MicroTouch Solo Review: Is It Legit or Just Hype?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff
Published on: May 17, 2017

The MicroTouch Solo is a combination trimmer, shaver, and edger that claims to be able to groom with micro precision providing an all-in-one grooming solution in the process. Billing itself as a “Smart Razor”, the product claims to be able to provide truly effective styling power in a variety of different modes, each designed to sculpt or manage a particular style of facial hair.

The makers of the product claim that it’s effective for more than just beards, though, stating that it can also be used to manage body hair. The dual German stainless steel blade design is said to be completely safe to the touch while also allowing you to shave both up and down, and the ultra-flex pivoting head is supposed to allow for superior maneuverability as you use the blade on the various contours of your face.

For many, daily upkeep of facial hair and body hair can be a real nuisance. What’s worse, many individuals are forced to rely on a multitude of different products to shape, trim, shave and maintain their facial hair, adding complication to our already hectic everyday lives.

A product that could truly provide all of your facial and body hair grooming needs could potentially be of great value to those who are constantly on the go, as it could potentially make the daily ritual of shaping up the hairs a much more condensed affair.

In order to determine if the MicroTouch Solo is truly effective, however, we’ll first need to take a closer look at how the product is supposed to work to deliver this three-in-one functionality. In the next section, let’s do just that.

How the MicroTouch Solo Works

The MicroTouch Solo claims to work on any body surface, delivering a close shave while also allowing for a variety of upkeep methods such as edging beard lines and moustaches, and trimming lengthy beards and stubble. The product also comes with three different plastic guides which can be used to alter the length you’d like to trim, allowing you to maintain a certain look if you so desire.

In addition, the MicroTouch Solo features a built-in high-intensity spotlight just below the pivoting head that the manufacturer claims will allow you to clearly see what you are doing as you use the product.

This could potentially be quite useful, as many who shave daily know that it can be difficult to see in certain areas, no matter how well-lit the room is. We aren’t told just how bright this light is, but the explainer video depicts it as being bright enough to illuminate your entire face with ease.

To use the MicroTouch Solo, you simply need to decide which mode of operation you want to use. If all you’re looking for is a simple shave, you can use the product without any guides, running it up and down along your hair until you’ve got the area clear and free.

The company states that you do not need to use water, shaving cream or soap and that the product doesn’t cause razor burns or bumps of any kind. They also claim that it won’t give you any nicks or ingrown hairs from regular usage.

If you’re looking to trim your beard to a certain length, you can utilize one of the three included guides, depending on your preference. The company states that the MicroTouch Solo can tackle even the burliest, toughest beards in just one pass thanks in part to its military-grade stainless steel blade design.

As for recharging the device, we aren’t told if comes with a rechargeable battery system, or if it uses traditional batteries instead. When we reached out to customer service to clarify, they informed us that they did not have this information, instead suggesting that we “Google it.” Upon doing so, we discovered that there was no information about the type of battery the device uses anywhere that we were able to find.

MicroTouch Solo Pricing

Currently, it looks as though the MicroTouch Solo is only available via the product's main website as of the time of this writing. It costs $24.99, plus $5.99 P&H.

The product itself comes with the three additional guides, as well as one additional replacement cutting head. We aren’t told on the main site how much additional cutting heads are, but we inquired to customer service and found out that they are available as a two-pack directly from the main phone line for $9.99. They also stated that most orders are shipped out within 30 days of the original date they are placed.

MicroTouch Solo Return Policy

As for the return policy provided by the manufacturer, it looks as though you’ll have a 30-day money back guarantee on all purchases made through the main site. The company requests that you return all items to their main address at Micro Touch Solo 400 Returns Rd Wallingford, CT 06494. They also request that you include your complete name, address, daytime telephone number and email address inside the return package when returning your item.

The Bottom Line: Is MicroTouch Solo Truly a Game Changer?

There are hundreds of different personal groomers on the market today, all of them vying for a spot on your bathroom counter. With so many options to choose from, what might be best to look for? Ideally, you’ll likely want something that provides all-in-one functionality, much like the MicroTouch Solo does, so that you can be able to streamline your daily grooming regimen as much as possible.

There are many different combination products available that offer similar functionality to the MicroTouch Solo, some of which have large followings and generous amounts of customers reviews to back them up. Ideally, you’ll want to tune into what these voices are saying, looking out for products that truly stand out as being well-liked and reliable.

For instance, a quick Google search for “personal groomers” brings a number of products, including one with over 2,000 reviews on Amazon from Philips. This particular product seems to provide very similar features and benefits to the MicroTouch Solo.

To that end, the MicroTouch Solo seems, on the surface anyway, to be a potentially convenient and cohesive way to maintain and groom your facial and body hair, regardless of how you personally style and shape it.

The pivoting head and double-sided blade design seem as though they might indeed be able to deliver on the manufacturer’s claim that the groomer works without water or cream to deliver a close shave, but according to authority sites such as WebMD, the only real defense against razor burns and bumps is using adequate lubrication.

In addition, without having tested the product out for ourselves, we aren’t able to confirm that it will work as advertised. Additionally, there doesn't seem to be any reviews of the product anywhere online as of the time of this writing, and seeing as we have a few concerns about the battery functionality/longevity, we do feel it’s worth noting that you’ll be taking a bit of a leap of faith going into the purchase of the MicroTouch Solo.

