About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

87 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 80 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 87
Sort reviews by:

  • Excellent

    • Nashville ,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I would fit better in different sizes than what I had originally selected and they were 100% right. I had to get pants altered locally. I snapped a photo of my receipt and was reimbursed the next day. Excellent company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great tux at a great price with excellent customer service!

    • Dayton, Ohio,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is wonderful! My son's tux was on back order and the tux was delayed in getting here. I emailed and the same night they emailed me back and the tux was here two days later.

    I was worried that I wouldn't have time to get it altered but that wasn't needed. The tux fit perfectly and my son looked wonderful! Thank you so much for making the effort and getting the tux to us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great Experience!

    • Austin, Texas,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Renting a tux is generally a painful and expensive experience. This was neither of those. I went through the process, picked out my tux and punched in my sizes. A few weeks later I got an email suggesting a different size with the guarantee that if they were advising me the wrong size Black Tux, the folks could get me the right size pronto (and before my event). They were correct on the size and the tux ended up fitting perfectly. The customer service throughout was great!

    Got a lot of great compliments on the tux!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wedding success

    • May 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered charcoal suits for the groom, all the groomsmen, and our dads for our wedding last month. We did the wedding trial to sneak peek the fit/quality/color of the suit we wanted and loved it. When everybody from the party got their tuxes (shipped to their homes, a week before the wedding), there was only 1 sizing issue. We called in and had a new jacket for the groom within two days. All the guys agreed that is was way easier than making trips to a tux shop to get fitted, especially since our guys lived all over the place in different states. No trip to the tux shop before and after the wedding day, too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Nice AND Easy

    • Arlington, VA,
    • May 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    These ease of renting for a busy lifestyle was very nice. I went online, place an order, and it was delivered a week before my event (ample time to return). The fit was very nice. The Tux was also very comfortable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent

    • Lexington, KY,
    • May 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ever gone through the horrible experience of discovering your friend found a suit for you to rent from Men's Wearhouse so you could participate in his wedding? I've gone through it several times, and it's outlandishly expensive, no chance at a nice, modern fit or true custom tailoring, and did I mention expensive?

    I recently participated in a wedding where the groom chose black tux instead. What a breath of fresh air. The website is easy to use, and gives you literally anything you could want or need to ensure you're requesting your perfect size, right down to shipping you a tape measure for free.

    They don't do half sizes, but it'll still fit better than the only other rental alternative in the wedding game. I also saw in a previous review the complaint that their 'sizing experts' may change your size, this is a completely optional service and if you read all the check boxes as you fill in your sizes, you can easily where to click to keep them from possibly doing this.

    When you get your order, it's similar to unpacking an iPod: everything in its place and a place for everything, even including a shipping label and tape to seal up the box for its return.

    My tux fit great, even better than the suit I wore for my own wedding, and I got a free pair of socks.

    In case you're still on the fence, I recently rented yet another wedding outfit from Men's Wearhouse: pants, vest, and shoes cost about $50 more than a better looking and more convenient whole tuxedo from The Black Tux.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • excellent look

    Both my daughter and son were married in the past year, and they both used Black Tux for their wedding party and parents. I was very pleased with the quality of the suit and shoes, and the service was efficient. The fit was excellent, and they recommended short rather than regular for the suit jacket. People who needed it got replacement sizes in time for the wedding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great Experience

    • Columbia, MO,
    • May 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've rented from Black Tux on multiple occasions and have always had a great experience. The last event that I used them, I needed a different pant size and customer support went over and above to make sure I had the correct size in plenty of time before my event. As a business owner I can tell you their support staff is above the norm.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Pennsylvania,
    • May 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Black Tux provided excellent quality tuxes the two times that I've used their services. They've also shipped different sizes out for me as well when needed and covered the cost of slight alterations. A great experience overall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The Black Tux: Welcome to the Future

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought the selection of tuxedos was very current and stylish. I found the website easy to navigate and the staff friendly and helpful. Some of the items didn't fit and the company sent replacement garments to my hotel, my event was in another state. I had an amazing experience using The Black Tux.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Black Tux is an A+ Service! Easy order.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great website with a solid selection. It also contains an ease of ordering. The tuxedos showed up on time and fit me perfectly. Easy box to return upon completion of event. An All around 10. Thanks, Black Tux!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review