Vital Reds by Gundry MD Review: Does It Really Work?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 15, 2019

Vital Reds is a powdered blend of polyphenol-rich superfruits, natural fat-burning ingredients, and probiotics that Gundry MD advertises will help increase your natural energy, promote digestion, and improve the health and appearance of your skin.

Additional benefits noted on the website include better food metabolizing, less gas and bloating after meals, smoother bowel movements, and “the feeling of finally having the power to start getting your weight under control.”

All you have to do, Gundry MD tells us, is mix one scoop of Vital Reds’ berry-flavored, quick-dissolve formula with a glass of water or the beverage of your choice, and enjoy once per day, with or without food. From there, its soy, sugar, and artificial sweetener-free blend will get to work.

Combining our in-depth research and interviews with professionals, we’ll take a detailed look at Vital Reds’ formulation, the available clinical evidence for Gundry MD’s claims, and the supplement’s close competitors—all so you can decide whether or not to buy.

How Do the Polyphenols in Vitals Reds Work?

Polyphenols are naturally occurring micronutrient compounds found in plants that give them their color and help protect them from external threats.

In humans, Dr. Jason Reed, founder of BestRxForSavings says, “the most likely reason polyphenols are beneficial is due to the fact that they have antioxidant properties.”

They “prevent free radicals (electrons that bounce off of atoms) from bouncing around inside our bodies and causing a host of [inflammation-based] issues,” he adds, such as atherosclerosis and arthritis.

However, Reed points out that the human body doesn’t require polyphenols to maintain good health. Furthermore, it doesn’t necessarily take dozens of “exotic” ingredients—as Gundry MD advertises for those in Vital Reds—to reap the potential benefits polyphenols might provide, he said.

“Eating the recommended daily amount of fruits and vegetables will provide plenty of polyphenols,” he advises.

With these details in mind, let’s zoom in and take a closer look at what you’ll consume with each scoop of Vital Reds.

Which Ingredients are in Vital Reds’ Formula?

Gundry MD advertises that Vital Reds contains the following 100% natural and pure ingredients:

  • Thiamin 1.5 mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7 mg
  • niacin 20 mg
  • Vitamin B6 2 mg
  • Folate 667 mcg DFE (400 mcg folic acid)
  • Vitamin B12 6 mcg
  • Biotin 300 mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10 mg
  • Selenium 70 mcg
  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Reds Blend 1,760 mcg – Carrot, organic apple peel, grape skin extract, Aronia berry extract, organic flaxseed, grape seed extract, acai fruit extract, acerola fruit extract, apple, apple pectin, organic beetroot, blackberry, European black currant fruit extract, blueberry fruit concentrate, cranberry fruit extract, mango, mulberry fruit, papaya, pomegranate, red raspberry, strawberry, cantaloupe, cherry, grape, grapefruit, lemon, lime, orange, peach, pear, pineapple, plum, watermelon, berberine hydrochloride
  • Metabolic Enhancing Blend 365 mg – Cinnamon bark 5:1 extract, green tea leaf extract, white tea leaf extract, ginger root, turmeric root extract, bitter melon fruit extract, black pepper fruit
  • Digestive Support Blend: Probiotic Blend 3 billion CFU – Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, Lactobacillus reuteri
  • Fructooligosaccharides 250 mg

The US Department of Agriculture recommends that adult men and women eat at least two to three cups of vegetables per day, along with one-and-a-half to two cups of fruit.

With this said, the Centers for Disease Control reports that as of 2015, “just 9 percent of adults met the intake recommendations for vegetables,” and “only 12 percent of adults met the recommendations for fruit.”

As such, Reed tells us, “if a patient did not eat a healthy diet that provided the recommended daily allowance of vitamins and minerals, then it appears Vital Reds would be a benefit.”

Still, he notes, he is “not familiar with this product and given that it is a dietary supplement that doesn’t have to meet the same FDA requirements on efficacy and safety, I can’t say for sure.”

We also know that the medical community has used probiotics—beneficial bacteria strains like Bifidobacteria and Lactobacillus—for decades to help balance digestion, reduce gassiness and bloating, and even boost immune response.

Over the last several years, probiotic supplements have become popular among consumers as well, who use them to achieve many of the same benefits.

Are There Side Effects Related to Vital Reds’ Ingredients?

The Gundry MD website emphasizes that the natural, mostly food-based ingredients found in Vital Reds are 100% safe, as every batch is tested in the USA at a cGMP-certified facility. Then, it’s rechecked for purity, content, and dosage by a third-party lab.

Still, side effects are always a possibility with any dietary supplement, as are medication interactions, which is why it’s important to speak with your doctor before making any purchases.

With these details in mind, the most common side effects as a whole noted by sites like WebMD, the Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com for Vital Reds’ ingredients are mild, temporary digestive upset.

