• 61 Customer Reviews
  • 39% Recommend This Company
2.6 out of 5
5 star: 36% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Contract altering or change at Xome benifit and agent expense

    • By Anonymous Real Estate Agent,
    • Orange County, California,
    • Jul 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up on their web site as a real estate agent which included a listing agreement that pays a referral fee to Xome on a sliding scale. Just received an email that states that Xome is changing the original referral fee for their benefit at my expense. It referenced where in the original listing agreement it gave Xome the authority to do so. This made me feel that the intent of the contract was a little misleading and one sided. It is not mutually beneficial but rather empowering Xome the ability to control their income by changing the terms of the contract without justification and at their sole discretion and benefit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be very afraid of this company

    • By Kim S.,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Jul 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been a licensed Broker for 26 years and have been listing Nationstar Mortgage and Solutionstar REO properties for 6 years. Xome, their subsidiary, has threatened to cancel my listings unless I sign their Xome agreement, which includes providing them with consumer's private documents for every transaction in addition to the sliding scale of referral fees due, commission rebates due, allowing them to market my services as they deem fit and expecting me to literally show a home to a buyer at a moment's notice without regard for our safety.

    They do not vet or pre-qualify a lead, thus we are expected to bring consumers into people's homes that may not have any qualifications at all. After refusing to sign their agreement, they harassed me daily via phone and email, always ending the conversation with the threat of canceling all other business I have with their affiliated companies. If they are treating Realtors like this, I wonder how they will treat consumers?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total lack of follow-throughs and too many lies.

    • By Joe,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am a realtor and worked as a signing agent for these folks for quite a while. These people sought me out due to my many years of quality work, and I agreed to help them. During this time they have changed their names 4 times and offer no explanation as to why. They most recently started their on app for the cell phone and if you do not use it, you lose everything with them. I have been experiencing quite a few glitches with the app and have called and requested help.

    They have promised help in trying to get the app working but fail to follow through with the help they offer. This has lead them to slam my quality of work, which, when asked for specifics, all they can say is I cannot work their new app. And once again, there was promised help that has never been delivered. I have attempted to be the nice guy and they have done nothing but be late and lie about when things are going to happen.

    They hire young girls that are of little assistance and none of them even seem to care. I do not see them being a main player at anytime. It sounds to me that they just change their name when they fail and try to rally with the same problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Xome Conference

    • By Edward Augsberger,
    • Ocean City New Jersey,
    • Nov 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I recently returned from a Xome Conference in Texas and the entire business plan boils down to taking commissions from the Realtor and using it as a discount to the buyer or seller. What geniuses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total SCAM.

    • By John,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a total scam. Do not buy anything from them. Their real estate tactics are borderline illegal. They are also in cahoots with homesearch.com, another scam company. Research homesearch.com and it will tell you all you need to know. They're changing names to Xome to try to improve their company image. There's only so much lipstick in the world, but enough doesn't cover up what's going on with these companies and their parent company Nationstar Mortgage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely difficult to receive answers after closing

    Overall Experience:

    I represented a cash buyer that recently purchased a house through XOME and a $300 "buyers agent bonus" was offered. We utilized a local title company to process the transaction. When I requested the $300 be charged on the HUD closing statement, the local title company advised me that "They are paying for zero fees. Your $300 will come to you after the closing from the auction company." When I contacted XOME inquiring about our check approximately 1 week after the closing, the response was "usually 30 days after closing" is when I can expect our commission check.

