Xome.com Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Xome.com

Overall Rating

2.6

62 Customer Reviews

Summary

Xome is a new online-only company that helps buyers, sellers, and agents come together in an efficient manner, and to keep the process completely transparent.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.6 Stars out of 62 Reviews
5 Star:35% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:56%
40% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Xome.com:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 12, 2018

Seller Beware!

By Willem S., Springfield, MO, Verified Reviewer

Unless your house is a total dump, stay clear of these Xome people. I listed with them because I fell for their lies of no commission. Rather than paying the standard 3% to a listing realtor, I ended up paying not only the full 5%, but even the buyer's closing costs. Perhaps in an auction, someone would be willing to pay the 5% commission, but that would only be because they would buy the place at a greatly discounted price in the first place.

I give them a one-star rating only because I cannot give them a zero. I cannot say it enough - SELLER BEWARE! Even if the sales price seems reasonable, the closing costs you'll end up paying for both yourself and the buyer will bring your proceeds far below that which you would get through a standard realtor. Stay clear of Xome! You'll be glad you did!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2018

Beware, beware

By Josie S., Orchard Park, NY, Verified Reviewer

I bid on a home 20 seconds before the bidding ended. It appeared that I would have won the bid, except that Xome.com added ten more minutes to the bidding so that they could outbid me! Very unprofessional!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2018

Agents are incompetent

By Alan G., Sebastian, FL, Verified Reviewer

For almost a month trying to get my properties listed, we went through two agents that didn't get back to us as they said they would.

You're better off selling yourself; we are very dissatisfied with all this time waiting for nothing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 1, 2018

Disappointing with service

By Donna H., Kansas, Verified Reviewer

I had been working with a realtor (non-local to the area) in regards to a property. After a lengthy time in getting to view (as it was over an hour to the property), I moved forward on getting the pre-approval as I was told auction dates were STARTING on the 24th of July. After contacting the realtor several times regarding several questions, I was told the auction ENDED at 2 on the 24th. There simply wasn't time to get that before. My banks hurried and I did get approval on the 26th, which would have enabled me to bid. I did my diligence as a consumer to make sure I had my information available and on time with the errant information I received.

When contacting Xome, I was unable to get any information except to say they would contact an asset manager but would not give me any additional information or work to rectify the situation.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2018

Scam

By Vasyl F., New York, Verified Reviewer

I won an apartment in their auction but it aspeared to be a scam. Also, they have a rule that allows the owner to make bids. This way they control the price. Stay away from any property listed there.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2018

Worst company ever

By Nichole M., Wilmington, DE, Verified Reviewer

I used them to try and save the commission on my house. What they offer is crazy, who is going to be a buyer and pay a 5% fee on top of the house? I thought it sounded crazy, but I tried it.

No luck! The guy they set me up with David Edward's was terrible. Apparently, he only works business hours, LOL. Monday-Friday, 9-5. What? He's a real estate agent. Most agents work non-business hours. He wasn't very attentive to text messages at all. I had to hold my own open house; he had a planned trip, which was fine, but told me someone else would do it.

Finally, after three days, I text him and volunteered to do it myself since I hadn't heard from him. The following week I decided to call it quits and use my friend to list my home the traditional way. I texted him on Friday, no response all weekend. I heard back from him on Tuesday around 11, only because I texted him again. That's when he started talking about business hours and got nasty with me.

The woman who was supposed to be my go-to person who works for Xome refused to call me back, her name was Dawn. You can't actually call the place either, you have to leave a message. They should have a 24-hour customer service line since they are selling homes. David also told me I would be on an auction site, which never happened. I was never listed on there. The company sucks. Look elsewhere.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on May 21, 2018

Great experience!

By Donna Baker, Newman Lake, WA, Verified Reviewer

Xome helped us buy and sell a home. They provided excellent customer service and saved us money on both selling and buying. We did run into some problems at the beginning of the buying process, but Xome stepped up to the plate and solved our issues immediately. I would definitely recommend their services.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 9, 2018

Highly unprofessional

By Kevin Williams, New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

A house I had an interest in was placed for sale on the Xome.com platform. My realtor signed up but was required to also enter the buyer's info.

