What is Control GX Shampoo?

Published on: Feb 15, 2017

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men claims to use breakthrough technology that can gradually reduce gray hair with each shampoo for subtle, natural looking results.

The manufacturer tells us that you'll use Control GX just like any other daily shampoo. After a few washes, you'll notice a subtle reduction in the number of gray hairs. From there, you have complete control over how gradually your gray disappears at the start by using every day, or every other day.

When you’ve achieved the look you want—often within two to four weeks—you’ll continue using Control GX three to four times per week for maintenance. Results can last up to eight weeks.

In addition to gradually reducing your gray, Control GX Shampoo also promises to gently and thoroughly clean and revitalize hair, while increasing volume for a thicker, fuller look.

Just For Men’s lineup has been a staple among hair and beard coloring products for decades, but does this necessarily mean that their Control GX Shampoo is worth the money? Even then, is it really “shampoo with a brain”?

Here, we’ll discuss all the essential facts so you can make a more empowered purchase.

What Causes Grey Hair and Is It Reversible?

The Library of Congress tells us that your chances of going gray increase about 10-20% every decade after the age of 30, although the medical community still doesn't largely understand why this occurs.

Exactly how this occurs is a different matter, though. Here’s the situation in a nutshell (we know you’re busy):

Melanin is a pigment polymer that gives your skin and hair its natural color, which is delivered via specialized cells called melanocytes. In the instance of hair, these cells are located at follicles and inject color as the shaft grows.

At some point, these melanocytes slow or stop their pigment production, leading to gray, colorless hair.

While the gene for gray hair seems to have been recently identified, there is no cure for the condition, outside of coloring products like those from Just For Men.

In the instance of Control GX Shampoo, exactly which ingredients does it use to deliver results—and are they clinically proven to work?

How Do Control GX’s Ingredients Gradually Reduce Grey Hair?

While we didn’t encounter a product label during our research, Walmart.com listed the following ingredients for Control GX Shampoo:

Water/Aqua, Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate, Decyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycol Stearate, Ethanolamine, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, N,N-Bis (2-Hydroxyethyl)-p-Phenylenediamine Sulfate, Acetic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, 1,2,4-Trihydroxybenzene, Cetearyl Glucoside, Erythorbic Acid, Sodium Sulfite, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Stearamide AMP, Panthenol, Manganese Sulfate, p-Aminophenol, Sorbic Acid, Etidronic Acid, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene Linalool.

Like most hair care and coloring products, authoritative websites report that the majority of Control GX’s ingredients work as surfactants, emollients, emulsifiers, thickeners, pH regulators, hair dye agents (N,N-Bis (2-Hydroxyethyl)-p-Phenylenediamine Sulfate), enzymes (1,2,4-Trihydroxybenzene), and preservatives.

Just For Men tells us that Control GX’s formulation also contains a patented blend of molecules that break when massaged and exposed to air, releasing small amounts of the complex and trapping it in the hair shaft every time you shampoo.

In layman’s terms, Control GX is essentially hair dye in shampoo form that, instead of coloring all your hair at once, deposits molecules over time, which then build up and hide gray over the course of several weeks.

Will Control GX Shampoo Cause Any Side Effects?

Some Just For Men customers have reported chemical burns and allergies from the use of the company’s products, so they mandate that you perform a preliminary 48-hour skin allergy test with Control GX, according to directions, before full-scale use.

The company also notes that Control GX shouldn’t be used if you’ve experienced a reaction to other hair color products, if you have a rash or your face, or an irritated, sensitive, or damaged scalp.

Temporary black henna tattoos may increase your risk of allergy. In rare cases, the use of hair color has been associated with temporary and permanent skin depigmentation (lightening).

Just For Men tells us that Control GX Shampoo can be used on any shade of hair, although it’s advertised as ideal for light brown to black hair. You can also use it with other hair care products, but not on hair that has been lightened, bleached, highlighted, or colored.

Pro tip: Many customer reviews we read also mentioned that—like other hair dyes—Control GX has a tendency to stain fingernails, the shower area, and towels. As a result, they recommend massaging it in using your palms, thoroughly rinsing the shower area when you’re finished, and using dark towels to dry off.

How Much Does Control GX Shampoo Cost?

A 5 fluid ounce tube of Control GX Shampoo (enough to last for approximately six weeks, according to the manufacturer) is available at most retailers who carry Just For Men products for between $8 and $9.

It can also be purchased directly through the company for $8.49, with free shipping on all orders over $14.

