About WyzAnt

WyzAnt is an online community where parents and students can find and hire professional tutors across a wide range of subjects, including math, science, music, technology, test preparation, and much more. Headquartered in Chicago, IL and founded in 2005, WyzAnt also promotes itself as a place where independent tutors can promote their services and increase their visibility. The company is committed to giving back to the community, which is accomplished through more than $15,000 in annual scholarships.

WyzAnt claims to have facilitated more than 1 million lessons, holds an A+ rating through the Better Business Bureau, and appears to have a mostly positive online reputation. Unlike most other online tutoring sites, WyzAnt also offers a full refund for the first hour billed to any new tutor, known as their “Good Fit Guarantee.”

How WyzAnt Works

After entering your desired subject and zip code on WyzAnt’s home page, you’ll be redirected to an area where you can view the total number of nearby matched tutors, their full profiles, and pictures. After clicking on a tutor, you’ll be taken to their profile, where you can see how many hours they’ve logged, read a brief bio, browse feedback from past customers, and more.

If you locate a tutor who appears to be a good match, contacting them is completely free of charge, and you’re guaranteed a response within “a few hours.” All communication is completely secure, and you’ll even be able to run a background check on anyone you choose to hire.

However, if you don’t feel like browsing through hundreds of tutors, you can also use WyzAnt’s “Request a Tutor” service. Here, you’ll be required to fill out a short questionnaire detailing your specific needs. After submitting the form, up to five local tutors will then contact you about fulfilling your requirements.

In addition to facilitating tutoring sessions, WyzAnt also provides a detailed resources section on their site, filled with more than 16,000 interactive Q&As, lessons, blogs, and videos.

WyzAnt Pricing & “Good Fit Guarantee”

Signing up for a WyzAnt account is completely free, and you’ll only be required to enter your email address and choose a password in order to begin. According to their website, there are no “hidden fees, contracts, or minimum payments,” and you won’t be required to enter payment information at this point.

However, WyzAnt does require that you have a valid payment method on file prior to booking your first tutoring session, which includes all major credit and debit cards, PayPal, checks, and money orders. After entering your billing information, you can choose one of two payment options:

  1. Pay as You Go: Here, you’ll be automatically charged after each lesson.
  2. Pre-Purchase: Buy a tutoring package and save up to 15%.

Whether you’re planning to use WyzAnt as a customer (e.g. someone who needs to hire a tutor) or as a tutor looking for work, you should keep in mind that the company keeps as much as 40% of the total price, while only giving as little as 60% to the tutor. However, the company—as well as many previous customers—claim that the amount a tutor earns can increase over time.

Unlike most of their competition, WyzAnt offers all customers a “Good Fit Guarantee.” In other words, if you’re not completely satisfied, your first hour with any tutor is fully refundable. To initiate the refund process, simply use WyzAnt’s contact form, or call them directly at (877) 999-2681.

Bottom Line: Can You Benefit from WyzAnt?

Based on our research, WyzAnt appears to be a company that is intently focused on helping you find a tutor, and about maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction. The most common complaint is that they keep a large portion of your payment, and only give about 60% to the tutor.

With this said, if you or a loved one are in need of a local tutor who can help with a wide range of subjects, WyzAnt appears to be a solid, dependable resource.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for WyzAnt

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • A great place to start!

    • Columbus, OH,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When tutors see that WyzAnt takes a whopping 40% of your commission fee, they turn and run. But as someone who had not yet finished their college degree, had no tutoring students in my new city, and needed a place to start, WyzAnt was wonderful. I set my fee low, and while the other popular tutoring websites sent nothing my way, on WyzAnt the students were rolling in. WyzAnt made it easy to schedule lessons, communicate with students, and actively seek out new work. From the time I started using them earlier this year, I've never had a week where I didn't have at least three online lessons scheduled.

    Whenever I've had problems, WyzAnt has been quick to address them, and I love having control over my fee and how often I want to tutor. If you feel that you have enough clientele or simply need a break, you can select an option that prevents new clients from seeing you in a search (and you can politely tell your current students you're on a break if needed).

