About Copper Chef

Updated on: Apr 29, 2016

Endorsed by Eric Theiss, Copper Chef is a 6-in-1 non-stick, no cleanup pan that works as a roasting pan, rice cooker, steamer, stock pot, wok, and baking dish.

And with its extra deep sides, Cerami-Tech technology, and copper infused coating that’s heat resistant up to 850 degrees, you’ll be able to take your Copper Chef from stove top, to oven, to table in a breeze. Which is why the company calls it “your all around square pan.”

On top of this, the high-quality pan features induction plate channels that heat up quickly and reduce hot spots, and also allow it to work on all stove tops, whether electric, gas, ceramic, or induction.

Moving Copper Chef around will be easy too, thanks to its riveted handles and helper handle, and you won’t have to worry about your family’s health since the non-stick coating is PTFE and PFOA free and won’t chip, peel, or flake into your food.

Then, once you’re finished using the pan, it’s dishwasher safe so cleanup is a snap.

This is one featured filled pan but will it really help you cook easier and healthier, or is it just priced as high as a meal cooked by a 5-star chef?

There are a lot of points to address about this pan, so let’s start by looking at copper as a cooking material.

Is Copper a Good Cooking Material? What Are Some Pros & Cons?

Arguably the biggest benefit of copper cookware is that it comes with “excellent thermal conductivity.” If you’re not a chef, this just means that copper pans tend to heat evenly, without hot spots, and the level of heat changes almost instantly along with your burner.

Plus, there’s no denying that copper cookware looks great.

But copper cookware isn’t perfect. It is a highly reactive material (which is why it’s so great at conducting heat), especially for “alkaline or acidic foods, which can take on a metallic taste after being cooked.” In other words, you’ll be ingesting copper.

Copper pots and pans are also some of the most expensive cookware you can purchase. They’re labor-intensive, and will eventually corrode if they’re not thoroughly cleaned and dried after each use (although Copper Chef’s non-stick coating might alleviate some of this, which we’ll come back to next).

Finally, remember that all copper cookware is either lined with tin or stainless steel, the latter being the preferred material due to its longevity. Unfortunately, we’re not told which material Copper Chef contains.

See Also: Comparing Cookware: Stainless Steel vs. Copper

Now that you know more about the pros and cons of copper cookware, let’s take a closer look at the cookware’s non-stick coating.

What is Cerami-Tech Non-Stick Technology?

Non-stick cookware has been around for years (pretty much due to the invention of Teflon), although recently, manufacturers have stopped including this specific chemical since it contains Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).

The problem is that, once heated to around 260 degrees, PTFE begins deteriorating and completely decomposes at temperatures above 350 degrees. Once it’s airborne and inhaled, it can cause flu-like symptoms.

Similarly, perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) is another non-stick coating that is no longer used for the most part, since ingestion can damage hormone levels and liver function, attack the immune system, and can even lead to cancer.

Here’s the catch: While it’s positive that Copper Chef’s non-stick coating doesn’t contain these chemicals, there’s essentially nothing online about Cerami-Tech, other than this brochure for a “high performance solvent free coating designed for use as a resurfacing and lining system to improve the efficiency in fluid flow environments”—which we don’t think has any relation to what’s contained in Copper Chef. So ultimately, we know very little about the coating.

The New Copper Chef XL Pan

The company tells us the new Copper Chef XL Pan delivers many of the same features as the original, including a PTFE and PFOA-free Cerami-Tech coating, heat resistance up to 850°, 5-layer construction, and heavy-duty design.

According to the company, the XL version also features a stainless steel induction plate that works in the oven and all stovetops, including electric, gas, ceramic, and induction.

Finally, like the original, we’re told that the XL is a 6-in-1 pan that allows you to prep, cook, and serve in one large capacity family-size pan, while replacing your stock pot, rice cooker, frying pan, roasting pan, wok, and baking dish.

Given all of this, what’s the main difference between the original and the new XL Pan? Basically, XL’s sides are higher than the original, which the company claims provides 25% more room to cook food.

