, food, household, and personal items. At one time they did have a packaging issue, but they fixed the problem and the packaging is quite sufficient, even for heaving and large liquids. I bought a stack of protein powders that were later taken off the market (Garden of Life) and Vitacost gave me my money back for them. You won't be disappointed, Vitacost is the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Won't reveal analysis of their branded supplements

    • Reading, PA,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I wanted was independent verification that what they say is in their supplements is actually in them, but they just keep blowing me off.

    Why? What are they afraid of? Their branded supplements are suspiciously cheap. Why won't they submit them to Labdoor for analysis?

    They are hiding something. I won't be buying supplements from them anymore, and I used to spend a lot.

    Stay away unless you buy name-brand supplements that are independently verified.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awesome

    • Maricopa, AZ,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been ordering from Vitacost every few months for several years now. I have to give a review on my most recent order.

    I ordered at noon yesterday and my order was delivered just a few minutes ago - total from order to delivery was about 30 hours! Great product, savings, and supersonic delivery! Very pleased, to say the least.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Promo deception

    I’ve been ordering from Vitacost for about two years. Overall I was satisfied at first. They have terrible customer service, but I was happy overall.

    Then recently I placed an order in which they offered a free promo item with a minimum purchase. After about two weeks, I still hadn’t received my free item. I received everything else except the item that was the "free" promo item. I checked my order in my account to find it’s been canceled. No notification whatsoever.

    I decide to start a chat. The rep says she will immediately have it shipped and I would get an email confirmation. Next day still no email. I chat again. This time they informed me the item is out of stock so they can ask if they can offer a credit for the item and she would follow up by email. Again nobody follows up. Once again I chat with customer service and they said the item is automatically canceled when an item is no longer in stock. But nobody bothers to inform you.

    I believe this is Vitacost using deception to get orders from customers. They promise freebies but later say oh it’s no longer in stock. And instead of offering a credit or replacement they simply tell you "We’re sorry for the frustration this has caused." Fool me once...ain't gonna happen twice. Be wary of promo items designed to get you to place an order. Shop elsewhere to avoid this shady company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • New York,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At this point, I’m very pleased, both in quality and prices. My one complaint to date is they do not send a confirmation or tracking number. When I look up my order history, it always says "no results found!"

    I order often, yet, no order history found.

    To date, I have not had shipping issues, and I hope I never do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good experiences with Vitacost

    • Oklahoma,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've ordered from Vitacost several times a year, for five years. One error in that time, fixed immediately. Today I applied two promo codes to a $170 order and saved $60. That matters!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    PRI Mossop Manuka Honey umf+15,1.1lbs.

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been reordering the PRI Mossop Manuka Honey umf 15+,1.1lbs.from Vitacost. I'm pleased that this product continues to be shipped on time, great packaging to ensure product safety, and an outstanding customer service team to help you with anything, should you need it. I am and will be a repeat customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Get it together, Vitacost!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is only my second time having ordered from Vitacost. I ordered Jel in strawberry and in peach. The strawberry flavor was very well in taste and in texture, but the peach was a different matter. The peach flavor, I noticed, was moistened and lumpy and hard (I wondered if the package had a small hole in it somewhere).

    I called, and then Vitacost replaced the peach for me and they again sent me the peach that was hard, moistened, and lumpy. I called again to let them know to check all of their peach-flavored Jel because obviously there is a problem.

    What an experience as a new customer to Vitacost. Now I am skeptical to order anything again, but I might give them another chance and might recommend them to a friend. I just hope that my friend doesn't have the same experience for it would make me look bad.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Won't refund me for returned items, scammed

    • Brentwood, CA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled my order, and they shipped it out anyway. I had them intercept the package, the package was sent back to them, but they won't refund me because they claim their warehouse didn't receive it. The tracking shows returned to sender but they refuse to refund me. I am filing with BBB. Really unprofessional and horrible way to treat a customer. I want my money back. Basically, I was scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Vitacost!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review