About Clear TV

Clear TV is an “As Seen on TV” digital antenna that claims to provide you with HD broadcast channels at no charge, other than the cost of the antenna itself. However, “broadcast” means that Clear TV only works with local network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and other local stations, but not with cable channels (see more about this in the following section).

Clear TV has been heavily advertised lately, and appears to be quickly gaining popularity. As a result, you probably just watched a commercial for Clear TV, visited the product’s website, and are excited about all the possibilities this antenna may offer. Before placing your order though, you want to know more, and to read some legitimate online customer reviews. Luckily, you’ve come to the right place. In fact, HighYa has accumulated more than 430 Clear TV reviews since early September 2013.

With this in mind, Clear TV is currently priced at $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second Clear TV antenna for “free,” just pay an additional and $7.99 S&H.

Our Clear TV Review: Does it Actually Work, or Is it a Scam?

Anyway, you’re probably all hyped up, and are eager to learn more about Clear TV—and who could blame you? Who on earth would say no to free HD channels? But here’s the bad news: Unfortunately, most of Clear TV’s customer reviews appear to be negative.

So what’s going on? Does Clear TV really live up to its claims? Allow us to dissect everything for you.

Problem #1: How Clear TV Really Works

In general, Clear TV doesn’t work the way you probably think it does, and here’s why: Tristar, the manufacturer of Clear TV, makes it seem like you could replace many of the services (e.g. programs) you already enjoy with traditional cable, but for free. As an example, here are some quotes taken directly from the promotional video on the product’s website:

“Receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free.”

“Why spend hundreds of dollars a year for cable and satellite, when you can watch broadcast television for free?”

“That’s right! Free digital TV!”

“Bypass cable and satellite…”

…and many more. Unfortunately, the average consumer likely won’t pick up on the important distinction between cable television and broadcast television, which is the main problem. So remember this:

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc. In other words, much like any other antenna, Clear TV will basically just give you access to the signals already floating around in the air. It will not, however, give you access to premium cable channels (e.g. HBO, The Discovery Channel, HGTV, Lifetime, TBS, etc.).

Problem #2: Signal Strength Means Everything

Even if you already understand the difference between broadcast and cable stations, you may not understand that—as with any other type of antenna—the device will only pick up signals from towers located within a specified distance of your home. In the instance of Clear TV, you’re looking at a maximum range of 25-30 miles, which could be a problem if you live in a more rural or remote location.

On top of this, figuring out local antenna locations may not be as straightforward as you would think, either. While the Clear TV website does display a couple links that claim to help with this, the AntennaWeb site is clunky and filled with technical jargon, so we’d recommend avoiding it. However, the FCC link here is much more straightforward, since each station is rated based on strong, moderate, and weak signal strengths. In fact, these ratings are even color-coded to make identification as simple as possible.

Here’s a heads up though: We’ve received some reviews from customers claiming that they checked a channel on one of the above websites prior to ordering. After receiving their Clear TV and installing it, however, they ended up not being able to tune in to that channel after all. So buyer beware.

Problem #3: Why You May Not Need Clear TV

Finally, if you own a television built in 2008 or later, you probably don’t even need a Clear TV antenna in the first place. This is because all TV sets manufactured after this date are required by the government to include a built-in HD antenna (also called an ATSC tuner), which performs the exact same function as Clear TV.

Hint: If you’re unsure whether or not your TV contains an ATSC tuner, this quick article can get you moving in the right direction.

The Bottom Line About Clear TV

The number one reason why customers call Clear TV a scam is that it doesn’t do what it claims to do, which is to “receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free" as consumers set their minds up to think so at least. In other words, it’s all a gimmick, and they’re venting their frustration.

This is a completely legitimate complaint, however, because Clear TV only picks up local broadcast (e.g. major) stations, does not add any channels, and has nothing to do with cable. With this in mind, the reality is that you’ll probably only be able to receive 8-10 channels—and even then, numerous reviews claim that the picture quality remains poor.

So here’s the bottom Line: If you’re interested in obtaining free broadcast HD channels and are ready to say good bye to your premium network channels like AMC, Food Network, Travel Channel, HBO, and many more, check to see if your TV already has a built-in ATSC tuner. If not, we’d recommend exploring additional antenna options from another manufacturer, such as the Mohu Leaf or Winegard Flatwave in order to avoid shipping charges.

On top of this, if you’re looking to free yourself from your cable bill, check out our recent Cutting the Cord article. In it, you’ll read about other, less expensive ways of watching premium content, such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, and more.

SEE ALSO: Secrets that the “As Seen On TV” Industry Doesn’t Want You to Know About

534 Customer Reviews for Clear TV

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 75 4 stars: 31 3 stars: 21 2 stars: 19 1 stars: 388
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 534
Sort reviews by:

  • Okay

    • Baltimore Md,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    This isn't like the advertisement where you get over 100 channels! That's false as most channels don't come in or and out. I've tried to look at the bigger picture but its not what it's cracked up to be. Meaning, just don't believe the hype! You get like 12 channels and maybe 2 work when they want!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No good

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    It knocked out some of my regular stations. Bad product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV stole my money

    • norcross ga,
    • Jul 27, 2015

    No, I would not recommend Clear TV to a friend. It almost seems as if they stole my money. Clear TV did not work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad, avoid seller, scam!

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Jul 27, 2015

    The Clear TV Antennas that were ordered are of terrible quality! I think it's a piece of garbage and doesn't work correctly at all. The Clear TV doesn't receive any channels. I asked them for a return refund when I called and they just try to sell another product of theirs! The seller refuses to pay for shipping back which is almost the price of the product itself. Seller only will refund amount of product, but no shipping price covered.