Pro tip: However, keep in mind that, because this is a vertical increase in space (versus horizontal), the XL only increases the volume of the food you’re able to cook at one time—not the surface area.

In other words, XL’s higher sides might come in handy if you’re boiling liquids, frying, or cooking things like rice, pasta, soup/stew, etc. However, the Copper Chef XL Pan won’t provide an additional cooking surface to prepare things like meats, pancakes, and so forth.

Our Copper Chef Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

How Much Does The Copper Chef Cost?

Copper Chef is priced at three payments of $24.99 plus free S&H, bringing your total to $74.97. For this price, your 4-piece system includes:

  • 9" square Pan
  • Tempered glass lid
  • Steam & roast rack
  • Fry basket

You’ll also receive a free recipe book containing over 25 recipes, as well as a lifetime guarantee, less S&H charges.

As far as the Copper Chef XL Pan goes, you’ll have a couple different purchasing options:

  • 5 Piece Set (Includes 9.5" deep square pan, fry basket, steam and roast rack, tempered glass lid, and recipe book): $74.97, or three payments of $24.99
  • 6 Piece Set (Includes everything above, in addition to a standard 9.5" square fry pan): $104.97, or three payments of $34.99
  • 12 Piece Set (Includes everything above, in addition to 10" round pan, tempered glass round lid, 4 piece utensil set, and limited lifetime warranty): $149.97, or three payments of $49.99

In addition to these packages, you’ll also get to choose one of three different bonuses when ordering Copper Chef XL, including the Perfect Rice Cooker, Micro Knife, or Perfect Slicer.

In order to make good on this guarantee, you’ll need to call Tristar Products customer service at 973-287-5176.

But what about Copper Chef’s manufacturer? Do they have a reputation for quality products?

Who Makes Copper Chef?

The non-stick pans are brought to you by Fusion Life Brands, who also makes the Fusion Xcelerator and Fusion Juicer.

Fusion Life Brands, in turn, is a division of Tristar Products, one of the biggest ASOTV companies in existence. In fact, they’re second only to Telebrands.

As such a large company, Tristar is responsible for some hugely popular products, including Clear TV, Copper Wear, Perfecter Fusion Styler, Power Pressure Cooker XL (more about this in a second), and many more.

Between all these products, they have any average rating of 2 stars, based on well over 1,300 HighYa reader reviews. Here, common complaints tend to revolve around less-than-stellar quality and customer service, as well as products that don’t work as advertised.

Related: Finding the Perfect Pots & Pans for Your Cooking Style

Keep in mind we’re not saying this is what you’ll experience with Copper Chef, only that it’s definitely something to consider.

Should you also consider the celebrity endorsement?

Who Is Eric Theiss?

Eric Theiss has been cooking since he received his first cookbook at age 6, and has spent time working in high-end NYC restaurants, earning his wings under chef Frank Falcinelli.

Over the last several years, however, Eric has been working with QVC performing live, on-air culinary product sales. Eric was even the host of Tristar’s Power Pressure Cooker XL 30-minute infomercial!

But here’s the thing: Just because Mr. Theiss is endorsing the product, this doesn’t necessarily mean that he uses it. In fact, as a professional chef, it’s much more likely that he uses some high-end copper cookware from another manufacturer (again, as we noted in the previous section, ASOTV products don’t exactly have reputations for high quality).

So, while Eric’s endorsed certainly puts some star power behind Copper Chef, we don’t think this should weigh heavily on your purchasing decision.

Should You Buy Copper Chef?

Taking everything we’ve learned here, we don’t think there’s necessarily anything unique about Copper Chef that you wouldn’t find at a local home goods store. In fact, if you do a quick online search for “copper non-stick cookware,” you’ll find that you can purchase entire copper cookware sets (multiple pots and pans) for not much more than this pan.

See Also: How to Buy the Best Copper Cookware: Comparison of Top Brands

And although Copper Chef’s non-stick surface can help you cook with less butter and oil, unless you’re also cutting back on unhealthy ingredients in your food itself, this probably won’t do much for your health.

