• 41 Customer Reviews
  • 29% Recommend This Company
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 19% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 68%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Unprofessional

    • By Nya A.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I sought a statistics tutor on WyzAnt.

    Many of the tutors' reply time is extremely delayed, they are unprofessional when communicating and not approachable.

    This is horrible when trying to employ and solicit for help!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip-off

    Overall Experience:

    I was charged for the lesson I didn't request, a tutor was able to schedule a lesson without any confirmation at the last minute. And you are not able to cancel the lesson because of 24-hour cancel restrictions. I don't get it, what kind of application logic it is that doesn't have any confirmation of customer? I requested the refund, probably they won't pay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this company

    • By M S.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very unprofessional company who has no business running a tutoring site. If you decide to create a profile, they will eventually block your account because their automated system will detect keywords and shut it off for several days until you provide evidence that you didn't help a student cheat. What a scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a good application experience

    • By Ashley W.,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The company seems like it could be good for those looking for tutors, but if you are looking to work for this company, do not get your hopes up. Unless you are already a well-established professional who went to an Ivy League or has a doctorate (why are you trying to tutor here though I do not know), you probably won't have much luck.

    My application to tutor was denied for no justifiable reason from the company other than I was not a "good fit". I was originally told to edit my free response (my letter to students who might want to hire me), saying I needed more information. I had written three full paragraphs explaining my experience, methods, and a call to action, so I was confused as to what they wanted me to change. I sent in a question asking for more feedback, and within the hour, my account was terminated, and I was told I was not right for the company. I was trying to be an English and Swimming tutor. I have extensive experience as an English tutor and over four years of paid experience as a swim instructor, with Red Cross certification. I passed more than ten of the English based tests as well, which took a good chunk of time to do as well. I have no idea what I did wrong, and they gave no solid response to my inquiry. I assume I was just not prestigious enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tutoring profile terminated without a good reason provided

    • By Brian D.,
    • Florida,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was a tutor on WyzAnt for a few years, when suddenly, they terminated my tutoring profile this past week, citing some generalized paragraph or sentence in their tutoring policy. The management and customer service people were not willing to tell me what I did wrong specifically, and no discussion was allowed. This was no doubt, poor management of the situation and communication.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They do have hidden fees and there is no good fit guarantee

    • By Monica G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a horrible tutor who knew just as much about the subject as I did! The whole lesson was a disaster. I could barely hear anything she was saying because the technology was horrific and there was a lot of noise on her end. WyzAnt online set up is seriously flawed in terms of technology and format.

    There was a hidden fee not mentioned and there is no good fit guarantee structure. Therefore, the tutor you go with is a complete risk and financial loss.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad company!

    Overall Experience:

    They denied my application without telling me any reason why. This company should not be somewhere that anyone who needs a tutor goes to!

    This is what they sent after I took like 2 hours passing the tests that they have you do when you first sign up. Horribly bad customer service.

    After reviewing your submission, we have determined that Wyzant is not a good fit for your tutoring service at this time according to paragraph 18(a) of the Independent Tutor Agreement. We will deactivate your account effective immediately.

    We appreciate the time and effort you have spent on your submission.

    Regards,

    The Wyzant Team

    I then sent another email asking why I was not approved and this was their answer:

    Thank you for your interest in listing your tutor profile on Wyzant.com. I am sorry that your application was not approved.

    While I don't have access to the specifics regarding why your account was not accepted for an active listing, I do know that the Wyzant Content Review Team looks at many factors when evaluating a potential tutor profile. And of the thousands of applications we receive every week, only a limited number are approved for a listing. We sincerely hope that you find the right avenue for your business and wish you luck in your future endeavors.

