Zevo Reviews

Zevo

Overall Rating

2.4

30 Customer Reviews

Summary

Zevo’s line of flying insect traps and botanical-based sprays promises to naturally kill bugs, without the use of chemicals that can harm mammals. Read what customers are sharing about these products.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.4 Stars out of 30 Reviews
5 Star:23% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:13% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:53%
37% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Zevo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 21, 2021

Absolutely the worst product I have ever used!

By Robert B., Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

Bought this product because the TV ad said that it was safe around pets! This is no doubt a complete lie. On the bottle it even says if you get it in your mouth, you should wash out your mouth and then CALL A DOCTOR. So if your dog or cat walks into this oily mess and licks their paws I guess your pets are out of luck. The smell is the worst, more lingering and irritating than I have ever encountered! The oily mess does not dry, the label says do NOT spray on clothes, rugs, curtains, or furniture. It also says to wipe clean any surface that the spray comes into contact with completely until the surface is not slippery with soap and water. Additionally, the label says it contains at least three oils, one of which is mineral oil. I sprayed this product around my kitchen for no more than ten seconds and it took me almost three hours with a power scrubber to clean it. It's been over 5 hours since I cleaned the floors and the smell is still sickening.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Lying

Deceptive ad

Misrepresentation

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 30, 2021

Buy a fly swatter or a shoe!

By Lucas P., Syracuse, NY, Verified Reviewer

Used almost 1/4 of the can on spiders and they seem to continue to thrive. Kept on spraying, hitting the spider dead center. Should have rolled up a newspaper and wacked it!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Seemed like a good product from ads

Had to spray a lot on one insect

Smell lingers

I don't buy that it is safe for pets and humans

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2021

Works but irritant to humans

By Heidi D., Lititz, PA, Verified Reviewer

The smell is pleasant, that of citronella, and it does kill on contact, however, it left me with sinus and throat irritation as well as a lingering headache. Sprayed in the a.m. and still suffering hours later at work! I thought this would be a better alternative to pine-scented RAID. Although RAID scent was strong, it did not irritate like Zevo. Will not buy again. Also, RAID dries quicker. Zevo leaves a puddle of oil that I'm not sure would dry so I had to wipe it off the floors and I just left a thin line around baseboards and doorways.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 29, 2021

Use with caution!

By Daniel E., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Very disappointed! For those with respiratory issues - do not use! I bought this, as there were ants in the restroom wastebasket and a few around other areas. I saw the ad the night before and decided to try it. I sprayed at 4pm today, it is now 11:50pm and after having to open the bathroom window and place a fan in there, I can still smell it. I had to take the wastebasket outside to air out and I didn't realize that the spray was oily, so I had to clean the area where I had sprayed. If you read the ingredient list, the oils (geraniol and lemongrass) only make up .5% of the content, the other 95% is made up of alcohols and other oils. It may be natural, but natural is not always safe. There should be more of a warning to those with respiratory issues. I would not recommend its use around children or pets. I'm taking the product back to the store tomorrow for a refund!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not completely honest - it may be natural, but it's not safe for those with respiratory issues.

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2021

Dangerous for users with lung diseases!

By Scott S., Roseville, MN, Verified Reviewer

I really didn't have much of an insect problem in my apartment, but I know that other apartments in my building have recently been treated for cockroach infestations. So I decided to purchase a can at my local Walmart after seeing a Zevo commercial.

FYI: I have emphysema and usually require oxygen whenever I leave my apartment.

I sprayed a small amount in my kitchen and another modest spritz in the bathroom. I was immediately sickened by the overpowering smell of Zevo! I left the apartment for about an hour in hopes that the odor would dissipate. It did not.

So I packed a few things, including my Inogen oxygen concentrator, and headed for my ex-wife's home. I will spend the next day or two, hoping to recuperate.

This stuff MAY work, but it should have a bold warning label regarding those with serious lung conditions (e.g., COPD, emphysema, asthma, etc.). Until then, I could never recommend this product to another human being.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Their advertising was flowery, but no mention was made of potential health concerns.

Total lack of warning labels, or cautionary messages in their advertising.

