About Bye Bye Foundation

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Mar 21, 2016

Since the rise of BB Creams, those wondrous five-in-one potions that were touted by magazines around the world as the next holy grail, it seems as if every cosmetic product is stepping up to promise more, more, more.

And Bye Bye Foundation is no exception. IT Cosmetics calls the product a “Full Coverage Moisturizer,” and claims that it infuses moisture, blurs away flaws, and protects from sun damage in one simple step.

The brand also claims that Bye Bye Foundation goes beyond making you look beautiful in the moment, by creating visible improvement in your skin that lasts – even after the foundation is washed off.

IT Cosmetics founder Jamie Kern Lima states that the IT Cosmetics line was inspired by her own struggles in the makeup chair while working as a news anchor in her early twenties. The result, according to Lima, is an innovative line of products that starts as cutting-edge skincare – without sacrificing performance and coverage.

Bye Bye, Foundation?

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation is designed to cover dark spots, fine lines, pores, acne and imperfections - and claims to do so “INSTANTLY!”

What else, you ask? Pulled straight from their website: “And is clinically shown to last all day.”

Let’s sidebar for a moment. There are many new claims of advanced formulas that can make your trip to the cosmetics section a confusing experience. If you’re buying foundation at all, chances are, you’d like to look your best.

However, like many shoppers, you don’t want to throw your money at a product simply because it’s pricier or makes bigger promises. This is, in essence, why we at Highya review product claims from an objective standpoint.

So, before we look any further at IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation, I’d like to point out (objectively):

  • EVERY foundation since the use of white lead (circa the 1500s) has covered dark spots, fine lines, pores, acne, and imperfections.
  • Claiming that a product is “clinically shown to last all day” covers up a lack of actual scientific proof better than any cosmetic could do for a complexion – it’s pure fluff for two reasons. First, the statement skirts real validation by using “shown” instead of “proven.” Second, not all clinical trials are created equal, and results may be subject to a considerable amount of bias.

Still there? Great! Let’s get back to it.

In Just 10 Minutes & Just 10 Days

As we’ve just explored, IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Foundation promises to… act as a foundation. Here are some other things it claims to do:

In “Just 10 Minutes,” Bye Bye Foundation claims to increase your skin hydration by 79%. Interestingly, the percentage to which it “increases skin’s hydration” is the exact same as how many test subjects reported more supple skin – 79%.

So, within 10 minutes of using Bye Bye Foundation, your skin will either feel 79% more moisturized or 78 other people will also feel slight additional suppleness at the same time.

Moving on, in “Just 10 Days,” Bye Bye Foundation claims to create visible improvement in your skin’s smoothness, including texture improvement (which sounds redundant, but is stated separately), and a reduction in wrinkles.

It’s So Good, You Can Sleep in It

Never to sleep in your makeup is so ingrained in our idea of good grooming habits, that it’s become trendy for cosmetics companies to claim that you can do otherwise as a show of how gentle or great their product is.

IT Cosmetics claims that you can do the same with Bye Bye Foundation. However, they don’t explicitly state that doing so won’t clog pores or cause breakouts. Besides, there are more good reasons to wash your face at night than just removing makeup!

So, while you most certainly can sleep in Bye Bye Foundation, you could also sleep in heels. Is either a good idea? Likely not.

Finally, Bye Bye Foundation Promises Full Coverage Sun Protection

IT Cosmetics claims that their foundation is also a mineral-based UVA/UVB SPF 50 sunscreen – insinuating that you can skip the extra step of applying a separate sunscreen.

This is a dangerous claim, and certainly not great for the long-term health of your skin. As we’ve previously reported, a dab of your foundation isn't the same as the amount of sunscreen you'd slather on your face.

Additionally, makeup wears off during the day, and chances are you aren't religiously reapplying the way you should with sunscreen. And why would you? Bye Bye Foundation has been clinically shown to stay on all day.

