About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

By Derek Lakin
Updated on: May 10, 2018

After attaching to any garden hose and setting the dial, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn’s eco-friendly Spray n' Stay hydroseeding technology ensures its seeds attach firmly to the soil, while also reducing the surface tension and increasing its water absorption ability.

Each container covers up to 100 square feet with a "high-quality seed mixture" that "blends perfectly with your existing lawn,” making it ideal for many different applications, including dry spots, dog spots, and high traffic and shaded areas. It even grows in hot or cold weather.

Together, the website advertises this green mousse formula eliminates guesswork by showing where you’re planting, makes reseeding as easy as watering your lawn, and reduces the likelihood of losing seeds to birds or weathers. Is this what you can realistically expect?

We’ve learned a lot from the 280+ HighYa readers who have provided feedback about their experiences with Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn, as well as from our in-depth research into the manufacturer’s core claims.

In this article, we’ll walk you through each of the product’s important details. In the end, you’ll have a better idea of which step you should take next. Let’s start with the price.

How Much Does Hydro Mousse Cost and Where Can You Buy?

Hydro Mousse is available in two different kits:

  • Standard Kit – Includes one sprayer with attached seed container. Enough for 200 spots or 100 square feet: $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90 (or, about $0.28 per square foot)

  • Best Value Kit – Includes everything in the Standard Kit, in addition to five seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $109.75 (or, about $0.18 per square foot)

The manufacturer also offered the Standard Kit on Amazon for $24.99, with free shipping available for Prime members.

Regardless of which direct option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Kit and request a refund, you’ll have to send six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

To request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Now, let’s dive into perhaps the three important aspects of Hydro Mousse’s functionality.

How Does Hydro Mousse’s Spray n’ Stay Hydroseeding Technology Work?

DoItYourself.com explains that hydroseeding (also frequently referred to as hydraulic mulch seeding, hydroseeding, and hydro mulching) involves using a hose to spray a special mixture of “water, seeds, fertilizer, cellulose fiber or wood mulch, and soil treatment agents” onto the ground.

Not only does this mixture help “shelter your seeds from sunlight, wind, and soil erosion,” they explain that it also “helps create a bond with the soil” and “releases a wide range of nutrients that help your seeds thrive” during its natural decomposition process.

Furthermore, this mixture is typically dyed green to a) make it easier to apply and b) help make it less of eyesore immediately after application, until the seed has had time to germinate and grow.

Hydroseeding was initially used for large agricultural purposes, such as restoring burned areas and controlling erosion, so it required application by trained professionals. Recently, however, products like Hydro Mousse have entered the marketplace, promising to provide many of hydroseeding’s same benefits, but at a scaled-down size useful for residential applications.

What Ingredients and Seed Types Does Hydro Mousse Contain?

Other than telling us Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to extreme heat and cold and will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, the manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains, nor the specific ingredients found in their eco-friendly slurry.

We reached out to several support representatives during our research, none of which were able to provide additional insight.

However, according to the EpicReviewGuys YouTube channel, the only active ingredient in Liquid Lawn’s green foaming agent is alpha-olefin sulfonate (15%), with 85% ‘other ingredients.’ The seed mix includes:

  • Xtreme Green Tall Fescue 39.94%
  • Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass 19.82%
  • Radar Chewings Fescue 19.77%
  • Academy III Perennial Ryegrass 19.55%

Are these ideal? According to Lowe’s, the ‘best’ seed type for your particular application will depend on a wide variety of environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations like sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

With this said, fescue grass is adaptable to a wide range of climates and soil conditions (even in drought areas), although it typically thrives in moist environments in transition zone states like AR, GA, KY, OK, MO, NC, TN, TX, and VA.

Kentucky Bluegrass has a shallower root system than fescue and typically requires a greater amount of water during the summer, although it goes dormant during the winter and requires no watering at all.

Finally, Perennial Ryegrass boasts high traffic tolerance and naturally prevents the growth of weeds, but doesn’t withstand cold temperatures well, requires a great deal of maintenance, and can crowd out other beneficial grasses and plants.

USDA Hardiness Zones Map In this hardiness zones maps from the USDA, we can see that the type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate. Credit: SeedLand.com

Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really as Easy as Watering Your Lawn?

