• 30 Customer Reviews
  • 67% Recommend This Product
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 66% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 13%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Instant Razor Burn

    • By Matt James,
    • Arizona,
    • Oct 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this razor in the mail yesterday and decided to try it out last night. After only three pulls across my face, I noticed immediate razor burn areas and my face felt like it had been sliced into tiny little wafers. I will be returning this horrible product for a refund and I suggest every man stay away from the Defender. It should be renamed "The Mauler". It is cheaply made and the blades are too thin (in depth) to cut actual facial hair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False pricing

    • By R C.,
    • Illinois,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    You cannot try it for $5.00. That is just for the handle. Try shaving without a razor. The cost for 4 razors and handle is $12.90. Their statement is fraudulent.

    "Defender's blades are set further apart, so your razor rinses clean and doesn't clog. It's one of our customers' favorite 'Why didn't anybody else think of that?' features. Try it for yourself for only $5 + free shipping."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Razor is no better than a dollar store

    • By Tony D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I would try after reading reviews. These are not high-end blades, I had to I had to grab my Sensor Power Razor, after a minute it would not cut my beard at all. Once I grabbed by Sensor, I could shave! These are a joke and falsely portrayed as good blades.

    Get a Sensor and then you will have a good blade.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy it

    • By Hugo Z.,
    • Florida,
    • May 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great marketing, nice design, ugly blades. The company should spend a few dollars on blades, everyone will be happy.

    First try, a lot of cuts, redness...And my skin is pretty normal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Maybe because I'm a woman...

    • By Brittany,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high hopes for this razor. I get razor burn often so the ads made me think this was the one for me. Maybe it's because I'm using it on my legs, bikini area and underarms instead of my head and face but I was not pleased. I still got razor burn but I didn't even feel like a got a "close shave," and the days between shaves are fewer. While using it, I almost can't feel the moisture strips. It feels like I'm just dragging hard plastic over my skin. I felt less irritation and a closer shave with my knock-off women's Venus. However, I will say the Defender Razor did pivot very nicely around my knees which my other razors don't do well. But for the overall experience, I'll be going back to my knock-offs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Mediocre blades

    • By Farhad S.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Next to disposable razors, this razor is pretty bad. The handle is thin and hard to control. The blades aren't as sharp as Gillette blades. The shaving is not as smooth as Gillette. Over all, it's not a good quality razor and not a bargain at all. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money.

    • By Joe P.,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this because the concept made sense. Unfortunately, the reality is that the blades are not up to par, the spacing makes them less effective than traditional twin blade razors and most annoyingly, the suction cup pops off my shower door every time I try to remove the razor...lol.

    The blades dulled very quickly although I only shave every other day. I'm on my third blade in a little under three months. I can't recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tough shave

    • By Brandon K.,
    • Bellmore, NY,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Defender is not smooth, tugs and burns. I used both regular and sensitive blades, just not comfortable, Harry's is still the best.

    I have to shave over spots to get an effective shave, I feel there is some defect in the make of the blades.

    I would not recommend the Defender. It is only good when the beard is light but still hurts.

    I do not have sensitive skin and never experienced the discomfort I have with the Defender.

    I don't understand some of the rave reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as good as expected

    • By Jonathas F.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    After seeing a very nice promo video and so many good reviews, I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, I have to say this razor is far from being a revolutionary blade. It is not even close to Gillette Proglide, it seems to be a regular blade you find any grocery store/pharmacy. Disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Decent Razor

    • By Nick,
    • Nov 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This blade did get the job done, but I had some thoughts:

    Pros

    • Blades are affordable, even without the membership
    • Blade is wider
    • It's a very comfortable shave, very little friction, love the independent suspension

    Cons

    • The depth is too shallow, so you really need to work to get a good shave
    • If you do work, to get depth, you WILL cut yourself
    • With mine, it did keep clogging up. Requires a bit of rinsing to get it ready to use again
    • Took a bit of experimenting to change blades out

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great razor

    • By Andy,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently have about 7 razors. From a straight edge to a 7 blade razor. I started shaving my head in the last year and have been looking for the best possible razor. I will say i love the Defender razor. At the base of my skull there is a dip. I'm pretty sure everyone has it but razors struggle to shave there which is a problem for me. I want my head to be perfectly smooth and it was taking me about a half hour or more to get my head as smooth as i want. First time trying the defender razor i was amazed. Every dip, every bump was shaved perfectly. I finished shaving my head in about 10 minutes with the Defender Razor. This is a great razor and not a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Definitely worth trying out

