About Vuse E Cig

Manufactured by R.J. Reynolds tobacco company, Vuse E-Cigarettes are cartridge-based units claimed to be designed with proprietary smart processor technology (known as a SmartMemory chip) that uses algorithms to monitor and adjust heat delivery up to 2,000 times per second, thereby giving you a perfect puff, the first time and every time. In addition to its consistent and reliable performance, Vuse e-cigarettes are claimed to provide you with satisfying and great tasting vapor. And since there’s no combustion, you won’t be bothered with a “smoke” smell or any resulting ash.

Each stainless steel Vuse PowerUnit contains a lithium polymer battery, similar to those contained in cell phones and other electronic devices, that activates an atomizer, which turns the V-liquid contained in each replaceable cartridge into nicotine-containing (about 4.8%) vapor. This high quality nicotine is claimed to be derived from tobacco plants, and is suspended in a solution of vegetable glycerin, propylene glycol, reverse-osmosis water, and natural and artificial flavorings (either menthol or tobacco).

How Long Do Vuse E-Cigs Last?

Vuse E-Cigarettes come fully charged right out of the package, and the company claims that each cartridge will provide about as many puffs as a pack of traditional cigarettes. Vuse e-cigarettes are also claimed to feature a SmartLight indicator that will blink red when the cartridge needs replacing, and will remain white when the battery needs to be recharged. According to the company, the battery will typically need to be charged once per day, and will need to be replaced after 4-6 months of use.

Vuse E-Cigs are claimed to be designed and assembled in the USA, and the company also provides a free pre-paid mailer to return your used cartridges for recycling.

Vuse E-Cig Pricing & Refund Policy

Vuse E-Cigarettes are only available through retail locations (often at drug stores and gas stations), and are typically priced as follows:

  • Vuse Solo (1 rechargeable battery, 1 cartridge, and 1 USB charger): About $10
  • Vuse System (1 rechargeable battery, 3 cartridges, 1 USB charger, 1 AC adapter, and 1 carrying case): About $30
  • Cartridges (package of 2): $4-$6

As such, refund policies will depend on each individual retailer.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Vuse?

Based on reviews found on websites such as ElectronicCigaretteConsumerReviews.com, PCMag.com, Gizmodo, and Digital Trends, overall, it appears that Vuse E Cigs have a mostly positive online reputation with customers, with some of the most common compliments citing good aesthetics and craftsmanship, a throat hit similar to traditional cigarettes, and reasonable price.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints relate to their high price with continued use, and that the vapor is thick and satisfying with new cartridges, but quickly loses its “substance” as it’s used. Also, some consumers complained that as you near the end of a cartridge you might notice a slight “burned” taste, and that the same draw produced different levels of vapor.

In addition, some customers noted that the Vuse cartridges don’t last as long as a pack of traditional cigarettes, and that the batteries hold less and less charge and need to be replaced quickly.

Finally, quite a few customers commented on Vuse’s high nicotine content, which may be a bonus for some users and a drawback for others. Also some users found the taste satisfying, while others disliked it.

Bottom Line: Are Vuse E-Cigarettes Worth Your Money?

When it comes to e-cigarettes, Vuse appears to offer a well-made and readily available e-cig that will likely provide you with a solid alternative to traditional cigarettes. However, similar to other models from FIN Electronic Cigarettes and VChic, keep in mind that Vuse E-Cigs are not considered a smoking cessation device. In other words, they won’t help you break your addiction to nicotine.

Also, while cartridge-based e-cigarettes like those from Vuse can represent an inexpensive method of moving away from traditional cigarettes, you’ll likely eventually move over to a full-on vaporizer should you decide to stick with it. Although this method of e-smoking can represent a greater initial cost ($50-$80 for a basic unit), the cost of using them over time is much lower than with cartridge-based units like Vuse. In addition, vaporizers will also provide you with the ability to control the intensity of your vapor and to add e-liquid as you wish (and even mix and match your own flavors). On top of this, you won’t need to run to the store and stock up on cartridges, or to find a place to dispose of your used ones. Although if R.J. Reynolds has its way, these types of vaporizers may eventually be banned in the U.S., furthering their market share.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

101 Consumer Reviews for Vuse E Cig

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 14 3 star: 11 2 star: 16 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 101
Sort reviews by:

  • Absolute junk

    • San Pedro, CA,
    • Nov 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried various other vapes, thought they were great and decided I wanted one. I currently smoke Marlboro Reds. So, I went and got one of these, and the first hit was so harsh I could not really inhale much and coughed. I tried other Mint flavors and it was a little better, but still WAY too harsh. I took it back to where I bought it, and they could only exchange for Vuse Solo, which was the same. I took it back again and they cannot give any refund. I called customer service, and they can only give me a coupon to get another one. Seriously this is the biggest piece of junk and waste of money ever, and it's going in the trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Dud!

