Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

3.2

32 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.2 Stars out of 32 Reviews
5 Star:40% 4 Star:12% 3 Star:9% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:34%
63% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 18, 2021

Overpriced

By Charles B., Montreal, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I like this product, after using it for over a year I feel now the company got bought out by Just For Men they reduced the size from 177ml to 118ml for the same price or more in some cases, it was already an expensive shampoo and now it's just a rip-off.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great product

Easy to use

Look younger

Now overpriced since Just For Men bought it

Hair may turn greenish in sunlight

Hair never feels clean after rinse

Posted on Nov 20, 2020

Excellent product

By Sharon R., Calgary, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Not just for men. Women can use this too. I am over 80% grey and using this product 3 to 4 times a week leaves my hair darker, well-conditioned, and looking natural. Much easier to use than hair color and does a perfect job of reducing the grey to almost nothing. Leaves just enough grey to say ‘my color doesn’t come from a box’, it’s natural.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Perfect coverage with minimal effort

Effective

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 18, 2020

Noticeable hair loss

By Billy G., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I used this product for several months and I noticed dramatic hair loss on my head. This was further confirmed with hair in the drain. I stopped using this about 3 weeks ago and the difference is amazing. No hair in the drain and my hair looks fuller. I am going to go back to using Just For Men hair color every two months. I never had a problem using that product. I recommend to everyone that you do not use this product. It sinks.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hair loss

It is a dirty product that messes up the shower

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2020

Causes hair loss

By Andre P., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

I bought Control GX Shampoo to reduce graying and ended up losing hair instead. The problem was slow to start and by the time I realized it was the shampoo I had gone through an entire bottle.

If you purchase this product and you notice more than normal hair loss in the shower or the sink area STOP using it. Do not fool yourself into thinking it natural hair loss.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Causes hair loss

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 3, 2020

Dramatic hair loss

By J J., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Used this for a number of months only to find my hair started thinning out rapidly. It worked mildly to cover the greys, however, this became far less of a concern when my hands were covered in hair in the shower.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not overly effective

Drastic hair loss

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2020

2 for 1

By Mustafa H., Verified Reviewer

I agree that trying to get the results on the package is more difficult now that it's a 4 oz and not a 5 oz tube for the same price. So I had this idea where I removed the cap of the empty tube, grabbed a different bottle of shampoo (I believe I paid about $3 for an 18 oz bottle) and I slowly squeezed the full bottle into the tube until it was full again. I expected it to come out the same color that went in (light green) but it came out jet black. I used it until it was all gone again and noticed that I was able to maintain the color I had. Not sure this will work for others, I feel I got more of my money's worth.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Innovative

Want more for less

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2020

Lighten my hair

By Russell S., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I have dark brown hair with some gray hairs starting to pop up on both sides of my head. Tried Control GX and it had turned my dark brown hair to a medium brown with a tint of red. My friends had asked me why my hair is much lighter than it was. Control GX would be a good product if it would come in black, dark brown, medium brown, etc.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 19, 2019

Works, but be prepared for major hair loss

By Gerald K., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I began using this product over 1 year ago, and have now stopped. It took about 4 weeks to see results, but was really effective at controlling grey hair. But after a few months, I noticed my hair was thinning. At first, I thought it was simply due to aging. But then realized after about 6 months, everyone was saying I'm going bald. My drain began getting clogged every few weeks with hair, which was highly unusual. I decided to stop using it. Been waiting, but haven't noticed my hair returning yet. Does anyone else know of a replacement product that won't thin your hair?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2019

Ideal - if your aim is baldness!

By Andrew W., Marple, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used GX for around three months, approximately 1 tube a month.

Yes, it has reduced my grey hair, BUT it has reduced all my hair. I have suffered major hair loss with using this product, and only HOPE that it will grow back now that I have stopped.

I would NOT recommend using this product. It is loaded with chemicals that, in the end, remove ALL your hair!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2019

Major hair loss

By Robert U., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I am 52 years old and have been fortunate to have always had a thick, full head of hair with zero hair loss. I started on this to get rid of my grey. First, the shampoo feels really greasy and more like a conditioner than shampoo. It got rid of my grey, but within a month, I had lost approximately 50% of my hair. All my friends were asking me if I was sick. I immediately stopped using it and about 2 months later I had my thick grey hair back. I've used other dyes before and never lost hair. My recommendation would be to stay away from this stuff.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 3, 2019

If you are thinking about doing this - jump in!

