About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

150 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 15 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 15 1 star:  117
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 150
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Strange validation requirements

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I posted a job on ZipRecruiter. I used my work email address. The credit card used was that of our CFO. ZipRecruiter insists on a confirmation from the CFO, under his email address, that it is OK to use the credit card. Are they normally dealing with teenagers as clients, that they need a confirmation from the parent?

    I simply canceled the account. I am paying for the office rent and internet the same way. Nobody wants a confirmation from the cardholder. Strange. Very strange.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    Waste of time. Every position I apply for eventually ends up being closed without a follow-up or contact from anyone concerning the job application. I’ve been searching for jobs and applying for the past four months and I have yet to receive a positive acceptance of a possible interview call back like anything like that. And also, they blow your phone up with text messages about that they found a job for you and within two days to three days that same job is eventually closed. A waste of time. I need a job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Omaha, NE,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using ZipRecruiter for a few months trying to find long-term employment. I have applied for hundreds of jobs. A few days ago I received an email at 4:00 in the morning from someone claiming to be a recruiter from ZipRecruiter, who had a Gmail email address stating I had an interview the following day via Google Hangouts or Skype. They said that they got my information from the database. They did not state the company, just a reference number I needed to instant message along with my interview time and informed me of who I would be interviewing with.

    I went through with the interview and was offered the job. They never asked for personal information beyond what I had already listed at the top of my resume (name, address, phone number, and email), but they did ask the type of bank I banked with to see if direct deposit would be an option. They told me they would be sending me a check and laptop to conduct my work on, the check was to be used for a sign on bonus and to purchase my software and that I would receive a tracking number for all of it.

    Once I received the check and deposited it and filled out my paperwork then I would start training, it seemed very legit. I was very skeptical still because they would not answer my questions. I asked for contact information, company website, job title. I was told I would receive that in the next few days. RED FLAG! I was also told I needed to keep checking in every morning at 8:00 am. So I got on ZipRecruiter, could not find the company or any postings. I emailed the "recruiter" and asked her to provide me with the job posting and more information regarding the company. Never got a response back.

    At that time, I realized her email was a Gmail address. I spent 35 minutes on the phone waiting trying to contact ZipRecruiter’s representatives. Nothing. So I emailed the support team and told them to call me. I just kept getting emails stating that they needed more information to assist me.

    Finally, after emailing them four times with screenshots of the conversations and email, I got an email from the Trust and Safety Specialist, Azlynn, stating to cease all communication with the company and it was a scam. They removed my resume from the database, and I took all of my information off of their website. Then I emailed Azlynn back and requested they cancel my account with them.

    I hope this helps people in the future. Never conduct interviews over the internet, and never accept a check or deposit it to your account, because once these scammers get you to deposit the check, then they have full access to your bank account! Be careful everyone! I hope this helps someone so you don’t have to go through what I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied

    Just like the other reviewer, we paid over $300 for a month's use with the assurances that it was easily cancellable. After two weeks, we had three applicants and one of those was 60 miles away from us. There is a button in the ap to cancel, but it was disabled and said that we would have to call in to cancel our recurring subscription.

    I was shuttled to the billing department, to a rude, talking over me high-pressure gentleman that I ended up getting in an argument with, and just before he hung up on me, he told me my subscription was canceled. I didn't even get the time at the end to ask for a confirmation email to assure that I would not be charged.

    The man in Billing told me that someone would have to search for just what we put in the title. I've used other listing services, and it was just an open job board, but here it seems you have to anticipate exactly what people will search for in job title. I will never use them again, big mistake, a waste of money, in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 15, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Kerry,

      Thank you for submitting this review, as your feedback is very important to us! I'd like to apologize for your poor experience with our cancellation process and the results you received during your time with us.

      To address the cancellation issue, our policy is designed to protect your sensitive information and privacy. We do apologize for any inconvenience this process may have caused. I have confirmed that your account has been canceled, and you should have received an email as well.

      In terms of quantity, our system does work to reach as many qualified applicants as possible, however, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of finding a larger pool of qualified candidates. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features.

      If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me personally at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Sam". You can also reach the rest of our customer success team by calling 1877-252-1062 (24/7).

      Kind Regards,

      Sam

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Requires you to be a corporate entity

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After spending over an hour creating some job ads, I was suddenly unable to log into my account. I typed my password several times, no luck. I requested a change of password a couple of times, but no email was sent. Nothing in my spam folder, nothing at all.

    I call them and after some transferring and hold time I am told that I have to be a corporate entity to offer to hire a cleaning lady or a personal assistant. Crazy policy, and a huge waste of time. They might have said something about that in their ads, while I was signing up or at least sent me an email about why I was ineligible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Jack,

      Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! We'd like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused and would like to provide some clarification.