    I contacted XOME again on day 30, and was told "your check was sent on Monday UPS, per the Accounting Department." It is now Thursday, 35 days after closing, and XOME cannot provide a UPS tracking number that affirms they have mailed the check, and to the correct address. Their customer service has been absolutely horrible. If they actually had mailed our commission check via SNAIL MAIL we would have received it by now. XOME would not provide any contact information for their Accounting Department, not even an email address to contact. I've left voice messages with Customer Service, also a Manager, without any response. BEWARE if you conduct business with XOME, do not expect to be compensated in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Went bad

    • By Sherwood ,
    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Was awarded a home. Sent out earnest money deposit. Then could not get in touch with anyone to know where my money was. Took weeks before I could talk to an attorney that said they were not handling this anymore. Got finally the "seller" attorney. Signed a contract of sale. Waiting for the closing, months passed. Closing date never came. Instead a cancelation notice from bank. My attorney sends me back my deposit MINUS $2,500 that I can not get back. Never again. This all looks shady, especially that there was no one there after they get their money. All up in the air waiting for closing, or not. And on top of this my attorney charges me anyway. This was not a good experience and I'm out a lot of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Careless internal appraisal tactics

    • By Anon,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I worked in this company and saw first hand how the appraisal practice is completed. From the outside, it appears that they are an in-house review team and appraisers. While there are some, they have laid off 6 reviewers and at least 1 in-house appraiser. They now have only 5 reviewers in-house to review ALL appraisals for every loan. This includes Nationstar, all its sub-affiliates, and other large banking institutions.

    Well, it is possible when they lay off over half the staff and send the appraisals to India where they can pay people pennies to review YOUR appraisal. I have seen the work first hand and know they do not know how to review properly in accordance with USPAP, federal, state & local laws.

    Nationstar/Solutionstar/Xome do not care if your appraisal is wrong. Beware of using this company as home buyers may be getting a mortgage on a house not worth what the appraisal reflects. The reviewers are told to make sure the name, address, and lender is correct and send it out.

    You are dealing with people who don't understand the American real estate process. The appraisals are a mess and the appraisal panel is unaware that they are not being reviewed by USPAP compliant competent reviewers.

    India doesn't follow up with the appraisers or the clients as the company doesn't want anyone to know they are being reviewed overseas. That means reviewers in the US stop what they may or may not be doing (they don't do much these days). They may have to deal with private appraisers, re-review the report and correct the mistakes. But hey, they only paid pennies for the review. You get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Scott,
    • Port Charlotte,
    • Dec 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    1) They make you give them $2500 deposit to bid.

    2) They never release the "reserve not met".

    3) They never accept the highest bidders offer.

    4) You never have a contract until you accept their counter offer, which is much higher than your "highest bid".

    5) They have silent non-real bidders that are there only to drive the price up. They even tell you that they will do this. FRAUD.

    The bottom line is they have no real auction, it's only a way for the banks to get the highest bidder to start negotiating after the auction.

    They hold all the cards and you are left with wasting your time or overpaying for a foreclosed house.

    Why pay over retail because they will never sell it for the starting prices or even the highest bidders prices. That's what I believe and have seen over and over again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fees Recap

    • By Tina Bartel,
    • Southern California,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Had a client interested in one of these properties, they want to pay my brokerage 1% commission (finders fee) in exchange for me recommending to my client that he buy a home for all cash, with no inspections or contingencies, plus my Buyer pay XOME a 5% Buyer Premium on top of the sales price. They also want to issue a Special Warranty Deed (look that up compared to a traditional Grant Deed). Both Buyer and Seller are giving up all the protections of normal arms-length negotiations and time-tested contracts thru professional Agents. Even aside from the fees (which nobody is saving anyway) I do not see this company system being anything but a lawsuit waiting to happen for a client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a normal auction bidding engine

    • By Rosemary,
    • Providence, RI,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read the fairly skimpy FAQs on the site twice. As I understood the FAQs, this would be a regular auction where you place your highest bid through the engine and then the engine bids for you incrementally, up until you are above the level of the reserve (if it's below your bid), or you are the highest bidder at an increment just above the next highest bidder.

    But, when I went to place an actual bid, this was not the case.

    Instead, I typed in my highest bid, clicked the button and wham bang, my highest bid was posted on the site as a live bid immediately in total. The site noted the reserve was met, but did not say what that reserve had been. It just showed my highest bid as though it were my only bid. So, no incremental bidding occurred whatsoever.

