What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

690 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 123 4 star: 61 3 star: 36 2 star: 42 1 star:  428
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 690
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Why pay shipping on an item shipped to someone else?

    • Florida,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have paid shipping on three items that didn't get shipped to me! I got a refund for the items but the third time the shipping was more than the item so I tracked it. Well, I found out the reason I didn't get it was Wish sent it to a different person and address! I didn't want a refund, I wanted the item. Wish told me I would get a total refund, but they lied! Don't purchase items from Wish because Wish sends them to whoever they want and you get stuck paying shipping for someone else to get your order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wish.com sucks!

    • Tennessee,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several items through their website and they sent and billed me for more than ordered. Be advised, you will never speak to a person, and the lighting is tremendous, but all the items are from the Orient and sub-par. Useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A total list of products, one product received different days, not refunds!

    One product received every few days. Everything says pending. No list is provided so you can check off what you have and what is left to come. So they all have different dates of refund time. Hand holding up until the money is in your account. And the worst is, the sizes I ordered were two sizes or more than I usually wear and they did not even sit still. Still, no refund, and nothing enclosed, that's it. It's a China return address, I guess to return it you have no idea how to. I will never do business with them again. Much too stressful. I'd rather pay more for the product and know what's going on than less and be put through all this stress and worry. Not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • DuPont, WA,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered four items at the end of July. I have kept in touch with them, but nothing arrived. Now they say I’m outside my refund window and would only refund in Wish credit. Why would I ever buy anything there again? This is a total scam. I would give zero stars if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Egypt,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys are thieves. They stole my money. I ordered three orders and got nothing from them.

    Do not deal with them.

    I am going to write my feedback on every single website that evaluates the apps.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Kissimmee, FL,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing go wrong with my Wish orders. They have all arrived, and the quality was great. I would recommend them to my friends. You just have to be prepared to wait for your order, but it will arrive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    This website should be banned from the internet

    • Bordeaux, France,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made only one order: a USB flash key. But I got stupidly tricked. How can a key smaller than my pinky contain 2Tb and be at 9€? Well, it's simple, it can't.

    The shipping was long, only to get a defect key that is less than 32GB and will probably break after a week or so. A key good for the trash bin.

    But the worst is that not only the website is flooded with that kind of offer (with fake discounts and all) but also flooded of fake positive reviews to fool you. I'm not even sure I'll get a refund!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Junk and dishonest

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The products, cheap and inexpensive. The shipping cost is outrageous. You can never get any response from emails or messages. You cannot cancel an order. Cannot get a refund.

    I am stuck with a bunch of junk and out a bunch of money. Never buy from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Received wrong item, ED Waterproof Quarts fashion

    • Corona, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wish sent me a wrong item. Not exactly what I paid for. It is taking too long for the rest of my order to arrive, and it is still not received to this day (it's already 9/11/18). I bought all the items from Wish on August 26, 2018. I am not happy with the way they do business.

    Sending the wrong item is not right to do business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely trash

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst website in the world, and these people need to get their act together. Their products are cheap and junky, and they are just trying to rip us off so they get money. The stuff they make is worse and cheaper to make, they also make all of their money off of shipping. I would never recommend this site and they will probably rob you and you're in for a big SCAM!

    I would rate it 0 stars if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    They are small crooks

    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just stay away from these small crooks with their "wish" site. Check, for example, how they list 128MB option for an item titled 64GB 128GB 256GB 512GB Flash Card Micro SD Card.

    I did order a 128GB card from their site and they sent 128MB card because they provided such an option and they put that option into my order instead of selected 128GB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 690

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review