ZipRecruiter Review - Ideal Job Marketplace?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jan 9, 2019

ZipRecruiter is an online employment marketplace that uses in-house technology to match businesses with millions of job seekers and their app, their website says, is the “#1 Rated Job Search App.”

The company’s technology and standing as one of the premier online employment sites means that not only do companies and job seekers have access to countless opportunities, but also that the experience of finding a job and hiring people is a fluid, simple process.

A 2018 article from Inc. does a good job of describing the effectiveness of ZipRecruiter’s efforts to use artificial intelligence to match the right job seeker with the right position.

“ZipRecruiter began investing millions of dollars in AI and data research,” contributor Jeremy Goldman wrote. “They shifted their focus from delivering the most candidates to using their new deep learning tools to deliver the right candidate.”

The company is based in Santa Monica, CA, and employs around 1,000 people across two states and three countries. Its four founders – Ian Siegel, Ward Poulos, Will Redd and Joe Edmonds – launched the company in 2010 and, over the past eight years, the company has, according to their website, served more than 1.5 million employers and more than 430 million job applications.

In this review, we’ll analyze how ZipRecruiter works, its pricing and refund policy, its customer reviews and how it compares to other job-search sites.

How ZipRecruiter Works

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from the job seeker’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Job Seekers

To get started on your job search, you’ll have to set up an account with ZipRecruiter online or through their app and upload a resume, although they won’t require a resume for you to create a profile.

Through this profile you can add a photo, your work history, pay requirements and other vital information you think employers should know. Here’s a screenshot of a profile page we created by uploading a resume:

The more detailed and complete your profile, the better chance you’ll have of ZipRecruiter matching you with the right position.

You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

Meanwhile, ZipRecruiter’s matching technology is finding suitable jobs on your behalf and, when a particular position is posted that fits your profile, ZipRecruiter will send you an invitation to apply.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered.

And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

Also, ZipRecruiter will send you notifications when a job has closed so that you can move on to other opportunities.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

ZipRecruiter’s proprietary technology analyzes your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their more than 100 job board distribution partners, which includes Google, Facebook, LinkedIn and Monster.

Each of your job postings on ZipRecruiter is mobile-friendly and can include your company’s branding (logo, etc.).

Companies can also add candidate screening questions to their job posts, which help you qualify applicants quicker.

After candidates have answered the questions and submitted their résumé, you can manage your candidates via a user-friendly dashboard. You have the ability to track and rate each applicant.

More importantly, you can give a good candidate a thumbs up. This thumbs-up helps ZipRecruiter’s AI understand the type of candidate for which you are looking and will help it send application invites to the most appropriate candidates.

Also, you can use your dashboard to create custom email responses and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to search more than 12 million résumés in their résumé database.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

Job seekers can use ZipRecruiter for free, whereas employers have the option of trying a four-day free trial. After the trial ends, paid accounts begin at $249 for a Simple account and go up from there:

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings each month, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan).

If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter emphasizes providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat 24 hours a day.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

To get a sense of how happy people are with their ZipRecruiter experience, we took a look at the company’s ratings on HighYa, Google Play and iTunes.

More than 175 HighYa reviewers give the site an average rating of 1.5 stars, with many recent reviews from employers noting that they received poor results and candidates that didn’t match what they were looking for.

The company’s Job Search app received more than 170,000 reviews in Google Play with an average review of 4.8 stars, which is a fantastic score. Some of the common phrases included in the reviews were “easy to use,” “helpful” and “informative.”

ZipRecruiter’s Job Search app earned equally sparkling reviews in the iTunes store, where more than 175,000 reviewers gave it an average rating of 4.9 stars.

The company also has a sparkling profile on TrustPilot, where more than 5,000 reviewers gave the company an average rating of 9.1 out of 10.

