BioTrust Reviews - Do These Supplements Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jul 10, 2019

Headquartered in Austin, TX, BioTrust sells a variety of protein, healthy living, digestive health, and anti-aging dietary supplements intended to help you achieve your health goals.

Compared to competitors, the company submits all of their products to an industry-leading 7-stage research and testing process they say ensures optimal potency and purity. They also provide free health and wellness coaching to all of their customers to help maximize their success.

Between their fully transparent formulations and unmatched quality, the BioTrust website tells us they’ve shipped more than 15 million of their products to families worldwide.

But, are they the right supplement company for you? In this article, we'll take a high-level look at the company and a couple of their top products, compare them to competitors and help you find actionable answers.

How Does BioTrust’s Research and Testing Process Work?

BioTrust Nutrition was co-founded in 2011 by self-described big-hearted “science nerds” Josh Bezoni and Joel Marion, who say they were focused on launching a “mission-based nutrition company that was authentic, honest, charitable, and always put quality and customers first.”

Since that time, they’ve grown into a team of more than 100 employees, which they advertise makes them one of the fastest-growing online nutrition brands in America.

A big part of this success, they emphasize, is their rigorous seven-stage research and testing process, which was developed by supplement formulation and quality control experts:

  • Step 1: BioTrust’s world-class formulators “rigorously scour the research for the finest and most innovative ingredients” to include in their supplements.
  • Step 2: The company only adds the clinically substantiated dosages of ingredients to their formulations.
  • Step 3: All ingredients found in BioTrust supplements represent the purest, highest-quality versions available without antibiotics and artificial sweeteners, colors and preservatives. There are no GMOs, gluten, antibiotics, or synthetic growth hormones as well.
  • Step 4: These ingredients come with a certificate of analysis for potency and purity, and BioTrust goes one step further by performing microbiological testing during manufacturing.
  • Step 5: All ingredients are produced in GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices)-certified facilities that adhere to proper food safety and quality performance guidelines.
  • Step 6: BioTrust works with an independent third-party company to double-check these ingredient levels.
  • Step 7: These same third parties also test for “impurities, microbe contamination, heavy metals, and allergens” in BioTrust’s finalized formulations.

With these high-level details in mind, let’s zoom in and explore some of the ingredients you’ll encounter in BioTrust’s most popular formulations.

Which Ingredients Will You Find in BioTrust’s Dietary Supplements?

As of this writing, BioTrust offers a lineup of 17 different supplement formulations. In the interest of maximizing your time, we’ll quickly go over the ingredients found in two of the top-rated options on their website—each of which the HighYa team has also written about in the past—to help provide further insight.

BioTrust Brain Bright

According to the supplement facts label listed on the BioTrust website, Brain Bright contains:

  • Vitamin B12 1,000 mcg
  • Calcium 130 mg
  • GinkgoClean Ginko Biloba Extract 240 mg
  • RhodiolaMax Rhodiola Rosea Extract 200 mg
  • N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine 500 mg
  • Acetyl-L-Carnitine 500 mg
  • L-Theanine 100 mg
  • Bioperine Extract 5 mg

According to sites like the Natural Medicines Database, WebMD, and Examine.com, taking between 60 mg and 480 mg of ginkgo per day is possibly effective for addressing aspects of anxiety and dementia. Furthermore, 100–300 mg of tyrosine could improve memory and mental performance under stressful situations, and 12–100 mg of theanine may help reduce errors on tests.

On the other hand, they indicate there’s insufficient clinical support for the other claims and ingredients found in Brain Bright.

BioTrust IC-5

Comparatively, BioTrust’s IC-5 supplement contains the following:

  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Berberine 500 mg
  • 25:1 Cinnamon Bark Extract 100 mg
  • Benfotiamine 80 mg
  • Naringin 50 mg

Using these same sites as our guide, they cumulatively report there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support BioTrust’s carb-related claims for IC-5.

