About Viviscal Hair Growth

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jul 22, 2014

If you’re losing your hair, you may have heard about Viviscal Hair Growth, a daily dietary supplement that claims to help you reduce shedding and achieve fuller, thicker-looking hair.

In addition, you may have been intrigued by Viviscal’s claim to be 100% drug-free with no sulfates, parabens, or chemicals included.

While it’s true that any effective hair growth supplement would be worth its weight in gold, can Viviscal really help you achieve this, and is it worth the high price? In this review, we examine its claims to help you make an informed decision.

How Viviscal Works

Whether your hair loss is due to hormonal changes, age, stress, poor diet, or any other factor, you’re probably looking for something to address it.

With this in mind, Viviscal Hair Growth claims that their scientifically formulated, clinically proven, drug-free hair growth products for men and women provide an answer to thicker and fuller-looking hair.

The product’s manufacturer claims that Viviscal is the result of more than 20 years of continuous research and development and that its benefits are supported by 7 clinical studies (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Based on this research, Viviscal Hair Growth is claimed to provide essential vitamins and nutrients, as well as a proprietary AminoMar Marine Complex, which can nourish your hair from the inside out, as well as from the outside in.

Viviscal Hair Growth products include:

  • Extra Strength Supplement for Women – Claims to be the #1 selling hair growth supplement in the U.S. by providing your hair with the essential nutrients it needs to look its best.

  • Extra Strength Supplement for Men – Similar to the women’s supplement, but with a slightly different ingredient formulation targeted at men’s needs.

  • Gentle Shampoo – Exfoliates your scalp and cleanses your hair, creating an ideal environment for growth. Claims to work on all hair types and to be suitable for everyday use.

  • Moisturizing Conditioner – An ultra-light conditioner that claims to nourish, soften, and condition your scalp and hair. Claims to work on all hair types and to be suitable for everyday use.

  • Hair & Scalp Serum – A topical hair solution that claims to help prevent heat-related damage and breakage, while also giving your hair a fuller, thicker appearance.

  • Hair Filler Fibers – Microscopic, electrostatically charged fibers that instantly volumize for thicker-looking hair. Claims to last in wind and rain and to easily wash out with shampoo.

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Starter Kit – Includes Extra Strength Dietary Supplements, travel size shampoo and conditioner, Travel Compact with a hairbrush, mirror, and tablet case, and the Guide to Fuller, Thicker Hair.

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Deluxe Kit – Includes Extra Strength Dietary Supplements, full-size shampoo and conditioner bottles, travel size shampoo and conditioner, Travel Compact with a hairbrush, mirror, and tablet case, and the Guide to Fuller, Thicker Hair.

According to the Viviscal website, you should take 2 capsules per day and should experience results within 3-6 months.

Viviscal Hair Growth Pricing and Refund Policy

If purchased directly through the manufacturer, Viviscal Hair Growth products are priced as follows:

  • Viviscal Extra Strength Supplement (Women & Men): $49.99 for 1-month supply; $119.97 for a 3-month supply.
  • Gentle Shampoo: $19.99
  • Moisturizing Conditioner: $19.99
  • Hair & Scalp Serum: $29.99
  • Hair Filler Fibers: $24.99
  • Viviscal Extra Strength Starter Kit: $39.99 per month or $119.97 quarterly
  • Viviscal Extra Strength Deluxe Kit: $46.65 per month or $139.95 quarterly

All Viviscal orders totaling more than $119.97 include free shipping.

If you choose, you can join Viviscal’s Healthy Hair Club autoship program, which means that you’ll continue receiving the kit of your choice once every 90 days and your credit card will be charged accordingly.

All Viviscal Hair Growth products come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. In order to initiate the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at (800) 473-0145.

Viviscal supplements are also available from Ulta, Amazon.com, Drugstore.com, and many other third-party retailers.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Viviscal?

Overall, it appears that Viviscal Hair Growth has a mostly positive online reputation, with the most common compliments referencing ease of use and beneficial results. However, it should be noted that many customers who experienced results only saw thicker, healthier existing hair; not necessarily any new hair growth.

On the other hand, the most common complaints appear to reference failure to experience results, high price, upset stomach, fishy aftertaste, and skin reactions. Numerous customers have also complained of difficulty falling asleep and gaining weight.

The Bottom Line

Now that you know more about Viviscal Hair Growth, can you expect it to work and is it worth the money? Maybe, but remember the following:

Clinical Research

Out of the 7 clinical studies Viviscal cites as proof of their supplement’s effectiveness, only one of them was peer-reviewed, and another study appears to be cited twice on their website. In addition, only one of these studies was ever published, and the company notes that you’ll need to email them in order to obtain copies of the non-published studies.

What does all this mean? In short, while there may be some clinical evidence that the ingredients in Viviscal Hair Growth might help create fuller, thicker hair, it is far from “clinically proven” as the website may lead you to believe.