    Best,

    Bob

    Wyzant Customer Support

    Everyone should boycott this company until they have better practices for putting their applications thru, but it's fine because after reading a lot of reviews about that company, I would never want to be a tutor there, anyway. So thankfully they only took my time and not my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would love to try the service

    • By Mindy H.,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went online and found what appeared to be a perfect tutor. Sent initial contact info. She responded immediately and asked me questions. I attempted to respond to her questions - but could not without putting my credit card information into the system. I called Customer Support and they said it was required and there was no workaround. I am NOT putting in my credit card info until I have had a chance to have a 2-3 minute phone call or chat with my proposed tutor! I don't care that WyzAnt is not going to charge my card. I should be able to have a brief conversation with my tutor before uploading my credit card information into another online system. It is just another place where my credit card information can be compromised. I will not be working with WyzAnt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good Fit For Guarantee is a Fake Attraction of Customers

    • By Gayani G.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Message Pasted from Wyzant Staff:

    “Your account was closed because we determined that we are no longer able to facilitate lessons for you in accordance to our terms of use. Based on the information you provided, we will not reactivate your account. Wyzant considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to further discuss this matter.

    Regards,

    The Wyzant Profile Review Team”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM, beware

    • By Marlo C.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is not legit. They will charge your credit card as soon as you input it for no reason, and they won't give you the money back. Do not input your credit card information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • WyzAnt

    • By Bob A.,
    • California,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The service is good, I received great help from the tutors in math for the SAT exam. Before I was struggling with math, so my friend introduced me to this service. I decided to give it a shot, and it turned out that the quality is not that bad, the tutor supported me during the revision for the exam. The price is also affordable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A great place to start!

    • By Cassidy M.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When tutors see that WyzAnt takes a whopping 40% of your commission fee, they turn and run. But as someone who had not yet finished their college degree, had no tutoring students in my new city, and needed a place to start, WyzAnt was wonderful. I set my fee low, and while the other popular tutoring websites sent nothing my way, on WyzAnt the students were rolling in. WyzAnt made it easy to schedule lessons, communicate with students, and actively seek out new work. From the time I started using them earlier this year, I've never had a week where I didn't have at least three online lessons scheduled.

    Whenever I've had problems, WyzAnt has been quick to address them, and I love having control over my fee and how often I want to tutor. If you feel that you have enough clientele or simply need a break, you can select an option that prevents new clients from seeing you in a search (and you can politely tell your current students you're on a break if needed).

    WyzAnt is great because it's easy to get started, easy to get paid, and is very user-friendly. You also don't have to use it forever - once you've established a bond with a student, there's nothing wrong with asking them to pay you with PayPal so that instead of keeping 60%, you keep your entire fee. Most of my students now communicate with me via email anyways. WyzAnt was a fantastic way to make those connections, and I continue to use it to find more work.

    There are some obvious downsides that might turn a more experienced or expensive tutor away, but if you are just starting out, I personally feel that these are all workable:

    - The obvious problem: You only keep 60% of what you charge. As you tutor more hours, that number increases - after something like 20 or 25 hours, you suddenly keep 65% (and so on). The scale is poorly dispersed as it climbs and it's just about impossible to keep most of your fee. However, I personally feel that WyzAnt makes up for this in the volume of students. Even though other websites didn't take such an egregious amount of my money away, I had FAR more students contact me via WyzAnt. I offer proof reading (which is very popular) and make several hundred dollars a month. If I had more time, I could make a lot more. You also don't have to stick with WyzAnt forever. While I love their chat function and still use it to communicate, there's no rule stating you can't exchange email addresses with your student after you've gotten comfortable with one another and there are plenty of other safe sites they can use to pay you your full fee. If you are able to advertise yourself well and can put in a lot of work, that 60% isn't as daunting as it looks.

    - WyzAnt does not have a great system for verifying their tutors. You have to take tests to be approved in the subjects you want to teach. The tests are not timed, I found the questions to be of extremely varying difficulty levels between tests, and there is nothing stopping you from opening a new tab to Google answers. I didn't pass two of the exams in subjects I am definitely qualified to tutor, but I passed exams in other subjects where my skills are somewhat lacking. Ultimately this is more detrimental to the students than to you, students using WyzAnt really rely on the integrity of their tutors. I only display the subjects I am confident and competent in, but it's very possible that someone could lie about their credentials, pass the weird test, and offer poor service.

