About Whitening Coach

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 29, 2015

Whitening Coach claims to be a comprehensive 3-step teeth whitening system that can give you a “white, attention-grabbing, perfect Hollywood smile” in as little as 5 days. Whether your teeth are stained from food, tobacco, medication, or anything else, Whitening Coach’s professional strength system is claimed to help you achieve similar results as an in-office visit, while delivering “dramatic” whitening results in the comfort of your own home.

In order to accomplish this, Whitening Coach is claimed to work over the following steps:

  1. Brush your teeth and rinse with water, which will prepare your teeth for Whitening Coach.
  2. Apply a small amount of the water-based (prevents dehydration of the teeth), mint-flavored, zero sensitivity gel along the lower-front portion of the included Sure-Fit mouth tray, which is claimed to ensure great results and decrease the possibility of gum irritation.
  3. Insert your teeth into the tray and slowly bite down. After keeping the tray in place for 30-60 minutes, remove and rinse all remaining gel from the tray and your teeth.

When used as directed, Whitening Coach is claimed to not cause any harm to your teeth.

Your smile is one of the first things people notice, and can play a big part in their initial impression of you. So whether you’re talking with people at work, laughing with friends on the weekend, or going out on a first date, you want to be proud of your smile and the image that it conveys. So can Whitening Coach help with this? Consider the following:

Are Whitening Coach’s Ingredients Effective?

Other than claiming to contain “powerful and effective whitening ingredients” such as 22% carbamide peroxide and Xylitol, there’s essentially zero information provided on the Whitening Coach website about the other ingredients it contains. With this said, let’s take a look at each of these in more detail.

What is Carbamide?

According to WiseGeek, carbamide is an “organic compound commonly known as urea, the primary byproduct of nitrogen metabolism in mammals and amphibians. It is characterized as a water-soluble, colorless, and odorless granular substance in its pure state, but in the presence of moisture, it will give off a slight ammonia smell.” Carbamide has many uses, including in fertilizer, veterinary medicine, and in the production of some plastics.

In teeth whitening products, carbamide peroxide acts as a bleach to help remove stains and other types of discoloration. According to the American Dental Association, “The most commonly observed side effects with these peroxide-based bleaching agents are tooth sensitivity and occasional irritation of soft tissues in the mouth (oral mucosa), particularly the gums.”

Tell Me More About Xylitol

While carbamide peroxide may help whiten teeth, xylitol is a “naturally occurring alcohol found in most plant material, including many fruits and vegetables,” and is “sweet but, unlike sugar, it is not converted in the mouth to acids that cause tooth decay.” Because of this, xylitol is considered likely effective for preventing tooth decay.

Will Whitening Coach Provide You with Professional Whitening Results?

Although the Whitening Coach website claims that their teeth whitening formula is “professional-strength,” they also mention that you should “keep your expectations realistic.” While there’s no clarification provided as to exactly what this means, and while the carbamide it contains may help slightly whiten your teeth, it’s likely that it won’t provide the same level of whitening as an in-office visit.

Who Should Not Use Whitening Coach?

Regardless of how many shades Whitening Coach may (or may not) be able to whiten, the company recommends that it shouldn’t be used to whiten dental work, such as fillings, caps, crowns, and bridges. Also, while the company claims it can be used by individuals with teeth sensitivity, the bleaching agent Whitening Coach contains may further increase this sensitivity.

Consumers Don’t Seem to Think Highly of Whitening Coach

Although there weren’t any direct customer reviews available online for Whitening Coach at the time of our research, we did learn that the company is based out of Henderson, NV and has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. This is based on 2 complaints (as of 1/28/15), neither of which the company responded to.

We did find one mention of Whitening Coach from a reviewer named “Claudia” on TeethWhiteningReviews.com, who claimed that the company also goes by Spark Whitening, and complained about high monthly charges related to their autoship program. Claudia also noted that they attempted to contact customer service via email, with no response.

