About Vital Reds by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 30, 2018

In this day and age, you’re probably feeling more and more worn out, as all of life’s demands begin to take their toll. You also don’t have the time to eat as well as you should, so you’re looking for “quick fixes” to provide some support.

To this extent, Vital Reds by Gundry MD promises to deliver a combination of 21 polyphenol-rich superfruits, along with dozens of natural fat burning ingredients, that help boost energy and metabolism, improve digestion, and support healthy cholesterol levels. It even claims to control fat around the belly, thighs, and waist—without any side effects.

All you need to do is mix one scoop of Vital Reds powder into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks.

Well, if you’re looking for maximum nutrition, Gundry MD certainly makes Vital Reds seem like the way to go. But will it really provide “energy at any age,” or will it leave your expectations flat on their face? Here’s what we learned during our research:

What Is Energy Dysfunction?

On one of Gundry MD’s websites, they mention that Vital Reds was “designed to help reduce the fatigue and energy dysfunction which act as warning signs for much more serious health problems.” Just what is this condition, and is it as serious as Dr. Gundry claims?

Although it’s easy to define each of these words, we didn’t uncover any evidence that “energy dysfunction” is a formal medical diagnosis. In other words, we think this is just an overly fancy term for “low energy.” What can cause this?

Low energy isn’t a diagnosis either, as it’s generally a side effect related to some other medical condition. Like what? Fatigue can be the result of poor lifestyle habits (not eating healthy, getting enough exercise, etc.), insufficient sleep, excess stress, and much more.

What Are Polyphenols? How Are They Beneficial?

Polyphenols are compounds that contain a large number of key micronutrients and antioxidants, which are thought to help plants avoid damage caused by ultraviolet radiation and pathogens.

As a broad group, polyphenols can be broken down into four different categories, based on their molecular structure: flavonoids, stilbenes, lignans, and phenolic acids.

When humans consume polyphenol-rich foods (many of which give foods a distinctive bright color, including red, hence the supplement’s name), these antioxidants are thought to provide a wide range of benefits; everything from fighting heart disease to reducing the risk of stroke.

Now, the problem is that 1) there are thousands of different polyphenols, 2) science doesn’t have a complete understanding of all of these substances, and 3) not all polyphenols are absorbed by the body in the same way. Does this hold true with Vital Reds? Let’s take a look.

Vital Reds Ingredients

According to the supplement label listed on the Gundry MD website, Vital Reds contains the following:

  • Thiamin 1.5mg
  • Riboflavin 1.7mg
  • Niacin 20mg
  • Vitamin B6 2g
  • Folate 400mcg
  • Vitamin B12 6mcg
  • Biotin 300mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 10mcg
  • Selenium 70mcg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Polyphenol Blend 1,540mg: Organic carrot, organic flax seed, organic apple peel, mulberry, black currant, apple, cranberry, papaya, mango, organic red raspberry, acai, organic strawberry, grape skin, organix beet, aronia berry, blueberry, pomegranate, blackberry, acerola extract, apple pectin, grape seed, pineapple, orange, watermelon, grapefruit, plum, pear, lemon, lime, cherry, peach, berberin HCl
  • Metabolic Boosting Blend 216mg: Cinnamon, ginger root, green tea, white tea, bitter melon, turmeric, black pepper
  • Digestive Support Blend 3 billion CFU: Bacillus coagulans, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. reuteri

While each of these first ingredients plays an important role in optimizing health, unless you’re deficient, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence that supplementation will provide any benefits.

The one exception to this might be selenium, which is listed as possibly effective for improving antioxidant efficacy and reducing abnormal cholesterol levels.

» For Further Reading: Do You Need to Take Dietary Supplements?

Regarding the polyphenols; as we mentioned in the previous section, there’s a lot we don’t know, but it’s thought that no one polyphenol is better than the next.

However, medical professionals recommend eating a wide variety of polyphenol-containing foods to optimize their benefits, which Vital Reds seems to deliver. Just be sure that you’re eating plenty of healthy fats with your polyphenols, as this will help them be more bioavailable.

As far as Vital Reds’ metabolic blend, there doesn’t seem to be enough clinical evidence to state with any certainty that these ingredients will boost your metabolism or help regulate your weight in any meaningful way.

