About HD Free TV Antenna

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Nov 3, 2015

How would you like to save hundreds on your cable subscription?

HD Free TV Antenna can help by giving you access to broadcast TV, without worrying about contracts, fees, or price hikes. All you have to do is:

  1. Attach HD Free TV Antenna to any window, wall, door, or flat surface. The thin, low profile design makes it easy to conceal.
  2. Plug the antenna into your TV’s AUX/IN.
  3. Scan for channels and enjoy.

Once you’re up and running, HD Free TV Antenna will send an uncompressed, full 1080 picture to your television, which will allow you to watch sports, movies, races, news, and more. And because the HD Free TV Antenna is so easy to install, you can use the same one at the home or office—even on a boat!

On top of this, HD Free TV Antenna will pull signals in from all directions, giving you the ability to watch TV in any room of the house, without extra cable boxes and wires.

If you’re thinking about going cable-free, the thought of saving hundreds (or thousands) of dollars can seem tempting. But before deciding that HD Free TV Antenna is your best choice, let’s cover all the basics you’ll need to know.

First, let’s discuss exactly what you can expect out of HD Free TV Antenna.

What Kind of Content Can You Watch with HD Free TV Antenna?

HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer would like you to believe their product can help you “eliminate your cable bill without losing your favorite channels.” Is this really the case though?

First, a little back story:

Because of the Digital Transition and Public Safety Act of 2005, all broadcast TV stations were required to begin transmitting digital (versus the old analog) signals as of February 17, 2009. In other words, if you watched TV using an old antenna (such as rabbit ears), you would have been required to purchase a new antenna that could pick up these new digital signals.

What’s all of this mean for you? The signals you pick up with your digital antenna are broadcasted for free from major networks (such as NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX, PBS, etc.), but you won’t be able to watch shows from “premium” cable channels such as HBO, TNT, Lifetime, Nickelodeon, and others. These always require a cable subscription.

So yes, if your favorite shows are on major networks, then HD Free TV Antenna can help you watch them. On the other hand, if your favorite shows are only found with a cable subscription, HD Free TV Antenna will not help you watch them once you’ve canceled your cable subscription.

Now that you understand which kinds of content you’ll get with HD Free TV Antenna, let’s talk about the quality.

What Kind of Picture Quality Will HD Free TV Antenna Provide?

When you watch shows with cable, the image you see on your TV first travels through the cable in your wall, and then into your cable box, after which it’s sent to your TV. This signal is compressed, which just means that its size is decreased, making it easier to transmit (i.e. it takes up less space).

However, although compressed signals are easier to transmit, they also lose a fair amount of quality by the time they reach you.

On the flip side, digital over-the-air signals remain uncompressed, which means that you can potentially receive a better picture than with cable using products like HD Free TV Antenna.

Pro tip: HD Free TV Antenna connects to your TV through the AUX/IN (the same place many cable boxed connect). In order to receive “true” HD quality images though, it would need to connect using an HDMI cable. So, in a very real way, HD Free TV Antenna will not provide true HD picture quality.

Regardless of the cables you use though, there are two primary factors that really define picture quality with products like HD Free TV Antenna:

  1. Your distance to the nearest broadcast tower, and
  2. If there are any obstacles between you and the tower, such as hills or mountains, trees, other buildings, and more.

To address this, HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer links to AntennaWeb.org and DTV.gov, where you’ll be able to check your distances and better gauge what kind of reception you can expect.

In many instances, customers for similar digital antennas have complained that they still didn’t get many (or any) channels, even though they were well within range of a tower.

Let’s talk more about these other options.

What Does HD Free TV Antenna’s Competition Look Like?

Perhaps the most popular “As Seen on TV” digital antenna currently on the market is Clear TV, although the company also offers other models like Clear TV Black Box and Free TV Key by Clear TV.

But it doesn’t stop there. Try typing “digital antenna” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll find dozens more essentially identical options to HD Free TV Antenna, many of which are priced about the same (more about this next).

Overall, Clear TV’s products had an average rating of 1.9 stars here on HighYa, based on nearly 600 reader reviews (as of 11/3/15). While many customers felt “scammed” because these antennas didn’t provide access to cable content (as we discussed above), many more complained of:

  • Failure to work (primarily, that they were unable to get more than a couple channels, and even those they could get were poor quality), and
  • Difficult customer service experiences (problems processing returns, unhelpful personnel, etc.).

Will you experience the same with HD Free TV Antenna? Since they’re made by different companies, there’s no way to know. But we’d certainly recommend keeping it in mind.

Speaking of which, let’s talk more about HD Free TV Antenna’s manufacturer, as well as the price.

HD Free TV Antenna’s Pricing & Manufacturer

One HD Free TV Antenna will cost you $10 plus $5.99 S&H, and you can purchase a second at checkout for an additional $5.99 S&H.

All HD Free TV Antennas come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H.

Did you purchase the BOGO offer? This means you might lose twice as much in S&H by the time you ship your antennas back to the manufacturer!

Nonetheless, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Inventel is an up-and-coming ASOTV manufacturer who makes many other popular products, including DashCam Pro, Gripeez, Liberty Lantern, and more.

