About Freedom Debt Relief

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Apr 23, 2018

Founded in 2002 by Stanford Business School graduates Andrew Housser and Bradford Stroh, Freedom Debt Relief helps clients settle and resolve their unsecured debts in as little as 24-48 months, instead of declaring bankruptcy. Cumulatively, they’ve helped resolve more than $8 billion in debt for more than 500,000 clients since opening their doors, which is more than any other company in the nation.

The process is straightforward: Talk to a Certified Debt Consultant to make sure Freedom Debt Relief is the right debt solution for you, see what you could save by partnering with them, and then enroll in their program if you choose.

We all want to be debt-free faster. But is Freedom Debt Relief necessarily your best option? Let’s start by taking a look at how their program works.

How Does Freedom Debt Relief Work?

To qualify for Freedom Debt Relief’s program, you’ll need to owe at least $7,500 in unsecured debt (e.g., credit cards, medical bills, etc.) and be struggling to make your minimum monthly payments due to a financial hardship, whether caused by the loss of a job, divorce, medical bills, or the passing of a loved one.

Credit score isn’t an eligibility factor, although the company currently only offers their services to residents of the following 34 states and territories: AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, DE, FL, ID, IN, IA, KY, LA, MD, MA, MI, MN, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, NY, NC, OK, PA, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, DC, WI, Guam, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa.

If you meet these core criteria, the company’s debt relief program works over five steps:

  1. A Certified Debt Consultant—each of whom is required to undergo training and meet strict qualifications established by the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators (IAPDA)—will evaluate your debt and advise which options are available. In these instances, the company will be upfront about whether or not their program is the right solution, and if not, refer you to other companies who might be a better fit.
  2. Then, the company will customize your program and give you all the available information about your options, based on your needs. Depending on how much you can afford to pay each month, you’ll be informed of your potential savings and overall program length.
  3. Once your program is in place, you’ll begin putting funds each month into an FDIC insured account, which will be used to repay your debts. You’ll maintain control of the account at all times. In the meantime, you’ll be asked to quit using your credit cards, which will boost FDR’s ability to resolve your debts.
  4. After money accumulates in your account, Freedom will contact your creditors and negotiate settlements for you. According to the company’s website, they’ve been negotiating with creditors for over a decade and resolve an average of 43,891 accounts each month, thereby giving you more leverage.
  5. Finally, after all your debts have been resolved, your program will be complete.

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief’s Program Cost?

Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t assess their clients any upfront fees until after a debt has been resolved, and there are no monthly fees involved.

However, the company emphasizes that the special purpose bank account they set up for clients can charge a small monthly fee, like most other financial accounts. If this is the case, it will be included in the client’s monthly program deposit amount, which—again—is something they maintain control over at all times.

The length of Freedom’s program varies between clients. Once a settlement is negotiated, though, the final fee can range anywhere between 18 and 25 percent, depending on the client’s state of residence and the debt amount.

For example, if you owe $10,000 on one of your accounts and Freedom Debt Relief negotiates a settlement for $6,000, you could pay between $1,800 and $2,500 in fees, for a total of $7,800-$8,500. In this example, your overall savings could be between $1,500 and $2,300 off your original debt.

For additional details or to undergo a consultation, you can reach a Certified Debt Consultant at 800-230-1553.

What Can We Learn From Freedom Debt Relief Online Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, nearly 90 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experience with Freedom Debt Relief, giving the company an average rating of 3.7 stars.

Common compliments related to effective debt reduction/settlements and helpful Consultants, while complaints frequently revolved around settlements that didn’t meet expectations, as well as steep fees.

We also encountered more than 12,000 customer reviews on Consumer Affairs, where the company had a slightly higher average rating of 4.6 stars. Most of the compliments and complaints mirrored those found here on HighYa.

San Mateo, CA-based Freedom Debt Relief is accredited with the Better Business Bureau and has more than 1,300 customer reviews (89 percent of which were positive) and 320+ closed complaints, as of 4/17/18. Details were available for very few complaints, although a company representative responded in each instance with a resolution.

Debt Relief vs. Credit Counseling: How Can You Choose the Right Solution?

According to the Federal Trade Commission, reputable credit counseling organizations—and their certified counselors—can “advise you on managing your money and debts, help you develop a budget, and offer free educational materials and workshops.”

In other words, while they often don’t always offer settlement services with creditors, they can help you develop a financial plan that helps you pay them off in a timely manner and get back on track. They’re typically non-profit organizations as well, so their assistance might cost you little-to-no money.

