About Vroom

If you’ve purchased a car recently—especially a used one—you know the current system is undeniably broken. On one hand, you can go to a dealer, where you’ll probably be met with high pressure selling tactics along with inflated prices. Sure, you can avoid this by going through a private seller, although this can bring about issues surrounding quality and condition.

To address this, several companies have recently come online, one of which is Vroom. Founded in 2014, Vroom helps customers buy quality pre-owned vehicles over the internet, with transparent pricing, no salespeople, and a 7-day in-home test drive. Vroom customers can also obtain a competitive cash offer in minutes for their existing vehicles.

Taken together, Vroom claims to be “changing vehicle ownership forever.” But, whether you’re looking to buy or sell a car, does this necessarily mean they’re the right option for you? Are there other considerations you should keep in mind before using Vroom.com? Let’s help you find some answers, starting with how the Vroom website works.

How to Use the Vroom Website

Buying a Car on Vroom.com

To find a vehicle on Vroom, you’ll need to start by entering a keyword, or by searching for a specific make and model, body type, price, year, and/or mileage. Then, you’ll be able to see a picture of any matching vehicles, along with the year, make, model, trim level, mileage, and price.

Clicking on this image will take you to the vehicle’s home page. There, you’ll be able to view additional pictures, features and options, specifications, and fees. You’ll also be able to estimate your monthly payment.

If you’re ready to proceed, you can click the Get Started button, which will begin the purchasing process (we’ll talk more about financing options below). Then, according to Vroom, they’ll be able to “verify your identity, confirm details, and provide you with paperwork” in a matter of minutes. Or, you can place a 24-hour hold on the vehicle.

After purchasing, Vroom will deliver the vehicle directly to your door and will handle several important details, including filing title transfer paperwork with your local DMV.

Selling Your Car to Vroom

On the other hand, if you’re looking to sell your car to Vroom, you can begin the process by uploading pictures of your car, along with the VIN, mileage, and aftermarket additions. Within minutes, you’ll receive a guaranteed cash offer through your inbox, which will be valid for seven days.

If you accept the offer, Vroom will deposit the cash directly into your bank account within three business days, while handling details “like titles and any government red tape.” You can arrange for one of Vroom’s drivers to pick up your vehicle at the location and time of your choosing, or you can receive a check on the spot by delivering your vehicle to their store outside Dallas, TX.

Another interesting option that’s not offered by other similar services (more about this soon) is that Vroom allows you to take their voucher to your local car dealership. If they accept, Vroom will then purchase the vehicle directly through them, possibly giving you even more of a tax benefit.

Now, what kinds of vehicles will you find through Vroom? What are their stipulations? If you’re looking to sell, will your car pass muster?

What Are Vroom’s Vehicle Requirements?

Although Vroom claims to subject all new vehicles to a “stringent selection process,” other than that they can’t show any accidents through AutoCheck (a service similar to Carfax that’s operated by Experian), we’re not told exactly what their guidelines are.

After Vroom purchases a vehicle, it goes through a 126-point inspection process, which ensures you’re purchasing a vehicle as close to new as possible. This means no dents, the engine purrs smoothly, alignment is perfect, fluids are topped off, etc.—something Vroom calls a Supremely Certified car.

How does this differ from other similar services?

How Does Vroom Stack Up Against the Competition?

Remember how we talked about the increasing popularity of websites like Vroom above? If you’re looking for a new way to buy, you’ve got more options than ever, including Carvana and Beepi. Sure, each of these companies market themselves differently, but are there any real-world differences between them?

Vroom vs. Beepi

If you’re looking to sell your car, Beepi seems to have a more involved process than Vroom. How? Because, before giving you an offer, Beepi sends one of their inspectors to your home, so they can personally certify that it meets their guidelines. Since Vroom doesn’t do this, we might imagine instances where things don’t go as planned (e.g. the car is in worse shape than expected, or otherwise doesn’t meet their guidelines), but only after most of the process is complete.

On the other hand, Beepi also charges a 3-9% fee for selling vehicles, while Vroom appears to be free. Beepi doesn’t appear to charge for deliveries, and you’ll receive a 10-day trial period with all newly purchased vehicles.

Finally, Beepi is only available in CA and NV, while Vroom appears to service customers nationwide.

Vroom vs. Carvana

Carvana also submits each of their vehicles to a detailed inspection process (150 points, to be exact), and pulls an AutoCheck report to check for previous accidents.

After purchasing a vehicle through Carvana, they’ll ship your vehicle for free if you live within 100 miles of their Atlanta, GA, Nashville, TN, Charlotte, NC, Birmingham, AL, and Dallas, TX hubs, although it’ll cost you $199 if you live between 100 and 250 miles of these hubs. If you’re outside this radius, then you’ll have to choose a third-party delivery method.

Like Vroom, Carvana also offers a 7-day trial for all new vehicle purchases.