If you fast-forward to the 1:20 mark in this instructional video posted by Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer, you’ll see that even if you only cover dog spots or fill in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped. This involves removing all dead vegetation (including your existing grass), loosening the topsoil, and watering your lawn three times daily after application.

Depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this prep work requirement could translate into a meaningfully more labor-intensive endeavor than the commercial might make it seem.

A Look at Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Reviews and Complaints

Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 280 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 5/8/18), giving it an average rating of 1.4 stars. While a handful of customers reported good results, in general, most complaints appeared to revolve around:

  • Difficult application – Many customers indicated the container doesn’t eject its contents properly, resulting in most of the seeds remaining in the bottom after all of the green mousse had sprayed out. In fact, more than one customer stated that it worked better by simply by unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand.

  • Spot treatment functionality – Multiple customers reported that the bottle trigger shown in the commercial isn’t functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, they indicated everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which meant there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

  • Much less coverage than advertised – Many customers claimed there was only enough mousse in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.

Note: The instructional video linked to earlier covers everything from unpacking the system and choosing an application area, to how to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

Additional common complaints included:

  • Inferior seed varieties – Many reviewers claimed that you could purchase similar seed mixes from local hardware stores for much less (we’ll discuss this important aspect again, soon).

  • Staining & potential toxicity – Several customers stated that Liquid Lawn stains, so be sure to wear gloves and old clothes when applying, while also taking care around driveways, sidewalks, and other concrete areas. Also, some claimed the mousse made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

Hands-On Reviews

A Canadian network news team conducted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014 and found that the treated area grew only in patches. However, they pointed out that an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property filled in much better.

FeXNet Review also found that after two weeks, Liquid Lawn had only grown in patches in a small area, which was prepped according to the manufacturer’s recommendations (tilling topsoil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds). In fact, they reported standard grass seeds planted alongside performed better than Hydro Mousse.

On the other hand, YouTuber Steve Johnson created a short four-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to nine days after application, and seemed to experience better results. He even posted a follow-up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days.

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn vs. Grass Shot

The only other at-home hydroseeding product currently competing for the same customers as Liquid Lawn is Grass Shot, which also attaches to a garden hose, ejects a green foam that promises to hydrate and nourish the soil and features replacement kits for refilling.

Although they were found in different percentages, both of these formulas also contained two types of Fescue, one type of Kentucky Bluegrass, and one type of Perennial Ryegrass:

Price / Quantity Seed Mix
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn $19.95 + $7.95 S&H / 100 square feet Xtreme Green Tall Fescue (39.94%), Corsair Kentucky Bluegrass (19.82%), Radar Chewings Fescue (19.77%), Academy III Perennial Ryegrass (19.55%)
Grass Shot $27.90 + $9.35 S&H / 700 square feet Rhizing Star Tall Fescue (24.94%) All Star 2 Perennial Ryegrass (20.64%), Boreal Creeping Red Fescue (14.80%), Harmonie Kentucky Bluegrass (9.98%)

Comparing these two side-by-side, we can see that Hydro Mousse comes with a lower price, but it also covers a meaningfully smaller area than what’s advertised by Grass Shot’s manufacturer.

Grass Shot also came with very similar Amazon customer reviews and an overall average rating of 1.9 stars at the time of our research. As with Liquid Lawn, common complaints referenced difficult application, no grass growth, and high price.

Given their similar seed mixes, claims, price points, and average customer ratings, how can you choose which of these options—if any—is the right one for you?

The Bottom Line

Here at HighYa, our goal is to present you with the facts, let them speak for themselves, and leave the final decision up to you.

Based on what we learned during our research, it seems most online customers who left reviews about their experiences were disappointed with Hydro Mousse’s performance, whether during the application, weeks later, or both.

Many who used it to spot treat seemed to report better results than those who applied the formula to larger areas.

Even if Hydro Mousse were reported by customers to work exactly as advertised, though, as consumers ourselves, we’d question its overall value. For example, let’s run some quick numbers based on reseeding an entire lawn:

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).

  • With 100 feet of coverage at the cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you'd likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.

  • However, we learned earlier that customers commonly complained that Hydro Mousse only covered about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” often seemed to come out all at once. In this scenario, you’d spend more than $8,700 to apply Liquid Lawn to your whole lawn.

  • On the other hand, professional hydroseeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, resulting in a cost of $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

Together, the manufacturer’s claim that Hydro Mousse will provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” doesn’t seem to add up.

