Read 60 Xome.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 60
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Just a huge waste of time

    • Spokane, WA,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have always been wary of real estate auction sites but wanted an estate sale property that was only available on Xome.

    It turned out to be a waste of time. The property was just placed on the market so I rushed to inspect it and develop a remodeling budget so that I could submit my best and final offer during pre-bidding. I thought that was my best bet to buy the home, be fair to the seller and make a fair profit.

    Just a few hours after I submitted, I received an email that stated based on limited marketing time and interest all bidders are being referred to the auction, which is still a few days away.

    This whole thing seems like a disingenuous attempt to find one sucker that has enough cash and wrapped up in an auction frenzy to spend way too much.

    I can see this as a huge waste of time and effort trying to win an auction that isn't even binding if you have the highest bid.

    I will leave Xome properties to someone else and personally focus on fair prices and adding value to a property, not bidding on something that feels too much like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Are auctions real?

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've successfully bought houses from auction.com and Hubzu but can't figure out if Xome.com is even a real auction.

    I bid on three properties this week. All three were listed on MLS. When I entered a bid in increments stated on the website, the next bid would always jump by thousands more than the bid increment. In one case, the bid increment was $2500, but the next bid was $10,000 higher. This continued until the price reached the MLS list price. I'm well aware that these sites bid for the bank, but this seemed like it wasn't a real auction and that they were trying to see how much more they could get over the MLS list price, which was too high for a repo in the properties' conditions. No "real" bidder would voluntarily run the price up by that much more than required.

    I'm curious whether this is always the case. It would be much easier just to make an offer with the listing agent than waste days playing online only to find out it was going to go for more than asking anyway. Or if that's the case, just start the bidding at something reasonable and don't waste people's time with marketing it so low just to generate interest. I'm fine with the bank bidding, but these auctions didn't seem like real auctions at all.

    I think I'll just go through the agents or buy other properties from now on. The only positive is that they released my credit card hold immediately, unlike some other sites.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Run away - no service at all!

    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are still waiting for them to call us back (over a week) after an agent never showed for the real estate appointment. They have not returned any of our phone calls either. All we want is for them to list our house on the MLS, we don't even care if an agent ever comes here or not.

    This is quite possibly the worst service I have ever received for anything. We have left six voicemails and have not heard anything back (yet?).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Not a normal auction bidding engine

    • Providence, RI,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the fairly skimpy FAQs on the site twice. As I understood the FAQs, this would be a regular auction where you place your highest bid through the engine and then the engine bids for you incrementally, up until you are above the level of the reserve (if it's below your bid), or you are the highest bidder at an increment just above the next highest bidder.

    But, when I went to place an actual bid, this was not the case.

    Instead, I typed in my highest bid, clicked the button and wham bang, my highest bid was posted on the site as a live bid immediately in total. The site noted the reserve was met, but did not say what that reserve had been. It just showed my highest bid as though it were my only bid. So, no incremental bidding occurred whatsoever.

    Note: there was no confirmation page to click through while bidding, so it was only a one-click process, which was also disconcerting.

    I immediately called the phone number. The service person who answered asked for my info and then told me I would not be the highest bid. I asked why she would say that so quickly because I've researched that property thoroughly and my high bid was very high, because I thought it had to be my best and final offer (as opposed to an incremental one). She would not explain.

    I asked her to remove my bid, given that the site was confusing and I misunderstood the process, and there was no confirmation screen. She said she could not do that.

    I asked her what to do. She said if I wind up being the highest bidder, I could then contact the seller and tell them I was not going to pay that amount and make them another, lower offer. Then she said the seller would get to decide if they should take my offer or relist the auction again.

    I said, "but that means the auction is not binding?" She said, "that's what I can do."

    I then tried to email the company by hitting "reply" to the bid confirmation email they sent me. However, my message did not go through because they have not set up an email box for the address they send emails "from" (the message I got was: Your message to AuctionAlerts@xome.com couldn't be delivered).

    AuctionAlerts wasn't found at Xome.com. Right now all I can see are a lot of red flags.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Fees Recap

    • Southern California,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had a client interested in one of these properties, they want to pay my brokerage 1% commission (finders fee) in exchange for me recommending to my client that he buy a home for all cash, with no inspections or contingencies, plus my Buyer pay XOME a 5% Buyer Premium on top of the sales price. They also want to issue a Special Warranty Deed (look that up compared to a traditional Grant Deed). Both Buyer and Seller are giving up all the protections of normal arms-length negotiations and time-tested contracts thru professional Agents. Even aside from the fees (which nobody is saving anyway) I do not see this company system being anything but a lawsuit waiting to happen for a client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Port Charlotte,
    • Dec 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    1) They make you give them $2500 deposit to bid.