Finally, probiotics are clinically proven to treat IBS-related symptoms, bloating, and gassiness; boost energy, and improve immune response.

Are There Any Vital Reds Side Effects?

Although it seems that Vital Reds includes a mishmash of ingredients (at least from a clinical efficacy standpoint), the good news is that they probably won’t cause any harm.

In fact, other than perhaps flushing from the niacin content, you probably won’t experience anything but mild digestive upset from taking Vital Reds, if anything at all.

» For Further Reading: Can Dietary Supplements Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

Vital Reds Cost and Where to Buy

Vital Reds by Gundry MD is available from www.gundrymd.com in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $69.95 (30-day supply)
  • 3 Jars: $199.36 (90-day supply)
  • 6 Jars: $377.73 (180-day supply)

All Gundry MD orders include free shipping and come with a 90-day money back guarantee less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD’s customer service at (800) 852-0477.

The dietary supplement can also be purchased from Amazon.

Who’s the Man Behind Vital Reds?

Dr. Steven Gundry, M.D. is a board-certified thoracic cardiovascular surgeon who also founded the Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA.

Not only this, by Dr. Gundry is responsible for inventing several medical technologies, including the Gundry Retrograde Cardioplegia Cannula, the Skoosh Venous Cannula, the Gundry Lateral Tunnel, and the Gundry Ministernomy.

According to the bio on his website, Dr. Gundry believes that “our mind and body are locked into an eons-old computer program that is very fundamental, logical and, ultimately, easy to control.”

Thus, the crux of his approach is to use foods and other natural ingredients to control this computer and help patients lose weight, “reverse and or eradicate serious diseases such as high blood pressure and, in some cases, even cancer.”

Bottom Line

As more and more of us begin to understand the importance of keeping healthy, hundreds of companies have rushed in with a vast range of products that promise to make the process easier.

Is there anything that distinguishes Gundry MD’s Vital Reds from these other brands? Although prices are mostly the same, Vital Reds contains a blend of additional ingredients like vitamins and probiotics, which isn’t something you’ll always encounter.

As we outlined in the Ingredients section above though, the clinical evidence indicates you might experience the most noticeable benefits from Vital Reds’ probiotics, more than anything else.

The good news is that, unlike many other supplements companies, Gundry MD doesn’t enroll Vital Reds in any kind of autoship program, so you won’t receive any additional product until you decide to place an order. And if you decide you don’t like it, you can take advantage of their 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few dollars in S&H.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1304 Consumer Reviews for Vital Reds by Gundry MD

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 821 4 star: 313 3 star: 48 2 star: 22 1 star:  100
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1304
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 92 out 94 people found this review helpful

    Failure to follow through on guarantee = lie or scam!

    • Honolulu, Hawaii,
    • Jun 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had mistakenly made two three-month orders of Vital Reds and immediately canceled the order via PalPay. However, the money had been taken out of my account despite PayPal confirming that my order to Dr. Gundry Vital Reds had been canceled. I waited for my funds to be reimbursed into my account, but instead, six jars of Vital Reds arrived at my door.

    I'm glad for those who have been helped by this product, but after five months of taking Vital Reds daily, I haven't experienced the benefits promised by this product, not nearly! I requested for the guarantee with no question asked, as advertised and received an email stating that I would be refunded for a three-month order within 3 to 5 days.

    Twelve business days have gone by and one unanswered reply as well, and still no record of a refund in my account. Extremely disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Kent, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear about the mix up during the ordering process and to hear that you did not receive the results you had expected while using Vital Reds. While most customers see immediate results, we realize everyone is different and may not experience the same results. I am more than happy to check the status of your refund for you. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can personally assist you. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right by you Kent. Thank you.

    • Jun 28, 2017

      Patti

      I also feel like this is a scam. I was on Facebook and came across Dr. Gundry. I was really excited to purchase the product, unfortunately, the order process wasn't very efficient. By the time I attempted to finish editing, I had nine bottles of the Vital Reds and other items recommended. The website kept saying "wait" one time deal on this product or that. So after ordering an exorbitant amount of items, it has now been two weeks, and my order still has not shipped.

