About Clear TV

Clear TV is an “As Seen on TV” digital antenna that claims to provide you with HD broadcast channels at no charge, other than the cost of the antenna itself. However, “broadcast” means that Clear TV only works with local network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and other local stations, but not with cable channels (see more about this in the following section).

Clear TV has been heavily advertised lately, and appears to be quickly gaining popularity. As a result, you probably just watched a commercial for Clear TV, visited the product’s website, and are excited about all the possibilities this antenna may offer. Before placing your order though, you want to know more, and to read some legitimate online customer reviews. Luckily, you’ve come to the right place. In fact, HighYa has accumulated more than 430 Clear TV reviews since early September 2013.

With this in mind, Clear TV is currently priced at $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second Clear TV antenna for “free,” just pay an additional and $7.99 S&H.

Our Clear TV Review: Does it Actually Work, or Is it a Scam?

Anyway, you’re probably all hyped up, and are eager to learn more about Clear TV—and who could blame you? Who on earth would say no to free HD channels? But here’s the bad news: Unfortunately, most of Clear TV’s customer reviews appear to be negative.

So what’s going on? Does Clear TV really live up to its claims? Allow us to dissect everything for you.

Problem #1: How Clear TV Really Works

In general, Clear TV doesn’t work the way you probably think it does, and here’s why: Tristar, the manufacturer of Clear TV, makes it seem like you could replace many of the services (e.g. programs) you already enjoy with traditional cable, but for free. As an example, here are some quotes taken directly from the promotional video on the product’s website:

“Receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free.”

“Why spend hundreds of dollars a year for cable and satellite, when you can watch broadcast television for free?”

“That’s right! Free digital TV!”

“Bypass cable and satellite…”

…and many more. Unfortunately, the average consumer likely won’t pick up on the important distinction between cable television and broadcast television, which is the main problem. So remember this:

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc. In other words, much like any other antenna, Clear TV will basically just give you access to the signals already floating around in the air. It will not, however, give you access to premium cable channels (e.g. HBO, The Discovery Channel, HGTV, Lifetime, TBS, etc.).

Problem #2: Signal Strength Means Everything

Even if you already understand the difference between broadcast and cable stations, you may not understand that—as with any other type of antenna—the device will only pick up signals from towers located within a specified distance of your home. In the instance of Clear TV, you’re looking at a maximum range of 25-30 miles, which could be a problem if you live in a more rural or remote location.

On top of this, figuring out local antenna locations may not be as straightforward as you would think, either. While the Clear TV website does display a couple links that claim to help with this, the AntennaWeb site is clunky and filled with technical jargon, so we’d recommend avoiding it. However, the FCC link here is much more straightforward, since each station is rated based on strong, moderate, and weak signal strengths. In fact, these ratings are even color-coded to make identification as simple as possible.

Here’s a heads up though: We’ve received some reviews from customers claiming that they checked a channel on one of the above websites prior to ordering. After receiving their Clear TV and installing it, however, they ended up not being able to tune in to that channel after all. So buyer beware.

Problem #3: Why You May Not Need Clear TV

Finally, if you own a television built in 2008 or later, you probably don’t even need a Clear TV antenna in the first place. This is because all TV sets manufactured after this date are required by the government to include a built-in HD antenna (also called an ATSC tuner), which performs the exact same function as Clear TV.

Hint: If you’re unsure whether or not your TV contains an ATSC tuner, this quick article can get you moving in the right direction.

The Bottom Line About Clear TV

The number one reason why customers call Clear TV a scam is that it doesn’t do what it claims to do, which is to “receive hundreds of crystal clear digital and HD shows for free" as consumers set their minds up to think so at least. In other words, it’s all a gimmick, and they’re venting their frustration.

This is a completely legitimate complaint, however, because Clear TV only picks up local broadcast (e.g. major) stations, does not add any channels, and has nothing to do with cable. With this in mind, the reality is that you’ll probably only be able to receive 8-10 channels—and even then, numerous reviews claim that the picture quality remains poor.

So here’s the bottom Line: If you’re interested in obtaining free broadcast HD channels and are ready to say good bye to your premium network channels like AMC, Food Network, Travel Channel, HBO, and many more, check to see if your TV already has a built-in ATSC tuner. If not, we’d recommend exploring additional antenna options from another manufacturer, such as the Mohu Leaf or Winegard Flatwave in order to avoid shipping charges.

