Zevo Reviews

Zevo

Overall Rating

2.2

43 Customer Reviews

Summary

Zevo’s line of flying insect traps and botanical-based sprays promises to naturally kill bugs, without the use of chemicals that can harm mammals. Read what customers are sharing about these products.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 43 Reviews
5 Star:18% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:11% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:60%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Zevo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 11, 2022

It's effective on the bugs we use it for but the smell from the spray is intolerable!

By Carole W., Red Bank, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I have asthma and allergies and the residue from the spray is overwhelming, causing me to have headaches and coughing. I have to turn off the air conditioning and then air out my entire house after its use.

The Zevo traps are just as effective with no after-effects.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The effectiveness of the spray and trap for ants and flying insects

The smell and oily residue it leaves behind

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2022

Terrible

By Tess S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I'm sensitive to smells, allergens, etc. This product sounded like it was natural and safe, but every time my husband sprays it I get a sore throat, cough, and headache. It smells horrible and leaves a residue.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Symptoms from exposure

Oily residue

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2022

Heavy oil residue!

By D T., Santa Monica, CA, Verified Reviewer

We love supporting products that produce less harmful chemicals and are environment friendly, however, we are not satisfied with the excessive amount of oil the Zevo spray leaves on the surface. After using the clear spray bottle a couple of times on our kitchen tile floor, we are dealing with messy oily footprints all over the wood floor in our home. Note that we only used the spray in a couple of spots on the kitchen floor, however, the oil remained there for days! Dry wiping the oil just did not work, instead, we had to use wet mops to lift much of the oil. This is just too much work!

We can no longer use this product unless the company finds a way to reduce the amount of oil in the solution.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Eco friendly product

Product quality

Very oily residue

Extra work required to clean up oil residue

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 24, 2022

Doesn't work

By Sher J., Tucson, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Found a few roaches coming through the sewer drain. Purchased Zevo ant, roach, and spider. Doesn't work, unless you drown them with the spray. Will look for another alternative spray before I get more.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 27, 2022

Best product ever!

By Jeanne B., West Monroe, LA, Verified Reviewer

I began using this product out of frustration that nothing else worked. I am amazed by the results and how fast and effective it worked! I used it in areas with four small kittens and we had no problems whatsoever. The smell does linger but it smells very natural, not unpleasant.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Actually works as advertised

Safe around my young kittens

Price is very reasonable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 27, 2022

Smells horrific, lingers. No, don't get it!

By Maria L., Mayodan, NC, Verified Reviewer

We saw Zevo on TV, paid $7.00 at a local store because it's natural and we have a dog.

I used it at about 10pm last night in our bathroom and the smell is so overpowering that I have a window open and a fan in the window, trying to get the stink out! I have to use the spare bathroom, cannot even go in there! My worry is how long will this last? I saw another man had to leave his home!

Please don't buy this! I used this one time.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Commercial

The smell, and can't breathe it, so bad

Doesn't work except to make humans leave

Strong, lingering, terrible strong odor

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

Beware!

By Michael S. , Floral Park, NY

This product is terrible and extremely harmful to pets. I have 7 cats and each one experienced problems after I sprayed this product in my house to try to kill the flies. I contacted Zevo who transferred me to Safety International and I spoke with a Dr. Benson, a vet who informed me that it can cause respiratory conditions in cats. In fact, one of my cats who wasn't sick suddenly passed away several weeks after I used this product in my home. The vet from P&G contacted my vet who informed them this cat was not sick before this.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 29, 2021

Beware!

By K H. , Buffalo, NY

This product made a lot of claims that didn't materialize. Didn't kill the flying critters like it said it would, even after dousing them fully. The smell is awful and lingering, and as far as being safe for humans? Don't believe this. I used the spray twice, both times I got a severe allergic reaction. My body was covered in hives and the second time I almost took myself to the ER. If you see this product - run!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

False advertising

Dangerous product

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2021

Disappointed

By Sharon A. , Charleston, WV

I was sold on the fact this spray would kill insects and is safe for animals. After trying the product, I was not impressed with its ability to kill the bugs AND the smell was nauseating and lasted forever. I threw it out because there is no way I would want to smell that smell again!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Safe for animals

Smell

Lack of effectiveness

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 4, 2021

Zero stars if I could

By Steve S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

The “Instant Action” misnomer on the label refers to how quickly you’ll throw the rest away after using it once or twice. I sprayed it on a cockroach that was already on its back due to my outdoor treatment. Came back twenty minutes later to dispose of what was expected to be a dead roach, he was still kicking. Vigorously.