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2021

Sinus irritant, caution

By Roy M. , Point Pleasant, NJ

Wife bought the spray for ants, and sprayed the kitchen area. We sleep three rooms away from the area sprayed, but it irritated my sinus, gave me a sore throat, and a very bad headache. I would not use this inside a house, even with the windows open. The scent lingers for hours even after washing the surfaces sprayed. Essential oils in low concentration are deterrents to pests, but very irritating to mucus membranes in high concentrations. Just because they are "natural" doesn't mean they are safe to use and breathe. Radon is also natural, and a hazard.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ad is misleading - safe, natural product

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Smells nasty

By Carol W., Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

This product has a smell that lingers on for a long while. I threw the product out. Because I couldn't stand the smell. I had to open a window. Which only helped a little.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Product smells bad

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2020

Roaches love it

By Alex A., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Sprayed directly on the roach and it just crawled off and hid elsewhere. Didn't die. Very oily. The smell lingers for days even with all windows open. Will have to buy some REAL bug killer.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2020

Infestation of gnats

By Jenna K., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

I saw this advertisement on TV. I had an infestation of gnats in my entire house. I mean hundreds, no idea why they were there. No fruits, rotting food, or anything. This product is absolutely amazing. I started spraying the gnats they were literally dropping like flies. I highly recommend this product.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Pet friendly

No strong odor

Kills bugs

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2020

Bought at Home Depot

By Anita C., Whittier, NC, Verified Reviewer

Never again. I got 6 cans to treat for roaches and it did not kill them. Oil stunk and was horrible to clean up. I can't return because of COVID-19 rules on returns. So I am out $38. And have 6 cans to stare at.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Misleading advertising

No way to return

Terrible product

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2020

Oily mess, doesn't last, expensive per ounce

By Robert T., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Sure it kills the ones I just oil-bathed, but they come back the next day like nothing was ever sprayed in that area. The spay bottle is like spraying (main ingredient) mineral oil everywhere, the spray adjust nozzle is worthless, it's either a hurricane rainstorm or full open fire hose. Cleaning up is a chore, whatever it contacts becomes an Exon Valdez oil spill clean up project. Requiring harsh chemicals to clean up. People complain of the smell, the spray bottle isn't too strong, maybe the can version is worse. We bought our first and last Zevo Expensive product until they change the formula or application method.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Says it's human and pet safe

Oily mess, requires harsh chemicals to clean up mess

Terrible application spray bottle

Doesn't last, when the oil slick is cleaned up bugs come back

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2020

It killed three of my kittens within two days

By Robert S., Livingston, TX, Verified Reviewer

Having animals introduced a lot of extra pests, so I bought this to eliminate some obvious ones. Sprayed it around the base of the cabinet in the kitchen one night late when I saw a couple of roaches scatter away from their food bowl. The next morning two kittens were paralyzed in the doorway of my bedroom. I was devastated. That evening another one was acting groggy and was gone by the next morning. My wife was heartbroken and I felt wholly responsible for trying something new.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Killed pests fast

Will take your breath away if you spray it in a confined space, you will be gasping for air

Kills kittens

Horrible lasting smell

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2020

I'll never buy it again

By Lola J., Alpine, CA, Verified Reviewer

Smells so strong, so bad, we had to air the house out. When it dries it no longer works, and ants walk right over it, so you'd have to use it every day, but it's too expensive to do that. I'll never buy it again. Terrible value.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It doesn't last

Smells toxic

Terrible value

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 29, 2020

Happy but a few flaws

By Lucille N., Corona, CA, Verified Reviewer

First of all, Zevo got rid of what I think were gnats in my home, but it does make an oily mess and I had to mop my floor because after spraying it leaves a slippery residue. And the smell is pleasant, but the smell gives me a headache.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Kills on contact

Oily mess

Smell

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2020

Puzzled?

By Beverly D., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

I bought Zevo about a year ago because I started to spot a few spiders in my garage down here in hot Texas. I used it and never saw another spider in the remaining year that I lived there. So I've moved now and there were a couple of huge ant hills in my front yard. So I remembered Zevo and saw a couple of commercials and said, I will get some. I purchase 6 cans of 3 different sprays (not needed) and use it on the anthills, sure enough, it killed the big red ants. However, in about a week, I started seeing tiny ants in the same hills. So I thought, "Did they shrink?" Just kidding. It took a whole can to kill the hills so I ordered some more to try to take out the tiny ants. In the meantime, I suppose they have some kind of vendetta against me because now the tiny ants are popping up in my bathroom. (Kidding again folks.) By this time my new supply had come in. Not cans this time but bottles. So I pull out the gun and start spraying. It killed or drowned them, but each day over a week I still see more coming. What is going on here? This is some high-priced drowning fluid. Why do the bottles seem to be less effective and smell is different than the cans? I am perplexed by this situation. I just had to kill or drown 2 more ants so I decided to check this out. Anybody else having this problem?

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The can spray seems to work better than the bottles

It works on spiders and large ants

Order and delivery was great

The tiny ants don't seem to be phased (except by drowning)

Apparent inconsistency in the product by package method

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2020

Zevo bug spray

By Connie F., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

I bought the bug spray, it does work. The only thing I didn't like is it smells like bug spray and you need to ventilate the room, because it actually smells like bug spray.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Products work

Delivered quickly

They say the smell isn't bad and it is

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2020

Ants gone!

