Zulily

Zulily

Overall Rating

2.0

164 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Zulily provides daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as clothing, toys, housewares, and school supplies, with claimed discounts of up to 70% off.

Pros

  • New merchandise offered daily
  • Price matches Amazon and Walmart.com
  • Lower prices than many retailers for popular brands

Cons

  • Slow shipping time
  • Refunds only provided as store credit
  • Must pay $8.99 restocking fee for returns
  • Item quality is questionable

Customer Reviews

2.0 Stars out of 164 Reviews
5 Star:17% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:64%
25% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Zulily:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 30, 2016

A+ from me!

By Melissa, Jasper, AL , Verified Reviewer

I have been a Zulily customer since 2013. I have no complaints! The one time I had to contact customer service for a small stain being on a backpack I ordered they issued a full refund, a $10 credit and told me to keep the backpack.

I was so shocked! Most orders arrive in 2-3 weeks unless it's personalized, those always receive those in less than a week.

I love Zulily!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2016

Just lost another customer

By Stephanie, Bernardsville, NJ, Verified Reviewer

Despite their long delivery waiting periods in this era of Amazon Prime and the likes of free 2-day shipping, I was still a customer because Zulily was able to get some good deals. Fast forward to 2 days ago, when I placed an order of over $100 with them and realized that I had erroneously included 2 of the same item, I quickly went to the screen of my open orders and canceled that one duplicate item and Zulily sent a cancellation confirmation within minutes. Phew! Problem solved.

But no, today I get an email that they canceled the entire order. When I called customer service, the rep could not tell me why but was able to tell me that the entire contents of my order had been sold out. I am so done with these fly-by-night online merchants with crappy customer service.

From now on, it's Amazon or the actual company websites. I doubt they will stay in business for long after reading these other reviews. It's time for a renewal in better customer service with these companies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2016

AVOID this retailer

By Andi, Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

Don't waste your precious time or money with these people. The products, especially the women's wear don't look anything like what is pictured on the site. It takes in some cases more than two months to receive your order. Most of the time it dribbles in one piece at a time. What they do is take orders from the public THEN they place an order with China.

Also, they make returns difficult. You have to contact them and ask permission. In one order I ordered four tunics, all in the same size, but when they arrived they all were different sizes. Stay with reliable online clothing retailers, and stay away from these people.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2016

Never again

By Rose, Verified Reviewer

Ordered a pink and red dress, $60.00 total including postage. Dress was ORANGE, cheap and nasty quality. I had to pay $14.44 for postage to return the dress. The cost of the experiment was about $25.00. Could have bought 2 far better dresses from the thrift store and not wasted my time. Wanted something nice for a special occasion. Saleswoman argued it was the right colour called pink. Shows pink on the website but looks orange.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2016

Horrible Experience

By Dresden, Crestview, FL, Verified Reviewer

I shopped Zulily for the first time on Labor Day Monday for the Holiday Sales, not only for myself but for Christmas too. I don't get much free time because I work so much and instead of doing other things or shopping other companies, whom I always have success with, I shopped Zulily.

Then on Tuesday I get a shabby email which the company knowingly knew was not true. It said it that after I spent hours of shopping online with them, catching the sales, that my "orders were all Uhm... another lie.

So I being concerned but wary of Zulily, call and of course it was NOT my bank card, in fact my bank had already APPROVED ALL 3 of my orders on that day. THEN I waste my time calling them back and they tell me, well it was a triggered alert and for me to go create a new account if I wanted to order anything.

I asked about my order and all the time I spent on it and that I did nothing wrong. They said they could not help me - the order was

That is all time WORSE company attitude. All the LIES THEY TOLD me, getting me upset and concerned OVER NOTHING. And their lack of professionalism and laziness, careless customer care, not sure how they can justify them not telling the truth, and treating their customers who place orders with them with a little more sincerity and care. A company who blatantly lies and cares less, for no reason at all, is scary in this day and time and I am in awe of what I have experienced.

They have no professionalism and I no longer have any confidence in such a company and I am surprised they remain as big and in business with those type of operations. So please be aware and don't believe anything they say in email or over the phone as if it is the gospel or truth. Follow up and do your own research. They should not be treating people and customers this way.

I told them I would share with others, for the first time in my life, the truth of what I experienced with them because it is super unethical and people like myself deserve to know and be warned. Sad because I thought I had accomplished so much on Labor Day and I regret ever choosing them to shop with. I am sticking with companies I know to be professional, honest and sincere with their customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2016

Unreliable Size & Quality

By Yvette Britt, Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I have ordered a few women's items from Zulily. Many of the items pictured are not the same as expected. The material looks easy to care for, but it is rayon which has to be hand washed and ironed. I don't mind if the clothing has to be dry cleaned, but hand washed is labor intensive.

Also, the sizing is difficult to determine. I have ordered what should be my size but the items are snug or way too large. I will donate these items because there is no customer service or way to return these orders. I am no longer a Zulily customer.