    - You can only take jobs that you are subject approved for. That means if the weird WyzAnt spelling test threw you off and you aren't approved to teach spelling, people looking for a spelling tutor won't see you in search results and you won't be able to apply to jobs labeled "spelling." People often label their tutoring needs incorrectly, which means that you may miss jobs you would be a great fit for because the student labeled their complex physics essay "English" and you're approved in science, not in English. In spite of this issue, however, I still found plenty of work in the subjects I am best at, so I don't think it's a deal breaker.

    - Students can be irresponsible. I'm not sure what it is about WyzAnt that attracts more careless students, but I've had many issues with people ignoring my listed hours, constantly trying to schedule lessons five minutes before their assignment is due, and asking me to cheat for them. Thankfully WyzAnt always responds quickly to emails, and they take reports of cheating requests very seriously. As to irresponsible students, it's up to you to set them straight (which can be frustrating if you're very non-confrontational like me. I let a lot of students walk all over me during the first couple months).

    There are probably more issues I'm forgetting, but in spite of its imperfections, I recommend WyzAnt to young, college aged tutors looking to get a head start.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great platform - they take a decent cut but it may be worth it

    Overall Experience:

    So at least at the start, they take 40% of the earnings. But the platform is very good. The online tool is great. Both student and tutor can use it at the same time. Also, the site is sharp and well organized. I, of course, would like to have a smaller cut of the pay taken out but it just might be worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great opportunities

    Overall Experience:

    The WyzAnt online services have given me the opportunity to teach students all over the world. By using WyzAnt, I don't need to submit invoices are worry about collecting payment. WyzAnt has tools to keep me organized and keep my students informed about our schedule.

    Of course, WyzAnt takes a percentage of tutors' pay. They are an agent that brings together students and tutors. Although WyzAnt's take in the beginning is high, its matching program helps a tutor build hours.

    There is no scam. Just some disgruntled people who (based on the reviews) never used the platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent source of students in a protected environment

    • By Jane West,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I found the first students I tutored through WyzAnt. I have tutored many students now for a year and a half, and I have all 5 star reviews, which have enabled me to easily find new students across the United States. WyzAnt has always provided support, screened out those requests for tutoring that were just trying to get my personal information, always paid exactly on time, provided me with information for my taxes, and allowed me the flexibility of changing my fees, responses to students, and schedule.

    They do take a large amount of money at first, but I have worked through the process and worked with many students, so the percentage is low now that is deducted from my fees. Because the platform posts reviews, my conscientious work ethic has rewarded me in that I am charging double the amount hat I charged at first. WyzAnt has been good to me, and I am grateful for the services it provides.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No Thanks!

    • By Chanel Lovely,
    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Could not communicate any further after initial message to a tutor that I selected from the site. The tutor sent a response email but when I tried to respond back, I received an automatic message saying I needed to provide a payment method before I would be able to further communicate with the tutor which I don't feel is logical because the tutor may or may not be the right fit and I would need to further communicate with them to know.

    They claim that they would not actually make any charges until after my first tutoring session, however, I feel they should not require this information until you have actually decided upon there services.

    Because of this, I have just decided to go with a local tutoring school where I am able to communicate my needs and get detailed information on the services provided in order to make an informed decision on what's best for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Website

    • By D. Edelstein,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I cannot share my experiences because it never got that far. I repeatedly attempted to pay on their site using PayPal and the site kept sending me back, until finally, it seemed that I had paid. I subsequently received a note informing that I had obviously "tried to circumvent payment." That would be odd, considering that I knew no tutor would even see a message until payment had gone through. It taught me two things about their business model: They don't trust their tutors and they don't care if their language is offensive to would-be customers. Happily taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great for diligent tutors!

    Overall Experience:

    I have tutored with WyzAnt for less than 2 years. The amount of business has picked up dramatically over the past year. Aside from private students, I have regular and consistent students whom I tutor.

    My feedback score is greater than 4.9 out of 5 stars (technically, 4.92 out of 5 stars). I am about in the highest hours level, where the least amount of money is wittheld by WyzAnt. About to hit the 400-hour mark. Starting at hour #401, I will get to keep 80% of the fee charged to students.

    Some people who probably haven't had this level of success haven't put in the same kind of effort. Was it easy? No. Was it worth it? I believe so.