On top of this, if you’re looking to free yourself from your cable bill, check out our recent Cutting the Cord article. In it, you’ll read about other, less expensive ways of watching premium content, such as Netflix, Hulu Plus, and more.

437 Customer Reviews for Clear TV

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 59 4 stars: 24 3 stars: 17 2 stars: 15 1 stars: 322
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 437
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    It's a bad antenna

    • by Pete,
    • Arizona,
    • Mar 24, 2015

    This is just a waste of time, it's true what other ones are posting here. IT DOSE NOT WORK. I tried in all the rooms and in different areas and nothing. I hope I'll get my money back. And yes, you end up paying more than what they announce on TV. I had to rate it a 1 star, but it's a -5 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I'm happy with Clear TV.

    I'm happy with it. The only thing is that some rooms pick up more channels than others. Otherwise, I like it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV Antenna experience

    • by Tracy,
    • Holbrook, MA,
    • Mar 22, 2015

    This antenna is the worst thing ever in my opinion. Every night I have to move the antenna around to receive my stations. Quite often while I'm watching TV, I have to get up several times to move it around to find a signal and I actually live within five miles of a tower!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Not too good

    • by Glenn Munsch,
    • New Smyrna Beach, FL,
    • Mar 15, 2015

    I think it's terrible. I got more channels with a regular set of Rabbit ears instead of Clear TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV is the big scam.

    • by Ed Vargas,
    • East Fishkill, New York,
    • Mar 14, 2015

    In one word, it sucks! I bought one antenna and tried it with all of my seven TVs and it didn't work. It is the biggest waste of time because I lost half of the day from TV to TV and no signal. This is one of the biggest scams ever. My question is why does the Government let these companies put all these lies on TV and scam the people?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend Clear TV to anybody

    • by CJ,
    • Ohio,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    Clear TV is a scam and not worth a rating. The antenna you receive does not even look like the one they advertise on TV. I only get eight channels with it. I bought a different antenna from Walmart for $9.99 and get twice as many channels.

    Clear TV has the worst customer service ever! They're very rude and appear to be mostly foreigners who give other educated foreigners who have their stuff together a bad name. Go figure? Save your money and what ever you do not recommend it to anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not real!

    • by Kayla,
    • Grand Junction, CO,
    • Mar 12, 2015

    Do not waste your money on this junk! Clear TV gives you two channels and even then, they are constantly going in and out! Horrible!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    It works but for the seller

    • by Julio,
    • Stamford, CT,
    • Mar 12, 2015

    This Clear TV Antenna works for the seller. I ordered the antenna with the special deal of getting an extra one for the price for free. You only have to pay shipping and handling for the additional antenna bring the total price with tax to $38.21.

    When the Clear TV Antenna arrived it was tried in every room of the apartment and it didn't work. It would only pick around five channels at most (I live approximately 25 miles from NYC). I decided to return it and get a RA first. The rep tells me that I will only get $7.00 as credit and I can keep the items instead of returning it. I told her that I will mail the package back to them. The total amount refunded will be $19.95. So, this item works real good for the seller because they make a profit just on the shipping and handling without the antenna ever needing to working. Don't try it unless they promise you a full refund including shipping and handling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Clear TV does not work as expected.

    • by Anonymous,
    • Macon, GA,
    • Mar 8, 2015

    This would not pickup all the local channels! I bought another digital antenna from Walmart and it worked better. Clear TV kept losing the signal also. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • by Kim,
    • Santa Rosa, CA,
    • Mar 8, 2015

    I live in a large city near broadcast towers. I still only received two channels with Clear TV Antenna and they kept jumping around. Don't buy this antenna.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    It's OK

    • by Charlotte Tomblin,
    • Naples, Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2015

    My mother in law bought us this Clear TV antenna off of the Home Shopping Channel. The commercial where the guy has cable in the middle of the ocean is far fetched. The manual recommends putting the antenna near a window. We have it going up the wall, almost as high as the ceiling in the middle of the room and it has picked up 17 channels.

    This is better than what we had, which picked up zero channels. Clear TV is not perfect but can be a temporary solution. When the weather is bad or when it's during a peak time, we seem to lose a signal, the channel cuts out, or goes off altogether. However, for what little TV we actually watch, this will do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 437

Write a review for Clear TV!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review