About NoNo Pro

The NoNo Pro is a handheld personal hair removal device that promises to zap away unwanted follicles, from peach fuzz to dense growth, on every skin type and tone under the sun. On the market since 2004, it has gone through several evolutions but the basic principles remain the same: the no!no! uses patented properties to remove your hair, and claims that repeated use will result in long-term hair removal.

With over 4 million units sold to customers in 55+ countries, it’s obvious that consumers want to believe there’s a better way to remove their unwanted hair. So much so that they’re willing to bite, despite the steep price. And who blames them? The alternatives for hair removal are awful: lasers, razors, hot wax, plucking… half of which aren’t even in the privacy of your home  (and that’s just dealing with standard hair growth, not the mustache fuzz variety).

But the online consensus can give would-be buyers pause: there seems to be one glowing review for every ten that bemoan the product’s failures. That’s quite a gamble! We’ll take a look at all the facts to see how it works, and more importantly, if it could work for you.

What You Need to Know to no!no!

When using the device, it’s important to start with clean, dry skin, and choose a Thermicon tip that’s appropriate to the size area you’ll be treating. Once the unit is turned on, press the tip to your skin and glide in smooth, steady sweeps. If you’re using the no!no! correctly, a blue signal light will appear. A red signal light means you need to adjust your pressure or speed.

It’s important to go in the opposite direction of your hair’s growth, so the no!no! can reach as close to the root as possible. Also, if your hair is long enough to curl slightly, you may need to trim it down some, but be careful not to shave completely, as some hair still needs to be present.

After use, the NoNo Pro will leave you with a burnt smell and an arm, leg, chin, or upper lip full of stiff stubble. This is the result of your hair being “crystallized” and requires buffing with the included pad to achieve the smoothest results.

To see a long-term difference in hair thickness and density requires that a user treats each area with the no!no! 2-3 times every week, for a minimum of 4-6 weeks. You must continue using the no!no! to maintain any hair removal results.

Buyers should also be aware that the unit tips burn out, and need to be replaced about twice a year. This costs $7 per tip, or bulk packs of three offer one for free, and should be factored in when considering the purchase.

“How it Works” vs. How it Works

The NoNo Pro device sends electrical pulses through a thin, coated wire. When each hair makes contact with the wire, it delivers a small shock down the hair shaft and into the follicle. That heat pulse results in the burning smell you’ll often read about in user reviews. It also can have an effect on the hair follicle over time, which we’ll talk about in a minute.

In the How it Works section of the no!no! site, this process is said to occur with the patented “Thermicon” heating element, which “works using the scientific principles of thermal technology.” Their site also uses the word “thermodynamic” often, which makes the product sounds more like something NASA had originally developed to fly rockets.

In reality, thermodynamics is just the branch of physics that’s concerned with how heat relates to energy, and how that can make stuff work. So sure, it can mean fancy-pants inventions that take us into space. But you know what else uses thermodynamics? Your stove.

So how does the no!no! actually remove your unwanted hair? The folks at no!no! call what happens to your hair "crystallization", but mostly leaves this process to the reader’s imagination.

However, research shows that a hair growth can only be stopped by destroying the follicle, and the no!no! claims to do this with heat, unlike lasers that use light. Singing each hair shaft explains the rough, stubbly feeling, and is also why the area must be buffed to achieve the desirable smoothness.

Buyer Options

There’s a few different models of no!no! available, although the inherent differences in each model seem to be more oriented in color choice than addressing hair removal needs:

  • The 8800: This is the newest no!no! Hair model, which includes a slimmer profile and a status screen. Available in pink, white, and black. Price: $270.00.
  • Classic: One of the original models. Available in black and pink. Price: $249.95.
  • Plus: Includes many of the same features as the Classic, with the addition of three different treatment levels. Available in pink, green, and black. Price: $250.00.
  • Hair Pro: Sleek, slim design. Available in pink, blue, chrome, and black. Price: $290.00–310.00, depending on color.

Each device also comes with one narrow tip and one wide, a large buffer, a tip cleaning brush, charger, user manual CD, and a quick guide to get you up and going.

Is no!no! Worth the Investment?

The NoNo Pro promises both short and long-term hair removal, so we’ll address the results in two stages:

After personal use of the product on my arm, I found the area to have noticeably less hair but was not pleased with the resulting texture. Much like the result of singing a thread to prevent unraveling, no!no! use left my arm smelling like something overcooked and feeling rough with stubble even immediately after treatment.

