About ZipRecruiter

ZipRecruiter is an online service that claims to make hiring faster, easier, and cheaper by giving employers the ability to post their open positions to 50+ job boards with just one submission, and for employees to search their large database of job postings. And because ZipRecruiter claims that their goal is to create a stress-free, easy-to-use, and simplified process for the job seeker and the employer, their services have been used by more than 250,000 companies and more than 15 million candidates.

But whether you’re an employee looking for job posts online or a company looking to post a job listing, is ZipRecruiter a solid option for achieving your goals? Let’s post some facts and find out.

How ZipRecruiter Claims to Work

ZipRecruiter offers services for both job seekers and employers, so let’s take a look at the site from a company’s perspective first.

ZipRecruiter for Companies

Founded in 2010 and based out of Santa Monica, CA, ZipRecruiter’s primary claim to fame is their ability to allow employers to post their jobs to 50+ job boards (both paid and free), including Job.com, Monster, SimplyHired, Glassdoor, and more, while the company’s proprietary technology is claimed to analyze your jobs in real-time in order to maximize your placement across all of their job board distribution partners. In addition, employers also have the ability to implement social websites into their arsenal, including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+.

Each employer’s job postings on ZipRecruiter are claimed to be mobile-friendly, which can also include your company’s branding (logo, etc.), and can even be added directly to your company’s website. Job postings can also include free form, multiple choice, or yes/no questions for candidates to answer, which can help you qualify them more quickly. After they’ve answered questions and submitted their résumé, you can then create custom email responses, track and rate each applicant, and export your candidate list to Excel.

On top of all this, if you’d prefer to seek out candidates directly instead of waiting for them to apply, ZipRecruiter also gives you the ability to search more than 4.5 million résumés in their résumé database, which includes full contact information for up to 500 or 1,000 candidates per month, depending on your plan.

ZipRecruiter for Candidates

After creating a ZipRecruiter profile, you’ll be able to post your résumé to the website’s database, which gives employers the opportunity to search for candidates like you to their open positions. You’ll also be able to search for open listings based on keyword and city/state, and once you find a job that you’re interested in, you can apply directly or save the listing and apply later.

After you’ve submitted your résumé, ZipRecruiter gives you the ability to see how many employers have viewed your résumé, as well as how many times your application was saved, liked, shared, or considered. And when you’re not at your computer, or on iOS or Android mobile device, you can create job alerts to notify you when a job matching your criteria has been posted.

ZipRecruiter Pricing & Refund Policy

As a candidate, a ZipRecruiter account is completely free of charge. As a company, all new employer accounts come with a free 4-day trial, although you will have to enter your credit card information to sign up.

  • Standard: Distribute to 100+ job boards
  • Premium: Distribute to 100+ job boards, Premium placement in 15 million+ emails, Access to our database of 12 million+ resumes
  • Pro: Everything that Standard & Premium Offer plus TrafficBoost for urgent or hard-to-fill jobs, Send candidates directly to your external ATS

Regardless of which option you choose, all plans come with an unlimited number of candidates who can apply to your postings, without any additional charges. To obtain pricing, you must contact the company directly.

ZipRecruiter’s services come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, which states that if you’re not happy, you can cancel your account and you’ll be refunded your previous payment (if on a month-to-month plan). If you’re on a 6 or 12-month plan, you’ll need to cancel within the first 30 days in order to be eligible for a full refund. Otherwise, your account will remain active for the remainder of your term, after which you’ll no longer be billed.

ZipRecruiter claims to place a great deal of emphasis on providing premium support from real people. As such, if you encounter a problem, you can contact the company at (800) 557-9015, via email, or through live chat.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About ZipRecruiter?

Overall, among internet job posting sites, ZipRecruiter appears to have a very positive online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing ease of use, professional, friendly customer service, and that it’s a great tool for promoting your job opening.

However, the most common complaint regarding ZipRecruiter appears to reference that some employers received very few applicants for their open positions (more about this in the following section). Another common complaint referenced ZipRecruiter’s high price, which may be especially pertinent if you’re a very small company who will use the site infrequently, and are just looking to post one job listing. With this said, it appears that ZipRecruiter addresses online complaints quickly and actively works with customers to formulate a solution.

Bottom line: Can ZipRecruiter Help You Find a Job or Fill an Open Position?

Whether you’re a company looking for a new employee, or an individual looking for the perfect employer, almost everything about posting a job and the job-hunting process can be stressful. However, ZipRecruiter appears to have a well-earned reputation for effectively helping both employees and employers make the right match, and to make the process as simple and as straightforward as possible.

However, keep in mind that you may have to pay extra for posting to paid job boards like Monster, and it usually takes about 24 hours for your posting to appear on job boards (paid or otherwise). Also, remember that ZipRecruiter can help you spread the word about your jobs, but the company can’t guarantee that you’ll receive a large number (or any, for that matter) of applicants, although they do have some actionable tips you can use to make your posting more attractive to potential employees.

Related: An Introduction to Working Remotely

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

206 Consumer Reviews for ZipRecruiter

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 21 1 star:  164
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 206
Sort reviews by:

  • RUDE customer service!

    • Florida,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    RUDE PEOPLE who charge far too much for mediocre results.

    I just called to ask about canceling my "subscription" and the rep that assisted me interrupted me to stop me from talking and abruptly end the call. I asked for assistance on a couple of things, and her answers were all a different version of how she could not help me: "I can't do that..." "We aren't allowed to do that..." "I don't know what else I can do to help you..." So when I asked to speak to a manager regarding her rude responses to everything I asked, she said, "A manager would have to call me back." You can't even talk to a person - you have to wait on a callback - which based on that interaction, I assume will never come. They intentionally make it difficult to do business with them - avoid using them if at all possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Be careful

    • Florida,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used ZipRecruiter and was hesitant and skeptical of another internet company.

    The good: I did get a lot of resumes, and I did hire a real person.

    Then the BAD: After I hired my employee and stopped the service ZipRecruiter continued to charge my credit card. They said I put the service on hold, but they still charge a monthly fee. This is wrong. I stopped the service and they just continued charging me until I finally caught it and called them and complained.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Jobs scam at ZipRecruiter

    • Portland, OR,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We live in a small city just outside Portland, so when I saw a job offering two miles from my apartment, I immediately went down to see the manager and owner of the Gas Station/Convince Store, whom I knew, The. I was told that they did NOT have an opening and never heard of ZipRecruiter! So I checked with a Walmart that is on the way into Portland and was told that ZipRecruiter was incorrect and they did not have any openings as well, and they DON'T use ZipRecruiter and have their own recruiting website that they use exclusively and would NOT hire through ZipRecruiter period.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Once you registered on Zip, you cannot delete your profile/resume

    • California,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once I realized just how inept they are and what a con job they are doing to the subscribing businesses, providing non-statistics as I call it. We supplied millions of resumes to businesses.

    OK, you got resumes and then forwarded them just doing a word cloud review (keywords).

    But they never said that they have a 10% or a 25% success rate for placements at companies. That very vital piece of information is a closely guarded secret. My guess is less than 1%. With all of my friends out there, no one has ever landed a job through Zip, nor have any of their friends.

    So I decided to delete my profile from them and remove my resume.

    You cannot, once in their system, you are always there. So I edited my profile, inserted incorrect contact information, and uploaded and replaced my last resume with a blank page resume (they encourage you to "update" your resumes, deleting the old one).

    Word to the wise. I would have given them no stars, but this forum requires at least one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    ZipRecruiter does nothing for free but try and trick

    • Lomita, CA,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took advantage of a "free offer" to be put in contact with potential employees. We need CPAs and CFPs for a financial planning business. The free offer provided the first name of several candidates. Some were law firm partners, others worked in entry-level positions. Nothing of interest. I canceled in a timely manner. According to Zip procedure, I was charged $249 and credited $239.01. I was out $9.99 for the unpleasant experience. A month later I'm billed another $9.99. A phone call was useless. Stephan told me I ordered the $9.99 service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Does NOT care about anything but your money

    • New York,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    ZipRecruiter follows to all too familiar trend of today's modern tech companies - give us the money and we'll do the absolute bare minimum. They focus on volume through marketing and advertising that can be seen and heard everywhere (podcast, subways, etc.) to target millennials and startups in hopes to prove legitimacy.

    Here's a short list of what I find wrong about this company...