Money saving tip: At the time of writing, you could also obtain a $2 off coupon on the Just For Men website.

In addition to Shampoo, Control GX also offers a 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner that contains additional agents for easier combing, softness, and manageability, for the same price.

Are customers reporting a solid return on investment at this price?

Control GX Shampoo Reviews: Are They Good?

On the Just For Men website, Control GX had an average rating of 4.5 stars based on 300+ customer reviews. Most compliments referenced good coloring results, natural appearance, and ease of use, while what few complaints there were often related to messiness and minor nail discoloration.

What it similar elsewhere online?

We also encountered nearly 50 Amazon customer reviews for Control GX, who had given the shampoo an average rating of 3.7 stars. There, most of the compliments and complaints matched those on the Just For Men website.

According to Amazon’s Questions & Answers section, a couple of customers replied that they didn’t recommend Control GX for super short hair (1/4 inch or less). Another reviewer mentioned that you might want to use gloves to avoid staining your fingernails.

From a company perspective, the Just For Men lineup is manufactured by Combe Incorporated based out of White Plains, NY. They had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and only two complaints as of 2/14/16, which referenced product formulation and side effects.

Does all of this mean you should spend your hard-earned money on Control GX?

Are the Gradual Results Provided By Control GX Shampoo the Way to Go?

While we didn’t encounter any products using the exact same formula as Control GX during our research, or those that were offered in shampoo form, HairFinder tells us that most dyes that promise to gradually reduce gray hair use metallic salts, which:

“… react with the sulfur in the protein chains of the hair to create a natural looking color in the hair over a period of repeated exposure.”

Perhaps the best-known gradual metallic hair dye is Grecian Formula, although Just For Men’s Touch of Grey treatment seems to deliver similar results. And both of these options are likely available locally for about the same price as Control GX.

How to decide? Just like anything else we choose to put on our body, the ‘best’ way of getting rid of grey hair will be based on your hair color (including level of grey), your hair cut (as well as any hair loss you’ve experienced), your skin type, and dozens of other personal factors.

In other words, there’s no way to know without giving it a try. Fortunately, Just For Men stands behind Control GX Shampoo with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, as might the retailer you purchase it from.

This way, you might not lose much more than a little of your time (and perhaps return shipping charges if you’re not near a retailer) for giving Control GX a shot and end up dissatisfied.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Consumer Reviews for Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • Yes, it does work

    • Texas,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product does work. It takes several uses because it does the color change slowly and naturally. I wear rubber gloves when applying. I am a female and it works great on my hair, but a male friend uses it also, which is the reason I tried it.

    But anyway, it works great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • More salt than pepper

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used it as at my step-father's house while showering there, and became interested in the product (but no noticeable results after that one use). I used it every day for 5-6 days, and my mostly salt with pepper hair went back to salt and pepper. It was gradual enough that my family (wife/kids) didn't notice this gradual change in darkness. I finally fessed up to my family, and they realized the change. My hair was previously black, and it has darkened mostly to my natural hair color, perhaps a bit more dark brown. The top of my head in particular darkened up, with the sides still having enough "salt" that it looks very natural. I've stopped after about 8-9 applications, as I want a still more natural salt and pepper - and have just changed the salt to more pepper.

    Two issues: Firstly, I did notice a slight change in hue of my white hair. Due to the contrast in my black hair, the white was always very brilliant looking. It now looks more dull, or perhaps a slight blue hue that I've seen on other reviews. Definitely not a blue hair though. Also, when I was using it intensively for 5-6 days straight, it made my head itchy, so I stopped for a few days. Then I proceeded for 2-3 more treatments, and that kept my head at a more natural and gradual dye job.

    I'm waiting to meet up with a close buddy I haven't seen in about a month to see if he will notice...Very natural and gradual, well within your control to see how dark you can go. My wife (who loves my white hair) has encouraged me to keep going!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Control GX giving blue tint

    • England,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am using Control GX for three weeks with one problem. It has changed the color of my hair to a blue tint gray, which is very noticeable. The shampoo does work great, but it would be amazing if it was not for the blue tint.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This doesn't really do nothing for my gray hairs

    • Michigan,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not for African American people because I tried it for a few weeks and it doesn't really work for me. Maybe I should leave it in a little bit longer, I don't really know, but I don't think that I would buy this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Beware: you could get bald in no time!