      It is very disappointing because I was looking forward to starting a healthy lifestyle again on July 1st. Needless to say, my order was still sitting there today, so I called to cancel. Although the representative was polite and nice she really didn't even seem to care about my dismay. She politely took my information and told me that she will cancel it. It seems Dr. Gundry's items were too good to be true. A man who is so respected in the medical community but to my dismay not in his business. Total disappointment.

    • Jun 28, 2017

      Dee-Ann Chamberlain

      Severe constipation! I'm afraid to continue usage.

    • Jul 6, 2017

      Kent Tokumoto

      After receiving a sincere apology from Dr. Grundy, I was promised to get a refund. I received a follow-up email for a refund, now ten business days have gone by and I still haven't received a refund!

    • Jul 15, 2017

      Charla Acker

      Although, I would love to try this product and in fact, I bought it only to find out it contains grapefruit. My understanding is that anyone on a statin should avoid grapefruit. When you ask a simple question, like if you can take this product while on the statin, Dr. Gundry will be referring you to your own family physician. I find that 99 percent of doctors are not familiar with this product or what it contains.

      I feel like since Dr. Gundry developed this product, and as a physician, he should set some general guidelines for "possible " contraindications. While I understand everyone's medical conditions are different, I find it hard to believe that the developer of this product who is also a physician, can't set a few general guidelines.

    • Jul 19, 2017

      krystina

      I would like to purchase this product but also Statin (Lipitor). I cannot have grapefruit, does it contain grapefruit or not? Please respond.

    • Jul 25, 2017

      Kim Markey

      I'm looking at the label and grapefruit is just part of the 1,760 mg of polyphenol blend which is considered very small. I am allergic to grapefruit and haven't felt any bad reaction to Vital Reds at all. Frankly, I'd be scared to death to take statins, since it reduces your CQ10 levels in your muscles!

    • Aug 24, 2017

      Kent Tokumoto

      I was refunded for my three-month order. Dr. Grundy, I wish your product worked for me. Regarding the refund, you're a man of your words!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 89 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Warning

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use this product if you are on high blood pressure meds. My BP shot to 166/97 after taking Vital Reds. Would like to know if sodium is added or is it something else in the compound? Sorry it had this effect as I was looking forward to using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 2, 2016

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Anne,

      My name is Aria, customer advocate for Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Vital Reds. Per your question, there is no added sodium in our product. I would like to hear more about your experience so that I can help. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com.

      Thank you for your feedback Anne, I look forward to hearing from you.

    • Aug 11, 2016

      John Inch

      Very excited to find your product, but fearful of the comments made regarding rising bold pressure. I currently take Adalat XL 60 daily and while I vigorously exercise every day, I'd want the benefits of Dr. Gundry's formula.

      Please let me know if it is OK for me to order. Thanks.

    • Jan 18, 2017

      kim

      I would just check with your cardiologist before taking the Vital Reds supplements. I'd suggest you have a list of all ingredients ready for your doctor unless you have read multiple reviews with complaints of elevating blood pressure after taking these supplements.

      I would not be too concerned about this person's experience. It could be just this particular individual's reaction and possibly allergic reaction to some ingredient in the supplement.

      It's recommended that before you use any supplement, you should discuss it with your doctor or pharmacist. You'd be surprised to find out how some medications are affected by particular food, supplements and over the counter medications.

      Always best to ask.

    • Jan 28, 2017

      Eddie Bates

      I'm anxious to try this. I have Parkinson's disease with very little energy, and I also haven't been eating an appropriate diet.

    • Feb 24, 2017

      Norma Hernandez

      I started taking Vital Reds and felt wonderful. About five days later, I too, experienced an increase in my blood pressure, along with a horrible, numbing headache that didn't seem to go away. I had the energy, but the headaches would not subside, and I felt foggy too. I went to the doctor because my blood pressure was too high. The only change to my diet was the addition of Vital Reds, Primal Plants, and Prebiothrive.

      I decided to stop taking Vital Reds to see if it helped, to my surprise, my blood pressure is back to normal, and my headaches are gone. I would like to know what ingredient could be triggering an increase in my blood pressure and causing awful headaches?

