About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

100 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 12 1 star:  80
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 100
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive

    I have tried ZipRecruiter several times over the last couple of years with ZERO success. More than a few times I have been sent to interviews that have ZERO to do with my skill set is, and the jobs are very sketchy. In addition to this, as soon as I submit my number and email, I am inundated with robo calls for schools and other phishing scams!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Almost impossible to cancel free trial

    I signed up for a free trial for a medical position. I only received two resumes during the trial period, and neither were qualified. When you try and cancel you get a "server error." The button to email them doesn't work. If you initiate an online chat, they won't help you. They tell you that you have to call. Then they spend an hour throwing up roadblocks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 16, 2017

      Mey Eap,

      Hi Darryll,

      Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologize for your poor experience with collecting a larger pool of qualified candidates and our cancellation policy.

      In terms of quality and traffic, our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, however, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of collecting a large pool and finding the perfect candidate.

      After reviewing your account, I can see that we were experiencing a technical hiccup in our system on the day you attempted to cancel and unfortunately we are unable to cancel accounts via chat or email due to security concerns. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

      If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to offer you a new free trial and walk you through those additional features.

      Please feel free to contact me directly by sending an email to support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Tier III" with any questions you may have.

      Kind regards,

      Tier III Support

    • Nov 19, 2017

      len zampi

      I am interested in full-service restaurant jobs/management & hospitality. (843) 501-3339.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Go to Indeed

    • South Carolina,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We tried ZipRecruiter and after two weeks with no potential employee resumes emailed to us, we decided to also try Indeed. My subscription runs out on the 12th of this month, and I still have not received any resumes. I called to request a refund or a discount, but ZipRecruiter suggested I try "re-wording" my description next time. There will not be a next time! Hired with Indeed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 14, 2017

      Mey Eap,

      Hi Karyn,

      Thank you for submitting this review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I would like to apologize for your overall poor experience with the number of candidates that you received during your time with us.

      In terms of candidate traffic, although our system does work to provide a large number of applicants to your job, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of increasing the amount of traffic to the ad. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features.

      In regard to your initial request, unfortunately we are unable to visit those options via third-party websites. However, I'd be happy to discuss this issue with you further if you would reach out to me at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Tier III".

      You can also reach the rest of our Customer Success Team by calling 1877-252-1062 (24/7)

      Kind regards,

      Tier III Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    ZipRecruiter billed

    • California,
    • Nov 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    In March 2016 we placed a one-time ad for an employee position for my company with ZipRecruiter. Within 10 days I found and hired a candidate on my own and cancelled the ad.

    I just discovered that ZipRecruiter has been billing a monthly subscription fee of $249 since that time for services that we did not order, did not need, and did not use. The charges total $4,980.00. I immediately requested that the subscription be canceled, along with a refund for the over-billing.

    I received an email regarding the cancellation, but the account is still open. I have received no response regarding the overpayment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Stacia was great!

    My company wanted to modify our plan on ZipRecruiter, and I spoke with Greg H about it initially. He was amazing and also very helpful, but I had to follow-up after about a week or so because we had not seen our rebate check come in the mail and some of the features we didn't need within ZipRecruiter were still available.

    He had provided me an email address to follow-up with, and as soon as I did, Stacia came to my assistance. Not only was she polite and knowledgeable, but she gave me all the answers I wanted (which you rarely get in customer service, especially when it comes to the money aspect) in a very short amount of time. I would love her to help me out again even if she can't give me the answers I hope for!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away, lots of BS scams, bait and switch offers

    • Covina, CA,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used ZipRecruiter for about three weeks. After a long stream of "recruiters" offering minimum wage jobs or high paying offshore "offers" and stupid offers of "supervisor" positions (bait and switch) or "Start your Business" crap, I messaged these clowns to close my account. Now the spam emails have doubled or tripled! I'm going to have to delete my email account to end the mess.

    I found my own job by actually knocking on doors, and at a pay rate MUCH better than anything "offered" by ZipRecruiter's fake job offers.

    PLEASE just STAY AWAY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I would not recommend ZipRecruiter to anyone

    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a job on LinkedIn. This somehow got routed to ZipRecruiter. An account was created without my permission on this site. It took my resume, phone number, email address, etc., and posted it on its site. I have sent multiple emails asking for the account to be deleted. I get no response. I try to delete my resume from its site, but it won't allow me to do so. I try to delete the contents of my resume from this site, but it won't allow me to do so. My resume is all of out order. My current job is listed last. It's embarrassing.

    I would never willingly present myself in this manner to anyone, let alone a prospective employer. It has a post that tells you how to delete your account. It doesn't work. It just takes you to the homepage by design. I got an email with a phone number for support, but it's nothing but a recording. You are unable to speak with a person. ZipRecruiter is just a bad deal any way you measure it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 14, 2017

      Mey Eap,

      Hi Melody,

      Thank you so much for reaching out to us with your valuable feedback. I apologize for any issue so far with closing your account or reaching support.

      As a job distribution website, you might notice our jobs posted on several of our job board partner websites. We understand that your account was created via an application submitted through LinkedIn. Our dearest apologies for any confusion or inconvenience this has caused.

      We have a dedicated Job Seeker Advocate team who is able to assist with job search tips and navigating the site. We are more than happy to assist you with your resume upload, application processes, and the overall functionality of your job seeker account. Should we ever have the pleasure to assist you with your job search again in the future, feel free to email us directly at support@ziprecruiter.com.

      Please feel free to reach out to me directly by email with the subject line, “Tier II Support” and I’d be happy to get any issues resolved immediately. Within the email, please provide your full name along with the email address associated with your account so I may easily access your information and assure your account has been closed per your request.

      Thank you again for your patience and understanding, and we wish you the best of luck on job searching!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier II Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Superior service from your customer success, employer advocate Stacia McKinnie

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Nov 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had inadvertently paid an invoice twice. I called their customer support area and was fortunate to be connected with Stacia McKinnie. I explained the situation, she understood it, as well the two different payment methods we used to make the payments (ACH and Charge Card). She documented the information with the detail their A/R department would need to research and resolve the issue. She told me she would follow up with me on the resolution. The next morning she did so. She was very polite, very communicative, and quite responsive. This is probably no surprise to them; I am sure she gets several positive customer reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They got me for one month, about $500.00 CDN and I told them to go pound salt.

    You get tons of resumes, that part is true, but the resumes are useless and most likely made up.

    They tried to stop me from leaving and offered all kinds of incentives, but I didn't budge, and I recommend you don't either.

    Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2017

      Mey Eap,

      Hi Joe,

      Thank you very much for taking the time to review ZipRecruiter, your feedback is very important to us!

      I would like to apologize for your poor experience in receiving qualified candidates during your time with us. Although our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage of to help better their chances of finding the right candidate and filtering out those who are not a good fit. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features.

      Please feel free to contact me directly by sending an email to support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Sam" with any questions you may have.

      Kind regards,

      Sam

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic customer service

    I called into support about the new change in the layout of how I get leads to my iPhone. The new process would not work for my needs. Mike Shoemaker was amazing. He stayed on the phone and talked with other staff with experience to help me. Later he figured out a way to resolve my issue and took the time to call me and follow up. He really did not have to research and figure it out. I’m happy. Most people would have just said, "that’s the new layout and live with it." He figured out a way to get the old layout back for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    They just steal hard-earned money away from business owners. They have deceptive practices and obscure their policies. When called they are snooty, condescending, and rude. They are happy to take your money but do not deliver qualified candidates, and none of the candidates respond to emails. I think this is nothing more than a scam. I got better results on Monster and other sites without losing $2K for a worthless ad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 27, 2017

      Mey Eap,

      Hi Michael,

      Thank you for submitting this review as we greatly appreciate your feedback! I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologize for your overall poor experience with our cancellation process, the lack of response, and the quality of candidates that you received.

      In terms of candidate quality, our system does work to identify the best-matched candidates for your job, there are several other tools that we encourage all customers to take advantage, to help better their chances of finding the right candidate and filtering out those who are not a good fit. If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to walk you through those additional features. In terms of response, unfortunately we do not have control over what the candidates choose to do with your communications, however, we do have several tools that can help alleviate these types of problems.

      After reviewing your account I believe I have identified the source of the confusion. It seems that you did close the jobs properly but not the subscription itself. This would explain those extra charges as all accounts are set up to auto-renew at the end of each billing period. Closing the jobs simply opens up the job"slots" for you to post new ones in their place but does not cancel the subscription. During the sign-up process, we do our best to explain how the system works in our "Terms of Use." We apologize if this was unclear. I can also see that your account has been issued five months of refunds (6/1 - 10/1) totaling at $1338.40.

      If we ever have the pleasure of assisting you with your hiring needs in the future, we would be happy to offer you a new free trial and walk you through all the benefits of using ZipRecruiter. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me personally at support@ziprecruiter.com with the subject "Attention Sam". You can also reach the rest of our customer success team by calling 1-877-252-1062 (24/7). We are here to help!

      Kind regards,

      Sam

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 100

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review