Read 60 Xome.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Careless internal appraisal tactics

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked in this company and saw first hand how the appraisal practice is completed. From the outside, it appears that they are an in-house review team and appraisers. While there are some, they have laid off 6 reviewers and at least 1 in-house appraiser. They now have only 5 reviewers in-house to review ALL appraisals for every loan. This includes Nationstar, all its sub-affiliates, and other large banking institutions.

    Well, it is possible when they lay off over half the staff and send the appraisals to India where they can pay people pennies to review YOUR appraisal. I have seen the work first hand and know they do not know how to review properly in accordance with USPAP, federal, state & local laws.

    Nationstar/Solutionstar/Xome do not care if your appraisal is wrong. Beware of using this company as home buyers may be getting a mortgage on a house not worth what the appraisal reflects. The reviewers are told to make sure the name, address, and lender is correct and send it out.

    You are dealing with people who don't understand the American real estate process. The appraisals are a mess and the appraisal panel is unaware that they are not being reviewed by USPAP compliant competent reviewers.

    India doesn't follow up with the appraisers or the clients as the company doesn't want anyone to know they are being reviewed overseas. That means reviewers in the US stop what they may or may not be doing (they don't do much these days). They may have to deal with private appraisers, re-review the report and correct the mistakes. But hey, they only paid pennies for the review. You get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Are auctions real?

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've successfully bought houses from auction.com and Hubzu but can't figure out if Xome.com is even a real auction.

    I bid on three properties this week. All three were listed on MLS. When I entered a bid in increments stated on the website, the next bid would always jump by thousands more than the bid increment. In one case, the bid increment was $2500, but the next bid was $10,000 higher. This continued until the price reached the MLS list price. I'm well aware that these sites bid for the bank, but this seemed like it wasn't a real auction and that they were trying to see how much more they could get over the MLS list price, which was too high for a repo in the properties' conditions. No "real" bidder would voluntarily run the price up by that much more than required.

    I'm curious whether this is always the case. It would be much easier just to make an offer with the listing agent than waste days playing online only to find out it was going to go for more than asking anyway. Or if that's the case, just start the bidding at something reasonable and don't waste people's time with marketing it so low just to generate interest. I'm fine with the bank bidding, but these auctions didn't seem like real auctions at all.

    I think I'll just go through the agents or buy other properties from now on. The only positive is that they released my credit card hold immediately, unlike some other sites.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Run away - no service at all!

    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are still waiting for them to call us back (over a week) after an agent never showed for the real estate appointment. They have not returned any of our phone calls either. All we want is for them to list our house on the MLS, we don't even care if an agent ever comes here or not.

    This is quite possibly the worst service I have ever received for anything. We have left six voicemails and have not heard anything back (yet?).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bad website

    I won the same house three times, and I found out the bank was bidding at the same time. I wouldn't suggest anyone using this website. Every time you register, they hold $2500.

    This is the worst company ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Beware: pricing is fixed.

    • Statesville, NC,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an agent doing price opinions for this company, I have seen this repeat, they don't want a true value of the property, they have a QC department that continually sends reports back and request changes to a honest report to value property lower than the original report would show. I have a license and integrity and will no longer do reports for them. This false value may benefit a buyer but does not treat sellers with a fair and beneficial service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Contract altering or change at Xome benifit and agent expense

    • Orange County, California,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I signed up on their web site as a real estate agent which included a listing agreement that pays a referral fee to Xome on a sliding scale. Just received an email that states that Xome is changing the original referral fee for their benefit at my expense. It referenced where in the original listing agreement it gave Xome the authority to do so. This made me feel that the intent of the contract was a little misleading and one sided. It is not mutually beneficial but rather empowering Xome the ability to control their income by changing the terms of the contract without justification and at their sole discretion and benefit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Xome Conference

    • Ocean City New Jersey,
    • Nov 23, 2015

    I recently returned from a Xome Conference in Texas and the entire business plan boils down to taking commissions from the Realtor and using it as a discount to the buyer or seller. What geniuses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Just a huge waste of time

    • Spokane, WA,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have always been wary of real estate auction sites but wanted an estate sale property that was only available on Xome.

    It turned out to be a waste of time. The property was just placed on the market so I rushed to inspect it and develop a remodeling budget so that I could submit my best and final offer during pre-bidding. I thought that was my best bet to buy the home, be fair to the seller and make a fair profit.

    Just a few hours after I submitted, I received an email that stated based on limited marketing time and interest all bidders are being referred to the auction, which is still a few days away.

    This whole thing seems like a disingenuous attempt to find one sucker that has enough cash and wrapped up in an auction frenzy to spend way too much.

    I can see this as a huge waste of time and effort trying to win an auction that isn't even binding if you have the highest bid.

    I will leave Xome properties to someone else and personally focus on fair prices and adding value to a property, not bidding on something that feels too much like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy and disappointed

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have read reviews here before purchasing REO (real estate owned) property on their website and dealing with these guys. They don't answer their emails on time and are very unprofessional. It has been six months after we signed the contract and I still haven't closed. Constant issues, delays, excuses, etc. Just wasted lots of my time and never fixed any issues.

    Now, they better return my earnest money deposit and inspection fees otherwise I'll take them to court! Stay away from these guys!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    The whole auction is a scam

    • Greenlawn, NY,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently bid on an auction and lost in the last 30 seconds (I could have bid more, but I was at my limit). The house was listed as financeable. Two weeks later after I put the house behind me, I get a call that the person who won backed out and if I want the house then it’s mine. I had 24 hours to make a decision. I had to run around, go see the house again, get all my paperwork together, all with two small kids and a job to get this all in for them. I find out 3 days later the bank didn’t accept my offer and they are looking for a cash offer. I have a feeling one of their insiders bumped up my price by outbidding me to drive their price up. I was way over the reserve price which is the minimum they wanted. Why list something as financeable if it’s not? If I really won the auction fair and square then why didn’t I get the house? Bunch of crap for nothing. I’ll never recommend Xome. They're a bunch of crooks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Had trouble making a Deposit to Bid

    • Sarasota, Florida,
    • Dec 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Currently, I tried to make a Deposit to Bid on a property in one of the Xome auctions, but they only allow a credit card payment for the Deposit, and will not accept any other option to pay it, such as a Debit Card or Bank Wire. I cannot reach anyone to discuss this issue with them.

    This really disappoints me, because I previously purchased a property on their Homesearch site, and did not use a credit card, but was able to Bid on and Buy a property, and Closed on that sale with no problem.

    Unfortunately, the Xome people don't care that I am a previous customer, they are not helping me to pay a Deposit using any other form of payment, other than a credit card.

    That is Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 60

Write a Review for Xome.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review