About NoNo Pro

The NoNo Pro is a handheld personal hair removal device that promises to zap away unwanted follicles, from peach fuzz to dense growth, on every skin type and tone under the sun. On the market since 2004, it has gone through several evolutions but the basic principles remain the same: the no!no! uses patented properties to remove your hair, and claims that repeated use will result in long-term hair removal.

With over 4 million units sold to customers in 55+ countries, it’s obvious that consumers want to believe there’s a better way to remove their unwanted hair. So much so that they’re willing to bite, despite the steep price. And who blame’s them? The alternatives for hair removal are awful: lasers, razors, hot wax, plucking… half of which aren’t even in the privacy of your home  (and that’s just dealing with standard hair growth, not the mustache fuzz variety).

But the online consensus can give would-be buyers pause: there seems to be one glowing review for every ten that bemoan the product’s failures. That’s quite a gamble! We’ll take a look at all the facts to see how it works, and more importantly, if it could work for you.

What You Need to Know to no!no!

When using the device, it’s important to start with clean, dry skin, and choose a Thermicon tip that’s appropriate to the size area you’ll be treating. Once the unit is turned on, press the tip to your skin and glide in smooth, steady sweeps. If you’re using the no!no! correctly, a blue signal light will appear. A red signal light means you need to adjust your pressure or speed.

It’s important to go in the opposite direction of your hair’s growth, so the no!no! can reach as close to the root as possible. Also, if your hair is long enough to curl slightly, you may need to trim it down some, but be careful not to shave completely, as some hair still needs to be present.

After use, the NoNo Pro will leave you with a burnt smell and an arm, leg, chin, or upper lip full of stiff stubble. This is the result of your hair being “crystallized” and requires buffing with the included pad to achieve the smoothest results.

To see a long-term difference in hair thickness and density requires that a user treats each area with the no!no! 2-3 times every week, for a minimum of 4-6 weeks. You must continue using the no!no! to maintain any hair removal results.

Buyers should also be aware that the unit tips burn out, and need to be replaced about twice a year. This costs $7 per tip, or bulk packs of three offer one for free, and should be factored in when considering the purchase.

“How it Works” vs. How it Works

The NoNo Pro device sends electrical pulses through a thin, coated wire. When each hair makes contact with the wire, it delivers a small shock down the hair shaft and into the follicle. That heat pulse results in the burning smell you’ll often read about in user reviews. It also can have an effect on the hair follicle over time, which we’ll talk about in a minute.

In the How it Works section of the no!no! site, this process is said to occur with the patented “Thermicon” heating element, which “works using the scientific principles of thermal technology.” Their site also uses the word “thermodynamic” often, which makes the product sounds more like something NASA had originally developed to fly rockets.

In reality, thermodynamics is just the branch of physics that’s concerned with how heat relates to energy, and how that can make stuff work. So sure, it can mean fancy-pants inventions that take us into space. But you know what else uses thermodynamics? Your stove.

So how does the no!no! actually remove your unwanted hair? The folks at no!no! call what happens to your hair "crystallization", but mostly leaves this process to the reader’s imagination.

However, research shows that a hair growth can only be stopped by destroying the follicle, and the no!no! claims to do this with heat, unlike lasers that use light. Singing each hair shaft explains the rough, stubbly feeling, and is also why the area must be buffed to achieve the desirable smoothness.

Buyer Options

There’s a few different models of no!no! available, although the inherent differences in each model seem to be more oriented in color choice than addressing hair removal needs:

  • The 8800: This is the newest no!no! Hair model, which includes a slimmer profile and a status screen. Available in pink, white, and black. Price: $270.00.
  • Classic: One of the original models. Available in black and pink. Price: $249.95.
  • Plus: Includes many of the same features as the Classic, with the addition of three different treatment levels. Available in pink, green, and black. Price: $250.00.
  • Hair Pro: Sleek, slim design. Available in pink, blue, chrome, and black. Price: $290.00–310.00, depending on color.