We’ve also learned during our past research that probiotics can initially lead to many of the side effects they’re supposed to treat, such as gassiness and bloating, which typically subside quickly.

How Much Does Vital Reds Cost?

Gundry MD prices each jar of Vital Reds as follows:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 ($66.45 per jar)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 ($62.96 per jar)

We also found Vital Reds sold on Amazon for $47.99 per jar at the time of our research.

All direct US orders include free shipping, along with a 90-day guarantee. To request one, you’ll need to call (800)852-0477.

Vital Reds vs. Competing Polyphenol Supplements

There are perhaps hundreds of powders, antioxidant formulas, and polyphenol supplements competing for your business.

Many of these boast the same features as Vital Reds as well, including a wide assortment of fruit and vegetable extracts, a few different probiotic strains, and formulas that are free from sugar, sweeteners, artificial ingredients, and caffeine and other stimulants.

Here were some of the top-rated results in Amazon:

Brand Price / Cost Per Serving Number of Ingredients Notes
Vital Reds $69.95 / $2.33 55 90-day refund policy
Superfood Vital Reds with Greens $39.97 / $1.33 63 Available in cocoa, mocha, and very berry flavors
KaraMD Revive Reds $28.45 / $0.95 49 Very similar formulation to Vital Reds
Purity Products Super Reds $24.95 / $0.83 47 No probiotics
RealDose Essentials Real Reds $46.95 / $1.57 9 1-year money back guarantee
Organifi Green Juice $69.95 / $2.33 13 60-day refund policy,

While you certainly have a lot of options, choosing the right one might be as easy as deciding which factors to emphasize.

For example, if the price is your number one concern, Vital Reds and Organifi Green Juice tie for the highest cost per serving among popular competitors above. Country Farms comes in meaningfully lower, although since each jar only contains 20 servings, you’ll likely have to reorder more often—or order larger quantities at the same time, thereby increasing your upfront costs.

Formulation-wise, RealDose has the fewest ingredients, while Superfood Vital Reds comes with the most. Note: KaraMD offers a very similar formulation as Vital Reds, but at a price that’s almost 60% lower.

Coming in close behind is Organifi, which offers the second-fewest ingredients in its formulation and also ties with Vital Reds for the highest price per serving.

Furthermore, the manufacturer only gives you 60 days to try Organifi out, whereas RealDose ’s one-year satisfaction guarantee awards them with the lengthiest refund policy.

We’ve covered a lot of ground in a relatively short time here, so let’s pull all of these details together to help you come to a conclusion about Vital Reds from Gundry MD.

Our View: Should You Order Vital Reds?

Here on HighYa, more than 1,300 readers have given the Vital Reds powdered supplement an average rating of 4.3 stars (as of 4/8/19), with nearly 90% saying they’d recommend it to a friend.

It’s also much the same on the Gundry MD website, as well as third-party sites like Amazon. As such, it seems that most customers who give the supplement a try are pleased with their experience.

With these positives in mind, Reed emphasizes that most of us can get all the polyphenols we need just by eating the recommended daily allowance of fruits and vegetables.

So, if you’re willing to invest minimal time into altering your eating habits, you might be able to forego supplementation altogether.

But, even if you’re willing to pay for the convenience of getting your daily fruit and veggie allotment via a powdered drink mix, it’s difficult to ignore the fact that Vital Reds costs meaningfully more than many other polyphenol-focused competitors.

We reached out to Vital Reds multiple times to inquire about which factors influence their higher-than-average pricing but were not able to get an answer. Therefore, we think it’s difficult to recommend Vital Reds to customers who are looking to achieve the most value for their money.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1310 Vital Reds by Gundry MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 825 4 star: 314 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1310
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 93 out 101 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    I purchased a three-month supply of Vital Reds after the infomercial appeared on my computer. I don't even know why it came up, but I found Dr. Gundry to appear honest and therefore decided to make the investment. As he pointed out, purchasing the fresh produce is more costly.

    At checkout, there were endless offers before I was able to pay. I eventually decided to buy the prebiotics as well since I have colitis.

    I have not only not felt any of the advertised benefits, but after 45 days my colitis has actually been worse than it has in 6+ months! Granted this could be a coincidence but I don't believe so.

    I also am most disappointed in no energy boost from Vital Reds.

    I had faith these products would work, but in the off chance they didn't the company of Dr. Gundry offers a 100% money back guarantee, right?

    Well, that hasn't been the case.

    I am frustrated and disturbed by this company's poor customer service. I now have to pay to return the product. Even the empty containers!

    Do not purchase. Very disappointed and frustrated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 92 out 94 people found this review helpful

    Failure to follow through on guarantee = lie or scam!

