About Vuse E Cig

By HighYa Staff

Manufactured by R.J. Reynolds tobacco company, Vuse E-Cigarettes are cartridge-based units claimed to be designed with proprietary smart processor technology (known as a SmartMemory chip) that uses algorithms to monitor and adjust heat delivery up to 2,000 times per second, thereby giving you a perfect puff, the first time and every time. In addition to its consistent and reliable performance, Vuse e-cigarettes are claimed to provide you with satisfying and great tasting vapor. And since there’s no combustion, you won’t be bothered with a “smoke” smell or any resulting ash.

Each stainless steel Vuse PowerUnit contains a lithium polymer battery, similar to those contained in cell phones and other electronic devices, that activates an atomizer, which turns the V-liquid contained in each replaceable cartridge into nicotine-containing (about 4.8%) vapor. This high quality nicotine is claimed to be derived from tobacco plants, and is suspended in a solution of vegetable glycerin, propylene glycol, reverse-osmosis water, and natural and artificial flavorings (either menthol or tobacco).

How Long Do Vuse E-Cigs Last?

Vuse E-Cigarettes come fully charged right out of the package, and the company claims that each cartridge will provide about as many puffs as a pack of traditional cigarettes. Vuse e-cigarettes are also claimed to feature a SmartLight indicator that will blink red when the cartridge needs replacing, and will remain white when the battery needs to be recharged. According to the company, the battery will typically need to be charged once per day, and will need to be replaced after 4-6 months of use.

Vuse E-Cigs are claimed to be designed and assembled in the USA, and the company also provides a free pre-paid mailer to return your used cartridges for recycling.

Vuse E-Cig Pricing & Refund Policy

Vuse E-Cigarettes are only available through retail locations (often at drug stores and gas stations), and are typically priced as follows:

  • Vuse Solo (1 rechargeable battery, 1 cartridge, and 1 USB charger): About $10
  • Vuse System (1 rechargeable battery, 3 cartridges, 1 USB charger, 1 AC adapter, and 1 carrying case): About $30
  • Cartridges (package of 2): $4-$6

As such, refund policies will depend on each individual retailer.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Vuse?

Based on reviews found on websites such as ElectronicCigaretteConsumerReviews.com, PCMag.com, Gizmodo, and Digital Trends, overall, it appears that Vuse E Cigs have a mostly positive online reputation with customers, with some of the most common compliments citing good aesthetics and craftsmanship, a throat hit similar to traditional cigarettes, and reasonable price.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints relate to their high price with continued use, and that the vapor is thick and satisfying with new cartridges, but quickly loses its “substance” as it’s used. Also, some consumers complained that as you near the end of a cartridge you might notice a slight “burned” taste, and that the same draw produced different levels of vapor.

In addition, some customers noted that the Vuse cartridges don’t last as long as a pack of traditional cigarettes, and that the batteries hold less and less charge and need to be replaced quickly.

Finally, quite a few customers commented on Vuse’s high nicotine content, which may be a bonus for some users and a drawback for others. Also some users found the taste satisfying, while others disliked it.

Bottom Line: Are Vuse E-Cigarettes Worth Your Money?

When it comes to e-cigarettes, Vuse appears to offer a well-made and readily available e-cig that will likely provide you with a solid alternative to traditional cigarettes. However, similar to other models from FIN Electronic Cigarettes and VChic, keep in mind that Vuse E-Cigs are not considered a smoking cessation device. In other words, they won’t help you break your addiction to nicotine.

Also, while cartridge-based e-cigarettes like those from Vuse can represent an inexpensive method of moving away from traditional cigarettes, you’ll likely eventually move over to a full-on vaporizer should you decide to stick with it. Although this method of e-smoking can represent a greater initial cost ($50-$80 for a basic unit), the cost of using them over time is much lower than with cartridge-based units like Vuse. In addition, vaporizers will also provide you with the ability to control the intensity of your vapor and to add e-liquid as you wish (and even mix and match your own flavors). On top of this, you won’t need to run to the store and stock up on cartridges, or to find a place to dispose of your used ones. Although if R.J. Reynolds has its way, these types of vaporizers may eventually be banned in the U.S., furthering their market share.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 124 Vuse E Cig Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 16 3 star: 12 2 star: 19 1 star:  61
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 124
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy.

