About Clear TV

Clear TV is an “As Seen on TV” digital antenna that claims to provide you with HD broadcast channels at no charge, other than the cost of the antenna itself. However, “broadcast” means that Clear TV only works with local network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and other local stations, but not with cable channels (see more about this in the following section).

Clear TV has been heavily advertised lately, and appears to be quickly gaining popularity. As a result, you probably just watched a commercial for Clear TV, visited the product’s website, and are excited about all the possibilities this antenna may offer. Before placing your order though, you want to know more, and to read some legitimate online customer reviews. Luckily, you’ve come to the right place. In fact, HighYa has accumulated more than 430 Clear TV reviews since early September 2013.

With this in mind, Clear TV is currently priced at $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second Clear TV antenna for “free,” just pay an additional and $7.99 S&H.

Our Clear TV Review: Does it Actually Work, or Is it a Scam?

Anyway, you’re probably all hyped up, and are eager to learn more about Clear TV—and who could blame you? Who on earth would say no to free HD channels? But here’s the bad news: Unfortunately, most of Clear TV’s customer reviews appear to be negative.

So what’s going on? Does Clear TV really live up to its claims? Allow us to dissect everything for you.

Problem #1: How Clear TV Really Works

In general, Clear TV doesn’t work the way you probably think it does, and here’s why: Tristar, the manufacturer of Clear TV, makes it seem like you could replace many of the services (e.g. programs) you already enjoy with traditional cable, but for free. As an example, here are some quotes taken directly from the promotional video on the product’s website:

“Receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free.”

“Why spend hundreds of dollars a year for cable and satellite, when you can watch broadcast television for free?”

“That’s right! Free digital TV!”

“Bypass cable and satellite…”

…and many more. Unfortunately, the average consumer likely won’t pick up on the important distinction between cable television and broadcast television, which is the main problem. So remember this:

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc. In other words, much like any other antenna, Clear TV will basically just give you access to the signals already floating around in the air. It will not, however, give you access to premium cable channels (e.g. HBO, The Discovery Channel, HGTV, Lifetime, TBS, etc.).

Problem #2: Signal Strength Means Everything

Even if you already understand the difference between broadcast and cable stations, you may not understand that—as with any other type of antenna—the device will only pick up signals from towers located within a specified distance of your home. In the instance of Clear TV, you’re looking at a maximum range of 25-30 miles, which could be a problem if you live in a more rural or remote location.

On top of this, figuring out local antenna locations may not be as straightforward as you would think, either. While the Clear TV website does display a couple links that claim to help with this, the AntennaWeb site is clunky and filled with technical jargon, so we’d recommend avoiding it. However, the FCC link here is much more straightforward, since each station is rated based on strong, moderate, and weak signal strengths. In fact, these ratings are even color-coded to make identification as simple as possible.

Here’s a heads up though: We’ve received some reviews from customers claiming that they checked a channel on one of the above websites prior to ordering. After receiving their Clear TV and installing it, however, they ended up not being able to tune in to that channel after all. So buyer beware.

Problem #3: Why You May Not Need Clear TV

Finally, if you own a television built in 2008 or later, you probably don’t even need a Clear TV antenna in the first place. This is because all TV sets manufactured after this date are required by the government to include a built-in HD antenna (also called an ATSC tuner), which performs the exact same function as Clear TV.

Hint: If you’re unsure whether or not your TV contains an ATSC tuner, this quick article can get you moving in the right direction.

The Bottom Line About Clear TV

The number one reason why customers call Clear TV a scam is that it doesn’t do what it claims to do, which is to “receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free" as consumers set their minds up to think so at least. In other words, it’s all a gimmick, and they’re venting their frustration.

This is a completely legitimate complaint, however, because Clear TV only picks up local broadcast (e.g. major) stations, does not add any channels, and has nothing to do with cable. With this in mind, the reality is that you’ll probably only be able to receive 8-10 channels—and even then, numerous reviews claim that the picture quality remains poor.