A BioTrust representative sent us three documents outlining several studies showing that some of the ingredients in these supplements could deliver on their claims.

However, it’s important to point out sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database only report the cumulative level of clinical support related to an ingredient’s specific benefits and not specific studies like the ones BioTrust provided.

Could BioTrust’s Ingredients Cause Side Effects?

Sites like Examine.com and WebMD report that for most individuals, the ingredients in Brain Bright and IC-5 likely won’t cause side effects worse than mild, temporary digestive upset—if anything at all.

With this in mind, they indicate other potential side effects (no circumstances or other specifics provided) include:

  • Headache – Ginkgo, theanine
  • Dry Mouth – Rhodiola
  • Dizziness – Ginkgo, Rhodiola

Ginkgo can also cause constipation and allergic reactions, Rhodiola can lead to excessive saliva production, and carnitine can cause heartburn or diarrhea. These same sites indicate the long-term safety of Rhodiola and theanine is unknown.

To help reduce the potential side effects or medication interactions related to any supplements you’re taking, be sure to talk with your healthcare professional in advance.

How Much Do BioTrust’s Products Cost?

In general, you’ll find BioTrust’s products priced in the following ranges:

  • Proteins: $29–$59
  • Healthy Living: $34–$69
  • Digestive Health: $49
  • Anti-Aging: $34–$69
  • Gear: $14.99–$24.95
  • Ageless Glow: $29.00 to $79.00

BioTrust emphasizes that every order placed helps feed a child through their partnership with the No Kid Hungry® campaign and that they’ve helped provide more than three million meals to date.

You can also subscribe to recurring shipments and save 20% on any products, which you can edit or cancel at any time.

U.S.-bound, one-time orders come with a $6.95 shipping charge, with international costs calculated at checkout. On the other hand, all recurring orders come with free shipping.

BioTrust offers a 60-day money-back guarantee on all of their supplements, including a pre-printed return shipping label, as well as a 1-year exchange program and in-house credit procedure. It's important to keep in mind that you will still be responsible for shipping charges when sending your product back. To initiate the return process, you can reach support at 800-766-5086 or via their site’s contact form.

Our View: Should You Order BioTrust Supplements?

Keeping in mind everything we’ve learned, it’s positive that BioTrust only uses high-quality ingredients in their supplement formulations, which also come with competitive prices.

However, while their 7-stage research and testing process is unique, overall, we also learned that several other companies implement many of its same components (e.g., third-party testing, sourcing from GMP-certified factories, obtaining certificates of analysis, etc.).

Furthermore, sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database report that most of the ingredients found in their popular Brain Bright and IC-5 supplements have insufficient clinical evidence supporting most of the manufacturer’s advertising claims.

With all of this said, BioTrust and its supplements seem to come with mostly positive online customer feedback, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online. They also stand behind their products with a 60-day refund policy, which represents more than enough time to decide whether or not they meet your needs and preferences.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of BioTrust:
  • 136 Customer Reviews
  • 62% Recommend This Company
3.5 out of 5
5 star: 49% 4 star: 10% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 26%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Great company, great products, phenomenal support.

    • By Kenny,
    • Jul 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was turned onto BioTrust by a cousin of mine who is a sports science/fitness/sports trainer for Rollins College here in Florida. He told me about a few of their products which he really liked. BCAA Matrix and the Low Carb Protein Powder. I went ahead and tried both, love them. What's best is that you can be confident that the ingredients in these products are the best, period. For those of you who buy your protein, BCAA's, fish oils, etc from the large chain shops (like I used to do) be sure you know what you are getting, I bet you'll be surprised if you really look into it. With BioTrust, you don't need to worry about that.

    I am such a huge fan of BioTrust products, but one of the main reasons I am such a loyal customer is because of the online support/forums. These guys know their stuff. They will answer every question you have about the products, your personal nutrition, workout regiments, and just general fitness questions/concerns you may have (and attach articles and the science behind it to back it up).