    • Jul 24, 2017

      Judy Brady

      I have high blood pressure and take Atenolol 25mg daily. I also take Eliquis 5mg and Flecainide 50mg. I take both twice a day for A Fib. I really want to try Vital Reds but now I'm concerned after reading reviews. Help, please.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 93 out 101 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    I purchased a three-month supply of Vital Reds after the infomercial appeared on my computer. I don't even know why it came up, but I found Dr. Gundry to appear honest and therefore decided to make the investment. As he pointed out, purchasing the fresh produce is more costly.

    At checkout, there were endless offers before I was able to pay. I eventually decided to buy the prebiotics as well since I have colitis.

    I have not only not felt any of the advertised benefits, but after 45 days my colitis has actually been worse than it has in 6+ months! Granted this could be a coincidence but I don't believe so.

    I also am most disappointed in no energy boost from Vital Reds.

    I had faith these products would work, but in the off chance they didn't the company of Dr. Gundry offers a 100% money back guarantee, right?

    Well, that hasn't been the case.

    I am frustrated and disturbed by this company's poor customer service. I now have to pay to return the product. Even the empty containers!

    Do not purchase. Very disappointed and frustrated!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 85 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Customer service reached out

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since writing my review, I was able to get a hold of customer service, which was very helpful and refunded the amount paid for the unwanted second shipment. Thank you Gundry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2017

      Gaby l

      Just like you said, "it is a monthly subscription." You get the three every month.

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Tom, Aria here with Gundry MD. It sounds like you signed up for our auto-ship program. This is a completely optional program we offer to our customers who sign up so that they never run out of their favorite product. I would be more than happy to help you with your return as well as adjust the timing of your auto-ship. Please feel free to email me personally at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can further assist you. Thank you Tom.

    • Feb 28, 2017

      Cat Smith

      I want to try this. It sounds awesome.

    • Mar 6, 2017

      Jimmy Wu

      Do not order anything from this guy. The powder Dr. Gundry provided tastes awful and contains lots of insoluble debris.

      Furthermore, my one-time order received three charges, and the first bill was legitimate for six jars. The second for three jars cost $146.99 that I did not order. Finally the "free" shipping charge of $12.97. If one did call the number attached, they would charge month after month for this "freeshipping.com" scam.

      Please do not order anything from this guy. He is trying to get rich quickly.

    • Mar 8, 2017

      Thomas Michel

      I did not want the auto-ship of Vital Reds. I would like to try a three-month supply only. Please correct this and notify me as soon as possible about the cost. Thanks, Tom.

    • Mar 10, 2017

      Bonnie Vanzant

      I have been taking Vital Reds for one month, and my energy levels are great. I am concerned that my stools have become so dark, it could be considered almost black. Is this a normal effect?

    • Jan 28, 2018

      Hafizah

      I hope this product becomes long term for my family.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Feb 8, 2017

    Be careful

    If you purchase a three-month supply for $121.95, you will be asked to continue a monthly subscription with the option to cancel at any time. One month later, they charged me again for another three-month supply. Does this sound like good business practices to you? I am currently working with Gundry to make this correction through PayPal.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 77 out 78 people found this review helpful

    No useful results

    • Rancho Mirage, CA,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having now taken Primal Plants and Vital Reds for a year I'm not really sure whether I'm more healthy or not, as it sure hasn't shown in my blood tests. My recent one showed no change in my high cholesterol and my blood sugar level up from my previous test, though we eat healthily and watch our weight along with exercising. The cost of his products is phenomenal, which definitely has led me to question his products.

    Along with that, his website for us sucks as after creating an account we cannot login with our email address yet we get all the email promos from them at that email. We've contacted the web support multiple times with a whole lot of BS for answers with finally their saying we have to call any orders in. What site does this?

    Also, have read some of his answers online which customers have asked of him yet there is no place on the site to ask a question to Dr. Gundry and my last email asking how to ask him a question remains unanswered. With this lack of support and the expense I'm left to feeling much of his products are unsubstantiated and thus are going to save my money with no more orders from me unless he can publish documented proof that they do what they are taught to do and not just people saying I "feel great."

