About WyzAnt

WyzAnt is an online community where parents and students can find and hire professional tutors across a wide range of subjects, including math, science, music, technology, test preparation, and much more. Headquartered in Chicago, IL and founded in 2005, WyzAnt also promotes itself as a place where independent tutors can promote their services and increase their visibility. The company is committed to giving back to the community, which is accomplished through more than $15,000 in annual scholarships.

WyzAnt claims to have facilitated more than 1 million lessons, holds an A+ rating through the Better Business Bureau, and appears to have a mostly positive online reputation. Unlike most other online tutoring sites, WyzAnt also offers a full refund for the first hour billed to any new tutor, known as their “Good Fit Guarantee.”

How WyzAnt Works

After entering your desired subject and zip code on WyzAnt’s home page, you’ll be redirected to an area where you can view the total number of nearby matched tutors, their full profiles, and pictures. After clicking on a tutor, you’ll be taken to their profile, where you can see how many hours they’ve logged, read a brief bio, browse feedback from past customers, and more.

If you locate a tutor who appears to be a good match, contacting them is completely free of charge, and you’re guaranteed a response within “a few hours.” All communication is completely secure, and you’ll even be able to run a background check on anyone you choose to hire.

However, if you don’t feel like browsing through hundreds of tutors, you can also use WyzAnt’s “Request a Tutor” service. Here, you’ll be required to fill out a short questionnaire detailing your specific needs. After submitting the form, up to five local tutors will then contact you about fulfilling your requirements.

In addition to facilitating tutoring sessions, WyzAnt also provides a detailed resources section on their site, filled with more than 16,000 interactive Q&As, lessons, blogs, and videos.

WyzAnt Pricing & “Good Fit Guarantee”

Signing up for a WyzAnt account is completely free, and you’ll only be required to enter your email address and choose a password in order to begin. According to their website, there are no “hidden fees, contracts, or minimum payments,” and you won’t be required to enter payment information at this point.

However, WyzAnt does require that you have a valid payment method on file prior to booking your first tutoring session, which includes all major credit and debit cards, PayPal, checks, and money orders. After entering your billing information, you can choose one of two payment options:

  1. Pay as You Go: Here, you’ll be automatically charged after each lesson.
  2. Pre-Purchase: Buy a tutoring package and save up to 15%.

Whether you’re planning to use WyzAnt as a customer (e.g. someone who needs to hire a tutor) or as a tutor looking for work, you should keep in mind that the company keeps as much as 40% of the total price, while only giving as little as 60% to the tutor. However, the company—as well as many previous customers—claim that the amount a tutor earns can increase over time.

Unlike most of their competition, WyzAnt offers all customers a “Good Fit Guarantee.” In other words, if you’re not completely satisfied, your first hour with any tutor is fully refundable. To initiate the refund process, simply use WyzAnt’s contact form, or call them directly at (877) 999-2681.

Bottom Line: Can You Benefit from WyzAnt?

Based on our research, WyzAnt appears to be a company that is intently focused on helping you find a tutor, and about maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction. The most common complaint is that they keep a large portion of your payment, and only give about 60% to the tutor.

With this said, if you or a loved one are in need of a local tutor who can help with a wide range of subjects, WyzAnt appears to be a solid, dependable resource.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

35 Consumer Reviews for WyzAnt

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad company!

    They denied my application without telling me any reason why. This company should not be somewhere that anyone who needs a tutor goes to!

    This is what they sent after I took like 2 hours passing the tests that they have you do when you first sign up. Horribly bad customer service.

    After reviewing your submission, we have determined that Wyzant is not a good fit for your tutoring service at this time according to paragraph 18(a) of the Independent Tutor Agreement. We will deactivate your account effective immediately.

    We appreciate the time and effort you have spent on your submission.

    Regards,

    The Wyzant Team

    I then sent another email asking why I was not approved and this was their answer:

    Thank you for your interest in listing your tutor profile on Wyzant.com. I am sorry that your application was not approved.

    While I don't have access to the specifics regarding why your account was not accepted for an active listing, I do know that the Wyzant Content Review Team looks at many factors when evaluating a potential tutor profile. And of the thousands of applications we receive every week, only a limited number are approved for a listing. We sincerely hope that you find the right avenue for your business and wish you luck in your future endeavors.