Furthermore, based on what we learned from customer reviews, Liquid Lawn might not deliver meaningfully better results than standard bluegrass, fescue, and ryegrass seed blends, which can often be purchased locally for less than $15 and cover a minimum of 750 square feet (or, about $0.02 per square foot). Which works out to much less money than at-home hydroseeding products like Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn and competitors.

» Read Next: 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn:
  • 318 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Crappy product

    • By Paul,
    • Philadelphia,
    • Jun 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Tried this product. Don't bother buying it. Doesn't do what it claims. Tele marketers keep calling to sell you a another product.

    Not even worth the one star. Do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A joke a fake product

    • By Eddie granger,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    First off, I never buy anything from TV. This is the first and last. as I was desperate and lazy, I purchased the product and waited. it is one bottle and sprays about 75 square feet. I sprayed it on an area with no grass, and weeds came up and some sort of weird mixture of grasses.

    Three weeks later, and half of the grass is dead or dying. no idea why! this product does not work as advertised, especially when anyone can make any claim on TV and not be liable. it smells funky also and attracts flies. do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The only green you will see is the color of the money you wasted on this product.

    • By Steve,
    • Utah,
    • May 5, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    The first clue is in the name. Hydro mousse, who names grass after a desert. Did not cover as stated on bottle or on infomercial. Did get a few small patches of some kind of grass but it was short lived. Waste of money, do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad product, stay away

    • By Bo Allen,
    • Missouri,
    • May 5, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Talk about getting ripped off, If its to good to be true, it usually is. Should have known better than to buy something off the television. Don't waste your money or time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Another scam product

    • By Vicky Tatnall,
    • Orange, California,
    • May 6, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    This product was not as described on the commercial. I followed the directions and it was not even close to what you see on the commercial. I have watered as directed on the packaging and it's has been over a month and still no grass. This was a total waste of money. Unfortunately another SCAM product cheap enough to try, but too cheap to try to get your money back fighting through all the legal crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • it's a scam

    • By william,
    • new jersey,
    • May 10, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    please do not waste your money on this mess, because that what it is, a real mess, i wish i could get my money back. a total rip off. it's a shame

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor decision

    • By Doesnt matter my name,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Worst $20 I spent in years. So sad this product did not work. Scam.


  • Waste of time and money

    • By Linn Lockwood,
    • Edison, NJ,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    First thing, you get is a call from them trying to sell you something totally unrelated and they don't like no for the answer. I will say it arrived fast enough minus the extra seed [promised in the add. Put it on today a total mess foamed badly nothing like shown on TV the only thing green I am going to see is the green on my hands from this crap. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off, does not work

    • By Laura,
    • Westland, MI,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    What a rip off. Product claims to have foam come out of it so grass seed will stick. It did not. Grass not growing. I called customer service and asked for my money back as they (guaranteed) and I have to pay to send the empty plastic dispenser back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor product in every aspect

    • By Hector Simosa,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted to try the idea of repairing spots with hydro seeding, which usually is only used for new lawn applications. This product is nothing like it is advertised. I'll enumerate the issues:

    1. Company clearly states that they will send double the seed with the purchase, which is not true. they only send about 1/2 lb of seed in one bag. They further try to tell you that you are receiving one bag only with the double of seed when the small bag they make is the 1/2 lb bag.

    2. They make it very difficult to find their contact number since they obviously do not want to be bothered with complaints.

    3. The hose sprayer attachment does not work well, and does not seem to mix the seed well either.

    4. Close attention was paid to their instructions, and at the end the applied grass looks no different that grabbing the seed and mixing it with water.

    5. For all of the above, and for the same, you could get a 7 pound bag of premium grass seed mix which will guarantee better results.

    6. Do not waste your time or money on this product.


  • Not worth the money

    • By Dan Steffe,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We ordered this product because I have a bad back and would otherwise not be able to bend down and thought this product would be an easy remedy to get trouble spot in our lawn to grow grass fast and easy. The product claims to double the order however I received 1/2 lb of seed if that and one little bottle of liquid that claimed to be the mousse.

    I read the instructions and the solution came out to be a liquidly and not mousse at all, not to mention it does not cover that much area. It was not worth the money and all the hype that the little video claimed it would be.


Showing 1-11 of 318

Write a Review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn