About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

163 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 18 1 star:  125
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 163
Sort reviews by:

  • No gatekeeping for scams, apparently.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I imagine Ziprecruiter likely doesn't care who pays them, as I've had zero luck finding a job through the service but have received at least three scam emails and one text. They're all hilariously bad in terms of content and grammar, and plainly obvious as information scraping cons.

    Still, the fact that a decent amount of my personal information is getting shared with con artists is seriously, heavily on Ziprecruiter. Stay the holy hell away from this website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not a big fan

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a job seeker, so I have used ZipRecruiter for free. I also have no other choice if I want to apply for certain jobs. Here is my complaint: They are constantly sending me jobs I am not interested in or qualified for (i.e. I am in marketing, but just got sent a job today looking for a physician). You have the option to send them feedback, which I have, but the medical job listings just keep coming with the hilarious heading "We think you'd be a great fit for this job!" or something similar.

    I also have had two phone calls from companies that are not in the area I am looking for jobs and for jobs for, once again, I am not qualified for.

    Every once in awhile, I actually get job listings in my field.

    And my final complaint is the profile...you cannot put certain things in AND they set older workers up for age discrimination.

    It's a decent idea, but it needs A LOT of work to be considered credible and viable by me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam

    • Carmel, NY,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started a free trial over a year ago to test the waters with this company, and see if it would be a good investment. Over a year later, after receiving zero emails, confirming payments, or subscriptions, I notice a charge for over $400 on my card. I immediately called the company, furious, only to find out this is the 14th recurring payment and that they have charged my card for over $5600. They offered me a comical four months refund and promised me that a manager would be calling me tomorrow. Stay away from this company, is it an absolute gimmick and outrageously unethical. I had to ask the man on the phone how he could sleep at night working for a company that steals from people. Also, I have not received one applicant from this source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Tyler,

      Thank you for submitting this review and for voicing your concerns, your feedback is very important to us! I would like to provide some clarity regarding your account as well as address all of your concerns.

      Every ZipRecruiter customer is required to acknowledge an understanding of our 4-day free trial period upon activation of their account. This agreement is marked in bold text and requires the customer to check a box that says "I agree" before continuing. All ZipRecruiter accounts start with a courtesy 4-day free trial that provides users the ability to post free job listings and review candidates. Users are welcome to cancel any time before the end of that trial period without any charge. If the trial is not canceled, then you begin the seamless transition into your monthly subscription. Our advertisements for ZipRecruiter reference the ability to post a job for free and/or use our services for free, which is applicable during the trial period. During the sign-up process, we do our best to explain the free trial period and disclose our Terms of Use. We apologize if this was unclear.

      Due to the lack of cancellation, your account was charged on a monthly basis, as outlined in our Terms of Service. After a thorough review of your account, we were able to determine your notification settings were enabled and it seems that you were subscribed to all forms of communication from us, including real-time alerts. During this time your job ads were posted, and you were receiving applicants, both in your account and through email notifications. However, after your conversation with a ZipRecruiter manager, we have decided to process and issue you 6 additional months of refunds, totaling 10 months of refunded payments. I hope we were able to address your concerns! We appreciate your patience and your feedback, Tyler.

      If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me personally at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Katie". You can also reach the rest of our Customer Success Team by calling 877-252-1062. We are now available 24/7 for your convenience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time.

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been on ZipRecruiter for four months and never once have been called. They say the employer is viewing your resume. Or you're heating up. The resume gets viewed two three, maybe even four times but no one ever calls and then the job closes. ZipRecruiter sucks. If you want a job, go on Indeed. They actually call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hello Quinton,

      I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. Unfortunately, because we are not a Staffing Agency, there is no way for us to determine what factors may impact your job search or you receiving a call from a prospective employer. We understand that not getting call-backs from employers can be very frustrating! We know how important it is for you to find the right career. When an employer is interested in your resume, they will generally send an email directly from their employer account inquiring about an in-person or phone interview. It will come directly from a "noreply@ziprecruiter" email. I would suggest adding this email address to your contact list in your email account so that you do not miss these important communications! We wish you the best of luck in your job search! If you need any other assistance please reach out to us here at ZipRecruiter at 877-252-1062. We are here 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Very sad...but very true!

    • California,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quite frankly, I am really disappointed in ZipRecruiter. I hear this company's advertisement all the time about helping people find jobs. I have been using the site for 60 DAYS, and I did NOT receive ONE phone call on my resume using this site. Every job that ZipRecruiter suggested I was a match for I applied to, and yet it never culminated into one interview. Not ONE!

    ZipRecruiter informs me every time someone views my resume, and they even go as far as to illustrate the statistical likelihood that I would get called and YET, NOTHING HAPPENS! I think you should have a means of contacting those employers and ask the employer if they look at a resume 3 times or 4 times. Why would they not call that individual? Quite honestly, it's very discouraging to see that, and it gave me the impression that these job postings aren't real and it's just a marketing ploy to gain a means to advertise.

    Thanks, ZipRecruiter, for reminding me that although my resume is marketable, it isn't good enough to get a call from a job advertised on this site and NOTHING beats good old-fashioned hard work, diligence, and consistency when looking for a job. Have a nice day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 29, 2018

      Quinton W.

      I totally agree.

    • Jul 6, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Michael,

      Thank you for your review as we do appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your experience while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search.

      ZipRecruiter is an online job board platform for hiring managers and recruiters to post their jobs and collect applications. For job seekers, you can create an account to upload your resume and apply for jobs that match your career goals and expertise. While we try to keep our job seekers as informed as possible, we are unable to advise if/when an employer may choose to reach out to candidates for interviews or to finish off the hiring process. Our dedicated customer care team would be happy to provide some helpful tips to get the most out of your job seeker account.

      Should we ever have the pleasure to assist you again in the future, please feel welcome to email us at support@ziprecruiter.com. You may use the subject line, “Tier III Help” so that myself or one of our other senior representatives receive your inquiry directly.

      We wish you the very best of luck on your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier III Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Definitely recommend

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ZipRecruiter sends job openings on a daily basis that are potential matches, it’s easy-to-use, and simplifies the application process by one click of a button. ZipRecruiter informs when your application has been viewed by the hiring company.

    My experience: I uploaded my resume, received immediate job postings and was able to apply for several jobs in just minutes. I received my first call for an interview the following day and four job offers within two weeks. The only drawback is finding a way to notify ZipRecruiter that I accepted a position so as not to receive any more emails.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in on a Sunday. I waited for approximately four minutes. The lady who answered listened to my problem, helped me correct it and was patient while I made sure the issue was fixed on all platforms. She was courteous and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    ZipRecruiter is a work in progress

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is set up as if they are still working out how to make the site as passive with the minimalist amount of effort placed in finding companies what they need in an employee while they are in a hurry-up mode using multiple professionals resumes to complete this lazy way of connecting worker to the employer.

    They keep us hooked on this idea that they will aid in finding us a job through their barely finished project by sending us possible fake recruiter responses to our email just so we can apply to the next lie, that is what it seems like, as if it is a game. I lack any trust in them and find that some jobs have already been filled on some company sites who aren't lazy and allowing a third party liar set them up with a potential employee.

    This is not a clean process, and there's no feed or exchange of information that seems to lead towards a job opportunity nor a phone call from these "recruiters." My experience, after an upwards of 70 job application applied for, is that I get response from a "recruiter," and they gather information from me and never contact me again even with all of my credentials lined up with the job I apply for nothing after that comes via email. You just wait because they don't have active recruiters working on your behalf.

