About Wantable

If you’re passionate about exploring the latest fashion and beauty trends, Wantable claims that their discovery commerce platform allows you to receive 4-5 full-size products each month, delivered directly to your door. In fact, the company claims that each box is specifically tailored to your tastes and preferences.

But do Wantable’s boxes really help you discover great products, and are they a good value? Let’s apply the facts and find out.

Wantable Details

According to Wantable, their personalized boxes are handpicked by their in-house stylists to perfectly suit your tastes, and unlike Beauty Box 5, each box includes 4-5 full-size products (not samples) from “unique, specialty, and premium brands.” These boxes are available across three distinct categories:

  • Makeup – Blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, eye and lip liner, and more.
  • Accessories – Earrings, rings, bracelets, scarves, sunglasses, and more.
  • Intimates – Bras, panties, socks, and more.

When you’re ready to join Wantable, the process works over 3 steps:

  1. Choose a category you’re interested in.
  2. Take a personal style quiz, which will help Wantable customize each box to suit your specific tastes and preferences (more about this below).
  3. Receive a personalized box, direct to your door.

To begin, you’ll first need to take one of Wantable’s quizzes, which will ask you several questions related to your personality and product preferences. After choosing a category, Wantable will display a set of images that you can rate based on “love” or “dislike.” As an example: For an accessories box, you’ll be shown images that fall within different categories, such as classic, glam, rock ‘n roll, boho, etc. While you can choose to not indicate your preference for as many items as you like, keep in mind that the more you items you indicate your preference for, the better Wantable will be able to customize your boxes.

After reviewing broad styles and categories, you’ll then be shown several sets of images related to specific items, such as sunglasses, rings, scarves, and more, which you’ll also need to either “love” or “dislike.” Finally, you’ll also be asked questions related to important details such as bracelet/ring sizing and hair length.

Once you reach the end of the quiz, Wantable will display the types of products you’ll receive based on your answers. If you’re not happy with the options at this point, you can retake the quiz to better dial in your preferences.

Once your boxes start arriving, you’ll find an information card inside that outlines details about each of the included products, such as their retail prices and information about the manufacturers, as well as a list of some of your most relevant preferences.

Wantable Pricing & Refund Policy

Wantable gives you the option to choose a monthly subscription for $36, or a single order for $40. As with all other discovery commerce sites, Wantable boxes are claimed to contain products that exceed the cost of what you’re paying.

If you’re dissatisfied with one of your Wantable boxes, you can send it back for a full, no-questions-asked refund. In order to begin the process, you’ll need to log into your account and click the Return Items button, at which point you’ll receive a prepaid return shipping label.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Wantable?

Wantable was founded in 2012 by Jalem Getz, and is based out of Milwaukee, WI. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with only one closed complaint over the past three years.

Online customer reviews about Wantable appear to be primarily positive, although some of the most common complaints we encountered cited high price when compared to similar sites, the potential to receive duplicate items in different boxes, and that some month’s boxes are better than others.

It should be noted that nearly every online review we read gave Wantable very high marks for customer service. The company appears to respond very quickly to their customers, and to work diligently to provide a solution to whatever problem you may be having.

What’s the Bottom Line About Wantable?

So should you sign up for Wantable’s beauty and fashion boxes? Based on our research, it appears the company offers a ton of customization for each of their boxes, to provide a lot of value compared to what you pay, and to be intensely focused on customer service. With this said, there are some things you should keep in mind prior to signing up:

First, you’ll only be able to contact Wantable through their email address, not through the telephone, which has the potential to create delays. However, it appears that the company responds very quickly to any customer correspondence, and to always be willing to help.

Next, one of the most common complaints we encountered cited high price when compared to the competition. However, many of these same reviews also claimed that they enjoyed the high level of customization provided by Wantable, although some complained that the items in their box were far out of line with their preferences.

Finally, one detailed review we encountered during our research claimed that Wantable is just a more expensive version of Ipsy. In fact, they even claimed that they received identical items from both companies, although in different months. So if you’re subscribed to both sites, this might be something you that you infrequently encounter.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for Wantable

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • Rip off, beware!

