Zumper Reviews

Zumper

Overall Rating

2.2

13 Customer Reviews

Summary

Zumper is an apartment, condo, and home rental listings website that provides you with versatile features to assist tenants, agents, and landlords in various transactions.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 13 Reviews
5 Star:23% 4 Star:7% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:69%
31% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Zumper:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 3, 2021

Definitely not "flawless communication" or good customer service

By Mr. D., California, Verified Reviewer

Why would anybody use Zumper after reading all of the reviews on this site...seriously. Virtually every person's experience is horrible with only a couple of exceptions. In one of the positive reviews, it is claimed that "...the communication was flawless with both the landlord and Zumper".

Let me tell you about my experience with Zumper's communication and the purpose for writing this review:

On a sunday afternoon at 3pm, I listed my home for rent on Zumper. When I had finished the process, a declaration in my account assured me that my ad would be live within 24 hours (I also receive emails indicating that my listing was well on its way to becoming viewable on their site). 24 hours later, the ad was not visable on the area map so I called Zumper hoping to find out why. There was no answer and I chose not to leave a voicemail (I figured I would be a little patient). Another 24 hours later the ad was still not viewable by prospective renters so I decided to call again. Once again there was no answer but this time I decided to leave a polite message requesting that someone either resolve the issue or contact me to explain what the issue was. Later that night (now 55 hours after my initial attempt to post the ad), I sent an email to Zumper repeating what I had described in my voicemail earlier that afternoon.

On Wednesday morning at 9am, I again tried to call Zumper and again there was no answer so again my only choice was to leave yet another voicemail. This time I explained that the customer service which I had experienced was totally unprofessional and, although I had hoped that someone would finally step up and resolve the matter, such was not the case. I assured the answering machine (clearly nobody listens to the voicemails at Zumper so the extent of my communication was literally limited to that with a machine) that I would be deleting my account immediately and I would inform others of my terrible experience with Zumper.

Nobody from Zumper ever called me, emailed me, or in any way reached out to me regarding any of my communiques, and my ad never became viewable on the Zumper site (despite the continued assurances in my account that my ad would be active within 24 hours). So much for "flawless communication". I truly don't understand why anybody would support or in any way interact with a company that exhibits such appauling customer service as Zumper when there are several superior alternatives available (c*****list, a****ments.c*m,...even the money hungry z***ow is better than a "free service" that doesn't actually post listings). I have now deleted my account with Zumper and I am hopeful that those who read my review stay away from a company that clearly deserves to fail.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Horrific service - no redeeming qualities

Posted on Sep 29, 2020

Floor plan request

By Ed A., New York, Verified Reviewer

We've had a good experience with the company. However, its demand for a floor plan is unusual. Some properties, because of their nature, are not conducive to floor plans and the requirement should be optional.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It produced inquiry traffic via Facebook

Good customer service when help is required

The listed process is convoluted

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

Great experience. Can't fault it at all.

By Daniel F., New York, Verified Reviewer

I used Zumper to find my apartment in New York City. The website was intuitive and made it easy to find what I was looking for. I was able to secure a new place within a week and the communication was flawless with both the landlord and Zumper. I would recommend.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Good communication tools

Great selection of properties

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2019

The worst of the worst. Fake leads. Clueless customer service.

By Larry L., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

Zumper is a useless copy cat of Zillow. They claim to want to take on Craigslist but can't compare. I got numerous "leads" in the form of inquiries that were for properties I wasn't advertising. Others have pricing that's inaccurate. Their customer service sends out replies that don't even line up with the question. They asked me if I'd recommend them and I said "no".

They shut down my account for saying so. Obviously this is no great loss but they are a tremendous time waster and I'd recommend staying away from them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 29, 2019

Poor service

By Heidi S., Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Very difficult to unsubscribe. Numerous unwanted, inapplicable emails. Rude and unhelpful responses from customer service. After multiple attempts and requests from multiple departments, I still received no help. Only redirection to no solution.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 14, 2019

Stay away, this is not a company with high integrity

By Wes B., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I was relocating from Dallas to NYC and needed help finding an apartment. The broker I dealt with was Gary Goldman, a man not to be trusted wherever he is now. He made verbal promises that he would offer a $1000 rebate of his commission if I used his services.