    I got to the point that none of it matters and just clicked on anything close to my resume after two weeks of BS from this site - "Someone looked at your information twice today" yet it did nothing to get me a job. "Oh, they loved your resume and it is impressive, thank you for your service." No matter how many certifications you have or education and work experience, if you step out of line with company requirements they ignore you. "You cost too much." Yeah I do because the training you're supposed to give me, for your systems, is being paid for by me so I can be more likely to get the job. They state their strict requirement and the certs cost $300-$600 per, so yeah, I cost a lot. They, who have no clue how to run a network or stop a person from hacking their idiotic setup. Of course, I am going to ask for more money because I bet it sucks working for you.

    It really feel as if the jobs are fake and everything that is placed in front of you is for show just to keep you coming back begging for employment the wrong way. I remember when companies had paper applications and you walked in dressed nice to put on a show as whether they will like you was dependent on the first person you interacted with. This is so passive. You don't get the human interaction at all and you are just a number to which a company wants to place more restrictions on a job by being so specific that no one meets their requirements and the people who kind of do go off and train themselves on their own dime instead of the companies having to spend money on the training of new employees.

    I worked in IT for 8 years and here I am out of the military finding that most of the jobs offered have more cost to entry; you can meet 70-90% of the requirement, but if you are too expensive, you are overlooked. Or if you aren't 100% trained up for their version of software when there are multiple versions out there for analytics, companies decide what they want to use, you are overlooked for not meeting one aspect they don't want to train you in.

    Companies and ZipRecruiter have no clue how diverse the IT career field is and requirements for jobs are stupidly demanding of items companies should train the potential employee on because they know they have their versions of software they use is not going to be the standard throughout the industry. The so-called recruiters are ignorant as to what they should be consulting the companies on so they can meet those logical demands, or better yet find the right people for the company. They work on commission, so they don't care much to take time to find the right people, and they are will to allow dumb companies make demands that will never be met unless the person who applies used to work at said company or a rival that can give them insider information. It's as if the recruiters don't have a background in IT, just some outsourced "BS-er" or a bot that is so dumb.

    I guess I will work for self being an Amazon independent delivery driver. I knew I would be working for Jeff some day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Has anyone actually gotten a job through them?

    • Camarillo, CA,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pretty much every job that I apply for has 100+ applicants. I'd have better luck playing the lottery. The job market is supposed to be skewed in favor of the employees. What I see here, is not the case. I asked them if possibly it is because the jobs are in California, which may have a higher ratio of people to jobs. They beat around the bush and don't answer the question. If they don't know, they should just say, "I don't know." But, anyway, has anyone actually gotten a job through this company?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 19, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Carla,

      We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with valuable feedback. I understand your interest in learning if the ratio of applicants to jobs has had an impact on your job search, and I would be happy to provide clarification.

      There is not a way for us to determine specifically what factors might impact your job search, however, we do notice that jobs posted in areas of high population tend to have more applicants. There are still ways for you to stand out!

      Adding a custom cover letter can be a great touch to any application. You may add a cover letter from the drop-down menu titled 'Actions' associated with each application on your 'Applied Jobs' page.

      We appreciate that you have chosen our service for your job search. If you have any remaining questions or feedback, please feel welcome to reach out. Our team is available 24 hours a day via email at support@ziprecruiter.com

      Madison

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Difficult

    • Maine,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My concerns with ZipRecruiter is not with the candidates or with the number of candidates. I received a fair amount of interest. However, there is no way to prevent ZipRecruiter from charging my card each month without calling customer service; it can't be done online. Also, I signed up with a promotion, but the promotion was not reflected on my charge. I had to call customer service for a refund. When I called customer service again after 30 days because I had a recurring charge, they gave me a hard time about a refund due to the refund on the promotional rate. I eventually got my refund but had to argue about it. Left a bad taste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Misleading free trial

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They claim to give you a free trial. There is a button that you check to acknowledge a monthly figure that you will pay after the free trial. This makes one assume it is a month free trial. After you enter all of your information, it informs you that the free trial is only for four days. If they would have been honest about the length of the free trial that would be one thing. Because of that dishonesty I instantly canceled and will not do business with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 163

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review