So here’s the bottom Line: If you’re interested in obtaining free broadcast HD channels and are ready to say good bye to your premium network channels like AMC, Food Network, Travel Channel, HBO, and many more, check to see if your TV already has a built-in ATSC tuner. If not, we’d recommend exploring additional antenna options from another manufacturer, such as the Mohu Leaf or Winegard Flatwave in order to avoid shipping charges.

On top of this, if you’re looking to free yourself from your cable bill, check out our recent Cutting the Cord article. In it, you’ll read about other, less expensive ways of watching premium content, such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, and more.

479 Customer Reviews for Clear TV

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 69 4 stars: 28 3 stars: 20 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 347
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 479
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    ClearTV Gives Me Clear TV

    • by Old Nerd Reviews,
    • Vancouver, WA,
    • May 16, 2015

    While their promotions may be deceptive, I have one of their HDTV antennas that has a 35 mile range and I'm receiving 20 local channels that are crystal clear. I was really thrilled with what I got! Check my review: https://youtu.be/2goAsbkgO-Y

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    You don't get stations you watch...

    • by Robin,
    • Fort Pierce FL,
    • May 15, 2015

    It's crap. You get may be one station that you could would watch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV Antenna

    My son and I both bought the Clear TV antenna, neither of us have had any luck with this antenna. It does not pick local channels most if the time. We live on opposite sides of town, so it's not the location. We even bought the box that was suppose to enhance the signal, that didn't help either. This antenna was a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • by Jason ,
    • Fresno, CA,
    • May 14, 2015

    This antenna sucks. I only get 1 local channel regardless of where I put the piece of crap. Not worth the time, or money. Better off getting satellite or cable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Total Junk

    I recently bought this useless Clear TV Antenna and didn't get any reception, nothing, blank screen! I call to see about returning it which turned out to be another hassle, they could barely speak English! First they offered me a $15 coupon to keep it and give it to a friend, the bloody thing cost me $98! Finally they gave me a code to return it for complete refund, we will see. Now it's going to cost me $20 to mail the darn antenna back! I think it's a total scam and feel they should be shut down as they are totally ripping people off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Good Antenna

    • by Fred Johnson,
    • Mount Pleasant, SC,
    • May 12, 2015

    Clear TV is a good antenna and I get about 12 local channels. If you want all the rest of the stuff that cable or satellite offers then you are going to have to pay for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Point Number #3

    • by TJ,
    • May 9, 2015

    I won't defend or attack Clear TV, it works decently enough compared to other Antennas of it's kind, or to what a handy person can build with a Youtube video. (I've used both alone and in Tandem and while Clear TV looks better I actually give the edge to a Youtube special).

    But I have to call BS on Our Reviewer and Point Number three:

    An ATSC TUNER is NOT a Built in Antenna... yes all TVs after 2007/08 needed an ATSC Tuner due to the 2009 Digital conversion... but that TUNER is not a substitute for an antenna. Unless your Home Physically falls under the shadow of a Broadcast Tower, you need something attached to the CoAx Jack on your TV, otherwise why haven't they phased out the CoAx Jack on TVs in the last 8 years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied

    • by Sheryl Spearman,
    • Longview, TX,
    • May 5, 2015

    I'm a customer and not at all satisfied with Clear TV. I only get two channels. I moved this antenna all over my house to get the channels I like but it seems as if it was a lie. Can you tell me what to do?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV digital antenna

    • by Ricky Sampayo,
    • Rahway, New Jersey,
    • May 3, 2015

    The HD aspect of it is great. The channels that come in HD are very clear and I see all details. For some reason I cannot get ABC, PBS and a couple others. I get CBS, NBC and Fox plus many other channels. I really like PBS and I know there are good shows on ABC. I'd be much happier if it received these channels too. Considering that I bought it at Walgreens' for $15 plus tax, it's not so bad.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Big Liars

    • by Samantha,
    • Marshall Illinois ,
    • May 1, 2015

    Bought this Clear TV and it does NOT work. I don't get any more channels with this junk than I did with my rabbit ears. These people advertising this thing must make good money to lie to the world. I wouldn't recommend this thing to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • by Thomas Hellwig,
    • Fruitlandpark Florida,
    • Apr 27, 2015

    I only ended up receiving one channel filled with static. What a deal (sarcasm).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 479

Write a review for Clear TV!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review