Read 24 Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Control GX for about a year now. I am very pleased with this product. Right about six months or so into it, I noticed that I was losing hair. I read some reviews where others complained of same results. One day, when I was getting my haircut, I asked my girl to go easy on cutting my hair since I was losing hair by dying it. She told me that it was unlikely to lose hair from dye. She suggested it may be from medication or diet. She was absolutely correct. I had a back injury around that time and was taking prescription pain meds. When I stopped taking my meds, my hair got thicker again.

    I take a shower and wash my hair daily. I use the product 2 to 4 times a week and use regular shampoo in between. I was 90% gray. Now I'm about 5 percent gray on the side only, which looks totally natural. Btw, it also works on other parts of the body, despite what the manufacturer says.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Louisa, VA,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only does this product works for men, it works for women as well. In the past, I used female dyes, which only irritates and dries my scalp, but I used the product only twice and all I could say was "wow!" I saw the ad on TV and said "what the heck," so I bought it and was overwhelmed. I am NEVER going back to those harsh chemicals ever again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Best thing I have found. Great results with no ill effects!

    • Providence, RI,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 60-year-old Caucasian man. My natural hair color was always very dark brown, appearing black. Over the last twenty years it has gone more and more grey, and in the last five, it went way too grey to get away with calling it salt and pepper. It was near white. I wear a short cut, approximately 1/4 inch over the ears progressing to 1 to 1 1/4" on top. I have a full head of hair with no balding pattern, but it is noticeably thinner in the last ten years.

    I tried the Control GX product mainly because I am a performer and I could not get roles I wanted without temporary dye, which always looks like crap. This product seemed to me to be accomplishing nothing for about five weeks used every day, until I saw some people I had not seen in that time and the first words they said were "Wow, you colored your hair. It looks great!" I tried to BS my way out of it but they had photos taken in the exact place we were standing at the time, and I was wearing the same shirt! They shot identical photos under the same lighting and did a side by side and there was no getting around it; my hair was many shades darker and looked absolutely natural, and it had been so gradual that I couldn't tell on a daily basis.

    Perhaps the most telling factor: I am getting the parts I want (and not just in my hair!) I used the tiniest amount of shampoo each time, perhaps a half teaspoon. I used my fingertips and did notice some very minor staining. I solved that with a clear matte polish which I use on stage anyway. I let it sit about five minutes with each use as I shaved and washed the rest of myself. Tube says one minute. You will find that the color stains the tip of the tube and if you touch that it suddenly looks like you picked up a melted Hershey bar. DON'T TOUCH THE TIP!

    Oddly, the shampoo is not dark out of the tube nor sitting on your head. Apparently the "dying" effect is a result of it building up gradually on your hair. Does it ONLY dye the grey? Not bloody likely, since it stains everything else it touches, according to the package, but perhaps it only actually adheres to the grey dues to some physical difference, or perhaps is just seems that way. I couldn't care less. IT WORKS.

    There is no odor to the product. No scent or perfume etc. I did not find any problem of staining towels or tiles, etc. IMHO, this is a great product. I am STILL waiting for my wife to say something. I don't know if she hasn't noticed or is "protecting my dignity" by not mentioning it. I am waiting for when she does and I can say "Wanna try it?" LOL. Buy this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    I used this product and noticed hair loss and not good hair covering of grey. I used it as instructed and maybe I'm sensitive. I have used Just For Men hair coloring and have no problems. I would advise to be careful and let others know of problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Control GX a year ago and found it worked great, but as the grey reduced the color was too black for my natural light to medium brown. Recently I discovered Control GX for blonde to medium brown and the results are great, shiny brown with highlights probably, caused by my own percent of grey [70%] to brown ratio coloring at different rates. It does not look fake (hair dyes I have used in the past that cover too well give a helmet of the same color).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Results of using Just For Men Control GX

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    WARNING.

    I was happy to read so many success stories, but mine is not one. Everything about the product ads was true except the results. My attempt was not to rid gray but to get an even color of gray. However, the product turned my hair a horrible Fluorescent Blue in only two applications. I had no problem with staining of the shower or myself, but I did follow instructions. I loved the texture (body) and shine on the first application, but all went downhill after that.

