About Zumu.co

Zumu is an online company based out of Michigan, USA that buys your pre-owned CDs, DVDs, and console games. Launched in late 2012, Zumu claims to have paid out more than $1 Million to it's users and currently pays out thousands of dollars weekly. Zumu’s stated pledge is to recycle 100% of all items they receive, which are either resold at affordable prices, or physically recycled into a variety of goods, such as baby bottles.

Zumu offers customers the ability to receive payment by check, or to donate the value of their products to any charity partnered with the company. Because of this, Zumu refers to used goods as “pre-loved items,” and the charities to which they donate as “splendid.”

Zumu Selling and Shipping Guidelines

Zumu accepts movies, music, and all Xbox 360, PS2, PS3, Wii, DS, and PSP console game formats. However, they do not accept single-track CDs, vinyl records, or VHS tapes. All items must be in perfect condition, with no scratches whatsoever. In addition, all items must include their original protective cases, with barcodes, which will need to be submitted individually online. Zumu’s website will automatically calculate your product’s value, and will then email you an itemized check list and prepaid shipping label.

After submitting your items via Zumu’s website, you have up to seven days to ship your package, which must be received by the company within 10 days from original online submission date. Because Zumu’s prices can change daily, the quoted price you originally received may not be valid if items are received by Zumu after this time period.

Zumu has a minimum requirement of 10 items per order, and a maximum of 100 items per box, with a weight limit of 70 pounds. For each box in your shipment, you will need to include a complete checklist inside, which will be confirmed by email after your shipment has been received. For any items that do not meet their condition requirements, you will not be compensated for their value, and they will not be returned to you. Instead, Zumu will recycle these items on your behalf.

Zumu Payments

After your shipment has been received and processed by Zumu, you will receive a check via mail within 6-8 weeks. If your check is not received within four weeks, then you will need to contact them directly at hey@zumu.co.

Pros:

  • Get rid of your unwanted DVDs and console games, while earning cash, or donating your proceeds to a charitable cause.
  • All shipping charges are covered by the company.
  • Easy-to-use website. (While it was still live)
  • Receive payment by check within 6-8 weeks.

Cons:

  • Any items not meeting Zumu’s guidelines will not be returned to sender, so double check each item prior to shipping.
  • Make sure each item you send is accounted for on your enclosed checklist, or you will not be paid for those items.
  • Based on consumer reviews, it can take longer than normal to receive payment.
  • Based on numerous complaints current, consumers are receiving no response or payment from Zumu what so ever.
  • Hundreds of complaints with the BBB in the past 12 months.
  • Both of the Zumu websites are shut down, so it appears they fled the scene

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 179 Zumu.co Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  177
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 179
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Atrocious company

    • Phila PA,
    • Jun 24, 2013

    Customer service is non existent. No emails, no phone number provided. Emailed me and told me some of m items were not shipped or broken, and lowered the price of my payment. Waited 2.5 months and still no payment. Do not use! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Misleading and Evasive!

    • Durham, N.C.,
    • Jun 28, 2013

    This company is misleading in promoting the idea that they are prompt with their services. Do not expect prompt payment or in my case no payment at all. The customer service team will promise dates of payment but will actually stop responding to you on and after the promised date. I am contacting the Attorney general of Michigan and N.C. DO NOT USE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam. Contact the authorities.

    • Danbury, CT,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    No payment? Call the authorities. Are you going to stand by and take this?

    Michigan Department of Attorney General
    Attorney General: Mike Cox
    Lansing Office
    G. Mennen Williams Building, 7th Floor
    525 W. Ottawa St.
    P.O. Box 30212
    Lansing, MI 48909
    Main Number: 517-373-1110
    Consumer Protection: 517-373-1140
    Toll Free: 877-765-8388
    Charitable Trust: 517-373-1152
    Franchise Registration: 517-373-7117
    Fax: 517-373-3042

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Went from bad to worse.

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I used this company twice before a long time ago and didn't have a problem. I sent them another box of DVD/CDs in April which was received by Zumu on 5/1/13. I have contacted the company four times inquiring about my payment and been told by “Devon” that they are having a problem with PayPal and are trying to correct the issue. I have seen multiple complaints on Facebook and Yelp about this company not paying. If I do not receive payment soon, I will be filing a claim with the BBB. Enough is enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Zumu.co sucks!

    • Allentown, PA,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    Zumu.co is one of the worst places on the internet to sell your old DVDs, CDs, and games. They take forever to pay you, making excuses over and over again about how busy they are, (Took over 3 months with three promise dates broken). Moreover, they shorted me money in my deal! This is a scam site and that is incredibly unprofessional and unreliable. Avoid doing business with Zumu.co at all costs, it isn't worth the headaches.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Still haven't received money

    • Bentonville, AR,
    • Jul 17, 2013

    I've waited for over three months for payment on over 400 CD's. now the payment day has been extended another month and a half. I would have done better at a garage sale. One excuse after another. I would like to get my CD's back. No response other than a generic e-mail. Wish I had taken them somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Springfield, OH,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I'm filing a complaint with BBB, they said so far you have over 76 total complaints which failure to pay or collect accounts for 38 those issues. I am also contacting Apple and complaint to them about allowing a company like yours, which is not accountable to be able to list their app.

    This is over $50 you have been promising to send for three months now. According to your people my check should have been here already. This is so stupid that you risk future business and formal complaints to avoid making a payment of $50. Don't tell me you are cutting another check. Unless you overnight it and can give me the FedEx number I don't care. I am also going to write the attorney general in Michigan about your business and I'm signed into Google to list feedback on sites. Give me 30 minutes and you can read yours on Google.

    Please contact attorney general in Michigan and file a formal complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible. It's been over three months and still nothing.

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I have sent them my old DVDs and video games and was told I would receive my check within 4-6 weeks. Lies. I sent them back on April 10, 2013. When I realized it was taking a long time to receive my check, I email them. I got a response from "Devon" saying I will get my payment July 12. Guess what? Still no check. They are awful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Every Email Comes From "DEVON" - A Scam

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 24, 2013

    Horrible company. Is Devon the only person who works in their customer service dept? I noticed that the 4 replies I have received are from "Devon", and also multiple people on here and other sites state the same.

    I mailed my items in April 2013, and still nothing. Just excuses about PayPal not working or "an increase in business".

    I filed a complaint with the BBB, FTC, and the BBB Los Angeles Region.

    Stay away, and don't waste your time. Even if you do get your money, it will be a lot less than what you were quoted!

    Take care and good luck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Zumu is a joke.

    • Woodway, TX,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Waited over 3 months for my check. I got it and deposited it. And guess what!? Insufficient funds. I'm so done with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    used to be OK, now they don't pay on time (or ever?)

    • NJ,
    • Jul 28, 2013

    I understand why the trade-in value on most common items is less than .50 cents so my complaint is not that. It's they are totally dragging their heels on paying out checks lately. Six months ago I was sending in $50 to $200 trades regularly and getting paid in 2 weeks on average. The past 2 months I have 3 trades outstanding and no word on payment. Just a vague email about how they are making "changes to their payment process". If they mean not paying at all, this is a change, I agree.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 179

Write a Review for Zumu.co!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review