About Zumu.co

Zumu is an online company based out of Michigan, USA that buys your pre-owned CDs, DVDs, and console games. Launched in late 2012, Zumu claims to have paid out more than $1 Million to it's users and currently pays out thousands of dollars weekly. Zumu’s stated pledge is to recycle 100% of all items they receive, which are either resold at affordable prices, or physically recycled into a variety of goods, such as baby bottles.

Zumu offers customers the ability to receive payment by check, or to donate the value of their products to any charity partnered with the company. Because of this, Zumu refers to used goods as “pre-loved items,” and the charities to which they donate as “splendid.”

Zumu Selling and Shipping Guidelines

Zumu accepts movies, music, and all Xbox 360, PS2, PS3, Wii, DS, and PSP console game formats. However, they do not accept single-track CDs, vinyl records, or VHS tapes. All items must be in perfect condition, with no scratches whatsoever. In addition, all items must include their original protective cases, with barcodes, which will need to be submitted individually online. Zumu’s website will automatically calculate your product’s value, and will then email you an itemized check list and prepaid shipping label.

After submitting your items via Zumu’s website, you have up to seven days to ship your package, which must be received by the company within 10 days from original online submission date. Because Zumu’s prices can change daily, the quoted price you originally received may not be valid if items are received by Zumu after this time period.

Zumu has a minimum requirement of 10 items per order, and a maximum of 100 items per box, with a weight limit of 70 pounds. For each box in your shipment, you will need to include a complete checklist inside, which will be confirmed by email after your shipment has been received. For any items that do not meet their condition requirements, you will not be compensated for their value, and they will not be returned to you. Instead, Zumu will recycle these items on your behalf.

Zumu Payments

After your shipment has been received and processed by Zumu, you will receive a check via mail within 6-8 weeks. If your check is not received within four weeks, then you will need to contact them directly at hey@zumu.co.

Pros:

  • Get rid of your unwanted DVDs and console games, while earning cash, or donating your proceeds to a charitable cause.
  • All shipping charges are covered by the company.
  • Easy-to-use website. (While it was still live)
  • Receive payment by check within 6-8 weeks.

Cons:

  • Any items not meeting Zumu’s guidelines will not be returned to sender, so double check each item prior to shipping.
  • Make sure each item you send is accounted for on your enclosed checklist, or you will not be paid for those items.
  • Based on consumer reviews, it can take longer than normal to receive payment.
  • Based on numerous complaints current, consumers are receiving no response or payment from Zumu what so ever.
  • Hundreds of complaints with the BBB in the past 12 months.
  • Both of the Zumu websites are shut down, so it appears they fled the scene

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

203 Consumer Reviews for Zumu.co

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  201
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 203
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away from Zumu

    • Spring, TX,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    Items were shipped to Zumu 08/Feb/2013, delivered by USPS on 13/Feb/2013. Zumu did not acknowledge receipt until 25/Feb/2013, almost 2 full weeks after delivery was actually made. It then took Zumu until 19/Apr/2013, more than 2 full months after Zumu received the items, to send a check, and that check was short by $0.50.

    It is obvious that short-sighted accountants direct Zumu. Taking forever to pay is just bad business - paying less than the agreed amount is gross negligence and just not very smart. As a follow up, I received notice from Zumu that one of the DVDs had "damaged artwork" and so was sent to "recycling". I packaged all items myself and know for a fact that there was no damaged artwork. Let us add blatant lies to the long list of Zumu negative attributes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 11, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      Ron, It really is not in our interest to reject items. We only do this if they are not up to a standard that we can re-sell. We are doing our best to speed up our payment process and will continue to so.

    • Jun 25, 2013

      Tony,

      It is obvious from the reviews of this site that this company is nothing but a scam. I had hundreds of DVDs I needed to get rid of and I saw the ad for Zumu on TV, so I wish to thank the ones who wrote these reviews and kept me from making the same mistake. I will be sure to let others know as well, as well as the local media and BBB.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Awful, sham company.

    • Belfast, Ireland,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    This company is a complete sham. I sent off 105 DVD's expecting to get around £67 back from them. They took £16.00 off for apparently items that were damaged. Which is a lie. All my products I sent were in very good condition. Also they did not send me an email informing me that they would be deducting any money of me. They have also refused to send me my DVD's back that were apparently to damaged to sell on.

    So they have stole these items from me. Do not use this site.  

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 11, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      Hi Lindsey, So sorry that your items were rejected, we don't want to reject items. They are only rejected if the disc is too badly scratched or artwork is damaged. We do make this clear on the sell page. We can't afford to send them back and give the values we do. Sorry for the upset.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Avoid these scammers

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    This company sucks. I sent off 100 CD's expecting to get around $47 back from them. They took $23 off for apparently items that were damaged! All the products I sent were in very good condition! Avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      hi, firstly really sorry that you didn't get the amount expected. Our team only reject if the item is damaged beyond economic repair and we state that throughout the process.