How Zip Recruiter Compares to Other Job Search Sites

One of the best ways to understand how well a service like ZipRecruiter performs is to put it in the context of its competitors. The following table shows the app store metrics of four popular job search services:

ZipRecruiter Indeed Monster.com Glassdoor
iTunes rating 4.9 4.7 4.4 4.7
# of iTunes reviews 175K 538K 3.5K 223K
Google Play rating 4.8 4.3 4.4 4.5
# of Google Play reviews 174K 767K 35K 116K
# of downloads 1 million+ 50 million+ 1 million+ 5 million+

As far as app-store user reviews go, ZipRecruiter is the clear winner here, as it receives the highest ratings in both the iTunes and Google Play stores. Glassdoor garners the second-best ratings followed by Indeed and Monster.com.

These metrics are important to keep in mind mainly because there’s a good chance you’ll conduct a significant part of your job search via the app and you’ll want that experience to be as seamless as possible.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful.

ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

The reviews they earn from users are, for the most part, high, and their app ratings are better than Indeed, Monster.com and Glassdoor, three of the site’s competitors.

Because the site is free, there isn’t much downside for job seekers, as the only up-front cost for you is the time it takes to fill out your profile.

If you think ZipRecruiter is a good fit for you as a job seeker, then take a few minutes to complete a profile with them and then keep an eye on the application invites they send you. There’s a good chance you’ll be happy with them, based on the reviews the company gets.

If you aren’t happy with the results, Indeed, Glassdoor and Monster.com are options you can try out and compare to your ZipRecruiter experience.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

191 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 20 1 star:  150
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 191
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Security holes you can drive a truck through

    • Washington,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They do not check account creds. Links in their emails are active with no subsequent, even of a cookie in your browser, so if someone has the link, they have full access to your account.

    You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very disappointing

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I were an employer using this service, I would be highly disappointed. As a job seeker, I feel like it was a waste of time.

    I am a facility manager, in Cleveland, Ohio. I have no wish to relocate and was very clear about that.

    I kept getting emails with the subject line of "facility managers needed in Brecksville, $65,000?" Once I open the email, there were no facility manager positions advertised. I would sometimes get three or four emails a day, along with similar text messages, each one claiming that I was highly qualified for "the position."

    Did I mention I am a facility manager? Why did they keep sending me notifications for sales, marketing, web development, etc.? And why did so many of them require relocation of several hundred miles?

    Not one of their suggestions panned out. I did have a few phone calls, and one interview in the six months that I used their service. But, that is because I applied to almost any job I saw that was remotely appealing rather than the ones they recommended (which were totally unsuitable).

    On the whole, using ZipRecruiter is no better than looking through the classified ads in your local newspaper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst recruiting site EVER!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with ZipRecruiter was abysmal...they are absolutely the worst. If you are looking for results, please look elsewhere! They promise you the world and in the end they deliver NOTHING! Absolutely the WORST!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 6, 2019

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Mark,

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. While our system does work to match you with candidates that fit your needs, there are several features included with every plan that we strongly encourage all users to utilize.

      I wasn't able to locate an account with the information provided but if you do ever decide to use us in the future, I would appreciate the opportunity to look further into your account and ensure you're set up for success.

      Please just email me at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "ATTN: Maxcine" and I'd be happy to fully address your concerns.

      Best of luck with the search and I hope you're able to make those hires soon!

      Maxcine

      Assistant Supervisor

      Customer Care

    • Jan 13, 2019

      Amelia S.

      SHARK INFESTED WATERS.

      I was desperate for a job and decided to lean heavily on my Customer Service skills as I have to most years experience there. Sent out my resume as much as possible. Got six interviews in three days...ALL WITH MLMs. Never felt so used in my life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely horrible - a misleading business

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    ZipRecruiter uses misleading techniques to charge customers a high amount even after canceling the account. The candidates are not qualified, so even that aspect is questionable. I will never be using their services again. I have tried canceling three times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2019

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Alessandra,

      Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience of employers and we appreciate your feedback! We understand the need to make those hires quickly and efficiently all while staying within your budget and we are always able to and willing to help find a plan that best suits your needs. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our billing department and I would love to address your concerns. You can email us here at support@ziprecruiter.com and title it "Katie Tier II" and I can investigate further to resolve your issue! If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, I would be more than happy to personally walk you through specific features to improve the performance of your job ad and keep you within your budget.

