About Clear TV

Clear TV is an “As Seen on TV” digital antenna that claims to provide you with HD broadcast channels at no charge, other than the cost of the antenna itself. However, “broadcast” means that Clear TV only works with local network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and other local stations, but not with cable channels (see more about this in the following section).

Clear TV has been heavily advertised lately, and appears to be quickly gaining popularity. As a result, you probably just watched a commercial for Clear TV, visited the product’s website, and are excited about all the possibilities this antenna may offer. Before placing your order though, you want to know more, and to read some legitimate online customer reviews. Luckily, you’ve come to the right place. In fact, HighYa has accumulated more than 430 Clear TV reviews since early September 2013.

With this in mind, Clear TV is currently priced at $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second Clear TV antenna for “free,” just pay an additional and $7.99 S&H.

Our Clear TV Review: Does it Actually Work, or Is it a Scam?

Anyway, you’re probably all hyped up, and are eager to learn more about Clear TV—and who could blame you? Who on earth would say no to free HD channels? But here’s the bad news: Unfortunately, most of Clear TV’s customer reviews appear to be negative.

So what’s going on? Does Clear TV really live up to its claims? Allow us to dissect everything for you.

Problem #1: How Clear TV Really Works

In general, Clear TV doesn’t work the way you probably think it does, and here’s why: Tristar, the manufacturer of Clear TV, makes it seem like you could replace many of the services (e.g. programs) you already enjoy with traditional cable, but for free. As an example, here are some quotes taken directly from the promotional video on the product’s website:

“Receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free.”

“Why spend hundreds of dollars a year for cable and satellite, when you can watch broadcast television for free?”

“That’s right! Free digital TV!”

“Bypass cable and satellite…”

…and many more. Unfortunately, the average consumer likely won’t pick up on the important distinction between cable television and broadcast television, which is the main problem. So remember this:

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc. In other words, much like any other antenna, Clear TV will basically just give you access to the signals already floating around in the air. It will not, however, give you access to premium cable channels (e.g. HBO, The Discovery Channel, HGTV, Lifetime, TBS, etc.).

Problem #2: Signal Strength Means Everything

Even if you already understand the difference between broadcast and cable stations, you may not understand that—as with any other type of antenna—the device will only pick up signals from towers located within a specified distance of your home. In the instance of Clear TV, you’re looking at a maximum range of 25-30 miles, which could be a problem if you live in a more rural or remote location.

On top of this, figuring out local antenna locations may not be as straightforward as you would think, either. While the Clear TV website does display a couple links that claim to help with this, the AntennaWeb site is clunky and filled with technical jargon, so we’d recommend avoiding it. However, the FCC link here is much more straightforward, since each station is rated based on strong, moderate, and weak signal strengths. In fact, these ratings are even color-coded to make identification as simple as possible.

Here’s a heads up though: We’ve received some reviews from customers claiming that they checked a channel on one of the above websites prior to ordering. After receiving their Clear TV and installing it, however, they ended up not being able to tune in to that channel after all. So buyer beware.

Problem #3: Why You May Not Need Clear TV

Finally, if you own a television built in 2008 or later, you probably don’t even need a Clear TV antenna in the first place. This is because all TV sets manufactured after this date are required by the government to include a built-in HD antenna (also called an ATSC tuner), which performs the exact same function as Clear TV.

Hint: If you’re unsure whether or not your TV contains an ATSC tuner, this quick article can get you moving in the right direction.

The Bottom Line About Clear TV

The number one reason why customers call Clear TV a scam is that it doesn’t do what it claims to do, which is to “receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free" as consumers set their minds up to think so at least. In other words, it’s all a gimmick, and they’re venting their frustration.

This is a completely legitimate complaint, however, because Clear TV only picks up local broadcast (e.g. major) stations, does not add any channels, and has nothing to do with cable. With this in mind, the reality is that you’ll probably only be able to receive 8-10 channels—and even then, numerous reviews claim that the picture quality remains poor.

So here’s the bottom Line: If you’re interested in obtaining free broadcast HD channels and are ready to say good bye to your premium network channels like AMC, Food Network, Travel Channel, HBO, and many more, check to see if your TV already has a built-in ATSC tuner. If not, we’d recommend exploring additional antenna options from another manufacturer, such as the Mohu Leaf or Winegard Flatwave in order to avoid shipping charges.

On top of this, if you’re looking to free yourself from your cable bill, check out our recent Cutting the Cord article. In it, you’ll read about other, less expensive ways of watching premium content, such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, and more.

465 Customer Reviews for Clear TV

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 65 4 stars: 28 3 stars: 18 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 339
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 465
Sort reviews by:

  • Just bad.

    • by deaszia morris,
    • york pa,
    • Apr 23, 2015

    This antenna is just plain bad. It did not work for as I had hoped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Happy customer

    I'm happy with me Clear TV. I have it installed in a few locations in my home. Excellent reception. Average of 16 clear channels including local news channels. I was paying $69.00 a month for a particular satellite company, but, no more... I'm very pleased.

    P.S. I was searching the web just as I came across this review site. My goal is to purchase a few more units for gifts for friends who can't believe what they are seeing when viewing my Clear TV in my home. I normally do not review products, but this has proved to be a winner for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I'm very impressed...