    I'm not sure where the people in some of the negative reviews are coming from, or what their agenda is but these guys have never steered me wrong. The only time I ever had to 'return' something was because it didn't agree with my stomach not because the product didn't work. I made one call to customer service and switched it out for a bottle of BCAA Matrix. No up charge or anything and they actually let me keep the bottle of the other product to give to someone else to try. The gentleman who mentioned that the protein bars "were the worst he's ever had" that's probably b/c he usually buys the bars that are loaded with sugar and other 'crap' to make them taste like a candy bar. Its a protein bar, not a candy bar, and honestly, they are pretty damn good. The emails they send out are very informative and will actually educate you on a lot of different topics. Do they try and sell their products, of course, they are a business but 1) they do not spam you, only a few emails here and there and i learn something new from every single email, and 2) I guarantee once you try a few of the products and take advantage of the knowledge on the online forums, you'll understand why this company and the products sell themselves. A plus company.

    I played baseball for the University of Florida and was around some very knowledgeable fitness and nutrition staff while I was there...these BioTrust guys have given me so much more accurate information than I have ever received in my life. It has truly changed the way I go about my nutrition and fitness needs. Just try it.

    Side note: The oatmeal raisin protein cookies are amazing.

    Kenny

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Superior Service and Product

    • By Kelcie,
    • Michigan,
    • Jun 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Several months ago, I stumbled upon BioTrust while looking for a great tasting protein powder that was also high quality, and I found it. The Low-carb Time-Released Protein Blend is awesome. I have tried both the vanilla and chocolate, and they are far better tasting than any other product I have tried. Not only that, I look forward to having a smoothie (that is how good they taste). They even sent me a book with 53 recipes for smoothies, so you don't have to just have a plain vanilla or plain chocolate smoothie. I am not sure how long they will be giving that away for free, so get on it people.

    I also recently had a question/request from the company and called the customer service. I know what you're thinking.. "uh oh.." nope. They were awesome. Not only was he friendly, but the customer service representative worked so hard and so quickly to help me out. I was expecting someone to just read from some script saying they couldn't help me, but that was not the case. In my opinion, BioTrust has incredible products with fantastic service. I would highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • An Honest Review from My Heart

    • By Kathryn Stefaniak,
    • Salem, NH,
    • Aug 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    As an extremely satisfied customer of BioTrust, I would like to touch on a few points. First of all, BioTrust's Customer Service is one of the best I've ever had the pleasure to do business with. I have ordered product both online and through their 1-800 support number, and have gotten exactly what I have wanted without any issues. I happen to enjoy speaking with the Customer Service representatives, as they are all very knowledgeable about the products and are consistently helpful when I speak with them directly.

    Secondly, BioTrust's products are without a doubt, very helpful to me during my quest to lose 138 pounds. I have lost a total of 71 pounds in 7 months' time with the help of LeptiBurn, IC-5, AbsorbMax, Pro-X10, and BioTrust Low Carb protein powder. I have recently added BioTrust's OmegaDessert Fish Oil supplement and look forward to continued weight loss success. I believe wholeheartedly in the all natural, healthy BioTrust supplements, and highly encourage my friends and family to use them also. I have used two of BioTrust's approved weight loss plans, the 3 Week Diet and the One Day Diet, in helping me to achieve my substantial weight loss. While using the online forums, I have learned from two highly qualified nutrition and exercise specialists, how to select wholesome foods for my nutrition, and how to exercise the proper way in order to maximize my fat loss results. I always recommend BioTrust Nutrition supplements to people I meet who are sincere in their efforts to lose weight or add muscle. I have not as of yet used the BCAA Matrix, but will be supplementing with it soon.