    Note: there was no confirmation page to click through while bidding, so it was only a one-click process, which was also disconcerting.

    I immediately called the phone number. The service person who answered asked for my info and then told me I would not be the highest bid. I asked why she would say that so quickly because I've researched that property thoroughly and my high bid was very high, because I thought it had to be my best and final offer (as opposed to an incremental one). She would not explain.

    I asked her to remove my bid, given that the site was confusing and I misunderstood the process, and there was no confirmation screen. She said she could not do that.

    I asked her what to do. She said if I wind up being the highest bidder, I could then contact the seller and tell them I was not going to pay that amount and make them another, lower offer. Then she said the seller would get to decide if they should take my offer or relist the auction again.

    I said, "but that means the auction is not binding?" She said, "that's what I can do."

    I then tried to email the company by hitting "reply" to the bid confirmation email they sent me. However, my message did not go through because they have not set up an email box for the address they send emails "from" (the message I got was: Your message to AuctionAlerts@xome.com couldn't be delivered).

    AuctionAlerts wasn't found at Xome.com. Right now all I can see are a lot of red flags.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away - no service at all!

    • By Mike Green,
    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We are still waiting for them to call us back (over a week) after an agent never showed for the real estate appointment. They have not returned any of our phone calls either. All we want is for them to list our house on the MLS, we don't even care if an agent ever comes here or not.

    This is quite possibly the worst service I have ever received for anything. We have left six voicemails and have not heard anything back (yet?).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just a huge waste of time

    • By Steven Bush,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have always been wary of real estate auction sites but wanted an estate sale property that was only available on Xome.

    It turned out to be a waste of time. The property was just placed on the market so I rushed to inspect it and develop a remodeling budget so that I could submit my best and final offer during pre-bidding. I thought that was my best bet to buy the home, be fair to the seller and make a fair profit.

    Just a few hours after I submitted, I received an email that stated based on limited marketing time and interest all bidders are being referred to the auction, which is still a few days away.

    This whole thing seems like a disingenuous attempt to find one sucker that has enough cash and wrapped up in an auction frenzy to spend way too much.

    I can see this as a huge waste of time and effort trying to win an auction that isn't even binding if you have the highest bid.

    I will leave Xome properties to someone else and personally focus on fair prices and adding value to a property, not bidding on something that feels too much like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Over priced auctions

    • By Rahul Dub,
    • Washington DC,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw a listening which was originally listed for $170,000 for purchase, but also had preliminary auction through Xome.com. The bid started from $89,000 and ended up with a final bid of $169,000 (cash only). Add 5% of Xome.com's commission on the top of $169,000.

    After doing thorough research about Xome.com, I discovered that it is owned by Nationstar Mortgage Company. Their auctions are over-priced and fooling buyers by thinking that you are buying the property from the bank. Although you are initially buying the property from the bank, but Nationstar or Xome.com are third party agencies taking their hefty commissions and manipulating the auction bids. Nationstar should be investigated for manipulating auction prices and deceptive business tactics used by them to fool customers.

    Xome.com is nothing besides a fraud company intentionally started by Nationstar to manipulate house prices and fool buyers. Stay AWAY unless you want to purchase crappy damaged properties and pay overpriced bids through BIDDING. You are bidding against the Nationstar Mortgage Company, and they manipulate the bidding process and make buyers pay thousands of dollars over the house initial value and worst is their 5% commission on top of the overpriced bid! Fraudsters.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away!

    Overall Experience:

    Eighteen days after initial contact I still have not had an agent visit, and they are eight miles away. No contact whatsoever. I tried through an assigned out of state coordinator, and phone calls were not returned and emails not answered. I am very frustrated.