    The fee that is charged is the platform fee. They've spent a great deal of money and effort putting together the online tutoring platform. It has matured significantly over the period of less than two years. I typically will have 3-5 sessions per day, multiple days per week. With the exception of during the time period for final exams, the website has done a great job of handling the increased workload.

    I am located in New Hampshire. For me to go and meet with only local students is a rather difficult task for about one-third of the calendar year. WyzAnt has afforded me the opportunity to tutor so many students across the entire United States.

    If WyzAnt was nothing but a scam or not good, why do I have some weeks wherein my WyzAnt students alone constitute 20-30 hours of tutoring, sometimes even more? The money that I get paid is real. The students whom I either meet in person or meet within the WyzAnt Online room, these are real people as well.

    Consistently making scheduled appointments, on time, on a consistent basis, along with being prepared for one's students, and being personable. Remember, if you didn't get 5 stars (or the rare 4 stars), it's because the customer doesn't believe that you did your job. The only feedback scores that I have are 5 stars, with a sporadic instance of 4 stars. Whenever a tutor is busy, some students don't like the remaining hours opened for getting help, by the more highly qualified and diligent tutors. That's okay, it is what it is. I see the 4.92 stars, and realize that I have helped so many students score well on so many tests and homework assignments. Students getting high 90's or 100% on their accounting final exams, or getting a 720 for the math section on their SAT, or scoring in the 96 percentile on the GRE. These are all very measurable outcomes, by many people who believed that they could never have received such scores, absent my help.

    Today is a Saturday. This has been an 8-hour tutoring day. Another one of my students just aced an Economics final yesterday, while an accounting student just got a 98% on their upper-level accounting course's final exam.

    I won't lie, it was very frustrating getting things going at first. Thing is, I didn't give up and quit. I didn't blame WyzAnt. I realized that the business was there, but that I needed to perform, and perform at the level of excellence in order to grow the WyzAnt part of my business. It's clearly worked. Not easy at first. Now, it's a question of making certain that I have scheduled time to eat and sleep. It has become that busy. Not even time for final exams yet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Legit, but frustrating

    • By Gary Phelps,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good luck if you ever forget your password. Multiple attempts, meeting all password requirements (6 characters, at least 1 number, etc.) met, but fails EVERY time! No message other than that the attempt failed. I won't do business with them ever again; too much of this B.S. to make it worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • An honest business, no scam

    • By David Urman,
    • California,
    • Feb 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I see a lot of very negative reviews here from disgruntled tutors. I have been tutoring through WyzAnt for over 5 years now, and my experience has been very different from theirs. In that time I have done nearly 1000 hours of tutoring under the auspices of WyzAnt, earning tens of thousands of dollars for myself and thousands for WyzAnt too. It's true that WyzAnt takes a hefty chunk, especially when a tutor is just starting, but I figure what the heck, if it weren't for WyzAnt I would never have had the opportunity to tutor most of those students at all.

    Some of the unhappy tutors complain that they never or only rarely get a tutoring job through WyzAnt. I don't know why they're having that kind of experience; maybe they're tutoring subjects for which there is no great demand. But myself, as a math tutor, I've had no trouble getting lots of work through them. I was a professional tutor long before WyzAnt even existed, so I'm no stranger to getting students by other means; but at this point, WyzAnt is responsible for about 50% of my current business, because they just make it so doggone easy.

    In all my dealings with WyzAnt, they have always been scrupulously honest. Once or twice an issue has arisen in which I didn't care for the way they handled it, but they've never lied to me, cheated me, or gone back on a promise. Nor have I ever heard anything like that about WyzAnt from a student; it appears that they are getting treated fair and square by WyzAnt, just as I am.

    In short, no business is going to please 100% of its customers 100% of the time. But WyzAnt is in no way a scam. It's an honest and legitimate business, and I for one am very happy to be on their tutor roster.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • After a year with WyzAnt

    • By Larry Kohn,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started tutoring with WyzAnt 16 months ago and have completed over 100 hours through their referral service. I have never had a problem with their bookkeeping and administrative services, and have found both their online and call-in support to be excellent. I have had much better results with their service than with the three other services where I also registered. Their charge for services is relatively high, and seems pretty unreasonable at first, but they provide a large number of prospects and their rate reduces with the number of hours taught.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Marlene Soper Stole $ 20.00 from me and Wyzant refused to help !