» Related: Best Face Sunscreen Buying Guide

Let’s Talk IT Cosmetics Technology

How does Bye Bye Foundation help you achieve sudden and lasting skin suppleness? With their 3D Skin Flex Technology – exclusive to IT Cosmetics, of course.

As taken directly from the website, IT Cosmetics claims that their 3D Skin Flex Technology targets your skin issues on three levels:

  • It Corrects - Within the skin’s surface, a proven blend of powerful anti-aging ingredients - such as peptides, hyaluronic acid, & hydrolyzed collagen - infuse moisture and help correct the look of aging skin.
  • It Perfects - At the surface, light diffusing pigments cover and perfect the look of your skin, and they flex so they move with you. They're designed not to crease or crack.
  • It Protects - On the top of your skin is a broad-spectrum, mineral-based, 50+ (physical, not chemical) SPF sunscreen to help protect your skin from the sun.

Peptides, hyaluronic acid, and hydrolyzed collagen can be found in many anti-aging products, thanks to their collagen-boosting effects. However, IT Cosmetics doesn’t disclose the percentage of each used, so there’s no telling the potency of any anti-aging ingredients in Bye Bye Foundation’s formula.

What about perfects and protects? We can’t speak to the “perfects,” as each individual’s preferences for foundation coverage will vary. However, as mentioned above, it is imperative for your skin’s health that you not rely on a foundation for complete sun protection – no matter how high an SPF they claim.

Bye Bye Foundation Test

» For more product tests and tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

Let’s Not Forget the FDA

While we’re inspecting claims, this seems an opportune moment to mention something we touch on in many of our articles: It is against FDA regulations for a product classified as a cosmetic to create real and lasting change in your skin.

“As long as anti-aging products include the disclaimer that they’re not ‘intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease,’ manufacturers can basically make any claim they like, without having to support these claims with a single shred of evidence or to show that they’re safe to use. In fact, the FDA doesn’t get involved until enough people have complained about a specific product, at which point the legal process begins.”

How Much Does Bye Bye Foundation Cost?

Bye Bye Foundation is available in four shades: fair, medium, tan, and rich, and can be purchased at www.tryitnow.com.

However, you can’t purchase this single product alone.

Instead, IT Cosmetics forces potential customers to purchase one of two cosmetics collections:

  • Your Most Beautiful You Collection ($49.95): This five-piece kit also includes two bonus products, totaling seven. Each of the products are pictured, but not named, so for accuracy I’ll refrain from doing so.
  • Beautiful You Collection ($39.95): This kit advertises you’ll buy only the foundation, with an additional four products for free.

Customers are also rewarded with an additional two gifts, a blush and brush, before checkout.

Customers also have the option to customize their own makeup kits. However, orders for custom kits must be placed by calling 888-922-0487.

But, That’s Not All

The cost of each kit does not include shipping and handling. It does include a membership to IT Cosmetics autoship program, however!

All IT Cosmetics customers should be aware that purchasing one kit signs them up for recurring monthly charges. At Highya, we’re very wary of autoship programs as they can be difficult – and costly – to cancel.

» See Also: Free Trial Offer and Autoship Program Scams: What They Are and How You Can Avoid Them

Returning an IT Cosmetics purchase may also prove difficult. Their terms and conditions simply state that you may return items in accordance with the Return Policy instructions that accompany your product shipments. Or, if you are uncertain about your right to return the product, you may also call Customer Service (888-922-0487) for assistance.

Bottom Line on Bye Bye Foundation?

Foundation is a particularly difficult product to purchase online – shade matching, skin allergies, and general quality can’t be tested before opening your wallet. And considering the steep stakes of doing so for an IT Cosmetics product – meaning their questionable return policy and autoship program – it might be safer to shop elsewhere.

Have you purchased an IT Cosmetic product? Please share your experience in the comments below.

» More on Skincare:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 226 Bye Bye Foundation Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 50 4 star: 18 3 star: 10 2 star: 26 1 star:  122
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 226
Sort reviews by:

  • 248 out 251 people found this review helpful

    It's a $120 rip off and not even good makeup.

