Start your review of Vroom:
  • 354 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 22% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 11% 1 star: 56%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Good price, poor customer service

    • By Denise C.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Price was good and vehicle was in excellent shape. Buying process was fine, but they don't even begin processing the title transfer until 2 weeks post-delivery. Then, they say that can take up to 8 weeks, which is completely ridiculous. Still waiting for my title. Car did arrive with dealer plates, as promised, and was delivered earlier than promised. However, I never got advance notice of the early delivery, and was just lucky that I was home when the driver called to say he was an hour away. I give Vroom high marks on price, but low marks on customer service. Their claim that they keep you informed every step of the buying process is all hype. Their communication is downright terrible. Next time I'll use Carvana.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Vehicle selection
    • Poor communication
    • Unnecessarily long time to receive title

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stick with a local dealership or Carvana

    • By Edward E.,
    • Collierville, TN,
    • Jul 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    What started as a pleasant experience spiraled into a very bad one that I don't wish any other potential car buyer out there to experience. Their prices are good and employees are nice, everything else is pretty bad.

    For starters, Vroom does not own their vehicle distribution network and rely on third-party companies to pick up trade-ins and drop off purchases. This process makes the experience wholly unreliable and not customer friendly. Half the time I didn't know who I was dealing with.

    Secondly, the aforementioned third-party delivery company damaged my vehicle in transit and did not mention anything to me so they could save themselves the money. There is a glaring lack of accountability on this front since a damaged vehicle means these people get paid less.

    Lastly, and arguably my biggest issue, is the fact that I requested over 5 times to have a check mailed to me for the difference in what they were paying me for my vehicle and the one I was buying since mine had a higher value. I even made them send me a second contract because the first one was wrong in this regard. Lo and behold, guess what happened? It looks like they still applied this amount to my new vehicle's note.

    Bottom line: They're just as shady as any dealership you have to deal with in person. At least you can test drive the dealership vehicles. Stick to your local sellers or go to Carvana.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Customer Support
    • Price
    • Lying
    • Vehicle damage
    • Third-party delivery companies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome experience!

    • By Tim H.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited about two months ago. I waited for the whole purchasing process to be completed before I wrote this review. I have to say, I am really impressed with Vroom. From the financing, delivery, and registering the vehicle the whole process was very smooth and painless. I was very leery of buying a vehicle online without looking at it, but not anymore. When I first got the vehicle all four tires needed to be replaced. My first thought was, "This is why you don't buy a vehicle online and now I'm stuck buying four new tires". When I contacted Vroom with the problem, they were more than fair. Vroom had me take the vehicle to Discount Tires where they purchased four brand new tires for the vehicle.

    The vehicle I purchased is in very good shape with low miles and was purchased for a very fair price. I would most definitely buy another vehicle from Vroom again.

    Thank you!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fair price
    • Sound vehicle
    • Easy experience
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend purchasing a vehicle from Vroom

    • By Adrian M.,
    • South San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased a Dodge Charger and upon delivery, I noticed a black vinyl sticker on each side skirt. The car I purchased is white, so these stickers stuck out like a sore thumb. I decided to remove them and saw underneath it was hiding damage to the side skirt where paint was chipped off and missing, it was about the size of 2 quarters. I created a "ticket" to get it repaired and the "supervisor" denied my repair stating that it was my fault for removing the black sticker. On the initial Vroom posting it stated normal wear and tear on the vehicle but that damage was not indicated and all the agent said was that "the car was advertised with the black vinyl in the pictures." They have not made this right and I won't be recommending Vroom to anyone to purchase a vehicle. The negative reviews speak for volumes to how this company operates.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Priced below local vehicles
    • Shady
    • Denied repairs for damage on the car they sold me
    • Weak communication, sometimes you have to call 15 times to get to an agent

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good experience that turns into a nightmare

    • By Gwendolyn W.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The online salesman was polite and very helpful, the documents where FedEx'd to me, I paid my deposit, the vehicle was delivered two days earlier, the transporter was very nice. Now here comes the problem - my trade-in vehicle was supposed to be taken by the transporter that delivered my vehicle, that changed finally after me calling numerous times and a transporter called me to schedule a pickup, which never happened. I called Vroom back, got transferred around, nobody knew anything, or could even brother to help me. I kept calling and kept being told someone would return my call, never happened. Now my trade-in Chrysler is calling for a payment on a car that I traded to Vroom. Finally after 20 or more calls I finally get a call from transporter to pick up my Chrysler after a month of waiting. This is horrible customer service. When you're purchasing a vehicle you can reach people, but when that part is done, everybody disappears on you. I am still waiting to be sent a copy of my paperwork that I signed doing the purchase process, how long does this take? I have my registration and plates. I want my copy of the paperwork as promised during the purchase transaction. Vroom sucks.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Speediness at the start of the process
    • No one can be reached by phone
    • No one does what they promise
    • Poor customer service

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Michael V.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I later got a call from Customer Service after this review. They are refunding my delivery fee due to how unhappy I was with the service. I bumped them up a star from a 2 star to a 3 star.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Early sales process was easy
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 4, 2020

    Post sales service is awful

    I started the process of ordering a new car about a month ago. Submitted an application and did not get a response at all. I had to set up an appointment with them after getting no response after 24 hours. Once I set up the appointment the sales aspect of the ordering process was great. I was able to get the car I wanted from their site and paperwork done in just a few days. Once the paperwork was signed, everything kind of went sideways. I was told I would get the car in 10-14 days. A little over a week later I start getting the emails that my car would be there on Saturday. It never showed up. At 5:00 I started calling them to find out where it was and was told I would get an answer back. No one could tell me where the car was. I was then told I would get the car on Monday. Same thing. No one could tell me where the car was and it was not delivered on Monday.

