What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

715 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 124 4 star: 62 3 star: 37 2 star: 44 1 star:  448
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 715
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Products

    • South East England,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered quite a few things from this site, most of which has been good.

    My only complaint is the sizing of clothes. I am not a small lady so I ordered items two sizes bigger than I would normally wear and they are still too small.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wish

    • England,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought a lot of items from Wish. The quality, delivery time, and sizes are all a complete gamble. But sometimes something good does come along. The prices displayed are pure fiction; something offered at £2, for instance, becomes £12 by the time you get to paying for it.

    I have never had any problems with getting a refund for non-delivery, poor quality, misleading statements or wrong sizing and/or color. What they sell is ok for a summer or a season, and some of the designs are unusual. Don’t expect too much...the goods are cheap for a reason.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • Belgium,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered five items four months ago. Three months ago I got a notice that they had arrived, even though they hadn't. I wrote Wish but they kept telling me I should wait. I buy lots of things online. This is definitely the worst experience I ever had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They have a racket going!

    • Mounds View, MN,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a ring back in June of 2018. It is now October of 2018 and still no ring! They are telling me that the package got lost in transit and that I will get a refund. I bet I will not get my shipping back! That's how they can make money...let people order, tell us something went wrong, and give us all the shipping back. I will NEVER order from them again! Oh, if you go to their site ALL reviews are 5 stars! LOL.

    P.S. I had to rate it one star because there was no ZERO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer support

    • United Kingdom,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If a postage label displays the correct order information even when the order isn’t completely fulfilled, you’ll get no help. If an order doesn’t arrive at all, there’s no guaranteed resolution of the issue.

    Wish Customer Support doesn’t take into account the failures of their sellers, nor is there any way to contact sellers directly.

    If the basic formalities of dispatch and postage documentation are technically present, then the actual delivery of the order is not dealt with as a priority to Wish as a hub for sellers.

    Once a Support inquiry is settled (more commonly dismissed) by a support staff member, there is no discussion or reasoning as the lines of communication are severed completely on that issue and any attempt to get an explanation for the failure of customer care is met with an automated reply to submit a Support request.

    It’s not just a gamble on the actual quality of the products offered, every part of the transaction is a game of chance:

    The prices change from the initially stated price once an order in the checkout.

    The tracking links provided don’t trace your order beyond arrival in your country.

    There is no guarantee your order will get to you.

    There is no guarantee your order will be complete.

    There is no guarantee for acknowledgment of service failure.

    There is no guarantee you will get a reasonable solution from Customer Support.

    All refunds that are actually successful are given as credit toward following purchases, meaning the whole process has to start again to recover the value.

    Wish is just a middleman service for independent Chinese sellers. They take no responsibility for the sale beyond taking your money and order then passing them on.

    It is possible you will have a good experience shopping through Wish.com. There is no guarantee that you will either. They guarantee nothing resembling customer satisfaction. If it’s not resolvable through the automated system, there’s little chance of any solution.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Huge stress, extremely disappointing, and very unreasonable

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a loyal customer for years and have spent more than $2000 on this website.

    I have been asking for a refund since July 18, and it's already October 9 and still nothing. I have been waiting for 81 days now for an item to be delivered and they refuse to give my refund back and instead advised me to wait a few more days.

    The stress and anger this company has given me are not worth it. I will not recommend. And totally no escalation process. So not much help can be given to customers who have valid concerns and issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Wish.com is a fraud against sellers

    • Payette, ID,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a seller on Wish.com. As with any sales portal, you expect to pay fees. But Wish.com takes this to a new level. Worse, the interface makes it nearly impossible to be certain you have everything set correctly.

    First, their interface is terrible in a few aspects, but the most painful of which is the inability to remove any product. Once you enter the information, it stays. And should you change it to something else because you no longer sell it, you get fined. And if you sell a product that they list as prohibited, and even ones that they VAGUELY list as POSSIBLY prohibited you get fined. They list "dangerous food items" as prohibited, so I post the perfectly safe dehydrated food for camping and ended up with $500 in fines.

    Secondly, they charge you per sale. This is expected, they have to make money too. But the process is normally that the seller posts the item for you and takes a percentage, or they increase the product price by a percentage and keep that. Wish.com does both, and more. They charge you 15% of your total (price + shipping), then they up the price to the consumer, AND they add on additional shipping. So, I have a product that I list for $11.99 with free shipping. So, I expect to pay $1.80 on this sale, and I do. But Wish.com then posts it for $13.30, and charged $3 shipping! This product is also enrolled in Wish express, so I now add in $5 shipping. Now I expect to pay $2.55, but Wish ups the shipping to $10.