    Lastly, he recently came out with great heart supplement! I thought that was what the Vital Reds was for? So how confusing can it be? Do we take one or all of them? Making him more wealthy and us really not getting the benefit proclaimed. Just very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 71 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Avoid Vital Reds

    This product didn't work. I took it for a month as instructed. In addition they guarantee your money back but that's a lie. The company has failed to give me a refund despite my many requests. Please avoid this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2016

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello John, my name is Aria and I work here at Gundry MD. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with Vital Reds. As with any supplement, it may not work for everyone. We always pride ourselves in honoring our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. I apologize that you were not contacted about your refund. Please understand that refund inquiries may take a little longer to process, as this is our busiest time of the year. I want to ensure that you are left completely satisfied. Please contact me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will look into your refund status right away. Thank you.

    • Dec 13, 2016

      John Calame

      I don't have one.

    • Dec 30, 2016

      Cha Xiong

      Aria,

      I just watched a video of Dr. Gundry talking about this product, and he guaranteed 90 days no questions asked. He even informed that you don't even need to send the product back. I'm interested in trying this, but after reading some of these reviews about the customer service, I'm hesitant to try it. Especially, when Dr. Gundry is saying one thing, and you're telling customers a different thing.

    • Mar 10, 2017

      George Rollings

      Should I take Vital Reds and drink coffee?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 71 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work for me and no refund!

    • Shell Beach, CA,
    • Apr 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried the Vital Reds to the letter. 30 days went by, 60 days went by and after 90 I felt no different. I e-mailed the company about their guarantee and waited and waited. Nothing happened to this day. I don't have a problem trying things, but I do demand their advertising be true about the product and the guarantee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2017

      Zachary J

      After 90 days you are not eligible for a refund because of it has been more than 90 days.

      Hence, the 90-day money back guarantee, meaning you have only 90-days and anything after that would no longer and it would not fall within the 90-days to qualify for a refund. Thinking is fun!

    • Apr 16, 2017

      NanaMarie

      I am just curious if you called the 1-800 number as this article says to get a refund, then you must call it? It's 1-800-852-0477.

    • Apr 20, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hello Bob, thank you for leaving us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience the benefits you had hoped for and that you have not been able to get in contact with anyone about a refund. I can understand how frustrating this can be, and I want to ensure you that it will not happen again. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for your product. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can personally expedite your refund for you. Thank you Bob, I look forward to hearing from you.

    • Apr 25, 2017

      Donald

      I'm on my seventh month of Vital Reds. I have coronary artery disease, and after watching Dr. Blib-Blabs diatribe on how the polyphenols would help my arteries, I felt compelled to give Vital Reds a try. Well, sorry to say folks, that after a strict regimen of this hocus-pocus for seven months now I have seen no improvement in my condition. In fact, my condition and my health continue to decline.

      Vital Reds apparently are a scam, like most other products like this that promise the ill of breakthroughs to improve their health. Gundry is a fraud. Vital Reds do nothing just as his super skin formula that fades sun damage spots on your skin. I have been using that too without any success. Both products are smoke and mirrors. World-class heart surgeons don't normally just quit their profession to gin-up cures for everything from liver spots on the skin, to cures for coronary artery disease.

      Probably if one looked long and hard enough this bonehead would have a cure for ingrown toenails and hearing loss. Don't get sucked in by his slick commercials touting the fact that he's a world-class heart doctor. If all knew he we would probably find that he got booted for malpractice or deceptive advertising. Save your money on this turkey!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 71 out 79 people found this review helpful

    No benefit for me, and there was a hassle.

    • Hawaii,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a friend in his 70’s had told me about Vital Reds, I decided to try it.

    I got a one-month supply and took it every day for about 40 days, which is because the jar had 40 scoops worth in it, one scoop per day. I saw absolutely no difference in energy or any other effect it claims.

    Gundry MD claims you may experience a “charge of energy” as soon as your first day of use, with “dramatic” results after 2-3 weeks. Unfortunately, after 40 days of use, this didn’t happen for me.

    I called for a refund, and the rep was very nice and helpful. I explained that they didn’t work for me and that I would like a refund. The process is I must return the empty bottle for the refund, which I read nowhere in refund policy. I did read that it is a “no questions asked refund with no hassle!”

    So I have heard other products before talking about the return of unused portion for a refund, and again, I did not see this on their warranty.

    I am a no-nonsense kind of person and was trying to figure out why do they need my bottle back for a refund? They will not use the bottle again and there is no product to return, even if there was, I’m sure they would not re-use it.

