Read 24 Vitacost Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I broke up with Vitacost today

    • Orange County, CA,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My office has done business for about three years or so. At first, our shipments arrived in two days and intact. The product integrity was satisfactory. I even recommended Vitacost to others with high marks.

    A little more than a year ago, shipments varied in arrival, taking up to a week. Some products arrived opened and tampered with (not the outer box, the actual product packaging). I called and they replaced the products.

    Although my practice started relying more on other sources, we kept Vitacost in the mix, hoping they were having growing pains and these issues would resolve.

    They got worse.

    Most recently, we placed an order Monday. One product of the entire order arrived Wednesday. I called to find out what happened and the representative said the other package would be delivered by 5 pm. That made no sense to me, and they said they’d send the balance of the shipment again at no charge and it would arrive in two days. I requested overnight delivery, but she wouldn’t entertain that suggestion.

    Again, one item was delivered Thursday from the reorder, so I called again. The representative said she doesn’t know what happened and offered to overnight the balance of the original order. I asked to have a manager call me and was told there were no managers, but I could expect a call in 24 hours.

    A supervisor just called today, Friday. She couldn’t have been less interested in this problem, less informed about the details or more glib in her demeanor. She was mostly silent, and I found myself asking if she was still on the line after excessively long pauses.

    Bottom line, I still don’t have my shipment, and she offered nothing, not even to look into it for me.

    Like any relationship, you can’t want it more than the other party. It takes two. She clearly had no interest in salvaging the relationship, so I told her this would be my last order. She said an obligatory "I’m sorry," and hung up. There was no rant or rude remarks made by either party...she just didn’t care.

    There are too many options out there. Based on lack of performance, I am no longer able to recommend Vitacost. It doesn’t matter because the supervisor made it clear that Vitacost doesn’t need the business, so I’ll continue on with other vendors who are reliable and interested in a successful long-term business relationship.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I always go to Vitacost first.

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Vitacost customer for several years, and am one of those Herbalists that are only allowed to self-diagnose (herbs being illegal in the USA to treat, cure, or prevent disease). I have had a couple of mistakes on my order in the past, but Vitacost customer service always makes it right. I prefer Vitacost to Swanson Vitamins because I feel their products are better, and they have a really fast free shipping when I order over $50. I don't usually post reviews, but I have had a good experience with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust this company

    I was double charged for an order I placed online. When I contacted Vitacost, the first time they said it was my bank's error. The bank said it wasn't their error, but that Vitacost submitted it twice. If Vitacost would submit a request to release the second pending charge, they would release the money within 24 hours.

    I contact Vitacost again two more times. Then I'm told "sorry," it was a computer glitch, and I'll just have to wait three days for the pending charge to drop. In the meantime, my money is tied up, and I have no access to it. What if I needed this money in an emergency or something?

    I am livid that Vitacost would not accept responsibility for this mistake, nor would they go the extra mile to help me out. Their cheaper prices are not worth the hassle, especially if their computers "glitch" and things like this happen. Are you serious?

    Stick with I-herb, Lucky Vitamin or Pure Formulas. I never had trouble like this with those websites. Stay away from Vitacost. They are shady, and they don't even publish their phone number on their website or invoices. Stay far, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Refused to honor my new customer promo

    Be wary consumers! Come on promos and did not make good on the ability to use my new customer discount. After several requests that were refused by the company. I want others to know to read the promo offers very carefully. I asked them to make good on the new customer promo coupon in the form of an account credit, and after several emails, they would not do so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad Vitacost experience

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My advice, don't shop at Vitacost. I'm in Canada and never received my package, and it took 30 days from the time my order was placed for them to process a refund. I had to email multiple times (most of which were not returned) and had to call several times. No one called me back. I was only emailed back after the refund was processed and it was a generic response. The supervisor Nina I spoke with was not helpful what so ever, not sympathetic and offered no consolation of any kind.

    Not even a 10% off coupon, which are given away like candy over there, was offered to me.

    This was a $300 Canadian value order which had Bogo's, and I used a coupon, and if I placed the same order again now, it cost about $400 Canadian. If I actually wanted the items I had ordered, I will be forced to place another order without the discounts I received earlier from their sale. This is not ok at all. A coupon should have been offered so I could have had to opportunity to place my order again without it costing me anything extra. It was not offered even when I asked, just the same generic response from the supervisor "I'm really sorry, and I understand your frustrated." That is an appropriate response when someone asked for a coupon so they re-order. You would think they would want to keep by business, but apparently not. Save yourself some trouble and by from iherb.com, luckyvitamin.com or pureformulas. Never had a problem with any of these sites. Ever since Kroger bought Vitacost, the Canadian customer got the short end of that deal!