    • By Jason,
    • Chespeake, VA,
    • Sep 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Defender Razor popped up as an advertisement on my Facebook feed randomly one day. Instead of passing over it like I do with all the Dollar Shave Club ridiculousness. Their video was straightforward and the technology seemed worth trying. I'm Navy and absolutely despise shaving. No razor has ever given me a pain-free, knick-free shave but the Schick​ Hydro 5 has been my go to until now. After trying these for a week I've been able to go against the grain every day with only extremely minor irritation. I did notice more comfort with the sensitive blades vs the normal blades, I don't think it's a placebo. I think I'm sticking with these for a while, I just can't justify paying $18 dollars for 4 cartridges anymore and these give me a top notch shave.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Believe the ad

    • By Darryl,
    • Boca Raton, FL ,
    • Oct 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I watched the ad and it made complete sense. It's not often when the claim matches the experience, and I must say I am very excited about this product now. I spend a fortune on brand new blades, as I often do not use them twice. Whether it is because my wife shaves her legs with them before I use them again, or I just like the concept of a "brand new" blade. However, due to the ability to clean this blade so thoroughly, I can see myself using each cartridge several times.

    Happy Face.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great razor!

    • By Wayne,
    • Easton, MA,
    • Nov 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my new razor yesterday and used it right away.

    I must say my first impression was that it was kind of lightweight.

    I found that to be a total pleasure, and shaving with the Defender was very smooth and easy. The blades did not grab or pull, and it was very easy to clean. I highly recommend this razor above the five-bladed, much-advertised one that I had been using.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great shave

    I have been using a 5 blade razor that I have been fairly happy with. However, shaving my head with so many blades tends to give me razor burns if I shave too often. Defender razors have changed that with the unique design.

    I get a very close shave, no razor burns and no cuts at all. The blades do rinse out easily and seem to last a long time. I have been a member of Dollar Shave Club and Harry's. I definitely like Defender the best. BTY, I use the sensitive blade.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great shave

    • By Kevin,
    • Kansas,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very impressed and have purchased many as gifts. I started out using this for my face and was so impressed that I use it for my head as well. It's almost effortless to get a close shave. The quality of the handle and blades is impressive. It seems that they definitely did their homework. I've tried all the other mail order companies and won't go back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Defender Razor

    • By RJ,
    • Cheyenne, WY,
    • Mar 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my new Defender Razor last night. I was very excited to try it. I had not shaved my head since the day I ordered it. I got into the shower last night for a long daunting task of shaving off a week's worth of hair (normally it takes close to 45 minutes). I was in and out of the shower right at 25 minutes.

    This new razor just gave me the perfect smooth cut that I was hoping for. No burn, no clogging, and no special products needed. Just a smooth head was all that was left.

    I really enjoyed using this razor and can't wait to use it again. I would recommend this razor to anyone that likes a close head shave.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Solid razor

    Everyone's needs vary, so as they say in the shaving world, "YMMV" (your mileage may vary,) but the developers did quite a lot right in my opinion.

    1. The head flexes like a pivot head but with enough give to not force you to press too hard and cut yourself.
    2. The triple blade design is plenty; 4-6 blades is expensive overkill.
    3. The blades are spaced enough to prevent ingrown hairs. Essentially, you get a multiple pass shave (unlike a single blade, which requires re-lathering and is time-consuming) but in one sweep because the blades have space in between.
    4. The blades are plenty sharp and last a while. They also don't cost an arm and a leg.

    The result for me is an easier shave with a good result.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best I've tried!

    • By Jason,
    • Carmi, Illinois,
    • Mar 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had my DEFENDER single blade for a month or a little more and I really love these blades and handle. After not shaving 3-5 days, as usual, these things cut through the stubble like a hot knife through butter. No joke! It takes fewer strokes too, so that helps my face not get irritated. Also, you'll be done shaving a lot quicker.

    I honestly love these and will use these for as long as the company is in business! I am a genuine customer, and my review is no BS.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A welcome surprise for only $5

    I joined HighYa just so I could write a review about this amazing razor.

    So I got my Defender Razor in the mail today and figured I'd try it out right away since I really wanted to see how it worked. I really felt that a 3-blade razor for $5 was no way going to give me any sort of a good shave, but I lathered up to try it out. I can honestly say I'm extremely impressed! The razor shaved me very smoothly and I didn't have to keep going over the same spot over and over. I was done shaving in no time. It's like my shaving time was cut in half.

    Not one time did my razor clog up and it was super easy to clean. I'm definitely sold on this product. There is a couple of issues I wanted to point out though. The suction cup is kind of a bad idea for anyone that's had experience with suction cups before. They will eventually unhinged themselves and fall. The razor does feel pretty good in your hand, but it's kind of a mediocre quality. The razor cover is also kind of thin and weak.

