PetGentle Reviews: Will It Train Your Dog?

PetGentle

Overall Rating

2.7

92 Customer Reviews

Summary

Using an ultrasonic sound that humans can’t hear, the PetGentle claims it can help you train your dog how to stop barking using sound, light and positive reinforcement.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.7 Stars out of 92 Reviews
5 Star:36% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:52%
40% Recommend This Product
Start your review of PetGentle:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 11, 2019

Works!

By Maureen B., Verified Reviewer

I tried this product as a last-ditch effort, because we love this 90% good dog. Our problem was not barking. Our dog has possession aggression. It said this product worked for bad behaviors. Well, with little perseverance, this works like a charm. My trainer said he was a bad dog because of his biting. This is now the dog we wanted! Thank you!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 10, 2019

Works amazing

By Myra V., Farmersville, CA, Verified Reviewer

This device has made a huge turn around in my 4-year-old chihuahua but it doesn’t seem to really phase my 4-month-old at all, which is ok because the 4-year-old is the one with aggression and a barking problem. Those that say it doesn’t work maybe you need to turn it up because like I said it works for one dog but not both for some reason. Well worth the money and I have some peace and quiet in my home now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2019

So far so good

By Joan G., California, Verified Reviewer

We have only been using the device for a few days but clearly my dog does not like it! She is a mini schnauzer - which is a barky breed, she barks at everything. This seems to be helping. When we activate the device she cowers and stops barking. I'm hoping in time we won't have to use it anymore. I'll try to post an update in a few weeks if there are any changes.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2019

Best training tool ever!

By Linda P., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I received my PetGentle about a month ago. My dog was barking and howling to the point that I couldn't even speak to a neighbor when I was walking her. Since I started using the device all I have to do now is show it to her and she stops barking, howling or whatever bad thing she is thinking of doing. I wish I had one of these when I was trying to train her when she was a pup.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2019

Does not work overcharged

By ToniMarie H., New York, Verified Reviewer

Not only does this not work on my pitbull's barking, it doesn't faze him in the least. They charged me two different charges for ONE of these. I have a $42 charge and a $20 charge. Meanwhile, these are being sold on eBay for $10! What a rip off. There's no button on the side, and only lights and an infrared one, but doesn't seem like any sound comes out. My dog doesn't react the slightest bit. I don't know what my order number is because I was never sent a confirmation of the order. If I had, I could have disputed the charges.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2019

It's a scam

By Anita B., Mashpee, MA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased PetGentle about a week ago. My dog is a disturbing barker when he sees any movement. From the day I got it, it never worked. Nothing came on. The lights didn't come on. When I called for a return and a refund, no problem. I paid $42.90 and I received back $24.90. Where's the balance? And I could keep it? Who wants it. I am notifying the BBB. I want the balance of my $42.90. By the way, the battery is wrapped in plastic to be removed. Until you call for help you would never know this. Do not purchase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on May 23, 2019

Wonderful tool to use on my barking dog!

By MaryAnn H., Puyallup, WA, Verified Reviewer

Before purchasing this item, I read all the reviews carefully. Unfortunately, not all were positive! I have 2 small dogs and they bark at everything and I just couldn't train them to stop. So I thought it was worth trying. For those of you that say it doesn't work, you are absolutely right, it doesn't work on your dog, but it does work on dogs! My Maltipoo, nothing, no response to it at all! I absolutely have no idea why. But, my Yorkipoo, it is absolutely something to watch! I point it at her and she responds as though she was zapped. She stops immediately. It's truly remarkable! For those of you thinking about buying the PetGentle, I truly hope you have a dog that responds to it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on May 17, 2019

Doesn't work

By Rhonda S., Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

My dog's ears don't even twitch or move, so I doubt it works. The manual picture shows a switch on the side but mine doesn't have a switch. I tried the light trainer and stubborn trainer and light and he does not even twitch or move or his ears at all! Waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2019

I have to admit, I was stunned at the results

By Scott N., Lake Geneva, WI, Verified Reviewer

I have a three-year-old German Shepherd. She is loud, and she is stubborn. I got the PetGentle to try to stop the barking when anything goes past our house, as well as stopping her desire to chase cars while on walks. I have to say I was amazed at the results. It stopped her barking almost immediately, along with the command "calm" and a treat. She watches cars go by, but no barking. The car chasing is proving a bit harder but even there it is making a big difference. I would recommend this to anyone with a similar issue with their dog.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2019

EXPENSIVE LIGHT

By Virginia H., Theodosia, MO, Verified Reviewer

I have 3 dogs, I bought this to help train my stubborn 11-month-old Great Pyrenees puppy. The other 2 dogs are already trained Terriers. As far as I can tell this is an expensive fancy light, period! I have used this for over a week now. The red beam grabbed all 3 dogs' attention at first, now they completely ignore the device. There isn't any stopping or even hesitation in any of the animals, There isn't any indication of any sound being emitted i.e. turning head, ears changing position, any body language to even hint at a sound being emitted and certainly not stopping or even any hesitation when the device is being activated. Don't waste your money on this device, kinda expensive for a flashlight! I will send a clip of the purchase verification in the next e-mail as I do not have an order number.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 8, 2019

WOW!

By Penny B., Waldport, OR, Verified Reviewer

I have (had) a dog who barked so much that she, and thus we, were unwelcome at doggie events that I longed for. I put up with it for 7 years, with the only exception being a brief use of shock collar. THAT resulted in an increase of barking, as she would bark AT IT when it went off! At my wit's end, I got the PetGentle, not really trusting that it would work. A week later, I have a completely different dog! I used it as directed, along with the word "quiet" and now all I have to do is show her it’s in my pocket when we walk out. Sorry, I don’t have the order number as I tossed the packaging when I found it worked!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted
Showing 78-88 of 92

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.