    WyzAnt is great because it's easy to get started, easy to get paid, and is very user-friendly. You also don't have to use it forever - once you've established a bond with a student, there's nothing wrong with asking them to pay you with PayPal so that instead of keeping 60%, you keep your entire fee. Most of my students now communicate with me via email anyways. WyzAnt was a fantastic way to make those connections, and I continue to use it to find more work.

    There are some obvious downsides that might turn a more experienced or expensive tutor away, but if you are just starting out, I personally feel that these are all workable:

    - The obvious problem: You only keep 60% of what you charge. As you tutor more hours, that number increases - after something like 20 or 25 hours, you suddenly keep 65% (and so on). The scale is poorly dispersed as it climbs and it's just about impossible to keep most of your fee. However, I personally feel that WyzAnt makes up for this in the volume of students. Even though other websites didn't take such an egregious amount of my money away, I had FAR more students contact me via WyzAnt. I offer proof reading (which is very popular) and make several hundred dollars a month. If I had more time, I could make a lot more. You also don't have to stick with WyzAnt forever. While I love their chat function and still use it to communicate, there's no rule stating you can't exchange email addresses with your student after you've gotten comfortable with one another and there are plenty of other safe sites they can use to pay you your full fee. If you are able to advertise yourself well and can put in a lot of work, that 60% isn't as daunting as it looks.

    - WyzAnt does not have a great system for verifying their tutors. You have to take tests to be approved in the subjects you want to teach. The tests are not timed, I found the questions to be of extremely varying difficulty levels between tests, and there is nothing stopping you from opening a new tab to Google answers. I didn't pass two of the exams in subjects I am definitely qualified to tutor, but I passed exams in other subjects where my skills are somewhat lacking. Ultimately this is more detrimental to the students than to you, students using WyzAnt really rely on the integrity of their tutors. I only display the subjects I am confident and competent in, but it's very possible that someone could lie about their credentials, pass the weird test, and offer poor service.

    - You can only take jobs that you are subject approved for. That means if the weird WyzAnt spelling test threw you off and you aren't approved to teach spelling, people looking for a spelling tutor won't see you in search results and you won't be able to apply to jobs labeled "spelling." People often label their tutoring needs incorrectly, which means that you may miss jobs you would be a great fit for because the student labeled their complex physics essay "English" and you're approved in science, not in English. In spite of this issue, however, I still found plenty of work in the subjects I am best at, so I don't think it's a deal breaker.

    - Students can be irresponsible. I'm not sure what it is about WyzAnt that attracts more careless students, but I've had many issues with people ignoring my listed hours, constantly trying to schedule lessons five minutes before their assignment is due, and asking me to cheat for them. Thankfully WyzAnt always responds quickly to emails, and they take reports of cheating requests very seriously. As to irresponsible students, it's up to you to set them straight (which can be frustrating if you're very non-confrontational like me. I let a lot of students walk all over me during the first couple months).

    There are probably more issues I'm forgetting, but in spite of its imperfections, I recommend WyzAnt to young, college aged tutors looking to get a head start.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great platform - they take a decent cut but it may be worth it

    So at least at the start, they take 40% of the earnings. But the platform is very good. The online tool is great. Both student and tutor can use it at the same time. Also, the site is sharp and well organized. I, of course, would like to have a smaller cut of the pay taken out but it just might be worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great opportunities

    The WyzAnt online services have given me the opportunity to teach students all over the world. By using WyzAnt, I don't need to submit invoices are worry about collecting payment. WyzAnt has tools to keep me organized and keep my students informed about our schedule.

    Of course, WyzAnt takes a percentage of tutors' pay. They are an agent that brings together students and tutors. Although WyzAnt's take in the beginning is high, its matching program helps a tutor build hours.

    There is no scam. Just some disgruntled people who (based on the reviews) never used the platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent source of students in a protected environment

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the first students I tutored through WyzAnt. I have tutored many students now for a year and a half, and I have all 5 star reviews, which have enabled me to easily find new students across the United States. WyzAnt has always provided support, screened out those requests for tutoring that were just trying to get my personal information, always paid exactly on time, provided me with information for my taxes, and allowed me the flexibility of changing my fees, responses to students, and schedule.