    Overall Experience:

    A top Wyzant tutor agrees to take $40.00 then, WITHOUT NOTIFICATION, charges $60.00 instead!

    The Wyzant platform malfunctions severely for over an hour and Wyzant offers compensation for the first hour only. When the tutor, Marlene Soper, steals the extra $20.00, for what she estimates to be an extra 30 minutes online, Wyzant only offers me a website coupon instead and REFUSES to help with the tutor situation.

    Proof conversations copied below:

    1. From Skype, when technical issues were so severe that Wyzant suggested we try another platform:

    ME: I think we need to stop here and wait for wyzant to get back to me. Sooo Sorry.

    MARLENE: Yeah. I agree. I'm so sorry about this.

    ME: Plz accept the 40 USD they credit to my account on their website? or which ever u prefer

    MARLENE: OIK. It's up to you.They gave you the credit, you might as well use it. Right.

    ME: ok, thank you. One minute, let me log on and check. ok, it's there"

    2. From our text messages when the theft took place:

    ME: Hi Marlene. I just received notification that Wyzant charged me for $24 in addition to the 40 dollar credit. Have you received any notification of this?

    MARLENE: Nada, when we met a week ago and had difficulty, we were talking for over an hour. When we met Friday we were dealing with all of this for 1.5 hours. I asked for 1.5 hours of compensation and have not and will not ask for anything for the weekend before.

    ME: I see. I thought we agreed over skype that it was the only going to be $40? I would have preferred a heads-up, Marlene. In any case, Wyzant should be responsible for the extra payment, not me. I will contact them. Thanks.

    ME (later on): Hello. Wyzant has placed a credit of $25 USD in my account. Please accept that credit for the extra half hour and refund me the original 24.02 USD. Wyzant cannot transfer the funds to me directly, only through the tutor. Thanks.

    No reply.

    3. Email excerpts with Wyzant since the incident:

    Thank you for reaching out to us. Please know that tutors are able to charge for the amount of time spent with their student during a lesson. Wyzant had provided you with a credit of $40 as a courtesy due to the technical issues that you had experienced with our online lesson platform in hopes that this amount may cover the cost of time spent attempting to troubleshoot the issues. If you do not believe the length of the lesson has been incorrectly reported by Marlene, we would encourage you to speak with her directly regarding this. I want to reiterate that we are so sorry for the technical issues. With that being said, please note that there is no way for us to refund the additional $24.20 that you were charged by Marlene without explicit permission from the tutor to reduce the length of the lesson. While the $30 coupon cannot be refunded to your payment method, it will remain on your account and can be used towards any future tutoring you receive through Wyzant.

    Wyzant acts as the payment processor for tutors listed on our site, we are unable to adjust the charge of a lesson and provide a refund without the consent of the tutor that has submitted the charge. As such, we will not be able to provide any further refunds for your lesson with Marlene S. It is important to note this decision was made in accordance with our Terms of Use of our site, which all users agree to when creating a Wyzant account. Wyzant considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to discuss this matter further.

    The Story:

    The lesson involved in this situation is EMPTY, for over an hour I suffered SEVERE technical issues which Wyzant could not explain. I could not even log into the classroom! In the end, they suggested I try an alternative platform until they checked their own for errors. That's when they deposited credit to compensate for the first hour.

    Marlene only taught a total of 15 MINUTES in that entire time, simply reviewing the previous lesson in preparation for starting something new. Yet, I offered to compensate her for the time she spent online WAITING by giving her the $40.00 credit deposited in my account. She ACCEPTED it as an even compensation, after all, we were both affected by this. Then charged me an extra $20.00 behind my back! From my OWN money, not from Wyzant.

    So what was I left with as a student? Over an hour of time wasted, no new content, severe technical issues where Wyzant could not help, and a payment of $20.00, unanticipated and undeserved, with no real compensation from the company behind all this!

