About Cellunlocker.net

By HighYa Staff

Based out of Vancouver, British Columbia, CellUnlocker.net is a website that allows customers to unlock their mobile phones via email, using the company’s fully automated o­­­­nline system.

CellUnlocker.net claims to be able to unlock 99% of all phones supported by major carriers and from manufacturers including Samsung, Apple, HTC, Nokia, LG, Motorola, Blackberry, and many more. In addition, the company also claims to provide their service in more than 180 countries around the world, and that their unlock codes are 95.5% accurate.

CellUnlocker.net states that, when compared to their competition, they provide the lowest prices and fastest turnaround times available, and that if they are unable to unlock a specific phone, then the chances are that no one can.

How CellUnlocker.net Works

When attempting to unlock a cell phone through CellUnlocker.net, the first step would be to verify that the company provides unblock codes for an exact phone manufacturer and model. After the phone has been located, simply select the carrier and country, and input the phone’s IMEI number, which can be obtained by entering *#06# on the phone’s keypad (additional information regarding IMEI numbers can be found here).

Once this information has been entered, customers will then be redirected to a final page, which outlines the price and estimated turnaround time. After contact and payment information have been submitted, CellUnlocker.net will email the unlock code and unlocking instructions for the specific model, carrier, and IMEI number provided at checkout, within the estimated timeframe.

Potential customers should keep in mind that if a specific carrier is not listed under their country and phone model, the unlock codes will not work, and no orders should be placed. The CellUnlocker.net site will still process the order, though no refunds will be given.

CellUnlocker.net Pricing

CellUnclocker.net does not provide flat pricing for all their unlocking services, which can vary depending on the phone model, cellular carrier, and country in which a customer is located. For instance, a U.S.-based iPhone 5 through AT&T will cost $29.99 to unlock, whereas the same model through Verizon can cost as much as $119.99. Other popular phones, such as the Samsung Galaxy S4, can cost as little as $24.99 to unlock, if based in the U.S.

Soon after inputting their phone’s model and carrier, CellUnlocker.net customers will find out their total cost for unlocking. After this is complete and payment has been processed, the company claims turnaround times in as little as one hour, and as long as a few days, depending on the phone’s model.

When ordering through CellUnlocker.net, it’s extremely important to make sure a valid IMEI number is entered upon checkout. This is because the site will process requests that include invalid numbers, which will cause the unlock code to essentially be worthless, and no refund will be provided.

It’s also important to note that 100% refunds will only be granted if two conditions are met:

  1. A valid IMEI number was provided, including supporting carrier and phone model details, and all unlock attempts have failed when performed according to instructions, and
  2. You must provide video proof that demonstrates the unlocking attempt.

No refunds will be granted if an unlock fails due to reasons such as being hard-locked, or because prior attempts were made to unlock the same phone using other codes.

Important Information for USA Phone Unlocking Customers

Any phones purchased within the United States after January 26th, 2013 are no longer eligible for unlocking, as the procedure is now illegal. Unless a customer has prior approval from the associated service provider, CellUnlocker.net will not provide any type of unlocking service or support for phones purchased after this date. Furthermore, CellUnlocker.net states that they will not be held liable or responsible if a customer attempts to unlock a phone purchased after this date, and no refunds will be provided.

However, it’s important to specify that all services provided through CellUnlocker.net continue to be 100% legal in Canada.

Pros:

  • Claims to be able to unlock 99% of all phones supported by major carriers, in more than 180 countries around the world.
  • Unlock codes are claimed to be 95.5% accurate.
  • Ordering and checkout process is fast and simple, including the use of PayPal for payments.
  • If unlock codes do not work after all instructions have been followed, customers may be eligible for a 100% refund.

Cons:

  • No support for cell phones located in the United States, if purchased after January 26th, 2013
  • Extremely strict refund policy, which includes the requirement of videoing the unlocking process.

Editor's Note: It has recently come ot our attention that there is a company with a similar name as CellUnlocker.net called CellUnlocker.co.uk. If you're a consumer wishing to submit a review, before doing so, please confirm that it's for CellUnlocker.net as this page is not intended for CellUnlocker.co.uk. Thanks

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 277 Cellunlocker.net Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 207 4 star: 13 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 277
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Wished I had read these reviews before I contacted them.

