Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

1.7

113 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 113 Reviews
5 Star:11% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:76%
18% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 25, 2022

No longer a natural color

By Harry T., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I used this product for years with great results, but now it has gone over to a new improved formula. It's rubbish, turning my hair a ginger color. I won't be buying this product again. At first, I thought the two I had bought were a bad batch so purchased a third, alas just the same. Will not be using again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The new formula now turns hair ginger

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 23, 2022

They've changed it!

By Paul L., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Couldn't find the one I've always used, tried everywhere. In the end, found it on Amazon at an exorbitant price of a penny under £20! Control GX anti-dandruff. The new formula turns your hair gingery color, Mrs. went mad and made me wear a cap! Until I found the original, as I said, on Amazon. Will not buy again until they go back to the original, if they do? Why fix it if ain't broke, as they say?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to be good

Turns your gingery orange even

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 17, 2022

Rubbish

By Rob P., England, Verified Reviewer

I used to really enjoy using this product but since it has gone over to a new improved formula it now makes my hair red more like a ginger color. I won't be buying this product again unless they go back to the original formula. I think it's total rubbish now.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New formula, go back to the original formula

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2022

Rated 3

By Brian T. , Newcastle, England

I reviewed this when there was a problem with people ending up with orange hair! I've just received my promised replacement. But a bit nervous to try it. I've scanned down and see that one person has and it appears that it may work. Was wondering if anyone else has been brave enough?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old formula

First formula change

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2022

Orange color

By Saeed A. , London, England

I am/was using this product for 2 years and now the formula is changed and I am not happy with having an orange tone to my hair. Please do something about it.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turning my hair to orange

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 24, 2022

New formula is terrible

By Chris S., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

I agree with the reviews here. The original formula was great. The new one is terrible and makes your hair reddish light brown.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

I have been using Control GX many years. Recently they change the formula and it’s RUBISH. What a shame.

By Altan B., London, England, Verified Reviewer

New formula is not working. I have been using Control GX over 2 years. A few months ago you changed the formula, no more dark water during rinsing, which is good but not changing the grey hair to dark.

I will look for other products.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to apply

Gradual grey covering

Please tell us you apply the product on wet hair or dry hair

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

No longer works

By Clayton H., Jacksonville, FL, Verified Reviewer

I started using this product about 6 months ago. I was very happy with the results. About four months into using this, I noticed my hair started falling out on the top of my head and also causing a receding hairline.

I did not associate this issue with the shampoo at first. It was around the same time that I noticed that my roots were gray while the ends were the color I wanted. My hair length is about 2 and 1/2 inches in the longest area. The sides which are the shortest no longer take the color. It is nearly completely gray.

My daughter works in the hair business and tells me this product is likely causing my hair loss. I started taking Finasteride twice daily about 5 years ago for light hair loss. I also started using Rogaine at the same time. I have had no noticeable hair loss during these 5 years. At least, not until I started using this product.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The color was perfect at first

Easy to use

Predictable results

Hair began to fall out

Areas of the head stopped taking the color

Hard to find at stores

Posted on Jul 21, 2022

Z22 formula seems to work

By Greig R., Portsmouth, England, Verified Reviewer

I agree with all the same comments regarding turning your hair ginger/orange. However, I complained to JFM a few months ago via their website. They responded quite quickly and also apologized. They offered to send me a free bottle once they changed their formula. The bottle turned up in the post last week and the batch number starts with Z22. The outer packaging looks the same but the bottle itself is a different design. More importantly, the new formula hasn't turned my hair ginger/orange and over 3 days I've definitely noticed a positive change. Fingers crossed they get this new formula out in the shops ASAP.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

New formula dyes hair ginger

By David H., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The new formula dyes hair an awful tobacco tone. I've used Control GX for years and have been very happy with it. Now forced to look for an alternative.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I used to love it

Dyes hair ginger

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2022

Why have they clearly changed the recipe?

By Robert W., Berkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using this product for a number of years now and was always very happy with the results. About 6 months ago I noticed that the whole experience of using the shampoo had altered and the resulting effect is noticeably poorer. In fact, there is virtually no effect whatsoever.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It is virtually ineffectual

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2022

I used to love it, just the right shade. Now it turns my hair red.