    Lastly, I enjoy the chocolate and vanilla cream Low Carb protein powders in my daily shakes, the Chocolate Chip and Frosted Oatmeal Raisin protein cookies for dessert, and the Organic Protein Bars as an occasional meal supplement. I sincerely hope that others will be as successful as I have been in losing weight while using the wonderful BioTrust Nutrition supplements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best supplement company

    • By Florian,
    • Austria,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I' m a huge fan of Biotrust products. I'm using IC-5, protein powder, protein bars and BCAA's and I'm more than happy with my results (have used them for both fat loss and muscle building phases). Something I also look for when it comes to supplementation: What do industry leaders say about them? Tons of really good and awesome coaches use and recommend Biotrust products.

    Besides having awesome products they also have THE BEST customer service I have ever experienced in my life. Be it advice on training, be it taken care of when you have questions on a shipment, etc.

    I'll retell two stories about customer support: They sent me the wrong product (3 bottles of IC-5 instead of Leptiburn), so what did they do? They told me to keep the 3 wrong bottles and they sent me the 3 right ones free of charge.

    Oh and this by the way was the only time I ever had a problem with any order. Yes they simply rock.

    Second story: I'm emailing back and forth with their lead coach for a few months now and about 90% of the time it's not about Biotrust products and if it is about Biotrust products it's because I bring it up. He advises me on all sorts of workout stuff, etc.

    So overall: they are awesome and have made my life better. What more is there to ask for?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My Honest Review Of Bio Trust Products & Support Teams

    • By Edward McAvoy,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Jun 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Thank you for the opportunity of reviewing BioTrust Nutrition products and their support teams. I am a retired Banker, aged 70, from the UK. I had 40 years experience in Business & Commerce, writing many reports and reviews on many businesses.

    I am overweight, with elevated blood pressure and border-line diabetes. Through an excellent weight loss Plan for Life, I have lost weight (28 lbs) but more importantly, from that plan learned the importance of controlling your body's Leptin and Insulin. Leptin is the signal your body sends to your brain, that you are replete and no need to keep eating. Insulin obviously controls your blood sugar levels and the effects of not doing so, are very well known.

    Although the diet starts to address that imbalance, the creator of that plan highly recommended using BioTrust products – Leptiburn (does what is says on the tin) and IC-5 for reducing Insulin resistance. These have greatly boosted the effects as well as encouraging my body to burn fat not sugar.

    I had cause to contact the BioTrust Customer Service Team to help track my products to the UK. I remembered reading somewhere, that their service reputation was second to none. A label they truly deserve. My interaction with the BioTrust Forum team was a totally unexpected, but huge bonus, In the past, I have never felt inclined to become a member of a forum, but I count my blessings so I joined this one. Not only is it good to interact with fellow dieters and sufferers, but the genuine and heartfelt advice from the Forum Team, is inspirational, informed and they are totally dedicated to helping their members achieving their health goals.

    My commitment to my diet plan is for life, as it is to BioTrust and the forum.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Outstanding products

    • By Eric K,
    • Stevens Point, Wisconsin,
    • Mar 27, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Bio Trust is a superior company with research and product descriptions to back their products up. A lot of bad reviews on the site are just based on their poor and ineffective opinions, and not about what the products really offer. I love Bio Trust because not just of the awesome taste, but the ingredients and dosages to give a complete nutritional package. I am currently completing the 12 week body transformation, and with the overall knowledge and products available from Bio Trust, I am seeing miraculous results.

    I suffered a massive traumatic brain injury, and using Bio Trust information and products will bring unfathomable outcomes to myself, and to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Believe me, it works

    • By Alexander,
    • Moscow, Russia,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    As you know, I'm on the other end of the world. But at the same time have no problems with order, payment or delivery, as this write up. 