Long-term use is reported to cause a noticeable reduction in hair density by customers who spoke about their experience with the product, both on HighYa’s previous no!no! review and YouTube videos found by searching the product’s name. These reviews all emphasize dedicated use over a long period, and only some were pleased with their results.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the NoNo Pro

The no!no! catches a lot of heat online because their marketing message promises faster, professional-level hair removal; but even in the positive reviews that report actual hair removal, the results don’t match the marketing hype. While there were reported results of thinned hair and satisfied customers, it’s difficult to find a review that claims this product removed their hair completely. It’s important to remember that you must continue using the no!no! to maintain hair reduction or removal.

The most positive reviews state that some who stuck to their routine past the several month mark reported a thinning of hair. One positive review on HighYa’s previous overview of the no!no! state that it has drastically improved her appearance, and she very happy with the result. The individuals who report the highest level of satisfaction with their purchase tend to be those who struggled the most with a combination of unwanted hair (typically facial) and sensitive skin prior to using.

Concerns raised in reviews focused on the claim that hair removal results would be seen in just a 4-6 week time frame. Many reviewers expressed disappointment in the lack of reduced hair after regular use during this initial window and were dissatisfied enough with their purchase to return the product.

Another common complaint is that the NoNo Pro is not contoured properly to be useful on the chin or underarms.

NoNo Pro's Questionable Return Policy

Finally, there are enough reviews to raise an eyebrow regarding the no!no!'s return policy: the site promises a money-back guarantee (minus the cost of shipping) if you're not satisfied within 30 days from the date your no!no! is received. However, they require you call their customer service for a return authorization number (RMA) before mailing it back.

Some reviewers report being told the product must be used for 60 days before returning and being denied an RMA, so it’s unclear how frequently their policies on returns change and if would affect the guarantee. They at least offer the security of a one-year warranty to cover mechanical failures.

Bottom Line

The bottom line is that this product takes some serious commitment: Users who reported the best results claimed to have dedicated 30+ minutes per body area,  2-3 times a week for up to one year. So if you already spend several hours struggling with unwanted hair each week, but aren’t in the market for laser treatments, this product may be for you. For everyone else, it seems a little too steep an investment to be satisfied with the minimal results.

SEE ALSO: Which Hair Removal Strategy Suits You?

62 Customer Reviews for NoNo Pro

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 54
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It did not work for me.

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    What a great name for this product, NoNo! It didn't work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hello there,

      Thank you for sharing your no!no! experience with us and we're sorry for the inconvenience.

      Can you tell us more details about your problem? If you can answer these questions, it would help us know how we can help to make no!no! work for you.

      a) Where did you purchase no!no!?

      b) How long have you used it

      c) How frequent did you use it per week?

      d) In which part of the body did you remove hair?

      We are looking forward to talk to you soon. Thank you very much

      Regards,
      The Radiancy Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Does not work and a waste of money

    • London,
    • Jun 14, 2015

    The NoNo does not work as advertised. Bought a NoNo at nearly £200 and found it only managed to singe a few hairs. Would remove hair after about 8 passes on the same spot and would take about 2 hours to do one leg. Save your money and don't bother, use a candle it would work better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Burns off your hair and smells awful

    • Silicon Valley,
    • Jun 3, 2015

    Concept sounds great BUT it literally burns off and fries your hair. The smell is just like burning hair which is disgusting to me. I could not get past the smell of the burning hair. Returned it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Big mistake to buy this product!

    • Illinios,
    • May 28, 2015

    The NoNo Pro simply doesn't work! It takes forever to remove hair, it always stops in the middle, and the hair is still there and it shows. It smells bad so you have to be careful not to burn your skin and at the end, I have bad results! I think it's a waste of time and money. Customer service is really bad because they don't even listen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hello Dolly,

      Thank you for sharing your no!no! experience with us and we're sorry for the inconvenience.

      Just a few questions for us to know how we can help you further.

      a) Where did you purchase no!no!?

      b) How long have you used it

      c) How frequent did you use it per week?

      d) In which part of the body did you remove hair?

      The no!no! device has a Thermicon Technology which uses heat to treat unwanted hair. The smell of burning hair is normal and we've recommended applying the no!no! smooth after buffing to eliminate the smell of burning hair. We hope this information helps. Thank you

      Regards,
      The Radiancy Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 85 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Scam, theives, cheats, liars, etc..