    They do take a large amount of money at first, but I have worked through the process and worked with many students, so the percentage is low now that is deducted from my fees. Because the platform posts reviews, my conscientious work ethic has rewarded me in that I am charging double the amount hat I charged at first. WyzAnt has been good to me, and I am grateful for the services it provides.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No Thanks!

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Could not communicate any further after initial message to a tutor that I selected from the site. The tutor sent a response email but when I tried to respond back, I received an automatic message saying I needed to provide a payment method before I would be able to further communicate with the tutor which I don't feel is logical because the tutor may or may not be the right fit and I would need to further communicate with them to know.

    They claim that they would not actually make any charges until after my first tutoring session, however, I feel they should not require this information until you have actually decided upon there services.

    Because of this, I have just decided to go with a local tutoring school where I am able to communicate my needs and get detailed information on the services provided in order to make an informed decision on what's best for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2018

      Moire Latamore

      WyzAnt asks for payment information up front to protect the tutors. WyzAnt does not take money from an account until after the lesson is completed, and approved by the student. This is no different from a hotel that takes an imprint of a credit card to cover incidental expenses. There is no scam here. It's just your paranoia.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Website

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot share my experiences because it never got that far. I repeatedly attempted to pay on their site using PayPal and the site kept sending me back, until finally, it seemed that I had paid. I subsequently received a note informing that I had obviously "tried to circumvent payment." That would be odd, considering that I knew no tutor would even see a message until payment had gone through. It taught me two things about their business model: They don't trust their tutors and they don't care if their language is offensive to would-be customers. Happily taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great for diligent tutors!

    I have tutored with WyzAnt for less than 2 years. The amount of business has picked up dramatically over the past year. Aside from private students, I have regular and consistent students whom I tutor.

    My feedback score is greater than 4.9 out of 5 stars (technically, 4.92 out of 5 stars). I am about in the highest hours level, where the least amount of money is wittheld by WyzAnt. About to hit the 400-hour mark. Starting at hour #401, I will get to keep 80% of the fee charged to students.

    Some people who probably haven't had this level of success haven't put in the same kind of effort. Was it easy? No. Was it worth it? I believe so.

    The fee that is charged is the platform fee. They've spent a great deal of money and effort putting together the online tutoring platform. It has matured significantly over the period of less than two years. I typically will have 3-5 sessions per day, multiple days per week. With the exception of during the time period for final exams, the website has done a great job of handling the increased workload.

    I am located in New Hampshire. For me to go and meet with only local students is a rather difficult task for about one-third of the calendar year. WyzAnt has afforded me the opportunity to tutor so many students across the entire United States.

    If WyzAnt was nothing but a scam or not good, why do I have some weeks wherein my WyzAnt students alone constitute 20-30 hours of tutoring, sometimes even more? The money that I get paid is real. The students whom I either meet in person or meet within the WyzAnt Online room, these are real people as well.

    Consistently making scheduled appointments, on time, on a consistent basis, along with being prepared for one's students, and being personable. Remember, if you didn't get 5 stars (or the rare 4 stars), it's because the customer doesn't believe that you did your job. The only feedback scores that I have are 5 stars, with a sporadic instance of 4 stars. Whenever a tutor is busy, some students don't like the remaining hours opened for getting help, by the more highly qualified and diligent tutors. That's okay, it is what it is. I see the 4.92 stars, and realize that I have helped so many students score well on so many tests and homework assignments. Students getting high 90's or 100% on their accounting final exams, or getting a 720 for the math section on their SAT, or scoring in the 96 percentile on the GRE. These are all very measurable outcomes, by many people who believed that they could never have received such scores, absent my help.

    Today is a Saturday. This has been an 8-hour tutoring day. Another one of my students just aced an Economics final yesterday, while an accounting student just got a 98% on their upper-level accounting course's final exam.