    Now, this is obviously price gouging. They are taking my promise of free shipping and destroying it, and then they take in $6.11 on a sale for $11.99 by stealing the rest from the customer! They have already been paid to make this sale, but it isn't enough. Two-thirds of the cost on this example is paid for by the customer, which the seller is not informed that their products ate being hiked.

    No wonder I don't make many sales, my carefully crafted and very narrow price margins in order to compete are blown out of the water.

    Lastly, you have to consider their satisfaction guarantee. It is great that they have one, but it is COMPLETELY one-sided. There is no way for the customer to contact the actual seller to fix problems, and their default action is to refund the cost then close the ticket. So the seller has no opportunity to make things right, and is actually BANNED from contacting the customer. I had one person where I shipped the incorrect, but very similar product too. This could have been easily fixed and she could have kept both of them. But instead, she thinks my company doesn't care, and I lost the sale (but still get charged for it). In her case, I sent the replacement anyways, but I am not allowed to work with her to make sure she is happy with the purchase. I was never notified, only charged for the refund.

    Do not trust Wish.com, they are taking you to the cleaners. You may find great deals, that is fine, but SOMEONE is being cleaned out in this process. When more than half of the ORIGINAL sales price is sent to Wish.com then the system is rigged.

    If you sell, be wary. What you list and what they list will not match. If you accept this AND being charged fees, then continue with the sales.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 10, 2018

      Alysia G.

      Yes, Wish.com will not refund customers and will not pay sellers. Example, I buy an item that does not arrive or is damaged or not what I wanted. Wish.com makes up excuses not to refund or freezes your account or simply ignores you. It's money for nothing and Wish.com is now making millions upon millions of dollars from dishonesty. The strange thing is, no official body such as the trading police or law enforcement will do anything about it. This is an international scam on a massive scale and everyone is turning a blind eye. Everyone needs to stand up to this international scam by spreading the world on every single review website and also file a complaint against them on the Better Business Bureau, also known as the BBB. They can be found on google web search as follows: www.bbb.org.

      The Better Business Bureau website is easy to use and it makes filing a complaint against Wish.com easy and straightforward. Do not let Wish.com steal from you. Stand firm and fight for what is right. If you do not, Wish.com will continue to become incredibly rich from diabolically disgusting thieving. If we do not all stand together and fight this injustice it will be a signal to them that we are all fools. In addition to this, others will see that it is OK to do business like this and follow the same practices. Imagine how it would be if the internet became flooded with companies doing this. Stand up to this crime and do something. Report them to the Better Business Bureau if you have been scammed otherwise this thieving virus will spread.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    They steal your money, then ignore you

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    THIEVES. DISHONEST. They do not stand behind their products. BEWARE. The product was supposedly shipped and delivered, but I never received it. Instead of actually shipping it or refunding my money, they stopped replying to my emails of complaint. I even opened an investigation with FedEx, who stated the item was lost and unrecoverable. FedEx told me to contact wish and they would follow their lost package procedure. Instead, Wish just ignored me after saying it wasn’t their responsibility. Now I am out $100 and I have nothing to show for it. I’ll never shop with them again. Instead, I am going to give as many people this information as I possibly can on multiple review sites, in addition to reporting to the federal trade commission, the Better Business Bureau and my state’s attorney general.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Accused of lying about a delivered empty package

    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For over a year, I ordered from Wish and spent more money than I really want to know. Some things were wrong size or color, and sometimes it seemed like forever to get my orders. Sometimes things never came, but usually, I could contact support and get a refund. MANY items were not refunded because I didn't bother to ask, or it was past the 30-day refund window, so it was shocking when I received an empty package and was told the weight on the package was correct, so I got the item. Uhhhh...no, I did not. It was empty and looked way too small to carry a hair stick. That's what I figured out after going through all of my tracking order numbers in my order history.

    I immediately contacted support once I opened the package and found out which item it was for. I took pictures and sent my messages to shipping and customer support. All I got were cut and paste responses with a "thank you for your feedback" when I threatened to close my account if I didn't get a refund. I wasn't lying nor was I lying about closing my account. I was ripped off and treated like a thief.

    Don't waste your money or time on this app. Wish doesn't care about their customers or how much money you spend over time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Avoid them!

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order for a watch on promotion. Figured I would test the company with an inexpensive item. Good thing I did, because IT NEVER SHOWED UP. They only offer Wish credit (to purchase something else that will not show up???). Easy to order, easy to pay. Once they have your money, that's all that counts to them. Customer service is just an automated chat with very limited options that offer no help or solution. I wish I didn't use WISH!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Awful experience

    • Brno, Czech Republic,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trying to get refunded an item worth 3EUR, which did not arrive at all, took 10 emails (just from their side it was always copy-paste), irrelevant replies, no help.

    In the end, I quit with them.

    Bye bye, Wish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 715

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review