    1. Price tag is high for the product offered.

    2. Very poor customer support.

    3. They will lock you out of your account at the end of your month without any warning of doing so, so you can't access any of your candidates outside of your paid month (which seems silly if somebody applies on the 30th or 31st).

    4. The candidates seem to be from random industries. Even with "required" questions, you still get a lot of applicants that don't submit the questions or resumes.

    ZipRecruiter is another company that is trying to make as much money as possible in a short amount of time with blatant disregard for their long-term reputation. With no trial, no freemium options and no "satisfaction guaranty," they really only give you one option...

    "Try it for $250 and be prepared to be disappointed."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Their response to my request for help was to unsubscribe me

    • California,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sent an email through their Help Line, and this is the response I got back...

    Hi Tamelah,

    Thanks for contacting ZipRecruiter!

    We understand the job seeking process can be difficult and while our team is happy to assist, however it doesn't seem like ZipRecruiter is the right site for you and your job search.Please be aware that ZipRecruiter is simply an online job board, not an actual staffing agency so we cannot assist in the application process at any time.

    At this time, we have closed your account, and your email address has been unsubscribed. Please allow 48 hours for all emails to cease.

    Please be aware that in closing your account, you will no longer be able to sign in.

    Check out our Help Center for quick answers and tips!

    Should you need any further assistance, our Job Seeker Advocate Team can be reached via email at:

    United States & Canada: support@ziprecruiter.com

    United Kingdom: support@ziprecruiter.co.uk

    Thanks again for contacting ZipRecruiter.

    Best Regards,

    Melissa

    Customer Care Advocate II

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 5, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Tamelah,

      Thank you for bringing your recent interaction to our attention. I know how important it is to be able to receive consistent support during your job search and I apologize if that wasn't the case this week.

      Please keep an eye out for an updated response in your inbox and if you have any further concerns that you need to be addressed, please email support@ziprecruiter with the subject line "Attn: Maxcine."

      Thank you again for taking the time to bring this experience to my attention and best of luck with your job search!

      Maxcine

      Assistant Supervisor

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam victim through ZipRecruiter

    • Newark, NJ,
    • Oct 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My contact information fell in the hands of an online scammer claiming to be a hiring company. They asked for my bank information and SSN using Gmail accounts. I reported this to ZipRecruiter, but their response was unsatisfactory.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 5, 2018

      ZipRecruiter Support, CSR

      Hi Lisa,

      Thank you for your review as we greatly appreciate your valuable feedback. We're very sorry to hear of any less than exceptional experience while utilizing ZipRecruiter for your job search.

      We do take the safety and security of our job seekers very seriously. Please visit us at https://www.ziprecruiter.com/trust, in order to send the inquiry directly to our dedicated trust and safety team for review. They will be sure to reach back out to you directly regarding any issues you've experienced.

      Thank you again, and we wish you the very best of luck on your job search!

      Kind Regards,

      Tier III Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    A bad joke at best

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I owned a real recruiting firm in Silicon Valley for over 10 years. Sooo, I have a bit of insight. Their process is to show crap against the wall to see if it sticks. A director of HR with 20+ years experience was sent positions for a minimum wage job at a recruitment firm by ZipRecruiter.

    This leads me to believe they send out computer-generated leads to applicants. The problem is the software is ugh.

    They need someone with software design and broad recruitment experience to upgrade their software. Otherwise...you are better off going to Indeed.com if you are looking for a job. At least they don't send you crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM - terrible candidates and even worse customer service

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use their services if you are actually looking for qualified candidates! They send you terrible prospects and then just keep billing you month after month for these "candidates." Emailing what I consider SPAM emails with their "candidates," then considering opening an email from them as "reviewing a candidate," which is what they bill you for. Then "customer service" just says sorry, no refunds. I would never recommend them, for so many reasons - they just send any "candidates" to you so they can keep billing you - TOTAL SCAM! Do not sign up and do NOT open emails from them. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scammers, scammers everywhere

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been on the website for one whole week and every single day I get spammed with emails and texts to my own personal phone from scammers. The typical "you've qualified for any of these 50 whatever listed positions that have nothing to do with your career, let's do an online interview," or perhaps the "I'm out of the country looking for an assistant to cash fake checks" one. When I get three of these a day and zero of what I'm looking for, time to delete my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 206

Write a Review for ZipRecruiter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review