To verify this, taking a look at Spark Whitening’s website, we have to admit that it’s designed very similarly to WhiteningCoach.com, which was only registered 5 months after Spark’s website. We also found that the text located at the bottom of Spark’s website was almost identical to Whitening Coaches, on top of the fact that they’re both based out of Henderson, NV. As such, it’s reasonable to conclude they’re the same company (or very closely related).

With this in mind, there are also numerous complaints about Spark Whitening’s autoship enrollment across review websites such as RipoffReport and ReviewsTalk. We’ll talk more about this next.

Whitening Coach Pricing & Refund Policy

It appears that Whitening Coach only offers 2 products:

  • 1-Month Supply – The entire Whitening Coach System. Everything you need to have professional quality, celebrity white teeth: $129.99 plus free shipping.
  • On the Go Whitening Pen – A small, travel-sized whitening pen that can provide touch ups when you’re out and about: $39.41 plus $3.87 S&H.

Note: The Whitening Coach’s Terms makes mention of a 15-day trial, although there was no indication of this elsewhere on the product’s website.

If you choose, you can also purchase a 1-month supply of Whitening Coach through their VIP Club (e.g. autoship program), which offers the system at a lower price of $94.31. However, if you choose this option, you’ll continue receiving a 1-month supply of Whitening Coach, and your credit card will be charged $94.31 each time. VIP Club enrollment also comes with free shipping for your first installment, and then $10.91 per shipment thereafter.

Whitening Coach’s Return Policy page claims that all purchases made outside of the trial come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. However, in order to be eligible for a refund, the product must be unopened, unused, and in saleable condition. If it’s not, you may be subject to a $19.60 “destruction/repackaging” fee.

In order to cancel your trial or autoship enrollment, or to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-740-8914.

Will Whitening Coach Help You Be Proud of Your Smile?

Chopping to the Point: Although the 22% carbamide peroxide contained in Whitening Coach might help lighten your teeth a couple shades, there are hundreds of other teeth whitening products that use this same ingredient, many of which are priced lower. As such, there doesn’t appear to be anything special that makes Whitening Coach stand out from the competition.

And considering the fact that numerous consumers have complained about Whitening Coach’s autoship program, this might be a strong indication you should stay away. In fact, as we’ve written about many times, it’s our recommendation that products sold through free trials and autoship programs should be approached with a great deal of caution.

Taken together, this means you’ll probably be able to find a comparable product to Whitening Coach at a retailer near you; one that can not only provide similar results, but that can also make the return process much easier if you’re dissatisfied. Without having to worry about a pesky autoship program.


Read 25 Whitening Coach Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Costs you a fortune for toothpaste

    • Genoa Ohio,
    • Sep 6, 2015

    Asked for a free trial and ended up paying $200. How? They set you up for a free trial but throw in the extra 2 tubes without telling you. They take 92.13 out one day. I called to return and cancel, they will only refund 75% of the cost, but we can keep products because we already paid process & handling & no more charges. Get this in email, then get a phone call, now they want the product back at my cost to get a refund. Next day they pull out $94.00 bouncing my check book. Do not buy this product. Buyers beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    This is a SCAM

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    Do not sign up for free trials. It's a scam. They auto-bill your credit card when you sign up for a free trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dresden TN,
    • Oct 2, 2015

    I went for the free trial at a dollar something + shipping. No mention of enrollment or subscription. Then they send another box with 2 vials and charge my account $94. When I called they would only give me back 60% of my money. They did cancel it through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam

    • Ohio,
    • May 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was supposed to get a free month from Amazon, then $69.99 a month thereafter if I decided. Well within one week I was charged $94 and told I had to pay for the first month's supply. So much for a free one month. Also, from the second you give them your information you start to get phone call after phone call. Amazon should not support companies like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Whitening coach