She submitted a pre-bid but was informed it was rejected. But when the bidding started my pre-bid was shown as the highest bid. This I found very strange.

Then almost immediately I began receiving marketing materials to bid on other properties. This I found to be extremely unprofessional and unethical. Why were they trying to sell me other properties without contacting my agent? Why were they even contacting me directly?

All of this suggests to me this company plays hard, fast and very loose with the real estate norms we expect in a transaction. After reading the low success rate here, I doubt I will participate in any further auctions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2018

Absolutely horrible experience

By Pete Tummillo, Florida, Verified Reviewer

One of, if not the worst, company I have ever had the displeasure of working with. Thankfully I have 35 years of real estate experience, and the realtor I used was able to navigate and tolerate their incompetence. It cost me $10,000.00 in legal fees and almost a year of time to make this deal become a reality. Buyers beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2018

My house is not my own?

By Linda Jenkins, Arizona, Verified Reviewer

Yesterday a man came to my house because he saw my car in the driveway. He asked if my house was in foreclosure. I said no and asked him why. He told me that it was up for auction on Xome.com. I was amazed, as my house was paid in full when I purchased it in October of last year. I looked it up, and sure enough, there was an older picture of my home. I was told by this man that there had been multiple bids made on my property and that he was so far the highest bid. Wow!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2018

My experience was positive

By Candace Cashwell, Ladson, SC, Verified Reviewer

I see a lot of bad reviews for Xome, and I don’t understand why. I bought my house off their auction, and I didn’t have any problems. It did cost me $2000 to bid, but that’s earnest money that you would pay to bid on any auction house period and to be expected.

Xome was very prompt with our paperwork, and they were happy to assist us when we needed it. I think they did an excellent job and I’m very pleased with them. The only thing I didn’t like is that I was told it was a one time only bid, so I started with my best offer, but that was because the realtor told us that and had nothing to do with Xome whatsoever.

I LOVE our house, we still bought it at an incredible deal, and Xome made it easy.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 20, 2017

Pretentious "auction"

By Forrest Bell, Cleveland, TX, Verified Reviewer

If you're hoping for a deal, don't look here. Prices are inflated and controlled to guarantee seller advantage.

I won two auctions here and got no closer to either with a contract resolution. Think of it as eBay for houses. I discovered other property/house options in those areas that I checked had sold for significantly LESS than I bid here online, and my bids were rejected! But, I was given an option on both to increase my bid. Hmm?

Either enforce a legitimate auction with buyer friendly properties or, don't sell it as an auction.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 2, 2017

Great company! Got my home sold!

By Michele Carroll, Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Great company! I was trying to sell my home for sale by owner and gave up. Too many tire kickers. Xome.com assigned me to an amazing agent who got it sold for me fast and painlessly. I would definitely use them, again. I didn't pay any fees or commissions which made it even better.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2017

Very unhappy and disappointed

By Viktor G, Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

I should have read reviews here before purchasing REO (real estate owned) property on their website and dealing with these guys. They don't answer their emails on time and are very unprofessional. It has been six months after we signed the contract and I still haven't closed. Constant issues, delays, excuses, etc. Just wasted lots of my time and never fixed any issues.

Now, they better return my earnest money deposit and inspection fees otherwise I'll take them to court! Stay away from these guys!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2017

Bad website

By Ilir Rexhepi, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I won the same house three times, and I found out the bank was bidding at the same time. I wouldn't suggest anyone using this website. Every time you register, they hold $2500.

This is the worst company ever.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2017

Stay clear. Better to pay a commission!

By Lili Marin, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

This service is the most unprofessional experience I've ever lived through. They make it sound like they know what they're doing by having a concierge, a relationship manager and whatever else.