    BEWARE of this seller as they scammed me for my money. The product is useless and the communication is crap. I honestly think there's no point in calling them since they'll just direct you to buy something else from them. You'll regret it once you buy anything from this seller. Avoid seller at all costs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Cheated and Scammed.

    • Point Roberts, WA,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    Yup. Took my money and did not ship. I'm going to my credit card company for my money. And to the post office to report this SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV HD Antenna

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    This antenna is a piece of junk. My TV reception was worse with the antenna than without. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Selling this antenna is like stealing money.

    • Dallas TX,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    Do not buy this antenna, it does not work and if you want your money back they will not give it back. I hope you will not get caught like me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    What a BAD product, and disgusting Customer Service

    I bought three of these units around Christmas time and kept one and gave two away. It did scan channels. As of a couple of days ago my TV stopped allowing channels. I re-programmed my TV. I got 0 channels. I moved the antenna around 4 times and did the same process. I still get 0 channels. I hooked up my rabbit ears and got channels. That means their product is defective. I called customer service off their website, they wouldn't let me speak and kept asking the same questions that I had already given them the answers to in my description of the problem. Emma, employee number N-21, is not a good customer service representative. I asked for a supervisor. They want me to buy a new one!

    I do not recommend this product. If you go to Lowes or a big hardware store, they have a better one for a little bit more money. I hope before you buy this product you read the reviews and see how little stars they have on their reviews. I will not recommend this product to another person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    They stole my money!

    • Duluth, GA,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    We ordered this product in March and it is now July and we still have not yet received the product. Not only that, but they took 45 dollars out of our account claiming that it was for shipping and handling and we just got a call from them asking us if we like our product. We asked them what they are talking about and then they proceeded to tell us that we don't have the Clear TV Antenna because now our card was declined. How was our card declined when it shows that they took the money out?

    These people are a bunch of liars. If you don't want your bank account stolen, do not order anything from them. I just went to their official website where I ordered the two antennas and the shipping and handling was supposed to be $7.95 for each. How did that come out to be $45 originally?

    We made another call and they assured us our money was already there two days later yet the antenna is still not there. I guess I'll never see my money again. Don't make my mistake by ordering from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 29, 2015

      Lisa

      Lisa if I were you I would sue them. The website advertised Clear TV to be $7.95 per antenna. You purchased 2 antennas so you should of only been charged 15.90 for the antennas plus shipping (which I highly doubt it cost 29.00 for shipping). So not only should you sue for false advertisement due to what you were charged as opposed to the advertised price, but you should also sue them for taking your money for a product you paid for 4 months ago and never received.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't get this product

    • Jul 15, 2015

    I have two Clear TV antennas and bought my son one. He lives across from me. We live in a small trailer court. All I can say is "terrible!" First of all, you can't just hook it up to your TV. We got nothing. We had to connect it through a digital converter box. At first we got 10 channels which was cool because they were regular programs that we liked such as: Fox44-2, CVS44-1, Fox71, Bounce TV72, and MeTV. Yes, it's only five channels but they are the ones we always watch.

    Everyday I have to adjust the antenna. A hair this way or a hair that way because the channel would lose signal, or it would, what I call it, hiccup. While watching the content, the words cut out, then come back and forth, hiccup. It was just driving me half insane. I'm in a wheelchair so as you can imagine, this is a very big pain in my butt, not to mention the pain it causes my back, right leg and right hip. I'm 62. This isn't funny but I still get my channels. I finally found a place where the signal is strong, my bedroom. This is not what I was promised, but I can live with this, the pictures are clear.

    Now, let's go to my front room. I have a big screen TV in there. The Same issues are there as the ones that occur in my bedroom. I had to get another digital converter box, but up there, I got more channels. Cool, right? Nope. After doing all of this, something happened and I don't know what, but now I can only get two channels, 44-1 and 44-2. That's it. No matter were I moved the antenna, not one channel. I couldn't sit in the front room because of no TV. I'm stuck now in my bedroom all the time. I'm thrilled about that (sarcasm).

    So to add to the fire (oh, yes, it gets even worse), I called them yesterday to see if maybe the antenna might have just stopped working and the man was very rude. He kept insisting that in my area we could only get three channels. I then asked him why is it that I'm getting more channels in my bedroom. He kept raising his voice at me saying that all you can get, no matter what, are those three channels. Finally after he pissed me off, I asked to talk to a supervisor, he said he'd get me one but then he hung up on me. I'm glad I was not close to that man. I think I could have hurt him seriously. I still only get two channels on my big screen TV. I am not a happy camper.

    Don't waste your money, friends. To me this seems like a huge rip-off. This is a company that has false advertisement and customer reps who are rude and won't help you solve a problem. Don't get this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Mechanicsville, Iowa,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I have the Clear TV antenna and it isn't what it is cracked up to be. Channel's come in when they want to. Having satellite TV seems to be something a lot better. And I recommend don't waste your money on it. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2015

      Bruce

      I bought my Clear TV at Walgreens at Christmas time. I actually bought 1 for myself and 2 for a friend. I have been using it since Christmas time and the other day my channels were not accessible on my TV. I place the unit in four different places in my apartment and got 0 channels. I called customer service off of their website and explained this to them that their unit I have is defective. They are unwilling to make good on their product. They wanted me to buy another one. I will not recommend this product to anyone else going forward. Their customer service sucks! I WILL NOT recommend this product to anyone, and beware of the company selling these.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 534

Write a review for Clear TV!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review