    • Sep 26, 2015

    I ordered the Whitening Coach as a free trial and they charged me $40. I asked them why and they would not give me an answer. They would also not give me my money back. Please don't order from them, it's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam, do NOT get sample

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Feb 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company sends you a sample, but that sample will cost you $95. On top of that, they will add you to automatically fill the next order, and will continue to charge you if you can't catch it and unsubscribe! And if you contact them, they will only lie to you, to get you off the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A total scam

    • Blairs, VA,
    • Apr 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I order the "FREE" trial and the next thing I know my debit card was charged $94. There were no mentions of auto shipments of any kind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Huge Scam

    • Texas,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did a survey online and was offered a free trial product of Whitening Coach supposedly worth $200. Right off the bat they asked for $1.03, I forget for what exactly, and then an additional $3.87 for shipping. I was then prompted if I also wanted to order samples of another product from Genuine White, another company, but at the time I was under the impression that it was the name of a product that went with the teeth whitening product I was already ordering, kind of like how a brand of toothpaste will recommend that you also use their mouthwash for better results.

    This idea that these were the same company was reinforced by the fact that these samples even came in the same box. Anyway, I was also charged $1.03 + $3.87 for this new sample of essentially the same thing, just a different company. I read the small print of one of the confirmation emails and noticed it said they would automatically enroll me in the monthly subscription - no, thank you. I emailed the customer service email provided, only to get a mailer daemon the next day - um, what? I went directly to the website to cancel this subscription before I was charged, and was then charged a cancelation fee of $9.41 for "products we've already shipped to you." You mean my supposedly FREE SAMPLES?

    Unfortunately, as for Genuine White, I did not realize that they were an entirely separate entity, with their own stupid monthly subscription that I was of course automatically enrolled in, until I found a charge of $92.13 on my credit card. After that realization, I went to their separate website which was designed similar, if not just like, the Whitening Coach website (I wonder if that's to trick people into thinking they're dealing with the same vendor, like me), and canceled, which oddly I wasn't charged for like I thought I would be since Whitening Coach did.

    I have since filed a dispute with my credit card company, letting them know exactly what happened and why I didn't cancel the subscription before charges went through. I let them know that the charge was unauthorized, and that I have not received anything else besides their samples. They have refunded my money, for now, but they also say that Genuine White has 45 days to show proof that the charge was valid. It's been 15 days, and I haven't received anymore messages from my credit card company on the subject. Hopefully the message got lost in the mail like my customer service email did.

    As for these samples - might as well keep them and try them out. They already have my money, and I doubt that sending these back will do anything. So far I've used the Whitening Coach one three times, since I've already canceled their thing and closed communication. All I got was the gel pens, which you have to continue smiling for 15 minutes after putting this stuff on your teeth.

    After all is said and done... you might as well go to the dentist and spend $100 to get your teeth professionally whitened. It'll yield better results, and is less of a hassle. This offer was too good to be true. DO NOT GET YOURSELF INTO THIS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Whitening Coach is NOT a Free Trial!

    Their advertising is misleading, this is not a free trial, and they will not accept a refund if you open the product. How can you try it? I didn't open it, and wanted a refund. After calling their robotic phone, they said I will be charged $28.71 for keeping it, which they immediately charged on my debit card. Very, very wrong! I sent back their "free trial" UNOPENED, and closed my debit card. I also opened a fraud case with my bank. Beware, they do not answer their phone, and they automatically bill you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Does not work at all

    • Apr 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, I thought I was ordering a free sample, then was charged for insurance, then charged shipping, then charged $94.31 for a little stick! When I called to cancel, I was only promised 30% back. We will see if I get it. Do not try this, it doesn't work. Expensive lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Abbotsford BC,
    • May 5, 2015

    Warning people out there - it's a scam. You pay for the shipping fee for there free trial, and then they go and take money out for a monthly plan which is over 115 dollars without your consent. Consumer Beware. And when I asked for my money back they're only giving me back 75 percent!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for Whitening Coach!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review