Value and Effectiveness

Like most supplements aimed at reducing hair loss/improving hair condition, Viviscal comes with a fairly high price; one that may not necessarily be in line with its benefits.

Also, remember that like any other supplement, not all customers will experience benefits from Viviscal, which after 3-6 months of use means that it could turn into a fairly expensive experiment.

With mostly positive customer reviews, Viviscal Hair Growth may help you experience fuller, thicker hair. However, keep in mind that it may not work for everyone and that the price is relatively steep.

Pros:

  • Claims to be a clinically proven, drug-free answer to thicker and fuller hair.
  • 100% drug-free with no sulfates, parabens, or chemicals included.
  • 90-day money back guarantee.

Cons:

  • Most common complaints appear to reference failure to experience results, high price, upset stomach, fishy aftertaste, and skin reactions.
  • Can take as long as 3-6 months to see results.

» Recommended Reading: 6 Solutions for Thinning Hair & Hair Loss for Women

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 19 Viviscal Hair Growth Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 36 out 54 people found this review helpful

    My Viviscal trial

    • Alabama,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am trying something new here with Viviscal. I purchased the product from a CVS pharmacy a month ago. I was having thinning hair and a lot of hair loss with bald spots as well before I started using the product.

    Well, here is what has transpired within this short time span. I have seen some dramatic improvements with my hair thinness, hair loss, and the texture of my hair. I declare that my hair has never looked so healthy, and the texture has never been so beautiful!

    It has a fishy smell, but you can expect that with the shark cartilage ingredient. My hair is much fuller, and the thin places in my hair are filling in nicely. Also, the texture of my hair is smoother, and my hair follicles are stronger and longer. I truly cannot believe the improvement!

    This is not a lie, I promise you, this is the absolute truth. I am not being paid to say this, nor am I in contact with the company in any manner. I just wanted to share my results just after a short month of using Viviscal. It really, really works! I want to thank the company for making such a product for helpless people as myself with such hair loss issues. Thank you again, and God bless you all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Definitely worth the $50.

    • Virginia ,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started this product a month and a half ago after trying several different types of hair growth products for a receding hairline that was beginning to get out of control, along with thinning on top of my head. Viviscal man definitely works for me. After 30 days I saw a big drastic difference in minimal hair shedding and regrowth already happening. 50 days of using the product and my hair is growing in so thick, and my receding hairline is pretty much on its way back to being a complete hairline. My wife uses the women's Viviscal and is just as satisfied. In my experience, definitely worth your money. Not much different price than Rogaine, except Viviscal truly works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Definitely thicker hair for me and no side effects

    • Newmarket, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Viviscal for 9 months. All close to me have noticed that my hair is thicker as do I. It took at least 6 months for me to notice that my hair had become thicker.

    Unlike other reviewers, I have not had any side effects except much more healthy nails as well.

    I ordered the first 3 months as a special through our Shopping Channel in Canada. I did not like the hair building powder fibers and find Toppik a far superior product. I also did not like their shampoo or conditioner, but the tablets are working for me (extra strength). You can also find this product at retail stores, and each box provides a $5 off coupon so if you will be in it for the long term, perhaps you’ll see the benefits that I myself have experienced.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 64 out 73 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me

    • San Diego,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 63 and take hormone replacement. My thyroid medication made my hair start falling out. I had to keep it very short as an attempt to grow it out, it was disappointing, and split ends were rampant. I had to have a haircut every six weeks to keep the split ends down. I learned about Viviscal at my dentist office reading a magazine in which Minnie Driver hawks this product. The ad said available at Target.

    I went to Target and picked it up for $35.00. If you have a Target credit/debit card, it's 5% less. I have just finished my second pack. Up until now, I knew nothing of shampoos and serums. The box does NOT say extra strength. Maybe that's why there are side effects in some women. I have not had a haircut in twelve weks and do not need one. I have zero split ends. None. My hair is clearly more healthy and last week I noticed brand new black hair growth in my temple area. I'm stoked.

    I have only posted a review for anything online once before. But based on some of the negative reviews you have posted, I feel strongly that ladies reading this site should know that not everyone is disappointed. So, I am seeing real hair growth around sixty days in. For the first time in years, I can twist my hair and clip it up. Before, I didn't have enough hair to twist; couldn't make a ponytail. I have not had any of the side effects stated by others. And, I would never buy through the website or get on auto refill. I learned the hard way years back that it is hard to get off auto and customer service usually sucks. Just go to Target and get the regular strength, the only choice they have on the shelf, and give it a try. It's not a huge investment over the website. I'm cheap. No way would I have paid fifty bucks for this. But $35.00 minus the five percent with my debit card for a couple of months is doable. Then, after sixty days or so as in my case (the box says ninety) either quit or keep going.