My first referral to a real estate agent was to someone who did not have a license in my state. The second referral was a guy who called the selling price to my place "take it or leave it" without even seeing it. He used a CMA, which was not representative of my home. The third person who apparently was hand picked by a "manager," had not been in the field for more than two years and was not aware of what the program was about.

When I called the manager to complain, she already knew I had asked enough questions of the guy to know she had not done the due diligence she promised. She stated that she did her best considering that I wanted to sell my property $300k above CAM. She called me a liar and said that she had emails to prove it, which was false because the only email chain was associated with the first rep who asked me what I thought my house was worth and I said I only knew the numbers that came up in Trulia and Zillow, which was nowhere close to her claim.

Save yourselves time by being selective. Ask questions and ensure you have a reputable company watching your back. Not a bunch of amateurs!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2017

Don't waste your time

By Daytona Grass, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Please do not waste your time with Xome.com!

I posted my home with forsalebyowner.com. They told me about a new program they are trying with Xome. It was free, so I thought I could at least give it a try, what could it hurt right? They are just helping me sell my home fast right? WRONG! I have had nothing but problems.

They set me up with a "local" agent to help sell my home, turns out she lives in a different state! Hours away from me and my home. She came out to my house, took pictures and got information about our home. After about a week, I finally found ads for our home. None of the ads had the same information and she posted multiple things wrong! I had emailed her and let her know, just in case it was a mistake, it happens.

Three weeks later, things were still not changed! When she looked at our home, she didn't have "for sale" signs with her so she said they would be to us at the end of the week. Over a month in a half later, after talking to a higher up in Xome with asking why the signs have not shown up yet and being told they had been mailed many times, I finally got a sign. Just the sign; no arrow and no way to put it in the ground, so that really doesn't do me any good.

I have tried to contact our "local" agent many times with no response, so I contacted forsalebyowner.com to let them know what was going on since it makes them look bad as well. I then received a TEXT from our "local" agent, VERY unprofessional. She told me that putting the wrong things on ads (like putting it had more bathrooms than it really does) would only help me sell my home, not hurt it. Sorry, but that is lying and I just want this house gone. She also proceeds to tell me that if I want to sell my home quicker that I should just lower my price! This is with her putting in NO effort and before I finally got the "for sale" sign.

I talked with the Xome "Relationship Manager" and told me that if there were any other problems that I could just contact her and she would handle everything. My house was also supped to be going up to this auction thing and she would let me know how it went when it was over. I have contacted this "Relationship Manager" about the signs still being wrong and asking about how the auction went. NO answer.

Long story short, please do not waste your time with this like me. They are rude and have no interest in actually helping you. Sadly, I am still trying to deal with them, and I am now stuck with two house payments since they have just messed around with "selling" my home.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2017

Stay away!

By Richard Rodgers, Sidney, Maine, Verified Reviewer

Eighteen days after initial contact I still have not had an agent visit, and they are eight miles away. No contact whatsoever. I tried through an assigned out of state coordinator, and phone calls were not returned and emails not answered. I am very frustrated.

I finally got a manager in Texas online, and after telling my story, she called back and said they did not want my business and accused me of using expletives with the coordinator. TOTAL LIE. I had one phone call with the person who accused me, and why use bad language on the initial phone call? All phone conversations are recorded, but the manager could not supply me any proof of accusation. These people are very shady!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2017

Over priced auctions

By Rahul Dub, Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

I saw a listening which was originally listed for $170,000 for purchase, but also had preliminary auction through Xome.com. The bid started from $89,000 and ended up with a final bid of $169,000 (cash only). Add 5% of Xome.com's commission on the top of $169,000.

After doing thorough research about Xome.com, I discovered that it is owned by Nationstar Mortgage Company. Their auctions are over-priced and fooling buyers by thinking that you are buying the property from the bank. Although you are initially buying the property from the bank, but Nationstar or Xome.com are third party agencies taking their hefty commissions and manipulating the auction bids. Nationstar should be investigated for manipulating auction prices and deceptive business tactics used by them to fool customers.

