About Zipit Bedding

Zipit Bedding is a sheet-and-blanket set that’s claimed to work just like a sleeping bag, which might help make both moms and kids happy. They say it’s fast, fun, and makes it easy for kids to make their own bed in seconds, just by pulling the zipper. In addition, Zipit Bedding is glow-in-the-dark, reversible, and features side-storage pockets.

Zipit Bedding was invented by Jennifer MacDonald who had an “Aha!” moment as she watched her sons zipping up sleeping bags after a sleepover, and she thought to herself, “Why not use the same principal for their regular beds?”

Afterward, Jennifer teamed up with her sister Hayley Carr and eventually formed MacCarron Industries to manufacture and market the product (according to their website, Zipit Bedding was also featured on the TV Show “Shark Tank”). However, there is no information, accreditation, or company rating listed by the Better Business Bureau.

How Zipit Bedding Works

Zipit Bedding is essentially a fitted sheet and a comforter zipped into one unit, which is available in two colors, six patterns, and in Twin or Full sizes: Blue (Extreme Sports, Outer Space, Wild Animals) and Pink (Rocker Princess, Fantasy Forest, Sweet Stuff). They claim it is perfect for hard-to-make bunk beds, as well as trundle beds, squishy air mattresses and more.

The video demonstrates that Zipit can be fully zipped, or zipped-and-folded in several different combinations for different looks. Each Zipit Bedding set is also reversible and interchangeable, which means you can mix-and-match so they’ll never be a “bore”.

According to the manufacturer, Zipit Bedding is “interactive”, “radical” and “sure to excite” (but hopefully not to the point of being unable to sleep), while remaining soft and durable. When you turn off the lights, Zipit Bedding also glows for “even more fun,” and its two zippered side pockets can hold things like cell phones(!) that often get lost under the bed.

When the time comes, Zipit Bedding can be laundered simply by stripping it off the bed, wash, and re-fitting as one unit. (They suggest washing in cold water on Gentle and drying on Low Heat to preserve the glow-in-the dark. If you wash the fitted sheet separately, they say it can be washed in cold or warm on Normal.) Because of this, Zipit Bedding’s manufacturer brags that you will “say goodbye to unmade beds” and will no longer have to struggle with ill-fitting sheets, blankets, or pillows. On top of this, not only will the beds be nice and neat, but your child will be safely “tucked-in,” preventing the blanket (or themselves) from falling off.

To further illustrate how much fun your child will have with Zipit Bedding, the company has also created their own YouTube Channel featuring The Zipit Bedding Kids dancing and singing in their own music videos.

ZipIt Bedding includes:

  • Zipit Comforter and Fitted Sheet (Twin or Full, color and style of choice)
  • Matching Zippered Pillowcase

Zipit Bedding Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Zipit Bedding is priced at $49.99 for Twin and $59.99 for Full, plus $12.99 S & H.

If you order more than one set of Zipit Bedding, the shipping goes up to $14.99 for 2 sets, $17.99 for 3 sets, $21.99 for 4, $25.99 for 5, and $31.99 for 6. In addition, for orders with more than one set, you can take 10% off the price.

Once you receive your Zipit Bedding order, you’ll have 30 days to try it out. If the kids aren’t jumping around singing “Just Zipit!” (or for any other reason), you can return the bedding for a refund of your purchase, minus shipping charges (and you have to pay to ship back).

Bottom Line: Is ZipIt Bedding a Scam?

Zipit Bedding is touted by a lot of mommy bloggers on sites such as “LIfe with Twins & a Drama Queen” and “The Divine Secrets of a Domestic Diva,” but many of these accept money or advertising for endorsements. Still, we have to admit Zipit Bedding is a pretty neat idea for kids that they’ll probably love, if for nothing other than its convenience (and the fact that they’re not getting yelled at to make their bed!).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 47 Zipit Bedding Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Great Idea!

    • California,
    • Mar 8, 2014

    Sometimes the simplest ideas are the most brilliant. So much nicer than a sleeping bag, and it allows the kids to stick their feet out the bottom or crawl through like a tent. It certainly must feel like they are freshly tucked in all night long with no chance of the blanket sliding off during the night. The pocket is a great idea- we all remember being little and the important little treasures we would have stored in that pocket. We don't even have any twin beds and our first grandchild isn't due until June but this will be a must have in a few years when the baby moves to a twin bed. Great invention.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Best Product I've Found in Years!

    • La Crescenta, CA,
    • Mar 11, 2014

    My grandsons LOVE these! They're of super-high quality and my daughter says her kids "make" their beds without even being asked. And they stay tucked-in at night. I wish I could give this product six stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful.

    • Farmington, MI,
    • Jul 11, 2015

    This is a great product for people of all ages. After having my kids/grandparents visit for the holidays, I decided to buy these for my two guest bedrooms. The beds were against the wall and difficult to fix. Everyone loves them. I wanted more adult patterns and ordered queen and full sizes. I covered them with comforters that matched and everyone loves them. Kept the wall side zippered all the way and they just zip up the other side.

    Would love to see choices of just all black or all blue as I think this would be great for elderly who are in a hospital bed or have limited mobility. Would love to see the zipper go all the way around on the pillow cases so pillows would not be able to fall out. I would pay extra for that option. 5 plus stars, in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Love it! Planning on buying a second comforter!