    I won't lie, it was very frustrating getting things going at first. Thing is, I didn't give up and quit. I didn't blame WyzAnt. I realized that the business was there, but that I needed to perform, and perform at the level of excellence in order to grow the WyzAnt part of my business. It's clearly worked. Not easy at first. Now, it's a question of making certain that I have scheduled time to eat and sleep. It has become that busy. Not even time for final exams yet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Legit, but frustrating

    • Texas,
    • Feb 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good luck if you ever forget your password. Multiple attempts, meeting all password requirements (6 characters, at least 1 number, etc.) met, but fails EVERY time! No message other than that the attempt failed. I won't do business with them ever again; too much of this B.S. to make it worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    An honest business, no scam

    • California,
    • Feb 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I see a lot of very negative reviews here from disgruntled tutors. I have been tutoring through WyzAnt for over 5 years now, and my experience has been very different from theirs. In that time I have done nearly 1000 hours of tutoring under the auspices of WyzAnt, earning tens of thousands of dollars for myself and thousands for WyzAnt too. It's true that WyzAnt takes a hefty chunk, especially when a tutor is just starting, but I figure what the heck, if it weren't for WyzAnt I would never have had the opportunity to tutor most of those students at all.

    Some of the unhappy tutors complain that they never or only rarely get a tutoring job through WyzAnt. I don't know why they're having that kind of experience; maybe they're tutoring subjects for which there is no great demand. But myself, as a math tutor, I've had no trouble getting lots of work through them. I was a professional tutor long before WyzAnt even existed, so I'm no stranger to getting students by other means; but at this point, WyzAnt is responsible for about 50% of my current business, because they just make it so doggone easy.

    In all my dealings with WyzAnt, they have always been scrupulously honest. Once or twice an issue has arisen in which I didn't care for the way they handled it, but they've never lied to me, cheated me, or gone back on a promise. Nor have I ever heard anything like that about WyzAnt from a student; it appears that they are getting treated fair and square by WyzAnt, just as I am.

    In short, no business is going to please 100% of its customers 100% of the time. But WyzAnt is in no way a scam. It's an honest and legitimate business, and I for one am very happy to be on their tutor roster.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    After a year with WyzAnt

    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started tutoring with WyzAnt 16 months ago and have completed over 100 hours through their referral service. I have never had a problem with their bookkeeping and administrative services, and have found both their online and call-in support to be excellent. I have had much better results with their service than with the three other services where I also registered. Their charge for services is relatively high, and seems pretty unreasonable at first, but they provide a large number of prospects and their rate reduces with the number of hours taught.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Marlene Soper Stole $ 20.00 from me and Wyzant refused to help !

    A top Wyzant tutor agrees to take $40.00 then, WITHOUT NOTIFICATION, charges $60.00 instead!

    The Wyzant platform malfunctions severely for over an hour and Wyzant offers compensation for the first hour only. When the tutor, Marlene Soper, steals the extra $20.00, for what she estimates to be an extra 30 minutes online, Wyzant only offers me a website coupon instead and REFUSES to help with the tutor situation.

    Proof conversations copied below:

    1. From Skype, when technical issues were so severe that Wyzant suggested we try another platform:

    ME: I think we need to stop here and wait for wyzant to get back to me. Sooo Sorry.

    MARLENE: Yeah. I agree. I'm so sorry about this.

    ME: Plz accept the 40 USD they credit to my account on their website? or which ever u prefer

    MARLENE: OIK. It's up to you.They gave you the credit, you might as well use it. Right.

    ME: ok, thank you. One minute, let me log on and check. ok, it's there"

    2. From our text messages when the theft took place:

    ME: Hi Marlene. I just received notification that Wyzant charged me for $24 in addition to the 40 dollar credit. Have you received any notification of this?

    MARLENE: Nada, when we met a week ago and had difficulty, we were talking for over an hour. When we met Friday we were dealing with all of this for 1.5 hours. I asked for 1.5 hours of compensation and have not and will not ask for anything for the weekend before.

    ME: I see. I thought we agreed over skype that it was the only going to be $40? I would have preferred a heads-up, Marlene. In any case, Wyzant should be responsible for the extra payment, not me. I will contact them. Thanks.