    Best,

    Bob

    Wyzant Customer Support

    Everyone should boycott this company until they have better practices for putting their applications thru, but it's fine because after reading a lot of reviews about that company, I would never want to be a tutor there, anyway. So thankfully they only took my time and not my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Would love to try the service

    • Texas,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went online and found what appeared to be a perfect tutor. Sent initial contact info. She responded immediately and asked me questions. I attempted to respond to her questions - but could not without putting my credit card information into the system. I called Customer Support and they said it was required and there was no workaround. I am NOT putting in my credit card info until I have had a chance to have a 2-3 minute phone call or chat with my proposed tutor! I don't care that WyzAnt is not going to charge my card. I should be able to have a brief conversation with my tutor before uploading my credit card information into another online system. It is just another place where my credit card information can be compromised. I will not be working with WyzAnt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good Fit For Guarantee is a Fake Attraction of Customers

    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Message Pasted from Wyzant Staff:

    “Your account was closed because we determined that we are no longer able to facilitate lessons for you in accordance to our terms of use. Based on the information you provided, we will not reactivate your account. Wyzant considers this decision to be final and a representative will not be made available to further discuss this matter.

    Regards,

    The Wyzant Profile Review Team”

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    SCAM, beware

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is not legit. They will charge your credit card as soon as you input it for no reason, and they won't give you the money back. Do not input your credit card information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    WyzAnt

    • California,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service is good, I received great help from the tutors in math for the SAT exam. Before I was struggling with math, so my friend introduced me to this service. I decided to give it a shot, and it turned out that the quality is not that bad, the tutor supported me during the revision for the exam. The price is also affordable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A great place to start!

    • Columbus, OH,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When tutors see that WyzAnt takes a whopping 40% of your commission fee, they turn and run. But as someone who had not yet finished their college degree, had no tutoring students in my new city, and needed a place to start, WyzAnt was wonderful. I set my fee low, and while the other popular tutoring websites sent nothing my way, on WyzAnt the students were rolling in. WyzAnt made it easy to schedule lessons, communicate with students, and actively seek out new work. From the time I started using them earlier this year, I've never had a week where I didn't have at least three online lessons scheduled.

    Whenever I've had problems, WyzAnt has been quick to address them, and I love having control over my fee and how often I want to tutor. If you feel that you have enough clientele or simply need a break, you can select an option that prevents new clients from seeing you in a search (and you can politely tell your current students you're on a break if needed).

    WyzAnt is great because it's easy to get started, easy to get paid, and is very user-friendly. You also don't have to use it forever - once you've established a bond with a student, there's nothing wrong with asking them to pay you with PayPal so that instead of keeping 60%, you keep your entire fee. Most of my students now communicate with me via email anyways. WyzAnt was a fantastic way to make those connections, and I continue to use it to find more work.

    There are some obvious downsides that might turn a more experienced or expensive tutor away, but if you are just starting out, I personally feel that these are all workable:

    - The obvious problem: You only keep 60% of what you charge. As you tutor more hours, that number increases - after something like 20 or 25 hours, you suddenly keep 65% (and so on). The scale is poorly dispersed as it climbs and it's just about impossible to keep most of your fee. However, I personally feel that WyzAnt makes up for this in the volume of students. Even though other websites didn't take such an egregious amount of my money away, I had FAR more students contact me via WyzAnt. I offer proof reading (which is very popular) and make several hundred dollars a month. If I had more time, I could make a lot more. You also don't have to stick with WyzAnt forever. While I love their chat function and still use it to communicate, there's no rule stating you can't exchange email addresses with your student after you've gotten comfortable with one another and there are plenty of other safe sites they can use to pay you your full fee. If you are able to advertise yourself well and can put in a lot of work, that 60% isn't as daunting as it looks.

    - WyzAnt does not have a great system for verifying their tutors. You have to take tests to be approved in the subjects you want to teach. The tests are not timed, I found the questions to be of extremely varying difficulty levels between tests, and there is nothing stopping you from opening a new tab to Google answers. I didn't pass two of the exams in subjects I am definitely qualified to tutor, but I passed exams in other subjects where my skills are somewhat lacking. Ultimately this is more detrimental to the students than to you, students using WyzAnt really rely on the integrity of their tutors. I only display the subjects I am confident and competent in, but it's very possible that someone could lie about their credentials, pass the weird test, and offer poor service.

