About Zip Trim

Published on: May 31, 2017

Despite its portable design and handheld size, Zip Trim promises to provide all the RPM power of a traditional trimmer, without the weight, expense, mess, or fuss related to gas or electric trimmers.

The product’s website indicates you only have to attach any standard zip ties (which can be cut down for more precision work), turn it on, and the device will powerfully clip weeds and help you do all your cleanup work in seconds.

It also comes with a lightweight extension pole for hard-to-reach places, as well as protective debris shield for extra safety.

While gas and electric trimmers often do the job, there’s no doubt they can be inconvenient with filling up tanks, plugging in cords, walking back and forth to your storage area, and so forth. But will Zip Trim alleviate these problems, or just create other unforeseen ones?

Zip Trim vs. Traditional Gas & Electric String Trimmers

Although both options feature spinning heads, replaceable plastic strings, and portable motors, the functional differences between Zip Trim and standard options couldn’t be more drastic. Let’s take a quick look:

Gas Trimmers – Like most gas powered options, gas trimmers measure the size of their engines in cubic centimeters (cc) and typically deliver the most power. As a result, they’re often the first choice if you’re looking to clear dense, thick weeds.

However, they also require messy maintenance (oil, gas, etc.), are loud, and aren’t exactly environmentally friendly.

Electric Trimmers – Typically measured in volts, electric trimmers often aren’t as powerful as their gas-engined brethren, although they’re almost always quieter and more environmentally friendly.

Unless they have a built-in rechargeable battery, though, you’ll be tied to a cord, which can be cumbersome and not always easy to use.

Zip Trim – Although we didn't test it directly, since it's powered only by a replaceable battery, Zip Trim is sure to be the least powerful option compared to traditional gas and electric models.

Sure, it might spin at a similar RPM (as claimed on the device’s website), but when comparing all your trimmer options, torque (the force at which something spins) is generally more important that how fast it spins. In real-world terms, the less power a trimmer has, the easier it can be stopped by plant matter.

Outside of power, the other big difference between Zip Trim and traditional models is that the latter use “bump heads,” which feed a pre-measured length of line every time they’re tapped on the ground. On the other hand, the former uses replaceable zip ties.

Again, we didn't test it ourselves, and we certainly recognize that bump heads are less-than-ideal in some circumstances, but we have to wonder: Will manually replacing zip ties be any easier?

After all, it seems like you’d need a pair of pliers or a razor blade to remove the loop where it connects to Zip Trim, meaning you’ll need to carry these tools around with you while you use the device, or take frequent trips to your tool shed—one of the things it promises to alleviate in the first place.

What will you pay for this claimed ease of use?

How Much Does Zip Trim Cost?

While gas and electric trimmers can cost hundreds of dollars, two trimmers are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H. Each set includes:

  • Lightweight extension pole
  • Protective debris shield
  • 24 zip ties

All Zip Trims come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. Keep in mind this means you’ll lose your initial $15.98 charge, plus whatever it will cost to ship your devices back to the manufacturer.

Ultimately, depending on where you live in relation to New Jersey, it’s not difficult to see that you could end up losing more money than you get back as a refund if you’re dissatisfied.

Pro tip: Also, keep in mind that you’ll need to purchase replace zip ties once you run out. Which, inch-for-inch, is typically more expensive than traditional plastic trimmer line.

Nonetheless, customer support can be reached at 866-533-1178.

How does this price compare? Does the device have any competition?

Are There Other Products Like Zip Trim?

While we found dozens of grass shears (basically, combining a hedge trimmer and a grass trimmer) during our research, we didn’t encounter anything designed like Zip Trim. So, if you’re looking for something exactly like it, it appeared to be the only game in town.

However, we did find plenty of DIY options (here’s but one example) about how to replace the traditional plastic string with zip ties on your existing gas or electric trimmer.

Using this same idea, after finding his original version didn’t work very well, YouTube user MrBulletpoints made a second attempt with thicker zip ties and found that this option actually worked fairly well:

https://youtu.be/1dgQSl2DHzg

But might you reasonably expect to experience any of the same with Zip Trim? Let’s continue this thought in the next section as we come to a conclusion.

What’s the Bottom Line About Zip Trim?

Again, if you’re looking for something exactly like Zip Trim, it appears you’re limited to a single option, which we could imagine might work well for quickly cleaning up small areas.

But, at least based on what we learned from the device’s commercial, with its small motor powered by a replaceable battery, thin zip ties, and small radius, we think it might not be ideal—small job or not—if you need to cut through dense growth or frequently brush up against hard objects (like wood or brick).

It also doesn’t appear to come with a throttle to control speed, so it seems to either be on or off. And without this control, based on our experience with traditional options, it seems reasonable that you might find yourself replacing its thin zip ties frequently—which could entail more of a hassle than traditional bump feeders.