    • by Matt Bowman,
    • Yerington NV,
    • Apr 22, 2015

    I knew from the get go that this TV antenna would only bring in a few TV channels due to my location. I'm 80 miles out of Reno NV. I get 4 channels. Clear? YES. Clear as the HD that I had in my last home.

    I plan on getting either cable or satellite soon. Until I do, I'm completely happy with my 4 channels.

    I bought 4 antennas. I'll throw one into my RV after I get onto a subscribed service. The others I'll give away to other RV'ers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • by Rachel,
    • Madison, WI,
    • Apr 20, 2015

    Don't buy the Clear TV Antenna. It doesn't do anything because I already had the same channels with just the flat screen TV. I think it's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I like it but it just needs one thing

    • by David W,
    • Lemoore, CA,
    • Apr 20, 2015

    Everything is good and I get about 30 channels including FOX with this Clear TV. The only discrepancy I have is the amplifier should have came with the antenna, but over all it's good for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • by Roger Cherry,
    • Papillion, Nebraska,
    • Apr 15, 2015

    This Clear TV is junk. All I could get is voice/audio on one channel only.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Wouldnt recommend.

    • by Jose Ramirez,
    • Placerville, CA,
    • Apr 14, 2015

    We initially bought one Clear TV Antenna at the local Wal-mart. My mother was intrigued by the commercial. She bought it, we programmed it in the living room, and NOTHING happened. We live in a two story house. She plugged it into the TV in her room on the second floor and she can now view about 4 to 6 channels. However, at certain times of the day you cannot watch one of those channels without it cutting out. She purchased another one for my aunt but never gave it to her so I plugged it into my TV. My room faces the opposite way that her's does. It shows about three channels but never clear. The signal comes and goes. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • by Zaira,
    • Santa Paula, CA,
    • Apr 14, 2015

    I bought one antenna and I connected it to my TV. It turns out that no channels were found! I called customer service and they said only two channels were going to be seen because of where I live in my area! Why didn't they say that at the beginning? I do not recommend buying it and you do not get your money back from the shipping charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It sucks

    • by Tina,
    • Washington, D.C.,
    • Apr 13, 2015

    You do not get more than 10 channels and four of them are in Spanish. I can not get local news at Fox5. I believe the advertisement is fake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    People, it's a digital antenna.

    • by Drew Williams,
    • Seattle, Washington,
    • Apr 11, 2015

    That's all it is. They've got them at Walmart, Target, and a million other places. It's an antenna at the same price as 1000 other digital antennas. And to get "HDTV", you've got to have an HDTV television set. Hope you got one!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Antenna review or opinion

    • by James,
    • Hobbs, NM,
    • Apr 11, 2015

    I wrote the 1st & original antenna review over on amazon.com & I stand behind it BECAUSE it's a channel-master 3020 outdoor antenna with a pre-amp & rotor. This Clear TV antenna might do some of the things like this article says it will do & would probably work better if it included a pre-amp signal amplifier and a matching transformer for older TV sets. But as the article states its won't bring-in HBO, Hulu, Showtime, & other PPV cable or PPV satellite stations. Neither will a Channel Master, Winegard or RCA outdoor antenna! They aren't built that way or for that purpose. The most a person will get out of this is local stations like the article states such as: PBS, ABC, CBS, Fox, TBN, NBC, & in some areas now: Me-TV & some Hispanic & movie channels as well.

    But keep in mind that whether you have cable, satellite, or just antenna - you are most-likely have 1 person or 2 to 4 people watching one TV set & all of you at one time can only watch the same station, unless you're in a metropolitan area & have 2 or more TV sets in your home. Then several people could watch more stations at one time because of more TV sets in the household. So no-matter whether it's a cable company or a company like Clear TV or Amazon telling you that you can get X-AMOUNT of stations with their antenna - you'll still be able to view one channel at a time.

    Now that TV stations are required to broadcast in HDTV, your chances of getting more stations will be in a large city or metropolitan area. And a set of rabbit ears from Walmart or Amazon & an HDTV receiver if your TV needs one will be all you need.

    The only thing I see nice about this unit is that it uses suction cups to attach to a glass window or sliding door & doesn't need to sit on-top of a TV set or near the TV set. But that's it. So use your head & don't buy into the hype. Read reviews from all over, whether it's reviews from this site or amazon's site - don't just buy into the manufacturers reviews. They're the one's who will be getting or have gotten your money already & they have answers for their product description. Sure Amazon, Walmart & other sites may sugar-coat the description a little more, but they don't make the antenna, they make money off of you though.

    And as far as recommending this item to a family member or friend - that would depend on whether they live in a city or not & how many people in the household will be trying to be use the same TV set & antenna, as well as the type of programming they're expecting or wanting to receive. Because if they're wanting something like HBO, Showtime & or MTV, CNBC, etc. then NO, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. But if a person is just wanting to pick-up local broadcasts & maybe FM radio stations then I'd say it might be all right. But then again, a $10.00 set of rabbit ears from Amazon or eBay would be just as good too. It all depends on the consumer's wants/needs really. So again, use your better judgment when buying any antenna.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 465

Write a review for Clear TV!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review