It’s cloyingly stinky AND it doesn’t work. At all. Those commercials had to be rigged. The reality isn’t even close.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their product

False advertising

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2021

Truly awful

By Jesse D., Glenn Heights, TX, Verified Reviewer

See above! That was a waste of money. The only way this stuff will kill an insect is by drowning it. The stench will remain forever.

It really got tested last night. My pet iguana dropped her tail. I isolated her in the bathroom to give her a place to heal. That bathroom has already been treated twice with Zevo. At 1:30 this morning I woke up and went to check on her. The end of her tail was covered in ants! It was horrible! I got her out of them, and them off of her, and then killed them all and cleaned them up with something that actually works - Awesome Orange from Dollar Tree.

I'm sure Zevo really is harmless to kids and pets, since it is obviously harmless to everything else. I was hoping maybe I'd found something effective and safe. Nope.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their spouting a bunch of pseudo-scientific garbage to sell a product

Their complete and total lack of character

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2021

Irritate your skin if in contact

By Ruth B. , Corona, CA

I sprayed it by mistake without even knowing it and got a horrible rash on my leg for days, had to go to the doctor to prescribe medication. It has been a week already and is not going away. Please be careful when you spray it and if you pray it by mistake and touch your skin wash it right away.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Smelly

Too messy

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2021

The fly, gnat, fruit fly spray

By Carol M., Belen, NM, Verified Reviewer

Awful. All that it kills is flying in the air. This stuff falls to the ground. Real slippery. Almost killed myself. Plus it appears no flies died. I had no gnats or fruit flies as a problem. I will not buy more products. Some landed on my kitchen counter and smells deadly.

Confused. I usually love Procter & Gamble products.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Fly spray

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2021

Absolutely the worst product I have ever used!

By Robert B., Orlando, FL, Verified Reviewer

Bought this product because the TV ad said that it was safe around pets! This is no doubt a complete lie. On the bottle it even says if you get it in your mouth, you should wash out your mouth and then CALL A DOCTOR. So if your dog or cat walks into this oily mess and licks their paws I guess your pets are out of luck. The smell is the worst, more lingering and irritating than I have ever encountered! The oily mess does not dry, the label says do NOT spray on clothes, rugs, curtains, or furniture. It also says to wipe clean any surface that the spray comes into contact with completely until the surface is not slippery with soap and water. Additionally, the label says it contains at least three oils, one of which is mineral oil. I sprayed this product around my kitchen for no more than ten seconds and it took me almost three hours with a power scrubber to clean it. It's been over 5 hours since I cleaned the floors and the smell is still sickening.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Lying

Deceptive ad

Misrepresentation

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 30, 2021

Buy a fly swatter or a shoe!

By Lucas P., Syracuse, NY, Verified Reviewer

Used almost 1/4 of the can on spiders and they seem to continue to thrive. Kept on spraying, hitting the spider dead center. Should have rolled up a newspaper and wacked it!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Seemed like a good product from ads

Had to spray a lot on one insect

Smell lingers

I don't buy that it is safe for pets and humans

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2021

Works but irritant to humans

By Heidi D., Lititz, PA, Verified Reviewer

The smell is pleasant, that of citronella, and it does kill on contact, however, it left me with sinus and throat irritation as well as a lingering headache. Sprayed in the a.m. and still suffering hours later at work! I thought this would be a better alternative to pine-scented RAID. Although RAID scent was strong, it did not irritate like Zevo. Will not buy again. Also, RAID dries quicker. Zevo leaves a puddle of oil that I'm not sure would dry so I had to wipe it off the floors and I just left a thin line around baseboards and doorways.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on May 29, 2021

Use with caution!

By Daniel E., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

Very disappointed! For those with respiratory issues - do not use! I bought this, as there were ants in the restroom wastebasket and a few around other areas. I saw the ad the night before and decided to try it. I sprayed at 4pm today, it is now 11:50pm and after having to open the bathroom window and place a fan in there, I can still smell it. I had to take the wastebasket outside to air out and I didn't realize that the spray was oily, so I had to clean the area where I had sprayed. If you read the ingredient list, the oils (geraniol and lemongrass) only make up .5% of the content, the other 95% is made up of alcohols and other oils. It may be natural, but natural is not always safe. There should be more of a warning to those with respiratory issues. I would not recommend its use around children or pets. I'm taking the product back to the store tomorrow for a refund!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not completely honest - it may be natural, but it's not safe for those with respiratory issues.

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2021

Dangerous for users with lung diseases!

By Scott S., Roseville, MN, Verified Reviewer

I really didn't have much of an insect problem in my apartment, but I know that other apartments in my building have recently been treated for cockroach infestations. So I decided to purchase a can at my local Walmart after seeing a Zevo commercial.

