About Wish.com

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 12, 2016

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

Setting Up Your Wish.com Account

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Speaking of which, let’s take a look at exactly how you browse through Wish.com’s listings.

Browsing the Wish.com Website & Using Wishlists

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

Sure, these are some pretty cool features, but how much will they cost you?

What Products Does Wish.com Sell? Are They Expensive?

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

Is Wish.com’s Customer Reputation As Cheap As Their Prices?

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 245 closed complaints (as of 1/12/16). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests). On top of this, there were still 72 complaints that the company never bothered responding to.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 2.2 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 4,200 reviews.

Is Wish.com a Rising (Or Falling) Star?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

See Also: Holiday Shopping Tips and Hacks

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

Are you a Wish.com customer? Did you just use the site once, or are you a regular shopper? Tell us all about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

483 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 107 4 star: 52 3 star: 32 2 star: 28 1 star:  264
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 483
Sort reviews by:

  • Absolute crap...

    This site is a total rip of. The absolute crap it sells is not only crap it’s actually dangerous. I have written a letter to consumer affairs here in Ireland explaining what inferior stuff these people are selling to unsuspecting buyers on their site and how if not stopped will end up causing harm to someone. Please do not be taking in by the cheap prices of the dirt they sell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very good experiences

    • Novia Scotia, Canada,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had very good results with using Wish, even when items arrived broken or incorrect, I was able to get my money reimbursed (minus the shipping) with absolutely no problems. I have used Wish for over a year and a half, and have bought over 120 different items.

    The key is to be patient; it takes time to travel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ordered, but only received part of it several weeks later

    • Surrey, England,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want a refund now as I've waited far too long for my order. I just received two items of an order placed two and a half weeks ago. The duvet cover is nice, no order history despite paying $49.00 for my products. So I would like a partial refund, I've waited too long.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied customer

    I ordered over $100 on Wish in early February for my wedding and my daughter's birthday, and here it is middle of April, and I still have not received most of it! I wrote customer support to only be given a refund option, and even with very little refunded I've still had to wait two weeks or longer on the refunds! I have had to write customer support several times, and still nothing from some of my items! Yes, you save money, if you actually get your stuff! Never again will I ordered from Wish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Customer

    I'm a customer of the Wish store China. Most of the products I got aren't worth its value, but some are good quality dresses. I mostly shop for summer dresses. Sometimes the dress I ordered is different from the model photo they're showing online. Sometimes it had a defect or I was sent a wrong size or color.

    Last week something happened when I ordered two different kinds of colors of dresses from the same store. What happened was when a watermelon dress color arrived also shows in the tracking monitor that the other black dress has also delivered, even if I didn't receive it. My guess is that they perhaps were trying to put two dresses in one package because these both dresses have same tracking numbers but in reality, they only put one dress. But they trust me because I'll pay the products when it arrived so if I didn't get it no way I'll be paying for it.

    Making a complaint is so complicated. Most the items that I ordered are in good condition. It was my friend who recommended me to Wish, but if someone wants to take a risk, it's not my decision to make. I have spent almost $1000 US shopping on Wish. Sending back the defected item was a waste of time and money. Sometimes their sizing chart of certain dresses is not accurate.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Inquiry

    • Saint Kitts and Nevis,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I signed into my Wish account all items say "SOLD OUT," instead of "BUY." Can you tell me the reason for this? Other people I know who have a Wish account it says "BUY" but mine says "SOLD OUT." I need some help because I see some really, really awesome stuff I would like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love Wish, great deals

    I have been ordering from Wish for almost a year. I love this site. You get great deals for so much less than other sites like Amazon. You may have to wait a bit to receive them, but it is so worth it. You get treasures you won't find elsewhere!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Anine Colaire

      You're getting good deals because the sellers are offering counterfeit products of American products. I own a small American company that has to issue DMCA for our products being sold on Wish.com every day. When you shop on this platform, you are contributing to Chinese business and hurting American business.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I got an empty box

    Today I got some things in the mail. One of which was a smashed box in a delivery bag. Plus everything takes so long to get to me. I like the things I got. The jewelry I did get so far has been beautiful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I love the savings!

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    OMG, what can I tell you? I just finished itemizing my taxes and found that I have saved hundreds of dollars by using Wish.com! I tend to buy reusable and household items. Kitchen supplies, cleaning supplies, and tools. Occasionally I will buy clothing, but it is difficult to guess the size. You definitely need to measure your body parts and then hope that their measurements are equal. I love buying shoes with Wish; they are usually spot-on with the sizes. I bought musical instruments as well as accessories for them. Saved hundreds of dollars! I think that for the most part the only complaint I have is when it comes to clothing but people provide pictures and videos, and that's a big help! I love Wish!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Anine Colaire

      You saved hundreds of dollars by giving it to Chinese sellers, that offering counterfeit products of American company's products. I own one of the companies that have to fight to keep counterfeits products from being sold on Wish.com every day. You're essentially buying products from thieves. That's why they're so cheap.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst site ever

    • New York,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several items, and although we wait months for it, it never comes or it gets shipped somewhere else. I have not received my refund, and there is nobody to talk to. Everything is through email. It is the worst experience I've ever had. I don't recommend this site at all. They say they will refund and you never get it. They sell items and send them to other parts of the world.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a bathing suit on January 28th. On February 2nd I received an email the item had shipped and that delivery was estimated between February 22nd and March 12th. After a few emails, they refunded the purchase on April 5th.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 483

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review