    • Montréal, Québec, Canada,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It works, in a sense that you get rid of gray hair, and it looks ok. However, you may start losing hair in dramatic fashion! I think I lost 70% of hair on top by using one and a half tubes of Control GX for three months. Hopefully, it will start growing again. This was a BIG mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Control GX for about a year now. I am very pleased with this product. Right about six months or so into it, I noticed that I was losing hair. I read some reviews where others complained of same results. One day, when I was getting my haircut, I asked my girl to go easy on cutting my hair since I was losing hair by dying it. She told me that it was unlikely to lose hair from dye. She suggested it may be from medication or diet. She was absolutely correct. I had a back injury around that time and was taking prescription pain meds. When I stopped taking my meds, my hair got thicker again.

    I take a shower and wash my hair daily. I use the product 2 to 4 times a week and use regular shampoo in between. I was 90% gray. Now I'm about 5 percent gray on the side only, which looks totally natural. Btw, it also works on other parts of the body, despite what the manufacturer says.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Louisa, VA,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only does this product works for men, it works for women as well. In the past, I used female dyes, which only irritates and dries my scalp, but I used the product only twice and all I could say was "wow!" I saw the ad on TV and said "what the heck," so I bought it and was overwhelmed. I am NEVER going back to those harsh chemicals ever again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Best thing I have found. Great results with no ill effects!

    • Providence, RI,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 60-year-old Caucasian man. My natural hair color was always very dark brown, appearing black. Over the last twenty years it has gone more and more grey, and in the last five, it went way too grey to get away with calling it salt and pepper. It was near white. I wear a short cut, approximately 1/4 inch over the ears progressing to 1 to 1 1/4" on top. I have a full head of hair with no balding pattern, but it is noticeably thinner in the last ten years.

    I tried the Control GX product mainly because I am a performer and I could not get roles I wanted without temporary dye, which always looks like crap. This product seemed to me to be accomplishing nothing for about five weeks used every day, until I saw some people I had not seen in that time and the first words they said were "Wow, you colored your hair. It looks great!" I tried to BS my way out of it but they had photos taken in the exact place we were standing at the time, and I was wearing the same shirt! They shot identical photos under the same lighting and did a side by side and there was no getting around it; my hair was many shades darker and looked absolutely natural, and it had been so gradual that I couldn't tell on a daily basis.

    Perhaps the most telling factor: I am getting the parts I want (and not just in my hair!) I used the tiniest amount of shampoo each time, perhaps a half teaspoon. I used my fingertips and did notice some very minor staining. I solved that with a clear matte polish which I use on stage anyway. I let it sit about five minutes with each use as I shaved and washed the rest of myself. Tube says one minute. You will find that the color stains the tip of the tube and if you touch that it suddenly looks like you picked up a melted Hershey bar. DON'T TOUCH THE TIP!

    Oddly, the shampoo is not dark out of the tube nor sitting on your head. Apparently the "dying" effect is a result of it building up gradually on your hair. Does it ONLY dye the grey? Not bloody likely, since it stains everything else it touches, according to the package, but perhaps it only actually adheres to the grey dues to some physical difference, or perhaps is just seems that way. I couldn't care less. IT WORKS.

    There is no odor to the product. No scent or perfume etc. I did not find any problem of staining towels or tiles, etc. IMHO, this is a great product. I am STILL waiting for my wife to say something. I don't know if she hasn't noticed or is "protecting my dignity" by not mentioning it. I am waiting for when she does and I can say "Wanna try it?" LOL. Buy this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    I used this product and noticed hair loss and not good hair covering of grey. I used it as instructed and maybe I'm sensitive. I have used Just For Men hair coloring and have no problems. I would advise to be careful and let others know of problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Control GX a year ago and found it worked great, but as the grey reduced the color was too black for my natural light to medium brown. Recently I discovered Control GX for blonde to medium brown and the results are great, shiny brown with highlights probably, caused by my own percent of grey [70%] to brown ratio coloring at different rates. It does not look fake (hair dyes I have used in the past that cover too well give a helmet of the same color).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Results of using Just For Men Control GX

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    WARNING.

    I was happy to read so many success stories, but mine is not one. Everything about the product ads was true except the results. My attempt was not to rid gray but to get an even color of gray. However, the product turned my hair a horrible Fluorescent Blue in only two applications. I had no problem with staining of the shower or myself, but I did follow instructions. I loved the texture (body) and shine on the first application, but all went downhill after that.

    I have been in hiding now for about a week, and blue is slowly getting grayer gradually. The ad sounded like a perfect option to even my uneven gray hair, and I have never done anything to my hair past. Terrible experience for me. Just please be aware if you chose to use this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review