By Kevin E., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

Ok, so I tried this product 5 months ago and I have nothing bad to say about it. I too am an actor and it has given me a look that is 10 years younger, honestly. NO hair loss has been observed by me. Buy it and try it once. You will not regret it. A fellow grey guy.

P.S. Wifey is trying it tonight...

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2019

This really works.

By Chris E., Newtown, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

In England, it is said that men who have a full head of hair which is grey, ala John Kerry, although I think he wears a "syrup" (English rhyming slang, "Syrup of fig-wig"), that they look distinguished, but if they have little hair, and what they have is grey, then they look extinguished.

I have been using JFM products for just over 30 years and I am now three score years and twelve. To start with, they were a two-part mix and the results were instant, and I got some obtuse comments from some ladies alluding to whether I used hair colorants or not, and that was despite not leaving it on for long. Really messy too.

Then in more recent years, there was an oxygen activated product, a precursor to Control GX, in a small tube, which was great as being parsimonious, I could use as little or much as I wanted, when I wanted, and the rest stayed in the tube for another day. Had to measure out 50 percent of the two-parter, above to save on waste. With this, there was no mess.

Now we have Control GX. This really does work. With my years of JFM knowledge/use, I have worked out a regime, some of which has already appeared in previous reviews. What I am posting below is what I have found works for me, and except for the bit about gloves, is IN NO WAY intended to countermand JFM’s instructions, and I will NOT be held responsible for the actions of others if they follow what I do!

OK, wearing gloves, I would suggest, is mandatory when using this product. When using the two parter years ago they even supplied gloves. Initially, they were good quality (latex), but in order to cut costs, they later supplied a rubbish cellophane type which went straight in the bin for me to buy my own. I have found that blue vinyl ones are better than the paler white latex ones. Apparently, one has to use palms in order to apply pressure to break down a constituent within the product for it to react with oxygen to work. Using gloved fingers allows me to exert more pressure and it allows greater accuracy of where to put pressure. These gloves can be easily purchased from a hardware shop, market stall or a motorist spare part store in boxes of 100. Although credited as "single-use," I rinse them well and use them until one falls apart. (Ever the parsimonious Capricorn!).

I squeeze product into a glass desert dish so can more easily gauge how much I am using and can instantly close the tube afterwards to prevent air/oxygen getting back into the tube. Using one of those long handled brushes as favoured by ladies hairstylists when applying hair colorant professionally, I can apply the product more easily to where I want it first. It also allows pressure to be put on the roots first. One of those brushes can probably be purchased from the pharmacy where you buy your product. Once the product has been applied all over, I can then massage the product in with gloved fingers. I have a stop watch which I start when I first apply the product. I wait for 10 minutes before I rinse off in the shower. I have found that the product continues to gradually work for many days after application, so there is no need for me to use it daily.

A couple of tips. Whilst it is not normally messy to use, it is better to stand on an old towel on the floor when applying it. One would normally do this in the bathroom above the basin, so fill it with warm water and have a cloth of some sort to hand (one of those blue/white checked "household" cloths are ideal), wet to mop up any little splashes. The gloves are going to be well and truly covered in the product, so before you climb into the shower, whilst still wearing them, rinse the gloves in the basin. The water will turn a dark purple colour with white bits mixed/floating in it. Gently pull the plug and let the water out rinsing gently as it drains. Refill basin and rinse gloved hands again and also the cloth. I use the cloth in my hand to handle everything until my hair is rinsed. Taking the cloth in the shower with me enables me wipe my face and to cleanup little splashes. They are easy to see as they will be a pale purple. Once the water is running clear, I then remove the gloves and shower as normal.

As I said, this regime works for me; it is your choice as to whether you go down my road or not.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

Dramatic hair loss

By James H., Florida, Verified Reviewer

The product does change the color of my hair, but it is also making my hair fall out in dramatic fashion. I had to stop using the product and now have to figure out how to detox my scalp and my body from the chemicals that caused the fallout. I have no idea if the lost hair will ever grow back.

