About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

109 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 12 1 star:  83
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 109
Sort reviews by:

  • Online chat help

    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stacia McKinnie helped me with my requests and answered my questions. It was easy, quick and efficient. I would definitely recommend this service to save time. You are not placed on hold like what happens when you call in.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not what they seem

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Jan 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site really baits you with listings that either fit or somewhat fit your profile. However, in order to gain access to the ones that fit best, they require you to pay a monthly fee. When you can go to the company's website and submit experience for free.

    I don't have an issue paying someone who is actually helping me by presenting "me" to a prospective employer. But to pay just to see a listing, that may or may not be active, and probably has many-many more applicants doing the same makes no sense to me.

    Save your money. To me, this is a scam. As they present themselves as a "free service." Yet, in order to get access to listings that could actually be a fit for you, you must join their monthly membership.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Srdjan Maksimovic,

      Hi Klynn,

      Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback! I am very sorry to hear about any poor experience or misconceptions while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search.

      ZipRecruiter is a service that helps to hire managers and recruiters post their jobs and collect applications online. ZipRecruiter is not an actual recruitment firm that can assign or take appointments from or for Job Seekers. ZipRecruiter is an entirely free service for job seekers! There is no fee to search or apply for jobs, nor is there ever a fee to become employed through the ZipRecruiter job board. As a job seeker on our website, you will never be asked to provide any payment or credit card information. We welcome you to apply for any job that is in line with your career goals and interest level!

      Should we ever have the pleasure to assist you with your job search again in the future, I’d be happy to personally assist you with the overall function of your job seeker account. Please feel free to send us an email to support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject line, “Tier II help” so I may receive your inquiry. I apologize again for any inconvenience

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in last week and spoke with a young man named Dejuan. He was very patient and knowledgeable about ZipRecruiter's products and took his time walking me through them all. I was skeptical and thought about canceling after not getting a lot of candidates the first few days, but after speaking with him and making a few changes, I now have over 50 candidates that have applied! I'm very happy with the service. ZipRecruiter works as advertised!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer service via Chat- Rebecca

    I just had a customer service chat with Rebecca at ZipRecruiter.com and she was so very helpful and pleasant. She knew exactly what my problem awas and has already escalated the issue.

    Rebecca- you ROCK! You go, girl! I wish every customer service person was like you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Support

    I was having trouble getting in touch with them over the phone, so I reached out via live chat. It was quick and simple. The rep that worked with me was amazing, polite, and gave me the assistance that I needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Online support

    I've enjoyed using ZipRecruiter over other options. Recently I had an email issue with our account, and Rebecca helped to quickly narrow down the issue and got me the info I needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wrong email address

    I was applying for jobs and was given the wrong email address. I contacted ZipRecruiter and Rebecca was so helpful in getting this done for me. They need to give that lady a raise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend this to a friend from the get-go. The sales rep entered my credit card without giving me the free trial and said some mumbo jumbo to make it appear I made the mistake in accepting his offer for a free boost in the first month which will give me more qualified candidates, over a free 4-day trial.

    What is really unbelievable is the amount of resumes that appeared in my inbox (approximately 60%) that didn't have the word "payroll" anywhere on the resume when my job was for a payroll specialist. In addition, one of my screening questions asked "do you live in the Phoenix metro area" and two resumes appeared from overseas (India and Saudi Arabia). When asked why these resumes were forwarded, they responded: "we can't stop someone from applying that don't fit the criteria."

    When asked about their matching software, that should have been able to filter out "unqualified candidates" like their advertising states, the online Chat personnel didn't have any idea on how it actually worked.

    After posting the same job on Craigslist, payroll-specific resumes appeared on the first day, and we are in the midst of making a hiring decision. ZipRecruiter - don't bother with the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2017

      Srdjan Maksimovic,

      Hi Candy,

      Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologize for your poor experience in collecting qualified candidates and your overall poor experience during sign up.

      In terms of quality, our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, however, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of collecting qualified candidates and filtering out the ones that may not be a good fit.

      If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to offer you a new free trial and walk you through those additional features.