    Its been exactly three days since my order was "sent" and the refund STILL hasn't cleared on my credit card. So BUYER BEWARE. They could give me a $100 off coupon, and I STILL wouldn't shop there again, and I was a loyal customer for five years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service!

    I've been ordering from Vitacost for years. They have great prices and SOME products/vitamins that I need, but there's a lot they don't carry. The ONLY problem I've had with them is the shipper they use, called OnTrac. Two to three times a month they just deliver my expensive orders at my doorstep IN AN APARTMENT BUILDING. That's just STUPID! They don't replace if stolen.

    I have contacted Vitacost four times just in the last three months, and they blame the shipper. I kept calling an OnTrac supervisor who tells me each time that she talked to the delivery supervisor and it's written on my delivery account forms to "NOT LEAVE AT DOORSTEP," but yet again, they've dropped it at my door time after time! The supervisor won't even call me back anymore. I send Vitacost an email. They replied that they have to use that shipper unless I pay EXTRA for FedEx.

    What happened to good customer service? I've been a loyal customer for a LONG time, so they should make sure the customer is satisfied. They don't care, so they've lost a GREAT CUSTOMER!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    AVOID this company

    • United Arab Emirates,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live in the United Arab Emirates and purchased just over $100 worth of vitamins. The vitamins are about a quarter of the price to buying them here, which is a plus for Vitacost. However, they only use DHL global mail service and not courier. I received a tracking number on the 1 September, and that's when the problems started. After the package had been picked up by DHL and started processing by them, DHL put a message on my tracking page that they do not deliver to residential or business addresses in my area and that I needed to provide the merchant VITACOST with a PO Box otherwise delivery can't be made.

    I immediately advised them about the message I received and gave them a PO Box and asked them to confirm that they had, in fact, advised DHL, they did not confirm to me. Every response I got was a standard reply stating that I have to wait 60 days before an investigation can take place. I kept reiterating about the PO Box situation but only got the wait until after 60 days reply again and again. Today they sent me a survey, and I filled it in giving all ratings a zero. I quickly got a reply back once again saying I had to wait 60 days to start investigating.

    After I once again mentioned the PO Box issue, I got a reply saying that as I provided a wrong address in first place, they are not going to investigate my package as being lost and were not going to provide me a refund and that as a courtesy they were going to credit my card with the $11 postal charge! I did not give a wrong address, I gave normal delivery instructions (which I use for all previous DHL and FedEx deliveries with many other merchants without problem). I only got the message about providing a PO Box after it had been collected and processed by DHL. They are using this as an excuse not to provide a full refund.

    In addition to this, I have advised them several times that I have terminal cancer and that these vitamins are extremely important to me, but they have no interest. Absolutely the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. Lesson learned; cheap turns out expensive. If you are an international buyer, AVOID this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Completely satisfied

    • Muncie, IN,
    • Sep 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Vitacost customer for several years now. I purchased several supplements monthly. I have never been disappointed with the ordering, service, or the product. I contacted them once about a bottle that wasn't quite sealed completely. They apologized and sent a replacement right away. I think it's a very good company. I guess we never know the quality of the supplements we take, but if everything else is good, it makes me feel like the supplements are good too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad service

    • Australia,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two bottles of the same vitamins from this company. The two bottles were then posted in two different (and large) boxes at different times without letting me know. Therefore, when the first box arrived at my freight forwarding address, I was unaware that a second box was coming and naturally just paid the postage for it to be forwarded to me in Australia.

    When it arrived and I noticed there was just one small bottle of vitamins in the huge box they sent, I chased it up and found out a second box was waiting at my freight forwarding address. I have then had to pay postage a second time ($50 approximately) to get this forwarded to me. When I contacted Vitacost, they could not care a less. Their customer service was the worst I have experienced, and I would most certainly never recommend them or use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best vitamin company I have ever dealt with

    • Jackson, WY,
    • Aug 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not one of their employees I promise. It's hard to please me. Vitacost absolutely shocked me with their amazing customer service when processing a refund for some of the supplements. Their vitamins are affordable, they have a huge selection, always some coupons or promo codes, and their return policy is one of the best. I will be buying only from them now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst online vitamin company

    These jerks still haven't refunded my money weeks after I mailed them back their package. They claim they have instant refunds, they say shop freely, but it is all lies.

    It has been so frustrating dealing with their customer service department. They do not answer my questions, they do not address the issue either. If you tell me to shop freely and promise an instant refund then where is my refund? It's false advertising, and the whole customer service department is very unprofessional.

    Don't let me get started on their shipping carrier; they promise two-day shipping but you won't get that either. They use OnTrac, who is notoriously bad. So, I may have to dispute this with my bank, but they are not worth the headache!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 24

Write a Review for Vitacost!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review