    • NV,
    • Nov 28, 2015

    This is just foundation and powder. Nothing special. I'm not even sure why I fell for the Bye Bye Foundation thing when I watched them put on a foundation in the infomercial. The TV infomercial tells you that you can order it for $39.95. They neglect to say that they will charge you $39.95 three times even if you return it. The makeup is cakey and gross, so it's not worth the $119.85 that you pay in total. I just called to cancel after 20 days and was told I would have 2 more payments of $39.95 taken out of my account even if I return the products I received. I don't understand this scam they are doing, but it seems to be their business plan. I would avoid this makeup like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 241 out 245 people found this review helpful

    Bye bye to Bye Bye Foundation

    • Fort Thomas, Kentucky,
    • Feb 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product, hoping it would do what it claimed. First of all, the under eye make up is way too thick to apply, and doesn't rub in easily. Secondly, the main foundation is like water and is not covering my red spots and old acne scars. I canceled it, but like everyone else, they made it difficult.The little secret to auto renewal is to go out and buy a prepaid credit card, and only put on the amount of the product purchase. Then, when you cancel, and they try to play their little games, there is no money on the prepaid credit card. I did cancel, and they tried to charge my card an extra month, and could not. I called and told them that they broke the law, trying to charge the card again, and that they would not be able to get any money. I was hung up on, but got an extra month of product for nothing. I have been screwed too many times by ordering items on the phone or online, so protect yourself. This product isn't worth purchasing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 209 out 216 people found this review helpful

    Big, huge rip-off

    Do not, under any circumstance, get sucked into this introductory offer. After you purchase it, they will tell you that they sent you a super order that totals over a hundred dollars! I can assure you that I did not like the products, and now I have something that I will never use, and that costs me more than I can afford.

    I feel that companies are using the introductory offers as a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 202 out 206 people found this review helpful

    Triple read the fine print because you will be paying triple what you think.

    • Feb 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    VERY misleading advertising and for this fact alone, I'm not even going to try the cosmetics now that they have arrived. They are going straight back. Jamie Lima should be ashamed of using Guthy-Renker and their borderline unethical practices to increase her profits. I, too, like other reviewers fell for the "get his all for $49.95", only to receive the product with an invoice outlining the 2 remaining installment payments due of $49.95 each. Even after I re-read their fine print several times, I'm not sure it was ever clear. It is cut and pasted below. I should have known not to deal with Guthy-Renker after a horrible experience several yeas ago in which I had to go the BBB to resolve my case in my favor. Check out their terms and that will tell you something: TRYITNOW.COM/TERMS

    FINE PRINT CUT STRAIGHT FROM ORDER FORM

    IT Cosmetics® Intro 7-Piece Deluxe Most Beautiful You Collection Medium Shade. WHEN YOU ORDER TODAY, YOU WILL ALSO RECEIVE TWO FREE GIFTS! You will be charged 1 payment of $49.95 plus $5.99 shipping and handling for this shipment.

    Approximately 4 weeks after your first order is shipped, and then approximately every 12 weeks thereafter, you will be sent a new full size supply of IT Cosmetics®. Each shipment will be charged to the card you provide today, in three installments, approximately every 4 weeks at the guaranteed low price of $49.95 plus $3.99 for shipping and handling per installment, unless you call to cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 200 out 206 people found this review helpful

    Needs way too much for any coverage

    • Dillon, MT,
    • Feb 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I prefer just about any other foundation. They talk about layering for coverage, but that doesn't seem to help, since even a thin layer looks like a 2 year old child applied it, and is not natural by any stretch of the imagination. If it covers so well, why do they include a concealer (which, by the way, also doesn't work)? I got the full kit, and I agree wholeheartedly with the reviewer complaining about the eyeliner, because it's unwearable, due to the smearing. It's impossible to apply correctly, and is just a mess. Plus, I don't know what's the point of the powder, because it just makes the makeup more noticeable. So not only does it not look natural, but it doesn't provide coverage. Normally, any caked on makeup at least provides coverage, but not this one. If you want to get your foundation online, I'd recommend any of the mineral foundations over this, because at least they provide coverage, without a caked-on appearance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 187 out 189 people found this review helpful

    Beware! Do Not Buy. Will only cause you headaches.

