About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

152 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 26 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  96
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 152
Sort reviews by:

  • GREAT SERVICE and company

    • Carson City, NV,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been ordering from Zulily for several years and HAVE ALWAYS had the best luck and customer service. The product has always been quality, and when I have ever had a problem, they have come through with flying colors. Zulily is my go-to internet buy company (dare I say better than Amazon).

    This is my experience with Zulily, and I am not anything but a satisfied customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Shady shipping and billing practices with no accountability

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two issues with purchases made just this weekend:

    1. After an initial purchase, you are supposed to be granted free shipping for 24h, however, upon second purchase, was charged $20 in shipping. When complained, was only given a $10 credit?

    2. Billed incorrect PayPal account, resulting in overdraft on my checking account despite my PayPal account being set up correctly (as viewable via the Zulily website). Customer service provided ZERO assistance with this matter despite screenshots showing that the credit card account should have been charged and Zulily offers no way to modify this information.

    Stay away! Products are fine and prices are good, but customer service and transparency leave much to be desired.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Experience

    • Missouri,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I finally downloaded the Zulily app and decided to try this website out. I had heard mixed reviews so I figured...why not. I ordered a maternity dress (for a wedding) that was listed as a sale item and two pairs of swim trunks/shirts for my son that was a flash sale. Sales are important for the buyer because it usually means they have the items at their warehouse/in stock. (I read several reviews that said the shipping was bad unless they have the items in stock/at their warehouse.)

    My credit card was billed that day, February 19th, I paid my own shipping costs and chose standard shipping. I was then told my items would not even ship from the warehouse until February 28th. Then I would have to wait another week to get the items in the mail. After realizing my mistake (I will not get the dress in time for the wedding), I looked up the refund policy. I was within the time they could cancel the order because it had not been shipped. I contacted the company a week after the purchase to let them know that I wanted to just cancel the order. 19 emails later the company has taken my money, refuse to cancel the order or refund my money. Not to mention we move in two weeks and they also refused to change the shipping address. They were of no help, in order for them to get around their policy they pushed the order out two days early and said: "oh it looks like your order has shipped." Mind you, it was Sunday night at 8 pm.

    I am so dissatisfied with this experience and this company. Never again. Buyers beware, you will have to wait at least a month to get your items! If there is a problem you will receive no help or resolve. The reason I'm leaving a review here is because this company does not allow you to leave review on their website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Be prepared to be disappointed

    • Sheboygan, WI,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order a month ago. A month later I get an email that an item was canceled because it wouldn’t be shipped at the specified time. I emailed back and said that’s fine, don’t cancel, I still want it. Received a reply - oh, the item is not available. So they lied initially, which is one strike, then they let me sit a month expecting the item only to find out they have no idea when you order if they even have it. What a SCAM! I purchased things before and let things slide, but it’s got to a point where it’s not worth the aggregation. If it seems like a deal, it’s not, especially after all they put you through. So long Zulily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I looked at this site many times and thought I would give them a try. Big mistake! Their sizes are made for menopausal elephants and the material is garbage, homeless people would run screaming! And here is the best part, you never get your money back. Only the dubious honor of receiving more crap! Just flush your money down the toilet, you'll feel better about yourself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Zulily deserves zero stars

    • Canada,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged a non-refundable shipping fee on my $100+ order when Zulily had a free shipping with $80+ order promotion on.

    The several times Zulily canceled my orders because they were unable to fulfill, my credit card was never refunded for the total purchase price charged.

    I have unsubscribed to Zulily and advised them I will be doing my online shopping elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love Zulily

    • Perryton, TX,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered several things from Zulily and I’ve had great results with each order. I’ve mostly ordered tunics, and they have been of excellent quality. I get compliments every time I wear them. The shipping is very slow, so don’t order from them if you are in a hurry. Most of their items say "no returns." The price is so low on most items that I have been willing to chance it. I have not wanted to return anything I’ve bought from them. I suppose at some point I will be disappointed, but so far I’ve been very pleased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst online shopping experience of my life!

    • Newport News, VA,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased twice from Zulily and received terrible quality clothing. First of all, it took a month and a half to get my order (!) so be prepared to WAIT if you dare to make a purchase. Refunds are only applied to store credit, and you have to pay $8.95 shipping to send anything back. So I tried to spend the store credit and received clothing of terrible quality again, again a month and a half later, only to send it back and be docked another $8.95 for shipping. After three phone calls to Zulily, two folks told me I could get my money back on my credit card and the last one said they all were wrong and I could only get store credit...again. At this point, all of my original money will be spent on shipping inferior products back to Zulily. I will never again shop at Zulily and neither will anyone I know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Elkhart, IN,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Products are not as described and of low quality, and nothing ever ships or is received on time. Customer service is a joke and will refuse to address any concerns, instead give generic, canned responses and excuses for their terrible practices. THE definition of a shady company. Stay far away, there are hundreds of other merchants with better products and shipping, and WAY better customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Free shipping is a scam - don’t fall for it!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I went to their site to place an order, there was a banner that advertised free shipping. I thought this was great because I hate paying for shipping costs. I was spending well over $200, and most sites will give you free shipping if you spent a minimum amount of money; typically more than $50. I will admit that there was a pesky little asterisk, so I proceeded to read the fine print. It said it was free shipping until 11:59 that evening. "No problem," I thought. So, I placed my order and there was still a $7.99 shipping charge. Try as I may, I could not remove the charge. In frustration, I placed the order. I had spent a considerable amount of time on this transaction by now. I got a confirmation that my order had been placed and that I now would get free shipping on the NEXT order that I placed by 11:59 that evening! How is this considered FREE SHIPPING?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible quality

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to throw your money away, then buy from Zulily! The quality is substandard and their customer service is a joke. The clothing is practically see-through, and sizing is stupid. I am so disappointed in a quilt set I bought as I washed it and it fell apart! There was thread and filling in my washing machine, so it is now in the garbage and my money down the drain. I am not too sure what kind of company this is, it looks like they sell rejects from other foreign mass producers. Save your money or buy a lotto ticket instead, you will have the same chances of getting anything good in return!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 152

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review