Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

1.7

104 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 104 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:75%
19% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 18, 2022

Orange!

By Mark R., Merseyside, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using Control GX for 6 or more years, was pleased with results.

However, the "new formula" is dreadful, don't buy it, unless you want an orange/copper look.

I'm quickly looking for an alternative.

A company-ruining decision was made right there.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Changing to new formula

Completely changing color

Not realizing a terrible business decision

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2022

Legal action

By Bedraj R., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

This product is now terrible. I have been using Control GX for many years with no problem at all. Now for some reason, the company decided to change its formula and it has changed my hair to an orange/copper color.

Going to get advice from a solicitor to see if I can take legal action against the company as it has affected my wellbeing!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Was very good before the change of formula

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2022

Bring back old formula

By Bee R. , United Kingdom

I used Just For Men Control GX for many years with no problem at all. Recently the formula has been changed and the product is totally useless, it left my hair looking a copper orange color!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously it worked very well

Will not purchase the product with the new formula

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 3, 2022

Orange hair

By Phil H., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using this product for a few years and always had a great effect. Since late last year, I notice the familiar purple water no longer appears when I wash my hair and the darkening effect has been replaced with an orange tint. I thought I'd gotten a bad batch and tried another one from another shop but the results were the same! My hair now looks completely fake and it's frankly embarrassing. I'm going to have to stop using it. Have they changed the formula or something? And if so, why!?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously it worked great

Since late last year it now tints my hair orange

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 24, 2022

Ginger

By Noel L., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Like everybody else on this forum, I've been a long-time user of Control GX with great results initially. However, since January 2021 I started to notice the new formula has begun to turn my hair ginger.

I wrote to the company and they dismissed my claims. Have since stopped using it. Avoid unless you want to have orange hair.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2022

Ginger snap!

By Stephen J., Somerset, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Used the product for years and up to now I was very pleased, but something drastic has recently changed with the formula. My hair is now turning ginger!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ginger hair

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

New improved formula - rubbish

By Peter B. , United Kingdom

I, like many, have used this shampoo for a number of years without a problem, until now. This new improved formula is absolute rubbish, it leaves your hair orange or brassy, brittle, and hair loss is the norm. I have emailed the company with an official complaint and would urge others to do the same.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange or brassy hair

Brittle hair

Hair loss

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Control GX new formula

By Peter M. , United Kingdom

I have used the original Control GX product for a few years now and found it to be effective and natural-looking. I purchased the new formula last month and like many other recent reviews, I have also experienced the same problem with my hair color changing to an unpleasant orangey color. I no longer have confidence in the product and hopefully, they will revert back to the original version.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turned hair an unnatural color

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Changes have made this product unusable

By Kevin B. , Cheshire, United Kingdom

Been using this product since 2016 and worked great. The recent changes have turned my hair orange! I threw it away thinking it was a bad one-off, but the new one is the same.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turned my hair orange

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

What have they done to it?

By Dan H. , England

Been using this for 3 years and all of a sudden hair has gone ginger. What idiot decided to change a great formula? Change it back quickly!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It used to work

It turned hair ginger

Never again will I buy this

Terrible new formula

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

If you want to have orange hair – look no further

By Axl S. , United Kingdom

Been using Control GX for years – fantastic stuff. This new version, as many have said, turns your hair a totally unnatural orange color.

A great way to ruin a decent product, what were they thinking? Won't be using this anymore.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to be great

Orange flavor hair

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2022

Turns your hair ginger/orange

By Adam B., South Yorkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I've been using this for a couple of years and had been very happy. However, more recently, it's been turning my hair a ginger/orange color.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 3, 2022

Orange hair!

By Paul S., Windsor, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

What has happened? I have been using this shampoo for years and have been very happy with it. Recently it hasn't worked and my hair is going orange/copper (much to the amusement of my friends!). I note a few other people saying the same. Please change it back! I tried to find a number to contact the company originally before writing this - with no joy (as yet). Hopefully, the company realizes its mistake. I thought it was a "bad batch".

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It no longer works

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2022

Totally ruined it

By Paul S., Glasgow, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX since it was launched, even my hairdresser was impressed by it, it was perfect!

Now it is terrible. It will turn your white/grey hair orange! Do not use it!

No idea why they have chosen to ruin a perfect product, but indeed they have.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Previously turned hair a darker grey

The more you used it, the darker it got

Ease of use, very controllable, perfect color

Since the change it now turns your hair orange

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2022

Started to turn me ginger

By Joseph W., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I used to love this product but the last 3 I have bought have started to turn my hair ginger.