These products had an average rating of 2 stars here on HighYa at the time of our research, and complaints closely mirrored those found with other ASOTV products: failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and less-than-stellar customer service.

Again, we’re not saying this is what you’ll experience with HD Free TV Antenna, but it’s definitely worth noting.

Now, let’s bring it home, shall we?

Should You Buy HD Free TV Antenna?

As we detailed in our Updated Guide To Cutting the Cord, there are three primary parts you’ll need to free yourself from expensive cable, while still retaining access to many of your favorite programs:

  1. An internet connection,
  2. Hardware (including digital antennas), and
  3. Software (such as apps or online subscriptions).

Now, if you want to take a “bare bones” approach and save as much money as possible (e.g. not paying for a faster internet connection or purchasing other types of hardware), a digital antenna like HD Free TV Antenna might be a good choice. Just keep in mind that you may only get access to a handful of broadcast channels, and your picture quality might not be fantastic.

Regardless of the number of channels you get though, HD Free TV Antenna will not give you access to your favorite cable-only shows.

So, if you’re expecting HD Free TV Antenna to magically give you access to all your favorite cable content, but without paying an expensive monthly bill, you’re bound to be disappointed.

But if you understand that you might have to make some sacrifices in the content you receive (and/or are willing to round out your digital antenna with other hardware and software options), you might be pleased with HD Free TV Antenna.

Before you go: Be sure to tell us about your HD Free TV Antenna experience by writing a review below!


Read 65 HD Free TV Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 24 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    HD Free TV

    I can't get a hold of the customer service. I can't seem to track my order. It's a lousy way to sell any online product. If you find a way to get your money back from them, please post it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • New York,
    • Dec 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this November 4 and have yet to receive it. I cannot talk to a live representative. How can I get my money back? I am so upset.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    No one answers the phone

    • Portland OR,
    • Dec 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried numerous times to get hold of the customer service, however, after a five minute wait the system says to leave a message. I did. No one has returned my calls. I think I made a mistake. Fortunately, it wasn't a lot of money, but shame on you anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 34 people found this review helpful

    No HD TV

    • Ellenton, FL,
    • Dec 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered this HD Free TV twice and I haven't received it yet. What is going on? I can't reach anybody to find my status. This is not good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    No one answers the phones

    • Rogersville, TN,
    • Jan 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this back in October and haven't received it yet. They won't return my call. I'm tired of talking to a voice mail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 50 out 52 people found this review helpful

    HD free TV bait and switch scam

    So I order HD free TV 2 months ago and I hear nothing. Then I get a phone call saying it will be shipped (never came) and I'm transferred to this fast talking guy who repeatedly asks to "confirm" my credit card number

    . Somehow this turns into an order for "wrinkle cream" which I don't want, and my credit card is billed.

    I'm reporting this bait and switch scam to the FBI, FCC, etc..

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Overcharges

    The website does not give you a total until after you're charged. I think that's illegal. The charges are double than what I had thought after the shipping costs. I called and got an answer after 10 minutes and 4 tries. I was promised a refund of the overage within five days. It's been two weeks and still nothing. Contacted state Atty General in Cali and Jersey about them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 58 out 59 people found this review helpful

    What the heck!

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Feb 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    With all the other junk going on in the world, you'd think you could save a few bucks on your cable bill. The claim is just that, and similar to several reviewers, I ordered the HD Free TV Antenna two and a half weeks ago and have received nothing. Also, my credit card has been charged twice. Luckily, my banking app is extremely easy to navigate and I noticed the duplicate charges. Immediately after, I called and stopped payment on it, and put it into dispute.

    With the other reviews being so poor by the few people that actually received the product, I'm glad to have caught it and canceled the order before I actually received it and found out it was bunk. They sell an R.C.A brand HD antenna with rabbit ears at several big box stores that my neighbor owns. He gets 60+ channels and his cost was in the neighborhood of $60-$80. So, there you go, my fellow deal chasers. Loosen up the wallet or purse strings, and follow the advice of the reviews. Do not waste your money on this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 49 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Junk, and falsely advertised

    • Phillipsburg, Ohio,
    • Feb 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    These things are junk, and it is falsely advertised. I got three extra channels from it, and all of them were church channels. What a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    it does not work

    • Wilmington, NC,
    • Feb 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've bought two of these, but I can barely pick up even the local channels, even though there is a local channel less than five blocks away, and I'm within the city limits. So how can I pick up any extra channels, if I can barely get the local ones?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 67 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Scam, haven't received.

    • Appleton, WI,
    • Feb 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered these on October 9, 2015, and I still haven't received them. I spoke to someone online about it in late December, and they gave me a tracking number for it. When I used the tracking number, it said that it was still in New Jersey. I told them this, and they said they would take care of it, and it would be here within 48 hours. I still haven't gotten anything. I just went on their website and put in my info for them to tell me where it is (you can either put in your phone number, order number or tracking number, and I did all three), and it said that the numbers were non-existent. The number doesn't work on the tracking website anymore either. I called their Customer Service number and all it did was ring, and after 10 minutes I just hung up. It's a scam, DO NOT waste your money like I did, it was only $21.98, but that's money I could've used for something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 65

Write a Review for HD Free TV Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review