About Wish.com

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

Setting Up Your Wish.com Account

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Speaking of which, let’s take a look at exactly how you browse through Wish.com’s listings.

Browsing the Wish.com Website & Using Wishlists

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

Sure, these are some pretty cool features, but how much will they cost you?

What Products Does Wish.com Sell? Are They Expensive?

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

Is Wish.com’s Customer Reputation As Cheap As Their Prices?

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 245 closed complaints (as of 1/12/16). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests). On top of this, there were still 72 complaints that the company never bothered responding to.

Pro tip: Looking for similar products from different websites? This Reddit thread might provide some good alternatives.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 2.2 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 4,200 reviews.

Is Wish.com a Rising (Or Falling) Star?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

See Also: Holiday Shopping Tips and Hacks

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

Are you a Wish.com customer? Did you just use the site once, or are you a regular shopper? Tell us all about it by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

209 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 23 3 star: 12 2 star: 17 1 star:  127
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 209
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This “company” stole my money

    • Buckeye, AZ,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t buy anything; you will lose your money. On August 21, 2017, I ordered a Diigo WiFi doorbell wireless Bluetooth video camera and a phone case, and a new Soft TPU LED flashlight, and they never arrived. They put the estimated day that it will arrive on September 29, 2017, but it didn't arrive. I started to send them messages asking where was my item and they send me messages saying that the item will arrive in September and nothing to this point. Don’t buy into this scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Items not received

    • Washington DC,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would just like to share my review of this app. There were two items I didn't receive, which I purchased at different times. It shows you a delivery date but doesn't fall through on their delivery. They offer you a refund, but at that time they've already used your money. This app sucks; I give it a zero-star rating if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Thumbs down

    • Kentucky,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    There was no live person to speak with when I did not receive a discount, and the jacket arrived in the wrong size with extremely short arms. The email from customer service was not only non-helpful, but blatantly rude. There was no packing slip with the item received. When I went to cancel pending orders, they suddenly showed up as "shipped" when my order did not reflect this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Loved it

    This particular product I loved and would recommend others to get it. The color was really nice, and it was also really comfortable and looks great! I have gotten other things from here, and it has not really ever been a problem would definitely recommend the app to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Failure to deliver

    • Johannesburg, South Africa,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been waiting since April for my goods. The promised delivery was the 27th of June. I have not received anything from Wish.com. Is this site a scam? I have never received a satisfactory response from them despite various attempts to contact them. The problem is that they have all my personal details.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ordered some clothes

    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Nov 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just recently placed an order for several outfits through the Wish app and it arrived around the time they promised. The shirts and jeans were the brand and quality that was promised. It was basically brand new. I would highly recommend the Wish app for buying affordable clothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Know before you buy

    This is one of those websites that you'll need to know what you're getting into before you start buying.

    I usually start by looking for inexpensive items that I wouldn't pay much for anyway, and then check to make sure that shipping isn't going to cost much either. This is saved me a heck of a lot of money and time. I've been very satisfied with my purchases and with the customer service. I'm not expecting top shelf product, and I'm not needing the stuff next week, so keep that in mind, too.

    Another tip, look at other shopper reviews of the product and stores, this will help tell you if the item is a cheap product vs. a nicer one, and if the seller is more reputable.

    I've been able to stay on a tight budget but still accomplish a lot, so I'm happy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad service

    • North Yorkshire, England,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would never order from this company again. I ordered three items and still haven't received any of them. It has been over a month since I ordered. I am still waiting for a refund and have been in touch with them on numerous occasions and each time getting nowhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Cheaply made. 99-cent store items

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the magnetic eyelashes and a watch. The watch was scuffed up with some scratches on the dial. I sent the seller an email to address my concerns but got no response back. The magnetic eyelashes were a rip-off. Please don't buy. There were no instructions, and I couldn't tell which one goes on the left or right eye. It looked like I had half of an eyelash on. There were straight across and they fell off when I put them on.

    Waste of money! It looks like I purchased it from the 99-cent store. A total lost, which could appear like a scam. The items are not expensive, so you brush it off, and take a loss, which could add up to lots of money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    You get what you pay for

    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    People need to understand that the people that are posting the information to sell the product, their first language isn't English. This means there might be some errors in explaining what the product you want to get, and it might not be what it is. Also, when it comes to buying clothes from them to remember their sizing is Asian and the sizing will be smaller. I look for any pictures from the reviews from other customers when I buy anything from them.

    Sometimes you can get some really great things. Other times it can be cheap. That's when that good old saying comes in "you get what you pay for." The product, whatever it is, comes from China and it's sold cheap.

    Now, dealing with customer service, they have always been great asking if I have received the item or not. Heck, the item comes from China, so it takes about a month to arrive. If my item doesn't arrive on time, Wish has always given me the item for free and gave my money back.

    I hope this review helps out?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Avoid at all costs

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't do it, don't do it, just don't do it! The shipping is astronomical. Mine was half the total cost again of what I paid for the items. It added an average of $3 to every item I ordered, including cheap $1 items, meaning the shipping cost quadrupled the cost of these items. That’s no bargain.

    Their customer service only sends you pre-canned replies, no matter what your problem, and refuses to work with you in any way, even when they have used misleading and, in some cases, illegal tactics to get you to place your order (using the word "continue" instead of "confirm," and placing your order through before you can review it, steering you to their mobile phone app to apply a discount code, and then when it does not go through, claiming that it just happens not to work on your particular cell phone model). They will suck you in with a well-orchestrated campaign appealing to bargain hunters, clearly mounted by an American marketing firm, but after they have suckered you in, you will be sorry.

    The quality of the clothing is cheap, and the sizes are all over the place. There is no return policy unless you are willing to pay the cost to ship the items back to China. Take my word for it; it's not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 209

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review