What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

842 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 128 4 star: 65 3 star: 39 2 star: 48 1 star:  562
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 842
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Hungary,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two items and they didn't arrive. I asked for a refund to which they replied it's on the way. To this day I still haven't received my cash back and they ignore my complaints about this issue. They're constantly lying about the refund state.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid them like the black plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Minnesota,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a few items and ordered two from one person and paid for two, but only got one item. I complained twice and got no reply and nothing worked out. I will never order from wish again...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    BUYER BEWARE

    • New Mexico,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a self-inflating queen size mattress, received a very cheap dishwashing scrubber. Emailed the only contact on the emails I got from the order confirmation, but never got a response. I just chalk it up to gambling my money away! Unless the company is in the U.S., I will no longer be purchasing anything on the internet. Another SCAM company preying on internet consumers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Received some ugly doll instead of a Rockruff

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a new customer and now will never use it again. I ordered a Rockruff for my grandson. I received some ugly doll. Customer service is a joke. Have sent about 20 pictures. So now they say they need more information. I wonder what they will want next. $20+ wasted. I tried to copy and paste information but that is part of their scam I guess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great place to shop

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This has to be one of the greatest places to shop from. Prices are great. The only thing is the time it gets here, but it's a great place to shop. Returns are easy if you have too, the refunds are fast too. I really like shopping from here. I would recommend it to any. Doesn't hurt to try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Baby swaddle

    • El Cajon, CA,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The merchandise that I had received from Wish was the worst ever I had ordered a baby swaddle and it came to me like it was made out of a needle and thread it was not comfortable it was not cozy it was not cuddly and it was not warm. They made it out to be that it would be beautiful and the baby would enjoy being in it. I would not put a baby doll in that. They should be ashamed of themselves to even send out such shoddy merchandise. I will never ever shop like that again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No delivering

    • Norway,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Polo camera, but there was no SD cart with it. Then I buy a cart by Wish and that's to month ago. Never will I buy again something on Wish and I tell everybody don't buy there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fraudulent

    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their system is rigged to not allow you to return damaged merchandise. It’s automated, and when you try to contact customer support it sends you back to the automated one. Also when you send them a message with your problem/request, they email you back with instructions to go to the automated system again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    BS

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the USB Cable in place of my order for an air mattress. The order came from zouhui, 88# houdai street Suzhou Industrial Park, 215000, phone 18101572787. This is not acceptable. What ever I can do to contact the responsible parties I will do it. And I will never order anything from China! Order America only. Yes I am angry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed: Ordered item NOT DELIVERED

    • Gurgaon, Haryana, India,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the Wish portal to contain very attractive products at reasonable prices.

    I placed a trial order (Wish Order ID: 5c0d360cd78d0e4f2a63e086) and placed many on my wish list. Based on the first delivery, I was planning to continue placing orders.

    However, the delivery of my very first order was a big disappointment. The item moved very fast and arrived at New Delhi airport on December 26, 2018. Ever since it has been lying there at the airport, without being delivered through surface transport. I tried contacting Wish to ask for a refund, but there was no response.

    It is only a small amount I have lost, but I have gained by way of experience that, like "Shopitoff," Wish may well be another international scammer. I have been shopping from "DealExtreme" for some years, and I my experience with DX has been excellent. They take time to deliver, but at least they are accountable.

    If Wish is a genuine company, I would seek a response and redress.

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Shipping

    • Canada,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wish, your shipping cost is too much, items end up costing 3 times the original price, it really is not worth to buy from Wish. Everyone else offers free shipping or very little cost. Also, shipping takes too long to receive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 842

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review