    • May 2, 2015

    Wow, where to even begin. I guess starting with "What a crock of garbage" would be a good start, but would not suffice for the overall experience, frustrations, money, and let down this item cost me.

    Number one...it doesn't work. I'm middle of pack fuzzy, but this item WILL NOT work on full hair, thick hair, light hair, or peach fuzz. I honestly felt hairier after using it. A complete waste of time and effort, I might as well have ran a block of cheese over my chest; it would have produced the same result. I would like the 17 minutes back that I spent trying to get this poor excuse for a laser pointer to work so I can use those 17 minutes doing something more productive and "enjoyable" like trimming my sidewalks or lancing a boil (that's how much a waste this thing is).

    Making matters worse when I sent it back for my "money back within 60 days" they waited until the 60 days were up to contact me and say that they "never got my returned item." I talked to incompetent managers, haggled with clown-like personnel, and wrestled with stubborn and arrogant designers. Whole thing is a sham that should be lumped in with the likes of Enron and Martha Stewart. My only regret that is stronger then my regret of buying this product is the fact that I wasn't smart enough to develop a lackluster, P-O-S item and sell it for the price of someone's left kidney, only to snub the consumers and not back the garbage item when the crap hits the fan. Talk about a business plan!!

    If I met the swindling, slimy, selfish owner and creator of this company I would wrestle for days in my mind with the fact should I punch the lowlife scammer in the chin, or do I shake his hand for fooling everyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 83 out 87 people found this review helpful

    Total Scam

    • Apr 21, 2015

    I bought the NoNo Pro 5 sometime in March of this year. I am attempting to return it because I can't seem to work it right and it takes a long time to be effective. Also, it takes a VERY long time to do. I've been attempting to reach customer service all day. They are telling me the line is very busy and the wait is very long. For that they were offering either a trip to the Bahamas or a $100 Walmart gift card. I kept saying I was not interested in anything other than speaking to customer service about returning my NoNo Pro.

    They hung up on me after I said that five different times. This is a total scam. Don't get caught up in it. But if you have, please report it to the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 57 people found this review helpful

    NoNo

    • Magnolia, TX,
    • Apr 18, 2015

    The No No Pro did not work for me unfortunately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 77 out 80 people found this review helpful

    TOTALLY Useless NoNo

    • England,
    • Apr 9, 2015

    My son spend nearly £300 for this TOTALLY USELESS NONO! Please do no buy, and do not believe you can get your money back in 60 days either.

    Totally a scam! I cannot believe I have to leave at least a star to post this review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 42 people found this review helpful

    NoNo Pro

    I am a 51 year old women and I used it one time on my face. It takes some time to get it at a 90 degree angle but working with it will you get it eventually. This thing really works. I bought mine from eBay. Not that high price that everyone else is selling them for. NoNo Pro will not warranty these things from eBay, but it is worth the cheep price that you can get them for. I am going to order the Red Light anti aging device, which is not yet available on eBay yet. I only bought it to use on my face. I can shave my arms and legs, I am not that lazy. I love this thing. Waxing and hair removal creams take my skin off my face and then I am heeling sores from those old treatments. I LOVE THIS THING. I recommend it for sensitive skin types.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 18, 2015

      Michelle

      Hi I'd appreciate it if you can be totally blunt about the effectiveness of the NoNo Pro please. I'm 44, I have facial hair that's getting worse with age & I have sensitive skin but I would also want to use for my arms & legs as I'm disabled so I cant shave because my meds for pain give me the shakes & I cut myself. So I need to know if it's up to the job or not. Also cost is a very big factor for me, what would you say was a fair price off of eBay for one? Thanks for taking the time to read this & I'll look forward to your response. Michelle

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Apr 6, 2015

    Does not work! Burned off my hair and damaged my skin.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 10, 2015

      RadiancyCustomerService

      Hi Crystal,

      Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear about it. Where did you buy your no!no! device? How long have you been using no!no!?

      If you feel uncomfortable while using no!no!, we recommend you stop. We also suggest you to call our Customer Service Department so they can help you avoid this damage to your skin. You may reach out to them at 1.888.525.7580 for US and 0344.482.5089 for UK residents. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Total Scam

    • Brookhaven, MS,
    • Mar 29, 2015

    My boyfriend and I both used it on each other. It doesn't work and you will NEVER get your money back from these people. $300 down the drain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a review for NoNo Pro!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review