FYI: I have emphysema and usually require oxygen whenever I leave my apartment.

I sprayed a small amount in my kitchen and another modest spritz in the bathroom. I was immediately sickened by the overpowering smell of Zevo! I left the apartment for about an hour in hopes that the odor would dissipate. It did not.

So I packed a few things, including my Inogen oxygen concentrator, and headed for my ex-wife's home. I will spend the next day or two, hoping to recuperate.

This stuff MAY work, but it should have a bold warning label regarding those with serious lung conditions (e.g., COPD, emphysema, asthma, etc.). Until then, I could never recommend this product to another human being.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Their advertising was flowery, but no mention was made of potential health concerns.

Total lack of warning labels, or cautionary messages in their advertising.

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 22, 2021

Sinus irritant, caution

By Roy M. , Point Pleasant, NJ

Wife bought the spray for ants, and sprayed the kitchen area. We sleep three rooms away from the area sprayed, but it irritated my sinus, gave me a sore throat, and a very bad headache. I would not use this inside a house, even with the windows open. The scent lingers for hours even after washing the surfaces sprayed. Essential oils in low concentration are deterrents to pests, but very irritating to mucus membranes in high concentrations. Just because they are "natural" doesn't mean they are safe to use and breathe. Radon is also natural, and a hazard.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ad is misleading - safe, natural product

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Smells nasty

By Carol W., Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

This product has a smell that lingers on for a long while. I threw the product out. Because I couldn't stand the smell. I had to open a window. Which only helped a little.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Product smells bad

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2020

Roaches love it

By Alex A., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Sprayed directly on the roach and it just crawled off and hid elsewhere. Didn't die. Very oily. The smell lingers for days even with all windows open. Will have to buy some REAL bug killer.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2020

Infestation of gnats

By Jenna K., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

I saw this advertisement on TV. I had an infestation of gnats in my entire house. I mean hundreds, no idea why they were there. No fruits, rotting food, or anything. This product is absolutely amazing. I started spraying the gnats they were literally dropping like flies. I highly recommend this product.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Pet friendly

No strong odor

Kills bugs

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2020

Bought at Home Depot

By Anita C., Whittier, NC, Verified Reviewer

Never again. I got 6 cans to treat for roaches and it did not kill them. Oil stunk and was horrible to clean up. I can't return because of COVID-19 rules on returns. So I am out $38. And have 6 cans to stare at.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Misleading advertising

No way to return

Terrible product

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2020

Oily mess, doesn't last, expensive per ounce

By Robert T., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Sure it kills the ones I just oil-bathed, but they come back the next day like nothing was ever sprayed in that area. The spay bottle is like spraying (main ingredient) mineral oil everywhere, the spray adjust nozzle is worthless, it's either a hurricane rainstorm or full open fire hose. Cleaning up is a chore, whatever it contacts becomes an Exon Valdez oil spill clean up project. Requiring harsh chemicals to clean up. People complain of the smell, the spray bottle isn't too strong, maybe the can version is worse. We bought our first and last Zevo Expensive product until they change the formula or application method.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Says it's human and pet safe

Oily mess, requires harsh chemicals to clean up mess

Terrible application spray bottle

Doesn't last, when the oil slick is cleaned up bugs come back

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2020

It killed three of my kittens within two days

By Robert S., Livingston, TX, Verified Reviewer

Having animals introduced a lot of extra pests, so I bought this to eliminate some obvious ones. Sprayed it around the base of the cabinet in the kitchen one night late when I saw a couple of roaches scatter away from their food bowl. The next morning two kittens were paralyzed in the doorway of my bedroom. I was devastated. That evening another one was acting groggy and was gone by the next morning. My wife was heartbroken and I felt wholly responsible for trying something new.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Killed pests fast

Will take your breath away if you spray it in a confined space, you will be gasping for air

Kills kittens

Horrible lasting smell

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2020

I'll never buy it again

By Lola J., Alpine, CA, Verified Reviewer

Smells so strong, so bad, we had to air the house out. When it dries it no longer works, and ants walk right over it, so you'd have to use it every day, but it's too expensive to do that. I'll never buy it again. Terrible value.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It doesn't last

Smells toxic

Terrible value

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 29, 2020

Happy but a few flaws

By Lucille N., Corona, CA, Verified Reviewer

First of all, Zevo got rid of what I think were gnats in my home, but it does make an oily mess and I had to mop my floor because after spraying it leaves a slippery residue. And the smell is pleasant, but the smell gives me a headache.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Kills on contact

Oily mess

Smell

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 43

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.