    • Williamsport, PA,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Claims to be fully charged, but only lasted about 12 puffs. Upon recharging, indicated full charge quickly, but lasted three puffs. Charged overnight, lasted five puffs. Repeat, and the same thing; doesn't work. Always shows as being charged, then behaves as if it's not when I try to use it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not sure what to think

    • Texas,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So when I first got my Vuse Solo because if I would be traveling, I wouldn't be able to get a buzz anywhere else. It was amazing, literally perfect for a few months, and then it started going down hill. It wasn't hitting well and began to taste odd.

    After a while, I decided to get another thinking maybe I had messed up my first one, and it had just gotten worn out. The new one I got had maybe three wonderful hits, and suddenly a terrible taste came, and I wasn't getting that buzz anymore. My mouth was left with a terrible burnt chemical taste. I'm not sure if it's the cartridges or the Vuse itself, but darn, it tasted terrible. I'm really hoping it's the cartridges that are being weird, as I do enjoy the buzz I got from it.

    I don't care for vapes, I just honestly like to use it as stress relief and just a little jump. If anyone has any advice, hit me up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    They are not working

    I have been smoking Vuse for a year and a half now. Occasionally I would get a cartridge that would not work. It would just turn red as soon as I would put it on a cigarette. I usually buy ten packs of cartridges at a time. This last time six of the cartridges either didn't work or they would stop working after just a few puffs. The cartridges are not cheap, so I can't afford to be just throwing my money in the trash.

    I don't want to change or have to change the brand of vapor cigarettes I use, but I will have to if this if this continues to happen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the third time I have bought a Vuse E Cig that doesn't work, and Vuse only issues refunds if you purchase from their online store. It used to be a great product, and now it's just a disappointment and waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Vuse E Cig

    The Vuse E-Cig is the best. I have tried quite a few other brands in the four years I have been using the E Cigs. I have for two years now only been using the Vuse brand. I like all flavors in both the old E-Cig and the new Vuse style, but I like the old style Vuse the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Honest review of Vuse Solo and Vibe

    • Greeley, CO,
    • Feb 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a pack a day smoker for 25 years. I quit smoking analog cigarettes almost three years ago and switched to Vuse E Cig.

    I tried several other brands before deciding on the Vuse. I used the Solo, and I have tried the Vibe, but the Vibe unit is bulky, heavy, and doesn't have the same taste, so my preference is the Solo. I love the flavor of the Vuse Original because, in my opinion, it is the closest taste to an analog. Over the course of the three years with the Vuse Solo, I've noticed that the cartridges don't seem to last as long (or I'm vaping more), although I don't have scientific proof on the length of duration, and I don't count how many times I hit on it.

    I use 1 to 2 cartridges per day, so the cost is the equivalent to analogs. I do find that approximately 1 in every 15 cartridges fails, but my local gas station where I purchase then from allows me to exchange them. I like that they don't stink, and I'm especially pleased that my smoker's cough and wheezing have disappeared. I'm concerned about long-term use, but overall I feel my health has improved significantly since I quit smoking analogs. I don't seem to be out of breath as quickly, and I feel like I have more stamina and endurance with physical activity.

    However, what I want to know is, in ten years, will I have popcorn lungs or lung cancer? I'm sure I was on my way to lung cancer with the analogs. Overall, if you are desperate to quit the analogs, I'd recommend the Vuse. You are switching out one addiction for the other, but the benefits to me are clear. I wouldn't plan on using the Vuse as a tool to quit, I'd plan on it as more of a replacement.

    With all that said, I like the Vuse; it's my brand of choice. I love that I don't stink, I hate the smell of analogs, and the Vuse is more discreet. I've found if I hit my Vuse and hold the hit in for 10 seconds, I don't release a cloud of smoke, so it's easier to be discreet. I was more of a closet smoker with my analogs, and I didn't wear the title "smoker" with any pride. I'd recommend the Vuse!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I like it.

    It is good. I like the vanilla flavor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Defective Cartridges

    • West Lafatette, IN,
    • Sep 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over a month now the RJ Reynolds company Has been producing defective Vuse cartridges. The defect is easy to see. The electrical contacts (there are three) are the problem. The deepest contact on the cartridge which Contacts the largest metal ring does not stand up to its full height in the plastic slot. Sometimes it barely protrudes out of the bottom. When the contact is not made the assembly will blink a red and white light.

    I believe the RJ Reynolds company, who are aware of the problem, is not willing to stop production because they want the $$. So they continue to produce defective cartridges. Out of the eight packages, I purchased 16 cartridges, of which 9 were defective and only 7 were acceptable. That's less than half.

    The Better Business Bureau should not stand for such a success rate. Producing a product that is intentionally defective and sold is a crime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Aug 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using for a few weeks and on numerous occasions I've bought cartridges and they don't work at all. Yes it was fully charged, but the cartridges don't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Florida,
    • Jul 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought basic kit last night at Wawa for $11

    The Vuse E Cig lasted one hour. Both the battery and cartridge were out. Now I cannot return. It's very hard to snap cartridge to the battery and battery to the charger.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 101

Write a Review for Vuse E Cig!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review