About Zipit Bedding

By HighYa Staff

Zipit Bedding is a sheet-and-blanket set that’s claimed to work just like a sleeping bag, which might help make both moms and kids happy. They say it’s fast, fun, and makes it easy for kids to make their own bed in seconds, just by pulling the zipper. In addition, Zipit Bedding is glow-in-the-dark, reversible, and features side-storage pockets.

Zipit Bedding was invented by Jennifer MacDonald who had an “Aha!” moment as she watched her sons zipping up sleeping bags after a sleepover, and she thought to herself, “Why not use the same principal for their regular beds?”

Afterward, Jennifer teamed up with her sister Hayley Carr and eventually formed MacCarron Industries to manufacture and market the product (according to their website, Zipit Bedding was also featured on the TV Show “Shark Tank”). However, there is no information, accreditation, or company rating listed by the Better Business Bureau.

How Zipit Bedding Works

Zipit Bedding is essentially a fitted sheet and a comforter zipped into one unit, which is available in two colors, six patterns, and in Twin or Full sizes: Blue (Extreme Sports, Outer Space, Wild Animals) and Pink (Rocker Princess, Fantasy Forest, Sweet Stuff). They claim it is perfect for hard-to-make bunk beds, as well as trundle beds, squishy air mattresses and more.

The video demonstrates that Zipit can be fully zipped, or zipped-and-folded in several different combinations for different looks. Each Zipit Bedding set is also reversible and interchangeable, which means you can mix-and-match so they’ll never be a “bore”.

According to the manufacturer, Zipit Bedding is “interactive”, “radical” and “sure to excite” (but hopefully not to the point of being unable to sleep), while remaining soft and durable. When you turn off the lights, Zipit Bedding also glows for “even more fun,” and its two zippered side pockets can hold things like cell phones(!) that often get lost under the bed.

When the time comes, Zipit Bedding can be laundered simply by stripping it off the bed, wash, and re-fitting as one unit. (They suggest washing in cold water on Gentle and drying on Low Heat to preserve the glow-in-the dark. If you wash the fitted sheet separately, they say it can be washed in cold or warm on Normal.) Because of this, Zipit Bedding’s manufacturer brags that you will “say goodbye to unmade beds” and will no longer have to struggle with ill-fitting sheets, blankets, or pillows. On top of this, not only will the beds be nice and neat, but your child will be safely “tucked-in,” preventing the blanket (or themselves) from falling off.

To further illustrate how much fun your child will have with Zipit Bedding, the company has also created their own YouTube Channel featuring The Zipit Bedding Kids dancing and singing in their own music videos.

ZipIt Bedding includes:

  • Zipit Comforter and Fitted Sheet (Twin or Full, color and style of choice)
  • Matching Zippered Pillowcase

Zipit Bedding Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Zipit Bedding is priced at $49.99 for Twin and $59.99 for Full, plus $12.99 S & H.

If you order more than one set of Zipit Bedding, the shipping goes up to $14.99 for 2 sets, $17.99 for 3 sets, $21.99 for 4, $25.99 for 5, and $31.99 for 6. In addition, for orders with more than one set, you can take 10% off the price.

Once you receive your Zipit Bedding order, you’ll have 30 days to try it out. If the kids aren’t jumping around singing “Just Zipit!” (or for any other reason), you can return the bedding for a refund of your purchase, minus shipping charges (and you have to pay to ship back).

Bottom Line: Is ZipIt Bedding a Scam?

Zipit Bedding is touted by a lot of mommy bloggers on sites such as “LIfe with Twins & a Drama Queen” and “The Divine Secrets of a Domestic Diva,” but many of these accept money or advertising for endorsements. Still, we have to admit Zipit Bedding is a pretty neat idea for kids that they’ll probably love, if for nothing other than its convenience (and the fact that they’re not getting yelled at to make their bed!).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 49 Zipit Bedding Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • 89 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Too Expensive

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product and love the concept. My sister ordered the Zippy Sack. She got essentially the SAME product for HALF the price! Plus after many washes, my sister's still looks great while mine is severely faded. Cheap! The only reason I spent so much money was because my kid wanted one. I'm looking for competitor's products now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 74 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and energy!

    • May 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three items from this company and after waiting patiently for MONTHS due to them being back ordered, I have canceled my order. They are completely unorganized and have terrible customer service. I received an email indicating that my shipment was on its way and my card was charged. It actually was NOT on its way and the link in the shipping was invalid. When I inquired about it, they just canceled my order and refunded my money. I was asked to place a new order.

    Since I received part of my order I decided it was necessary to call and create a new order so I could have them for all my children (not just one). They were rude and surprise, they are still on back order! I will never order from this company again. You shouldn't either!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 74 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever.

    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 3, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save yourself from having to deal with this company. I placed my order in March, a few weeks later checked on it and was told my order was lost, then was told it was backordered. They promised it would ship the end of May. On May 29 I received and email that my order was canceled due to fulfillment issues.

    Don't bother trying to call they also have the worst customer service reps. They won't tell you anything other than it may ship in a few weeks.