    2) They never release the "reserve not met".

    3) They never accept the highest bidders offer.

    4) You never have a contract until you accept their counter offer, which is much higher than your "highest bid".

    5) They have silent non-real bidders that are there only to drive the price up. They even tell you that they will do this. FRAUD.

    The bottom line is they have no real auction, it's only a way for the banks to get the highest bidder to start negotiating after the auction.

    They hold all the cards and you are left with wasting your time or overpaying for a foreclosed house.

    Why pay over retail because they will never sell it for the starting prices or even the highest bidders prices. That's what I believe and have seen over and over again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Had trouble making a Deposit to Bid

    • Sarasota, Florida,
    • Dec 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Currently, I tried to make a Deposit to Bid on a property in one of the Xome auctions, but they only allow a credit card payment for the Deposit, and will not accept any other option to pay it, such as a Debit Card or Bank Wire. I cannot reach anyone to discuss this issue with them.

    This really disappoints me, because I previously purchased a property on their Homesearch site, and did not use a credit card, but was able to Bid on and Buy a property, and Closed on that sale with no problem.

    Unfortunately, the Xome people don't care that I am a previous customer, they are not helping me to pay a Deposit using any other form of payment, other than a credit card.

    That is Poor customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Careless internal appraisal tactics

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked in this company and saw first hand how the appraisal practice is completed. From the outside, it appears that they are an in-house review team and appraisers. While there are some, they have laid off 6 reviewers and at least 1 in-house appraiser. They now have only 5 reviewers in-house to review ALL appraisals for every loan. This includes Nationstar, all its sub-affiliates, and other large banking institutions.

    Well, it is possible when they lay off over half the staff and send the appraisals to India where they can pay people pennies to review YOUR appraisal. I have seen the work first hand and know they do not know how to review properly in accordance with USPAP, federal, state & local laws.

    Nationstar/Solutionstar/Xome do not care if your appraisal is wrong. Beware of using this company as home buyers may be getting a mortgage on a house not worth what the appraisal reflects. The reviewers are told to make sure the name, address, and lender is correct and send it out.

    You are dealing with people who don't understand the American real estate process. The appraisals are a mess and the appraisal panel is unaware that they are not being reviewed by USPAP compliant competent reviewers.

    India doesn't follow up with the appraisers or the clients as the company doesn't want anyone to know they are being reviewed overseas. That means reviewers in the US stop what they may or may not be doing (they don't do much these days). They may have to deal with private appraisers, re-review the report and correct the mistakes. But hey, they only paid pennies for the review. You get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Went bad

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was awarded a home. Sent out earnest money deposit. Then could not get in touch with anyone to know where my money was. Took weeks before I could talk to an attorney that said they were not handling this anymore. Got finally the "seller" attorney. Signed a contract of sale. Waiting for the closing, months passed. Closing date never came. Instead a cancelation notice from bank. My attorney sends me back my deposit MINUS $2,500 that I can not get back. Never again. This all looks shady, especially that there was no one there after they get their money. All up in the air waiting for closing, or not. And on top of this my attorney charges me anyway. This was not a good experience and I'm out a lot of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Extremely difficult to receive answers after closing

    I represented a cash buyer that recently purchased a house through XOME and a $300 "buyers agent bonus" was offered. We utilized a local title company to process the transaction. When I requested the $300 be charged on the HUD closing statement, the local title company advised me that "They are paying for zero fees. Your $300 will come to you after the closing from the auction company." When I contacted XOME inquiring about our check approximately 1 week after the closing, the response was "usually 30 days after closing" is when I can expect our commission check.

    I contacted XOME again on day 30, and was told "your check was sent on Monday UPS, per the Accounting Department." It is now Thursday, 35 days after closing, and XOME cannot provide a UPS tracking number that affirms they have mailed the check, and to the correct address. Their customer service has been absolutely horrible. If they actually had mailed our commission check via SNAIL MAIL we would have received it by now. XOME would not provide any contact information for their Accounting Department, not even an email address to contact. I've left voice messages with Customer Service, also a Manager, without any response. BEWARE if you conduct business with XOME, do not expect to be compensated in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 15 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • Redondo Beach, CA,
    • May 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just came across this thread kind of by accident and feel compelled to comment. I've been a broker for 29 years and have sold over 5000 properties, including about 30 through XOME. Any agent will gladly give a referral fee for a good listing or buyer that closes, it's done all the time. The site could be a little more intuitive, but so far I've had nothing but good experiences with the people I've dealt with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 60

Write a Review for Xome.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review