By Nigel H., South Yorkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I was using this and it was great on my hair, a lovely dark gray for some two years, then someone pointed out that my hair was going red. I wish you would explain to me what happened to a great product I no longer use.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The old formula was great

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 17, 2022

Hair loss

By Julio A., Silver Spring, MD, Verified Reviewer

I have been using Control GX and noticed that my hair is falling, and my hairline is receding. I wonder if my hair will come back.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hair loss

Posted on Jun 17, 2022

Doesn't work anymore

By Graham C., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

I used this when it first came out. I have used other products however some have an unpleasant odor.

It worked perfectly well until they changed the formula.

Now if I use it hair turns red/ginger.

Avoid this product until they sort the formula out again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

1st formula was good

Turns hair red

Newest formula no good

Wasted money as I bought 6 tubes

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 12, 2022

Great if you want ginger hair!

By Geoff B. , United Kingdom

Change of formula, now does not produce your original color. Makes your hair ginger. See lots of other comments. Worked well before. Please change it back to the previous recipe.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Does not work

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2022

Very disappointing now

By W M., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why would you change such a brilliant formula? I have used this product for years and have been very happy with it. The new color is just awful — it's somewhere between orange and ginger. Please bring back the original formula as until then I'm not buying anymore and I'd rather be gray.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2022

Control GX new formula does not work

By Michael D., Scarborough, England, Verified Reviewer

This was once a brilliant product that worked perfectly; however, since you changed to the new formula it no longer works. This has left my hair a dirty copper/orange color. The product has been totally ruined. I will no longer be purchasing this product until you revert back to the original formula that always worked.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old formula worked fine

The new formula does not work

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2022

I didn't expect ginger hair!

By Richard C. , Wiltshire, United Kingdom

What have they done to this shampoo, as I have ended up with a light ginger color? The old formula worked fine and I had used it for a few years. I purchased the current shampoo about 2 months ago. Don't they test this on people before it goes on sale? Avoid at all costs, unless you like being a ginger.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Having ginger hair

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2022

Awful!

By Chris R., Somerset, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why have they changed the formula? The original product worked so well. The new (and smaller package but same-priced tube) formula is utterly useless, leaving hair a gingery pale color. I shall not be buying it again. Please reintroduce the old product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Doesn't work

More expensive than original product

Smaller tube

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2022

Awful

By Brian T., Newcastle, England, Verified Reviewer

After using it for years with terrific results, they have ruined it with a new formula that actually makes you look stupid. I complained and they promised me a replacement but I never received it, even after me prodding them several times. Like someone else has asked, does anyone know of an alternative?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2022

Orange hair

By Richard O., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

This product has changed the formula and my previously dark hair is not brow/orange. Do not use!

If it’s not broken, why change it?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2022

Pink hair, anyone?

By Dr. James V., Durham, England, Verified Reviewer

I had used this reasonably satisfactorily, but it seems that there is a "new formula". The old version produced a foam which quickly turned grey, then dark greyish blue, it worked. The new version produces a coral pink foam which, apart from being quite disturbing, appears to do little else. Quite useless, and should be removed from sale. I cannot recommend this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The fact that it turns pink, whereas the old version was grey-blue

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2022

Very disappointed

By David B., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

What’s happened? This new formula just does not work.

I hope Control GX reintroduces the original product. Until they do I won't be buying anymore.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Its old formula

The new formula

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 29, 2022

Any alternative?

By Martin J. , Pembrokeshire, Wales, United Kingdom

Same problem, absolutely gutted. Has anyone found an alternative?

Used this product for years with good results. Please bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Wrong color

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2022

Was once a great product

By Simon G., Sydney, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I have used this product for years and have loved it, but it seems like the manufacturer has changed the formula and my hair now has a "piss yellow" tinge to it.

So disappointing because this product was once really great.

Please bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2022

New formula failure

By Stephen B., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

The product used to be brilliant, but since the new formula was introduced the shampoo is useless. I wanted to darken my grey hair, not go ginger!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the old formula

Bottle looks nice

New formula is terrible and does not darken hair, changes color to orange-tinted brown

Daily use does not darken hair to dark brown/black but changes color to light brown/ginger

Useless for intended purpose, looking for alternative product that works, any suggestions for people in my position would be very much appreciated

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 12, 2022

Why?

By Dave F., Warrington, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using it for a couple of years now and it’s been fantastic. Why have they changed it? I bought one from Amazon and thought it was the blonde in the wrong bottle. I bought another one from a chemist and it was the same. The foam isn’t the normal purple and it started turning the grey yellow. Even my normal darker hair started going lighter. Total disaster. I’m gutted. Bring back the old formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It turned the grey yellow

It turned the dark hair lighter

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 113

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.