    I have been in hiding now for about a week, and blue is slowly getting grayer gradually. The ad sounded like a perfect option to even my uneven gray hair, and I have never done anything to my hair past. Terrible experience for me. Just please be aware if you chose to use this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Feasible product

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Control GX regularly, however, it seems to show an appearance that the hair is dyed, which is a bit weird in that I don't want people to think I am dying my hair, but it does help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Read instructions

    I did not read the reviews before use. Although I've been using Just For Men for years, I tried Control GX for the first time. My hair is too short, and I have brown blotches on my head. Also, skin irritation. I have a job interview in the morning, but I don't think I'll go. What to do?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 59 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Great color gray hair alternative to Henna Orange and Grecian Lead Acetate and strong PPD chemicals

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've just discovered Just for Men Control GX Grey Reducing Shampoo with Conditioner, a great solution for covering gray hair without permanent PPD color issues, or henna mud, or Grecian Formula lead acetate.

    I have fine light brown hair with about 60% gray. Based on numerous comments from others (mainly girlfriends) the gray made me look ten years older.

    I'm 59 and used Grecian Formula for a couple of years until my Naturopathic Doctor informs me I have a lead build up in my blood.

    I tried Just for Men's 5 minute color in a light brown/blonde which worked fast, but I would get a drastic shoe polish solid brown extreme color change. I slowly developed a bad allergic reaction to PPD chemicals with swelling, itching, for days. I had to take Benadryl. The allergic reaction got worse every time I used it until I got the message.

    I switched to henna light brown windigo and it looked fine indoors but would reflect sunlight and fluorescent light with an orange on the brown hair and a brassy look on the gray. People would ask me if I was Irish. What a mess that stuff has been. It would also fade over weeks to an orange and brassy look under bright lights, fluorescent and sunlight.

    I finally decided to go back to Grecian Formula and just try to be more careful to not contaminate by bathroom, house, brain, and blood with lead. It wasn't good. I was a walking lead contaminator, and I knew it. I always felt dirty especially if I ran my hands through my hair, plus the sulfur smell, and it gave me a puffed up blow-dried TV minister looking hairdo I didn't like, plus I had to shower it out at night, so I don't contaminate my pillow and bed with lead.

    Then I discover Just for Men Control GX Grey Reducing Shampoo and Conditioner, and I believe I've finally found an easy, quick solution. The directions say shampoo, leave it for one minute, then rinse it out. Within 2 to 3 weeks you'll find your perfect shade. Cut back on use to occasionally to maintain the color. This stuff is great. I got a perfect multi-tone natural look with just a touch of gray if you look close. No more 5-minute shoe polish brown sudden color change from the Just for Men 5 minute stuff.

    I did a 48-hour pre-test on the inside of my elbow and had no reaction, which surprised me. Then I started using it in the morning and night and leave it on for a minute at a time. After one week it had a subtle difference. I read a few reviews like this one on Just for Men Control GX Grey Reducing Shampoo and Conditioner where others said leaving it just one minute isn't long enough, try 2 to 3 minutes and it works quicker.

    Then I ran across a review where a guy says to try combing it into the areas you want to target on dry hair and leave it for 5 minutes then rinse it out in the shower (at your own risk and after a 48-hour skin test). Which I tried and within 2 or 3 days I have the exact look I want and couldn't be happier. In fact, I'm ecstatic to finally find a quick, easy solution without lead acetate.

    I rinse it out of my hair using lukewarm water because I don't want the hot water opening all the pores on my scalp to suck up the little bit of chemicals in this stuff.

    I see this as the lesser of all the bad hair color chemical ingredient evils. Especially lead acetate. I am posting to help other guys (or women) who may be looking for a better solution.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    I recently tried Control GX, and I'm totally pleased with the product that I had to express the satisfaction with Control GX. I'm 58 years old, tried it, and it really works. Anyone that says it doesn't must be doing something wrong. My hair looks natural, and the change is so subtle that nobody notices the change, which is what I wanted. Totally natural. It really works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very good product

    I have recently (April 2017) started using Control GX. It works very well, and I have not experienced the same nail staining, towel discoloration, etc. that I've seen others comment about on various review sites. Now, I did try the Control GX with the Conditioner, and I don't think that works as well as the product without the conditioner. I used to use Grecian Formula, but considering the lead in that product, I will now stick with Control GX. It's easy to use, priced well and does what it advertises. Quite pleased!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 24

Write a Review for Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review