    However the minuses do not outweigh the pluses with this razor. Excellent shave, doesn't clog up, and cuts your shaving time in half, plus the cost is very low. I'm sold on it. I will be ordering more blades here in the near future. Good job Defender! I will be throwing away my 5-blade and 6-blade razors away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best shave ever

    • By Neal Woods,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Defender Razor is one of the best. I've tried the Dollar Club, I've tried them all, and this razor really works because of the distance between the blades. To my surprise, with just running water the Defender rinsed out very cleanly without any problem. And closing the blade does exactly what it states is going to do and I'm thoroughly impressed, and I will continue to use them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I've been using my razor for almost a year and it's still awesome.

    • By Jeff R.,
    • Nevada,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My only regret is that this review doesn't allow me to post a picture so people can see how great this product actually works. I hear all of you and how some of you are satisfied and many of you aren't. Truth be told, I have used so many different products including the HeadBlade. Defender is by far the best product out there, and the only time I have cut myself is when I had little bumps on my head from sweating. I was so impressed with this razor that not only did I order the dual blade handle, but I ordered the standard handle as well, which my wife uses as well.

    My wife uses her razor daily and never cuts herself, I use my razor every two or three days and I never cut myself. We both get a smooth shave, The problem for most men is that there is a way to hold the razor when shaving your head so it gives you that smooth shave you want and a lot of men don't know that. And the fact that the blade is flexible, that makes it even easier to get the shave I want for my head. I used to use HeadBlade and switched to Defender, I would support this brand of razors even to the point where I promote them free of charge on my radio station. This razor could work wonders in hospitals. And again I am only sorry I cannot upload a picture of my head, it is guaranteed that you would change your opinion after seeing it. Defender, I support your product and thank you for making my shave so much easier and smoother.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Definitely the best

    • By Ermelo D.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve tried the Dollar Shave Club, tried Harry’s . They both have the same issues. Too many blades, which seems to be their selling point, but all it does is make it harder to clean the blades while shaving. You have to stop many times in the process just to clean your blades. With Defender blades, it is not an issue and the extra blades the others have on the back of the razor is not necessary because the blades on the Defender is close enough to the edge you can shave next to your nose. The moving Blades definitely cuts closer and gives me cleaner shaves in less time. Hands down the best. By the way, I use it to shave my head every three days. Blades last over a month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wow!

    • By Randy A.,
    • Walla Walla, WA,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an old retired cop and cynical as hell! I bought this razor expecting the usual sub-par performance. It is without a doubt the best razor I have ever used. And I have used them all! Always with the same complaint, the darn things clog up with debris. This one does not and it did a fantastic job in about half the time!

    Thank you, I will be a loyal customer from here on out. I shave my head, and it’s usually a struggle! No more! It literally slicked my head as smooth as a baby’s butt!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • This is not a scam!

    • By Kenny S.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an African American male with coarse hair, I would like to say the Defender Razor is not a scam. I have a tender head when it comes to shaving and I've tried everything known to men from. The Art of Shaving, Andis Trimmers, Wahls Finale, Andis ProFoi, Bevel, and of cause Gillette Razors that are so expensive. My hair is a challenge every time I have to shave. So, today I decided to try the Defender Razor and I am so like "WOW." Thank you for thinking outside the box. Please, watch the video. Because every word said in the video is so true. I shaved my head after two days off and my head did not hurt. It felt great to shave without the pain of shaving. I can't thank you enough. I am a customer for life.

    Sorry, I ripped up the receipt before I saw the comment "The Defender Razor is a Scam" and customers only giving it one star. That does not sit well with me. Let the TRUTH be TOLD. Time for a change and this is a great razor. Yes, it's LEGIT.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Defender Razor has my business

    • By Randal G.,
    • Georgia,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Harry’s customer for 2+ years. Good shave but hard to clean blades out. I’ve been using Defender for a month. I really like it. It glides on my face and head better than any razor I’ve ever used. I can put a little more pressure on the razor without nicks and/or razor burn. Shave is close. Blades clean easily and it lasts me about 2 weeks...same as Harry’s blades. I use Cremo Shave Cream...best around for the money. I like the company culture and customer service is very responsive and helpful. They also support our military men and women.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good razor

    • By Nat P.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For years I used a Bic disposable for sensitive skin. I decided to give Defender a try and lo and behold, I switched. It gives a closer shave than the Bic and it doesn't irritate my skin. It's more expensive than a Bic but I think it's worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 30

Write a Review for Defender Razor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Defender Razor