    I am also a Stitch Fix member but heard a good review from a friend who got her first box and wanted to have further options to add to my wardrobe with different options.

    I received four boxes from Wantable. My very first package contained something I specifically stated I did not want in my profile (cropped pants), along with four other items also in contrast to a style I said did not want (baggy shirts, since I am petite). I complained, and they waived the next fee.

    The second box still included four baggy shirts you would have to wear something under for most and a shirt in a style I then reported I didn't like, high neck and open back. This was not an option in the profile so not their fault, the first time.

    The third box had TWO baggy shirts and a pair of pants two sizes too big. I even took photos of the clothes on and compared to the styles they sent that were correct to prove it in case they were excessively dim. Apparently, the pants were a packing error. Also in that box and the fourth and last one, it contained that high neck and back I reported hating.

    I obviously cancelled. Customer service was prompt and made continued promises but they obviously weren't the ones packing the boxes. The whole process felt fraudulent as I never received a single box that had 100% my reported size or the styles I wanted, despite my accurate profile and repeated feedback on each box, my overall description or emails every time.

    Plus I could have done without the threatening emails about charging me that day if my return was not in the mail. I was never delayed more than a couple of days and twice were due to receiving it when I was out of town and the last one I had the super flu. Apparently they don't realize pushing around the customers that can afford their boxes is not a smart thing to do!

    Since then many online friends and several neighbors and close friends have canceled due to similar problems. Their Facebook advertising is extensive, specifically targeting competitive mentions/users (it's what I do for a living), so I hope these reviews get out and put them out of business before they rip off more people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great subscription box!

    Subscription boxes are so convenient, and Wantable is one of the best ones I subscribe to! The picks for me are always on point! The prices are reasonable for the quality, much better than others I tried first.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Hilary Mack, Customer Success Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience Abigail! We're happy to hear your stylists have been knocking them out of the park, and look forward to styling you again soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love Wantable!

    • Overland Park, KS,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my style edits! I get a great mix of classic, easy to incorporate pieces as well as fun, standout items. The best part is being able to try clothes on at home to see how each piece meshes into your current wardrobe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Hilary Mack, Customer Success Manager

      Hi Megan, thanks for sharing your Wantable experience. We're over the moon that your Edits have been a hit. Your thoughtful notes to your stylist each month have really tailored your experience, and guide them towards the things you'll love. We look forward to styling you again very soon. Please get in touch with our customer advocates if you ever need assistance!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, don't waste time

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent a great deal of time writing "notes" to my "stylist" and going through my "stream" so they would have an idea of the type of clothes I'd like to wear. I specifically asked for no cropped pants/leggings and no tanks since I'm not a fan of showing my arms. The box arrived with two tanks and three pairs of cropped leggings. There was a sweater that was sent in a 3XL, I'm a Large, a sports bra that was WAY TOO SMALL (36Ds would never fit in it, didn't even try), and the one thing from the box brochure I thought I might wear, wasn't even in the damn box.

    I'm so annoyed and upset and disappointed. They suck. I had 4 or 5 friends on standby to sign up too, assuming I liked my first shipment. We will all be going to another company, that's certain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Hilary Mack, Customer Success Manager

      Hi LC,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We genuinely appreciate the time you took to share such a detailed and thoughtful review. Our stylists work diligently to ensure the items selected align with the preferences you've selected in your profile, and we are sorry to hear this was not the experience you had. It does sound as though there may have been a shipping and packaging error that occurred with your Edit. Your feedback has been passed along to our team for further review.

      While we know that we can't change your past experience, we would love the opportunity to make the next one better and hope you will provide us with an opportunity to restore your confidence. We aren't able to locate your account but would love if you could contact our customer advocates at hello@wantable.com, so we could better assist.

      We hope to hear from you and look forward to styling you again soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best clothing subscription service out there!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give Wantable a try after several disappointing shipments from Stitch Fix and Le Tote. So glad I did! Each order (I’ve received three packages so far) include items that are reflective of my style and price. I will definitely be continuing my service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      Hilary Mack, Customer Success Manager

      Hello Dana,

      We are so happy to hear you have been loving your Wantable Edits! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! If you ever need anything, feel free to email us at hello@wantable.com or give us a call (855) 926-8225.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not what I thought it was

    • El Dorado, KS,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went on to Wantable to check it out; I've seen ads for it all over Facebook. Going in, you take a styling test which gives the stylists an idea of what to pick out for you. I was so happy to be getting my items.

    When I finally received my items, I went into my account and it was asking which items I wished to keep and which I wanted to return. Except, you have to pay an outrageous amount for the items you want to keep. Nowhere during the styling or registration process does it say you have to pay $80 for a pair of leggings. I had no idea so I had to send it all back because I could not afford to keep them.

    Going in I thought it was a website like JustFab where you pay a monthly fee to get all this stuff. All this website does is make you pay somebody $20 to pick out clothing, and then you have to pay hundreds if you want to actually keep it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2017

      Hilary Mack, Customer Success Manager

      Hi Alyssa,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We're very sorry for any confusion regarding our service. While you do pay the $20 styling fee, any items you keep are an additional cost but your styling fee applies towards your purchase. This is why you select price ranges when you take the quiz, as we intend it to be that you pick the prices that work best for you.

      Your quiz preferences can be updated at any time and we're very happy to assist in changing them so you recieve items that are closer to your budget. Please get in touch with our friends at hello@wantable.com with your account details and we can take it from there!

      Either way, to truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It has been passed along to our team to review further, as we are always looking for ways to improve.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My first Wantable experience

    I was very excited to try this site out. I'm terrible at going to the mall and picking out outfits so I figured this site would help me get cute, stylish clothes of my liking.

    When I saw the box at my door, I was thrilled! When I opened the box, my reaction completely changed.

    I still tried on all five pieces of clothing, and it was honestly so disappointing! I received thin pieces of clothing and it's going to start to get colder out, and it will not benefit me at all.

    The clothing I had received was nothing for a 21-year-old. This was the funny part: My grandmother lives with me and asked if she can keep a pair of pants that I had received.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your "wantable" money!

    I decided to cancel my account because I would have liked to received complete outfits. This type of service is what I thought I was signing up for, otherwise, I wouldn’t have wasted $40 to have a stylist pick items.

    My first Edit was way off base in the items sent as they all seemed to belong to a much older person (65+). I don’t believe there was anything I liked out of that box, nor were there any complete outfits in that Edit.

    The second Edit, while the items were much more age-appropriate, it too suffered the same issue; there were not any complete outfits. Sure, jeans and denim go with everything, but it doesn’t take a stylist to pair a t-shirt with jeans.

    As well, the sizing questionnaire should have my bust size listed. Why the stylist would have chosen such short fronted shirts is beyond me. 40+-year-old women with size 36D breasts cannot and should not be wearing what amounted to a crop-top.

    I found the Wantable stylists ability to style to be inadequate, and I would not recommend their service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Customer success manager

    • Austin, TX,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tried the Men's Fitness and found a new brand that I love in Rhone Apparel. The rest were okay, but I really love the shirts that I got and will be ordering more soon. Would love to have more accessories in the box.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great items but way over priced

    • Brandon, FL,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited when I opened my first box. The styles and quality were on point. I tried on everything I received, and surprisingly it all fit well. However, once I reviewed my invoice, I was very disappointed. I'm not sure what state this company is based out of, but the items were very over priced. If I kept it all, it would have been just under $400. I'll definitely stick with Stitch Fix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Over priced, no customer service

    I tried Wantable for three months, the second month even trying the Fitness and Makeup. In my profile, I clearly stated that I am 48 years old and work in a conservative office setting, and stated my budget. I got three boxes of stuff I might let my daughter wear out on a night with friends if she had a friend that could loan her some money for the outfits. Nothing in my style, color, or budget.

    And when I told them not to send the package because I was called out of town on an emergency, they gave me until the day before I was coming home to return it. What, my husband is going to try them on for me? An any and all responses from their customer service had to have been computer generated. Not one had made reference to the change of schedule.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Wantable!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review