    ME (later on): Hello. Wyzant has placed a credit of $25 USD in my account. Please accept that credit for the extra half hour and refund me the original 24.02 USD. Wyzant cannot transfer the funds to me directly, only through the tutor. Thanks.

    No reply.

    3. Email excerpts with Wyzant since the incident:

    Thank you for reaching out to us. Please know that tutors are able to charge for the amount of time spent with their student during a lesson. Wyzant had provided you with a credit of $40 as a courtesy due to the technical issues that you had experienced with our online lesson platform in hopes that this amount may cover the cost of time spent attempting to troubleshoot the issues. If you do not believe the length of the lesson has been incorrectly reported by Marlene, we would encourage you to speak with her directly regarding this. I want to reiterate that we are so sorry for the technical issues. With that being said, please note that there is no way for us to refund the additional $24.20 that you were charged by Marlene without explicit permission from the tutor to reduce the length of the lesson. While the $30 coupon cannot be refunded to your payment method, it will remain on your account and can be used towards any future tutoring you receive through Wyzant.

    Wyzant acts as the payment processor for tutors listed on our site, we are unable to adjust the charge of a lesson and provide a refund without the consent of the tutor that has submitted the charge. As such, we will not be able to provide any further refunds for your lesson with Marlene S. It is important to note this decision was made in accordance with our Terms of Use of our site, which all users agree to when creating a Wyzant account. Wyzant considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to discuss this matter further.

    The Story:

    The lesson involved in this situation is EMPTY, for over an hour I suffered SEVERE technical issues which Wyzant could not explain. I could not even log into the classroom! In the end, they suggested I try an alternative platform until they checked their own for errors. That's when they deposited credit to compensate the first hour.

    Marlene only taught a total of 15 MINUTES in that entire time, simply reviewing the previous lesson in preparation for starting something new. Yet, I offered to compensate her for the time she spent online WAITING by giving her the $40.00 credit deposited in my account. She ACCEPTED it as an even compensation, after all, we were both affected by this. Then charged me an extra $20.00 behind my back! From my OWN money, not from Wyzant.

    So what was I left with as a student? Over an hour of time wasted, no new content, severe technical issues where Wyzant could not help, and a payment of $20.00, unanticipated and undeserved, with no real compensation from the company behind all this!

    It's funny that a top reviewed math tutor would behave this way over 20.00 dollars! I am a graduate student, so 20 USD mean something to me, especially when they're taken by force. But for someone who charges $40.00/hr and has over 400 positive reviews? I guess they do too.

    Over TEN emails were sent back and forth between me and Wyzant, their answer was always the same: We're sorry for your loss, but we can't help with the tutor or the money she took. And we can't pay you directly, only site credit. Good luck!

    Since I cannot upload photos onto this review, I have copy-pasted the EXACT text messages that were exchanged between me and Marlene about money, plus excerpts from my emails with Wyzant. Please read them above and judge for yourselves!

    A final note: What Marlene did was immoral, it\'s called STEALING, I would be careful about dealing with her. Even successful tutors get greedy. Also, Wyzant is NOT built to protect the students, it doesn't care if they're being extorted by the tutors, EVEN if their platform is to blame! I would NEVER recommend this site to anyone, their policy is unfair (there's no timer in the classroom, the tutor names the duration of the lesson as she sees fit and Wyzant has no proof how long the lesson ACTUALLY lasted), the platform is ALWAYS crashing and their customer assistance is useless. Again, PLEASE do NOT save your card or PayPal information on their site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 1, 2018

      Frank

      Nada, I don't see any evidence of this tutor stealing from you. I do see you trying to dodge your obligations as her employer. When you hire a tutor through Wyzant, you are doing exactly that, hiring someone. They are your employee, not Wyzant's. And as such, you are obligated to pay for the time they spent working for you, whether or not technical issues prevented learning from happening.

      This tutor spent 90 minutes working for you, you owe her 90 minutes worth of pay. As I read the text messages you quote, you did not ask her to accept less than $60 (and she did not agree to). You asked her to accept the credit as PARTIAL fulfillment of your obligation to pay her, which she did. Your attempt to dodge the rest of the bill for the time she spent working for you is pathetic.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for WyzAnt!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review