Stephany Z.
Stephany Z.
TexasMember since February 2019

Reviews (1)

    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer


    Updated review


    Eventually, I did a get a refund, but only after the founder himself involved. I appreciate what they did, but, I still think they could have a better process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    4 people found it helpful

    Link to this Review
    • Previous review
    • Mar 2, 2019

    Lack of teacher selection and ridiculous policies

    In today's tech day and age, this the first time I've had a company refuse to refund me when I didn't use their services at all. I was late in canceling my free subscription one day, and even then, they would not refund me. That's how they get you.

    I wanted to cancel because their services are subpar. Their teacher selection is tiny compared to services like iTalki, and the teachers are not certified. Literally we are paying these teachers significantly less than minimum wage, and this is really unfair after Rype takes a cut.

    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Rype, Inc.

      Hey Stephany!

      Sorry to hear about this - we sent you an email about this as we can verify that this matter was resolved for you with a full refund and that we have closed your account. It looks like this was posted before everything was resolved, so please let us know if you received the email from us or feel free to reach back at

      Teacher wise, we do handpick each teacher on the platform and while not all teachers are professionally certified from a language school, they all need to have professional teaching experience to join our community. For this reason, we do limit the number of teachers that are displayed for our members, compared to other platforms where there isn't an in-depth selection process.

      Keep in mind that we also don't take any cuts from teachers, and teachers are paid a flat fee per hour depending on their level of experience, how long they've been on our platform, student ratings, and other factors we take into account.

      We are onboarding new teachers on a weekly basis to meet the growing demand of our students, and we'd be happy to offer you some free credits if you ever want to try us out again. It seems like it has been nearly 6 months since you were with us, so we'd love to show you the new features and teachers we have in place.

      As mentioned above, we have verified that you've received a full refund from us on April 12, 2019, but please reach out to us at if you have any other questions or feedback!

      Thanks so much Stephany.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-1 of 1