Won't be buying it again.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

It changed, don't like anymore

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2022

New formula disaster

By Gary M., Scunthorpe, England, Verified Reviewer

The new formula turned my hair orange. Will never buy again.

Previously was very happy with the old formula, which had a purple color.

Is Control GX listening to its customers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the old formula

New formula is a disaster

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Changes to product?

By Matthew M., England, Verified Reviewer

Not good. Something has changed, leaving my hair orange! This product has changed recently. Not good! It is now not fit for purpose, it leaves my hair orange. It was perfect, and a number of my friends think the same and will no longer purchase it.

Change it back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was perfect, great, usable, fantastic

The changes

Orange tinge

Not fit for purpose

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

So disappointing, change it back!

By Kieran K., Staffordshire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why would a company mess with a successful formula? Has worked perfectly for 3-4 years at hiding my grey simply and naturally but now my hair looks a very weird color. As per previous reviews, it has an orange tint.

Change it back or lose sales!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Used to work

No longer works as it should

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2021

Dreadful effect of new formula

By Steve M., Brighton, England, Verified Reviewer

Cannot describe the dreadful effect this new formula has. My hair is now an orange/copper/green tint.

After using the old formula without issue, I’ve used the new formula (not advertised as such) with devastating effect. I have no idea how they are getting away with still marketing.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The result

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

New version terrible

By Brian M., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used the original version for the last 5 years and it was perfect and looked very natural. I recently bought it and the 2021 version dyed my hair orange and has to be used every day, but my hair is still orange and grey! Nightmare, what are they thinking? I will have to stop this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2021

New 118ml tubes turn hair orange

By Mark M., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

Have used it for years, this was an amazing product, worked well. Then they changed it and now it just makes you look like Trump.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Nothing it is junk not only did they decrease the size but they wrecked it

It is junk

Not only did they decrease the size but they wrecked it

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

Terrible now

By Gordon T., Dunfermline, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

I agree with all the other reviews. I have used this product for about 2 years and it worked extremely well. I was very happy with it. However, it is now (within the last 3–4 months) turning my hair a strange orange/goldish color. I've had to stop using it. A real shame since it was great before. I thought that it was just me until I read these other reviews. Why on earth have they changed the formula? I won't buy this again unless they go back to the way it was.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair a weird gold/orange color

Unusable unless you want to look ridiculous

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

Orange

By William S., England, Verified Reviewer

Been using this for 3 years. Was quite satisfied with it, until recently. Some clever so and so decides to change it and now makes my hair orange. Don't buy this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

New 118ml version is awful - orange hair

By Matthew A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using Control GX for around 4 years. After previously suffering allergic reactions to any hair color product I tried, finding Control GX was a godsend: no allergic reactions at all and gave my hair a perfectly natural color (and my hair is black).

Fast forward to September 2021. I brought a bottle and noticed the packaging was different and had gone from 147ml bottles to 118ml bottles. Didn't think anything of it, however, after 2 applications, I noticed my hair was orange/bronze and I was having a severe allergic reaction on my scalp, which has caused hair loss!

It can't be a coincidence as every review I've read about the new product says the same thing! Did JFM even test the product?! They had the best product on the market and they have completely destroyed it! I've now reverted to buying the old 147ml bottles with the original formula off eBay and it's working like a dream again.

JFM need to address this fast. If it's not broken, don't fix it!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair orange

Allergic reactions

Hair loss

Smaller bottles

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Orange orange orange

By Tom B., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

I can only describe the new color or my hair as orange/grey since the new formula came in to the market!

What was the problem with the old one that we all liked; does the consumer have a say? Am I missing something, should the orange be the new grey for older men and be cool about this? Does the company that makes Control GX read and take notes of the unhappiness that it causes to us consumers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New smaller size

Too many different packaging for the same orange look

Cool orange look

Constant explanation about my new look

Funny looks from general public

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2021

Why?!

By David A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

New formula, dreadful results.

I have used this for over 4 years and the new formula turns hair orange. Please don't use this product, unless you want to look like an Oompa Loompa.

Just For Men, please revert back to the original formula or lose all your clients.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was once a great product

Now dreadful

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2021

New formula turns hair orange

By Ranbir K., Manchester, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using this product for years and it was great. Why have they changed the formula? It’s terrible and it will turn your hair to an unnatural orange color! Sadly, I’m going to have to stop using it. I hope they change the formula back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 104

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.