    It's funny that a top reviewed math tutor would behave this way over 20.00 dollars! I am a graduate student, so 20 USD means something to me, especially when they're taken by force. But for someone who charges $40.00/hr and has over 400 positive reviews? I guess they do too.

    Over TEN emails were sent back and forth between me and Wyzant, their answer was always the same: We're sorry for your loss, but we can't help with the tutor or the money she took. And we can't pay you directly, only site credit. Good luck!

    Since I cannot upload photos onto this review, I have copy-pasted the EXACT text messages that were exchanged between me and Marlene about money, plus excerpts from my emails with Wyzant. Please read the above and judge for yourselves!

    A final note: What Marlene did was immoral, it's called STEALING, I would be careful about dealing with her. Even successful tutors get greedy. Also, Wyzant is NOT built to protect the students, it doesn't care if they're being extorted by the tutors, EVEN if their platform is to blame! I would NEVER recommend this site to anyone, their policy is unfair (there's no timer in the classroom, the tutor names the duration of the lesson as she sees fit and Wyzant has no proof how long the lesson ACTUALLY lasted), the platform is ALWAYS crashing and their customer assistance is useless. Again, PLEASE do NOT save your card or PayPal information on their site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad for tutors

    • By Anonymous,
    • New York,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a tutor on WyzAnt for about three years. The main complaint by many is the 40% the site takes from tutors. I am equally appalled by this. However, there are several more things that tutors should take issue with.

    1) WyzAnt will block tutors and students from contacting each other at a moment's notice. Many students do not want to enter their contact info, which I understand as there is little to no vetting process for tutors. However, "big brother" on the site has more than once blocked a potential student from contacting me again because they tried to schedule an interview before entering their payment info. Tutors should not shoulder the responsibility of making students enter info before scheduling. Perhaps WyzAnt should require payment info BEFORE a student can make a posting, especially since getting a cut of the money is so important to them.

    2) I've noticed an increase in scam or "filler" job posts. Honestly, I feel like 90% of the job postings are bots (perhaps WyzAnt's) or scams. Occasionally, I will take a look at old postings I replied to and the "student" still won't have payment on file, meaning they never found a tutor. This either means they are shell accounts or they quit the site due to the payment info first rule (or perhaps got blocked).

    3) The quality of students is low. I once tutored someone and at the end of the lesson was told they'd probably call me again for tutoring. I felt it went well but then noticed they gave me a one-star rating, with no explanation. There is a rumor that some students found out WyzAnt will refund their payment if they give low ratings. I do not know if this is true, but I felt the rating was unwarranted. In another odd experience, one student strung me along for months suggesting they wanted lessons, but then never answered each time I followed up and asked when they were available for lessons (this person did have payment info on file).

    4) Unwarranted removal of accounts. My account was once removed because I mentioned days that I tutored before a student entered payment info (it was reinstated within a week). Some tutors get removed for strange reasons, like not getting enough students.

    My friend who referred me to WyzAnt used to get many legitimate students, but the number has decreased significantly. This is one reason why I believe scam/shell student accounts have taken over the site. My first year on WyzAnt, I was able to schedule a lesson almost every week. The second year, only two. This past year, just the one with the one-star rating.

    Don't expect to get many tutoring hours using this site. You'll end up fishing and getting nothing. It might be good if you've got time to kill writing responses to job postings, but I recommend posting your own flyers locally or finding students via referral. You won't have to deal with WyzAnt's bureaucratic nonsense, and you'll get to keep 100% of your fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 60% you will never tutor on this site

    Overall Experience:

    After spending eight hours yesterday passing dozens of subject tests, I received an e-mail telling me I wasn't a good fit as a tutor on WizAnt; no explanation provided. I called customer service to inquire about the reason my application was denied and first was told 60% of all applications are denied. I was also told the customer service department had no explanation as to why I was denied, and the department that could tell me does not speak to the public! I have two Master's degrees in History and Public Health and am eligible to teach community college in my state, but am not available to have WizAnt do nothing but collect 40% of my tutoring fees up front. Good riddance!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible execution for a much needed service

    • By Tutor,
    • California,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a scam for all people involved except WyzAnt.