That alone isn’t necessarily a reason not to give the device a chance, but before you do, we’d simply recommend looking around at alternatives like those mentioned above, as well as keeping the 30-day return policy in mind going into the purchase.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 40 MicroTouch Solo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 104 out 110 people found this review helpful

    Where is it?

    I would actually love to be able to leave a review because I ordered it about two months ago, but I have not received it yet. Yet when I tried to go back to their website, I got "Thank you for visiting our website. This offer is currently not available." So I think I got scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 104 out 110 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't even received my order that I placed on 05/06/2017. Does anyone have or know a way to contact the customer service department? When I go to the main website, I get this message: "Thank you for visiting our website, this offer is currently not available." Then the tab shows "Site Under Construction." So I don't know what else to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 93 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Absolute piece of crap

    • Inverness, Florida,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a complete piece of crap and it does NOT work! It keeps falling apart, and the charge doesn't even make it through one shave! It is absolute trash.

    It took over three months to receive the item only to find out that I had been taken by a junk selling company!

    WARNING, it is junk. Do not waste your money on it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 62 out 66 people found this review helpful

    The truth

    • Carlsbad, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited weeks for this to arrive putting off buying a new shaver since my old one stopped working.

    The commercials indicate that this is the one shaver for your needs. Here's the real skinny.

    It is not a shaver or electric razor; it's a nice compact beard or hair trimmer. I'm a hairdresser, and I know the difference professionally.

    If you're looking for something to trim, your beard or clean up hairs on your ears, neck, or mustache, this is fine. If you're looking to have a nice close shave, this is not for you.

    This unit works as well as most trimmers you'll find in Walmart for $10-20. It will not give you a shave!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 59 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Not as great as advertised

    • West Gardiner, Maine,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first saw the ad on TV for this product, it looked like it had some promise at being a good razor, but as I was soon to find out, it's not as good as the seller describes it. And upon further research, I realized that it's actually a redesign of the Philips Norelco OneBlade.

    I found that the seller of the Micro Touch Solo, Idea Village, is not beyond milking the customer for as much as they can get out of them. The unit starts out at $24.99, but with the addition of a charge cord and charger, plus shipping and handling cost, the final total came to $37.97.

    About a week after I had placed my order, I found that it was on back-order and that it would take an additional two to six weeks before it would ship. So I emailed them and informed them that I wanted to cancel the order. Two days later I got an email reply that they couldn't cancel the order because it was being processed and I eventually received it about nine days later.

    At first, I was going to return by not accepting delivery of it, but after it arrived, I decided to give it a try. What a disappointment that turned out to be. It's alright if you don't mind having that 5 o'clock shadow look, but don't expect it to cut as clean as a regular rotary blade razor or standard bladed razors. Basically, it's designed to give a trim or removal of facial hair, but not a close, smooth cut look. And the light only does a moderate job at illuminating the area under the lower blade, does nothing for what's in front of the top blade.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 43 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never received the product, which was ordered nearly a month ago. And I cannot get a reply to my email to them at microtouchsolo.com.

    This needs to be reported to the appropriate authorities.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Pure garbage!

    • Auburn, NY,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is the cheapest product that I have ever seen. I had to wait over two weeks for the slowest delivery I have ever seen. After receiving the product, I was very disappointed. You can tell that it is cheaply made and certainly not worth the money. Within a few days, the product, or so-called product, was broke. The company refused a refund. The woman in customer service tells me that they have a lot of these shavers break down and she hung up on me. Save yourself the trouble and by from an honest company, not this one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Worst thing ever

    I don’t know why, but after seeing the commercial, I had bought two of these things. After receiving it, I realize how much I hate it and why in the world I bought two. With that said, I want to do a return and customer service told me I have to pay for the shipping and handling and then return, that’s another $15 to $20. Giving me all the run around in the world.

    It’s a scam, don’t fall for it. My $10 machine works better than that. I'll make sure it goes to Facebook and every website I could possibly put a review to help others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Stand by your product

    • Clarksville, TN,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had ordered new blades from the company. When I got the blades, the combs didn't work. So I called the company to let them know they didn't fit properly. They told me that they couldn't help me because it has been a little over a year and the warranty has ran out. So I asked her if I could buy some combs and she said that they don't sell the combs. They sell blades but not the combs. I couldn't believe it sells the blades but not the combs to the blades. So if someone out there wants this Solo, you can have it. I was thinking I had a razor for life. I just got fooled. Thanks for nothing Solo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Bloody awful

    • Faulconbridge, Australia,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It arrived with the lugs which hold the blades broken, which means the blades cannot be attached and makes it unusable. I contacted them with three emails, but they don't even have the courtesy to reply. Don't waste your money; I certainly would not recommend this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive advertising MicroTouch Solo

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product doesn't work as advertised. While it is good for trimming, it doesn't provide a clean shave on the areas I don't want facial hair, so If I want a clear cut trimming, I still need to use a conventional razor blade to remove beard completely. On top that, when I called to process a refund, they decline to pay for the return shipping. The way I see it, if I had changed my mind and wish to return the product, it will be fair that I pay for the return shipping, but if I am returning the product for deceptive advertising, the seller MUST pay ALL related cost to it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for MicroTouch Solo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review