    I told my rep I didn’t want to hassle finding a box, packaging and then take down to Post Office. I was then advised, I could get a 40% refund ($21) without returning the bottle. I reluctantly took this option because I didn’t want the “hassle” of returning the bottle.

    I advised the rep that I had a problem with the wording of the warranty and that I would do an honest review.

    I stated: This is a hassle returning the package, I probably still would have ordered the product, but it would have been nice if the warranty was true to the statement and there was no hassle. Male, Hawaii, 56, active and in good health.

    I was also sent many emails trying to have me re-order more and offering his many other products or co-products, which I didn't care for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 19, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi David, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention. First, I am so sorry to hear you did not experience the results you had expected when using Vital Reds. As with all products, we do understand that it may work for some and not for others. Our customer’s satisfaction is our number one priority, so I’m so sorry that your experience did not reflect this. Regarding our return policy, as it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. I am so sorry for the confusion that this has caused. Please email me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.

    • Jan 28, 2018

      Bartlett

      I am using Vital Reds, and I feel that it is giving me more energy.

    • Jan 30, 2018

      David Knox

      UPDATE: I did get a total refund, so I would give them 5 stars for integrity but the product, sadly did not give me any energy or make any difference in my day to day routine.

    • Apr 21, 2018

      Coleen Sander

      I cannot continue the Prebiothrive, but I’ll continue the Vital rReds. The Prebiothrive causes severe bloating, gas, and diarrhea but the Vital Reds is fine. I’m afraid to ask for a full refund, as I’ll lose the full refund price. I don’t want to pay shipping to return a bottle of 1/2 used Prebiothrive. I’m on a fixed income and trying to continue Vital Reds for sure.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 68 out 73 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Gundry gets paid to promote this company. He is not an owner!

    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really wanted to love this product. I started taking it and noticed an increase in energy, until I didn't several days later. I actually started to get strange symptoms and realized I was having an allergic reaction to the additives, mainly the citric acid that is grown in black mold and the MSG that is hidden under the name "Natural Flavors."

    I called the company and at first, the guy who answered played dumb to my questioning why they would use such a frightening food additives, and then he explained to me Dr. Gundry is not involved in the company. He gets paid to use his name and spread the word on the product. He did not make the product and has no say in what is put in it. Game over when asked if the Natural Flavors are really being MSG. Customer Service said they couldn't deny that it isn't used. Bingo!

    I stopped the product and five days later felt like myself again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Heather, Aria from Gundry MD here. I want to start off by thanking you for leaving us your valuable feedback. I was upset to hear that someone from our staff told you something so misleading. Dr. Gundry is the key part of the entire product development process here at Gundry MD. Not only does he decide exactly what ingredients go into each formula, but he works with our team to ensure each serving is 100 percent safe and effective.

      The natural flavors in Vital Reds are not MSG, the natural flavoring is mixed berry. There is also absolutely no “black mold” in any of the formulas we make at Gundry MD. In fact, each batch of product goes through yeast and mold content testing prior to being packaged. Again, I truly apologize for the misinformation you received.

      I wanted to ensure that everything is cleared up and extend my personal email to you, aria@gundrymd.com. Please feel free to email me if you’d like to receive a full refund for your purchase, or if you ever have any further questions or concerns.

    • Jan 27, 2018

      Diana

      Do your products have additives, such as citric acid?

    • Jan 31, 2018

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Diana! Thank you for your question. Vital Reds does contain citric acid, it helps balance the flavor of the berry notes. If you have any other questions, please feel free to reach out to me directly at Aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 69 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Incredible Just 30 days in...

    • Honolulu, Waikiki, Hawaii,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an 84 year retired airline pilot. I have always kept myself in good physical condition, but in 2014 and 2015 I was hospitalized with blood clots in my lungs. Both times close to death.

    Today is my 30th day on Vital Reds. I started to feel results about 20 days in but wasn't sure if it was my imagination.

    I am an avid swimmer and outdoor racquetball player. About 2 months ago I told my friend I could no longer play singles with him because of my body slowing down. Today I told him I wanted to try singles again. I felt as energetic on that court as I did 20 years ago.

