39 Consumer Reviews for Bowflex MAX Trainer - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Wow! Not sure how else to put it.

    • Womelsdorf, PA,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before purchasing, I was going to the Y with my wife. We didn't want to buy any expensive equipment unless we were ready.

    After working out for about 6 months doing 30 minutes on their elliptical, summer was coming and that meant more work and less time for us so we purchased the M5 and quit the gym. They claimed this machine would do the same work out in 15 minutes that we could do in 30 minutes on other machines.

    It only took about one week to receive it and I put it together myself. If you read the directions it's like putting together a piece of furniture. Not difficult but I am mechanically inclined so it may have been easier for me.

    The first time on my wife could not push the peddles to go. She is little and is used to the machines that are very loose shall I say. I got on and figured out after pressing the program you want, you have to put your wait on one side to get it to go. After that it is easy. However, the program is not. Your feet move differently than other ellipticals, not harder or easier, just different than the ones at the Y. I did the 15 minute weight loss and when I am done, I have never been worked so hard. It beats the 30 minutes I was doing hands down. I really love it!

    I will say also I think it provides just as much strength as weight loss. I have never felt this strong before. The price is up there and that is the bad part but if you think you will use it regularly than it is worth it. It is without a doubt the most durable machine I have ever had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 20 people found this review helpful

    It's working for me.

    • Wellington, FL,
    • Oct 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased the Max M7, so far it's working for me. My Cardio endurance is way up from where it was. My weight is coming down, 235 to 223 over about 5 weeks and I feel a whole lot better.

    Beyond using this machine, and just watching what I eat using MyFitnessPal on my iPhone, it's working for me.

    Setup was straightforward, the hardest part was getting the boxes upstairs. Also, it's not the cheapest at $2100, but you can spread that out over a couple years if you want to, interest free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Harold Brown

      I have plenty of time to work out!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bowflex MAX 3

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got the Max 3 on December 21, 2016. The Wife and I put it together, and the manual was a great help, and easy to understand.

    I am a full-time scuba diver and work my legs hard under water, and I don't drink or smoke ever, and after just five minutes on the Max 3 my legs were on fire. Wow.

    The RPMS the calorie counting for me is cool. This Max 3 is 100% worth every dollar, thanks Bowflex. Order under Candy Newman, VA.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product so far!

    • Florida,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the M5 on November 29th, 2016, and it arrived on December 10th.

    The assembly was straightforward and took about 90 minutes with my daughter helping me. It does help to have an assistant as the first few steps are assembling heavy parts. Don't waste your money paying for assembly.

    The machine is smooth but was difficult at first. I started at Level 1 for 14 minutes without a program or intervals just to get used to the machine. Level 1 for 14 minutes wore me out. After a month, I am now using the Max program on Level 3, but struggle to get to the recommended burn rate. This machine is great at pushing you to move to higher and higher levels. It is definitely a workout, and I have lots of levels to go.

    I like the flexibility of using it whenever I want, and 14 minutes for an intense workout can be worked in somewhere in my day pretty much every day. I am encouraged that I am able to increase my intensity level at the beginning of each week.

    The machine is sturdy and well-built, and as long as it holds together, I look forward to many more intense workouts. I highly recommend it if you are short on time and want a great workout.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • New York,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had my Bowflex MAX Trainer for two weeks now, and at first, I thought I made a huge mistake buying this because I could barely move the peddles! I'm pretty out of shape and a little overweight. But I'm up to 30 minutes now and have successfully nailed the 14-minute max interval.

    It has started squeaking a tad, but I'm not concerned. Shipping was really fast. We received it in a week and with the promotion running got free shipping. I can't wait to see my 30-day results!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Great machine

    • Concord, CA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a retired Physical Education teacher, and I am familiar with many kinds of exercise equipment and have owned treadmills, ski machines, and Exerbikes. The Bowflex Max Trainer is the best exercise device I have ever used. It's very sturdy and is a lot of fun to use, and you can get it all done in 14 minutes. It's a dream machine if you are concerned with fitness.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    From an elliptical to a M3 Trainer

    I'm 75 years young. I had an elliptical for the past eight years and I could work out on it for an hour or more. I wanted a change, so I purchased the Bowflex M3 Trainer.