Ultimately, if Zip Trim doesn’t live up to your expectations, though, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. However, it’s important to reinforce that this isn’t a risk-free proposition, since the BOGO offer means you could lose more in S&H charges than you get back as a refund.

Did Zip Trim deliver the value you expected? Give us—and millions of readers—the inside scoop by writing your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

17 Consumer Reviews for Zip Trim

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What can I say to be nice? NOTHING! This can't even be called garbage as it doesn't belong in the garbage, it belongs in the ocean and sunk. What a ripoff. But, companies that sell it has duped many, many thousands so have made their money and are happy.

    As soon as it touched grass, it stopped and the same with dead weeds. Also, ran by small batteries isn't gonna give you any power and this piece of crap has no power. Don't get fooled, people. I am not buying anything seen on Facebook or As Seen on TV anymore as 90% of it is garbage trash and ends up in a thrift shop that will resell it for a couple of bucks as it ain't even worth that. Save your bucks people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The worst $43.00 I have ever spent

    • Florida,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was being advertised on Facebook, so I looked at the video and was sold immediately. But it was the worst mistake I have ever made. Money down the drain! I would not recommend it to anyone for purchase. My experience is not fake or spam. I would not recommend it to my worst enemy, that is the truth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Richland, MS,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought mine online for $40.96 including shipping. It is totally worthless, will not cut one blade of grass. I found the same trimmer on AliExpress for $14.78 shipping included and saw the name Spark Innovators Corp. on it as the same one I got taken for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Zip Trim not working

    • Roanoke, VA,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Zip Trim to keep the grass cut at the cemetery for my daughter and my parent's gravesites. We have had lots of rain and today was the first time that we tried it. It would stop after cutting no more than two blades of grass. We put six new batteries in the trimmer, but it did not seem to have any power. I bought this so we would not have to take our heavy gas powered trimmer to the cemetery but was frustrated that it did not work. Today was three years ago that our daughter died and we went to the cemetery and changed the flowers and was hoping to trim but was sadly disappointed. Is there any way we can get the money back?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It fell apart!

    • Federal Way, WA,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The day it arrived, I put it together and tried the cracks in the driveway. It worked well in the wide one, but zip ties immediately broke when I tried the smaller cracks. Then I attached the pole to use it on the grass. The piece zip ties tangled in the grass and the piece that holds them kept falling off!

    No number or info to contact them for returning it on the box or included in the packaging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Just received

    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put the 6 AA batteries in and tried it out. It did trim the light grass but bogged down on the thick stuff. In my opinion, there is no way it would work as an edger or as good as my present trimmer or edger. I will keep it for light trimming or high trimming. It comes from China so I am sure it would cost more to return than to keep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Zip Trim parts

    • Kewaunee, WI,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this was a good idea so I got one to use. I still can't try it out though because there is a part missing, the part that the zip ties attach to. I have not been able to find a customer service number that works. Save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it

    • Florida,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought oh great, a lightweight trimmer for weeds in the garden bed.

    It can't cut one blade of grass, let alone weeds. Do NOT waste your money!

    I tried four sets of batteries, forget it! This company is just another if-it-sounds-too-good-it's-not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I got it to work! See my suggestions.

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the BOGO Zip Trim about a month ago. I really wanted this to work, because of the convenience of having a handheld trimmer for hard to reach places.

    So two suggestions for customers having difficulties.

    First, my trimmer kept stopping when I would tilt it down. Finally, I discovered it was caused by the batteries not making good contact. I removed the eight screws and discovered that the spring inside that was in the back was either smaller than the others or just squeezed together too tight. So two of the batteries were not making good contact as they shifted down onto that spring. They were not touching the other post. I simply stretched the spring with a small screwdriver and so far that has solved the problem! The motor no longer stops while it is turned on.

    Second, normal batteries are not powerful enough to really make the trimmer work like it should. I purchased High Capacity Rechargeable Ni-MH batteries (Eneloop Pro by Panasonic is the brand I got). And what a difference it makes! It actually cuts the normal grass and light weeds just like it’s advertised. It is still not able to handle thick crabgrass though, it just slaps that stuff silly! But doesn’t really cut it well enough. I have not solved that yet, but it may be the zip ties just can’t slice it like the regular string on a full-size trimmer. Still, I am pleased with what it can do!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A total SCAM.

    • West Virginia,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Zip Trim today. I struggled to get the batteries in it correctly because it didn't show where positive and negative were. It is also hard to get the batteries to stay in the compartment. Everything about it was made in a flimsy fashion.

    When I finally got it assembled and took it outside, it would slow down and almost stop when I would touch it to the grass. It really wouldn't cut at all. I was extremely disappointed and felt like I had been scammed. I didn't see any number to call or how to get in touch with anyone about the product. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Garbage!

    • South Carolina,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This will not cut grass; it stops as soon as it touches the grass. Terrible product! If I could give it zero stars, that would be too much! No return product information came with the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for Zip Trim!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review