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My issue is exactly like many of the others. They were very quick to get the $24.99 out of my account but I still have not received an unlock code. It's been five days. In order to request a status of my order, I needed an order number which I did not receive from them. I wrote two emails requesting the number and did not receive a response. So I called them and was sent in a circle by their answering machine. I have filed a complaint against them through PayPal. They have still not responded to any of my requests. So, I ordered through a different company and had my information in less than four hours and it was eight dollars cheaper. This company is a scam and I will not pay them. Of course, this does tie up my $24.99 for about three months while it is in litigation.

    Company is fraudulent and I can only assume that the few reviews here that are positive were written by the company themselves. There are many other companies you can choose from. This one is nothing but a scam and too cowardly to even respond to customer questions. I should know by now to always check reviews before I order anything, even if it is only $24.99. Thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Cellunlocker.net Scam

    • Minnesota,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    Buyer beware, Cellunlocker.net. I ordered my unlock code and followed their instructions and they wrecked my phone. Now I have to buy a new phone. I asked them if I could get a new code since I need to buy a new phone they said for 50 percent and make a video for them.

    Now why would anyone do that after what they did for me? Cellunlocker is only worried about the all mighty dollar and don't give one crap about you. I'll leave my feed back about all over the web and every forum regarding just how they run their business. And I would love to talk about this matter in person if they would like on my dime.

    So buyers beware, Cell Unlocking companies are like drug dealers in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2014

      Samer,

      It is the worst experience I've had in online shopping. Between 1st and 9th of I November bought about 900 dollars in unlocks for iPhone. Total for 9 iPhones to be unlocked. After waiting a month I opened a case with PayPal because they would not refund the remaining money, around 600 USD. And they told PayPal that they already sent the intangible items. PayPal could not do anything because it was an intangible item.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Poor Customer Service

    • Jun 8, 2015

    I searched the web for information about Cellunlocker.net and somehow the negative reviews didn't show up, so I decided to give them a chance. I paid and was told I would get my unlock code within 3-7 business days. No word back during this whole time. On the 7th business day I e-mailed about it and was told that it was actually up to 8 days. I made a screenshot of the website that proved it and said otherwise, and didn't hear back. Waited until the 9th day. Still no code. E-mailed again saying I'm frustrated and want my money back so that I can go elsewhere since no one will tell me when I'm getting my unlock code. I was asked to resubmit my IMEI, carrier, and phone model. Finally got told I'd get it late next week, meaning I could get my code up to 2 times longer than what I was told in the beginning it would take. I said I wanted a refund because I hadn't gotten an unlock code on time and I'm tired of waiting and would rather go elsewhere. I have not heard back since. I then decided to search for Cellunlocker.net again and suddenly I can see all the negative reviews all over the web. Very frustrated and disappointed. Never using their services again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 9, 2017

      David Wright

      They are doing the same thing to me. They like to set an estimate, and then you get the usual response "no, it actually takes an additional day." When you call them on that new estimate, they say either an extra day or midnight tonight. Once that has passed, it's either an additional day, or we're doing the best we can. You will receive the code in your email. Their estimates should be based on the maximum amount of time it takes to hear back about their process, whether they have a code or not. You should either get what you paid for, a refund or at least ask if you'd like to wait slightly longer. No more business from me!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Cellunlucker.net

    • Caledon, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    If you look at their web site it look really good, but try to talk to their live chat, no one there. Try to fill a form for support after you fill the form the sent button doesn't work.

    Best of all, they try to call the number on the web site. It's a joke hangs up on you or tells you there is no one at the moment.

    I received five codes none worked and now I only have four more tries left on my phone, I will call Telus and pay the 35 dollars.

    My advice is if you want to unlock your phone, spend the extra money and get the code from your carrier.

    Please spread the word on face book or where ever you can so these scammers stop ripping people off.

    I wish I could talk face to face to these individuals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 14, 2014

      Cellunlocker.net,

      We have specific business hours for our call center and live chat. If you contact us through those methods of communication, there is no one available to take your call and/or chat. We have a direct email you can contact us also which is available on our website if you cannot reach us by phone or chat. If you have received a code that is not working, you must contact us for further troubleshooting as mentioned on our website in our email with your unlock codes and instructions. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Once you pay them, your money is stuck with them with no recourse

    • Feb 7, 2015

    I paid these guys for cell unlock and found a much cheaper unlocking service at a different website. Emailed these guys to honor their lowest price promise but they said they wouldn't match price once the order is placed and wouldn't cancel my order also. Now I have filed PayPal dispute and waiting to see how that goes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 24, 2015

      Joe,

      Paid them to unlock my iPhone 4s, got days and days of B/S. Wanted to cancel the order, which they offered to me finally after telling them I would take them to PayPal dispute.