      If you need further assistance feel free to contact our Customer Success Team by calling 877-252-1062 (24/7). We hope you make those hires soon!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    User beware

    • Sunbury, OH,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ZipRecruiter has a nice dashboard to manage applicants. But trying to cancel the service is not so easy. They provide a link to turn off auto-renewal, but it does not remove the auto-renewal, and when you get charged an extra month, they will tell you it is not their fault. Other sites, such as Indeed, provided better candidates and were more ethical in their billing practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 2, 2019

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Jeff,

      Thank you for submitting this review, as your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you received unqualified candidates, that can be frustrating! We know how important it is for you to make those hires and though our system works to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of finding the right candidate. Such as our deal breaker screening questions, QuickRate tool and our skill-words. I would be more than happy to assist you with getting set up for success if we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future. Our call-to-cancel policy is designed to protect your sensitive information and privacy. We apologize if this caused you any inconvenience! If you would like me to investigate this billing issue further please reach out to me personally at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Tier II". I would love to assist you. If you have any other questions please reach out to us at 877-252-1062 (24/7).

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible recommendations

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They give horrible job suggestions based on resume. I am a management level employee, have been in security management for several years, consistently recommends guard jobs, executive assistant jobs, or my favorite, restaurant crew when I have zero restaurant experience in my life. It is like recommending a steakhouse to a vegan. I am glad it is free or I wouldn't be on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi William,

      Thanks for reaching out! I know how important it is to receive alerts that fit what positions you're looking for, and I apologize if that hasn't been the case. While ZipRecruiter does make suggestions based on your resume, you are also able to fully customize your profile by visiting https://www.ziprecruiter.com/candidate/alerts and clicking the keywords checkbox and adding in keywords that more closely resemble what you're looking for.

      I would also recommend removing any past positions from your profile that no longer resemble the positions that you're searching for, such as "Security Officer" as our algorithm is pulling from those positions in order to suggest what you may like.

      Best of luck with your search and thank you again for reaching out!

      Maxcine

      Assistant Supervisor

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used ZipRecruiter for the posting of job ads - terrible, biggest waste of money. The candidates were not qualified, who knows where ZipRecruiter placed the ads. I just used Indeed, and yes, Indeed is the place to go.

    You also have the ability (on Indeed) to post job ads for free! Our HR department did and then purchased a package since the candidates were much better qualified than the ones from ZipRecruiter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Jyl,

      Thank you for submitting this review, as your feedback is very important to us! We are sorry to hear that you did not get a pool of qualified candidates during your time with us. We want you to be able to make those hires quickly and efficiently and it can be frustrating when you are receiving candidates that do not meet the necessary qualifications. Though our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are tools that we provide that help filter out those candidates who do not meet your standards. We always recommend using the deal breaker screening questions and the rating tool to help improve our algorithm. We also have free features to help improve your visibility among the right kinds of candidates and if we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, I would be more than happy to personally walk you through those additional features to improve the performance. You can email us here at support@ziprecruiter.com and title it "Attention Tier II."

      You can also reach the rest of our customer success team by calling 877-252-1062 (24/7). We hope you make those hires soon and I look forward to hearing from you.

      Kind regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nothing going on...

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After placing my resume on ZipRecruiter, I got lots of emails from "Phil," an auto response saying that people were looking at my resume. But nothing ever came out of those looks. I used INDEED and had great responses from employers at the same time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Barbara,

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We at ZipRecruiter do aim to provide our job seekers with application updates and as much feedback as possible.

      At this time, we do not partake in the hiring process with the employers so we cannot guarantee employment or correspondence.

      Our dedicated customer care team would be happy to provide you with some tips to get the most out of your experience with us! Should we have the pleasure to assist you in the future, please feel welcome to email us directly at support@ziprecruiter.com.

      We wish you the best of luck on your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier III Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Be aware!