Also, the number listed to call customer service is not in service!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2016

Happy with my purchase

By Yvette, Canberra, Verified Reviewer

After not having purchased from Zulily before, I was very tempted to buy some shoes in their retro range. I was skeptical so read some reviews before purchasing. Reviews mostly seemed to mention poor quality items and slow delivery times. I decided to place my order because I was familiar with the brands I was ordering and their level of quality, and because I was prepared to wait a little longer for my shoes to arrive.

With the standard delivery shoes arrived in less than two weeks. I ordered 3 pairs - 2 pairs of one brand, which arrived together. I was concerned that I wasn't going to receive the third pair, so I emailed Zulily who responded within 24 hours to say my shoes were coming separately. They arrived the day after the first parcel. The quality is as I expected, as I was familiar with the brands and was really happy with the fantastic prices and cheap delivery costs. I realized my parcels came from the US and delivery was a total of $10 - fantastic. To buy one pair of shoes directly from the US cost me a ridiculous $53 in postage.

Very happy with my Zulily purchases. After reading other review I will continue to only purchase brands I'm familiar with.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 23, 2016

They have no accountability.

By Vannie Huey, Memphis, Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I purchased many things from Zulily during the pre-Christmas season 2015. The items were not sent to me until February 2016, which means I had to purchase Christmas gifts right before Christmas; therefore, spending twice as much as I had planned. I do not like the "no return" policy, which seems to be on everything. I purchased a pair of shoes in my size and they were 1 1/2 sizes too small. I wrote to Zulily, but did not get a response. I also ordered an item in blue, and got black. I wrote and no response. I purchased an item that was described incorrectly, wrote to them, no response. It seems that Zulily has no responsibility and concern for the consumer. I will spend my money more wisely and not purchase from Zulily.com in the future.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2016

Love/Hate relationship Zulily

By Donna Wille, Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I have shopped with them since 2012. I've learned to search the products out elsewhere online mainly Amazon or Wayfair for larger products before committing to purchase. I do this to compare prices, availability and delivery times because as stated by many Zulily can be EXTREMELY SLOW for delivery times?

That being said, I have often found lovely things that I was able to stash away for future gifting. I especially love their baby clothing selections often very unique items that the recipients have loved!

Never purchased personal clothing, shoes or such because of no return policy because I think it's too risky!

Customer service always very helpful for me. Like any online shopping, use common sense!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 16, 2016

Misleading Product

By Alexis, Minnesota , Verified Reviewer

Let's see, where do I start? I first became familiar with Zulily.com about 6 months ago when I became pregnant and found all of their cute baby clothes. I would check their site everyday for new deals and designs, there really wasn't any site that offered such cute stuff, other than Etsy.

Mid-way through my pregnancy they had an offer from the Honest company. I was planning on buying the Honest company diapers anyway so it was awesome to get a month's bundle for $50 dollars. I purchased the voucher, received my code, and had no problems using it on the Honest Co. Website.

Well, just recently I found the cutest diaper bag on Zulily for $30 I had been eyeing it for a few months and had to jump on purchasing it at such a good price. The bag I ordered was the Journey Five Leather laser cut diaper bag. Originally it was $90 according to Zulily. There was no information about the bag other than the dimensions and looks. I also couldn't find it anywhere online except for Zulily, nonetheless I went forward with my purchase and painted $7 for shipping.

It took a long time for my order to process and ship but I received it about 2 weeks later. I opened my package and was relieved to see the bag looked cute like its pictures and was a good handbag size. It definitely didn't look like a diaper bag and I'm really not sure why they would sell it as one.

I noticed the bag was pretty stiff and had a strong plastic smell. I started checking the tags to see if it would say what the bag was made of and found the brand name tag. I was confused because the brand on the bag and the tag was a completely different name than what it said on Zulily. It said Journey Five on Zulily but no where on the bag or package. This wasn't the issue. The biggest problem is when I found what was also attached to the tag.

There was a clear plastic tag with small black letters that stated "WARNING this product Contains Chemicals Known To The State of California To Cause Cancer, Birth Defects or Other Reproductive Harm". I was dumbfounded. This bag was sold described as a diaper bag and yet had a label saying it can cause birth defects?! I called Zulily customer service and the woman who helped me couldn't tell me what the bag was made of or why it would be dangerous. She only knew that the label was only valid in California because of their laws that a company has to put a warning on things sold there.

She also stated that in order for me to see these effects I would have to wear the bag for "70 years". I could not stomach the idea that there was no information about this bag online or from Zulily that could even tell me what it is made of. I am receiving a refund of $30 but I won't shop on Zulily again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 14, 2016

Wouldn't use again

By Jocelyn Kahn, Hawthorne, NJ, Verified Reviewer

The reason I give them two stars rather than one is because I did get an immediate refund (my order was only $10, so that may have helped).

However, the quality of the sweater was very poor. I asked for a refund because there was an obvious hole in one of the seams. The material seemed very thin.

I was wondering how they could give such steep discounts and think I have found the answer in an article I read about Chinese companies that create poor-quality knock offs of clothing and pass it off as the real thing.

I can't help but wonder whether this is one of those companies.

In any case, I would never order from them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted
Showing 122-132 of 164

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.