    • Houston, Tx,
    • Feb 7, 2015

    While it's true that the comforter doesn't glow in the dark after washing it, I love this comforter set! My kid kicks the blankets off in his sleep and this product stays on and keeps him warm. Also, super easy to make the bed! The comments above about the kids not being able to get out in a fire are silly. If you apply any resistance, the comfort unzips, so it wouldn't be an issue

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love It So Far

    • Jan 13, 2016

    I ordered my Zipit Bedding (the dream catcher one) for my 4 year old daughter a week before Christmas. I knew it wouldn't get here in time when I ordered so I didn't stress too bad. It's now December 30 and I just got the package. Not too bad of a shipping time especially around the holidays. We put it on her twin bed immediately. It looks great, perfect size. It's soft & durable. The colors are very pretty. I'm really excited about it. I think it was a great purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Zip-It bedding the second week of December. With the 3-6 week shipping I had made my peace with the fact that it would not come in time for Christmas. We were elated when it arrived on December 23rd.

    As for the bedding itself, the bed looks nice and tidy even when my child forgets to "make the bed" by zipping it. We paid extra for the Glow-In-The-Dark version which my child loved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Ok

    • atlanta,GA,
    • Aug 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an ok product, my kids love it. It is easy and fun, but they kick it off and are cold in the middle of the night. My son is growing out of it and wants another one, but it is expensive. I would rate it 3 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Review of ACTUAL PRODUCT (vs. Customer Service)

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I was shocked at all the negative reviews, having just given daughter one as Christmas present and being pretty satisfied! Then I started reading them and realized that they all reflect Customer Service, not the actual product.

    I bought the Rock Princess one at Walmart - so no CS issues:) My 9 1/2 year old daughter really wanted two for her bunk beds. We couldn't find second one locally (and only a few days before Christmas) another style/design, so bought the ZippySack for the 2nd one (more later, but it truly sucked and has been returned).

    Bottom line? AWESOME.

    The fitted sheet is nice and tight. The comforter is OK - it's not too thin, but not nice and thick/plush/comfy. The cotton is cotton - so not super soft. It works as advertised: stays on bed and kids just flip the cover up and zip open or closed. She LOVES it. The comforter does reverse by unzipping each side, flipping the comforter over. The pillow case you just flip to the other side.

    A couple minor points I would recommend to improve slightly:

    1. The zippers slide nice and easy, almost too easily. Normal shifting during the night works them down. Could see this being not bad for little fingers zipping and unzipping; but for my daughter it's too slick.

    2. The bottom is open. This is no surprise as you see this in the video. However, zipping all around like a true sleeping bag might be better; otherwise, the point of a comforter (warmth) is defeated with the bottom open. This may not be possible due to the unzip/flip ability to change the look.

    3. As mentioned the comforter could be thicker in general; or even plush! Or the option to choose thicker/plush (which I'd certainly pay the difference for).

    Overall - the ACTUAL PRODUCT IS GREAT.

    There are too many retailers that sell this to bother with the customer service - so just don't buy from the company itself.

    Now - brief comment about the ZippySack. DON'T BOTHER. It's not really clear on their site, but you need to have a fitted sheet and pillow case. This is ONLY a thin, plush fitted bumper with a single side/bottom zippered top. It's a single plush layer so not very comforting/warm (I'll say it - 'cheap'). I bought the pink cat, which is clearly shown to come up high enough to cover a pillow. This is NOT the case. The top of the ears barely came to about 3/4 up the bed and my daughter had to scoot down just to be fully covered. It also fits tight (since it's attached directly to the fitted side bumper) so not a lot of room for turning over, etc. She (and I both) hated it and it got it returned. Now searching for another Zipit Bedding to replace it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • MD,
    • Jan 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered for my daughter for Xmas because her bed is always a mess. I actually ordered through another retailer and had no problem. I love it, makes her bed look so much neater. I'm considering getting one for her brother. I got a full/queen and the fit was perfect.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Works as intended but...

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    We have had this bedding since Monday and I am writing this on a Wednesday. This bedding was very cute and went on the beds just like a fitted sheet and was a good fit. I was thrilled on first sight and use. The kids were excited about the bedding too. The downside, my daughter threw up in bed this morning so I had to wash it already.

    It came out looking faded and worn on the Rocker Princess side after one wash. Sadly, our wonderful HE top load machine did not clean the soiled area, so it had to be washed a second time today! We only used Tide with Downy and nothing else in the cool wash load and after the second wash, a couple of the black printed areas had faded to completely white.

    I am so disappointed and heartbroken. I love the idea of the product, and the striped side still looks nice, but this is very pricey for such poor quality. It's kids' bedding. There are a thousand reasons it may need to be washed. It should be made to withstand more than one wash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not too bad, but if you can sew, make your own!

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The idea is a good one, but the execution could use some improvement. The fitted sheet is not quite deep enough, so my son complained that he needed another blanket to be warm enough during the winter months, but then it was too hot with just the "comforter" during the summer months. The zippers wouldn't stay closed during the night.

    Thankfully, I am a seamstress, so I have taken their idea and modified it. I had to purchase elastic clip-on straps at a local store to keep the fitted sheet on the bed. I purchased zippers online that have a "locking" slider and replaced the pulls on the set. I made a cover that is just a sheet, for hot weather. I made a second cover that is a much thicker comforter, for cold weather. Amazingly, the cost of the materials for these adjustments was less than the original Zipit set. With these modifications, my son loves his "Mama's Zipit" bedding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Zipit Bedding!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review