    I advertised here as a tutor and got a few replies, many of which wanted to know if I would lower my rate. This gets really annoying after a while. I was advertising at only $45 an hour. Of this, WyzAnt takes 40%. That's right, FORTY PERCENT! That is outrageous. That means I'm automatically down to $28. Then taxes take another quarter of this, dropping me down to about $20.

    Then most of the people want to be tutored near their place. In the bay area, that often means crossing a bridge and paying the bridge toll ($5), and driving 10-20 miles each way (at the real value of mileage on your car, what the IRS calculates for gas, depreciation, maintenance, and repairs, that's about $0.50 per mile, so another $20). The driving time will be about 40-60 minutes round trip, so essentially, at $45 an hour means that you will lose money (LITERALLY) to take two hours out of your day to tutor someone. Now it should be more obvious why many people need to list their rates at $60-80 an hour because of WyzAnt's cut to make anything.

    So it's a bad deal for the tutors (who make next to nothing), it's a bad deal for the students (who pay for the nose) and WyzAnt sits back and rakes in the profits. If the company were more intelligent and took only 10%, they would easily bring in an order of magnitude of more tutors and students, and make far more money. I now understand why so many people would just send me their phone number and when I talked to them, they said they would pay me under the table so WyzAnt got nothing, and said "oh, we do this all the time." I balked at this at first, as I didn't want to screw the company, but after a while I just realized that this is the consequence of being too greedy. They probably lose far more business to deals like this than they actually get.

    My recommendation to WyzAnt: A 10% commission will get you WAY more business and way more profit in the long run, and go a long way to showing you aren't total jerks.

    My recommendation to tutors: lower your rates, book a few hours with people and after that, tutor them under the table.

    My recommendation to students: send us your phone number in your initial message.

    My recommendation to anyone out there that knows how to write an app: make a similar company that charges 10%, be swamped with business and get rich while you watch WyzAnt wither away and die.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Parent opinion

    • By L. Stewart,
    • Arizona,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a parent who went through WyzAnt to obtain a tutor local to my area. My son has been struggling with algebra due to some changes in methods of teaching common core math. In an attempt to help my child become prepared for high school, I reached out to WyzAnt for such help.

    I saw the information provided by the available tutors and picked the person that I felt most fit my child's needs. They claim background checks are done, and there is a protocol of communication between the tutor and myself that I felt more at ease with. The funds are handled through the company which eliminates any awkward situations in person, and the first lesson is refundable if it doesn't work out.

    I really like my child's tutor, and he enjoys his sessions. This tutor takes the time to explain what they went over and what to expect with the next session. Our tutor is an engineering student about to graduate, and our experience is a success. We will be using WyzAnt for my other child who is freshman in college.

    Thank you WyzAnt.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great experience as a tutor

    • By Emily Kolar,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, to get this out of the way, as a tutor, yes, they do start you off by taking a huge cut (60%) of your rate. Yes, it kind of sucks. It also has some good side effects:

    1. It keeps the WyzAnt developers paid, which means the site keeps getting better.

    2. It incentivizes you to try and tier up to the next pay grade, which is good for you and for company growth. And which does not take that long to do in the first couple jumps, assuming you're an active tutor with a decent rating (the third+ tier is quite a long road though).

    3. It weeds out people who want to do it solely to make a quick buck. There's a reason students look on WyzAnt instead of Craigslist, and it's partially because WyzAnt tutors genuinely want to help people succeed.

    I've been tutoring there for nearly a year, and I get much more out of it than just income; plus, I have to learn new things all the time to keep my skills current. This has been hugely beneficial.

    The screening process makes sure you're qualified, which is totally reasonable, as you're literally playing a role in the rest of someone's education and the outlook they are forming on your area of expertise. It's really quite awesome, but also a big responsibility, especially if you're tutoring subject beginners or K-12 students.

    I love WyzAnt. Seriously. They're still a fledgling company, so it's not perfect, but they care about their users (both tutors and students), and I've never had a bad experience due to the product or business practices.

    Lastly, no, I'm not getting paid to write this review. I just appreciate things that are cool and good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 41

Write a Review for WyzAnt!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
WyzAnt Reviews