    I finally got a manager in Texas online, and after telling my story, she called back and said they did not want my business and accused me of using expletives with the coordinator. TOTAL LIE. I had one phone call with the person who accused me, and why use bad language on the initial phone call? All phone conversations are recorded, but the manager could not supply me any proof of accusation. These people are very shady!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your time

    Overall Experience:

    Please do not waste your time with Xome.com!

    I posted my home with forsalebyowner.com. They told me about a new program they are trying with Xome. It was free, so I thought I could at least give it a try, what could it hurt right? They are just helping me sell my home fast right? WRONG! I have had nothing but problems.

    They set me up with a "local" agent to help sell my home, turns out she lives in a different state! Hours away from me and my home. She came out to my house, took pictures and got information about our home. After about a week, I finally found ads for our home. None of the ads had the same information and she posted multiple things wrong! I had emailed her and let her know, just in case it was a mistake, it happens.

    Three weeks later, things were still not changed! When she looked at our home, she didn't have "for sale" signs with her so she said they would be to us at the end of the week. Over a month in a half later, after talking to a higher up in Xome with asking why the signs have not shown up yet and being told they had been mailed many times, I finally got a sign. Just the sign; no arrow and no way to put it in the ground, so that really doesn't do me any good.

    I have tried to contact our "local" agent many times with no response, so I contacted forsalebyowner.com to let them know what was going on since it makes them look bad as well. I then received a TEXT from our "local" agent, VERY unprofessional. She told me that putting the wrong things on ads (like putting it had more bathrooms than it really does) would only help me sell my home, not hurt it. Sorry, but that is lying and I just want this house gone. She also proceeds to tell me that if I want to sell my home quicker that I should just lower my price! This is with her putting in NO effort and before I finally got the "for sale" sign.

    I talked with the Xome "Relationship Manager" and told me that if there were any other problems that I could just contact her and she would handle everything. My house was also supped to be going up to this auction thing and she would let me know how it went when it was over. I have contacted this "Relationship Manager" about the signs still being wrong and asking about how the auction went. NO answer.

    Long story short, please do not waste your time with this like me. They are rude and have no interest in actually helping you. Sadly, I am still trying to deal with them, and I am now stuck with two house payments since they have just messed around with "selling" my home.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay clear. Better to pay a commission!

    • By Lili Marin,
    • Virginia,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This service is the most unprofessional experience I've ever lived through. They make it sound like they know what they're doing by having a concierge, a relationship manager and whatever else.

    My first referral to a real estate agent was to someone who did not have a license in my state. The second referral was a guy who called the selling price to my place "take it or leave it" without even seeing it. He used a CMA, which was not representative of my home. The third person who apparently was hand picked by a "manager," had not been in the field for more than two years and was not aware of what the program was about.

    When I called the manager to complain, she already knew I had asked enough questions of the guy to know she had not done the due diligence she promised. She stated that she did her best considering that I wanted to sell my property $300k above CAM. She called me a liar and said that she had emails to prove it, which was false because the only email chain was associated with the first rep who asked me what I thought my house was worth and I said I only knew the numbers that came up in Trulia and Zillow, which was nowhere close to her claim.

    Save yourselves time by being selective. Ask questions and ensure you have a reputable company watching your back. Not a bunch of amateurs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad website

    Overall Experience:

    I won the same house three times, and I found out the bank was bidding at the same time. I wouldn't suggest anyone using this website. Every time you register, they hold $2500.

    This is the worst company ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very unhappy and disappointed

    • By Viktor G,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I should have read reviews here before purchasing REO (real estate owned) property on their website and dealing with these guys. They don't answer their emails on time and are very unprofessional. It has been six months after we signed the contract and I still haven't closed. Constant issues, delays, excuses, etc. Just wasted lots of my time and never fixed any issues.

    Now, they better return my earnest money deposit and inspection fees otherwise I'll take them to court! Stay away from these guys!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pretentious "auction"

    • By Forrest Bell,
    • Cleveland, TX,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you're hoping for a deal, don't look here. Prices are inflated and controlled to guarantee seller advantage.