    • MD,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally ordered this product from the infomercial. I returned the product because I have dry skin and it didn't work for me. I was billed for 2 payments by the time my return was processed. However, I returned my items to the address on the invoice which was incorrect if you purchased from the infomercial. I was able to give them a tracking number that showed they were in receipt of the product and they processed the refund.

    I also stated that there product did not work for me and that I did not want anymore products from them. I stated this during every call I made to them (3 in total at this point). Then about 2 months after I get this straightened out I receive another charge. I make a phone call and they state that it was my auto shipment. I was really frustrated at this point. I said I made 3 different calls to your customer service because your products didn't work for me. Returned the original shipment and filled out the return reason. Stated to multiple customer service employees that I didn't want anymore product and you still ship me items that at this point I did not order.

    That is fraud at this point. I called my bank, cancelled my card, got a new card with a new number and they somehow got my new banking information without me giving it to them. I called again and asked how they got this card number. They stated that I had to give them the card information. I replied that I just got this card within the last couple weeks and I haven't talked to anyone there in over a month. When I asked how they got card information and charged a card I never gave them, she couldn't answer this question.

    Dealing with this customer service has been one headache after another. I've had to close my account since this happened. I feel when I said that I didn't want the product and returned and filled out the original return that they should've taken care of making sure they didn't ship anymore product and that is on them. I've filled out 1 fraud case for the 1 charge and am now onto number 2. I will continue to do this until they stop billing me for items I did not order. I wish I would've read the other reviews prior to even trying the product. It took me less than a week to try and return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 185 out 195 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Product

    I am in full agreement with Janie Blankenship's review. I was excited when my IT Cosmetics package arrived and followed the instructions to a T. I was very careful to follow the "a little goes a long way" rule, but, was still shocked to see the clown-like results. I am horrified to read how difficult it has been for people to return/stop shipments of this product, but, I will do so anyway. I am SO embarrassed that I allowed myself to get suckered into such a product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 181 out 186 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 62 year old woman, with very pale skin, and I don't have any real reason to use this make up. First of all, neither the infomercial not the website are clear about having to pay $49.95 a month for the order. It looks like it costs only $49.95, and definitely not worth the $149.85 that is actually charged.

    Secondly, I applied the foundation, and within minutes, my creases and wrinkles were more visible than ever. I am returning it right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 179 out 189 people found this review helpful

    Sham

    • MI,
    • Jan 23, 2016

    I was going to take advantage of the TV offer to get the kit for 39.95 plus the 2 free gifts. However all the customer service representative attempted to do was get me to commit to automatic delivery each month and get the larger kit. When I finally got frustrated and tried to cancel the order, she was willing to give me what I wanted. However I'd finally at that point was just too frustrated and angry that I insisted she transfer me to a supervisor. She was hesitant to do it. Once I've spoken to the supervisor and explained the situation, and clearly said I wanted to cancel the order, still tried to get me to order. Horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 177 out 179 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Make Up

    • Florida,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    Revlon & L'Oreal are far better products than the Bye Bye Foundation. Wore it on a cruise excursion and I was so embarrassed because it melted off my face exposing my dark spots. My husband asked me what is going on. He told me that the make Up is gliding down your neck. I ran to the nearest pharmacy in Mexico to get Revlon Photo 24 Stay foundation. I could not believe how horrible this make up was. The customer service was horrible because they were not understanding nor compassionate to my cause. Worst experience ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 173 out 177 people found this review helpful

    Bye Bye Foundation

    • Akron, OH,
    • Dec 15, 2015

    This product sucks. I got mine yesterday and was excited to use it. It didn't cover anything up on my face. I looked like a clown after I put all that makeup on. I wouldn't refer it to anyone. I personally believe it's false advertisement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 226

Write a Review for Bye Bye Foundation!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review