    After multiple calls and leaving voicemails with them, we find out from a manager that the truck broke down somewhere. I'm sorry but just be honest with people. If the car is not going to make it or something goes wrong, be honest. Eventually, on the 14th day, the car was delivered. The driver was rushing me through the process of accepting the car. The car was filthy. I found a couple of issues wrong with the car after checking it, like the hood would not open. Post sales service is awful. No one seems to know what is going on nor care what is going on. The whole point of using VROOM was to not have to go into the dealership and deal with the 3-4 hours of sitting there to buy a car. I do not know if I would use them again.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Car is good, customer care after purchase, bad

    • By Benny G.,
    • Montezuma, KS,
    • Jul 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I enjoy the vehicle I purchased from Vroom, but the vehicle arrived with a chipped windshield. I had to wait over 10 days to finally get a resolution to the problem. Also, my vehicle did not come with an AM/FM antenna. Vroom now says that it does not come with one.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The vehicle Carfax report
    • Fast delivery
    • After purchase customer service
    • Customer service with financing

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Vroom gets away with knowing you can't fight them

    • By Christina C.,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Oh boy. My 2019 Hyundai Elantra arrived:

    1) With a completely dead battery that could not be jumpstarted.

    2) With a deep scratch through the metal of the car that was only visible once it was being towed to a dealership to have said battery replaced.

    3) Covered in a layer of dust.

    4) With the back passenger window slightly ajar.

    5) Spiderwebs in the back seat.

    Nothing about this experience has made me think my car was ever even looked at by Vroom before selling it to me. The battery was replaced by my Hyundai warranty, not Vroom.

    The scratch? Vroom claims it was in the original listing because it is faintly visible in a picture of the side of the car. No close-up. No text disclaiming its existence. Clean Carfax. And assurances on my listing, and every listing, that "Vroom fixes all scratches over 6 inches."

    The only remedy Vroom is willing to extend me at all is to return the car to them, minus the $799 shipping fee. So that I can lose money, on top of everything, and still not have a car.

    Thank you, Vroom, for emailing me your invitations to share my experience on rating websites. I plan to.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Stay at home
    • Condition of car
    • Poor customer service
    • Poor return policy (pay back shipping)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best auto buying experience EVER!

    • By Tiffany L.,
    • Dyersburg, TN,
    • Jul 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Vroom has been awesome! The cars are actually really nice with clean CARFAX reports, plus low mileage. The prices are fabulous as well. No haggling from anyone. I found several vehicles I wanted. You must act fast to get the one you want. Put down that $500 deposit to hold the vehicle you truly want. The vehicles sell very fast! I lost out on my first choice because of uncertainty. I found the next best one, waited until it was available, then put my deposit down. The buying experience has been pleasurable the entire time. The car was delivered to my door on the date promised with 2 month temporary tags on it. The car also came as the pictures depicted. I have already recommended Vroom to everyone who asks about my fabulous new car. Will definitely use Vroom from now on. Love it!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Quality
    • Affordability
    • Convenience
    • Reliability
    • Delivery
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor transaction

    • By Ann G.,
    • California,
    • Jul 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Upset, my tags are now expired, because Vroom failed to let their customers know that we have to smog our own car if we are from California. I’m here waiting for my license plate and nothing. I was never told we have to smog the car ourselves. This inconvenience is poor customer service. There are plenty of other auto dealers who will do this for you. Now I can’t get my registration unless I smog this new car I bought from them.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Got approved
    • Poor registration process
    • Car dirty, had a lot of pet hair, not detailed when arrived
    • Don’t buy if you live in California or you have to smog car yourself

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Easy online buying experience. The delivery part of the whole deal was horrible.

    • By John S.,
    • Fayetteville, NC,
    • Jul 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Cons: Like the title said the car got delivered absolutely filthy. And on top of all that, the windshield had a quarter-sized crack in it on the passenger side. I don't even think the car was detailed when Vroom had it. There were still stickers from the Manheim auction in Orlando inside the car too. Vroom also claims to repair and remedy scratches and dings yet I found several quite deep scratches all over my car. Just a poor experience all around. I finally had to put them on blast to get them to agree to fix my windshield. The sad part is they only offered up to a $75 credit for a detail, anyone in the car detailing business knows a solid paint correction place charges upwards of 3x that.

    Pros: The whole car buying experience online was actually really good. I filled all my info out on a Saturday night and got a call to my surprise on Sunday. Mr. Mitchell Wegela that helped me over the phone described how the whole process worked and he ran my credit through lenders. He was awesome and very informative. I got approved by all the lenders that were open and he gave me options to which one I'd like to go with. The following day (Monday) I received the contract through FedEx and it was super easy to go through and sign everything. They even included an envelope with a shipping label to get it back to them.

    Summary: All in all, the car buying experience through them was a breeze, much easier than going to a greasy dealership. Not so happy about the delivery condition though.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Super easy buying experience
    • Great customer service
    • You can easily apply for a car loan through Vroom
    • Car got delivered filthy and covered with mud
    • Car was delivered with cracked windshield, not listed on Vroom
    • Delivery of the vehicle was at a weird time of the day

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 89-99 of 354

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana