What Is Wantable?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 21, 2018

Wantable is an online lifestyle service that promises to help take the legwork out of shopping by delivering handpicked clothing and accessories straight to your doorstep.

The website tells us you’ll only need to choose a category and take a short style quiz, after which you’ll receive five to seven items tailored by your personal stylist to your individual tastes, needs, and wants. After receiving your goods, simply buy the ones you love and return the rest.

And at any time, you can visit your online Stream to view quiz matches, request those you like with a click, and decline those you don’t.

This process certainly sounds straightforward, but is Wantable necessarily your best online clothing subscription option? How can you choose? What are some important criteria to consider?

Give us a few minutes, and we'll help you make a more informed decision, starting with Wantable's functionality.

How Does Wantable Work?

Wantable currently offers three product categories from “premium brands such as Hudson, Cupcakes & Cashmere, Kensie, Seven7, Kut From the Kloth, Glyder, Wear it to Heart, Rhone, and Alternative Apparel”:

  • Style – Clothing, such as jeans and pants, jackets, shirts, dresses, blouses, and fitness wear, as well as accessories such as scarves, jewelry, and clutches/wallets.

  • Women’s Fitness – A variety of “technical and athleisure” pieces like pullovers, jackets, sports bras, panties, socks, tops, and bottoms.

  • Men’s Fitness – Training, performance, and loungewear apparel such as pullovers, jackets, shirts, bottoms (including compression pants and shorts), socks, and undergarments.

Women’s Style and Fitness options are available in sizes XS-3X (0-24W), while Men’s Fitness items are sized between S and XL.

After choosing a category, you’ll take a quick quiz (a couple of minutes or less) to assess your preferences. We chose the Style edit and answered questions like the types of accessories we’d like to receive, how much we’d prefer to pay for each item, our opinions about different patterns and colors, as well as sunglasses, scarf, bag, necklace, bracelet, and earring preferences.

In the end, customers can add notes for their stylist, and then sign up for an account.

Based on your responses, one of the company’s stylists will send you seven premium, handpicked pieces. Once received, you’ll have five days to try everything before deciding which options to keep and buy, and which options to send back.

Wantable QuizDuring Wantable’s Style Quiz, we answered questions about our clothing and accessory preferences, which are used by the company’s stylists to hand-pick deliveries. Credit: Wantable, Inc.

After completing the quiz, you can visit the Stream section of the Wantable website, filter items by category, and then request or decline them to further personalize your account.

Screenshot of WantableAn example of earrings available in Wantable’s Stream, which can be deleted by pressing ‘Decline,’ or added to your Wish List by pressing ‘Request.’ Credit: Wantable, Inc.

Is There Anything Different About Wantable’s App?

We found Wantable’s iOS-only app was a mobile-friendly extension of their website, where customers can quickly and easily access their Stream and request items, which will then show up in their Wish List.

Here, you can also access different plans, view alerts (if any), and update your account and billing details, if necessary.

Although Wantable’s iOS doesn’t add any functionality compared to their website, you can still access you Stream, Plan Manager, and Wish List. Credit: Wantable, Inc.

How Much Does Wantable Cost?

According to the Wantable FAQ, they offer shipping plans on an ongoing basis (back-to-back), monthly, every two months, or every three months. Even then, you can manually skip a shipment by logging in to your Plan Manager.

What you’ll pay depends on your preferences and how many Edit items you choose to keep, although we’re told Style prices typically fall between $50 and $100 per piece, Fitness between $30 and $70, and Men’s Fitness between $40 and $70.

Customers will also have to pay an upfront $20 styling fee per Edit (seven total pieces), which will be applied to your purchase.

While this fee is nonrefundable if you don’t select any items, Wantable offers free shipping on all U.S. orders, along with a prepaid return envelope for any items you choose not to keep. In order to avoid being charged, customers will need to have this envelope postmarked by 4:00 pm CST within five days of receiving their package. Apparel and accessories must be unworn with the tags still attached in order to qualify.

Customer support can be reached at hello@wantable.com.

What Can We Learn from Wantable Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 23 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their Wantable experiences, giving the company an average rating of 2.7 stars. Here, common compliments referenced great customer service, good product selection, and ease of use. On the other hand, complaints frequently referenced less-than-stellar support and clothes that didn’t meet preferences, although a company representative responded in each instance.

On iTunes, Wantable’s app had a meaningfully higher rating of 3.7 stars, with many of the same compliments and complaints.

From a company perspective, Wantable, Inc. is based out of Milwaukee, WI and has been in business since 2012. They held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 10 closed complaints, as of 2/12/18. Again, many of these revolved around support issues, although a representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Wantable vs. Trunk Club, Stitch Fix, Fabletics, Birchbox, & Other Clothing and Accessory Subscription Services

In our Ultimate Guide to the World of Discovery Commerce, we discuss the fact that there are dozens of different online subscription and discovery commerce companies that, like Wantable, offer a variety of clothing and accessory pieces to customers. Despite all these choices, when it comes down to it, we’ve learned that the biggest differences between them are:

  • The types of products they offer
  • How often they ship
  • Whether or not they offer customization based on your personal preferences

Using this as our perspective, let’s look at some of Wantable’s most popular competitors and how they compare:

Company Product Types Shipping Frequency Curated?
Wantable Clothing and accessories, women’s and men’s athletic wear Back-to-back, monthly, every 2 mo., or every 3 mo. Yes
Birchbox Apparel, accessories, skincare, shaving, fragrance Monthly Yes
Fabletics Activewear, fitness, and workout clothing Monthly Yes
Le Tote Clothing and accessories; maternity On-demand No
Stitch Fix Men’s and women’s clothing and accessories On-demand Yes
Trendsend Clothing, shoes, accessories Choose your own intervals, or on-demand Yes
Trunk Club Men’s and women’s clothing and accessories On-demand Yes

Pulling all of this together, we can see that the ‘best' decision for you is going to depend on whether or not the company offers products that match your needs and tastes (and budget, of course), whether or not you require help from a stylist, and if the company ships frequently enough.

How does all of this stack up for Wantable?

Our Bottom Line About Wantable

If you’re interested in getting curated clothing and accessories shipped to your door on a regular basis, Wantable has been in business for several years, offers competitive pricing, and seems to come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

They also allow customers to ship unwanted items back, for free within five days, so there’s never any commitment, and you can always customize your preferences to help ensure you get exactly what you want.

However, like most competitors, Wantable charges a styling fee ($20), which is nonrefundable in the event you choose not to purchase any items received in your shipment. Given this, it’s not a completely risk-free proposition.

However, you can always minimize the chances of this occurring by filling out your Quiz as accurately as possible, and by adding items to your Wish List.

» For Further Reading: Three Best Online Custom Women’s Clothing Stores

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

25 Consumer Reviews for Wantable

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awesome, love the clothes!

    I first tried Wantable last summer, my first time ever with a clothing subscription. I loved it, kept all! I got the second box in January, unfortunately, I couldn't keep all, not in the budget. I just ordered my third box and picked several things on the stream. I tried Stitch Fix a few times and I like the clothes, but I get the same things in different colors each time! I am looking forward to my next Wantable!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 21, 2018

      Wantable Customer Support, Customer Service Supervisor

      Hi Judith, thanks for sharing. We're thrilled to hear you're Edits have been a hit each time. If you haven't already, be sure to leave notes to your Stylists too! They're always happy to style you with a budget in mind. We look forward to styling you again soon and can't wait for you to see what's picked next.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Each box is better

    • Hilo, HI,
    • Feb 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live in Hawaii, and each box for me from Wantable has gotten better. Every box my requests have become more personalized towards me based on my review of likes or dislikes. Living here the season changes are different than on the mainland, and they have taken that into account.

    Bonus for me is that I can attach a Pinterest page to my profile, and it has been fun building a board to "shop from."

    I will continue to use the service. I keep at least one thing from each box so far, and the styling fee goes towards the cost of that item.

    Thanks Wantable. There are not many places to shop here on the Big Island for clothes, almost everything is bought online, and your personal picks have been a big help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hey Kimberly, thanks for sharing your Wantable experience! I'm happy to hear we've been able to help you build your wardrobe that suits your local island weather. You've done a great job guiding them to things you'll love. We look forward to styling you again soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Happy customer

    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been a subscriber for 6 months. I love the apparel box the most but recently tried the fitness box and kept 3 of the 7 items. The company has been great, and I recently received a handwritten note from my stylist. I like the personal touch and quality of the products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I want more

    I saw the ad on Facebook and was curious. I had already subscribed to a competition, but it looked intriguing. I went ahead and signed up for my first order and was pleasantly surprised. I love the quality and variety of my first style. Everything fit really well, and I love all the colors. I am looking forward to my next order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 7, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Ginny,

      Thanks for sharing your Wantable experience. We're happy to hear your first Edit was a hit! By leaving feedback and notes to your Stylist, it helps guide them and get a sense of what your unique preferences are so each Edit gets better and better. Don't forget to also check out the stream at www.wantable.com/stream, where you can make pick requests with one click. We can't wait to style you again very soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love Wantable

    I just want to say that I absolutely love Wantable! I have tried other clothing subscription services, but Wantable really stands out.

    They listen to what your wants and needs are and style you accordingly. The “Stream” tab is very useful, and they do pay attention to it, so if you see something you like, just add it to your stream and it’s yours. I have never received something I didn’t love.

    Also, I have never experienced customer service as good as Wantable. I had some issues with my card, and they were absolutely so wonderful to work with me to get it resolved so I didn’t miss an edit. They were so friendly and professional. They really took your concerns seriously.

    I have recommended Wantable to all of my friends and family and know that if you try it, you will love it too! They are the best by far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Jan 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been subscribing to Wantable for about six months, and I have loved it so far! They listen to your feedback and make great suggestions based on what you already love and may not have thought to pick out for yourself. I love that they have a live stream of inspiration that you can request or even “dislike” so they know what not to send. I have used a few other services, and this is the only one that I am using right now.

    My favorite part of this particular service is that you get the discount if you purchase 5 out of 7 items that they send. Unlike similar services, I don’t get stuck with something I hate because the whole order is cheaper with the discount by keeping it.

    Now that I have received quite a few edits, I think I wear something from Wantable every day. Everything is really stylish and comfortable. It’s also really easy to pick out an outfit, so it saves me a lot of time in the morning. I am a mom who works long days so having an easy comfortable outfit to wear all day is everything!

    The customer service is great. When I email, I get a timely response from an actual human. Everyone I have interacted with has been very nice. They have worked with me when I needed help tracking a package, figuring out sizing, and they even helped work around my local weather! They have been very accommodating, and this has given me a lot of confidence for placing orders in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Shannon,

      Thanks for sharing such a thoughtful and detailed experience! We're so happy to hear you've enjoyed mixing and matching your items. You truly get "us"! There's nothing better than trying items on in the comfort of your own home, especially when you know the pieces selected have been carefully considered for you.

      We look forward to styling you again very soon. If you need anything in the meantime, don't hesitate to reach out to our team at hello@wantable.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, beware!

    I am also a Stitch Fix member but heard a good review from a friend who got her first box and wanted to have further options to add to my wardrobe with different options.

    I received four boxes from Wantable. My very first package contained something I specifically stated I did not want in my profile (cropped pants), along with four other items also in contrast to a style I said did not want (baggy shirts, since I am petite). I complained, and they waived the next fee.

    The second box still included four baggy shirts you would have to wear something under for most and a shirt in a style I then reported I didn't like, high neck and open back. This was not an option in the profile so not their fault, the first time.

    The third box had TWO baggy shirts and a pair of pants two sizes too big. I even took photos of the clothes on and compared to the styles they sent that were correct to prove it in case they were excessively dim. Apparently, the pants were a packing error. Also in that box and the fourth and last one, it contained that high neck and back I reported hating.

    I obviously cancelled. Customer service was prompt and made continued promises but they obviously weren't the ones packing the boxes. The whole process felt fraudulent as I never received a single box that had 100% my reported size or the styles I wanted, despite my accurate profile and repeated feedback on each box, my overall description or emails every time.

    Plus I could have done without the threatening emails about charging me that day if my return was not in the mail. I was never delayed more than a couple of days and twice were due to receiving it when I was out of town and the last one I had the super flu. Apparently they don't realize pushing around the customers that can afford their boxes is not a smart thing to do!

    Since then many online friends and several neighbors and close friends have canceled due to similar problems. Their Facebook advertising is extensive, specifically targeting competitive mentions/users (it's what I do for a living), so I hope these reviews get out and put them out of business before they rip off more people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 26, 2018

      Perco

      I was totally understanding your frustration until you started talking down about the customer service agents just doing their jobs (granted, you did confirm they literally have nothing to do with the packaging). Then I saw your second to the last paragraph, and everything became crystal clear.

      Learn to have humanity and stop bullying people who have nothing to do with policy, or any of your complaints just because you 'can'. I understand that everyone grows up but not everyone matures; people like you make me glad that I don't have to work with the public in general, and people like you in exactly.

    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Toni, thanks for reaching out. We geniunely appreciate your detailed review. While we're happy to see our customer advocates had worked personally with you to try to better match your style, we do understand your frustrations. We do our very best to ensure each stylist can understand, and nail your preferences. We are sorry to hear this was not the experience you received.

      In regards to the reminder emails, we are truly if that's the tone that was conveyed. It's our goal to send a reminder to all customers who may have forgotten to send their returns. We know life can be a bit busy and it's easy to forget. We want all customers to be well informed to ensure they are not billed without knowledge, and so they have an opportunity to reach out for more time if desired.

      Again, we do value your feedback and it will be shared for further review. If there is anything else we can assist with, please get in touch.

    • Jan 31, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Perco,

      Thanks for your response. We appreciate your support! We firmly believe Customer Service is the heart and soul of any company (or it should be)! Please get in touch if there's anything we can assist with anything in the future.

    • Apr 6, 2018

      Mjk98

      I had a friend who was a stylist for another company and told me that sometimes people order boxes and try to steal the merchandise, give a bogus card, and then when they're confronted with it, they write bad reviews like the one probably written up top. If you're supposed to get the box back by a certain date, you need to do that, don't you think? Every company has a policy, so if you don't think you can follow that policy, go shopping yourself. I really don't believe your story that they sent you all the wrong sizes for four boxes, it doesn't sound right. I think you're just trying to slam them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great subscription box!

    Subscription boxes are so convenient, and Wantable is one of the best ones I subscribe to! The picks for me are always on point! The prices are reasonable for the quality, much better than others I tried first.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Thanks for sharing your experience Abigail! We're happy to hear your stylists have been knocking them out of the park, and look forward to styling you again soon.

    • Jan 25, 2018

      Sherri

      I've been with one of them for probably about 2 years. I have never had an issue with them, they always get what I need. They're great people to work with, there's nothing they won't do to get you what you want, or need. I would recommend them to anyone. It's like you're the individual that they are working with and nobody else. That's how they make you feel. They are a special team, that's what I have to say about them. I will stay with them as long as they're around.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love Wantable!

    • Overland Park, KS,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my style edits! I get a great mix of classic, easy to incorporate pieces as well as fun, standout items. The best part is being able to try clothes on at home to see how each piece meshes into your current wardrobe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi Megan, thanks for sharing your Wantable experience. We're over the moon that your Edits have been a hit. Your thoughtful notes to your stylist each month have really tailored your experience, and guide them towards the things you'll love. We look forward to styling you again very soon. Please get in touch with our customer advocates if you ever need assistance!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, don't waste time

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent a great deal of time writing "notes" to my "stylist" and going through my "stream" so they would have an idea of the type of clothes I'd like to wear. I specifically asked for no cropped pants/leggings and no tanks since I'm not a fan of showing my arms. The box arrived with two tanks and three pairs of cropped leggings. There was a sweater that was sent in a 3XL, I'm a Large, a sports bra that was WAY TOO SMALL (36Ds would never fit in it, didn't even try), and the one thing from the box brochure I thought I might wear, wasn't even in the damn box.

    I'm so annoyed and upset and disappointed. They suck. I had 4 or 5 friends on standby to sign up too, assuming I liked my first shipment. We will all be going to another company, that's certain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hi LC,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We genuinely appreciate the time you took to share such a detailed and thoughtful review. Our stylists work diligently to ensure the items selected align with the preferences you've selected in your profile, and we are sorry to hear this was not the experience you had. It does sound as though there may have been a shipping and packaging error that occurred with your Edit. Your feedback has been passed along to our team for further review.

      While we know that we can't change your past experience, we would love the opportunity to make the next one better and hope you will provide us with an opportunity to restore your confidence. We aren't able to locate your account but would love if you could contact our customer advocates at hello@wantable.com, so we could better assist.

      We hope to hear from you and look forward to styling you again soon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best clothing subscription service out there!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give Wantable a try after several disappointing shipments from Stitch Fix and Le Tote. So glad I did! Each order (I’ve received three packages so far) include items that are reflective of my style and price. I will definitely be continuing my service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      David M Lazar, CMO

      Hello Dana,

      We are so happy to hear you have been loving your Wantable Edits! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! If you ever need anything, feel free to email us at hello@wantable.com or give us a call (855) 926-8225.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for Wantable!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review