If anyone has had any success in growing back the lost hair, then please share. Starting to get depressed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2019

It works well

By J P., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I started going gray early, starting at 26 and really gray at 46. I didn’t mind it so much because it was a mix color. At 49 I was just super gray with all my hair. I figured I’d try this.

After 2 uses it brought a lot of my hair back to brown. My temples remained a bit gray but it didn’t bother me. Honestly, since I didn’t want drastic change, I use it only once every 3 weeks and it gives me enough color to feel like I did at 35. If I use it too much, especially in summer, it seemed like the color caused my hair strands to bind together a bit, kinda weighing my hair down, which is why I don’t like to overdo it. In fact, using it once, letting it be for 3 days, seems to allow it to comb through even more. It might be why some people report hair loss. It’s not really hair loss, rather your hair will weigh down a bit after first used but it gets better just normal showering a couple of days after. So I suggest using it once every 3 days at first then stop for a couple of weeks and see how you like it. I go 3 weeks between use. Do exactly as the instructions say, leaving it in a minute. Use palms to massage it in it will slightly discolor nails temporarily.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2018

Yes, it does work

By Angela S., Texas, Verified Reviewer

This product does work. It takes several uses because it does the color change slowly and naturally. I wear rubber gloves when applying. I am a female and it works great on my hair, but a male friend uses it also, which is the reason I tried it.

But anyway, it works great!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2018

More salt than pepper

By Kevin R., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I used it as at my step-father's house while showering there, and became interested in the product (but no noticeable results after that one use). I used it every day for 5-6 days, and my mostly salt with pepper hair went back to salt and pepper. It was gradual enough that my family (wife/kids) didn't notice this gradual change in darkness. I finally fessed up to my family, and they realized the change. My hair was previously black, and it has darkened mostly to my natural hair color, perhaps a bit more dark brown. The top of my head in particular darkened up, with the sides still having enough "salt" that it looks very natural. I've stopped after about 8-9 applications, as I want a still more natural salt and pepper - and have just changed the salt to more pepper.

Two issues: Firstly, I did notice a slight change in hue of my white hair. Due to the contrast in my black hair, the white was always very brilliant looking. It now looks more dull, or perhaps a slight blue hue that I've seen on other reviews. Definitely not a blue hair though. Also, when I was using it intensively for 5-6 days straight, it made my head itchy, so I stopped for a few days. Then I proceeded for 2-3 more treatments, and that kept my head at a more natural and gradual dye job.

I'm waiting to meet up with a close buddy I haven't seen in about a month to see if he will notice...Very natural and gradual, well within your control to see how dark you can go. My wife (who loves my white hair) has encouraged me to keep going!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2018

Control GX giving blue tint

By Ray C., England, Verified Reviewer

I am using Control GX for three weeks with one problem. It has changed the color of my hair to a blue tint gray, which is very noticeable. The shampoo does work great, but it would be amazing if it was not for the blue tint.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

This doesn't really do nothing for my gray hairs

By Taiwon B., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

This product is not for African American people because I tried it for a few weeks and it doesn't really work for me. Maybe I should leave it in a little bit longer, I don't really know, but I don't think that I would buy this again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 25, 2018

Beware: you could get bald in no time!

By Igor S., Montréal, Québec, Canada, Verified Reviewer

It works, in a sense that you get rid of gray hair, and it looks ok. However, you may start losing hair in dramatic fashion! I think I lost 70% of hair on top by using one and a half tubes of Control GX for three months. Hopefully, it will start growing again. This was a BIG mistake.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2018

Amazing

By Gray A., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have been using Control GX for about a year now. I am very pleased with this product. Right about six months or so into it, I noticed that I was losing hair. I read some reviews where others complained of same results. One day, when I was getting my haircut, I asked my girl to go easy on cutting my hair since I was losing hair by dying it. She told me that it was unlikely to lose hair from dye. She suggested it may be from medication or diet. She was absolutely correct. I had a back injury around that time and was taking prescription pain meds. When I stopped taking my meds, my hair got thicker again.

I take a shower and wash my hair daily. I use the product 2 to 4 times a week and use regular shampoo in between. I was 90% gray. Now I'm about 5 percent gray on the side only, which looks totally natural. Btw, it also works on other parts of the body, despite what the manufacturer says.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2018

Great product

By Wanda G., Louisa, VA, Verified Reviewer

Not only does this product works for men, it works for women as well. In the past, I used female dyes, which only irritates and dries my scalp, but I used the product only twice and all I could say was "wow!" I saw the ad on TV and said "what the heck," so I bought it and was overwhelmed. I am NEVER going back to those harsh chemicals ever again.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 6, 2018

Best thing I have found. Great results with no ill effects!