    • Texas,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware that even after you have canceled your subscription, they will charge your account. I was never told that I was signing for a "free trial" and I did not receive any free months. But after having closed my account, my credit card was charged double. You cannot cancel. I am still being charged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Ravonda,

      Thank you for submitting this review as your feedback is very important to us! I would like to apologize for your recent experience with our cancellation process. To address the cancellation issue, our call-to-cancel policy is put in place to protect your privacy and personal information. Your subscription provided you with reusable job slots, so when you closed your job ad, our system assumed that you were going to post a new job ad in the open job slot. This is why closing the job ad did not stop the billing. It looks as though you called us yesterday and we were able to get you the refund for the month you were not utilizing our services. I am glad we could get you taken care of. Thanks for your patience! We hope you make those hires soon, Ravonda! Please contact our customer success team if you have any other questions by calling 877-252-1062 (24/7).

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience as an employer

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would give zero stars if possible. We were looking for CDL A drivers and night warehouse pickers. They sent us Uber drivers and the 90% of the resumes we called never returned a call or would never come in for the interview. When we told them that the service wasn't worth it, they tried selling us an upgrade for $1500/month. We told them to cancel it, which they never did so we got hit for another month. So with them for 6 months and didn't hire a single candidate. Totally worthless, ended up going with a temp-to-hire service that is working 100 times better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Keith,

      Thank you for submitting this review, as your feedback is very important to us! We are sorry to hear that you did not get a pool of qualified candidates during your time with us. We want you to be able to make those hires quickly and efficiently, and it can be frustrating when you are not receiving candidates that do not meet the necessary qualifications. Though our system does work to match the best-matched candidates for your job, there are tools that we provide that help filter out those candidates who do not meet your standards. We also have free features to help improve your visibility amongst the right kind of candidates and if we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, I would be more than happy to personally walk you through those additional features to improve the performance. You can email us here at support@ziprecruiter.com and title it "Attention Tier II Katie." As for the billing issue, I would love to investigate this further and help resolve this issue. Please reach out to me personally so I can address your concerns. Thank you for your patience and for letting us know! We hope to improve your experience with us and I look forward to hearing from you.

      We are available here at Customer Success at 1 877-252-1062 (24/7) to answer any questions you may have!

      We hope you are able to make those hires soon!

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Waste of my time AND money!

    • Florida,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a JOKE! I paid ZipRecruiter for months to advertise several positions for my 30-year established company. While we did receive some resumes, we got responses to our calls like, "No, I didn't apply with you," and "I've GOT a job. Why would I send you my resume?" and "Maybe they sent you my resume since I filed it with them a while ago." One of the resumes even noted that the applicant was "available for hire in 2014"! (Mind you, it is now nearly 2019!)

    THAT was the final straw! Many of the resumes we got were from people who were grossly under-qualified and who did not meet the specific criterion I had listed (the few weed-out questions I'd listed). AND when I tried to cancel my subscription ONLINE, I was prompted to call a phone number. When I dialed the number, I was met with a recording that said it was a non-working number! I THEN was forced to do an online chat with TWO ZipRecruiter employees, just to CANCEL my account! It sure wasn't THIS difficult for them to TAKE my money each month!

    So, the whole endeavor with ZipRecruiter proved to be, in my opinion, just a waste of my time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello,

      Thank you for submitting this review as your feedback is very important to us! It's never our intention to make cancellation difficult and I apologize if our process was at all inconvenient.

      In regard to the candidates you received, I do know how important it is for you to make those hires quickly and it can be frustrating when it takes longer than you anticipated and ZipRecruiter will never send you a resume without that candidate actively applying to your position. In the event that our system noted that a candidate had posted their resume in 2014, or you were reaching out to potential candidates who stated their resume was on file with us, you may have been utilizing our Resume Database. While our database is a great tool (especially if you need to make hires quickly), we do suggest fully utilizing the many filters provided to find the most relevant candidates.

      I would like to investigate these concerns further. However, I am unable to locate your account with the information you provided but if you would like me to look into this please reach out to me personally at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Katie" so we can further address your concerns. You can also always reach the rest of our customer success team by calling 877-252-1062 (24/7).

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 191

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review