I arranged to fly in and spend one day locating an apartment. I provided specific criteria and a list of no-fee apartments that I was hoping to see. The expectation was that he would do the legwork and send a list of confirmed apartments we had appointments for. He had plenty of time to do this, but the morning of the showings, I was still hounding him for the list. It turned out many of the places I wanted to see were either unavailable or there was some "issue" with the property management company. What I didn't know at the time was that some places do not share commissions, so his job was to steer me to places that he can get a commission, not necessarily where I preferred. Some he was showing me included a fee which he claimed would be "worked out".

In the end, I landed in a building I absolutely hate. When I threatened to walk and find something else, he "sweetened" the deal by offering a $500 Amazon gift card. That he put in an email. I never received the rebate or the gift card. When I reached out to inquire, he was long gone. When I escalated it to customer service, they told me they cannot honor the rebate but that they would send me the gift card. That never happened.

Lesson learned, trust no one that tries to do business without any signed agreement. And, definitely choose a broker wisely. This place is a complete sham!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2019

Horrible experience

By Morgan S., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I am similar to most young professionals in that searching for a first time apartment in NYC is no easy task. The ins and outs of rental real estate in NYC is unparalleled and many young people are often scammed when they end up using a broker. Luckily - I have a personal broker (who is amazing), but the apartment we found was co-brokered with Zumper Inc. They definitely tried to scam my roommates and I by not IMMEDIATELY wiring back money that we sent to them on part of THEIR mistake. They mixed up apartment 1B for 2B and we ended up paying the WRONG required deposit, which was MORE than what we needed to pay. We sent them funds and they are still currently having a difficult time getting them back to us and it is truly unfathomable that we can wire money and they say they "can't wire money back". If we can send funds and you can receive them on your end - you can send them back. Period. Thank goodness my personal broker had my best interest - and when he spoke on the phone with the co-broker at Zumper Inc, he told me they called him a "prick" and used foul language. The Zumper brokers are so disrespectful and seemingly trying to take ADVANTAGE of young people moving to the city. Extremely unprofessional and I would absolutely not recommend to anyone.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2019

Bad experience

By Lennard C., Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Person on the phone was very rude and hung up on us. We were not rude to them. I cannot and will not refer even the most horrible person I know to this service. I honestly do not know how a company like this can stay in business without people filing lawsuits against them. They were offensive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 8, 2019

Zumper abandoned us in the middle of our apartment search

By Siddharth S., New York, Verified Reviewer

They are not prompt with scheduling viewings, very opaque and in the way they operate. They will frustrate and delay you and try to run the clock down on you so you are desperate. Once that happens, they will force into one of the buildings they have a deal with and make a commission. Avoid.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

Horrible experience

By Cristina M., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

I am a realtor in Jacksonville holding a license for 30 years. Never in my life if I had such a horrible experience with a company that is intended to help the customer. My customer was trying to get an apartment and lost out on it because the emperor keeps saying they can’t verify her. We call for help they will not answer the phone and over 29 emails have been sent to no avail. Several voice messages no phone calls back…It’s tough to get an apartment here and she lost it it was a rare find. We are still waiting for help.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2018

Amazing experience with LaDarian at Zumper

By Tobias P., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Together with my family, we were looking for a place in Chicago. Early on we engaged LaDarian at Zumper to help us as a real estate agent. I have moved about 10 times over the course of the last 10 years and LaDarian has easily been the best real estate agent that I have ever worked with! Hands down.

He does what he says, he is super professional, and as a Chicago native, he really knows his city. If you are looking to move to Chicago or within Chicago, make sure to reach out to LaDarian at Zumper!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 24, 2018

Fantastic experience with Zumper!

By Mariessa and Evan S., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

We had a fantastic experience working with Amanda from Zumper (Denver).

She was wonderful from start to finish. She took the time to listen to what we wanted and had great communication with us throughout the entire process! We would highly recommend using Zumper!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 23, 2018

Awful experience

By Thomas K., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I’m a real estate broker and I sent my clients to Zumper for applications and credit reports. Ours is a very competitive market and when the property comes up a person interested need to move quickly or they will lose the property. That’s one of the reasons that I used the site.

My clients went to the site, paid their money, filled out the application and had their credit run. Then we were unable to access the information from their site. The support was virtually nonexistent. No phone support, only email which was pretty much automated and not helpful which came about 10 hours after my first request for help. About five or six hours after that an email comes back telling me that they can reset everything, but all the data, applications and credit reports will be deleted. I asked them how they can be restored and I get no response.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted
Showing 1-13 of 13

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.