Each device also comes with one narrow tip and one wide, a large buffer, a tip cleaning brush, charger, user manual CD, and a quick guide to get you up and going.

Is no!no! Worth the Investment?

The NoNo Pro promises both short and long-term hair removal, so we’ll address the results in two stages:

After personal use of the product on my arm, I found the area to have noticeably less hair but was not pleased with the resulting texture. Much like the result of singing a thread to prevent unraveling, no!no! use left my arm smelling like something overcooked and feeling rough with stubble even immediately after treatment.

Long-term use is reported to cause a noticeable reduction in hair density by customers who spoke about their experience with the product, both on HighYa’s previous no!no! review and YouTube videos found by searching the product’s name. These reviews all emphasize dedicated use over a long period, and only some were pleased with their results.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the NoNo Pro

The no!no! catches a lot of heat online because their marketing message promises faster, professional-level hair removal; but even in the positive reviews that report actual hair removal, the results don’t match the marketing hype. While there were reported results of thinned hair and satisfied customers, it’s difficult to find a review that claims this product removed their hair completely. It’s important to remember that you must continue using the no!no! to maintain hair reduction or removal.

The most positive reviews state that some who stuck to their routine past the several month mark reported a thinning of hair. One positive review on HighYa’s previous overview of the no!no! state that it has drastically improved her appearance, and she very happy with the result. The individuals who report the highest level of satisfaction with their purchase tend to be those who struggled the most with a combination of unwanted hair (typically facial) and sensitive skin prior to using.

Concerns raised in reviews focused on the claim that hair removal results would be seen in just a 4-6 week time frame. Many reviewers expressed disappointment in the lack of reduced hair after regular use during this initial window and were dissatisfied enough with their purchase to return the product.

Another common complaint is that the NoNo Pro is not contoured properly to be useful on the chin or underarms.

NoNo Pro's Questionable Return Policy

Finally, there are enough reviews to raise an eyebrow regarding the no!no!'s return policy: the site promises a money-back guarantee (minus the cost of shipping) if you're not satisfied within 30 days from the date your no!no! is received. However, they require you call their customer service for a return authorization number (RMA) before mailing it back.

Some reviewers report being told the product must be used for 60 days before returning and being denied an RMA, so it’s unclear how frequently their policies on returns change and if would affect the guarantee. They at least offer the security of a one-year warranty to cover mechanical failures.

Bottom Line

The bottom line is that this product takes some serious commitment: Users who reported the best results claimed to have dedicated 30+ minutes per body area,  2-3 times a week for up to one year. So if you already spend several hours struggling with unwanted hair each week, but aren’t in the market for laser treatments, this product may be for you. For everyone else, it seems a little too steep an investment to be satisfied with the minimal results.

51 Customer Reviews for NoNo Pro

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 44
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Why the NoNo Pro Sucks

    • by Juliette Baysinger,
    • Pierson, FL,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    A year ago I bought the NoNo pro. It didn't work and just completely sucked. it did not work as they said it would on the commercials. This is just a poor item that's over priced. It does not work and it's actually a razor and I would highly suggest not buying this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Scam and Fraud

    • by Dave,
    • Cincinnati,
    • Mar 2, 2015

    After my wife found out the total cost of the product with an online order, she canceled the sale only to find out on Sunday evening it processed and charged her card. Customer service is closed, no one can help you. After that, the next day called customer service, they can't help you – order processed and shipped.

    Now there is nothing to do but wait for it, then call them back and ask for a RMA number, then pay to ship it back with tracking and then in 5 to 7 days they will refund.

    Also no one is near the product, no corporate numbers to call. Customer service has no power and can only go by the script.

    This product has horrible reviews and should be banned from being sold.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    No No Hair Removal is a waste of money.