    • Jul 9, 2015

      Malike

      I was wondering which website you used to find a cheaper unlock service, because it has been 3 business days and I tried to contact them, plus sent them an email. Haven't heard back from them yet.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam - don't stress yourself out

    • California,
    • Dec 21, 2013

    I have been waiting over 19 days for my order when I was told to take 10. Now they told me it may take up to another 10 days and if I want a rush on it I will pay $60. If they're already doing everything they can do to get it done ASAP how was a possible to put a rush on?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Cellunlocker.net is a scam

    • Jun 26, 2015

    Cellunlocker.net will not refund customers if their code not found. Stay away from this website, it's scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 14, 2014

      Cellunlocker.net,

      There is no reason for us to not refund your order if it's completed without an unlock code. Please contact us directly with your order ID or IMEI. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    The worst service possible!

    • Toronto, Ontario,
    • Jan 30, 2015

    This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. I've been waiting three days for the code now. I understand that sometimes things take time. I just really hate being lied to as a customer. The message when calling their customer support line says right off the bat that Samsung orders might not be filled. Then it says Samsung Canada orders will take 24-36 hours. If you want to cancel then send an email to support. When I stay on the line, I'll be on hold for 10-15 minutes at the least then quite often my call is disconnected! I've had to call 6 or 7 times and stay on hold more than 10 minutes each time to finally reach a live person.

    I've emailed support several times with no comprehensible response that has anything to do with getting my code. As per their voice mail message that specifically addresses Samsung phone delays which directs you to email support to cancel your order, I did so. Then I emailed them again and then a third time after which I finally got a response. Basically, I'll have to wait since Samsung orders are delayed and if I had read the tiny message buried somewhere on their website, I would have known that. At that point I was fed up of getting lied to and receiving different stories on every email and phone call that I finally emailed support requesting a refund. The response back after another day was to deny the refund and was told things take time and to refer to the disclaimer on their website that Samsung orders were delayed. I finally got someone on the phone after numerous tries on the fourth day. They kept putting me on hold and eventually they said they had a code for me and wanted me to write it down.

    Based on my experience, I would definitely not use this company again. Furthermore if you want reliable, courteous service I would recommend staying away from this company no matter how little they charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Fraudsters

    • Delta, BC,
    • May 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bye bye $29 USD. Order made, money taken, but failed to unlock.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • British Columbia,
    • Nov 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried their procedures, followed it to a "t". I was not successful. It was a brand new phone. The result of switching SIM cards resulted in not being able to receive or send texts. I had Tech support on and off for 2 days. I was not successful in getting my Samsung to work properly.

    I ended up taking my phone back and now must purchase a new phone. Cellunlocker will not refund my money as I must video myself following the procedures. Pretty tough to do when I couldn't even send a text. And now I don't have the phone.

    Oh well, lesson learned. Beware of too good to be true refunds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2017

      Jeff Vaughn

      Text sending and phone unlocking are two different things. Just because you unlock a phone does not mean it will send texts. Anybody, who knows anything about cell phones, knows you have to configure the APN settings for your new network, or it just won't work right. So you're slamming them for your lack of knowledge. Bad karma!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time & money

    • Florida,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    Be careful with Cellunlocker.net, they didn't comply with the refund policies. I bought two codes from them: OrderID: xx4024 and OrderID: xx2763 and at the end, the codes didn't work. They start to send me some instructions to make the codes work but with no success. Sometimes it seems like the person who answered my emails didn't know anything about my orders. They got me tired sending me the same instructions time after time and asking me for some videos with a "REFUND INSTRUCTIONS" as email header.

    Once I realized we were going nowhere, I asked them for my money, back based on their refund policy that was stated on their website. I received nothing. I didn't receive an email with the reason for not refunding me. I'm very disappointed with cellunlocker.net, my experience started very well, but at the end it was completely awful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 277

Write a Review for Cellunlocker.net!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review