      With countless site visitors and a variety of job board partners, it is our responsibility to ensure the quality and legitimacy of the jobs on our site. We make sure to outline this directly in our terms of use and job posting guidelines which are always available before you post. (You're always welcome to view those here: https://www.ziprecruiter.com/terms and https://www.ziprecruiter.com/job-guidelines).

      At this time, we only accept job postings from registered businesses and I apologize that this wasn't made more clear to you before posting. If you ever do move forward with a registered business we would be more than happy to personally assist you with your job postings and account creation.

      Kind Regards,

      Max

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Might as well call it a "scamboard"

    • Nashville, TN,
    • May 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Every time I am in the market for a job I go on ZipRecruiter, and the next thing I know is my phone is being blown up by scammers to the point I can't tell the difference between a potential job opportunity or a potential scam opportunity. I recently received a text from a lady named Debbie Mobley. She claimed to be deaf and in need of a caregiver. She emailed me asking me for a NUMBER of info, including which bank I bank with. The fact that she has my legal name, home address, and email scares me to the point of NEVER using ZipRecruiter again! These are not the type of problems you need when you have responsibilities and are jobless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 15, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Akyra,

      Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your experience while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search.

      We at ZipRecruiter take great pride in our role in bringing job seekers and employers together. We are also acutely aware that there are bad actors out there who whether on job boards or on other platforms for internet commerce and communication, seek to use the cloak of anonymity provided by technology to take advantage of others. And while we are pleased that our growth has enabled a dramatic increase in both the number of people we can help and the quality of our service, we are also aware that we have become more visible not only to legitimate participants but also to bad actors.

      That is why we have implemented, and continue to refine and improve our systems to address this important issue. On the front end, we use proprietary detection software and have stringent client onboarding processes to vet potential posters and deny access for those who fail to pass our screens. On the back end, we re-run our detection software on job listings as they're posted and have customer service representatives available seven days a week to investigate and weed out suspicious posts.

      Still, no system is perfect, no matter how sophisticated or well-intentioned. That is why we take steps to educate job seekers about how to spot suspicious activity and encourage reporting of all such activity to us, so we can investigate and take prompt remedial action. Any such reports should be sent directly to our dedicated team via the following link: https://www.ziprecruiter.com/trust.

      Here are some ways to protect yourself from potential scams:

      Report suspicious emails.

      Be wary of anyone requesting you transfer funds to a different account or writing a check on your account and sending it to them

      Check with your bank to make sure any check is legitimate before you attempt to cash it

      If you discover that a check is fraudulent, file a report with your local police department.

      Should we have the pleasure to assist you again with your job search, or if you’d like to have your job seeker account closed, please feel welcome to reach out to our dedicated customer success team via email at support@ziprecruiter.com. You may use, “Tier III Help” in the subject line to ensure we receive your inquiry. We wish you the very best of luck in your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier III Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your time or money!

    • Ellistown, England,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely shocking service. I’m not sure how come these people are even allowed to post jobs in within the UK. Unaware of basic employment laws, a so-called Art explaining as in why your job doesn’t comply with their policy. Waste of time and money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality candidates

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never seen candidates this unrelated to a job posting. This is the absolute lowest quality candidates you can find in the market. Not to mention the monthly fees are astronomical and GOOD LUCK CANCELLING.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 26, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Seif,

      Thank you very much for taking the time to review ZipRecruiter, your feedback is very important to us!

      I would like to apologize for your poor experience in receiving unqualified candidates during your time with us. Although our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of finding the right candidate and filtering out those who are not a good fit. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features and also connect you with a product specialist who can assist you with customizing a plan within your budget and hiring needs.

      If you need further assistance feel free to contact our Customer Success Team by calling 1-877-252-1062 from (24/7).

      Kind Regards,

      Tatianna

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bait and switch

    • Wisconsin,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an employer signing up to post a job, they lead you to believe that you're getting a 30-day trial, however, they charge your credit card after four days and then tell you basically that you're crazy and that doesn't state anywhere that they provide a 30-day trial. Well, it sure does when you sign up. It also doesn't say on their website that they bill you after four days either. They bait and switch you. It's a complete scam. And on top of it, they provide seriously inept candidates and send emails stating we found a wonderful candidate for you...who has no resume, no skills listed, wow. Thanks. I could have found that person on my own.

    Just stay FAR AWAY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 23, 2018

      Sam

      ZipRecruiter has never offered a 30-day trial. You should try reading the details of the trial before commenting.

    • Apr 24, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Tiffany,

      Thank you for your review, as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologize for any confusion.