    So listen to the one who used it, I lost 67 pounds. And this is the result of production and support Biotrust. And this would not have happened if I did not feel that they really want to help me. We were united by invisible ties, one purpose to achieve results. And I got it. You're not just a protein bar (or any other) you get a community of like- minded, who know how to help you and are willing to do it for you. Biotrust, it is not for those looking for where tastier. Biotrust for those, who wants to change. They give the best. If I can, and so can you. Good luck to you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Into 2nd week and doing really good

    • By Olga V,
    • Pearland, TX,
    • Jun 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am a retired mother of 3, grandmother of 6 and great grandmother of 3 and in my 60's. I have tried countless weight loss products and services only to fail and feel defeated. I am now following the BioTrust plan. I am using LeptiBurn, IC-5, Omega Krill5X and Low Carb Time-Released Protein Blend. I am into my 2nd week and have lost 4 pounds but what makes me even happier is how my clothes are fitting; I am losing inches as well. I have 2 milkshakes a day and either a good lunch or dinner and I never feel hungry. I know that with this program I will succeed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service and honest about ingredients

    • By Timothy,
    • Salt Lake City, Utah,
    • Jun 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I write this review to provide an honest account of my experiences with BioTrust. I have used almost of their products. I have had great success with every one of the products that I've used. I dropped 20 pounds of fat in 12 weeks as a result of using their products. Four months later, it's still off. My favorite is the low carb vanilla protein powder. I enjoy a protein cookie or a protein bar for snacks throughout the day. Their Leptin product really rocked my fat percentage.

    I have interacted with their customer service personnel and they make you feel as though you are the CEO of the company they work for. I realize that some of the products are expensive to some people. However, I look at my health as I do my retirement savings. What I do now, will greatly impact how I live when I retire.

    If you sacrifice a bit so you can save for a 401K now, you'll benefit financially when you're older. If you pay a little more now for all-natural ingredients that have been tested and verified to contain what they say they do (unlike some other companies) you'll reap the health benefits later in life. Look up how much operations cost for knee replacements, diabetes complications, heart stents, etc. and perhaps you'll see the cost of healthy foods in a different light. If you're looking for a Dairy Queen shake, a Hershey's candy bar or a frosted sugar cookie, this isn't the company for you. Their similar products are quite tasty to me personally but yet they have no sugar like all of the aforementioned products.

    I have tried numerous supplement companies and their products. I've chosen to stick with BioTrust due to their research involved, their honesty and the great training advice I've received on their free forum board. I've also received free shipping, just like they advertise. I give this company two thumbs up! If you don't like a product, they have a full year money back guarantee.

    I've even read comments from their head nutrition and exercise coach and CEO on this forum offering to rectify any errors. That's impressive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely Love It

    • By Jen,
    • Pacific Northwest,
    • Jun 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I highly recommend BioTrust products. Not only are the products top-notch, the customer service is fabulous.

    I have used almost all of the products but I really, really love the LeptiBurn. I've been using it for months. The first 3 months I used it I lost 30 pounds and never hit a plateau. It has a slight energy boost from the green tea that I really like, not too much though so I'm not jittery.

    The Low Carb Protein Powder tastes amazing and it really blends nicely. I typically have it with coconut milk and just use a mason jar to shake it up with, no special shaker required. The chocolate is thick and rich.

    ProX10 is another daily for me, love my probiotics. Keeps things in balance and my skin behaves so much better when I'm taking it. Added bonus - no refrigeration required.

    Incidentally I was the 1st Runner up in their Transformation Contest and I'm a very real person with very real results. FYI: It takes more than nutritional supplements to get a killer body. Diet and exercise are also key. I used all three to get to where I am now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life Changing

    • By Nancy Choate,
    • Yakima, WA,
    • Jun 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was diagnosed with Leukemia four years ago and have had ongoing fatigue and anemia. I have tried eating right and exercising, but it was very difficult. I do not like to put unwanted chemicals in my body. It's bad enough that I have to take chemo everyday so when I came across BioTrust products I had to try. I ordered the Protein Powders and the IC-5 and went on the One Day Diet.

    I have since had more energy and stamina than in the last four years. I have lost 20 lbs. to boot, which I was not my goal but my husband is happy. He said I am like a new person. I will continue using these products and if you are in the same situation as I am you will not regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 136

Write a Review for BioTrust!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BioTrust