      Please feel free to contact me directly by sending an email to support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Sam" with any questions you may have.

      Kind regards,

      Sam

    • Dec 3, 2017

      gary

      ZipRecruiter is constantly sending emails which I never signed up for. Then say that they had nothing to do with it. They are a bad company who will not help. I have never signed up with them or any partners but they claim I have. AVOID.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Massachusetts,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't believe this site advertises on national TV; it's a two-bit scam site.

    If you are looking for a job and are asked for money that is the number one sign to back away. You're also dumped on to all different sites you never intended to visit, another bad sign. I haven't seen any legitimate jobs that aren't already on Indeed, LinkedIn, or Glassdoor, and plenty that lead to other sites that want money before you can apply. Looking for work is hard enough without a ton of emails with junk listings.

    My computer is also running slower all of a sudden, so there is probably some malware from this site. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive

    I have tried ZipRecruiter several times over the last couple of years with ZERO success. More than a few times I have been sent to interviews that have ZERO to do with my skill set is, and the jobs are very sketchy. In addition to this, as soon as I submit my number and email, I am inundated with robo calls for schools and other phishing scams!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2017

      Srdjan Maksimovic,

      Hi Arabella,

      Thank you so much for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the suspicious job ads as well as the poor match job suggestions.

      At ZipRecruiter, it is our mission to find people meaningful employment. As we are an online job board, we are unable to partake in the interview or hiring process. With your resume on file within your "job seeker account," you have access to “1-click apply” to jobs of interest on the platform, which will submit your resume directly to the employer for review. The hiring manager can then reach out to you directly should they wish to move forward with the interview process.

      Should we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your job search in the future, please feel free to reach out to me directly via email at support@ziprecruiter.com. You may list “Tier II help” in the subject line so the inquiry will reach me directly, and it would be my pleasure to further explain our job matching algorithm. I’d be happy to assist you with unsubscribing or closing your job seeker account entirely as well, should you choose. Additionally, my team can forward you to the correct specialists for reporting and/or assist with any suspicious activity on the website. We definitely take pride in the safety and success of our job seekers.

      Thank you again for your patience and understanding, and we wish you the best of luck in your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Almost impossible to cancel free trial

    I signed up for a free trial for a medical position. I only received two resumes during the trial period, and neither were qualified. When you try and cancel you get a "server error." The button to email them doesn't work. If you initiate an online chat, they won't help you. They tell you that you have to call. Then they spend an hour throwing up roadblocks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 16, 2017

      Srdjan Maksimovic,

      Hi Darryll,

      Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologize for your poor experience with collecting a larger pool of qualified candidates and our cancellation policy.

      In terms of quality and traffic, our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, however, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of collecting a large pool and finding the perfect candidate.

      After reviewing your account, I can see that we were experiencing a technical hiccup in our system on the day you attempted to cancel and unfortunately we are unable to cancel accounts via chat or email due to security concerns. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

      If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to offer you a new free trial and walk you through those additional features.

      Please feel free to contact me directly by sending an email to support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Tier III" with any questions you may have.

      Kind regards,

      Tier III Support

    • Nov 19, 2017

      len zampi

      I am interested in full-service restaurant jobs/management & hospitality. (843) 501-3339.

    • Nov 20, 2017

      Joy

      I tried out ZipRecruiter due to the desperation of going back to work, since I've been unemployed for eight months. I was a FedEx package handler before I became unemployed. The pay was good but hours were lousy. To make a long story short, I'm the type of person that will take what's given to me since I'm in need of income. I've tried temp agencies, one-stop programs, and stayed in front of a desktop computer for hours with very little luck. I came across ZipRecruiter.

      The application process seemed relevantly simple. I registered and uploaded my resume by a click of a button. I strolled through labor jobs, I found many but kept receiving emails about companies who viewed my application. I even received a call from an anonymous man stating he can get me on board to work at Adecco. I still haven't heard from him since. Whoever wants work, it's better to apply online with the actual company website. Don't waste your time giving your personal information. It's not being used for good reasons.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 109

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review