      All ZipRecruiter accounts start with a courtesy 4-day free trial that provides users the ability to post free job listings and review candidates. Users are welcomed to cancel anytime before the end of that trial period without any charge. Our advertisements for ZipRecruiter reference the ability to post a job for free and/or use or services for free, which is applicable during the trial period. During the sign-up process, we do our best to explain the free trial period and disclose our terms of use. We apologize if this was unclear.

      In terms of quality, our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of finding the right candidate and filtering out those who are not a good fit. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features.

      If you need further assistance feel free to reach out to me directly by emailing support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Max". You can also contact our Customer Success Team by calling 1-877-252-1062 (24/7).

      Kind Regards,

      Max

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Terrible matching algorithm, terrible customer service.

    • Washington,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an attorney who practices in a specialized area, intellectual property (IP). Since I'm not interested (or qualified) for many non-IP attorney positions, I was careful to specify this when setting up my profile and my Job Alerts.

    However, from the start, the ZipRecruiter algorithm would constantly provide irrelevant listings. Not only attorney positions in other areas, but also non-attorney positions, and many positions unrelated to law. For example, I got many nursing/healthcare positions, Lyft driver positions, etc.

    Also, the "highly personalized" individual positions sent my way were almost always paralegal positions.

    ZipRecruiter offers the feature of omitting words from your Job Alerts, so I did so. Two problems, though.

    First, it DIDN'T work. Omitting "Lyft" didn't suppress Lyft listings. Omitting "injury" didn't suppress personal injury attorney listings, and so forth.

    Second, it's UNWISE to omit certain words, for example, attorney listings often contain the word "paralegal" because attorneys often work with paralegals, so omitting this word would likely omit relevant results.

    Also, the individual position emails all include a feedback link, so you can explain why you don't match the position. Problem with this: IT DIDN'T WORK. Every time I received a "paralegal" position, I dutifully provided feedback, yet I kept receiving paralegal positions. For months.

    When I indicated these problems to ZipRecruiter Support, I was told I had no other choice than to omit the keyword or delete the Job Alert. I didn't find this helpful, but, follow-up inquiries were ignored.

    One time, in response to maybe the 20th paralegal position sent my way, I got a little pissy and my response included the word "damn," as in "how many damn times do I have to indicate that paralegal positions are not a good match?" As a result, my account was canceled, citing my "abusive language."

    So take heart, fellow Job Seekers, your feedback IS being seen, it's just that ZipRecruiter Support has no idea how to assist you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 15, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Tim,

      Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us! We understand how receiving alerts and suggestions that are not in line with your career choice can be very frustrating. We are sorry to hear of the experience you’ve had while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search.

      When sending alerts, we construct a profile of each job seeker based on their searches, clicks, resumes, and applications to more accurately determine your interests and preferred locations. We will send you one job alert email a day containing all the various jobs we determine you may be interested in. Sometimes we get this wrong! If you're interested in improving the matches in your job alerts and suggestion emails, we would suggest clicking on jobs that you find relevant to your interests.

      Please keep in mind that ZipRecruiter is a job board platform, and we are not personal recruiters that can personally pick perfect job matches on your behalf. We apologize again if the keywords were similar to your industry, but not an exact match. While we do not accept inappropriate language, we do understand your frustration and we invite you to utilize our service again in the future should you choose.

      Should we have the pleasure to assist you again in the future, please feel welcome to reach out to our dedicated customer success team by emailing support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject line. “Tier III Help” and we’d be happy to assist you directly.

      We wish you the best of luck in your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier III Support

    • May 16, 2018

      Tim W

      I was told by ZR Support that some listings could not be suppressed because of "partnership arrangements" with certain companies. In other words, Lyft positions (for example) will always be included in search results.

      One wonders how many other job positions are being suggested by ZR not because of a match to an applicant's skills, but rather because they're paid advertisements.

      I should add, ZR no longer offers the option to omit keywords from a search or to set the frequency of job alert emails.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stay away! Terrible customer service!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ZipRecruiter has reach because they partner with many companies, however, they have the worst customer service I have seen in a very long time. I can't believe that a company that charges hundreds and thousands of dollars to employers would have such a terrible customer service team.

    I had an account rep named Lisa, and clearly Lisa hates her job. She was so rude, so mouthy, and so disrespectful. I had to say "excuse me" more than once, just to let her know she was getting out of line. She also talked over me, so I couldn't even ask questions. I was transferred again, and that rep was a little nicer, but that's not saying much.

    This organization must focus heavily on sales because when I said I was not upgrading, it got even worse. My next step is to find the president of this company and contact them. They must know that the people hired to do important work at their company are giving them a bad name. STAY AWAY from ZipRecruiter!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 150

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review