    I won two auctions here and got no closer to either with a contract resolution. Think of it as eBay for houses. I discovered other property/house options in those areas that I checked had sold for significantly LESS than I bid here online, and my bids were rejected! But, I was given an option on both to increase my bid. Hmm?

    Either enforce a legitimate auction with buyer friendly properties or, don't sell it as an auction.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My house is not my own?

    Overall Experience:

    Yesterday a man came to my house because he saw my car in the driveway. He asked if my house was in foreclosure. I said no and asked him why. He told me that it was up for auction on Xome.com. I was amazed, as my house was paid in full when I purchased it in October of last year. I looked it up, and sure enough, there was an older picture of my home. I was told by this man that there had been multiple bids made on my property and that he was so far the highest bid. Wow!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely horrible experience

    Overall Experience:

    One of, if not the worst, company I have ever had the displeasure of working with. Thankfully I have 35 years of real estate experience, and the realtor I used was able to navigate and tolerate their incompetence. It cost me $10,000.00 in legal fees and almost a year of time to make this deal become a reality. Buyers beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Highly unprofessional

    Overall Experience:

    A house I had an interest in was placed for sale on the Xome.com platform. My realtor signed up but was required to also enter the buyer's info.

    She submitted a pre-bid but was informed it was rejected. But when the bidding started my pre-bid was shown as the highest bid. This I found very strange.

    Then almost immediately I began receiving marketing materials to bid on other properties. This I found to be extremely unprofessional and unethical. Why were they trying to sell me other properties without contacting my agent? Why were they even contacting me directly?

    All of this suggests to me this company plays hard, fast and very loose with the real estate norms we expect in a transaction. After reading the low success rate here, I doubt I will participate in any further auctions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company ever

    • By Nichole M.,
    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used them to try and save the commission on my house. What they offer is crazy, who is going to be a buyer and pay a 5% fee on top of the house? I thought it sounded crazy, but I tried it.

    No luck! The guy they set me up with David Edward's was terrible. Apparently, he only works business hours, LOL. Monday-Friday, 9-5. What? He's a real estate agent. Most agents work non-business hours. He wasn't very attentive to text messages at all. I had to hold my own open house; he had a planned trip, which was fine, but told me someone else would do it.

    Finally, after three days, I text him and volunteered to do it myself since I hadn't heard from him. The following week I decided to call it quits and use my friend to list my home the traditional way. I texted him on Friday, no response all weekend. I heard back from him on Tuesday around 11, only because I texted him again. That's when he started talking about business hours and got nasty with me.

    The woman who was supposed to be my go-to person who works for Xome refused to call me back, her name was Dawn. You can't actually call the place either, you have to leave a message. They should have a 24-hour customer service line since they are selling homes. David also told me I would be on an auction site, which never happened. I was never listed on there. The company sucks. Look elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Vasyl F.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I won an apartment in their auction but it aspeared to be a scam. Also, they have a rule that allows the owner to make bids. This way they control the price. Stay away from any property listed there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing with service

    • By Donna H.,
    • Kansas,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been working with a realtor (non-local to the area) in regards to a property. After a lengthy time in getting to view (as it was over an hour to the property), I moved forward on getting the pre-approval as I was told auction dates were STARTING on the 24th of July. After contacting the realtor several times regarding several questions, I was told the auction ENDED at 2 on the 24th. There simply wasn't time to get that before. My banks hurried and I did get approval on the 26th, which would have enabled me to bid. I did my diligence as a consumer to make sure I had my information available and on time with the errant information I received.

    When contacting Xome, I was unable to get any information except to say they would contact an asset manager but would not give me any additional information or work to rectify the situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Agents are incompetent

    • By Alan G.,
    • Sebastian, FL,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For almost a month trying to get my properties listed, we went through two agents that didn't get back to us as they said they would.

    You're better off selling yourself; we are very dissatisfied with all this time waiting for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 61

Write a Review for Xome.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Xome.com