By Tony P., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Saw ants crawling around on my patio/deck; sprayed Zevo along the trail of ants...instant results...no sign of ants in over 6 hours!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Long standing manufacturer

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 15, 2020

It works

By Davina D., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

So sitting in my kitchen I was surrounded by ants, saw the commercial about Zevo, went to Home Depot and brought it. I have not seen an ant or roach, nothing, so went back to the store and brought 2 more bottles. Does it work on MICE too?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 1, 2020

Awful product

By Louis D., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

Purchased both spray cans and was not impressed at all. It did nothing to kill the bugs and it smells worse than any bug spray I ever smelled. I wouldn't recommend this product. So if you're looking for a decent bug spray, look elsewhere.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2019

Kills but they come back

By Anna A., Idaho, Verified Reviewer

Ok people, I do use Zevo, and yes it does kill springtail, which is what I have. But as soon as it dries they come back so I am buying it all the time, which is expensive. So my husband went to Home Depot and brought me some OdOBan cleaner citrus scent big yellow jug. You have to dilute a bit but when I spayed it on my baseboards they died and they do come back but a lot less frequent. You can also put a few drops of mint oil and it works longer. So try it out and see if it works for you. It is a lot cheaper at 8.00 a jug. I like Zevo but the price was killing me more than the bugs.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2019

Flies

By William H., Idaho, Verified Reviewer

For use in the kitchen. Does seem to kill flies, but makes an oily mess that needs to be cleaned up. Has to be a better product. Don't get it on furniture or items that may stain. Would not buy again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2019

Bug be gone!

By Doris M., Ocala, FL, Verified Reviewer

Bought Zevo a while back, used it in the kitchen and bathrooms. Tried other brands, they work but didn't leave a good smell afterward, but Zevo works fast and smells nice very. I'm happy, that's why I ordered some more.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2019

Get rid of annoying fungus gnats

By Sheri K., Green Bay, WI, Verified Reviewer

After retiring, I thought I would get back into household plants. I went to Stein and bought a few African Violets. Well, they were full of fungus gnats. I tried everything to get rid of the nasty things. So bought your spray for gnats. While reading the directions it says do not put on plants. So I thought - those dang gnats like water. So I put spittle water in the bottom tray and sprayed Zevo on the water. Bye-bye fungus gnats. They are all gone!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 2, 2019

Nice buuuuuuutttt

By Rikkia W., Springfield, IL, Verified Reviewer

I just received my Zevo today. I used it in my problem area. I like the fact that it does work and it works pretty fast. The downside is the smell. It's pretty strong and quite lingering. To me, it is not a good smell at all. I think it stated that it had cinnamon oil in it, however, it doesn't smell like cinnamon at all. It's really hard to describe the smell. It's a very greasy spray as well. You really have to wipe it off when you spray it on a surface. I would recommend for pest control. I wouldn't recommend of smell. Even though insecticides aren't supposed to smell good it shouldn't smell like that.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2019

The worst

By K F., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

The absolute worst! I sprayed a gathering of gnats on the ceiling in a couple of places in my kitchen, then spent 2 hours cleaning up the oil and showering from all the work it took just to kill SOME of the gnats. I had to mop/scrub on hands and knees twice because the oil is so hard to get off and being 40 weeks pregnant was scared of falling and was still slipping. I may as well have danced around my kitchen with an open bottle of oil. I've never written a review on anything but I'm so mad about this I couldn't stop myself. And even though it's safe for kids and animals it still hurt our throats inhaling it all night.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 29, 2019

Useless product

By Cami J., Bonney Lake, WA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased from zevooffer.com, unfortunately, because once opened they cannot be returned! Well, how can you even know if the product works or not?! And try to reach Customer Service (or ANYTHING other than ordering) on the website and you’ll get a 404 error! There is no way to leave a review on their site so I will leave it here.

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! Unless you like chasing flies with an oily mess that only makes a mess of your home and leaves the bugs laughing. Any oil would do the same job!

I bought the multi-offer of all types of bug spray, getting ready to head out for adventures in our RV, but the last thing I want to do is spray oil all over the inside of my nice RV! Now I’m stuck with 9 bottles of oil! (Past the 30 days due to life getting in the way.)

I will try using this outside, but it is USELESS inside.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Spraying trigger

By Robert R., Texas, Verified Reviewer

As far as the product goes, it does what I want it to do, kill roaches. The only thing I don't like about the product is the spraying trigger. In my opinion, it needs to be redesigned, to make it easier to use. The trigger is kind of awkward and uncomfortable to use. By the time one figures out which way to use the trigger, the roach is long gone. Can't you redesign the trigger and make easier and faster to use?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 30

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.