    • Jun 24, 2013

      Kait,

      What can I say - bad company.

    • Jun 26, 2013

      Chad,

      It seems like this company does a lot of apologizing for its own mistakes. As a Michigan resident I wouldn't even use this company. A company that is scamming customers. Make sure you take multiple pictures of the items before you send them. That's for your best interest so if they say they were messed up and send you a check worth less than the paper it's printed on and less than the cost of a postage stamp you can contact BBB with proof of the scam artist at work. Call Fox 2's Charlie Leduff, he will for sure get to the bottom of the B.S.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Forget about it.

    • California,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Sent in two collections of about 15 CD's each in February. Never received any payment. they confirmed that they got my shipments, then said they never got the second one. They said the USPS lost my second one. I was to be paid for my first one last month, never happened. Zumu sucks.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 2, 2013

      Michael Frye,

      ZUMU pulled that same "Lost box" stuff with me too. Sounds quite familiar to me.

    • Jul 2, 2013

      Michael Frye,

      ZUMU conveniently lost a box of mine as well, sounds quite familiar to me.

    • Jul 8, 2013

      yep,

      Yep. Sounds like this happens way too often to be an "occasional problem"

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Misleading and Evasive!

    • Durham, N.C.,
    • Jun 28, 2013

    This company is misleading in promoting the idea that they are prompt with their services. Do not expect prompt payment or in my case no payment at all. The customer service team will promise dates of payment but will actually stop responding to you on and after the promised date. I am contacting the Attorney general of Michigan and N.C. DO NOT USE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 1, 2013

      Michael,

      You will see that you can't finalize your trade without seeing the screen that tells you there is a delay. We did that so people know when they trade when they will be getting their payment.

      We are available at inquiries@zumu.co and happy to give you a status report.

    • Jul 1, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      We are trying to catch up, and we have put a screen on the site 3 months ago letting people know that it can take 6-8 weeks from completion.

    • Jul 2, 2013

      Michael Frye,

      Changing your screen when put under pressure from unhappy customers may be a solution to you, now explain the evasive emails and non-response to latter requests.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam. Contact the authorities.

    • Danbury, CT,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    No payment? Call the authorities. Are you going to stand by and take this?

    Michigan Department of Attorney General
    Attorney General: Mike Cox
    Lansing Office
    G. Mennen Williams Building, 7th Floor
    525 W. Ottawa St.
    P.O. Box 30212
    Lansing, MI 48909
    Main Number: 517-373-1110
    Consumer Protection: 517-373-1140
    Toll Free: 877-765-8388
    Charitable Trust: 517-373-1152
    Franchise Registration: 517-373-7117
    Fax: 517-373-3042

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Zumu will rip you off!

    • Va,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I waited almost 4 months for a simple easy refund. I was verified and all was accounted for in March. I got so many lame excuses from their customer service. First was Paypal is having issues dispatching their payments. I was put off and fed lies. The they said it would be easier to mail a check so I opted for it. Never came and they told me it was mailed on 2 different dates. Then told me Paypal already paid me. I literally had to resort to threatening them through BBB for my money. The money came to me with in a hour through Paypal. This company lies and tries their best not to pay you. Terrible business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 1, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      Zach,

      I am sorry for the obvious mix up, but pleased that you now have your funds.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    "55 Cent"

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    Just checked out Zumu.co for the first time a few minutes ago, I entered a handful of new movie barcodes and every result came back that their offer would be "55 cents". Too funny, I wouldn't waste my time for that kind of chump change. You're better off donating them to your local library as a tax write off. Good riddance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      If we are offering 55 cents, its likely you couldn't get more than that for it selling on other marketplaces- sorry its the market that dictates the price.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Atrocious company

    • Phila PA,
    • Jun 24, 2013

    Customer service is non existent. No emails, no phone number provided. Emailed me and told me some of m items were not shipped or broken, and lowered the price of my payment. Waited 2.5 months and still no payment. Do not use! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      Hi Franco,

      You can contact us at inquiries@zumu.co. We can take a look at your trade from there. We hate to reject items. It's only if the disc or artwork is damaged beyond repair that we do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Zumu sucks

    • Ogden, Iowa ,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    Was told in April I would receive check in 6 weeks. Still no check and they aren't answering my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 1, 2013

      Zumu Customer Service,

      Lisa, please contact us at inquiries@zumu.co and we will look into this for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Went from bad to worse.

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I used this company twice before a long time ago and didn't have a problem. I sent them another box of DVD/CDs in April which was received by Zumu on 5/1/13. I have contacted the company four times inquiring about my payment and been told by “Devon” that they are having a problem with PayPal and are trying to correct the issue. I have seen multiple complaints on Facebook and Yelp about this company not paying. If I do not receive payment soon, I will be filing a claim with the BBB. Enough is enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 203

Write a Review for Zumu.co!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review