On the other hand, if you’re looking to gain access to many of these same services and potentially reduce the amount you owe to creditors, a for-profit debt relief company like Freedom Debt Relief might fit the bill. Obviously, the downside is that you’ll pay a not-insubstantial fee for their services.

Before signing up for one, though, the FTC recommends:

  • Making sure that you can afford to regularly deposit money into the savings account. After all, if there’s no money available, the company can’t bargain with creditors on your behalf.
  • Keeping in mind that not all accounts are settled. You could end up owing just as much as you do currently, although this could certainly help you save on interest and late payments.
  • Remembering that if you decide to stop making payments on your debt, this could negatively impact your credit score.

Another important consideration is that you’re allowed to contact your creditors directly and negotiate settlements on your debt, which obviously won’t cost you anything other than time. Granted, you won’t have the leveraging power of a company like Freedom (regardless of whether or not you have a savings account in place), but it’s certainly something to keep in mind, depending on your circumstances.

Let’s go ahead and bring everything together so you can make a decision about Freedom Debt Relief.

Our Final Thoughts About Freedom Debt Relief

The bottom line is that if you meet their qualification criteria and have carefully considered the potential pros and cons of using a for-profit company discussed above, Freedom Debt Relief has been in business for more than 15 years and comes with an overwhelmingly positive online customer reputation.

As such, this could be a good indication of what you might experience after becoming a client. And if not, you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by reaching out to a Certified Debt Consultant and seeing whether or not they’re a good fit for you.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

328 Consumer Reviews for Freedom Debt Relief

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 245 4 star: 35 3 star: 15 2 star: 6 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 328
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Reliable

    Freedom Debt Relief is an excellent company that's reliable. I'm not having to worry about my creditors not being paid.

    They are a friendly and trustworthy company. At a rating from one to ten, I would give them a ten.

    So far my experience with this company has been pretty good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      We are very happy to hear you are happy with your experience and look forward to assisting you with any questions, comments or concerns you may have.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Happy to be debt free

    • Warminster, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a call one night and was so pleased with the information I received that I signed up. I have been a member since February and have increased my monthly payment to see results happening. Everyone I speak to is courteous and helpful. Thank you Freedom Debt Relief.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      We appreciate the feedback and look forward to resolving the remainder of your debt. Please feel free to contact us at 800-655-6303 if you have any questions, comments and concerns and we would be happy to assist.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    You guys are great

    First I want to give a big thank you for not only getting me out of debt but also for coming to my aid in a serious crisis. I was totally amazed at the real care about my crisis. And you guys where there to offer nothing but help, you listened to my story and cared. And then gave aid. What other company does that? That makes you TOPS in my book. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 8, 2016

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you for the positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service and our commitment to assisting getting our clients get out of debt as soon as possible. Please feel free to contact us 800-655-6303 if you ever have any questions comments or concerns.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome

    It was the best decision I could have made. They are good at what they do. They are a legitimate company. Not once did I feel talked down to or treated badly.

    Thank you

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2016

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you so much for the amazing review. We strive to be the best and attempt to do our best and assuring our clients are satisfied with the program. Please feel free to contact us at 800-655-630 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions, comments or concerns and we would be happy to assist.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very good

    • Peekskill, New York,
    • Dec 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been with Freedom Debt Relief about 8 months already and they are what they said they are. I'm almost paying off one of my bills already. I will recommend Freedom Debt Relief to anyone who is trying to get out of debt and learn how to save at the same time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2016

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you for your outstanding review! We prioritize world class customer service along with educating all clients so that we are able to ensure that we assist you in getting debt free and staying debt free! Please feel free to contact us at 800-655-630 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions, comments or concerns and we would be happy to assist.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freedom Debt Relief

    Calling Freedom Debit Relief was the best decision I have made. Every person I talked to was beyond kind and understood my situation.

    I signed up with them in August and by October all threatening phone calls stopped. By November, they already had two of my accounts in negotiations, and one was paid off in December. My credit score is on the rise!

    The website is very easy to understand, and they show you your progress. There is an option to pay extra to get your debt paid off quicker with no penalties.

    Amazing company, with amazing people that truly care.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Thank you for your phenomenal review! We strive to provide all of our clients with the best experience possible and it is great to hear this is reflected in your time with our company so far!

      Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Stress reduction though Freedom Debt Relief

    • Papillion, NE,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have any of you looked at ways of reducing your debt?

    My name is Michael Boyd. I am a married with three children, one of which has a muscle disease. I had $60,000 plus in unsecured debt. Like you, I was very skeptical and scared on who to choose to help me or what to do. Having a lot of debt is stressful to your mental well-being and your marriage. I had to choose between whether to file bankruptcy or choose a debt negotiation company. I bet you are getting several loan consolidation offers in the mail, only to be turned down later.