And while the XL’s higher sides could definitely come in handy, depending on what you’re cooking, keep in mind that it certainly isn’t unique. In fact, we’ve reviewed several other nearly identical options here at HighYa like Red Copper Square Pan, Gotham Steel Square Pan, and Square Copper Pan Pro.

Our Copper Chef Follow-Up Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

Did you purchase Copper Chef? Did it work as well as you were expecting? Tell us about it by leaving a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

527 Consumer Reviews for Copper Chef

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 120 4 star: 15 3 star: 21 2 star: 69 1 star:  302
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 527
Sort reviews by:

  • 72 out 108 people found this review helpful

    Not a review per se

    • IN,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    I find it surprising how people can give a low review when they haven't even received their item. I have it and it is awesome. Yes, may take some time to receive but when you do you will like it. So stop with the negativity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2016

      Sally

      The inability to produce a product in a timely manner, pursuant to their procedure, certainly speaks to the company, not the product. However, it is a red flag and would raise questions of authenticity. These are valid reviews and I for one would not conduct business with an unprofessional company.

    • Feb 3, 2016

      Jerzygirl45,

      The negative reviews are still helpful so people can make a fully informed decision about whether or not they want to buy the product, or even want to be bothered dealing with this company.

    • Feb 7, 2016

      Jon

      Can you give us more info? What's the actual depth? Does it feel like it was constructed well?

    • Feb 7, 2016

      Jo MacT,

      Did they pay you to write this? I find it surprising that you are the only positive review. Seems odd to me.

    • Feb 13, 2016

      Richard,

      I agree with Jen. I came to see what people thought about the actual pan not whether or not they have received it in a timely manner or that their customer service sucks. Good grief, maybe they shouldn't have put an infomercial out if they weren't able to provide the pans, but still those that say they have it, love it. I wish people wouldn't review things that they do not have.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam, works great!

    • Baker City, Oregon,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    I bought this online a week or two ago, and just received it in the mail. I was worried because there were no reviews on this pot, and people said they never got it after ordering. It looks like I am the exception, because it arrived and it works great! I bought it off the Copper Chef website after seeing the advertisement on TV, and it came with a fry basket, a little paperback recipe book, and a steamer tray. The recipes look great and this pot has been holding up well with no problems. It's a light pan but seems pretty durable, and it washes really well. You have to treat it like any other nonstick pan and not destroy it with cooking sprays, scratchy sponges or metal utensils. I also like the fact that it's a cool copper color, but doesn't need to be taken care of like actual copper.

    Don't be afraid to buy this pan. So far, its been a good investment. :)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Great pot

    • Leander, TX,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Copper Chef on December 29, 2015, and received the order number. On January 21, 2016 I received the invoice, and then the pot on January 26th, which is today. I expected this because some orders can take a while to ship out, especially around the holidays. I had to wait almost 10 months to get an attachment for a vacuum from another company, and they took the money right away, but Copper Chef didn't take the first payment until they shipped the order. I cooked on it today, making an omelet with lots of cheese, and it cooked awesomely, and was easy to clean. I am very pleased with the pot, and plan to order another one with the other frying pan and utensils a little later down the road. It worked great on my induction countertop burner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2016

      Ronald

      How deep is the Copper Chef Pan?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Best Pan EVER

    • SF, CA,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything they say about this product is true. Nothing sticks to the surface. I have put mine to the test, and it passed with flying colors. I cooked toffee and melted chocolate in it, and it worked perfectly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Best purchase I've ever made!

    I don’t normally leave comments on items that I purchase online, but I can’t believe all of the negative reviews that people are leaving, considering they haven’t even tried the Copper Chef pan. I can understand everyone’s frustration due to the back ordering issue, because I was also in that position. I ordered my Copper Chef just before Christmas, and noticed that my order was on hold due to the product being on back order. Well, my Copper Chef finally shipped, and I received it in the third week of January. I’m so happy that I was patient and did not cancel my order, because honestly, it’s the best pan that I’ve ever owned. I have used it every single day since receiving it, and am completely amazed by how wonderful it is. It’s very easy to use, and cooks food to perfection. It’s the easiest pan to clean and so far, nothing has stuck to this pan. You could literally just wipe away food residue using a paper towel, if you wanted to of course.