    Oh, and don't know how someone's friend could read the ingredients and declare them "fraudulent". How is that determined? Good luck ladies.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 58 out 60 people found this review helpful

    No Side Effects and No New Hair

    • SW Iowa,
    • Jul 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    After three months of use, there were no side effects of any kind. On the other hand, I'm finding no improvements to hair texture or density outside more rapid growth of facial hair. The travel size shampoo/conditioner included with the initial shipment are largely unused. The shampoo imparts a strange squeaky feel to my long hair that can't be good for it. Plus, I already use high quality salon and dermatological brands that work well for volume and condition.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 56 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Weight Gain

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Apr 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Experienced abdominal weight gain, approximately 3-4 lbs after taking for 3 weeks. Discontinued. Also experienced lower abdominal cramping. I'm 5 years post menopause. Should not happen. Will never take these again. Initiating refund. Would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 60 out 64 people found this review helpful

    One of the most regretful purchases I've ever made for sure.

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Made my hair UNBELIEVABLY greasy, like while I was blow-drying it after thoroughly washing it, and within 30 minutes of applying dry shampoo, it would look just completely coated in oil. Also made my scalp smell TERRIBLE. Oh, and made me break out like CRAZY on my chin, which has not been a problem area for me for a long time. There were no other diet, lifestyle, health, supplement changes in my life at the time of taking it that could have caused this. Really, really regret even trying it. Wondering how long it is going to take for my trashed hair and skin to return to normal so I can stop feeling disgusting all the time. The minor improvement in hair and nails or decrease in hair loss is negated by this repulsive side effect.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 74 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Worst Company Ever

    • Toronto,
    • Nov 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're looking to be ripped off, Viviscal is the place to go. Not only do they put you on a membership when you don't ask for one (this was an agent by telephone that took my order), they never ever call you back although they say they will every time you call in. Aside from their horrible low class customer service and scripted talk, the product doesn't do anything at all. Let's face it, as a woman, if it worked I would be delighted to be on their "membership". I have been using their product for many many months and no help at all. Prior to this product I was using Boitin and had the same exact results. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY NOR IT'S MAKE BELIEVE PRODUCT. Shame on you Viviscal for ripping the honest class off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 87 out 111 people found this review helpful

    Tiny regrowth, not worth the health risks and side effects!

    • Florida,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking the Women's Extra Strength for several months. I allowed my body to adjust by starting with one per day for the first two months, then two per day. I've dealt with the cystic acne I've developed (plenty of scars on my face at this point) and small pimples on my chest and back. I dealt with gaining back the 10 lbs I lost before Viviscal, plus five additional pounds.

    I was desperate to have a nice head of hair again and made tons of excuses for the new changes to my body. I've also had a major change to my voice. It's deeper, and I now get called, "sir" at a drive-thru or on the phone. I freaked out on my landlord that it must be mold or something in the A/C vents that's doing this to my voice. I also ignored the massive cold sweats at night, chalked it up to aging. So, LOTS of side effects, LOTS of excuses. Until now.

    I've been so busy that I forgot to order my supply for several weeks. I started again a couple of weeks ago, then stopped after a week when I realized that the tingling in my fingers reappeared along with serious muscle pain in my back (my back was going "out" constantly), shoulders and thighs. I again began getting the migraine pain over my right eye daily, and new cystic acne appeared, etc., so I stopped.

    Days later I had severe flank pain (first time ever) and went to the ER. Turns out that I have what seems to be a cyst in my spleen and two nodules in my left adrenal gland. Bingo! The reason for all the hormonal problems, the fingers tingling, skin issues, muscle issues, fluid under my eyes and swollen hands in the morning, and the horrible change to my voice! Needless to say, no more excuses.

    Viviscal claims all this research, blah blah, and no adverse effects. I call BS. I had a tiny bit of hair regrowth, but it is NOT worth your health. Maybe I'm an exception, but I doubt it. I'm sure there are tons of women who are 40+ making excuses and contributing each side effect to something else. But when ALL of these things occur within one year, and all while on Viviscal, you can still make excuses as I did. But, when it's eliminated from your system and you restart it only to have all these things that you became sort of accustomed return, you just can't deny the culprit.

    Please don't chance your health. Find something else, use topicals, whatever, just not this stuff. If I had ignored the flank pain, I wouldn't even know of these masses in my organs. What if you don't get the warning pain that I got?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 78 out 84 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy Viviscal on their website

    • Illinois,
    • Jan 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered on Viviscal.com. You have to do auto-pay to get each product for $39.99 for three months. Plus, I had a first-time customer discount. When I ordered it, I had all sorts of charges on my account and ended up getting charged $129. Not at all what I authorized during checkout. It's cheaper to buy somewhere else without committing to a program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 83 out 93 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I was being charged once for the package I received. I was charged three times. Totally unclear marketing. Total ripoff. Total scam. I am shocked at how they advertise this. I am not a stupid person, but this was totally sketchy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Viviscal Hair Growth!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review