By Tom Brown, Providence, RI, Verified Reviewer

I am a 60-year-old Caucasian man. My natural hair color was always very dark brown, appearing black. Over the last twenty years it has gone more and more grey, and in the last five, it went way too grey to get away with calling it salt and pepper. It was near white. I wear a short cut, approximately 1/4 inch over the ears progressing to 1 to 1 1/4" on top. I have a full head of hair with no balding pattern, but it is noticeably thinner in the last ten years.

I tried the Control GX product mainly because I am a performer and I could not get roles I wanted without temporary dye, which always looks like crap. This product seemed to me to be accomplishing nothing for about five weeks used every day, until I saw some people I had not seen in that time and the first words they said were "Wow, you colored your hair. It looks great!" I tried to BS my way out of it but they had photos taken in the exact place we were standing at the time, and I was wearing the same shirt! They shot identical photos under the same lighting and did a side by side and there was no getting around it; my hair was many shades darker and looked absolutely natural, and it had been so gradual that I couldn't tell on a daily basis.

Perhaps the most telling factor: I am getting the parts I want (and not just in my hair!) I used the tiniest amount of shampoo each time, perhaps a half teaspoon. I used my fingertips and did notice some very minor staining. I solved that with a clear matte polish which I use on stage anyway. I let it sit about five minutes with each use as I shaved and washed the rest of myself. Tube says one minute. You will find that the color stains the tip of the tube and if you touch that it suddenly looks like you picked up a melted Hershey bar. DON'T TOUCH THE TIP!

Oddly, the shampoo is not dark out of the tube nor sitting on your head. Apparently the "dying" effect is a result of it building up gradually on your hair. Does it ONLY dye the grey? Not bloody likely, since it stains everything else it touches, according to the package, but perhaps it only actually adheres to the grey dues to some physical difference, or perhaps is just seems that way. I couldn't care less. IT WORKS.

There is no odor to the product. No scent or perfume etc. I did not find any problem of staining towels or tiles, etc. IMHO, this is a great product. I am STILL waiting for my wife to say something. I don't know if she hasn't noticed or is "protecting my dignity" by not mentioning it. I am waiting for when she does and I can say "Wanna try it?" LOL. Buy this product!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2018

Not good

By Richard Green, Topeka, KS, Verified Reviewer

I used this product and noticed hair loss and not good hair covering of grey. I used it as instructed and maybe I'm sensitive. I have used Just For Men hair coloring and have no problems. I would advise to be careful and let others know of problems.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 14, 2018

Works great

By Brent, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I tried Control GX a year ago and found it worked great, but as the grey reduced the color was too black for my natural light to medium brown. Recently I discovered Control GX for blonde to medium brown and the results are great, shiny brown with highlights probably, caused by my own percent of grey [70%] to brown ratio coloring at different rates. It does not look fake (hair dyes I have used in the past that cover too well give a helmet of the same color).

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2017

Results of using Just For Men Control GX

By J Moncr, Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

WARNING.

I was happy to read so many success stories, but mine is not one. Everything about the product ads was true except the results. My attempt was not to rid gray but to get an even color of gray. However, the product turned my hair a horrible Fluorescent Blue in only two applications. I had no problem with staining of the shower or myself, but I did follow instructions. I loved the texture (body) and shine on the first application, but all went downhill after that.

I have been in hiding now for about a week, and blue is slowly getting grayer gradually. The ad sounded like a perfect option to even my uneven gray hair, and I have never done anything to my hair past. Terrible experience for me. Just please be aware if you chose to use this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2017

Feasible product

By Laurent Marsch, Auckland, New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX regularly, however, it seems to show an appearance that the hair is dyed, which is a bit weird in that I don't want people to think I am dying my hair, but it does help.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2017

Read instructions

By John O Gandolfo, New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I did not read the reviews before use. Although I've been using Just For Men for years, I tried Control GX for the first time. My hair is too short, and I have brown blotches on my head. Also, skin irritation. I have a job interview in the morning, but I don't think I'll go. What to do?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 32

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.