Xome.com is nothing besides a fraud company intentionally started by Nationstar to manipulate house prices and fool buyers. Stay AWAY unless you want to purchase crappy damaged properties and pay overpriced bids through BIDDING. You are bidding against the Nationstar Mortgage Company, and they manipulate the bidding process and make buyers pay thousands of dollars over the house initial value and worst is their 5% commission on top of the overpriced bid! Fraudsters.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

Just a huge waste of time

By Steven Bush, Spokane, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have always been wary of real estate auction sites but wanted an estate sale property that was only available on Xome.

It turned out to be a waste of time. The property was just placed on the market so I rushed to inspect it and develop a remodeling budget so that I could submit my best and final offer during pre-bidding. I thought that was my best bet to buy the home, be fair to the seller and make a fair profit.

Just a few hours after I submitted, I received an email that stated based on limited marketing time and interest all bidders are being referred to the auction, which is still a few days away.

This whole thing seems like a disingenuous attempt to find one sucker that has enough cash and wrapped up in an auction frenzy to spend way too much.

I can see this as a huge waste of time and effort trying to win an auction that isn't even binding if you have the highest bid.

I will leave Xome properties to someone else and personally focus on fair prices and adding value to a property, not bidding on something that feels too much like a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2017

Are auctions real?

By Sarah, Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

I've successfully bought houses from auction.com and Hubzu but can't figure out if Xome.com is even a real auction.

I bid on three properties this week. All three were listed on MLS. When I entered a bid in increments stated on the website, the next bid would always jump by thousands more than the bid increment. In one case, the bid increment was $2500, but the next bid was $10,000 higher. This continued until the price reached the MLS list price. I'm well aware that these sites bid for the bank, but this seemed like it wasn't a real auction and that they were trying to see how much more they could get over the MLS list price, which was too high for a repo in the properties' conditions. No "real" bidder would voluntarily run the price up by that much more than required.

I'm curious whether this is always the case. It would be much easier just to make an offer with the listing agent than waste days playing online only to find out it was going to go for more than asking anyway. Or if that's the case, just start the bidding at something reasonable and don't waste people's time with marketing it so low just to generate interest. I'm fine with the bank bidding, but these auctions didn't seem like real auctions at all.

I think I'll just go through the agents or buy other properties from now on. The only positive is that they released my credit card hold immediately, unlike some other sites.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 26, 2017

Run away - no service at all!

By Mike Green, Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

We are still waiting for them to call us back (over a week) after an agent never showed for the real estate appointment. They have not returned any of our phone calls either. All we want is for them to list our house on the MLS, we don't even care if an agent ever comes here or not.

This is quite possibly the worst service I have ever received for anything. We have left six voicemails and have not heard anything back (yet?).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2017

Not a normal auction bidding engine

By Rosemary, Providence, RI, Verified Reviewer

I read the fairly skimpy FAQs on the site twice. As I understood the FAQs, this would be a regular auction where you place your highest bid through the engine and then the engine bids for you incrementally, up until you are above the level of the reserve (if it's below your bid), or you are the highest bidder at an increment just above the next highest bidder.

But, when I went to place an actual bid, this was not the case.

Instead, I typed in my highest bid, clicked the button and wham bang, my highest bid was posted on the site as a live bid immediately in total. The site noted the reserve was met, but did not say what that reserve had been. It just showed my highest bid as though it were my only bid. So, no incremental bidding occurred whatsoever.

Note: there was no confirmation page to click through while bidding, so it was only a one-click process, which was also disconcerting.

I immediately called the phone number. The service person who answered asked for my info and then told me I would not be the highest bid. I asked why she would say that so quickly because I've researched that property thoroughly and my high bid was very high, because I thought it had to be my best and final offer (as opposed to an incremental one). She would not explain.

I asked her to remove my bid, given that the site was confusing and I misunderstood the process, and there was no confirmation screen. She said she could not do that.