    Well, if you choose bankruptcy, it will appear on your credit record for several years. You will have possibly the embarrassment of it posted in your local paper as a public record. You will need to find a lawyer and have to spend money and pay her or him possibly thousands of dollars.

    I chose an excellent debt negotiation company called Freedom Debt Relief. The company has lawyers to represent you in the case of a lawsuit that rarely happens anyway. The more likely case is they also represent you when creditors are unwilling to cooperate with you. Like bankruptcy, your credit rating will go down, though your debt will be paid in a few years versus a lifetime of just making minimum payments if you choose to do nothing. Your credit will repair itself. You have to make some sacrifices for financial well-being. Your main goal is not to use credit cards anymore, right?

    Freedom Debt Relief has already negotiated with several creditors and reduced over 50 percent of what I owed originally. They are quick to respond. They are quick to answer.

    They will negotiate a payment plan that suits your income and needs. The payments are much lower than what you were making with minimum payments to your credit card companies.

    Most of all, they are quick to work for YOU and negotiate your debt

    My main contact is Chris Keyes that works with Freedom Financial Debt Relief program.

    Do it now. Call Chris Keyes. Tell him his client Michael Boyd referred you.

    Chris Keyes | Director of Underwriting | GreenLink Financial |

    16808 Armstrong Ave. Suite 220 | Irvine, California 92606 |

    Office (949) 396-0911 | Fax (888) 850-7447 |

    Keyes@greenlinkfunding.com | www.greenlinkfunding.com |

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Mr. Boyd,

      Thank you for your phenomenal review of Freedom Debt Relief! We are ecstatic to know that your experience has exceeded your expectations and we look forward to assisting you through graduation of your debt relief program! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    • Feb 21, 2017

      Bonnie Cheak

      I'm wondering why the person you reference shows up as an employee with GreenLink Financial. I just signed up with Freedom Debt Relief, but I am very concerned that this is just another scam like Boulder Legal Group. I'm working with someone who seems like he is legitimately telling the truth, but then I read some terrible reviews above.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful company

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are a wonderful company, and they really help in getting your debt paid off. If you are having problems, they will really help you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Tilden,

      Thank you for the great review you have provided! We are very pleased to be able to assist you in becoming debt free and reaching your goals of financial freedom! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    • Feb 17, 2017

      Nicole DeGrate

      I called this company on February 17, 2017. A few things stood out to me after reading the fine print on their website. First of all, I did not like the fact that they wanted to pull someone's credit report. However, the representative told me it was necessary to know whom you owed what, and for how much. Okay, fair enough.

      Second, the fine print said, "we don't assume your debts, make monthly payments to creditors..." So I asked the representative what does the company do then? She would not tell me. Instead, she wanted to collect information for a "free obligation consultation." One thing I know that nothing is ever "free," except salvation, so that had red flags going up.

      Next, why do I need to give them my personal information for a consultation, just for them to tell me what the company does? Furthermore, it was written in fine print that signing on with Freedom Debt Relief would negatively impact your credit. That's a no-no. I mean, who wants that? A person is supposed to be getting help with their debts to be in good standing with their credit, not the reverse.

      Not to mention, that they kept talking about their "fees." Something just did not sit right with me, so I checked for reviews for this company, and judging by the reviews on here, my gut was right.

      Therefore, from all the information I gathered, Federal Debt Relief is an expensive way for anyone trying to save up, and acquire their money to pay off their debts. If that is indeed what it is, then I can do that by myself. I do not need a third party to do it.

      So to Freedom Debt Relief program, I want to say a "big fat no thank you."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely satisfied client

    Freedom Debt Relief has been wonderful in every way.

    When I first called they explained the process to me, and it has worked exactly as they said from day one. They are in the process of resolving my debt as promised. I did exactly as they suggested and sent notice to all the creditors and I have not had a single phone call from any of the creditors.

    Freedom Debt Relief took the STRESS out of getting my debts resolved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Kerby,

      Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to hear we are not only relieving your debt but also your stress! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com should you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Would do it again!

    • Minnesota,
    • Feb 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would do it again in a "New York minute!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Dear Ms. Lemke,

      Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased to know the program has proven to be successful for you. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Progress

    Progress is in motion, and I feel good about Freedom Debt working with me to get me back on track.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2017

      Customer Support, Customer Support

      Hello Ms. Simpson,

      Thank you for your positive review! We look forward to your continued success with Freedom Debt Relief! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or support@freedomdebtrelief.com with any questions or comments regarding your account.

      Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 328

Write a Review for Freedom Debt Relief!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review