    • by Kossar,
    • Hayes, England,
    • Mar 1, 2015

    I bought the NoNo Pro from Argos. Well, don't buy it because it's waste of money. I had a few dark hairs on my chin so I thought instead of going to salon for an electrolysis all the time, I bought the NoNo Pro. Well, it didn't take off any hairs and I kept going over the same area over and over and then it burnt my skin. It's ok for fine hairs on the face to burn when using the NoNo but I am not happy with the product. I think I'll just be better off getting an IPL home laser instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 4, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hi Kossar,

      Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to know that no!no! didn't work for you.

      We'd like to help you achieve the results from no!no! so we have some questions for us to know what seems to be the problem.

      a) How long have you been using no!no!?

      b) How frequent are you using it?

      c) Which Thermicon tip are you using?

      d) Since you have bought if from Argos, were you given instructions on how to use it?

      We are looking forward to talk to you and help you.

      Best Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Does NOT work at all - and good luck getting a refund

    • by Craig,
    • San Bruno, CA,
    • Feb 24, 2015

    This product does NOT work at all. You can run it back and forth on the surface until you are blue in the face, and nothing. Only the awful smell of burning hair. It's probably only good on "peach fuzz" but not taking any actual hair/hairs out or even trimming them down. Tried it on arms - nothing, neck - nothing. Crap product. Worse, it was a gift - and their WITHIN 60 day return policy is STRICT. The gift recipient didn't use it until Christmas, but they went by the date it was ORDERED (a month earlier). Then they told me "no it was longer than 60 days sorry." Very dissatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 4, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hi Craig,

      Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry that no!no! didn't work for you.

      How long and how frequent have you been using no!no!? Our device works using the science of heat to treat unwanted hair and that's why you can smell burning hair. We understand that part and we recommend using the no!no! smooth skin lotion that comes with the product to minimize the smell. For complete instructions on how to use no!no!, we suggest you visit our tips and tricks website at www.howtonono.com. Hope this helps.

      Thank you and Best Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    No No to the NoNo

    • by Bob,
    • North Devon, United Kingdom,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    The NoNo Pro just has hyped up claims to hair removal. Well it's very hard to use on my chest and it keeps bleeping and takes about three hours to get any sort of results. This a complete waste of money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 4, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hi Bob,

      Thanks for your feedback.

      We'd like to help you use your no!no!. In using no!no! on chest, please follow these steps:

      Make sure to use the wide Thermicon tip and use the most comfortable treatment level.

      Pull the skin tight to create a smooth, flat surface for easier gliding.

      Glide no!no! PRO against the grain of hair growth.

      We recommend gliding in an upwards direction and then going back over the untreated hair.

      Since chest and stomach hair grows in so many different directions, you may need to change directions to get optimal results.

      Buff to remove treated hair and to leave skin smooth and stubble free.

      NOTE: Do not use no!no! PRO on or around the nipple area.

      Hope this helps. Thank you

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 46 people found this review helpful

    NoNo Pro sucks

    • by Denni,
    • St. Louius,
    • Jan 27, 2015

    We got the NoNo Pro and it didn't work. Then returned the NoNo Pro and they said they didn't receive it even though we had the tracking number. No manger would talk to me. They are quick to take your money but not to return it. Don't buy this junk. I am sorry for my girlfriend who I bought it for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 59 people found this review helpful

    CR@p

    • by Riah,
    • Jan 5, 2015

    What a waste of money; for hair that grows right back, the smell of burnt hair, and cream that is scented like 70's junk stuff that you find at yard sales. It does NOT get close, that's why you have to buff off the rest and you HAVE go over the area more than three times. I wouldn't even try it on a bikini line, because it doesn't work on arms. Do not buy this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Riah,

      We'd like to apologize if you didn't get the results that you are expecting from no!no!. We're here to help you get that result.

      We just have some questions for us to know how we can help you further.

      a) How long have you been using nono?

      b) How frequently are you using your nono?

      c) in which areas of the body are you trying to remove hair?