I asked her what to do. She said if I wind up being the highest bidder, I could then contact the seller and tell them I was not going to pay that amount and make them another, lower offer. Then she said the seller would get to decide if they should take my offer or relist the auction again.

I said, "but that means the auction is not binding?" She said, "that's what I can do."

I then tried to email the company by hitting "reply" to the bid confirmation email they sent me. However, my message did not go through because they have not set up an email box for the address they send emails "from" (the message I got was: Your message to AuctionAlerts@xome.com couldn't be delivered).

AuctionAlerts wasn't found at Xome.com. Right now all I can see are a lot of red flags.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 26, 2016

Fees Recap

By Tina Bartel, Southern California, Verified Reviewer

Had a client interested in one of these properties, they want to pay my brokerage 1% commission (finders fee) in exchange for me recommending to my client that he buy a home for all cash, with no inspections or contingencies, plus my Buyer pay XOME a 5% Buyer Premium on top of the sales price. They also want to issue a Special Warranty Deed (look that up compared to a traditional Grant Deed). Both Buyer and Seller are giving up all the protections of normal arms-length negotiations and time-tested contracts thru professional Agents. Even aside from the fees (which nobody is saving anyway) I do not see this company system being anything but a lawsuit waiting to happen for a client.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 18, 2016

Scam

By Scott, Port Charlotte, Verified Reviewer

1) They make you give them $2500 deposit to bid.

2) They never release the "reserve not met".

3) They never accept the highest bidders offer.

4) You never have a contract until you accept their counter offer, which is much higher than your "highest bid".

5) They have silent non-real bidders that are there only to drive the price up. They even tell you that they will do this. FRAUD.

The bottom line is they have no real auction, it's only a way for the banks to get the highest bidder to start negotiating after the auction.

They hold all the cards and you are left with wasting your time or overpaying for a foreclosed house.

Why pay over retail because they will never sell it for the starting prices or even the highest bidders prices. That's what I believe and have seen over and over again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 9, 2016

Had trouble making a Deposit to Bid

By Wade, Sarasota, Florida, Verified Reviewer

Currently, I tried to make a Deposit to Bid on a property in one of the Xome auctions, but they only allow a credit card payment for the Deposit, and will not accept any other option to pay it, such as a Debit Card or Bank Wire. I cannot reach anyone to discuss this issue with them.

This really disappoints me, because I previously purchased a property on their Homesearch site, and did not use a credit card, but was able to Bid on and Buy a property, and Closed on that sale with no problem.

Unfortunately, the Xome people don't care that I am a previous customer, they are not helping me to pay a Deposit using any other form of payment, other than a credit card.

That is Poor customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2016

Careless internal appraisal tactics

By Anon, Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

I worked in this company and saw first hand how the appraisal practice is completed. From the outside, it appears that they are an in-house review team and appraisers. While there are some, they have laid off 6 reviewers and at least 1 in-house appraiser. They now have only 5 reviewers in-house to review ALL appraisals for every loan. This includes Nationstar, all its sub-affiliates, and other large banking institutions.

Well, it is possible when they lay off over half the staff and send the appraisals to India where they can pay people pennies to review YOUR appraisal. I have seen the work first hand and know they do not know how to review properly in accordance with USPAP, federal, state & local laws.

Nationstar/Solutionstar/Xome do not care if your appraisal is wrong. Beware of using this company as home buyers may be getting a mortgage on a house not worth what the appraisal reflects. The reviewers are told to make sure the name, address, and lender is correct and send it out.

You are dealing with people who don't understand the American real estate process. The appraisals are a mess and the appraisal panel is unaware that they are not being reviewed by USPAP compliant competent reviewers.

India doesn't follow up with the appraisers or the clients as the company doesn't want anyone to know they are being reviewed overseas. That means reviewers in the US stop what they may or may not be doing (they don't do much these days). They may have to deal with private appraisers, re-review the report and correct the mistakes. But hey, they only paid pennies for the review. You get what you pay for.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 62

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.