    This company won't be around long, the way they treat their customers is deplorable. I only wish I could give this company a more negative rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 70 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Rip off company

    • usa,
    • May 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Garbage product and your credit cards are not safe with this company. Just ask any bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 68 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I think it's a horrible fit because it keeps popping off the corners. Colors are fading quickly and the stitching by the zipper is coming apart. Not worth the near $70 (with S/H) cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 66 out 69 people found this review helpful

    Agree with others, do not waste your time!

    • Utah,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Ordered my bedding back in February. In April I called and they said it would be another two weeks. It's now mid June and I still don't have it. I just contacted them and they asked me what my order number was! I have no idea since it's been so long ago that I have deleted my email! I saw these two women on Shark Tank and they seemed awful to work with. Maybe that's why this is happening now… wow. Canceling my order now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 1, 2015

      Emily,

      You can try getting Beddy's, it's WAY better and it doesn't take long to arrive, doesn't shrink and gives you the one you ordered. Just go to www.beddys.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 66 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Shrinking Zipit

    • Nyack, NY,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    I was so excited to receive my Zipit bedding. It looks great and it is so easy for my daughter to make her bed. Unfortunately, I would not buy another. The two that I bought have both shrunk after a few washings. I will be going back to buying regular comforters and sheets that will not shrink. If they change their fabric so their product doesn't shrink I will try it again, but until then, forget it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 65 out 68 people found this review helpful

    It sucks

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    My ZipIt Bedding shrunk and I got the wrong one. I ordered extreme sports and got outer space. Oh, and it took four months for it to get here. I ordered it in February and got it in June.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 27, 2015

      Margaret Ruby ,

      We ordered Space Twin and got Extreme Sports Full sized. Just sent it back. They said they credited my account but bank says they haven't, not even pending. Filed a complaint with my bank. They canceled my order saying they still didn't get the Space one. But sounds cheaply made so that's fine.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 60 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Do not even try to oder from them

    • Albuquerque, NM ,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I have tried 3 times to order from this company. My kids really want it, but a week after I put in the order they would send me an email saying my order has been backordered. After the first 2 times they never touched based with me, they just canceled the orders. The 3rd time it happened again! I wrote them, questioning why they said they had the product in stock, taken my credit card, completed the order, and then canceled a week later. Nothing, no response to my complaints. Don't even bother.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 7, 2015

      Erin,

      Check Rite Aid or Bed Bath and Beyond for the same item

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Joke

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Jun 18, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Zipit Bedding set when they first appeared on Shark Tank. Nothing went wrong with that order. Well I've been waiting months now for 4 sets of full size bedding sets, since I enjoyed the first one so well I got for my son. I finally just received one in the mail after first receiving a confirmation email that was wrong and then they canceled that one and had to reship a new order. Well guess what, it's the old style which is awful. It is that old awful plaid style. I'm still waiting on 3 more sets which I've gotten 3 emails saying they canceled them and I've had to call back and say that I still want them. What's the hold up? They say I'm back in the system to get those bed sets but I bet that's a freaking joke. Let's just say they will be paying for a new shipping label to send those awful ugly bed sheets back that they did send me and they will be returning all of my money and I believe I'll be requesting more. They're worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 11, 2015

      Celeste,

      I'm sure glad I looked at the reviews, definitely will not order.

    • Aug 14, 2015

      Rachel

      Yes be glad you did update. Finally got a shipping label to return the wrong one that they sent me and found out I no longer had 3 on order and if I wanted them back in order I'd have to pay full price and pay for shipping. Anyhow, I didn't want those anyway. So after shipping my package back I decided after 6 weeks of not hearing anything to track the number. It was in their warehouse. Go figure! Called them, they put me on hold. Said yes it was in the warehouse but they couldn't give me my money back, that they would just have to reorder it for me. I said they took my money, I hadn't heard anything from them and I wasn't letting my money sit around when I had no product to show for it. The lady said she'd get with whoever is in charge there (joke!) and get back to me. Well after a week I decided to call back. Well that lady decided to give me the money for the Zipit Bedding minus the $17.99 I had to pay for shipping. So now at least I got some of my money back but I'm out the shipping cost. Run at all cost and do not buy from them. They were good the first time around but now they just give you the run around and can't get anything together to run an actual business or obviously make bedding to ship. Good luck if you do decide to buy or if you even receive the product and it's the right thing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Worst Customer Service Ever

    • Manitowoc, WI,
    • Jul 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my granddaughter saw a commercial for this Zipit bag and just had to have it. I decided to call and ask some questions after reading some of the reviews from other customers and was shocked. These customer service reps are the most piss-poor trained reps I've ever dealt with in my life. I asked about the average delivery time and was told, "get in line, you'll get it when it arrives." Are you friking serious lady! I was ready to order five (5), one (1) for each grandkid but with the way they treat customers and with how rude they are, we decided to make our own and not give this company 1 cent. I honestly can't believe that this company could survive with people like that working there. Worst ever and I will NEVER refer anyone to this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a Review for Zipit Bedding!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review