      We are looking forward to talk to you soon and help you.

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 65 people found this review helpful

    This company is a major ripoff!

    • by Beky,
    • Southern California,
    • Jan 4, 2015

    This is the most unethical website I have ever encountered. If you just look at the website, don't dare put any information in there. And notice there is no total price until AFTER you would put your credit card number in there. If you do that, and do NOT place an order, they take your credit card and ship NoNo anyway. And THEN they will NOT reimburse your shipping charge. Buyer BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Beky,

      Thanks for your feedback.

      We'd like to let you know that the price of no!no! is located at the bottom part of the website. It clearly states how much you will be charged including the S&H fee. Customers are not required to enter any information unless they are ready to purchase the device. Also, we will only process an order if the customer has reviewed their purchase and submitted it. Hope this helps.

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    • Feb 7, 2015

      Anonymous

      Stop ripping people off already. I would say you're begging for a class action suit as is. Lame company.

    • Feb 11, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Anonymous,

      We totally understand your concern. The reason we are spending time looking for customer reviews online (like this website) is to help our customers get the most out of their no!no!. They have spent their hard-earned money to buy no!no! and we want to make sure that they are getting the results through reaching out to them. Also, we have our trust in our product that we are offering a triple money back guarantee. Our customers can return and refund their money if they were not satisfied with no!no!. Hope this helps. Thanks a lot

      If you have some problems with no!no!, please let us know so we can help you

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    This does NOT work

    • by June Denny,
    • Windsor UK,
    • Jan 3, 2015

    A complete waste of money, this gadget is useless. I bought one (expensive) and when I could not get it to work, spent more money on a replacement thinking I was doing something wrong. Guess what? The new one also does not work.

    Avoid the nono.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi June,

      We'd like to apologize if you didn't get the results that you are expecting from no!no!. We're here to help you get that result.

      We just have some questions for us to know how we can help you further.

      a) How long have you been using nono?

      b) How frequently are you using your nono?

      c) in which areas of the body are you trying to remove hair?

      We are looking forward to talk to you soon and help you.

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Broke after trial and no warranty

    • by Al Pagano,
    • Orlando FL,
    • Jan 3, 2015

    The roller broke on my wife's unit after trial and no warranty to get it repaired. The company provides no repair shops or cost to repair unit. Now stuck with $300 junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Al,

      We're sorry to hear about what has happened with your no!no!.

      We'd like to let you know that if your no!no! is still under warranty (until 1 year from the purchased date) then we can replace your no!no! for free. You may call our Customer Service Department to process the replacement. Our CS number is 1 (888) 525-7580. We are looking forward to help you with your issue.

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    • Jan 19, 2015

      Eieen

      Rip off it don't work, the hair is spreading all over now, I'm so disappointed.

    • Jan 22, 2015

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Eieen,

      We're sorry to hear that you didn't get the results that you are expecting from no!no!. We'd like to hear more about your issue so we'll know how to help you further. We have some questions for you.

      a) How frequently are you using your NoNo?

      b) In which areas of the body are you trying to remove hair?

      c) How long have you been using no!no!

      We are looking forward to talk to you soon and help you achieve the results.

      Regards,

      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Total rubbish

    • by Mary Hay,
    • Chiswick, UK,
    • Nov 28, 2014

    Don't purchase this No No. It's very relevantly named, NoNo. Because this product is total rubbish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 1, 2014

      no!no!CustomerService

      Hi Mary,

      We totally understand your frustration and we sincerely apologize if you weren't able to get the result that you have expected.

      We'd like to help you achieve the best result that you want. We have some questions to check how we can help you further.

      a) What no!no! device are you using?

      b) In which part of the body are you using no!no!?

      c) How long and how frequent have you used it?

      We are looking forward to talk to you soon and we're excited to help you.

      Best Regards,
      no!no! Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a review for NoNo Pro!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review