    • Honolulu, Hawaii,
    • Jun 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had mistakenly made two three-month orders of Vital Reds and immediately canceled the order via PalPay. However, the money had been taken out of my account despite PayPal confirming that my order to Dr. Gundry Vital Reds had been canceled. I waited for my funds to be reimbursed into my account, but instead, six jars of Vital Reds arrived at my door.

    I'm glad for those who have been helped by this product, but after five months of taking Vital Reds daily, I haven't experienced the benefits promised by this product, not nearly! I requested for the guarantee with no question asked, as advertised and received an email stating that I would be refunded for a three-month order within 3 to 5 days.

    Twelve business days have gone by and one unanswered reply as well, and still no record of a refund in my account. Extremely disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Kent, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear about the mix up during the ordering process and to hear that you did not receive the results you had expected while using Vital Reds. While most customers see immediate results, we realize everyone is different and may not experience the same results. I am more than happy to check the status of your refund for you. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can personally assist you. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right by you Kent. Thank you.


  • 89 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Warning

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use this product if you are on high blood pressure meds. My BP shot to 166/97 after taking Vital Reds. Would like to know if sodium is added or is it something else in the compound? Sorry it had this effect as I was looking forward to using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Anne,

      My name is Aria, customer advocate for Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Vital Reds. Per your question, there is no added sodium in our product. I would like to hear more about your experience so that I can help. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com.

      Thank you for your feedback Anne, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 77 out 78 people found this review helpful

    No useful results

    • Rancho Mirage, CA,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having now taken Primal Plants and Vital Reds for a year I'm not really sure whether I'm more healthy or not, as it sure hasn't shown in my blood tests. My recent one showed no change in my high cholesterol and my blood sugar level up from my previous test, though we eat healthily and watch our weight along with exercising. The cost of his products is phenomenal, which definitely has led me to question his products.

    Along with that, his website for us sucks as after creating an account we cannot login with our email address yet we get all the email promos from them at that email. We've contacted the web support multiple times with a whole lot of BS for answers with finally their saying we have to call any orders in. What site does this?

    Also, have read some of his answers online which customers have asked of him yet there is no place on the site to ask a question to Dr. Gundry and my last email asking how to ask him a question remains unanswered. With this lack of support and the expense I'm left to feeling much of his products are unsubstantiated and thus are going to save my money with no more orders from me unless he can publish documented proof that they do what they are taught to do and not just people saying I "feel great."

    Lastly, he recently came out with great heart supplement! I thought that was what the Vital Reds was for? So how confusing can it be? Do we take one or all of them? Making him more wealthy and us really not getting the benefit proclaimed. Just very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 73 out 85 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Customer service reached out

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since writing my review, I was able to get a hold of customer service, which was very helpful and refunded the amount paid for the unwanted second shipment. Thank you Gundry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Feb 8, 2017

    Be careful

    If you purchase a three-month supply for $121.95, you will be asked to continue a monthly subscription with the option to cancel at any time. One month later, they charged me again for another three-month supply. Does this sound like good business practices to you? I am currently working with Gundry to make this correction through PayPal.

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Tom, Aria here with Gundry MD. It sounds like you signed up for our auto-ship program. This is a completely optional program we offer to our customers who sign up so that they never run out of their favorite product. I would be more than happy to help you with your return as well as adjust the timing of your auto-ship. Please feel free to email me personally at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can further assist you. Thank you Tom.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 71 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Avoid Vital Reds

    This product didn't work. I took it for a month as instructed. In addition they guarantee your money back but that's a lie. The company has failed to give me a refund despite my many requests. Please avoid this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 5, 2016

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello John, my name is Aria and I work here at Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with Vital Reds. As with any supplement, it may not work for everyone. We always pride ourselves in honoring our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. I apologize that you were not contacted about your refund. Please understand that refund inquiries may take a little longer to process, as this is our busiest time of the year. I want to ensure that you are left completely satisfied. Please contact me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will look into your refund status right away. Thank you.


  • 71 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work for me and no refund!

    • Shell Beach, CA,
    • Apr 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried the Vital Reds to the letter. 30 days went by, 60 days went by and after 90 I felt no different. I e-mailed the company about their guarantee and waited and waited. Nothing happened to this day. I don't have a problem trying things, but I do demand their advertising be true about the product and the guarantee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 20, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Bob, thank you for leaving us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience the benefits you had hoped for and that you have not been able to get in contact with anyone about a refund. I can understand how frustrating this can be, and I want to ensure you that it will not happen again. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for your product. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can personally expedite your refund for you. Thank you Bob, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 71 out 79 people found this review helpful

    No benefit for me, and there was a hassle.

    • Hawaii,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a friend in his 70’s had told me about Vital Reds, I decided to try it.

    I got a one-month supply and took it every day for about 40 days, which is because the jar had 40 scoops worth in it, one scoop per day. I saw absolutely no difference in energy or any other effect it claims.

    Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks. Unfortunately, after 40 days of use, this didn’t happen for me.

    I called for a refund, and the rep was very nice and helpful. I explained that they didn’t work for me and that I would like a refund. The process is I must return the empty bottle for the refund, which I read nowhere in refund policy. I did read that it is a “no questions asked refund with no hassle!”

    So I have heard other products before talking about the return of unused portion for a refund, and again, I did not see this on their warranty.

    I am a no-nonsense kind of person and was trying to figure out why do they need my bottle back for a refund? They will not use the bottle again and there is no product to return, even if there was, I’m sure they would not re-use it.

    I told my rep I didn’t want to hassle finding a box, packaging and then take down to Post Office. I was then advised, I could get a 40% refund ($21) without returning the bottle. I reluctantly took this option because I didn’t want the “hassle” of returning the bottle.

    I advised the rep that I had a problem with the wording of the warranty and that I would do an honest review.

    I stated: This is a hassle returning the package, I probably still would have ordered the product, but it would have been nice if the warranty was true to the statement and there was no hassle. Male, Hawaii, 56, active and in good health.

    I was also sent many emails trying to have me re-order more and offering his many other products or co-products, which I didn't care for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 19, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi David, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention. First, I am so sorry to hear you did not experience the results you had expected when using Vital Reds. As with all products, we do understand that it may work for some and not for others. Our customer’s satisfaction is our number one priority, so I’m so sorry that your experience did not reflect this. Regarding our return policy, as it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. I am so sorry for the confusion that this has caused. Please email me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.


  • 69 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Incredible Just 30 days in...

    • Honolulu, Waikiki, Hawaii,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an 84 year retired airline pilot. I have always kept myself in good physical condition, but in 2014 and 2015 I was hospitalized with blood clots in my lungs. Both times close to death.

    Today is my 30th day on Vital Reds. I started to feel results about 20 days in but wasn't sure if it was my imagination.

    I am an avid swimmer and outdoor racquetball player. About 2 months ago I told my friend I could no longer play singles with him because of my body slowing down. Today I told him I wanted to try singles again. I felt as energetic on that court as I did 20 years ago.

    I swim every day I can and do so for at least 30 minutes straight moving arm and legs vigorously without stopping until I am too bored and stop after at least 30 minutes.

    I am not at all out of breath, my breathing is normal. I am so amazed I can do this Doctor, thank you so very much for making this product available to us.

    Ps, I quit smoking when I was 22, the greatest gift I ever gave myself.

    I can verify everything I claim here, my phone # is 808- 282- 3708

    I so highly recommend this product, I have already told my family, friends and racquet ball buddies.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 68 out 73 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Gundry gets paid to promote this company. He is not an owner!

    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really wanted to love this product. I started taking it and noticed an increase in energy, until I didn't several days later. I actually started to get strange symptoms and realized I was having an allergic reaction to the additives, mainly the citric acid that is grown in black mold and the MSG that is hidden under the name "Natural Flavors."

    I called the company and at first, the guy who answered played dumb to my questioning why they would use such a frightening food additives, and then he explained to me Dr. Gundry is not involved in the company. He gets paid to use his name and spread the word on the product. He did not make the product and has no say in what is put in it. Game over when asked if the Natural Flavors are really being MSG. Customer Service said they couldn't deny that it isn't used. Bingo!

    I stopped the product and five days later felt like myself again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi there Heather, Aria from Gundry MD here. I want to start off by thanking you for leaving us your valuable feedback. I was upset to hear that someone from our staff told you something so misleading. Dr. Gundry is the key part of the entire product development process here at Gundry MD. Not only does he decide exactly what ingredients go into each formula, but he works with our team to ensure each serving is 100 percent safe and effective.

      The natural flavors in Vital Reds are not MSG, the natural flavoring is mixed berry. There is also absolutely no “black mold” in any of the formulas we make at Gundry MD. In fact, each batch of product goes through yeast and mold content testing prior to being packaged. Again, I truly apologize for the misinformation you received.

      I wanted to ensure that everything is cleared up and extend my personal email to you, aria@gundrymd.com. Please feel free to email me if you’d like to receive a full refund for your purchase, or if you ever have any further questions or concerns.


  • 66 out 72 people found this review helpful

    No difference

    I wanted so much to see a difference like I was told I would. I have been drinking this for 3 weeks now, and I have not felt any difference. I have no more energy than I had prior to purchasing it and therefore I am sad to say that for it didn't help me at all.

    I'm glad some have found it to be helpful, but I haven't. I will continue to use the rest of the jar, but unless I see a difference by the time I complete it, I won't be wasting my money for more.

    However, if by the time the jar is completed, and I do see a difference, I will be back on to change my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 1310

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review