How Much Does Vroom Cost?

Signing up for an account on Vroom.com is completely free; simply enter your information, or sign up using your Facebook or Google credentials.

If you decide to place a 24-hour hold on a Vroom vehicle, you’ll be charged a $500 fee. If you choose not to purchase the vehicle, this money is fully refundable.

When you’re ready to purchase a vehicle through Vroom, you can use your own financing, or you can use one of the company’s 30+ banks (what they call “the largest financing network”) to help you get the best rates. All vehicles come with free nationwide shipping and a 7-day (or 250 mile) test drive. Don’t like your car? Call Vroom and they’ll have someone come pick it up at no charge.

Newly purchased Vroom vehicles come with a 90-day/30,000 mile no-worry warranty and a year of free 24/7 roadside assistance. Most are still covered under the manufacturer’s warranty, although additional coverage can be purchased directly through Vroom at the time of sale.

In order to speak with a Vroom representative, their customer service department can be reached at (855) 524-1300.

Are There Any Customer Reviews for Vroom?

Regardless where we looked, Vroom (formerly known as AutoAmerica) seemed to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, including a 4.5-star rating on Cars.com, 4.6 stars on DealerRater.com, and 4.1 stars on Edmunds.com. On Yelp, Vroom had a somewhat lower rating of 3.5 stars, with common complaints referencing poor customer service and lowball offers.

It should be noted that in most of these instances, a representative from Vroom personally responded to complaints.

From a company perspective, Vroom had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 16 closed complaints. These complaints referenced everything between undisclosed accidents to unresponsive customer service.

Should You Use Vroom to Buy or Sell a Car?

Whenever you’re thinking about using a new product or service, online customer reviews can go a long way toward letting you know what you might reasonably expect (this is why consumer advocacy websites like HighYa exist!). And at least from this aspect, it seems like Vroom has overwhelmingly positive feedback from their customers, who generally claim that the process was super easy and hassle-free.

However, if you’re dead set on buying or selling a car solely online, remember that Vroom isn’t the only game in town, so it’s important to research all your options in advance (you’re already off to a great start!). Comparatively, Vroom certainly seems to have some unique advantages (such as free nationwide shipping, which could save you hundreds compared to other options), but only you can decide whether or not this will translate into a better experience.

Did you use Vroom? Did you buy or selling your car? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for Vroom

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible dealership

    Vroom WILL NOT help you at all without a $500 deposit period! I was told they sell 400 vehicles a day by Loriza Rubio. I was also told the vehicle I was interested in was sold to someone else because I didn't put up the $500 they asked for and IT WASNT! Totally a BS online dealership. BEWARE. First dealership I've encountered where they act like they don't want to sell you a car. Absolutely ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2012 Mercedez Benz purchase

    • El Paso, TX,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom staff members are very helpful and will try to accommodate your needs. You will work with several members, and as long as you have all your emails and telephone numbers on hand, any vehicle purchase through Vroom will be a smooth process.

    I will definitely purchase from Vroom in the near future!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever!

    • Maryland,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my car about a month ago (Audi Q7 2015). Transport used a trailer with my car on the top, so it was not covered. The transporter was trying to clean my hood, bumper, rims, and fenders. Why? I looked at my car and there are scratches all over my hood, bumper rims, and fenders. Bare in mind that it was about 10 pm at night.

    The transporter told me to clean the car and send pictures. I sent all the pictures the very next day. Alex Coates asked me to get estimates, and they will take care of it. After one month of sending pictures and getting estimates, I got no return calls. I had to call almost all the time. Christian Lopez called me and told me they refused to repair the car for the amount it cost, then they offered to pay $2500, which is about half the cost, or they could take the car back.

    I forgot to mention that the interior had parts broken and was dirty with food crumbs everywhere. They had the nerve to tell me "Well, you did buy a used car."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience with Vroom

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Vroom was awful. Do not use their service! It took them 16 days to get the car to me (after I sent them the money) even though I live only five hours away from their fulfillment center.

    I was constantly given the run-around. Not responsive via email and I never got any support from my sales support person. The finance people were pretty on the ball, but that was just because they wanted my money. Once they had my money, it took forever to get anything done.

    The car had a big dent in the hubcap and a rip in the front seat. And to top it off, they only give you one key, and if you ask for a second one, they make you pay for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Read the fine lines

    • San Bruno, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible customer service experience; no one follows through with the whole process. I order a car and placed a hold on it, started financing and that's when it starts; no one contacts you or is replying to your emails. It took two weeks to get your finance paper back to you, now you have to go get a cashier's check since they will not take a credit card or anything else. They will not process the paperwork until they receive their cashier's check and then it will take 7-14 days to get your car. Total of a whole month process, what a waste of time!

    I started reading the purchase order and they added $1400 of additional charges to the order, gap insurance, texas dealer prep, etc. Gap insurance is optional, but they never asked, just added and when asked, they couldn't even explain what that is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Supremely certified cars?

