What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

824 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 129 4 star: 65 3 star: 38 2 star: 47 1 star:  545
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 824
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My order was placed on 13th November 2018, not even a single item delivered yet. It's more than 2 months.

    • Riyadh, Saudi Arabia,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very very poor service.

    My delivery was supposed to start from the 1st of January 2019 until the 7th of January 2019, item by item.

    Later they started changing the delivery dates, original delivery date was the 6th and 7th of January and they changed it to the 13th and 14th of January 2019. It's the 15th of January and nothing happened yet.

    I don't think I will receive my items in another 6 months time. My mistake that I shopped with Wish, I will never do this mistake again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible! Avoid!

    • Wiltshire, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I WISH I could give no stars! Item ordered on the 30th of August 2017. On the 7th of October 2017, I received a message from Wish saying that the package is delayed. With the delay, I forgot that I made the order. A few days ago I checked my Wish orders and discovered that I haven't received the item.

    I got a quick response to my email, but they made it out as if it's my error and that I missed the 30-day return policy. They won't give a refund. It was only £8 worth, but it's more the principle that they think it's okay to abuse customers.

    Also, watch that what you order is according to the description. Double check. The pictures are misleading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Washington, DC,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several items from this site and haven’t received any of them yet. It’s amazing that this site still exists, it is a total scam. People who read this post, please save your hard earned dollars, this site is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I absolutely love Wish.com

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The site is most beneficial if you take the time to find quality products instead of clicking the first knock-offs that pop up. Most of the same sellers on Wish.com are on Amazon and eBay too actually. The key to getting stuff only in the USA and not China is to click the "express shipping only" tab at the top when searching. That will garuntee 5-7 day shipping or less.

    So far I placed a VERY large order on January 3rd and received 99% of my items already, the last order arrives in the morning today.

    I ordered 9 pairs of jeans, 17 t-shirts, 20 pairs of socks, 20 pairs of boxers, 4 necklaces, 1 bracelet, a pair of earrings, 3 medical bracelets, and 3 higher end gifts.

    EVERY SINGLE PRODUCT arrived early since I used express shipping and every single product was exactly as described because I took the time to look at reviews first!

    I "heart" Wish!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It's always "buyer beware"

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's always "buyer beware," but having said that, I have not experienced issues with Wish, at least not yet. I ordered a number of "cheap" items. The orders that were fulfilled met my expectations - swim trunks, a battery charge tester, some rings...stuff I call for "kicks and giggles."

    Other orders did not arrive. After the target arrival date had passed, I went into the Wish.com website, requested a refund, and within 60 seconds received an email confirming a full refund back to my original payment method, inclusive of shipping charges, would be issued. I always use PayPal for online purchases. Within 5 minutes, an email came in from PayPal confirming the refund was in process.

    Upon receipt of another order, a rubber mat, I realized it did not match the description on the website. Again, no problems encountered in requesting and receiving a full refund. My personal observation - this stuff is coming from 5000+ miles away, the product descriptions are written in barely intelligible prose (but makes for amusing reading), don't blow your whole budget on purchases here, it's for "kicks and giggles," so don't have unrealistic expectations, and if you get something really good, then great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware! No goods received.

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BUYER BEWARE! Do NOT buy from here!

    I never received goods! I ordered two pairs of boots. I never received them. I made multiple attempts to contact via the app, email, and even rang their San Francisco "customer service line" from the UK. All automated and basically no goods and no refund. Not even an apology or anyone to contact to complain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Low ratings?

    • Switzerland,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t know why people are complaining too much about the order they don't receive. You can request for a refund after 10 days of the delivery date and if it is defective. I refund those items that I don't receive as "Wish cash" and after a second it is in your Wish account. You can pay with your Wish cash on your next order. I don't refund as original payment because it takes time. The only thing that I don’t like at Wish is the shipping fee is pricey and you will pay shipping fee per item from the same seller.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Most of them are fake.

    • Vancouver, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's very rare to get "well-working'" products here. NEVER buy charging cables or USB. When you purchase USB and put files in there, your files (including folders) will become "file" format, and eventually, lose them. Charging cables, they never worked on my phone before. I'm glad I got refunded, but still, it was ridiculous. Smartphone/tablet stands are weak as heck, at least better products you should aim are products with fabrics, or phone cases. Not quite clothing, but pillows or plushies. If you are just going to use items lightly then, it's no problem. Buying USB or charging cables are must be bought at actual stores. Maybe Amazon, but I'm not sure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They Ignore customers and allow stolen merchandise to be sold

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reached out numerous times regarding issues with a seller selling my copyrighted items without authorization. They ignored every email even though they are required by law to remove any infringing items and investigate stolen items. Check them out on the BBB, they are scammers with more complaints than crappy knock off products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    People would order more from Wish if they made a little bit better quality clothing and items and stood by their customer service. I deleted the app, and when I signed in again, I had three or four orders that were canceled and never delivered to me. And it’s incredibly hard to contact them, so even though they made $60 from me, they lost me forever because I will never order from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Paid and never got $140 worth of things

    • Brownsville, OR,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered I believe 10 things for just over $140, in the middle of November. Wish gave me a delivery date, it came and went. They gave me another delivery date for January 1st. Nothing showed up. At this point I'm angry, so I ask for a refund.

    They refund 3 of the 10 items and then when I try to refund the rest they say my account has been flagged for excessive refunding and taking advantage of there refunding system. And I can't even talk to support again, unless I buy something else.

    Why would I buy anything else from a place that hasn't gave me anything yet. They were really fast at taking my money but won't give it back when they don't follow through with there promise on sending me my goods.

    So I figured I would email them and get a response and my money back. Three days later still no email back. I tried calling their number but can't talk to anybody, it's like I'm calling after hours or something but have called at five different times today.

    At the end of my string, I am not sure how to get my money back from a fraudulent company.

    I will never buy from them again and am afraid I won't get my money back. And to a middle-class family, that 140 bucks means a lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 824

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review