About Clear TV

Clear TV is an “As Seen on TV” digital antenna that claims to provide you with HD broadcast channels at no charge, other than the cost of the antenna itself. However, “broadcast” means that Clear TV only works with local network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and other local stations, but not with cable channels (see more about this in the following section).

Clear TV has been heavily advertised lately, and appears to be quickly gaining popularity. As a result, you probably just watched a commercial for Clear TV, visited the product’s website, and are excited about all the possibilities this antenna may offer. Before placing your order though, you want to know more, and to read some legitimate online customer reviews. Luckily, you’ve come to the right place. In fact, HighYa has accumulated more than 260 Clear TV reviews since early September 2013.

With this in mind, Clear TV is currently priced at $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second Clear TV antenna for “free,” just pay an additional and $7.99 S&H.

Our Clear TV Review: Does it Actually Work, or Is it a Scam?

Anyway, you’re probably all hyped up, and are eager to learn more about Clear TV—and who could blame you? Who on earth would say no to free HD channels? But here’s the bad news: Unfortunately, most of Clear TV’s customer reviews appear to be negative.

So what’s going on? Does Clear TV really live up to its claims? Allow us to dissect everything for you.

Problem #1: How Clear TV Really Works

In general, Clear TV doesn’t work the way you probably think it does, and here’s why: Tristar, the manufacturer of Clear TV, makes it seem like you could replace many of the services (e.g. programs) you already enjoy with traditional cable, but for free. As an example, here are some quotes taken directly from the promotional video on the product’s website:

“Receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free.”

“Why spend hundreds of dollars a year for cable and satellite, when you can watch broadcast television for free?”

“That’s right! Free digital TV!”

“Bypass cable and satellite…”

…and many more. Unfortunately, the average consumer likely won’t pick up on the important distinction between cable television and broadcast television, which is the main problem. So remember this:

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc. In other words, much like any other antenna, Clear TV will basically just give you access to the signals already floating around in the air. It will not, however, give you access to premium cable channels (e.g. HBO, The Discovery Channel, HGTV, Lifetime, TBS, etc.).

Problem #2: Signal Strength Means Everything

Even if you already understand the difference between broadcast and cable stations, you may not understand that—as with any other type of antenna—the device will only pick up signals from towers located within a specified distance of your home. In the instance of Clear TV, you’re looking at a maximum range of 25-30 miles, which could be a problem if you live in a more rural or remote location.

On top of this, figuring out local antenna locations may not be as straightforward as you would think, either. While the Clear TV website does display a couple links that claim to help with this, the AntennaWeb site is clunky and filled with technical jargon, so we’d recommend avoiding it. However, the FCC link here is much more straightforward, since each station is rated based on strong, moderate, and weak signal strengths. In fact, these ratings are even color-coded to make identification as simple as possible.

Here’s a heads up though: We’ve received some reviews from customers claiming that they checked a channel on one of the above websites prior to ordering. After receiving their Clear TV and installing it, however, they ended up not being able to tune in to that channel after all. So buyer beware.

Problem #3: Why You May Not Need Clear TV

Finally, if you own a television built in 2008 or later, you probably don’t even need a Clear TV antenna in the first place. This is because all TV sets manufactured after this date are required by the government to include a built-in HD antenna (also called an ATSC tuner), which performs the exact same function as Clear TV.

Hint: If you’re unsure whether or not your TV contains an ATSC tuner, this quick article can get you moving in the right direction.

The Bottom Line About Clear TV

The number one reason why customers call Clear TV a scam is that it doesn’t do what it claims to do, which is to “receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free" as consumers set their minds up to think so at least. In other words, it’s all a gimmick, and they’re venting their frustration.

This is a completely legitimate complaint, however, because Clear TV only picks up local broadcast (e.g. major) stations, does not add any channels, and has nothing to do with cable. With this in mind, the reality is that you’ll probably only be able to receive 8-10 channels—and even then, numerous reviews claim that the picture quality remains poor.

So here’s the bottom Line: If you’re interested in obtaining free broadcast HD channels and are ready to say good bye to your premium network channels like AMC, Food Network, Travel Channel, HBO, and many more, check to see if your TV already has a built-in ATSC tuner. If not, we’d recommend exploring additional antenna options from another manufacturer, such as the Mohu Leaf or Winegard Flatwave in order to avoid shipping charges.

On top of this, if you’re looking to free yourself from your cable bill, check out our recent Cutting the Cord article. In it, you’ll read about other, less expensive ways of watching premium content, such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, and more.