    I swim every day I can and do so for at least 30 minutes straight moving arm and legs vigorously without stopping until I am too bored and stop after at least 30 minutes.

    I am not at all out of breath, my breathing is normal. I am so amazed I can do this Doctor, thank you so very much for making this product available to us.

    Ps, I quit smoking when I was 22, the greatest gift I ever gave myself.

    I can verify everything I claim here, my phone # is 808- 282- 3708

    I so highly recommend this product, I have already told my family, friends and racquet ball buddies.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 28, 2017

      Jack Liguori

      I am also a retired airline captain. I'm 78 years old and an avid swimmer that stays physically fit. This morning I did 78 pushups along with other exercises.

      I have an Amazon retail business, so I am acutely aware of how important public opinion is, as it is represented by reviews. Unfortunately, too many people are quick to jump to the conclusion that they have been scammed and very quick to leave a bad review. Even before they give the seller the chance to make things right, which it appears that this company tries very hard to do.

      I have found myself in the last six months or so, needing nine to ten hours of sleep and even a midday nap sometimes. There are so many "flim' flam" promoters on the internet that it is tough to distinguish the real deals. To add to that, the fact that we all want to believe the great things that are claimed, but we are often afraid of being scammed. So, we do nothing even though we might want to. The problem is how to go about doing the research and find out the ones that really have something of value. I am reminded of a line from the poem Desiderata:

      "Be careful in your business affairs for the world is full of trickery, but let that not blind you to what virtue there is, for may persons strive for high ideals and everywhere the world is full of heroism."

      So based on what I have researched so far, especially this review from a fellow airman, I am going to reach out in trust and faith that Dr. Gundry wears a white hat and at least give his product a try.

      The most convincing evidence that this product and Dr. Gundry were worthy of trying out is based on the fact that just about every time I read a negative review I saw that Aria from the Gundry MD organization reach out and did whatever is necessary to make things right.

      Of course, people have a tendency to say something only when they are upset or disappointed. I found that many of the negative reviews were from what appeared to be generally negative people. So now that I have done sufficient research to be comfortable I will move ahead to find out for myself.

      Two last thoughts for all those people who tend to see only the negative in things and are often afraid to take a risk and fear of being taken advantage of. The first is from Shakespeare, "Our doubts are traitors, they make us lose what often we might attain by fearing to attempt." The last though is from my own experience, "If you think you see ten troubles coming down the road, nine of them will never get to you"

      After I give this product a try, I will certainly write a review of my personal experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 64 out 72 people found this review helpful

    The operators don't know so they just make up what they think the client wants to hear so they'll buy it

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I researched this product and then called to ask if it might interfere with IBS. No, it would help because of the digestive help. Anyone with IBS is grasping for "help," so I saw this as a good idea.

    It was not. After one drink I started having diarrhea, and it has now put me in the ER. Of course, I sent it back! I still have to pay shipping, which makes me upset since I now have a hospital bill also!

    Please think carefully about buying this. It doesn't even get a one star in my book.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support ., Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi there Diane, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Vital Reds. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product and that you may have experienced an adverse reaction. We always recommend that you consult your primary physician prior to starting any new health regimen to make sure it will not interfere with anything else you may be taking. But also to be sure that you are not allergic to any one specific ingredient. I apologize if any of our team steered you wrong. I will make sure to address this immediately so nothing like this happens again. Please feel free to email me personally with any other questions or comments at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you again Diane.

    • Jun 30, 2017

      Diane Griffin

      I started using Primal Plants in February, and a month later I was diagnosed with diverticulosis. In June, I had another attack with severe constipation. Do you think there is a connection? I would certainly like to have Dr. Gundry's opinion. I did like the product and I had great bowel movements while on it. I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

    • Jul 8, 2017

      Dennis Krieg

      I want to order six bottles of Vital Reds.

    • Jul 8, 2017

      Dennis Krieg

      I will write one after I've taken Vital Reds for two weeks.

    • Jul 18, 2017

      Scottie Mitchell

      I like the energy that I get from it, but it seems to make me itch. Could it be the Niacin because I have Rosacea? I would like to continue taking it if I could, but the itching is somewhat disturbing. Has anybody else experienced this?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1304

Write a Review for Vital Reds by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review