    Bottom line, if you have the patience to deal with the current back order issue, I would highly recommend the Copper Chef pan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Copper Chef, great pan

    I ordered this after seeing an infomercial. The ordering process is a bit to be desired, because they do try to get you to buy a lot of add on's, but you just need to keep telling them no, and go on if you don't want anything else. Some of the other stuff might be appealing to some though, because I did buy an optional Copper Chef fry pan and utensil set, at a bargain price.

    Now for the review. After I ordered, I found this site and got a bit worried by all the one star reviews, and nobody even gave it a higher review at that time. They did say it would be seven to ten business days, which is really saying two weeks. I received it exactly two weeks after I ordered. I did call in seven business days to see if they could tell me an ETA, and three days later, I got it, but I don't know if my phone call helped push it along or not.

    When it arrived, I was very pleased. I actually ordered two complete sets. After unpacking, I looked them over and they seemed very well built. I tried frying an egg, and it worked just as it did in the infomercial. I really didn't even need a spatula, because when it seemed done, I just shook the pan and the egg moved around on the bottom, and I just tipped it onto a plate to eat. There was really no clean up at all, and I did not use any oil or anything, just cracked an egg on a bare bottom pan. If it lasts as long as they claim (and I have no reason to think it won't), I will be extremely happy. Having a life time warranty, I don't see how you could go wrong.

    They are a very nice looking set, and I have gotten a lot of compliments about them. I would highly recommend it. You just have to be patient, and I have no doubt you will get them. This is NOT a scam, as some claim.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Skeptical, but true

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am totally impressed. The original Copper Chef is true to it's name. There are several scams trying to match the original, but I purchased this one based on a gut feeling. Skip the utensils, as you can purchase them at the dollar store, and they are just as good. I always read the reviews first, and I rolled the dice hoping for a true match. Bingo. I only wish there was another cookbook with more recipes, since I have no mother, mother-in-law, husband or wife to bounce new recipes off of.

    After 58 years, I am confident my new Copper Chef square pan will be the secret to cooking for me. To be continued.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Great purchase

    • Hermitage, PA,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Copper Chef pan, and received it within a week. I have used it numerous times, with great success. The chicken pot pie recipe was delicious, and the pork chops made in the pan were fantastic, with the steaks were juicy and tender. There should be no concern about adding oil, since it is not needed when cooking with this pan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Great Product!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love it, and wonder why people have complained. I'm assuming it was because they must have been back ordered for Christmas. I ordered it, they gave me a UPS tracking number, and we received it in about a week. It is great! My wife has been frying beef in our stainless steel pans for years, and I hate soaking, then scrubbing them out. This deep dish pan is great. I steamed veggies last night, and made french fries in it today. I am in no way affiliated with the company, but can vouch for the heavy duty quality of this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Not Disappointed

    • Feasterville, PA,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I too had to wait for my Copper Chef order, but I am glad that I had the patience. It is the greatest pan I have ever used, and I have recommended it to all my family and friends. It is not a scam. The only complaint I have is the cheap utensils they provided, they are not good for high heat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 23, 2016

      joe,

      You must be the chosen one, lucky you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful Pan!

    • Myrtle Point, Oregon,
    • Feb 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this pan very quickly through UPS. I was a little disappointed because it wasn't as big as it seemed on TV, but it is a lot better than the other "non-stick" pans we have purchased. It has a really slick coating on it and so far I haven't had to use oil if I don't want to and nothing has stuck to the surface. I deep fried some teriyaki chicken wings that usually make a very sticky, yucky residue on the pan and I have to soak it forever to get it off. However, on this pan, there was no sticking at all! Now I can make these wings anytime I want to. I also baked a whole chicken in the oven in this pan and it came out beautifully. I have no complaints whatsoever about this pan. It's a breeze to clean and very versatile. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 527

Write a Review for Copper Chef!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review