411 Customer Reviews for Clear TV

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 56 4 stars: 21 3 stars: 17 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 302
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-20 of 411
Sort reviews by:

  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Cheap hunk of plastic

    • by Anonymous,
    • Feb 24, 2015

    When I first got the Clear TV antenna, I had no shipping hassle. However, it received no channels. When I fiddled with the power plug, I found out that it takes off the warning and actually displays static. My TV is from 2012 so I took it apart to try to see what was wrong. It was a big box with a tiny little chip with a blow capacitor in it. I think it's cheap Chinese sobering material and one cable for the so-called antenna. That was a lie because there's no antenna, just IR sensors and flashing lights.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Call your local TV station

    • by Chuck Wells,
    • Veneta, OR,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    How can these people rip off the public with false statements on Clear TV and get away with it? My rabbit ears worked better than this cheap piece of crap! Call your local TV stations and tell them that if they run this ad for Clear TV, you will not watch their station any more. Hit them where it hurts and put a stop to this rip off con artist. I work hard for what little money I earn.

    Trust me as to what the others are saying. You must believe that it's impossible to get a hold of customer service. Don't even waste your time. Just write your review and lay it on thick on how you feel about Clear TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't be a dummy!

    • by Justin,
    • Houston,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    Ok, want to know what you're getting? An antenna, yes a simple TV antenna that has been around since the 1940s. There is nothing special here. Just go to Radio Shack and buy yourself a better antenna. I found a decent one by RCA that has an 80 mile range. This is just a scam. In the Houston area there are about 110 channels available. Unless you speak Spanish or love religious programming, only 20 of the channels are of value.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • by eddie,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Feb 21, 2015

    Digital TV with Clear TV is the greatest. I get almost all the major programs and they even had the last Mayweather fight for free. I don't get channel 8, so I miss some programs like Chargers but I don't mind it because it's free. I don't miss the $80 a month bill.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 10 people found this review helpful

    My Clear TV

    My Clear TV Antenna works!

    All of my channels come in much better than they did when using my converter box. My converter box still needed an extra analog antenna to work. Now with my Clear TV, I don't need anything else.

    The installation was literally what the commercial said it would be. I just connect the Clear TV antenna directly to my TV and my picture was so clear and crisp. Thank you so much Clear TV!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it, it's a scam!

    • by Mike,
    • New York,
    • Feb 9, 2015

    I bought two for $48 and they told me it will arrive in three to four weeks and this was in early December. Now we are in February and still no package from them. There's no help from customer service either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2015

      Adolfo Hernandez

      I thank you for this information, I will take advantage of your bad experience and not repeat it myself. Thanks for sharing your bad experience. I was about to place an order for this item, you are saving me money and frustration.

    • Feb 17, 2015

      Don

      I bought two and have had one up for a year. I get good reception. I get better reception by putting in outside up high. It works great. Only bad weather or aircraft bother it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Save your money!

    • by Rosie,
    • Philipsburg, PA,
    • Feb 9, 2015

    Once again, I should have listened to my husband. He said it was a scam before I ordered Clear TV. The commercials makes everything look so much better than what this antenna actually is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 39 people found this review helpful

    I get no reception

    • by Vera O'Connor,
    • Springfield, MA,
    • Feb 9, 2015

    I must be doing something wrong. Please let me know how I can get TV channels. I am interested in getting local channels. I would appreciate a response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 36 people found this review helpful

    I love Clear TV

    • by Earl Alexander,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    This is a great TV antenna. The product shows the picture just like cable did and works good on a flat screen TV.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    There is no difference between Clear TV and your digital channels on your T.V.

    • by Moises,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 7, 2015

    My TV does this on its own so why pay for Clear TV? I still got cable and it can't be replaced. Clear TV is a scam in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Charged for two

    • by Jose ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 6, 2015

    I am very unhappy with the customer service. I called trying to speak with someone about them charging me over $75. This was a false advertisement! Two for the price of one? Well that's a lie! No one was able to help nor could they find my order account. I was transferred to speak to a manager. Well I waited and then they hung up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 22, 2015

      Mara

      This same thing happened to me: charged $75, for 2 sets. Only received 1 set. I've never been able to get satisfaction in over a year of trying. I would never recommend it even to my worst enemies!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Just way over hyped

    • by Pepper,
    • Iowa,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    Clear TV actually works like most other digital antennas. It will bring in local over the air broadcasts. If you're just looking to add local broadcasts to your TV, then it works. If you think it will replace cable of satellite service you'll be disappointed. The question of would I recommend this to a friend would depend on what the friend was looking for. What's really wrong with this product is the misleading advertising.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    It worked but not anymore

    • by Anne,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 1, 2015

    When I first brought the antenna home, I was able to access about 10 channels and for the most part had great reception.

    Now, it doesn't work at all for some reason. I unplugged it and went through the entire process of installing it again and nothing. I'm thinking that maybe perhaps the signal got worse due to the cold and snowy weather outside.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 59 people found this review helpful

    Don't Bother

    • by Anonymous,
    • Midwest,
    • Jan 31, 2015

    Having heard of this product by word of mouth, I decided to order it knowing the fact that it will not give me any premium channels other than a few "basic" channels. I purchased the product on January 3rd of 2015. I checked the status of delivery a week later and through FEDEX. It stated the estimated delivery date was for the 15th of January.

    I proceeded to call customer service (which by the way, if you can not stand a heavy accent I recommend finding someone with a high amount of patience and stupidity tolerance to call) and was told that it "should arrive within 4 days". I asked if in the event that it does not, will I receive a full refund and the best they offered me on a $35.93 order was just $7.50. Then I proceeded to state that "They could not offer any more than that." I patiently waited, and the 19th rolled on by. I then checked the shipping status and my package had fallen off the grid all together and the estimated delivery date disappeared. Further into the week, it was not until the 27th that I received my package.

    Once received, I tested the product out. I set up the entire system accordingly with the instruction manual provided. In the manual it even stated that you will not receive any more channels than just basic cable. However, on the ad & before you order by phone, it states you will receive thousands of new channels depending on your location.

    I called this morning on January 29th, 2015 and received the worst service by phone ever. I was connected to another representative with a Jamaican accent and received poor assistance. She told me that I would not be able to get my shipping back, which I paid nearly $16.00 for and I would have to pay to return the product. I asked to speak with a manager and I was placed on hold. When someone finally answered, it sounded like the EXACT person that helped me before I was transferred. She tried to sound "native" to the American English language. She failed by the way. And once I started asking more and more questions, she lost control and began to sound like the lady that was supposed to transfer me to the "manager". At least this time the second person told me that I would be issued an RMA#, which by the way you shouldn't waste your time calling because you will rip your hair out. She also informed me that she can email me a return label and if I brought the package back to the post office (NOT FEDEX) I would not need to pay for shipping. I then asked why the previous person was not on the same page, she repeated her default statement for "being able to send the return label through email" and avoided all questions I had. She also blamed me for my location.

    Point of this is that Clear TV has found a country with much poverty, willing to take any job possible to provide economic stability and being used by a wealthier company to provide cheap labor. And with cheap labor you get cheap service.

    1. Employee no. 1 - Alicia (IDB73)
    2. Employee no. 2 - Laquish (B02)

    Good Luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    What a joke

    • by Jay,
    • Columbia, South Carolina ,
    • Jan 30, 2015

    Terrible unit. They lie about everything on their commercials. Very misleading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    • by Mrs Linette Frazier,
    • Hagerstown, MD,
    • Jan 30, 2015

    My husband and I purchased this antenna approximately six months ago. This antenna doesn't work in all areas. We are considered a small town, however it's becoming overly populated. We were thinking we could save money on cable TV services. However, we only get 4 channels and that might be on a good day!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Guess it does work

    • by Nicole,
    • Columbia, SC,
    • Jan 30, 2015

    I saw the commercial on this antenna but never believed it would be a solution to my signal problem. I saw it in the Rite-Aid for $14 and immediately asked myself, why not. I plugged it in and immediately my channels came in clearer. Just this morning I'm trying to watch the Maury show and threw my remote because it was frozen and different antenna positions didn't work. I'm good though because it was worth 14 bucks most definitely. I didn't expect to get extra channels but got about five more to watch. I recommend buying this antenna in store because if it doesn't work for you, it can returned without the hassle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV Sucks

    • by John Masters,
    • South Boston, MA,
    • Jan 29, 2015

    Clear TV just sucks. It's nothing but a scam and does not do what it says it would. I also think it's very cheaply made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Poor on VHF

    • by Jim,
    • Benson, NC,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    This antenna is a minimal performer at best. By itself it does ok on UHF only channels. I added a Winegard Pre-amp to it it made a great difference. Still at best poor performer on VHF only because it received just one channel. It does not come complete as they want extra for cables, an amplifier, ten dollars for a stand. Many companies are now trying to feature novelty Scotch tape type antennas. With some silicone sealer and an extension coax cable you could mount it outside and it would last a few years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV does not work, it's a rip off!

    • by Stephen D Mitchell,
    • Mt. Pleasant, MI,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    I was charged $86.85 for one double order of Clear TV. It would not work for me in my apartment that has only one window facing west. I was charged $31.96 for shipping. I had to pay another $9.41 to return this useless item. Got ripped off for $41.39. Thank you so much for nothing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-20 of 411

Write a review for Clear TV!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review