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of the worst e-cigs I have ever used.

    I bought many two-cartridge packs.

    Some lasted an hour or two. The rest lasted 30 or 45 minutes. When I called to complain I was offered one coupon for buy one get one free.

    DO NOT BUY, complete waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Hixton, WI,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this product for a couple of years now. Lately, I have had a lot of problems with the batteries and the cartridges not working. This is costing a lot of money. Not happy and thinking of switching to something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    To stretch your dollar value on the cartridges

    • Florida,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When it is time to replace them, take and place the used one in your freezer and in a day or so, remove and let, you know, dry out for a day (forgot how to spell, tho-a). Then retry!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing inconsistent quality

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The quality of both the e-cig and the cartridges is very inconsistent with a lot of cartridges failing. The price is high, so quality should match. I am changing to a different brand. This must be why products should be regulated to some extent. No recourse for poor quality is unforgivable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Faulty Alto Pods/reliability issues

    • North Ridgeville, OH,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    About a month ago I switched from cigarettes to the Vuse Alto. In the past week I have purchased 2 pods that did not vape at all, apparently defective. They were from different packages but both were mixed berry. Well, that’s about $13 in unusable product and I would like to get them replaced or reimbursed for them. I tried to call RJ Reynolds and email them but I could not contact them for the last couple of days as they have shut down their communications supposedly for updating. At this point, I am thinking of changing or maybe just quitting all together instead of throwing good money at an unreliable product that inwardly I concede is not good for me. Thank you, RJ Reynolds, for this epiphany!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Will never buy again

    • Farmington, MI,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Those bastards, I never got my envelopes for the recall. I called them three times and I never got any envelope. They can go suck an egg. I got completely ripped off by them, they never sent me my envelope, and I was very angry. I will never buy their products again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lies to customers.

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered five packs of mixed berry flavor pods and only received four. I called the company on December 28th to tell them they shorted me a pod and one would be sent out right away. It would take 48 hours to get a tracking number. I called back and was told it had not shipped yet and one would be sent to my email when it was available. Today, January 2nd, I call and was told that nothing was done and they are just going to refund the money for the pods. Nothing for the inconvenience or anything. I can’t buy flavored pods in store here in Massachusetts because of local laws, so I buy them online. This changes my mind about this company and I won’t be giving them my business any longer as I was lied to three different times as to why it had not shipped. They really need to re-evaluate the way they handle procedures. You just lost a loyal customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Purchase empty cartridge

    • California,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a pack of Solo Original two cartidges, one (which was sealed) was empty. Puff, and nothing, just like a used empty cartridge. What a waste of money. None of MarkTen cartridge has been empty when new. I have both units and change brands off and on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Concerns about taste in the product

    • Florida,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using this product for a while. The one that I like is the one that was recalled because the pens were heating up. Vuse has sent me an envelope for me to return the pen I did not return it. Then the products went off the market. So I went with logic. But their products suck. Sorry to say. I enjoy using their product, but now I'm getting to the point where I'm getting frustrated because every time I buy cartridges when it comes to in the pack, I open the product I start using it. And then you start getting a mild taste. I use the Menthol one for the taste is unbearable. Sorry. I appreciate if you can let me know should I start buying directly from the company and how can you help me with this matter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't last, many issues

    • Washington,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The charge units often break and I have gotten one that doesn't work at all. In three months I have gone through maybe ten now, sometimes the refills are faulty and as far as the units themselves, they are faulty, breaking often. It has gotten quite spendy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Angry

    • Nevada,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Vuse to quit smoking. I bought 2 cream refill packs, the first pack, 1 worked, the other wouldn't. I snap in and it stays in, so I figure that sucks since they cost as much as a pack of smokes, so I open the second full pack and only 1 worked in that pack too. So no, it's a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 124

Write a Review for Vuse E Cig!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review