    - You can only take jobs that you are subject approved for. That means if the weird WyzAnt spelling test threw you off and you aren't approved to teach spelling, people looking for a spelling tutor won't see you in search results and you won't be able to apply to jobs labeled "spelling." People often label their tutoring needs incorrectly, which means that you may miss jobs you would be a great fit for because the student labeled their complex physics essay "English" and you're approved in science, not in English. In spite of this issue, however, I still found plenty of work in the subjects I am best at, so I don't think it's a deal breaker.

    - Students can be irresponsible. I'm not sure what it is about WyzAnt that attracts more careless students, but I've had many issues with people ignoring my listed hours, constantly trying to schedule lessons five minutes before their assignment is due, and asking me to cheat for them. Thankfully WyzAnt always responds quickly to emails, and they take reports of cheating requests very seriously. As to irresponsible students, it's up to you to set them straight (which can be frustrating if you're very non-confrontational like me. I let a lot of students walk all over me during the first couple months).

    There are probably more issues I'm forgetting, but in spite of its imperfections, I recommend WyzAnt to young, college aged tutors looking to get a head start.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great platform - they take a decent cut but it may be worth it

    So at least at the start, they take 40% of the earnings. But the platform is very good. The online tool is great. Both student and tutor can use it at the same time. Also, the site is sharp and well organized. I, of course, would like to have a smaller cut of the pay taken out but it just might be worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great opportunities

    The WyzAnt online services have given me the opportunity to teach students all over the world. By using WyzAnt, I don't need to submit invoices are worry about collecting payment. WyzAnt has tools to keep me organized and keep my students informed about our schedule.

    Of course, WyzAnt takes a percentage of tutors' pay. They are an agent that brings together students and tutors. Although WyzAnt's take in the beginning is high, its matching program helps a tutor build hours.

    There is no scam. Just some disgruntled people who (based on the reviews) never used the platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent source of students in a protected environment

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the first students I tutored through WyzAnt. I have tutored many students now for a year and a half, and I have all 5 star reviews, which have enabled me to easily find new students across the United States. WyzAnt has always provided support, screened out those requests for tutoring that were just trying to get my personal information, always paid exactly on time, provided me with information for my taxes, and allowed me the flexibility of changing my fees, responses to students, and schedule.

    They do take a large amount of money at first, but I have worked through the process and worked with many students, so the percentage is low now that is deducted from my fees. Because the platform posts reviews, my conscientious work ethic has rewarded me in that I am charging double the amount hat I charged at first. WyzAnt has been good to me, and I am grateful for the services it provides.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No Thanks!

    • St. Petersburg, FL,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Could not communicate any further after initial message to a tutor that I selected from the site. The tutor sent a response email but when I tried to respond back, I received an automatic message saying I needed to provide a payment method before I would be able to further communicate with the tutor which I don't feel is logical because the tutor may or may not be the right fit and I would need to further communicate with them to know.

    They claim that they would not actually make any charges until after my first tutoring session, however, I feel they should not require this information until you have actually decided upon there services.

    Because of this, I have just decided to go with a local tutoring school where I am able to communicate my needs and get detailed information on the services provided in order to make an informed decision on what's best for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2018

      Moire Latamore

      WyzAnt asks for payment information up front to protect the tutors. WyzAnt does not take money from an account until after the lesson is completed, and approved by the student. This is no different from a hotel that takes an imprint of a credit card to cover incidental expenses. There is no scam here. It's just your paranoia.

    • Sep 7, 2018

      L B.

      I felt the same way. I was excited to find a promising tutor. I needed to ask one more question but didn’t feel comfortable providing my credit card information before the last question. I won’t be using their service as a result. This would have been a great resource because I have a lot of tutoring needs. If they weren’t so quick to ask for information, most of us hold dear in this day of widespread data breaches.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Website

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Mar 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I cannot share my experiences because it never got that far. I repeatedly attempted to pay on their site using PayPal and the site kept sending me back, until finally, it seemed that I had paid. I subsequently received a note informing that I had obviously "tried to circumvent payment." That would be odd, considering that I knew no tutor would even see a message until payment had gone through. It taught me two things about their business model: They don't trust their tutors and they don't care if their language is offensive to would-be customers. Happily taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for WyzAnt!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review