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my truck in February 2017, a Ford F-250 Diesel. The truck looked great; no door dings, great paint, great interior. You would think the truck was taken care of. Wrong.

    After having the truck for a week or two, I found out the ball joints were bad on both front wheels, and the truck had the death wobbles. This is caused by a bad track bar and another ball joint. While getting this fixed, the repair person saw that the cab mount bushings were all rotted out. This let the cab loose on the frame, which causes it to move around, creating the knock I heard when you apply the brakes. The bad ball joints could be found just by jacking the front wheels up. The bad track bar could be found just by driving the truck. The cab mount bushings could be seen just by looking at the bottom of the truck.

    I don't think this truck had ever gone through the supreme car care that they state the truck had gone through. This is still not the end of the story. Now the oil cooler that is bolted to the engine is cracked, which in turn burned up the EGR coolers. $5,800 at the Ford dealer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Worst car buying experience in 40 years

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The entire process is brutalizing. I had USAA financing in place ready to buy. With any other dealer, the process would be completed the same day I walk into the dealership. Vroom took three weeks to finalize the process. Communication is so hard, and no one returns calls or emails. You have to use their chat system to get any response. So it is three weeks vs. one day at a normal dealer.

    The truck had photographed two key fobs and an owner's manual, but not none of it was included. I contacted my sales person, Amanda Sterns, twice and heard no replies. I had to go to the Ford dealer to get keys made for the truck.

    Cedric Smith is incompetent as a finance manager. USAA makes things easy for vets with everything (funding) ready before you even step foot on a lot. Cedric came up with every excuse for why it took so long. THREE DAYS after funds had been wired and cleared, the Vroom bank account said my purchase was still pending? I called USAA and told them I suspected fraud, and within an hour I got a call from Cedric saying everything was done and my car was shipping out.

    I will not recommend this dealer to anyone ever, and I will actually post reviews on Facebook, Google, Cars.com, everywhere I can to let people know, especially vets using USAA, to stay away from these guys! Go to your local dealer, it is only a headache for the day, whereas Vroom tortures you for weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    They sell unsafe cars

    • Florida,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never buy another vehicle over the internet again, much less from Vroom. I attempted to have a third party perform a pre-purchase inspection and Vroom did not allow it. I should have walked away from the deal at that exact moment.

    I bought a low mileage 2013 vehicle from them, and they failed to disclose that it was in a rear end collision. This car also arrived without brake pads on the rear calipers. A good hard slam on the brakes would have caused the calipers to break which would have caused the brake fluid to leak out. Once that happened, there would be no front brakes either. The car had new tires on it, so someone completely and negligently ignored the missing brake pads.

    My mechanic is storing the car for free while I return it because it is unsafe to drive. I learned this after I had already driven my two-year-old daughter in the vehicle. There was also a hack paint job done to the rear bumper in an attempt to hide the accident. They did such a poor paint job that the spare tire underneath is half painted black.

    I almost forgot to mention that I had to have my clothing dry cleaned and eventually thrown in the trash because the car was delivered with black grease all over the leather seats. The thing that makes me the most upset is that I drove my two-year-old daughter in this vehicle the afternoon I received it. It makes me furious to know they sold me, presumably knowingly, such an unsafe vehicle. This is what you expect from the worst of the worst used car dealers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 21, 2017

      Danielle Storm

      Did you run the VIN number before purchase? Was anything wrong when you ran it? Also, were you able to return the vehicle and get a full refund?

    • Sep 24, 2017

      Janette Grant Winn

      Sounds like a lawsuit.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Their system is a mess

    • Bellevue, WA,
    • May 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found a car on their website that I was interested in. I called them and placed a hold. I realized their price differed in different places (web vs. mobile). The rep told me he would be able to honor whatever price I saw. I was under the impression that their price was even negotiable. I soon changed my mind, and I called in again to ask them to cancel my hold. The second rep couldn't find any records about my previous conversation with their reps. And he couldn't refund me. I had to figure out a way to reach the first rep I talked to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • May 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company must be doing so well that they don't need new customers!

    I was so excited to find my new car. I applied for financing, waited three days, and heard nothing. I called, and a lady apologized and said someone would call. There was no call received. I called two days later, maybe thinking that they were busy working up my super deal. The customer service rep apologized, took down my details and said finance would be calling with the payment and interest rate details. No call was received!

    Finally, I called yesterday afternoon and got hold of the customer service rep, Ladonna I think, and let her know that I was withdrawing my intent to purchase a vehicle. She replied, "Oh, ok..."

    Wow, Vroom, you have a long way to go. I'd rather do battle at a dealership than basically be ignored.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Double billed for $500 deposit

    • Florida,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had an awful experience with Vroom. I have been charged twice for a $500 deposit. I have contacted them on three different occasions and yet to have this problem resolved. I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review