    I had it now for a month. I couldn't get past five minutes the first week. Wow. But after two weeks I now run through the Max twice a day, at the max setting of 14 minutes, and I really like it. I did get a squeaking sound after the second week, but I used my vacuum to blow it out and little bits of form came out of it was from the packing in the box. The squeaking is gone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    If you're gonna have one machine, this is it!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am at Level 4-5 for 14 minutes! I love the machine and the energy it gives me after a workout. It doesn't take a lot of space, so it's perfect for someone who has an apartment.

    I own M7 and yes it isn't cheap, but the quality is superb and worth it! I'm 36, and my mom is 63, and we both use it. She has slowly increased her resistance and time as well and is loving it. She started from 2-3 minutes at Level 1, having no prior experience with any kind of exercise equipment. Now she is at 10 minutes at Level 3. Her strength and overall fitness are improving noticeably.

    I can't say enough good things about this machine. It is especially good if you don't have a lot of time to spend on your cardio. I have two small children, but I can always find 15 minutes to get this done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Challenging cardio

    • Boca Raton, FL,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like others, I found my first uses of the machine quite challenging. I have always been a jogger and used ellipticals and treadmills in between shorter runs outside...5K. I was using different muscles, and it takes a little while to get into the groove. There is a fast learning curve once your muscles adapt, maybe 4-5 workouts over 2 weeks. Then you can work on building your intensity. I keep the resistance handle 1 or 2 clicks away from easiest.

    I am on the M3. The wide pedals allow the lateral core to get some workout and interval training is more challenging on the M3 compared with treadmills because the resistance is more of a challenge. I believe this M3 is a good buy and I have heard some sounds, but I listen to music so I am not bothered.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Georgetown, KY,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 60 years old, 280 lbs, I'm out of shape. I sit a lot because I drive a truck. Not much physical activity. And as time goes by, my activity level is declining. So, I'm trying and lose some weight and get in shape. I saw the commercial for the Max Trainer and thought it looked like something I could do.

    So I read about it and then called them. They recommended the M5. It arrived in about three or four days. It was easy to put together. The first time on it, I was only able to about one minute. I thought oh crap, I wasted my money because I'm not going to be able to do this. The next time was three minutes. Then five minutes. Then I increased by 15 seconds every day until I got to six minutes. In my third week, I was doing the 14-minute max interval work out. In four weeks, I lost ten pounds.

    So I'm happy with my purchase. I don't have time to go to the gym. People that spend an hour in the gym may not like this machine. I do. It fits my schedule and is exceeding my expectations.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good aerobic results, no change in weight. I feel terrific!

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the M6 on the Thanksgiving sale - I did the assembly myself, and I think most people could put it together.

    I am male, 58, 5'11, about 195 lbs.

    Overall, I really like the machine. I have set a goal to work out every day for the 14 minutes as advertised. I downloaded the app and I have had done about 25 consecutive days now, and a total of about 30 sessions in the past 6 weeks. So pretty much every day.

    I started off with limited resistance and now I do the 14 minutes with level 14 resistance. Its a really tough workout and it takes at least 30 mins to cool down completely. Heart rate peaks around 140.

    The results are interesting, I feel really good from an aerobic standpoint - lots of energy, clear thinking, never out of breath, better sleep, tighter butt...so there is an immediate impact on those areas.

    However, I have had no weight change at all. In fact, I have put a few pounds on. (Note: this was also Xmas period.)

    My app says I am burning an extra 1800 calories a week doing the workouts. Each workout burns about 275 calories for me. With that, I would have expected some change in weight.

    Obviously, what you eat has a much bigger impact on your weight than the exercise benefit on this machine. I am going to continue doing it as long as I can and see if the weight changes.

    As a reference, I am not particularly overweight, but I was hoping to tone up and lose a few pounds around the middle.

    I have had no injuries or pain from using the machine. My knees are too fragile to allow me to run or jog, so this machine is ideal. No shoulder pain or any negatives from using the machine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 39

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review